Reading Reviews for Hurt
  
17 Reviews Found

Review #1, by adluvshp I Will Make you Hurt

13th March 2014:
Blackout battle 3/6

Wow Ash!! This was brilliant!!

I rarely read pure Harry stories and this one caught my eye and definitely didn't disappoint. There was so much raw emotion, so many feelings, I was literally engaged in the story. The song choice of course was perfect too and added to the effectiveness.

You did a wonderful job of getting into Harry's head and putting all his pain and anger into words. His thoughts on Voldemort, Snape and Dumbledore were also very believable. Your narrative itself was very well written and some parts gave me chills.

I also absolutely loved the letter that Hermione wrote to him. The three little words "you are never alone" were exactly what he needed, and no one but Hermione could have helped him here since she was the only person (aside from Ron - though Ron did abandon Harry in GoF for a bit) who always stood by him and knows what he went through. It also made sense for Harry to write to Hermione with his worries rather than Ron.

All in all, this was such a heart wrenching and well-written one-shot. Your characterisation of Harry was amazing and writing style awesome.

Cheers,
AD
(AditiDraco95)

Author's Response: Oh Aditi, my Aditi, do you know how OLD this story is :P It was the first one shot I ever wrote, and coincidentally, my only songfic. oh my gosh I published it like 8 and a half years ago!! I can't deal with it :P

But I'm glad that you enjoyed it! I feel like I've grown so much as an author since then, and find it difficult to read haha. It's weird because I don't honestly write from Harry's point of view very often. Well, I did in one of my stories I guess but recently I haven't, so it means a lot for you to say that my characterization was good!

Thank you so much Aditi xx


 Report Review

Review #2, by HollyStone73 I Will Make you Hurt

14th July 2013:
This was amazing! So much emotion! I got chills as I read it! You have such a gift with words!

"naught a trace of the sparkle that witches and wizards worldwide held so dear" - So well said, but still so incredibly sad and true.

"lies that swam together in a cesspool of interconnected webs" - I really like this one because I see it as some pretty major foreshadowing that even Harry in this moment of despair and agony cannot even see coming. Brilliant!

I absolutely LOVE Hermione's letter at the end. It was such a wonderful way to end the story. There is a glimmer of hope and love that was delivered at the perfect moment for Harry and allowed the story to end on a more uplifting way. I loved it!!

Author's Response: OMG This story is SO OLD hahahaha. I'm glad you liked this haha. I wrote it in 2005 I think which is just ridiculous. Like...when even was 2005. It's the only songfic I've ever written, and subsequently also the only rejection I ever received! But I'm so glad you liked it, I don't even know what to say about it because I can't read it anymore because...old. lol!

 Report Review

Review #3, by CambAngst I Will Make you Hurt

14th April 2013:
Hi, Ashley! Thanks for pointing this story out.

More than anything, reading this really took me back to what things were like before Deathly Hallows came out. All of the guessing and uncertainty, the things that we all thought about certain characters... it was neat to suddenly jump back into that mindset. I didn't become a denizen of HPFF until after it was all over, so it was neat to get this glimpse into the past.

You did an awesome job of blending Harry's bitter sorrow and anger into the theme of the song. Especially at the beginning, when he's racked with grief and trapped in the place he hates more than any other in the world. As the song and story moved along, I thought it was interesting the way you twisted the lyrics a bit to make the hurting less of a byproduct of self-destructive behavior and more of a deliberate act directed at Voldemort, Snape and all the others who helped to bring about Dumbledore's death.

Going back to the things that we all -- mostly, anyway -- used to think before reading Deathly Hallows, I loved the comparison between Dumbledore and Snape in this. Dumbledore was written as the kind, loving, inspirational would-be savior of the world and Snape as the evil, deceitful, manipulative villain. Funny how much greyer things turned out in the end, isn't it?

OK, because it's me and you know that I nit-pick like there's no tomorrow, I did see one typo, I think...

All had ever done was inject a certain sanity and grace into horrendous situations where nothing but treachery could be found. - All he had ever done...

This was such an awesome stroll down memory lane, not to mention very true to the song. Thanks for sharing!

Author's Response: Dan, I honestly can't believe you came over here and left the first review on this story in 2 years. hahaha :)

I long for that time, back when we didn't know what was going to happen in the 7th book and everything was kind of a blank canvas as far as the future was concerned. I have such fond memories of that time and it was really fun to be in fanfiction back then. Although now we have next gen and all that fun stuff.

I have a hard time reading this story :) I wrote it and it was the only rejection that I ever got- because I wrote the s word and labeled it 15+. :P I should have known better! I chose to use NIN lyrics, but I think that I would have preferred now to use Johnny Cash's because I think his song is much more haunting. That being said I think when you look in my reviews a lot of the debate in it is whether or not it is Johnny Cash's song or NIN, I think because this was only a few years after his version came out.

Ahhh you found a typo! I need to edit that. I will do that some day :P I will I swear. I don't think I've edited this one since '07 haha.

I really thank you for your words on my sticking to the theme of the song. I feel like a lot of song fics do that, and it's nice to have kind words on a story that was written so long ago :)

I don't know if I could write Snape OR Dumbledore like that any more to be honest with you. I feel it's best to just leave it alone at this point :P

thank you so so so much again, I really appreciate your thoughts on this!!


 Report Review

Review #4, by Reyes91 I Will Make you Hurt

22nd August 2010:
Hello, LovlyRita!

This short little story was awesome. I love this song, and it fit so well with how Harry felt. All of that anger and drive for revenge seemed a bit frightening. He could have easily performed one of the Unforgivable Curses on someone in that moment. He had enough anger in him to do it. But, that quick letter for Hermione topped off this story. It was the exact thing he needed to read to calm himself down a bit. I'm also glad you didn't make it from Ginny. Not that it would have hurt the story, I just liked the fact that it was from the one person (other than Ron) that had stood by Harry since the beginning to truly understand what he was going through. It was wonderful.

-Reyes91

Author's Response: Wow, no one has read this story in a very long time!! I haven't even read this story in a long time! It was written 2 years before DH came out and I'm pretty sure it was my very first one shot, and my one and only song fic. Let me go see. Yep, first one shot ever.

But anyway, thank you so much for the review. I have to go back and read this story so I can respond to it properly...

Wow. so! here's what I know-- my writing style has changed A LOT since I wrote that over 5 years ago. So I'm really pleased that you liked it so much! It seems like 1000 years ago that I wrote it!

I'm glad you liked the letter from Hermione, i'm really glad I decided to include that. I think it really adds a bright spot to the story.

Thanks so much for reviewing this, I really sincerely appreciate it!


 Report Review

Review #5, by BlackRoses911 I Will Make you Hurt

29th June 2007:
Awww, that was so sad! I'm glad Hermione told him he wasn't alone though. He tries to be, but he never is. 9/10

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I know it was sad, but I really like this story, it's one of my favorites. :)

 Report Review

Review #6, by Muggle394 I Will Make you Hurt

3rd May 2007:
Love it. it was so sad

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked it, thank you so much for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #7, by goddessofsnark I Will Make you Hurt

3rd February 2007:
Meh, I'm not usually one for songfics because it's so easy to focus on the plot of the song and not do much but restate the song in the lyrics...hard trap to get out of, but for the most part, you can read this without the lyrics beind in there, so it's not all bad. Has a couple of really great lines in there, like "ringleader of satan's pawns" and such.

Author's Response: Well thank you very much, I'm glad I could break the trend for you. I very much appreciate your review!!

 Report Review

Review #8, by MysticalE I Will Make you Hurt

24th January 2007:
Wow - this is uber-fantastic. It's very poetic, there are a few lines I'm going to quote...
"...his list of doom..." - very to-the-point, and emotional
"His Godfather, Sirius Black, a light where the world began to grow increasingly dark." - beautifully written. I think this is exactly as Harry remembers Sirius
"...Severus Snape, the lying bastard, whose loyalty to the Order of the Phoenix was just another face he kept in his private collection." - Oh, how I love this line. It's so wonderful! I can't pinpoint exactly what I love about it... it's just so wonderful, and so Snape, and... fantastic!

Hermione's letter is so simple, and so emotional. It's perfect - I kinda think you ought to just end it there. But, I also like reading the comfort it gave Harry.
GREAT job! (as always..) :)

Author's Response: Yeah, I remember writing this one...it was my first one shot ever, my first song-fic..The line about Snape was actually inspired by a poem I wrote in high school about my best friend yeah...we had a fight...and I think the original inspiration was from the Beatles song "Eleanor Rigby" in the line "...Waits at the window, wearing a face that she keeps in a jar by the door,who is it for?" Sometimes I read this, and I definately see the poetry in it. I'm so glad you like it, it's very special to me :)

 Report Review

Review #9, by alaska I Will Make you Hurt

18th January 2007:
Very good. Just to let you know, the song was originally (I believe) done by Johnny Cash. Check it out; I find it much more raw and moving than the NiN version.

Author's Response: According to Wikipedia, Trent Reznor wrote the song in 1994 and considers it his most personal composition ever. Johnny Cash covered it in 2002. But I have heard it and it is an amazing song, both versions of it. THanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #10, by evelyn potter I Will Make you Hurt

27th March 2006:
really good story, i thought that it had a certain grace to it, brilliant.

Author's Response: Thank you so much, that story is one of my favs!

 Report Review

Review #11, by lalala I Will Make you Hurt

19th February 2006:
loved it...isnt "hurt" like the best song? so emotional. this was a great story...you put the perfect amount of emotion into it :)

Author's Response: Thanks..I really love that song, it's great. I think a lot of times, Harry's emotions are over looked and he's just a happy go lucky kid trying to kill VOldemort lol. The boy's got a heavy thing on his shoulders! And I tried to portray that here. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #12, by ev the phoenix I Will Make you Hurt

15th October 2005:
great job - I really like it how you stopped the story from being completely depressing, and added and ending that fitted so well. I love it!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I think of all my stories, this is my favorite because of the raw emotion in it. Thanks a lot for your review!

 Report Review

Review #13, by prisoner_of_imagination I Will Make you Hurt

2nd September 2005:
nice, keep up the good work. keep writing

Author's Response: Thank you very much! i plan to keep writing as long as I have ideas!

 Report Review

Review #14, by Amanda I Will Make you Hurt

23rd August 2005:
I love that song! I like it by Johnny Cash, that's what I hear in my head when I read the lyrics. This is well written adn very thoughtful makes me almost start crying

Author's Response: thanks for the review! When I hear NIN version, I think of this vengeful kind of "grrrr" song, but when Johnny Cash sings it, I think of this sad old man at the end of his life. No matter who sings it though, the message is clear, and I love it!

 Report Review

Review #15, by SweetRebel193 *not logged in* I Will Make you Hurt

20th August 2005:
this was incredibly well-written! The song went perfectly with the fic it was a wonderful piece and i loved it

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the review!

 Report Review

Review #16, by nomikkin I Will Make you Hurt

19th August 2005:
that was brilliant. i loved it. the different aspects of his pain and agony were very well placed and that sweet, yet tantalizing ending was wonderful. definitely goin under the favs! lol. great job my dear. much love! ;) ~nomikkin

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the kind review! I really enjoyed writing it, it was very sobering to think critically about what he must be going through. Glad you liked it so well!

 Report Review

Review #17, by caitieisafan1706 I Will Make you Hurt

19th August 2005:
awesome songfic....i LOVE the song and its overdriven amp!!!!

Author's Response: Thanks very much! I love the song too, such raw emotion throughout it.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login