Reading Reviews for Mrs. Potters Lullaby
  
23 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Doris Mrs. Potters Lullaby

8th October 2010:
This is so cute! Aw.

 Report Review

Review #2, by jameslily1313 Mrs. Potters Lullaby

18th July 2007:
that was pretty dang good that was strangely sad 2 but in a good way it was nice 2 hear a stry like that NEway... thx 4 da stry

 Report Review

Review #3, by Natalia_ Mrs. Potters Lullaby

1st August 2006:
That was so sweet! I loved how they were all together in the house. :o) Amazing story!

Author's Response: Yeah, that part really warmed my heart too. Thanks darling! :)

 Report Review

Review #4, by tonksandlupin Mrs. Potters Lullaby

14th December 2005:
Jax, I enjoyed it very much. - Jen

Author's Response: Jen - I thank you for coming round to read :) You're sweet - J

 Report Review

Review #5, by Enchantress of Nightmares Mrs. Potters Lullaby

28th November 2005:
Whooooaaaaa! That was probably the most emotional and brilliant fan fiction story I've ever read ... wow ... Love Jenn xxx ... whoa ...

Author's Response: emotional and brilliant...? Thank you Jenn!!! You're just the kind of reader a gal loves to see!! :)

 Report Review

Review #6, by chinese_fireball Mrs. Potters Lullaby

28th November 2005:
beautiful words at the end. I like it. Whish I could write as you do.....

Author's Response: Thank you... I really appreciate that :)

 Report Review

Review #7, by forget_me_not Mrs. Potters Lullaby

28th November 2005:
I really enjoyed reading that. It was very sweet, and the writing was very descriptive, and the whole story flowed really well.

I'm sorry, but just some things Harry said were a little OOC, but not a lot, just the stuff like " Good Morning Mum...I love you too.” I know that it was the really cute and it just finishes off the fic perfectly, but I can't really imagine Harry saying that, but, I might be wrong, because the almighty JKR hasn't really touched on Harry's feelings about his parents that much.

What you wrote about Harry's feelings is pretty much like him. Harry does pity himself a lot, which makes him a HUGE target for angst fics, especially since he has lots of angsty issues as well

All in all, it was a well-written fanfic, which shows you have a talent for fluff writing (that's a compliment by the way) and most of all it was enjoyable to read. Please write some more stories for me to read :-)

Author's Response: I totally acknowledge Harry's OOC-ness... This was my first fanfic... and it shows me how much room I had to grow... BUT I also really think that Harry DOES love his mother... probably more than we can understand. So I'm torn as to whether he really is OOC or not. I guess we'll really never know.. ;)

Thank you for being such a fantastic reviewer! I love knowing that someone really took the time to think through a response. I'm glad you found things you didn't like in this one :)


 Report Review

Review #8, by trixytonks Mrs. Potters Lullaby

16th October 2005:
I like the concept of this story, the idea of Lily watching Harry always, of being in his dreams, guiding him. It's really a nice thought that should offer him some comfort, some closure. I think you write his trauma very well and the song is very fitting. however, I have to say it took me a lot to actually read this for one reason only - the punctuation. Why have you got three ... after everything? I know that in english it signifies a pause, but you overdo it. There are times when it is fitting:

All I see is the pain I’ve not been able to stop... the pain I’ve caused by just being Harry Potter...

and then there are other times when you really should consider using a semi-colon or a comma, or even just a period

“Hiya Harry” James waved, “That was a great catch at the Ravenclaw match last weekend. Very proud, son, very proud.”

If I was you, I'd go over your stories and work on the punctuation. It'll add to the content and really boost the quality of your stories. You're a good writer - don't let something so easily fixed get you down.

Author's Response: Yes, your remark on the elipses is valid. I totally overuse them, without a doubt. I will go over it and edit when I have some time. This actually has only been edited once since its completion, and that was for some coding problem... It was my first, so I'm sure its very rough around the edges. I appreciate your review, and I will look over all my "..."'s as soon as I can. :) Thank you!

Author's Response: I just edited out about 45 "..."'s. You were so right -- they were beginning to annoy me, and I wrote them. Thank you Trixy!! Very very very good advice!

 Report Review

Review #9, by wickedwitch25 (not logged in) Mrs. Potters Lullaby

11th October 2005:
That was cute. I wouldn't really call it romance though. The thing at the end with James and Sirius made me want to cry. Nice job.

Author's Response: I wouldn't call it romance either... because that would be weird. Its just kinda sad, and emotional. Thank you for reading :) I'm glad you liked it :)

 Report Review

Review #10, by crystal allan Mrs. Potters Lullaby

11th October 2005:
I’ve been so sick lately and I’m finally feeling well enough to catch up on my review writing. I felt so bad that I haven’t gotten around to reviewing more of your stories, so you were the first on my to-do list :)

How do you do it? You’ve taken a genre that I entirely abhor and turned it into something that is incredibly beautiful. The song flows with the words so well; there’s nothing forced or awkward about it. Everything that I hate about songfics are entirely reversed here – they’re gone, and I have absolutely nothing to complain about. Nothing at all. For someone who enjoys nitpicking and whining this is terribly dissatisfying :)

Now, I knew who the main character in the story was, and I knew that the ‘He’ was Harry. But no matter what, vague beginnings will never fail to engage my brain into trying to figure out the 'mystery'. Looking for those small details that writers use to show whom it is before they actually address it is something I truly enjoye. I love that, I don’t know why, I can’t fully explain it, but I do. It’s one of my favorite literary techniques.

The connection you portrayed between Harry and his mother was amazing. I can imagine him having that type of emotional breakdown, and actually finding comfort in such dreams. There was something so heart wrenching in their interaction, something desolate and terribly sad. You portrayed the emotions here so well, they were nearly tangible.

I love that you had Lily, James, and Sirius waiting at Godric’s Hollow. It seemed almost symbolic – that is Harry’s beginning and in the way you wrote it, as almost the residing afterlife, it seems to be his end here. That sent a shiver down my spine, it really did. That correlation was beautiful.

Overall I enjoyed this story very much. Now, I promise that as soon as I find the time I’m going to go through your other stories – though it might take a while :)

Author's Response: I'm so sorry you've been feeling badly... poor thing. Songfic comes easily to me. I actually wrote this one, my first fanfic ever, in about 2 hours. No editing, no second thoughts. I don't know how I do it, I'm just sure glad that I give you nothing to complain about :) I'm so glad that you appreciated the connection between Lily and Harry. It was loosely based in the fact -- that he, to some degree, liked the dementors because they allowed him to hear his mother -- and also in the Mirror of Erised - a link to mum and dad... I always call you tragically beautiful, and you always call me desolate and sad. I love that. :) Godric's Hollow. You are the first to say that in any review. I'm so glad that you saw the symbolism there. Your reviews are fantastic. You are fantastic. Thank you for taking so much time and consideration. I appreciate it so much, I really do.

 Report Review

Review #11, by prongs_stag Mrs. Potters Lullaby

7th October 2005:
Wow another great story. You are turning out to be one of the best writers I have even seen. Keep up the good work

Author's Response: Best you have ever seen? THANK YOU! I am humbled! I really appreciate the love -- just what I needed! Keep checking me for updates -- I usually try to put up a story a week. :)

 Report Review

Review #12, by timeturner Mrs. Potters Lullaby

3rd October 2005:
This was a dark Harry fic that turned out wonderfully in the end. He seemed so lost and all alone and that he could find faith in his mother was just great. I have one suggestion-that you italicize or bold the song lyrics to help separate them from the actual story. Sometimes it makes them run together as they currently are. Other than that, this was sweet, tender, and a feel good story that we really see where Harry and his mother is concerned.

Author's Response: Thank you!!! I love the idea of connection between mother and son. Its just something that warms me. Suggestion taken! I have italicized the lyrics :) Thanks again!!

 Report Review

Review #13, by Padfoots Girl 32 Mrs. Potters Lullaby

2nd October 2005:
sweet very sweet

Author's Response: Thank you... I appreciate it:)

 Report Review

Review #14, by Me Mrs. Potters Lullaby

2nd October 2005:
U RULE, can't say much more crying too much.........

Author's Response: AW! Thank you... I hope its a happy cry!

 Report Review

Review #15, by Rebekka Mrs. Potters Lullaby

1st October 2005:
The ending was my favourite part. It was so touching. Hmm... as I already said, I don't like songfics. I think this would have been better without the song. The lyrics always cut the flow. But I really liked Lily's words to Harry and I'm a sucker for happy endings, so this was a wonderful story to read. :) Again, I found only one typo: "_He_ dreams had him running from something unseen and terrible." Should be _his_. :) Good work with this one, Jax. :)

Author's Response: Typo fixed! Its funny, I agree about songfics, and generally when I read them, I skip the lyrics completely!! Music really inspires me, and that's where I find my paradox... I don't really like writing them, but somehow it just happens... :) Either way, I'm glad that you really liked the story -- it was my first go in fanfiction, and I'm very proud of it. Thank you!!!!

 Report Review

Review #16, by HermionesTwin Mrs. Potters Lullaby

13th September 2005:
How elegant... you have a real touch for the subtle, and a real understanding of how to bend language. A mature and thoughtful approach to addressing where our loved ones go when they are no longer with us. A++ Best on the site.

Author's Response: Again... humbled. Thank you so much...

 Report Review

Review #17, by mmm_bacon Mrs. Potters Lullaby

13th September 2005:
awww....I feel like crying that was so good, it actually helped me come tp peice with a few things, thankyou for writing this, it was wonderful

Author's Response: I actually just lost someone very close to me recently, and writing this healed my soul a little -- I'm glad that it helped to heal yours. Thank you.

 Report Review

Review #18, by Peaches and Pie Mrs. Potters Lullaby

9th September 2005:
Just what I needed to start crying in the middle of the night. It's great though.

Author's Response: Aw! You're sweet :) Thank you :)

 Report Review

Review #19, by Mersai Mrs. Potters Lullaby

7th September 2005:
WOW!! That was BRILLIANT! I loved the last line...

Author's Response: Thanks! I don't know about brilliant, but I really really appreciate it!! :)

 Report Review

Review #20, by MySundayWarning Mrs. Potters Lullaby

7th September 2005:
Oh that was just wonderful, i feel very honored to get to make the banner for that beautiful story!

Author's Response: Thanks! You're really wonderful too! I can tell... this is the beginning of a beautiful friendship :)

 Report Review

Review #21, by posers_sux Mrs. Potters Lullaby

28th August 2005:
I really love your writing. I though the story was a bit confusing since I have never heard the song befor, but it was written great! About the banner, well i don't like making them for people, cuz it kind of leads to a chain of people asking for them and it adds up. I used to make the all the time so i know that is something that will happen. I am sorry... But, if you just write in an A/N at the end of your story that you need someone to make u a banner, someone will most likely voulenteer to make one.

Author's Response: Thanks for reading!!! And thanks for the tip! I appreciate it!!

 Report Review

Review #22, by ExLyN99 Mrs. Potters Lullaby

28th August 2005:
oooh, very nice!!!

Author's Response: Thanks!!!

 Report Review

Review #23, by Lumariel Draconis Mrs. Potters Lullaby

26th August 2005:
wow, this brought tears to my eyes. I figgured i'd return the favor of a review. :D i really did like this, and as soon as i get, oh, say ten reviews on In the End, i'll be posting up a sequel sort of thing. Hope you enoy! ~Lumie

Author's Response: Thank you!! Making people cry is one of my favorite things to do! :) I do hope you post a sequel... I really liked where you were going with In the End! (Do you know of anyone that would do banners for me??) :)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login