Reading Reviews for CREAM OF THE CROP
  
35 Reviews Found

Review #1, by long_live_luna_bellatrix CREAM OF THE CROP

25th July 2009:
This was extraordinarily written. Your descriptions of Percy were nearly dead on. I particularly liked the first paragraph, which is exactly how I picture him.

At some times, though, I think you confused Percy with someone who is obsessed with neatness. At times your idea was correct, with him being horrified at the memory of his parents' nicknacks, but at others it was a little odd. Such as his need for 12 clean towels at all times, which came off as a little... overboard.

Otherwise, great job. It was hard, I'm dure, to write someone yo uhate so much, but you did it well.

 Report Review

Review #2, by k2_vet CREAM OF THE CROP

14th April 2006:
yer this is good. but is it all?

Author's Response: Yup, sorry. It's just a character analysis to get into his head a bit. So glad you enjoyed it though!

 Report Review

Review #3, by hussong89 CREAM OF THE CROP

13th April 2006:
Sorry, text error in my last review. I meant to say I would have never even thought of it. Also, the tear at the end was very interesting. What a great finish.

Author's Response: Hopefully the new upgrade will give us the option of editing our reviews for a brief time. I do the same thing. Thanks for mentioning the 'tear'...to me that was the goal of the whole story. Thanks again!

 Report Review

Review #4, by hussong89 CREAM OF THE CROP

13th April 2006:
Sorry, text error in my last review. I meant to say I would have never even thought of it. Also, the tear at the end was very interesting. What a great finish.

Author's Response: .

 Report Review

Review #5, by hussong89 CREAM OF THE CROP

13th April 2006:
This story was very interesting. I could see why it was on the Top 5 list. Percy with a compulsive disorder? Very good take on it, I would have even thought of it. Top marks, I really enjoyed the story. He is very in character and it all fits.

Author's Response: Actually if I feel any sympathy for the guy...it would be if he did have OCD and was forced to grow up in that crazy, crooked house with all those undisciplined happy people mucking about! That must have been sheer hades for him. Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #6, by Prudence Prior CREAM OF THE CROP

10th April 2006:
This is possibly the best and most believable portrait of Percy that I've ever read. Bravo! You've captured the logic of his meaness to his mother and father perfectly. This is soooooo Percy! It's also very well written. Your imagery and word choice is wonderful. I'm very impressed. I loved the washing compulsion at the end. This is a wonderful portrait. Cheers, Pru

Author's Response: Wow, thank you Pru...your comments mean a lot to me. Yes, I figured it is warped logic that drives his justification for his actions...not emotion. However, he HAS to have them and I was trying to search them out. It's amazing (and not a little frightening) that I could access his thoughts. Thanks so much for the review!

 Report Review

Review #7, by Aussie girl CREAM OF THE CROP

10th April 2006:
i read this cause it was under my top 5. Otherwise i probably wouldn't have found this great story. Its really nice, made me feel a tad sad inside but i think it was written very truthfully ... ok
cyaz luv em

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I also am very glad you found it...but most delighted that you liked it. Yeah, it is sad to realize how he really thinks.

 Report Review

Review #8, by Golden_Snitch CREAM OF THE CROP

28th March 2006:
Percy the strange! Good story, very beievable.

Author's Response: Thanks so much for taking the time to review...and so glad you liked it!

 Report Review

Review #9, by llama CREAM OF THE CROP

28th March 2006:
Perfect! absolutely perfect! (by the way, i despise percy).

Author's Response: Thanks Llama...So glad you hate the guy too!

 Report Review

Review #10, by kaitlyn CREAM OF THE CROP

24th March 2006:
i loved this story! I dislike Percy very much but your fan fiction actully made me feel bad for him....wow....great job :)

Author's Response: Actually, even though I rant and rave at him...that tear at the end is something Percy wrote. Honestly, I had no control over it and it made me a little sympathetic towards him too. Not to the point of forgiving him! But, maybe to the point of believing he might come around someday. Thank you so much for taking the time to read and review! I can use all the 'wow's I can get! ;-)

 Report Review

Review #11, by PropMaster CREAM OF THE CROP

23rd March 2006:
Okay, I'm back (finally). This was a great character study. I love how tight your writing got in this compared to your other stories. This reflects the character's tightness quite well. Lots of thick paragraphs and overly detailed descriptions was beautifully 'Percy'. Bravo!!

Author's Response: No humor...no dialogue...this was bloody difficult for me. A real challenge and definately not my usual fare. So very glad you think I pulled it off! Yup, only Percy would worry that the stripes on his jammies lined up! Thanks Prop!

 Report Review

Review #12, by antlers CREAM OF THE CROP

21st March 2006:
ahh i liked this story ... i think it totally captured percy, or at least how i pictured him ... kudos to YOU!

Author's Response: Thank you so very much for taking the time to tell me you liked it. It means a lot!

 Report Review

Review #13, by Reader CREAM OF THE CROP

19th March 2006:
Great writing, you could make anyone just hate Percy.

Author's Response: Aw, I was hoping the 'tear' at the end gave him a smidgen of humanity....Nah! Thank you so much!

 Report Review

Review #14, by HPsmaertone32 CREAM OF THE CROP

19th March 2006:
this was awesome! it portrays Percy perfectly VERY well done!

Author's Response: He is a hard character to understand and I'm delighted you think I did. Thank you so VERY much.

 Report Review

Review #15, by yeah CREAM OF THE CROP

16th March 2006:
i really, really like this.

Author's Response: Thank you very, very much! ;-)

 Report Review

Review #16, by PropMaster CREAM OF THE CROP

8th March 2006:
This is a pseudo review because I haven't actually read this (yet; it's on my list!!). But hey, a big congrats for making the top 5 list. Sending cyber bows your way!!

Author's Response: Me? Huh? Top five of what? Really Prop, I haven't the foggiest notion. Maybe you have me mixed up with someone else. At any rate...please come back and read when you get the chance ;-)

 Report Review

Review #17, by Something Wicked CREAM OF THE CROP

9th February 2006:
This was brilliantly written and gave a great insight into Percy's mindset. It was darkly humorous and very stylish. I really enjoyed this.

Author's Response: I am so very glad you enjoyed this. I can't tell you how much it means to me to know that people have read my efforts...liked them...and actually took the time to tell me so! I don't want to say too much 'warm and fuzzy' about a Percy fic, but that's how you made me feel. Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #18, by Moonless Midnight CREAM OF THE CROP

8th February 2006:
damn, that was so damn good!!crazy how well you captured the character even though that isnt how precise jkr described him. i hate him too!!we should oo team up and assassinate him!!!! ~Fairy~

Author's Response: LOL, I wouldn't go quite that far. Assassination is a trifle rough for being a jerk. We wouldn't have very many people left in the world. Muaahahahah! Thanks so much for the kind review!

 Report Review

Review #19, by marauderin_around CREAM OF THE CROP

5th February 2006:
You've made Percy into a pretty abhorrent character and whilst I hope he may redeem himself eventually there is no question that he is a prat!Get the impression he's got OCD as well. All the peculiarities you describe fit perfectly with his character. A piece of classy writing to enjoy

Author's Response: So glad you picked on on the OCD. I used some memories of my father for this. He suffered (no he ENJOYED and WE suffered) from a trace of it. Percy's tear at the end does show he can redeem himself. Nobody could deny Molly' mothering for too long. Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #20, by ravenclawprincess CREAM OF THE CROP

25th January 2006:
ahh, percy's such a jerk. but i like your story *smile*.

Author's Response: Oh, I am so glad I managed to get across his 'jerkiness'! That is what I was striving for and it was so difficult. Thank you so very much for understanding and leaving such a nice review!

 Report Review

Review #21, by My Muse CREAM OF THE CROP

3rd December 2005:
Wow, what a superbly written story. Your insight into Percy's inner thoughts and domain is remarkable. The cold ridge perfection that he perceives in himself is captured so well. A very eye opening look at the truly distrubing Percy Weasley.

Author's Response: There has to be some sort of weird logic that makes him act the way he does. I'm thrilled that you thought I figured him out and delighted that you left such a wonderful review! Thank you.

 Report Review

Review #22, by sauerkraut_poet CREAM OF THE CROP

19th November 2005:
This is hilarious, Jacki! =) I fell in love with this story from the first sentence. I'm so happy to find more stories which get inside the head of such a disliked character without making them any more likeable. Just like my Toujours Pur, lol. Your use of language is priceless - "prodigious productivity," lol. I love the detail about his hand-washing - classic obsessive-compulsive, eh? And the parts praising Crouch and Umbridge were too funny! I loved the touch about his bible being "Prefects who Gained Power," although it seems like he'd be ordering a new copy every month or something... Really, though, this story was absolutely brilliant, perfect from beginning to end. Thanks so much for letting me know about it! =)

Author's Response: I am delighted that you took the time to read...and thrilled that you enjoyed it. It was a tough one to write...the inside of that skull was creepy! Thank you so much!

 Report Review

Review #23, by Cleo CREAM OF THE CROP

8th November 2005:
EEEKKK! living with someone like that would send me to st. mungo's for sure!!! scary to say most of us know people like that (or close to it) . i think you are exactly on the money with this drscription of Percy. great job

Author's Response: LOL! Just visiting his narrow little mind to write this almost had me checking in for a psych evaluation myself. Gave meself the Willies, I did. Thanks so much for taking the time to review and so glad you liked it!

 Report Review

Review #24, by Vloyski CREAM OF THE CROP

25th October 2005:
Very well done. The writing is as crisp as Percy's obsessions. Natasha

Author's Response: Since I rely on dialogue so often, this was a real exercise to have nothing spoken. Also, it was my first piece with no humor. Very tough for me. So very glad you enjoyed it. It means a lot!

 Report Review

Review #25, by Mrs Insane One CREAM OF THE CROP

14th October 2005:
Yep, definately nicer then I could have been to him! lol... and I found the story when I checked out your Author's page, I've added you to my Favorite Authors list because I like reading your stories... speaking of which, I just noticed a new one! YEAH! *runs to read the next one* - Jenn

Author's Response: Aw, Jenn, I am honored! You have been on my Fav list since I first read your stories. Yup, writing Percy was tough, but the more I got into his OC/Paranoid mind, the more I kinda...KINDA!...felt sorry for the poor blighter!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>