Reading Reviews for Another Plane of Existence
  
71 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Bears Kitty A Cunning Trap

30th January 2008:
WRITE MORE SOON PLEASE! i am really enjoying this story and i hope this isnt another story that i have started and liked that ends up becoming abandoned

 Report Review

Review #2, by strangegirl6125 A Cunning Trap

26th November 2007:
Oh!

GOF, page 598: "He put a hex on me Professor Dumbledore, and I was only teasing him, sir, I only said that I'd seen him kissing Florence behind the greenhouses last Thursday..."

That's where that's from...

Author's Response: *g* Yes, you caught it. That's exactly where it's from. Good on you! I've been building up to that point for some time now. Florence ended up being a character I like a lot.

 Report Review

Review #3, by Rena A Cunning Trap

25th July 2007:
I like the part with Snape and Florence it was shocking but funny. His reaction was what people expected it to be. lol. I dont know why but Snape has become my favorite character so i love the way u write this story!!!

 Report Review

Review #4, by Rena A Cunning Trap

25th July 2007:
wow this is so good!!! the best story i have ever read!!! please continue!!!

 Report Review

Review #5, by brunettesrule A Cunning Trap

25th July 2007:
As i forgot to mention it in the last review, I just wanted to say I liked that he got an A in herbology. Obviously I've pictured Snape as a real intellect and very intelligent, but I like the fact that he's not perfect at everything as noone is!

The main thing in this chapter I suppose was the thing with Snape and Florence, I loved the way he dealt with it - it was both so Snape-like and so... for want of a better word, stereotypical male (that's not meant to be an insult to any men reading this!)

Surprisingly, McGonagall actually irritates me in this, I suppose that's because she's seen from Snape's point of view, and that's a real feat, so well done!

Thanks again for writing this wonderful story!


 Report Review

Review #6, by brunettesrule Hesitant Desire

25th July 2007:
I log on to check this story as I haven't in ages and find two new chapters?! Excellent!!!

I like the little bit of "rivalry" you mentioned between Remus and Snape, even though I imagine it's more on Snape's part - I can't imagine Lupin being very competitive.

Oh and when he says "You know me so well" to Florence, I imagined a perfect tone of biting sarcasm that just fits Snape so well!

There's a few small things in this that fit, but I would've liked changed slightly. I suppose the way Lily accepted his thanks is possibly one. I can see that perhaps she doesn't want to make a big deal out of it, but I just think she would've accepted his thanks, realising he doesn't say it often, if that makes sense? Unless she's said it lightly but really realised that he doesn't say it often.

I'm confusing myself now, I hope I haven't confused you! Thanks for the update even though I haven't reviewed until now!

 Report Review

Review #7, by _heavensent_ A Cunning Trap

24th July 2007:
Well, seeing as how you hadn't updated for about 7 months I didn't think I'd be seeing another installment of this fabulous fic. You have no idea how ecstatic I was to see that you had added another chapter. I loved it! Snape is absolutely my favorite character and the way you portray him is just marvelous! I loved the scene by the greenhouses b/w Snape and Florence and the aftermath of it all. Great job! You're a very talented writer :) 10/10

 Report Review

Review #8, by _heavensent_ Shaken by Violence

1st February 2007:
I'm a bit behind in my Harry Potter knowledge. What is Wilkes first name again?

BTW, brilliant chapter, as always :)



 Report Review

Review #9, by theherodconspiracy Hesitant Desire

6th January 2007:
This is fantastic. I really think you're one of the most skilled writers I've come across. I love the way you write Snape in such good character without making him become a very soft person underneath the cold exterior, as in other fan fiction. And you don't leave anything out of the plot either, weaving the whole rise of Voldemort thing into it (which is after all the whole point of the HP series). My only complaint is that this chapter moved very slowly, but I understand that it's important to build up the plot. Enchanting stuff.

 Report Review

Review #10, by _heavensent_ Hesitant Desire

19th December 2006:
I love it! You are such an amazing writer. It's weird because I never liked stories with Severus as the main protagonist but your story is just so captivating and eloquently written. I love the way you write Snape! I can't wait 'till you update! Soon I hope *fingers crossed*

 Report Review

Review #11, by susuwatari_sumi Ever Swiftly Moving

18th December 2006:
I just thought of something... wouldn't this be the year that Sirius lures Snape into the tunnel with werewolf-Lupin and James ends up saving him? Are you planning are incorporating that into your story?

Author's Response: Ahhh...very nice catch. Yes, I do plan on incorporating that into the story, hence the subtle Lupin references up until that point. (In fact, I was going to have Sev catch Lupin walking with M. Pomfrey to the Whomping Willow until I realized I made the Veritaserum transfer at an in-between moon phase.) I wanted to make Lupin more of a neutral "nemesis" up until that point. :)

 Report Review

Review #12, by susuwatari_sumi Hesitant Desire

14th December 2006:
beautifully done! I've been reading this novella since you started it and I've got to say you are hands down the best fan fiction writer I've ever come across! Keep writing! It's obviously what you were meant to do!

I'd love to see more of the mauraders... can't wait until next chapter!

Author's Response: Thank you very much, I'm thrilled that you're enjoying it, and flattered by your compliment. This fic is close to my heart, so I really put a lot of effort into making it an enjoyable read. Though I'm not a professional writer by any means, I do like to dabble in writing as a hobby.

And as for the Marauders, there will be much more of them soon. They can't stand that Snape is getting most of the attention. :)


 Report Review

Review #13, by _heavensent_ Ravages of Spirit

10th December 2006:
Wow. You are a really talented writer. I can't wait to read the next chapter!

Author's Response: Thanks so much. I'm glad you're enjoying it.

 Report Review

Review #14, by brunettesrule Ever Swiftly Moving

22nd October 2006:
Yeah, I did enjoy this one. It’s only the start of what could happen between Lily and Snape while making the potion, but already I can see how it can work both ways – meaning you could turn it easily into more of a friendship or as a relationship. Because they are on their own there’s more scope for their conversations to maybe turn personal. More on Lily’s side though as at the moment I can’t see Snape divulging his life story, though I must say, I like how she surprises him a few times throughout :) Ha, laughed at this: ”I assure you that you’re no less frightening at this hour”.

Author's Response: Thanks, brunettesrule. You're right, at this point, I could swing either way, but I do have a plan for this story--and if I ever get enough time to write, I know what's going to happen with their relationship. I do look forward to writing those personal scenes between Snape and Lily. (BTW-that line was my fave in the chapter.) Thanks for leaving your thoughts!

 Report Review

Review #15, by theherodconspiracy Ever Swiftly Moving

20th October 2006:
wonderful as always

Author's Response: Thanks, I'm glad you enjoy it.

 Report Review

Review #16, by susuwatari_sumi Shaken by Violence

3rd September 2006:
i've been waiting for forever for the next chapter! more! more!

Author's Response: I know, I'm really slow at updating. I'll try to post something up soon--the next chapter is halfway done. :)

 Report Review

Review #17, by SilverKestrel Shaken by Violence

31st August 2006:
As always - fantastic. only one problem - you don't update fast enough. and, maybe, Severus would have reacted when lily used his first name for the first time. but that's just picking holes. well done!

Author's Response: Yes, I admit, I am awful at updating quickly, and I apologize a hundred times over but it's something that I just can't help at the moment. And Lily has called Severus "Severus" before, but it's usually when she's being polite and wanting something (like his potions notes). It is odd, admittedly, but he reacts worse to addressing her with her first name than hearing his own...I don't know why, exactly. :) Thanks so much for reading!

 Report Review

Review #18, by My Muse Shaken by Violence

24th August 2006:
I greatly enjoyed the easy banter between Severus and Lily this chapter. They seemed so natural and almost comfortable with each other. This is turning out to be a great story and I can't wait till the next update.

Author's Response: They are getting more comfortable around each other, which definitely affects their future interactions. I'm glad you're still keeping up with this, and will try to update soon. Thanks for your feedback!

 Report Review

Review #19, by brunettesrule Shaken by Violence

12th August 2006:
It’s straight into the action with this one, which is nice considering it was lead into from the last chapter. I like how he uses blackmail – it always has struck me that Snape uses every piece of information he has on that person against them if he has to – the way he filed away information for later examination in the previous chapter (that’s me remembering that particular line!)
Also once he delivers the message he doesn’t talk much – more of a spectator than a contributor and that’s something you’ve made a trait throughout. Again, he notices Remus’ scars. Love how you integrated the private jokes between the Marauders with Lily’s musings on James, and Snape glowering in them in a medusa-like way. Also like how he doesn’t jump straight in to make Veritaserum, he considers it first. The banter between Lily and Slughorn is good too – she’s not flirty, but she acts in a way that makes me believe she knows how to get what she wants. Ooh, do I sense a private joke between Lily and Severus now with the balding spells?? Excellent! It’ll be interesting to see how they work with each other for longer than a class period.

Author's Response: Oh yeah, I couldn't just set up the scene and let it fall flat. I wanted to do some private Marauder jokes so that they seemed a little nicer, actually. I have them as complete jerks from Snape's point of view, but I want to show how Lily ends up developing a relationship with James (to Snape's horror). Thanks so much for the long, thoughtful review. I'm sorry it took me so long to reply!

 Report Review

Review #20, by Penny Lane  Broken

10th July 2006:
Still really good, still reading on. But obviously, there is going to be some kind of friendship developed between Severus and Lily .. I just want to see what kind of friendship it becomes.

-Penny.

Author's Response: Something will develop, but you know Snape--it will take a little while. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #21, by Penny Lane Ravages of Spirit

10th July 2006:
It's extremely well written and I'm really enjoying it. Good job :)

-Penny.

Author's Response: I'm glad you like it, Penny. Thanks for reading.

 Report Review

Review #22, by Aij Draught of Living Death

7th July 2006:
Good theory on the reasoning behind the counter-clockwise stirrings. :)

Author's Response: Thanks. It only took a little bit of research...that's the fun part of writing!

 Report Review

Review #23, by SilverKestrel Draught of Living Death

28th June 2006:
Very, very good. Snape is pretty much in cannon, though i don't think he's absoutely there yet (maybe more, or even some, sacasm?) I like the lily/snape thing, and James' reaction is god, though maybe too subtle. Very good!

Author's Response: I'm glad you're enjoying it, SilverKestrel. It's a funny thing, sarcasm. I thought there was quite a bit of Snape's dry humor when he interacted with others, but then...I have an odd sense of humor and maybe it's lost on most people. You're right however, right now, I'm keeping things subtle. I'm waiting to really let loose as the plot thickens! ;) Thanks for letting me know what you think!

 Report Review

Review #24, by brunettesrule Draught of Living Death

20th June 2006:
Good chapter. It’s a nice length (over 10 pages in Word!) – not too long but long enough so that you can have enough of what’s happening. As to characters, first of all, Narcissa and Snape? Interesting relationship, even if it’s not necessarily a pairing – I like how she’s slightly mysterious and he seems a little drawn to that. Also that Snape is very much an observer rather than a person involved in things and ”files away the information for later examination.” I’m not surprised he found the answer as to why the potion is different to everyone else’s senses first, or that he realised Slughorn’s greed at an early age. I like the bit where Snape and Lily work together – it’s a wonderfully carefully written part, and what each say is only what needs to be said – the lack of padding or details around what they say, for example. Thank you for the update, and enjoy writing!

Author's Response: Oh, length...ergh. I will not even venture into the length that this fic will end up!! :) Interesting point about Narcissa and Snape--I never so much considered them a pairing, however, after HBP, I do think they may have known each other a little better than one might expect. Nice observation about Slughorn--you're right, I do think Snape would catch one, especially if he was excluded from the Slug Club. Glad you liked the potions lesson--I had so much fun writing it. Thanks so much for keeping up with this fic and reviewing--I really like to hear your thoughts!

 Report Review

Review #25, by _WonkaVision Draught of Living Death

3rd June 2006:
Gets better with every chapter. A joy to read.

Author's Response: Thanks so much for keeping up! I'm glad you enjoy it.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>