Reading Reviews for The Best Disguise for Shame
153 Reviews Found

Review #1, by CambAngst The Beginning of All Things

8th March 2013:
I'm going to get in one more review and then I swear I'll do work! I promise! ;)

Well, you really didn't leave any doubt as to how Severus Snape comes to dislike muggles and crave acceptance so badly. But let's not get ahead of myself. I liked the idea that Eileen and Tobias once had a happy life together. A lot of Snape biography stories skip over that point and go directly to the angry, abusive alcoholic phase of his father's life. Obviously such a man never would have lured a wealthy, pure blood witch away from the comfort and safety of her old life. The scene where she prepares his dinner was nicely done. I loved the juxtaposition between the wooden spoon and her wand.

Severus was an adorable if somewhat awkward little boy. The idea of him being somewhat isolated from the rest of the world only reinforced how much he idolized his father. So when everything comes undone for their family, the betrayal must have hit him that much harder. It's a well-constructed narrative that holds together solidly.

I found the idea of Tobias instantly saying such terrible things to his wife when he sees her performing magic to be a bit... abrupt. I think the best suggestion I could offer for this chapter would be to slow down the progression of events a little. Let Tobias question Eileen about what's happening. His visceral reaction only makes sense to me if he already suspected that something was going on with her and perhaps he'd already tried to ask and she lied to him about it. I also get that the events are being filtered through Severus's eyes, so they probably come across a bit harsher than they actually were. But still, I think you'd gain a lot by having Tobias offer Eileen a chance to explain herself -- or even demand angrily that she do so.

I saw one tiny typo. Considering how long ago you wrote this, you're probably thinking, "Ugh, what a tool this guy is!" And you'd be right, but anyway here it is:

She hadnít even confided in Tobias, who though she was just as normal as the next lady on the street. - who thought

You're off to a good start. I'm really curious to see where else you're planning to take this!

Author's Response: *hides face in hands* I can't believe you've read this story. well the opening chapter anyway. gaaah. This was literally the very first piece of Harry Potter fanfiction I ever wrote. My very first chapter ever. There was no practice or throw away chapters, this was just it. Ugh. *hides again.*

Well thank you for brushing the cobwebs off this story.

I wish I could tell you the state of mind I was in when I wrote this or what my thought process behind it was but it's been nearly 8 years and it's hard to remember! All I know is that I was deeply affected by the events of Half Blood Prince, as this chapter was written only a few days after I finished the book. So you have to understand that DH hadn't been released yet. All I knew was that Snape killed Dumbledore and I was just sitting there like...what.

So, this was my answer to that, a story about what might have driven him to such atrocious actions.

I think I was just going for reasons for Severus to hate his father, reasons to drive him into the name half blood prince, a way to kind of identify with that side of his genetics.

When I think back at the plot of this story I actually cringe. Part of me wants to hide it, but the other part of me says no. Yes, my characters are probably Mary Sues and they it doesn't meet canon anymore *cries because I am such a canon writer* but it was my first attempt at an HPFF so I guess I'm kind of proud of it.

Wow I don't know if I even answered this review I don't think I did but I've rambled on and on. Thank you so so much for reading this chapter, I really do appreciate it very much.

 Report Review

Review #2, by Stefenie Epilogue

7th November 2010:
Well that was hoping you have (or are planning to make) a sequel for this...

Author's Response: Nope, I finished it over 5 years ago :) But thanks for reading!

 Report Review

Review #3, by snapefan4life Epilogue

15th February 2010:
omgee ! amazing ! i cried so so freaking hard when elise died ! i honestly thought that snape was gonna have a shot at love. guess not :,( anywhay , it was a greats tory ! very well planned and written .

Author's Response: Thank you very much for the kind review. I hate that I had to take that shot at love away from him, but why else would Snape have joined the death eaters? Well, of course now we know the answer to that, but at the time I was writing this, I must be the only way!!! haha, thanks so much again for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #4, by snapeangel Epilogue

10th June 2009:
awsome story..i was revited!!

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked it:)

 Report Review

Review #5, by snapeangel Destiny's Perfect Son

10th June 2009:
his wand is's ebony and dragon heartstring core


love the story so far though..glad you got rid of tobias as quickly as possible!

Author's Response: I wrote this...starting 4 years ago I think? And at the time, I don't think his wand was known. I did thorough research on it from the HP lexiconBut thank you for letting me know, whenever I come back to this story and edit it, I'll make sure to insert that change :)

 Report Review

Review #6, by jacobblackismyboyfriend Epilogue

8th November 2008:
wow. first of all i loved the title. it caught my eye right away and i was like omg i have to read this story. and freakin A i'm so glad i did. loved it bunches and bunches

Author's Response: This title is one of my favorite things about this story. I'm so happy you decided to read it! Thanks so much for the kind review!

 Report Review

Review #7, by alisonrocks08 Disasterous Arrival

25th February 2008:
I like your Snape story, Im only on like the fourth chapter, cuz of my buzy life, but its still a great story! You should continue writing Snape stories!

Author's Response: Well, I know you wrote this a year ago, but I hope you had a chance to finish it!

 Report Review

Review #8, by quailsrock23 The Beginning of All Things

11th January 2008:
wow, the end was intense. it was really good though. i want to keep reading. I like how you're starting Snape's story from the very beginning and you've characterized Eileen and Tobias nicely so far. 10/10.

Author's Response: I agree. I'm glad you like it so much :)

 Report Review

Review #9, by love _Conquers_ All Epilogue

21st November 2007:
beautiful story really really lovely 10/10

Author's Response: Thank you so much!

 Report Review

Review #10, by love _Conquers_ All Turn Away

21st November 2007:
that was so sad. made me cry (and i'm at work! how embarrasing)

Author's Response: I'm so sorry you cried at work, I promise that was not the intent! (or maybe it was)

 Report Review

Review #11, by love _Conquers_ All Anaphylaxis

21st November 2007:
awww poor elise. i'm glad snape kiled his grandfather

Author's Response: part of me is too!

 Report Review

Review #12, by love _Conquers_ All The Beginning of All Things

21st November 2007:

Author's Response: That's how I do!

 Report Review

Review #13, by i_luv_rupert Epilogue

9th November 2007:
Hey, I really loved this.
I love the fic's where Snape and Sirius both like the same girl.
I loved the ending with Dumbledore, and the bit where it sort of flashes back and she says 'I'll make you cry one day' or something like that as he is crying over her death, Its really cute in a really sad way.

Author's Response: I'm so happy you decided to read this, thank you so much for your kind review! :)

 Report Review

Review #14, by Snapelover915 Epilogue

5th November 2007:
Wow...that was a fantastic story. Very well written...great job!

Author's Response: Thank you :)

 Report Review

Review #15, by AceShooter The Beginning of All Things

12th October 2007:
So I decided to start reading this while I wait for the update on Letters to My Father and I gotta say you are truely a great writer! I am extremely jealous. I just dont know how you do it. Kudos to you. :)

Author's Response: lol well thank you very much I appreciate your kind words!

 Report Review

Review #16, by Severus Montrenoire Disasterous Arrival

24th September 2007:
Your story is amazing and so well written, I'm moved! Severus is by far my favorite character and reading your story is like getting a glimpse of who he really is/was...It made me forget he doesn't actually beautiful.

Author's Response: Thank you very much. To hear such wonderful words about my story makes me very happy indeed :)

 Report Review

Review #17, by essenni Epilogue

26th August 2007:
This is definitely my favorite Snape/OC fic! (and I've red lots of them)

Author's Response: Well I'm so honored! Thank you for reading my story :)

 Report Review

Review #18, by leighbee Disasterous Arrival

16th August 2007:
wow thats really good writing...
im hooked!

1 thing... when he used avada kedavra at his dads grae.. wouldnt the ministry have found out cus he was underage??

Author's Response: True, very true. I don't know if he was particularly thinking about it at that point. Since I don't go into detail at that point, I'll say that it did register at the ministry, but he left before they got there. I don't know. I guess I don't have a good explanation. you caught me :) But thank you for leaving such a lovely review!

 Report Review

Review #19, by Roseandbuttercups Epilogue

27th July 2007:
this story was absolutily great! I mean that it was a story that I could not look away from! Not many stories have done that, and if you continue on the path I can be sure that...well.though I am not an expert...I see a top read newstory in your future. Well, thank you for an excellent story and I hope to be reading more of them in the future

Author's Response: Well thank you so much, I don't even know what to say, that was a great review! I'm sorry you couldn't look away, I hope you didn't miss an important meeting or appointment or anything :) Thanks so much for the kind words, they are very appreciated :)

 Report Review

Review #20, by kitsunekilala Epilogue

26th July 2007:
i loved this story im about to cry you didn't ruin anything in the actual storie which makes this story truly magnificent i hope to read more stories from you beautifully done i give you an 110%

Author's Response: Thank you so much, that means a lot to me. This story was my baby, and though it is now AU, I treasure it and your comments :)

 Report Review

Review #21, by MysticalE Epilogue

19th July 2007:
I'm not really gonna say much about this chapter, except: Yeay for a sequel!

I have been re-reading HBP, and was rather disappointed that they do have an inventor of the Wolfsbane potion. :( I like your choice of inventor so much better that I'm going to keep it that way in my mind. So congratulations - you've officially altered my view on the HP Universe (however slightly)!

Can't wait for the sequel, I'm sure it will be smashing!

Author's Response: I know, I was kind of sad to learn someone had invented the wolfsbane potion, and i even researched that!! boooo!! Oh well. But wow, I altered your view on the HP universe! That's big, considering I didn't have anything to do with the HP universe really. As for the sequel that DH is out it makes my story completely AU. I thought about changing it around a bit...keeping Elise as a the love interest, of course, but playing up Lily's role a little more. I did have her be kind to him, so I guess that's good, right? Anyway...yeah. Thank you so much for the time you spent to read my stories, it has meant so much, and you are by far my favorite reviewer of all time :)

 Report Review

Review #22, by MysticalE Turn Away

19th July 2007:
Alright. I know I haven't reviewed this chapter yet... and you'll just have to believe me when I say that I read it shortly after you posted it. I think by reviewing the final chapter(s) I'll be admitting that it's over - which I don't want to do. :(

The funeral scene is horrible, and the break-down Snape had in the Great Hall with Lily is wonderful, and heartbreaking, and terrible all at once.

The meeting with Voldemort is to the point. After having read the next chapter I especially love how he assures Snape that it wasn't Death Eaters that ordered the killing.

And then the ending. It's perfect. You really don't need anything more. It's so sad, and tragic (go you, I suppose ;))

And this is going to end here... because I have nothing else to say! Except Bravo! *tear*

Author's Response: I do believe you, I do!! I'm so happy you liked it, I was going to PM you a few times over at the forums, and I just didn't do it because I didn't want to look like I was asking for reviews. But I thought maybe you didn't see it....but you did! yay! I'm glad you liked it!!

 Report Review

Review #23, by greeneyed Epilogue

12th July 2007:
Fantastic story

Author's Response: Thank you :)

 Report Review

Review #24, by TheFalk The Beginning of All Things

8th July 2007:
that man is is is well just awful.

Author's Response: I know...thanks so much for reviewing though!

 Report Review

Review #25, by Andromedatonks Under the Beech Tree

3rd July 2007:
Oh, I'm so glad for them, I'm wondering where they will end up next. I really love the way you write Severus's inner voices:)
*gone to read the next chapter of your wonderful story*

Author's Response: I'm so happy you do. Part of me really feels like revising some of them, but this helps me to leave it as it is!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>