Reading Reviews for Chasing Daydreams
  
32 Reviews Found

Review #1, by henryjones Chapter 5

27th December 2007:
i realise that this chapter is about 6 months old, and that its probably too late, but please dont abandon this! ive really enjoyed reading it, and its sucked me in. this is one of the few well written founders stories ive ever found, and i really like the genre, so it makes me sad that youve probably given up on this. please please please if theres some chance of it, dont abandon this!

 Report Review

Review #2, by Shasterian Noble Chapter 4

21st August 2006:
Again, great stuff. Well written and very good stylistically. I hope you don't mind a little CC though. There is just one thing and it always alerts me to non-British authors: there's no such word as "gotten" in Queen's English. Certainly JKR wouldn't ever use it. (Also, 'busted' in the previous chapter is non-British as well.) I only mention it as it stood out so much due to the rest being absolutely perfect canon! :o)

Other than that I can't wait to read more - very believable provenances for the Founders and I like the historical touches like Arthur, Merlin and the plague. Excellent!

MOS

Author's Response: I don't mind CC at all - in fact I welcome it! I love to receive CC as it helps be grow as an author. Thank you so much for pointing those things out. I will definitely fix that up. I am a non-British individual so I'm learning as I go in the ways of making my writing more that style in this genre. And as odd as this sounds, it's nice to hear that those little things stood out because the rest fit well in the canon of JK's world. Thank you.

I am a Humanities student first and foremost - therefore it's fun to toss in historical facts when it fits with the story line; I'm glad you enjoyed them as well. :)

Again, thank you so much for the wonderful review...I'm delighted that you liked this so far. I hope to update very soon.


 Report Review

Review #3, by k1ttycat Chapter 4

26th March 2006:
(sorry im not logged in) wow good story! update asap!

Author's Response: Thank you very much. I hope to update very soon and I would be delighted if you would check out future chapters! Thanks again!

 Report Review

Review #4, by Gilded Sorcerer Chapter 4

18th February 2006:
A nice, final touch with the last paragraph...it reminds of the relationship between Mr. Darcy and Miss Elizabeth Bennet; yet, under much different circumstances, naturally! Helga and Salazar are not your salutary couple, but I must admit, I do see the forlorn wish for further involvement here. I hope this slowly matures into something more personal. I find it comical yet bizarre that Salazar should be flying on a broomstick, though! Do entreat us to this change of events, if you would: I am engaged by your uncommonly spontaneous writing, and I can tell you work at making your storyline as fluent as possible. Best regards, Matt

Author's Response: Matt – Your words have been a great source of joy, inspiration, and hope. I wish that when I finally get the opportunity to sit down and write more of this (I am sad that life gets in the way of the simple pleasures I suppose - and because I have such fun and wonderful things planned for this piece I’m a bit disappointed by lack of time to add) that you are as wonderfully open minded and enjoy it as much as you have previous chapters. I’m simply beside myself that you find my writing style appealing, no matter how bizarre it seems sometimes. I do plan on exploring the awkward bond between Helga and Salazar; and I shall see where it leads me (and them). Again, thank you for your support it is inspirational. – Mandy

 Report Review

Review #5, by Gilded Sorcerer Chapter 3

18th February 2006:
I feel I am finally understanding Godric's strong character from your depictive writing. —It must’ve been something for him to bear, and perhaps he wasn't sure how to handle it, really. Perhaps leaving was a wish he had always fostered internally, and now, at the death of his beloved wife, he is sincerely coming to terms with the need to change himself. I am certain anyone who has gone through a period in their lives when this (or something similar) has occurred, needs to experience that "release," and you have described Godric's "moment" as best would be expected. I was not in the least turned off by your characterisation, but rather, wish to thank you for creating such a realistic rendition of the sorcerer who, "is the symbolic figure of courage, strength, and integrity for all." Very powerful, with a good interplay of character dialogue and personification ... we now see you break from the shell and fly high!Bravissima! --- Matt

Author's Response: Matt – Oh my thank you! You’ve spoken straight from my heart and mind, you see what I do. Godric so desired to leave, but stayed for pride and obligation. He fostered the dream to be more, to do more, but was bound to the manor. It is our failings, our fallings, our hard times that make us strong…to see the world for what it has to offer and perhaps with a new light and a new strength. I think there was a part of Godric that wanted to take his wife with him into that new frontier; but there were so many things weighing on his young soul that he couldn’t break from the mold he had been handed. He found that strength in a moment of grief and pain (like all of us do). He can now shake the water from his wings and spread them, no matter how atrophied the muscles, and sore into the sky. I so appreciate you seeing it, seeing the underlying strength – the need to and power to move on. I bow to you sir, your words and views are encouraging to me. – Mandy

 Report Review

Review #6, by Gilded Sorcerer Chapter 2

18th February 2006:
Although the study of the Middle Ages (and of King Arthur's court) is a very drifting one, masked here and there by facts that may appear untruthful, your studies of the Humanities had, in my view, allowed you to preserve this faithful, historical canon. Juxtaposed with this historical element are the emerging personalities of some very interesting people, and I think, in many ways, I can relate to the Rowena in this story: brash, headstrong, and proud, yet a very down-to-earth type of human being. And, as you continue your writing, keep reaching out to your audience: Your speaker’s voice has faced, so far, the challenges of occupying the minds of your two primary subjects: be as Rowena with your future renditions. Faithfully your reader, --- Matt

Author's Response: Matt – Again you’re here, and again I’m glowing with glee. I can’t help but wonder, did I spend 30K on an education to write accurate fan fiction? Perhaps I did, but it pleases me to do so and as such it was well worth it. I actually did additional research on the various King Arthur tales when planning various aspects of this piece. I tried to preserve the traditional outlook of the events in the story as well as add my own little flavor. After all I am fascinated by what we don’t see in a story – the things that might be but probably aren’t. (I have a very possible vs. probable outlook when writing fan fiction…Is it probable? No. Is it possible? Yes. It fuels my creative energies). This entire story is based upon that theory. I’m terribly overwhelmed with the general public’s approach/acceptance of that which is printed in texts as fact. Everything in life is subjective, as is our view on the founders in Harry Potter. This is another nook for me to wedge my ideas into…and the shoe seems to fit, I love it. I shall continue forward with (hopefully) a fragment of Rowena’s virtues and strengths. Again thank you so much for your encouraging words. – Mandy

 Report Review

Review #7, by Gilded Sorcerer Chapter 1

18th February 2006:
You have mastered with this beginning what most authors today can only barely attempt to capture: the sublime art of anticipation. This chapter was full of wondrous emotions, each crafted in such imaginative writing, and sparkled with the air of a first-class penmanship. If I may say, your dialogue is not only befitting to the roles of your characters, but also generous to the historical context you've placed them in. As it is in French (if you'll excuse my rusty grammar): "C’est une nouvelle fantastique, Mlle! A toi, e à vos caractères, bonne chance et autrement félicitations!" Keep up the great writing — Matt

Author's Response: Matt – Never in all the time that I’ve been exposing my writing to be openly criticized or praised have I ever received words as beautiful as yours. I can’t even express my gratitude for your thorough and amazing review. Your verbiage is superior to the story with which it is applied. I’m extremely delighted to hear that you though the dialogue well done; I worry about my dialogues and work with them as when I start them I find myself leaving description behind. It is my vice; and I am practicing to avoid that in the future – but by your words it seems as though I have captured it (if only for a moment), at least in this piece. Again, thank you for your time and kind words I so appreciate it. – Mandy

 Report Review

Review #8, by Noblevyne Chapter 4

31st January 2006:
Oooh, Helga/Salazar, what a great idea. And you wrote it so well, so that neither character is compromised.

Author's Response: hehehe, secretly (and now that I'm writing it, I don't know that it's so much a secret anymore) I'm a Helga/Sal shipper. I don't know why, I guess to test the common perception of things. I just like testing the bounds? Either way, the way they behave in my little world I can't see it any other way...I just love them. I'm glad it was delicate enough to be believable, it's dangerous ground to tread. Thank you so much for reading this and bringing it back to my attention.

 Report Review

Review #9, by Noblevyne Chapter 3

31st January 2006:
Excellent story you've given Gryffindor. This really feels like a period piece with all the details. I loved the subtle relationship you had developed between Kantela and Godric was beautiful, you really mourned for her and for their relationship, but it sets up his character well for future greatness.

Author's Response: I was given the most guff about this chapter, I'm so glad you see it. He seems sad and a bit broken, but it is our down points that make us stronger and build our character. I believe that Godric was no exception to this rule. Thank you so much for saying it feels like a period piece, because that really is my intention at its very base. I so appreciate you taking the time to read and review my stories, thank you so very much!

 Report Review

Review #10, by Noblevyne Chapter 2

27th January 2006:
Great take on Ravenclaw. Again, you've captured the attitudes of the time and incorporated them well. Rowena is a very liberated young woman for the times, she is respectful, but proud and you showed her deference and rebellion.

Author's Response: Again I have to point to my vague understanding of the time as a direct relation to my education in medieval and Renaissance Humanities - but again I'm glad it's believable. I like Rowena, a lot, but I don't think she is what most people like to see her as in this era. I think she was rebellious and a bit reserved focusing more on intelligence than status. It's just me though. I've said it a before and I still hold to it - I have a very different (if not a little slanted) view of the traditional perspective of the founders.

 Report Review

Review #11, by Noblevyne Chapter 1

27th January 2006:
This is truly the best founder's story I've read, Joela. You use language well to convey the era and seem to have an understanding of the history, giving it great atmosphere.

Author's Response: Noblevyne! You're pulling out all my old pieces and dusting them off for me...I had forgotten this one too! I'm glad you did though, I remember enjoying writing this piece and being excited about where it was going. Again, you're making me blush...you like it?!?! Thank you! I'm beside myself that you enjoyed the language used for the era, I knew I went to school in Humanities for something, hehe!

 Report Review

Review #12, by dim at best Chapter 4

1st December 2005:
Oooo I love this story already. I would've commented on the other chapters, but I kind of forgot (oops). Continue with the story, you're doing a great job! =)

Author's Response: Thank you! Your words are very kind and inspiring. I'm just pleased that you reviewed at all...thank you! I hope you like what is to come!

 Report Review

Review #13, by Kyleigh Chapter 3

30th September 2005:
Oh dear... I hope the nameless son of Godric Gryffindor is well looked after. : ) sigh.... I obessed with the founders.... I hope to read more soon.

Author's Response: Thank you for the review! I suspect that a child during the middle ages, though taught strictly, would be well looked after in a convent - have no worries there. I hope you will continue to read this piece as I run with it! I promise to have you more soon!

 Report Review

Review #14, by Ghislaine Arsenault Chapter 3

17th September 2005:
This chapter seemed a bit more rushed than the earlier ones, and there were considerably more mistakes. I like your dialogue a lot, the manner in which you have your characters speak. Just with a bit of cleaning up it'll be brilliant.

Author's Response: I'll have my beta look over this chapter again, after I do myself, just to make it sparkling clean! Thank you for the review. I always worry about my dialogue, I'm glad to hear that you find it well done. Again, thank you!

 Report Review

Review #15, by Ghislaine Arsenault Chapter 2

17th September 2005:
I really like your writing style. There were a few misplaced commas in this section, but on the whole it's still well written and keeping my interest.

Author's Response: I'm glad to hear that my story is keeping your interest. That is main thing I'm trying to do. I'll go back and have a look at my comma problem (I have a knack for comma splicing, yikes!) Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #16, by Ghislaine Arsenault Chapter 1

17th September 2005:
This first chapter was very good! Well written, and interesting. You set the atmosphere very well, and left the reader in a good position to make them want to read the next chapter. Your grammar is good, nothing to complain about there. The only thing I'd ask for is more! Even within this chapter, a bit more description.

Author's Response: Excellent! Thank you for the review. I'm glad you liked it. I'll try and get some more description going on in future chapters.

 Report Review

Review #17, by socks4dobby Chapter 3

6th September 2005:
I'm impressed with the back story you've given Godric. Even though his father wasn't such a wonderful man and his wife was dying, he was still strong and still wanted to do something with his life. I hope that he finds his son someday, though. I'd hate to think he'd never go searching for him. I look forward to more chapters.

Author's Response: I'm sighing with relief right here, in this very spot. I have been very afraid this chapter would not go over well as this is a very unconventional view of what makes Godric so strong. I'm glad you've taken to it as I hoped some readers would. Thank you, thank you, thank you! I hope you will continue to enjoy this piece! ~Joela

 Report Review

Review #18, by socks4dobby Chapter 2

6th September 2005:
I really like the personalities your have given to the characters, especially your portrayal of Rowena. I can see her standing up for others when they're being picked on. It's also obvious that she's very intelligent. I'm a little confused as to what the Salazar's family is doing in King Arthur's court. Alas, I assume it will be explained in more detail later on. I'm curious to see how Helga will intereact with Salazar and how Rowena comes into the picture.

Author's Response: Again, thank you for the review. I really appreciate your support. ~Joela

 Report Review

Review #19, by socks4dobby Chapter 1

6th September 2005:
I was plesently surprised to find that your story was actually about Helga. You definitely have an original storyline. I don’t believe I’ve ever read a story focusing on a founder when they were younger. I applaud you for being an author who’s come up with a non-cliched story! I really don’t have any complaints about this chapter as it’s grammatically correct (to my knowledge) and the plot makes sense. I find it really interesting that Helga’s destiny is to get to known Salazar. Already you’ve foreshadowed her future involvement with Hogwarts as she’s commented on her desire to instruct young people who have magic. You write beatuifully, and I'm not just saying that to mean that you write well. Your descriptions and your writing style work really well with the time period that you're working with.

Author's Response: I'm truly flattered that you would say such wonderful things about my story. I'm very glad you enjoyed it...it has been making me very nervous as it is an untraditional approach to the founders. I'm very pleased that you like it! Thank you for the review. ~Joe

 Report Review

Review #20, by Lucid Chapter 3

4th September 2005:
A very interesting chapter, not at all what I was expecting from Godric, in the sense of the characters history, but most certainly and interesting one. His tenderness and gentleness is surprising too, I'm not sure what I expected of him, but it was nice to see. I particularly like the fact that he stayed til the end, it was a very heartfelt and emotional moment, but was elegantly done. This is a very interesting turn of the story line, and I cant wait to see what you do with it next.

Author's Response: When I started this chapter it was meant to be the dinner at Arthur’s court, but somehow it turned into this. I wanted something different for our Founders, something that would affect the rest of their life and influence the way they behaved. This isn’t the life I think Godric could have prospered in and, as such, it was killing him – but it is the foundation that will make him the strong, bold, brave man we’ve heard about in history. These are the dark things that people don’t pass down in stories. This was the pile of crap that Godric was handed and can now escape from. I was worried about cheese and sappiness, I’m glad to hear that you thought it was elegant. I do hope you will continue with this and will not be turned off by this chapter, I promise it will all come together! Again, thank you so much for reviewing as your words mean so much to me!

 Report Review

Review #21, by Lucid Chapter 2

4th September 2005:
I really like Rowena, somehow she seems how I thought she might be, the only one of the founders that I thought of in terms of personality, I like that she is a scholar. I am finding though that I really like the way you use description, seeing into the characters thoughts and tugging the reader along with it, it works well.

Author's Response: I was so worried about chapter length that I almost strung them all along together. I’m glad that you think it works to have them separate even though it makes the chapters a little short. Of all the Founders Rowena is the one I can understand clearly. I’m glad you can see what I see in her. I don’t think that she is a delicate, beautiful flower that is adored, she doesn’t care about that sort of nonsense – she’s a scholar. Thank you for your kind words again, they mean so much! ~Joela

 Report Review

Review #22, by Lucid Chapter 1

4th September 2005:
I really loved this line -She nodded with conviction, as if it were the best advice she’d received in the entirety of her life. it really made me smile, and instantly like Helga. I find the fact that Merlin is in the room, quite exciting, and a different possibility that I hadn't considered at all, even though people do say “Merlins beard!” I like the intrigue, and mystery that you have created here, and I am very curious to know how you have characterised the others.

Author's Response: Thank you Lucid, I’m very glad you like what I’ve written so far. I thought Merlin quite the untapped resource so I went for him. My vision of Helga has always been with conviction if nothing else. Your words mean so much to me, I’m honored that you enjoyed this!

 Report Review

Review #23, by maggiegranger Chapter 3

4th September 2005:
Great addition Jo. You outline the character structure beautifully. Can't wait to watch them develp into the legends they're known as. Keep it up!

Author's Response: Your undeniable trust in me is amazing Maggs, as where most are surprised by this chapter it is nice to hear the confidence you bestow in me. Thank you. I do hope you'll like what I have in store for these four!

 Report Review

Review #24, by maggiegranger Chapter 2

4th September 2005:
Jo, you are clearly quite talented when it comes to writing this type of story and I sincerely hope you continue to exercise your talent with this fic.Your descriptions, as always, flow flawlessly, and your subtle inclusion of character triats is brilliant and well intertwined with the storyline. Keep up the great work!

Author's Response: Way, way, too kind! Thank you. I'm so glad you like it. To be honest I was worried about this piece, I wasn't sure it would go over well as it's a lot of descriptions...I'm glad to hear that it flows.

 Report Review

Review #25, by maggiegranger Chapter 1

4th September 2005:
Wow Jo, you've done it again. Only you can write a first chapter that screams instant classic. In no time at all you've already set up a brilliant storyline. Good work.

Author's Response: Awww Maggie! Thank you, you are way too kind to me! I'm glad you like it though!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>