Reading Reviews for A Step Back
  
11 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Tearlit A Step Back

22nd December 2007:
Oh this was so lovely! It was really touching and quite sad at some points. Nice vocabulary and wording. I loved the end, it was a bit humorous.

I'm a member on an HP fansite called Final Prophecy and we have our own version of the Daily Propet that comes out once a month. I'm a fic niffler for our fanfiction section; this means I find fics that are really good and write up a little piece about them so our readers will have some good stories to read. I was wondering if I could feature your story in our next issue? No personal info will be listed, just your penname and the story name and specifices (genre, etc.) So please email me at nutmeg1019@hotmail.com and let me know if I could feature your story. If not it's perfectly ok and feel free to ask if you have any questions!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review, and that's perfectly fine! I'll e-mail you (my e-mail's snipesbowles@yahoo.com).

 Report Review

Review #2, by Ydnas Odell A Step Back

18th June 2007:
You have such a unique half-sarcastic, but uplifting style. I don't think you could ever write true angst. This is another remarkable story.

Pure and simple and funny. Also the line you have Lily say at the end of the prior year is just perfect: “Maybe you’re not so hopeless after all,” . I could see JKr writting that.

Wonderful story. Another 10!


DA Jones



Author's Response: Yeah, it's very hard for me to write all-out angst. I believe that life tends to change for the better, so writing something that's completely desperate is just foreign to me. I'm glad you like my style, though - I've come to just classify most of my writing as just 'General', because everything seems to even out. Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #3, by Pretty Purple Pelican A Step Back

4th December 2006:
That's really bittersweet. There was humor in it, but it was just bitter. I liked this story a lot. It was short, but it still told a perfect little moment. Good job :)

Author's Response: Glad you liked it! Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #4, by purewings A Step Back

11th July 2006:
This one-shot of yours I loved, as well. I think it's very well written, simple, but every word was on its place. You described humour and emotions in a very true way, no clichés, no stupid conversations. I like your bitter humour very much in this story. Congratulations! Goin' to check the rest of your writings.
Go on! wings

Author's Response: This is not very long at all, but I was trying to make what I did write important and meaningful, and I'm glad you thought I pulled that off. The relationship between James and Remus is just so important in this situation, so I decided to focus on that aspect of it.

 Report Review

Review #5, by Crispey A Step Back

20th March 2006:
Not bad. I liked how you added a sentence or two of humor in even the more serious parts. I also liked Remus's point of view. I hadn't read many like that.

Author's Response: Thank'ee for the review, Crispey.

 Report Review

Review #6, by CanadianStar A Step Back

14th February 2006:
Ah ha, it's good. C'est tres good. I like the babbling!James at the beginning of the chapter and how we got a glimpse of him near the end as well. I think you captured both their characters very well and it was an enjoyable read =)

Author's Response: Babbling!James is fun. Actually, Babbling!AnyCharacter is fun. Just because they're not really in on what's happening yet they're good tools to help with the fic. Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #7, by jynx67 A Step Back

9th February 2006:
*chuckles* That is so Remus. This was a cute little moment in time piece, the type I like to write. It was quite enjoyable to read. Your characterizations were very accurate. The present tense is always a bear for me, but I'm slowly getting used to it. ^_^ Excellent story!

Author's Response: My characterization was on? Great! I like those pieces as well... obviously. I don't usually write in it, but I like the present here and there, and I figured I might as well try it out with this one.

 Report Review

Review #8, by FavBlackT A Step Back

9th September 2005:
Hey there Jeff! :D I'm so sorry this review took so long to get out, but here it is! *OK, for one - I'm not a big fan of the present tense. Although it gives the narrator a bit more of a voice, it still sounds a bit awkward and it's just so easy to mix up tenses...of course - you didn't mix them. At least I didn't catch you. *Character development - Your character development is awesome - you've got the friendships down although many people believed James and Sirius to be the best of friends and Remus in a close second followed by Peter taking an awkward fourth. *Plot development - despite the fact that this is only a one-shot, I'm a big fan of your plot development. You were precise and you hit your target with an arrow. You didn't necessarily do it with a berry stuck to your arrow-head, but you did superbly. *Grammar - I saw maybe once or twice where you maybe could've added a period to end the sentence instead of using a comma, but there was nothing major. I would've pointed that out in the beginning if I had seen something really terrible. **Final analysis - although this is only a one-shot, I believe you could've made the transition between the reading to the "girl" talk a little smoother with a little more description of maybe James playing with his hands or something. You also made this fic with a lot of dialogue - don't worry! My fics are almost pure dialogue, but I just wanted to let you know that more description is always nice. :D Alright, well I still give this fic a thumbs up because you didn't scare me with horrific grammar or spelling. YAY!!! I guess that's it! I hope my comments have helped! --JC

Author's Response: Thanks for the huge review! All of your input was very helpful, and I'll take it to mind.

 Report Review

Review #9, by good_slytherin A Step Back

8th September 2005:
Interesting how they talked out the situatio, not with so much detail, but enough to keep people wanting to come back to see where it takes off

Author's Response: Thanks for the input.

 Report Review

Review #10, by laughable_black_storm A Step Back

29th August 2005:
This was a very good story, too. It was very deep, and your ending is wonderful. As I said in my other review, I read the wrong story first, so I've reviewed too of you fics. Lol.

Author's Response: Oh, don't worry, it's no problem. *grins* I'm glad you liked it!

 Report Review

Review #11, by Elf_ears13 A Step Back

29th August 2005:
I'm left speechless, and as such I fear I cannot leave a proper review. Your characterizations are right on - reading it was a pleasure. Everything was absolutely wonderful, from the first sentence to the last.

Author's Response: I know it sounds like Goofy, but aw, shucks. I'm glad you enjoyed it!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login