Reading Reviews for The Best Disguise for Shame
  
159 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Iellwen Money and Girls, Girls and Money

19th April 2014:
Cabbage, crackers and tea... Wow, that's really not much o_O Good thing he wrote Dumbledore (boy, he really knows everything, doesn't he^^)

It's a good thing he's coming into some money (hurray for deadbeat dads dying without leaving a will, hehe!)

Yeah, better run from the old hag! 'come join me behind the counter' *shudder* this could have escalated so quickly! Good thing Sevvy's smart (and he can use non-verbal spells)!
Man, I'd love to see him shirtless, working on his shack's garden! ♥

I really love that Snape is interested in Elise - and finds her more attractive than Lily!

Ooh, I wonder who told him there's new information... And who died...

I'm sorry I'm reviewing so irregularly, RL is exhausting. But I really like this story; it gives a very refreshing, credible perspective of Snape!

Cheers! :)

 Report Review

Review #2, by Iellwen Disasterous Arrival

24th March 2014:
Hi there!

It took me a while to get the time to review properly again, but I did not forget your story - though I've read your wonderful answers to my previous reviews and thank you for the heads up :D
For you to have written this story before the 6th book came out, KUDOS! (I guess I should've been able to see this coming, but I'm just not the quickest snake in the pit, tehee)
And no Severus/Lily 'ship isn't disastrous, I just love it when they interact :D I fell in love with this story because it's about Severus (*squeal* *very moe* *kyaaa*)
And Lily's right, everybody needs a friend :D


This chapter was really emotional, with his Mother leaving him like that. Having Severus scream into the earth was a really nice touch - I felt there was something really sad in having Severus loose it like that; not that he didn't have his reasons, but he's a character (as an adult) that really just keeps his cool and doesn't seem to care. That could have been his one and only tantrum, and that's really sad.

I'm looking forward to read about Severus' growth and his path to forever placing his loyalty in Dumbledore's hands.

 Report Review

Review #3, by Iellwen A Birthday Fit for Darkness

15th March 2014:
I'd feel terrible if I wasn't as Slytherin, but I laughed SO HARD at the letter!
Eileen has definitely lost it and wouldn't win a mother-of-the-year award (I don't think she'd even be nominated!^^) but wow, way to break the news! The first sentence is just... Wow. Eileen, bitter much?!

And poor Severus, being hit with a vomiting hex! What a douche James is! And he steals his quill and gets Sevvy humiliated...!

But coming back to his father's grave... WAY TO GO SEVVY!!! REVENGE! Best served cold, eh? ^^

YES, some Lily/Severus action is brewing!
I'm sooo looking forward to it!
I really need to get some sleep right now, but I'll be back. :D

Author's Response: I had to go back and read what the letter was - ah yes. The poor passing of his father. Yeah, I think his mother has some sort of emotional difficulties in this story lol!

Ok I think I should tell you again, even though I did in my last review - this isn't a Snape/Lily story :P It was written before that ship was a huge thing. Even though it is my absolute favorite ship in the world! I just feel like you're going to be so disappointed and I'm sorry!! I feel bad! I feel like I should go back and rewrite it for you just so you won't be disappointed hahaha. It's just that it's so old.

But thank you so much for this review, I really appreciate it!


 Report Review

Review #4, by Iellwen About A Boy

15th March 2014:
AARGH, What did he read?!!?!

Eileen is the one that showed introduced him to the Dark Arts, in a way. More shame on her!!

I kind of miss the pre-Hogwarts interaction between Lily and Severus but his lusting (although it could count as a crush, couldn't it?^^) after Narcissa was such a twist it made up for it :D Is that the reason he decided he'd join the dark side so easily? ^^

With Severus being lonely on his birthday, I can't help but see more of Harry in him - could it be some karmic payback because James (and Sirius and others, but mainly James) tormented poor Severus? What gits they were, back then, huh?
I love how Severus' affection for Lily is stronger every time she shoves James' approaches away^^

I'm itching to know what Severus read in that letter; I'm off to the next chapter!!! :D

Author's Response: I understand your feelings about pre-Hogwarts Severus and Lily, but in my defense we didn't know about that yet since this story was written before DH :P The whole bit with Narcissa was a very interesting road that I went down but I enjoyed writing it!

I know, with James and Sirius and all that, gosh, not a lot incenses me more than that!

I do want to caution you if you read on - this is not a Snape/Lily story, it's Snape/oc because...I didn't even think about Lily at first being a love interest for him! It's just not something that occurred to me back then.hmm. But thank you so much for the review I really appreciate it!


 Report Review

Review #5, by Iellwen Destiny's Perfect Son

15th March 2014:
DIE TOBIAS DIE - Oh well, exile is just as good ^^

I loved this chapter because Severus not only got to stand up to his psycho dad AND got to officially be a wizard, receiving the letter from Hogwarts and shopping in the Alley.

So young and still so smart - I can really picture Severus being that kind of kid. And as terrible as that sounds, him seeing his dad abusing his mom also kind of fits the profile... Poor Severus... *sigh*
After finally getting rid of his no-good father, Severus faces his mother's cowardice and is even disgusted - wow! So much that explains his personality!!

One teeny detail 'father told me he'd pay top dollar for it' since the kid speaking is probably Lucius Malfoy (blonde, snotty, arrogant, 'father this' ^^), he probably wouldn't say 'top dollar'. :D
I loved that Severus got to hear about about brooms and wish he'd have one, kind of like Harry will years later ^^

Author's Response: Hahha yeah, I'ma be honest with you, I do not remember what happens in this chapter so I'm just gonna go off your review. I can remember that Severus was very disturbed about his father and the way he treated his mother. And your're totally right about the dollar thing. I should probably fix that :P Thank you so much for this review!

 Report Review

Review #6, by Iellwen The Beginning of All Things

15th March 2014:
Since this is my very first time reading about Severus' parents, my mind is blown!

Thinking Severus could've led a perfectly normal childhood if he didn't show any potential for magic... But even though he'll grow up to be a wizard, it wasn't even him that let the cat out of the bag! Argh, curse you Eileen for putting such misery on your son! (she could've just *whoop* wiped his memory, hehe^^)

And Severus is so smart; he knows his mother uses the stick and does special tricks, but he didn't tell - he observed!

Tobias is such a bad father, I want to smack him! He doesn't even know if his son is also a 'freak', he just thinks it's so and calls him no son of his!

I just want to go and give child-Severus a big hug! It's just so sad!
I can't wait to read about when he meets Lily! :D

Author's Response: Oh my good sweet Lord, this is my first chapter that I ever posted on HPFF!! This story hasn't gotten reviews in like...YEARS haha I can't believe you are reading it!

I published this story in 2005, right after the 6th book came out. I wanted to know why things had happened like they had - what made Snape become a Death Eater, why did he kill Dumbledore? Of course, we know all the answers to those things now, but at the time it was a blank slate so...this is going to seem AU...very AU, but at the time it was not, I promise haha. I feel like I have to defend it when all you've said is nice things about it!

Thank you so much for this review, I'm so glad that you have enjoyed the first chapter! I really appreciate it!


 Report Review

Review #7, by CambAngst The Beginning of All Things

8th March 2013:
I'm going to get in one more review and then I swear I'll do work! I promise! ;)

Well, you really didn't leave any doubt as to how Severus Snape comes to dislike muggles and crave acceptance so badly. But let's not get ahead of myself. I liked the idea that Eileen and Tobias once had a happy life together. A lot of Snape biography stories skip over that point and go directly to the angry, abusive alcoholic phase of his father's life. Obviously such a man never would have lured a wealthy, pure blood witch away from the comfort and safety of her old life. The scene where she prepares his dinner was nicely done. I loved the juxtaposition between the wooden spoon and her wand.

Severus was an adorable if somewhat awkward little boy. The idea of him being somewhat isolated from the rest of the world only reinforced how much he idolized his father. So when everything comes undone for their family, the betrayal must have hit him that much harder. It's a well-constructed narrative that holds together solidly.

I found the idea of Tobias instantly saying such terrible things to his wife when he sees her performing magic to be a bit... abrupt. I think the best suggestion I could offer for this chapter would be to slow down the progression of events a little. Let Tobias question Eileen about what's happening. His visceral reaction only makes sense to me if he already suspected that something was going on with her and perhaps he'd already tried to ask and she lied to him about it. I also get that the events are being filtered through Severus's eyes, so they probably come across a bit harsher than they actually were. But still, I think you'd gain a lot by having Tobias offer Eileen a chance to explain herself -- or even demand angrily that she do so.

I saw one tiny typo. Considering how long ago you wrote this, you're probably thinking, "Ugh, what a tool this guy is!" And you'd be right, but anyway here it is:

She hadnít even confided in Tobias, who though she was just as normal as the next lady on the street. - who thought

You're off to a good start. I'm really curious to see where else you're planning to take this!

Author's Response: *hides face in hands* I can't believe you've read this story. well the opening chapter anyway. gaaah. This was literally the very first piece of Harry Potter fanfiction I ever wrote. My very first chapter ever. There was no practice or throw away chapters, this was just it. Ugh. *hides again.*

Well thank you for brushing the cobwebs off this story.

I wish I could tell you the state of mind I was in when I wrote this or what my thought process behind it was but it's been nearly 8 years and it's hard to remember! All I know is that I was deeply affected by the events of Half Blood Prince, as this chapter was written only a few days after I finished the book. So you have to understand that DH hadn't been released yet. All I knew was that Snape killed Dumbledore and I was just sitting there like...what.

So, this was my answer to that, a story about what might have driven him to such atrocious actions.

I think I was just going for reasons for Severus to hate his father, reasons to drive him into the name half blood prince, a way to kind of identify with that side of his genetics.

When I think back at the plot of this story I actually cringe. Part of me wants to hide it, but the other part of me says no. Yes, my characters are probably Mary Sues and they it doesn't meet canon anymore *cries because I am such a canon writer* but it was my first attempt at an HPFF so I guess I'm kind of proud of it.

Wow I don't know if I even answered this review I don't think I did but I've rambled on and on. Thank you so so much for reading this chapter, I really do appreciate it very much.


 Report Review

Review #8, by Stefenie Epilogue

7th November 2010:
Well that was depressing...im hoping you have (or are planning to make) a sequel for this...

Author's Response: Nope, I finished it over 5 years ago :) But thanks for reading!

 Report Review

Review #9, by snapefan4life Epilogue

15th February 2010:
omgee ! amazing ! i cried so so freaking hard when elise died ! i honestly thought that snape was gonna have a shot at love. guess not :,( anywhay , it was a greats tory ! very well planned and written .

Author's Response: Thank you very much for the kind review. I hate that I had to take that shot at love away from him, but why else would Snape have joined the death eaters? Well, of course now we know the answer to that, but at the time I was writing this, I figured...it must be the only way!!! haha, thanks so much again for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #10, by snapeangel Epilogue

10th June 2009:
awsome story..i was revited!!

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked it:)

 Report Review

Review #11, by snapeangel Destiny's Perfect Son

10th June 2009:
his wand is wrong..it's ebony and dragon heartstring core

;-)

love the story so far though..glad you got rid of tobias as quickly as possible!

Author's Response: I wrote this...starting 4 years ago I think? And at the time, I don't think his wand was known. I did thorough research on it from the HP lexiconBut thank you for letting me know, whenever I come back to this story and edit it, I'll make sure to insert that change :)

 Report Review

Review #12, by jacobblackismyboyfriend Epilogue

8th November 2008:
wow. first of all i loved the title. it caught my eye right away and i was like omg i have to read this story. and freakin A i'm so glad i did. loved it bunches and bunches

Author's Response: This title is one of my favorite things about this story. I'm so happy you decided to read it! Thanks so much for the kind review!

 Report Review

Review #13, by alisonrocks08 Disasterous Arrival

25th February 2008:
I like your Snape story, Im only on like the fourth chapter, cuz of my buzy life, but its still a great story! You should continue writing Snape stories!

Author's Response: Well, I know you wrote this a year ago, but I hope you had a chance to finish it!

 Report Review

Review #14, by quailsrock23 The Beginning of All Things

11th January 2008:
wow, the end was intense. it was really good though. i want to keep reading. I like how you're starting Snape's story from the very beginning and you've characterized Eileen and Tobias nicely so far. 10/10.

Author's Response: I agree. I'm glad you like it so much :)

 Report Review

Review #15, by love _Conquers_ All Epilogue

21st November 2007:
beautiful story really really lovely 10/10

Author's Response: Thank you so much!

 Report Review

Review #16, by love _Conquers_ All Turn Away

21st November 2007:
that was so sad. made me cry (and i'm at work! how embarrasing)

Author's Response: I'm so sorry you cried at work, I promise that was not the intent! (or maybe it was)

 Report Review

Review #17, by love _Conquers_ All Anaphylaxis

21st November 2007:
awww poor elise. i'm glad snape kiled his grandfather

Author's Response: part of me is too!

 Report Review

Review #18, by love _Conquers_ All The Beginning of All Things

21st November 2007:
meanie

Author's Response: That's how I do!

 Report Review

Review #19, by i_luv_rupert Epilogue

9th November 2007:
Hey, I really loved this.
I love the fic's where Snape and Sirius both like the same girl.
I loved the ending with Dumbledore, and the bit where it sort of flashes back and she says 'I'll make you cry one day' or something like that as he is crying over her death, Its really cute in a really sad way.
xx

Author's Response: I'm so happy you decided to read this, thank you so much for your kind review! :)

 Report Review

Review #20, by Snapelover915 Epilogue

5th November 2007:
Wow...that was a fantastic story. Very well written...great job!

Author's Response: Thank you :)

 Report Review

Review #21, by AceShooter The Beginning of All Things

12th October 2007:
So I decided to start reading this while I wait for the update on Letters to My Father and I gotta say you are truely a great writer! I am extremely jealous. I just dont know how you do it. Kudos to you. :)

Author's Response: lol well thank you very much I appreciate your kind words!

 Report Review

Review #22, by Severus Montrenoire Disasterous Arrival

24th September 2007:
Your story is amazing and so well written, I'm moved! Severus is by far my favorite character and reading your story is like getting a glimpse of who he really is/was...It made me forget he doesn't actually exist...so beautiful.

Author's Response: Thank you very much. To hear such wonderful words about my story makes me very happy indeed :)

 Report Review

Review #23, by essenni Epilogue

26th August 2007:
This is definitely my favorite Snape/OC fic! (and I've red lots of them)

Author's Response: Well I'm so honored! Thank you for reading my story :)

 Report Review

Review #24, by leighbee Disasterous Arrival

16th August 2007:
wow thats really good writing...
im hooked!

1 thing... when he used avada kedavra at his dads grae.. wouldnt the ministry have found out cus he was underage??


Author's Response: True, very true. I don't know if he was particularly thinking about it at that point. Since I don't go into detail at that point, I'll say that it did register at the ministry, but he left before they got there. I don't know. I guess I don't have a good explanation. you caught me :) But thank you for leaving such a lovely review!

 Report Review

Review #25, by Roseandbuttercups Epilogue

27th July 2007:
this story was absolutily great! I mean that it was a story that I could not look away from! Not many stories have done that, and if you continue on the path I can be sure that...well.though I am not an expert...I see a top read newstory in your future. Well, thank you for an excellent story and I hope to be reading more of them in the future

Author's Response: Well thank you so much, I don't even know what to say, that was a great review! I'm sorry you couldn't look away, I hope you didn't miss an important meeting or appointment or anything :) Thanks so much for the kind words, they are very appreciated :)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>