Reading Reviews for A Bitter Pill to Swallow
  
44 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Lillylover22 A Bitter Pill to Swallow

13th April 2012:
Another beautifully written, heart brakeing story. 10/10 : )

Author's Response: Aw, thanks so much. You're so sweet for leaving all these reviews for me.

 Report Review

Review #2, by AC_rules A Bitter Pill to Swallow

9th October 2011:
Well, this is horribly tragic. I've always thought that Remus's life after the war must have been the saddest saddest thing, and this was a perfect depiction of his grief.

Everything about this was perfect: his emotions, his relationships with Sirius (although I normally don't really do slash) and James and Lily. It made me want read more and more about their relationship and his life... and I just loved it. Beautiful and perfect.

Author's Response: I'm not sure what it says about me, but my favorite thing to write is a grief-stricken, broken Remus. There's a lot of emotion to write and it's not...fun, but there is a lot of potential with his character post-Halloween. I'm glad you liked this, especially since you don't normally read slash! Thank you for the review!

 Report Review

Review #3, by lizmusic45 A Bitter Pill to Swallow

13th September 2011:
Your writing is flawless.

I love how you write! Your stories are filled with raw emotion, but in the best way. Tragic, filled with a really good kind of romance. You write so well, that it amazes me that you're not a bestselling athour.

I love how you write Remus and Sirus, both are bloody amzing! I mean what else can I say, you make them so perfect I have no complanits.

Lizzie

Author's Response: Thank you! I think that's the best part of my writing, that I can pull these emotions into my stories and really make the readers feel what I want them. I don't think I'm good enough to be a best-selling author, but thanks! Haha. Remus and Sirius are my favorite characters to read and write and I've obviously spent many years perfecting my characterizations of them. Thank you so much again for your reviews!

 Report Review

Review #4, by NaidatheRavenclaw A Bitter Pill to Swallow

8th August 2011:
This was incredible, as is all your work. The raw emotion in this really got to me. It was gorgeous, yet tragic at the same time. I absolutely adored the way you wrote it. You have the most amazing was of evoking emotion. Your style isn't floaty or flowery, but it just works. And you tug at my emotions more than a lot of authors that do write with a lot of that extra fluff.
You know I'm a huge Remus/Sirius fan, and your stories are my favorite revolving around this ship! I love the way Sirius was refusing to tell Remus he loved him in this story. It was just so... Sirius. It was like him in every way, and I think you did an excellent job of capturing his character, as you did with Remus.
Your writing is just flawless. There's no other way to put it.
-NaidatheRavenclaw, Ravenclaw

Author's Response: This is such a fantastic review, I don't even know what to say! I get a lot of comments on my raw emotion and ability to evoke it so I guess that's one of my strengths as a writer and I'm glad you love it. I'm so happy that you're a R/S shipper. I do love them a lot and wish I could write more of them.

Thank you so much!


 Report Review

Review #5, by academica A Bitter Pill to Swallow

5th August 2011:
I'll reiterate my former praise. Do you think just once you could write something awful, just completely OOC and full of errors, just to break up the monotony a little bit? You know, because all of this brilliance is getting a little OLD. :D JK. Don't ever stop.

Poor Remus again. I love the way he went to see the wreckage, and I love how you used that to break up the newspaper scene and the scene where he finds out about Peter. You really did a great job again and I hope you do check out the story I recommended before. It has a lot of similar elements to this story.

Brilliant as always :)

academica (Slytherin)

Author's Response: I think the only time I could ever write something awful and out of character is if I wrote a parody...and even then, it probably wouldn't suck. Haha, just kidding. My ego isn't THAT big. ;)

I'm so glad you liked this! I'm pretty sure this was written for some kind of competition on HPFF though it's been so long, I can't quite remember. I think there were certain words I had to use in it or something...

I will definitely check out that story you recommended. Anything about Remus is fair game for me. :)

Thanks for reviewing, love!


 Report Review

Review #6, by PotterGirl75 A Bitter Pill to Swallow

23rd October 2010:
Wicked. I like it, you did well.

Author's Response: Thank you so much!

 Report Review

Review #7, by nemo A Bitter Pill to Swallow

15th January 2009:
This is one of the best and most realistic fanfictions with this topic I ever read.

Author's Response: That's so sweet of you to say! Thank you so much.

 Report Review

Review #8, by Naari A Bitter Pill to Swallow

11th November 2008:
oooh this was so good! :)

Author's Response: Well, thank you so much. I'm glad you enjoyed it!

 Report Review

Review #9, by Zacharias_Smith A Bitter Pill to Swallow

15th August 2007:
This was beautifully written and made me cry rather a lot. I adore Remus/Sirius and you portrayed his feelings about James and Lily so well too. Only criticism I have is I think he'd be a little bit more upset about Peter. I know that maybe they weren't as close as he was with the others but he still thinks that Sirius killed him and the parts about Peter didn't strike me as powerfully as with the others.
It was a wonderful story though. I love your work. :)

 Report Review

Review #10, by Diandra A Bitter Pill to Swallow

17th June 2007:
How terribly sad! I can definitely imagine Sirius not saying "I love you" to anyone, especially Remus, even though he did! I really liked reading this, it gives you Remus's POV throughout the whole thing. Another great job,

Diandra

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing.

 Report Review

Review #11, by Dracana A Bitter Pill to Swallow

8th February 2007:
Ah, your fics just seem to get better and better as I go along. Fantastic!! That's all I have to say. :-)

 Report Review

Review #12, by Atratus Lupin A Bitter Pill to Swallow

8th October 2006:
that was brilliant, and the part where Remus found James made me tear up a little. Lovely fic, really.

 Report Review

Review #13, by Trisha Evenstar A Bitter Pill to Swallow

11th April 2006:
fantastic story. i love the marauders!

 Report Review

Review #14, by BAILEY_83 A Bitter Pill to Swallow

17th February 2006:
I think I'm going to cry you really are an amazing author your description of emotion is so accurate you practically feel his pain as you read.

 Report Review

Review #15, by Padfoots gal A Bitter Pill to Swallow

14th February 2006:
*sob* Beautiful, so sad and emotional.

 Report Review

Review #16, by loopy_loony_lupin A Bitter Pill to Swallow

10th February 2006:
Oh. My. GOSH! That is so frickin' good! This is one of the most well written angst stories I've ever read!

 Report Review

Review #17, by Seriously_Sirius A Bitter Pill to Swallow

29th January 2006:
This is depressing and depressingly well written. I'm just wondering, "Teenage boys think that they’re immortal. Young men don’t know about death and grief and the emptiness of loneliness." Is that menat to be the article on the papers?

 Report Review

Review #18, by Bibbs A Bitter Pill to Swallow

21st January 2006:
Wow, I was glued to the screen for that one! It actually made me shiver. I always feel bad for Remus, out of all of them, he has it hardest. You're a wonderful author. I find no mistakes at all, and the character and his thoughts are very well developed. I really like how you started with him being upset that the Daily Prophet wrote about James and Lily, because you are probably right on, most would feel the same, that nobody knows them enough to do justice.

 Report Review

Review #19, by iloveron14 A Bitter Pill to Swallow

8th January 2006:
hey forsaken! i just thought i'd check out one of your angsty fics and realized that what they say about your writing is really true. You are very talented in angst writing. Slash isn't really my cup of tea but this was really a very well written one that i loved it to bits. Thanks for all the tips you shared with me back in the chatroom, very much appreciated! <3 iloveron14 aka JustLoveRon

 Report Review

Review #20, by crystal allan A Bitter Pill to Swallow

19th December 2005:
First, I love your writing style. You have a wonderful mixture of ‘romantic’ and ‘casual’ description – most people, myself included, tend to lean more toward one side. I think that gives it the sense of realism that is needed for a piece like this, while also having the more poetic wordings that really make it beautiful.

You captured the sense of loss and even anger here in the first few paragraphs, without having to dawdle on thoughts and settings. I can’t begin to count the number of stories I’ve seen on the archive that turn Remus into a melodramatic wall-flower, but here you’ve brought him to life in a way that I haven’t seen too often. You managed to take this story and personalize it, show it from Remus’ eyes rather than the universal perspective. He’s very bitter here and I liked seeing that aspect. I think you did his character justice with that – he’s always shown as reserved and accepting of fate, never fully thrown into a more ‘human’ response. You’ve really given us a different side of this man, one that neither JKR nor fanfiction ever delves into, and I think that might be what fascinates in this piece.

I love the technique you used to show us the past, both the dating and the italics. That gave it a sense of class that is so often stolen in stories like this :-) Now, I thought that scene when we go back to the night the Potters died was amazing. You showed that sense of ‘immortality’ that I think the Marauders always had, and in a way you also captured that part of youth that doesn’t understand death and grief – which was perfect parallel to the quote you began with. It was such a painful scene, it really was, but it was also very beautiful and emotive. Remus seems almost irrational there, and I thought that was fitting.

I’ve praised your characterization of Remus many times now, probably reiterated often (hopefully you can forgive me), but I also wanted to note what I think of your Sirius. You always have little lines in your stories that make a shiver run down my spine simply because they are so wonderful and beautiful, but this story, every time I read it (yes, I’ve gone through more than once) always gets me at that point when we go back to the past, when Sirius explains that boys don’t love each other. I love that entire scene, and I think you really caught a glimpse of that classic ‘Sirius’ nature. That alone is one of my favorite bits. The next memory after that was just as emotive and equally heartrending on Remus’ part. You portrayed their relationship well there, going into an aspect of it that I think a lot of the less talented people here are afraid to delve into.

The ending section tied all of the emotions together and amplified the pain and anger so much so that they were nearly tangible. Your simple description of Sirius’ scent clinging to bed sheets and clothing was just so powerful and beautiful, and I love that Remus needed to leave that, to get away from those memories. Now, I’m not sure how many times I’ve probably repeated myself, adjectives began to fail me, but it was actually hard to put into words how wonderful I think this story is and hopefully my rambling can reflect that ^_^

 Report Review

Review #21, by julia mae A Bitter Pill to Swallow

18th December 2005:
missy, this is brilliant. it evokes all manner of emotions, is short and simple and heart-breaking. it almost made me cry! brilliant mate.

 Report Review

Review #22, by jynx67 A Bitter Pill to Swallow

17th December 2005:
Wow.

I... don't really know what to say. This was so intense, so... Remus. Most people show Sirius finding James and Lily's bodies. You went the opposite direction. I like that. And your descriptions of everything... Wow. See? There I go again. There isn't anything I can say that can express how much I love this story.

 Report Review

Review #23, by masked tears A Bitter Pill to Swallow

14th December 2005:
undiscribedley wonderful

 Report Review

Review #24, by Charmed Ravenclaw A Bitter Pill to Swallow

19th October 2005:
Whoa. That was intense. You'v just inspired me to write a similar fic.

 Report Review

Review #25, by Noblevyne A Bitter Pill to Swallow

6th October 2005:
From the first sentence you've set the tone beautifully, great way to open. This is a gutwrenching, heartbreaking piece that beautifully protrays the nature of grief and tragedy. I teared up when Remus went to find James and Lily and I felt his anger and hurt at Sirius. Great details about Sirius' picture hiding behind the frame, some lovely lines ':He’d burn the smell of sweat and sex clinging to wool and cotton, burn the smell of Sirius; darkness, cigarettes, and leather' in partcular... I swear, everytime I don't read something of yours for awhile, I forget just how truly good it is...I should be punished.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>