Reading Reviews for Meet Me When It Rains
  
77 Reviews Found

Review #1, by patronus_charm Meet Me When It Rains

24th September 2013:
Sorry for the tiny review, I'm meant to be writing an essay of some sort but I just have to say how much I loved this!

I'm not even sure how I ended up here, but I'm so glad that I did, as this was such a beautiful piece of work with amazing imagery and just made me want to ship Remus/Lily so bad.

Your description was just mind-blowing and the constant emphasis of how they met under the rain and how much it meant to them was really great. Then the way you tied it in at the end with how the rain was supposed to be Remus and Lily's and not her's and James' really made me break my heart.

Remus' characterisation was just mind-blowing too! I really love how you still kept him canon with his reserved nature and how he wanted the best for his friends, but I liked that selfish side of him yearning for Lily emerging and how he still didn't regret after she died. It made him more real and relatable and even more tragic (if that's possible!)

A fabulous piece of work, and I'm sorry this review is short/rushed/garbled! ♥

-Kiana

Author's Response: Hello! No, no, this is such a kind and lovely review, thank you so much! I do have a soft spot for this story, even though it's ages old, and from when I had the tendency to over-do the descriptions. Remus/Lily (or Remus/Narcissa or really Remus/anyone with unrequited feelings is always fun.)

Remus is just... ugh. Amazing. I need to take the time and sit down and read his entire biography that recently came out. He's such a three-dimensional character, and I love JKR for using his condition as a werewolf to parallel our perception of HIV. I'm really glad that you liked his character in this little one-shot, as it's so hard to do him justice!

Thank you again so much! And I hope your essay went well :3


 Report Review

Review #2, by navyfail Meet Me When It Rains

16th July 2013:
This is a sweet one-shot. I love the symbolism of the rain. And how you portrayed the umbrella and the characters were heartbreaking yet realistic in a way.

I am a huge James/Lily shipper so this is new for me since this is Remus/Lily. I liked this story though. Your descriptions and those short sentences you added in between the paragraphs were fantastic. I also liked how you fast forwarded to when James and Lily died. The ending again mentions that umbrella. The umbrella that didn't get them too wet but still got them wet. I think because of that this story felt concluded and summed up.

Favorite lines:
"She loved him.
But she needed me."

10/10
~Sama

Author's Response: Hiya! I wrote this forever ago, and it's always so nice to get a new review for something this old.

Remus/Lily is one of my favorites... I think he was quiet and respectful enough to be harboring feelings for her, as they both struck me as honest, intellectual people. But of course he would never do anything about it (except in this story.)

Thank you so very much! ♥


 Report Review

Review #3, by RavenclawGirl11 Meet Me When It Rains

6th May 2013:
OMM (oh my merlin) you are an AMAZING writer the way you told that story wow, just wow. I was looking at your work on the forums (btw my birthday is January 11th too, weird) and I can across this and it blew my breath away. if I was you (which im not because I cant write amazing things like that) i'd write a sequel, about his guilt when he see's Harry, his grief and his love for lily. maybe a bit about Tonks?
Once again you are an AMAZING writer, so discriptive and deep thinking
~ Macy x

Author's Response: Hi! It's always nice getting reviews on old stories. Most likely, I won't be writing a sequel to this, just because (and I'll be shunned forever for this) I really am not that interested in Lily. The whole reason this story appealed to me was because it painted her in a different light; she's not this saintly woman. Most likely (at least in my mind) she never told James what went on between she and Remus.

Anyway! Bit off track, there. I do love writing as Remus, and he's a main character in my kind-of-WIP, Lungs. So there's some more Remus for you there xD

Thanks so much! This review was so sweet. ♥


 Report Review

Review #4, by FuzzyWuzzy Meet Me When It Rains

20th July 2011:
It's beautiful. Truly.

Author's Response: Thank you.

 Report Review

Review #5, by writeyourheartout Meet Me When It Rains

9th July 2010:
A beautifully written story. Thank you for sharing it with us.

xTanya

Author's Response: Thank you.

 Report Review

Review #6, by bandnerd218 Meet Me When It Rains

20th May 2010:
That was really good! Sad, but amazing.
I love the way you wrote it. It's really great :)

Author's Response: Thanks, I'd like to go back and re-write it since it's been so long. Maybe one day :)

 Report Review

Review #7, by Ann Ravenwood Meet Me When It Rains

16th January 2010:
Interesting imagery. Very nice.

Author's Response: Thanks, I appreciate the kind words.

 Report Review

Review #8, by OneDamselsKiss Meet Me When It Rains

8th November 2009:
Absolutely lovely one shot! I enjoyed it very much!

Author's Response: Thank you, I greatly appreciate it.

 Report Review

Review #9, by The Dark Temple of Light Meet Me When It Rains

11th March 2009:
I'm not sure what to really say to this. It was just... so eloquent writing. Effortless sounding, sincere, sad. I love how you paint pictures with his words, and you let the reader think for themselves to find out what is happening. It was almost like poetry... I loved it.

The Dark Temple of Light

Author's Response: Thank you so much for taking the time to read this story. It is greatly appreciated.

 Report Review

Review #10, by 112358 Meet Me When It Rains

11th June 2008:
This is amazing! It's realistic (in the Harry Potter universe) and very well written. I really enjoy sad ending and this is one of the best.

Author's Response: Thank you very much. I hope it wasn't too sad. :]

 Report Review

Review #11, by Ink Laden Quill Meet Me When It Rains

28th May 2008:
This is a lovely story. When I saw how short it was I was a bit hesitant, but this definitely proved me wrong. You told an extremely emotionally-charged story with few words. Congratulations. You really seem to have a knack for that.
The whole idea of Lupin reminescing over this while at the funeral...it adds texture to the story. As did the entire bit with Lily taking James into the rain. Ah! That tore my heart out. Nearly.
I've never been a supporter of this pairing, but this was beautifully written and I can safely say that I enjoyed it.

Author's Response: thank you so much! isn't remus/lily just great? it would never happen, but we can dream, right?

i'll admit i have not even THOUGHT about writing fanfiction for so long, since the seventh book came out at least. but i'm sure that seeing the HBP movie will spark some motivation :D


 Report Review

Review #12, by Aidyl Meet Me When It Rains

21st March 2008:
Very nice indeed. This has been on my favorites list for a while, but I don't think I've ever left a review.

I think you have some lovely language and powerful imagery. I loved the "dripping red hair" line. It was spectacular. Also, nice version of the the James-Lily-Remus love triangle, it's fun--I think--to imagine the reationship between Lily and the Marauders, because they were teenagers after all.

Nice job!

Author's Response: thank you very much! sometimes i think i rely too heavily on imagery, but i'm glad that you liked it. thanks again for the review.

 Report Review

Review #13, by Burry Meet Me When It Rains

15th February 2008:
I just clicked onto this website to see what it was like, and I didn't think I would leave it with tears in my eyes! The descriptions are beautiful.

Author's Response: Aw, thank you so much! That really means a lot to me. I'm very glad you liked it.

 Report Review

Review #14, by xX mOoNdAnCe Xx Meet Me When It Rains

24th September 2007:
Wow, that was beautiful! I truly loved it, you are incredibly talented =)
Love xX mOoNdAnCe Xx

Author's Response: shankyou. :]

 Report Review

Review #15, by Ely_Baby Meet Me When It Rains

19th September 2007:
Beautifully written. I really enjoyed this story even if it was a first person narration and I'm not into that at all. Anyway, you did a great job describing the way they used to meet, I loved the rain and the umbrella. I think I jumped pieces at the end, though; it was getting too sad for me to bear. Keep up the great job!

Author's Response: thanks! i'm glad you liked it, and sorry you had to skip around.. haha. i tend to angst it up every now and again in my stories... :] thanks for the kind words!

 Report Review

Review #16, by myriad Meet Me When It Rains

11th September 2007:
This is a powerful, beautifully written story. I absolutely adore it. Excellent job. I'm trying to think of critique, but I really nothing come to mind. It's perfect.

I love your writing style, so eloquent. This is going on my favourites for sure.

Again, excellent job.

Author's Response: thanks myriad! i really appreciate it. :]

 Report Review

Review #17, by Lullabywitch Meet Me When It Rains

1st September 2007:
oh thats so sad but I love it! Going in my faves most definetely!

Author's Response: thank you so much! :]

 Report Review

Review #18, by rhb_hjp4evr Meet Me When It Rains

31st August 2007:
oooh! aaaww! that was so sad! i loved it though! so much emotion in so little words! i think htat remus and lily or Sirius and lily should have made the front couple, not james and lily. but i do love james. but remus and lily does seem to fit better.

Author's Response: i know what you mean. james and lily are like, THE perfect couple. so you kind of want to ruin it via fanfiction.
...
or maybe that's just me...
thanks for the kind words! :D


 Report Review

Review #19, by Novadestin Meet Me When It Rains

7th August 2007:
I was conflicted reading this because I am very canon and my brain was saying "this isn't right" blah blah, but another part of my brain really liked it. It was written very well and the way it was written let the emotions come through so much more then if they were written in third person or something.

I like how it starts and ends with basically the same idea about "not getting to wet" it shows a continuation even thought the story has ended. I hate stories that just stop and leave you with nothing.

So, even, though I don't like the idea behind the story I still think it was a very good story :)

Author's Response: haha, thanks. i'm getting a lot of that, from lily/james shippers. :] i'm glad you liked it though!

 Report Review

Review #20, by InnocentBeginning Meet Me When It Rains

4th August 2007:
That is so sweet.
I was on the verge of crying.
Hit me emotionally thanks mate.



Author's Response: :] thank YOU.

 Report Review

Review #21, by posers_sux Meet Me When It Rains

3rd August 2007:
Wow, that was beautiful. Lovely, lovely, story. I really enjoyed it. I've never considered the ship myself, or even deemed it possible for that matter, but this was... touching I guess you could say. Realistic, in a sense...

The ideas you came up with were very sweet and un-cliche; their meeting in the rain and the umbrella, at least. I loved that it closed off at the funeral, too. Bittersweet, and tragic, ending for Remus. It's really a closure to what they had... compared to just the marriage of James and Lily being the 'end'.

And last but not least, I'm in love with the banner - it's amazing.

-Dana

Author's Response: oh, i know. she did a wonderlous job on the banner, didn't she? i'm glad you liked it! this fic has been getting a lot of reviews lately, i'm not sure why they just appeared all the sudden. hmm! anyway, i'm not complaining. thanks! :]

 Report Review

Review #22, by HermioneRules Meet Me When It Rains

1st August 2007:
Wow. That was beautiful. Amazing. 10!

Author's Response: thank you! :]

 Report Review

Review #23, by ellen Meet Me When It Rains

30th July 2007:
Wow, that was a really beautiful one shot. I don't really know what to say, except that it was just great. I'm pretty much speechless. Wow wow wow. I loved it. Keep on writing!

Author's Response: thank you so much! i'm glad you liked it. :]

 Report Review

Review #24, by RupertsPheonix Meet Me When It Rains

30th July 2007:
I cried when reading this. I do not support this ship, but this story is amazing. I can accept this ship only in this story. =) This was utterly wonderful. Raw and realistic. 1,000,000,000/10 from me.

--Kate/RP

Author's Response: haha, yes, i've turned somebody! i always thought it would have been really easy for remus to love lily, but too afraid to say anything and too loyal to james. it's really weird but remus reminds me of my boyfriend and i just kind of played off of him while i was writing this. anyway, thank you so much for your review!

 Report Review

Review #25, by Belle_Rose Meet Me When It Rains

26th July 2007:
She loved him.

But she needed me.


This fic was so beautiful, yet, there was such a sadness in it that I wanted to cry...

10/10

Author's Response: Tissues for everyone! I really probably should put a warning in there... Thank you!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>