Reading Reviews for ALBUS AND MINERVA
  
40 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Female_Warrior ALBUS AND MINERVA

24th March 2013:
I'm really glad I found this story! I thought it was a really well-conceived depiction of two of the most powerful characters at Hogwarts. These two, especially Dumbledore, are difficult to write at the best of times, but I think you managed it beautifully. The details you added in about McGonagall's rigidity reminded me of Dumbledore's comment to her when she was sitting on the Dursleys' wall in the first book - "I've never seen a cat sit so stiffly!"

Minerva's unorthodox way of managing her anxiety was fitting and creative, and I thought it was interesting that she was so concerned about what her students thought of her. It seems like that would be at odds with her strict demeanor as it appears to the students, but I liked that depiction of a well-hidden insecurity in a strong character.

I also was intrigued by the more casual portrayal of Dumbledore. You somehow managed to maintain the stately eccentricity that is central to his character, and there was such a tenderness in him! That's something that I feel is more of his real nature than we see in the books. He is always faced with some type of situation that requires him to be really tough emotionally, and it was nice to see him truly relax. He understands and accepts McGonagall's anxiety with patience exactly as Dumbledore would do, and altogether it makes for a lovely dynamic between them.

It was a pleasure to read!
-Female_Warrior

 Report Review

Review #2, by The_Girl_Can_Rock ALBUS AND MINERVA

11th March 2008:
I really love this- this is the best fanfic i have EVER read... i dont know, you just capture their personality REALLY REALLY well... amazing... well done..
x

Author's Response: Thank you so much! Although JKR put to bed (so to speak) their relationship, I am so gratified that you think I caught their personalities so well. That's what I was hoping for!

 Report Review

Review #3, by LilyAurora ALBUS AND MINERVA

9th August 2007:
I enjoyed it, it made me smile :)

Author's Response: And your comment made me smile...really big! Thank you ;-)

 Report Review

Review #4, by Iloenchen ALBUS AND MINERVA

26th July 2007:
I've only just discovered that there are McGonagall/Dumbledore fics, and I love it! It's great, really, and you show, without much action, how much they like each other. Really amazing.

Author's Response: Thank you, that is exactly what I wanted to show...their affection for each other rather than...well, you know. Thanks for taking the time to review!

 Report Review

Review #5, by Andromedatonks ALBUS AND MINERVA

6th July 2007:
I dearly love this pairing, and you've done a really good job on this fic!
And "...I gave him a Snape..." - well, what can I say, it's just brilliant!

Author's Response: And Snape probably would have said he gave him a 'Minerva' LOL Thank you so much for the kind review!

 Report Review

Review #6, by Skite ALBUS AND MINERVA

14th April 2007:
(Ignore my rating, I haven't figured out the system yet.)
I really liked it! It was just so lovely!

Author's Response: So glad you enjoyed it! It is a 'touchy' subject that not everyone wants to read about. I'm thrilled to see 'lovely' instead of 'yuck'! ;-)

 Report Review

Review #7, by minnie ALBUS AND MINERVA

22nd February 2007:
“Well, I was too flustered to speak, so I gave him a Snape.”

*laughs so hard she drops of chair* How on earth did you get that idea? I love it!

Dear, I asure you I will never look at Dumbledore and giggle.

Author's Response: So glad you got a chuckle out of it! Minerva has some 'stiff' competition with the brow-raisers in Lucius and Snape, but I imaginge she did a good job of cowing Harry. Thank you for the Review...It makes my day!

 Report Review

Review #8, by RubyRed ALBUS AND MINERVA

16th February 2007:
That so did make me smile, I often wondered whether something went on between them..but now dear old Dumbledore is dead so reading this was very bittersweet.

Author's Response: He will always be alive in MY world! And he will be Richard Harris...not that 'new' guy! ;-) Thanks so much for the review.

 Report Review

Review #9, by Elivania ALBUS AND MINERVA

14th December 2006:
This was so sweet. It seemed rather OoC for McGongall, but then, none of us knows what she is really like behind closed doors. I myself have written an AD/MM and it is hard to McGonagall so severe when you are writing a relationship like this. I like to think she is rather soft and witty when she is with Albus and also the staff.

Great fluff. I love it. *Eli*

Author's Response: Well, I wanted some warmth, but wanted her to keep her 'snippy' side too. The old gal can dish it out. I still laugh about her "Tripe, Sybil?" line in one of the books. Thank you so much for the wonderful review!

 Report Review

Review #10, by GinnyRox ALBUS AND MINERVA

28th November 2006:
I will never look at Dumbledore and giggle, I assure you. Especially after what happened in HBP. But anyways, I'm gettting off-topic here, onto your story.
I was very impressed by it. Your story, I mean. I couldn't find any spelling errors and both Albus and Minerva's characterization was perfect. Also I thought that was a very good idea- about Minerva worrying what the student's would think of her if they knew about her and Dumbledore. It shows the more emotional side of her that cares about what others think. Overall, you did a fantastic job on this.

Author's Response: Yeah, poor old Minnie would have fits thinking that the students thought of her as 'human'. She's almost as bad as Snape trying to keep up the stern front.I just had to explore her 'warm and fuzzy' side. Thanks so much for the great review!

 Report Review

Review #11, by Minervas_soul ALBUS AND MINERVA

6th November 2006:
LOL.This story really makes me laugh. Actually I really don't mind the whole MM/AD stuff. Really great job- *claps and bows to you*. I was reading the reviews and they are about as funny as the story its self. 10/10

Author's Response: Sorry my respopnse is so late. I just moved...yuck! I am thrilled that someone with Minerva for a name enjoyed what I did with her. Thank you so very much! ;-)

 Report Review

Review #12, by draco_4_lisa ALBUS AND MINERVA

9th June 2006:
ew ew ew nightmares the horror just the thought of them two going at it *shudders* so gross i feel sorry for harry

Author's Response: I started reading a fic and found out it was a Snape/Minerva ship. Yuckiepoo! Now that's enough to give me nightmares. This is tame in comparison! Thanks for leaving a comment.

 Report Review

Review #13, by draco_4_lisa ALBUS AND MINERVA

9th June 2006:
ew ew ew nightmares the horror just the thought of them two going at it *shudders* so gross i feel sorry for harry

Author's Response: .

 Report Review

Review #14, by altrustic_writer ALBUS AND MINERVA

27th May 2006:
I absolutely LOVED it! It was witty and well written and so creative! You captured everything so picture perfect in this. I know that you can "legally order from the Senior Menu at Denny's," and maybe that's why this is one of the most superior stories I've read here at HPFF--because you have years of experience and a wealth of knowledge that you can pour out on paper (or, in this case, a computer.) But I doubt that is the only reason why this was so well written. I think you are just a true writer! Thanks for the good read!

Author's Response: Oh wow! Thank you so very much for those kind words. I was amazed at the number of adults on this site and I'm glad they enjoy the wit aspect. All the young writers are writing slash and semi-porn LOL! Thanks for taking the time to review this 'old' story. (pun intended in all ways!)


 Report Review

Review #15, by Cor_Leonis ALBUS AND MINERVA

14th April 2006:
This was a very witty story, Wiccan--I enjoyed it. It seemed familiar to me--I might have looked it over at Crones before, maybe. Anyhow, even if this is a reread for me here, it made me laugh out loud right from the beginning with your author's note that put terrible pictures in my head. No wonder Minerva is horrified--she's scarring young minds. That being said, you have both characters down perfectly, Minerva is excellent, and I love the bit about her coiffure being disheveled. Albus's thoughts about eyebrow raising are equally funny. When are you going to grace us with another great story, hm?

Author's Response: Yeah, I thought it so very 'Dumbledore' of him to take off on one of his 'Nitwit, Oddment Blubber' mental tangents in the middle of a serious conversation. He would certainly envy the eyebrow talents of others. Am trying for a sequel to A Destiny Fulfilled but am having plot problems...everything seems cliched. Maybe I should stick with one-shots. Thanks so much for your comments, they mean a lot!

 Report Review

Review #16, by Gia ALBUS AND MINERVA

26th March 2006:
That was the most adorable story ever.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your kind words! :-)

 Report Review

Review #17, by Gia ALBUS AND MINERVA

26th March 2006:
That was the most adorable story ever.

Author's Response: .

 Report Review

Review #18, by Theresa ALBUS AND MINERVA

24th March 2006:
Yeah, I think I will giggle. It is funny to me that you've characterized Minerva in such a way as she is constantly and inextricably consumed by her regard for the students and further that she is an unbelievable prude. It kinda makes me happy inside. But... I don't know. Missing something or... hmmm. I'll think about it some more and get back to you.

Author's Response: Well, I'm glad you and I got a giggle. Actually, this probably should be in the 'humor' category as it is rather light-hearted and not to be taken too seriously. The difference between the Minerva we all know and love and the cat is what I wanted to bring out. Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #19, by Amber ALBUS AND MINERVA

8th March 2006:
that was interastering, i alawys that there was something between them but that was blunt.and i think i'm going to have a few nightmares.but i will never look at them agian without thinking of this ,thank you

Author's Response: Well, old Albus had to get his 'twinkle' from somewhere ;-) Thanks so much for the review!

 Report Review

Review #20, by PropMaster ALBUS AND MINERVA

7th March 2006:
Oh muh goo'ness!! How you've rattled the young ones in this one, Wiccan! The reviews are almost as much fun to read as your story. A really charming character study -- loved how you worked the cat image in! Do some more little people stories like this 'n I'll be happy!

Author's Response: Ach! The yunnings hae no right to peek inna the Headmasters office, likesays! Oh wow, was that a poor dialect! Sorry! I went 'aboot ' it the wrong way! (chuckles merrily as she waits for an update from you)

 Report Review

Review #21, by loopy_loony_lupin ALBUS AND MINERVA

6th February 2006:
I thought it was cute! A few witty remarks tucked in there too.

Author's Response: I almost put this in the humor category, but decided it wasn't funny enough. They are both witty people though, so you can't take that away from them and keep them in character. So very glad you enjoyed it!

 Report Review

Review #22, by Mystwriter (not logged in) ALBUS AND MINERVA

5th February 2006:
I thought it was truly wonderful. Their characters were perfectly drawn. A sweet little one shot.

Author's Response: "Wonderful" Wheee! I love words like that. Thank you so much for taking the time to brighten my day!

 Report Review

Review #23, by marauderin_around ALBUS AND MINERVA

5th February 2006:
Very well written and the idea is sweet. Slightly worried what you would describe, but it only went as far as cat stroking and that's all good! :) Not read many stories on this ship, a pleasurable change.

Author's Response: Thank you. I have always thought those two old coots were up to something. Dumbledore 'twinkles' too much not to have a reason! I appreciate the review!

 Report Review

Review #24, by MonkeyClan ALBUS AND MINERVA

2nd February 2006:
That was just amazing! It was tasteful and true to their characters. Bravo!

Author's Response: I am delighted that you feel I kept them in canon. I actually 'saw' the scene in my head...of course it was Maggy Smith and the FIRST and TRUE Dumbledore! Thank you so very much!

 Report Review

Review #25, by Hekko ALBUS AND MINERVA

31st January 2006:
Awww... sweet, decent, kind, exactly like I love it :) The "give a Snape" part make me laugh :)

Author's Response: Purrrr...you made my day! This story has been done for a while but it is never to late to make a writer feel soooo gooood! Thank you so very much for your kind words.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>