Reading Reviews for Signal Fire
  
65 Reviews Found

Review #1, by patronus_charm Signal Fire

18th July 2013:
I think this is your last Jily one-shot I havenít read, you know thatís a hint to write another ;)

The amount of feels this story gave me was insane! I guess the most prominent was heart-break! I loved reading this from Jamesí perspective as it gave a rare insight into the ship which is often forgotten about. Your portrayal of him was already heart-breaking with him wondering why Lily didnít like him as he never did anything wrong and I couldnít help but wish he could see it from Lilyís perspective as it would solve a hell of a lot of problems!

The letter was horrible! It tied in perfectly with canon and Lilyís reaction to it before explains everything. I was worried that was the end of Jily but I felt proud of James to see that he could be mature to step up to the mark and act appropriately in the situation though he probably had some nudging along the way from Remus!

The kiss was perfect. ♥ It had the right amount of fluff and drama without it going overboard. It was simple enough to convey everything left unsaid and it was a really nice transition from them not really being anything to them being more and it was done perfectly.

Another wonderful one-shot!

-Kiana

Author's Response: Another James/Lily story. Hmmm. I could write one with the proper inspiration - it seems, though, that they've been written in every way possible. Perhaps I'll try a continuation of "Anatomy of Genius" one day. ;)

Wow, it's great to hear that this story was still so affective! It's very old, of course, so a little out-of-date where canon is involved, but I'm glad that you enjoyed it. I used to have a lot of luck writing from James's perspective, where he combines an easy-going attitude with sensitivity, both of which are showcased in this story. It definitely would help a lot if he could stop to try and understand Lily more rather than just constantly wonder why she refuses to life him - there's a lot more going on in her life that he neglects to take into account, and it causes far more problems for him than anything else.

Thank you again for taking the time to read and review this story! It's lovely that you liked its combination of fluff and drama, as well as it's portrayal of the ship (which was, at the time, my OTP, so it means a lot that you like it too!). ^_^


 Report Review

Review #2, by Janhvi Signal Fire

29th November 2010:
I love you more and more with each story of your's i read. :)
You are a great writer. I just hope you write more than just at hpff. You really could write something much bigger you know.
Best wishes.
Take care.

Author's Response: That means so much to hear, thank you! It's brilliant to hear that these stories, old as they are for me, are being appreciated so much. ^_^

I do write originals and stuff for other fandoms, but rarely, and usually secretly. ;) Those original novels I have ideas for will one day be written. Thank you so much for the compliment!


 Report Review

Review #3, by DemetersChild Signal Fire

31st July 2010:
Wow, just wow. I saw the banner for this story in your signature on the forums, so I rushed to your Author's Page to try to find it. This story is just amazing. It really sums up James and Lily and exactly why I love the ship so much.

Just a few things to point out, in your title, the I in Fire is capitalized, which I don't think was on purpose. :P

Also, it seemed to me that you used the word "kiss" one too many times during that little scene, so if there's a way to replace one or two of them, I think it would flow a bit better.

I really loved this story. And it looks like you're quite the popular author, so I'll have to check out the rest of your stories as well!

Magically Yours,

Dem

Author's Response: Really? It wasn't supposed to be the banner for that story initially, but I couldn't think of a better plot to fit the banner. It's a great surprise that you went to find the story that matched the signature! :D

It could be capitalized on purpose... you never know. ;) You're the first person in. five years? to tell me that, so you definitely need an award. Thanks for pointing thta out!

I wasn't looking to edit the story at all - it's in pristine teenaged-me condition. Not that I can, at the moment, think of another way of saying "kiss" without rewriting the whole scene with my current style, and with so many other stories in the works right now, this one is long forgotten. It's a very good point you've made, and something I myself follow these days. :)

Popular in some ways more than others. but thank you for saying that all the same! I do hope that it's true!

Thank you very much for taking the time to read and review this story! I really appreciate hearing from you! :D


 Report Review

Review #4, by emz Signal Fire

3rd September 2009:
wow. that was amazing, susan. quite short, but i think any longer and it would have spoiled it. it was basiacally perfect. at the beginning i wondered if it would be a cliche, but that sentence where james sees her as human ... wow, i just loved that. and from there til the end, i was sitting here with shivers going down my spine and - don't judge me - tears nearly coming to my eyes. beautifully handled, wonderfully written.

Author's Response: Wow, thank you, Em! I think it a cliched little story, but it does have its redeeming moments, showing Lily and James connect on an emotional level, coming to understand one another in a different way because of a tragic situation. I always imagined them coming together because of the war, though perhaps not necessarily over her parents' deaths.

It's wonderful that you enjoyed this. Thank you so much for coming to read and review. ^_^


 Report Review

Review #5, by nire Signal Fire

26th April 2009:
I read some reviews and you thought it was cliche!... no way! It's only a one-shot.. you have to get through things quickly. :)

I really liked this :) I am such a huge James and Lily fan. I love reading scenes where they get together. It makes my heart swell.
I would really like to see the same story from Lily's perspective. That would be so interesting. I really wanted to know what she was thinking throughout the whole thing.
James really is the biggest sweetheart. That line that you used where it tore at his heart... oh lord.. I practically died. It makes me so happy that they were able to get past their differences and live happily ever after [for 3 years. sigh :(]
Oh great.. now I have thought about their deaths. gah!

Anyways, I'm getting off track. I really liked this. I know everyone hates cliche - but I don't really think it's too bad.. plus I'm just a hopeless romantic and will love anything anyone does about how Lily and James get together.
That's why I'm writing one myself.

I loved Sirius and Remus. Loved how he was cat-calling and Remus then pushing him into the bush. Hilarious!
Also, I noticed that you eluded that Sirius didn't know how many girls were after him. That is a very different Sirius than I mostly read! A very nice change! :)

Anywayyy, loved your story. 10/10 for sure.

erin.

sorry this review is a bit all over the place.

Author's Response: Yes, you are right - it is a one-shot, and an old one at that, initially written to prove that the Lily/James ship was the best ship out there. (but I still think it's a wee bit on the cliched side, sorry :P I'm too much of a lit snob, haha).

But it is wonderful that you enjoyed it, taking the time to both read and review. ^_^ Telling the story from Lily's side would be interesting, and quite a challenge for me to write (I do like challenges). She's one of those characters who I write a lot about, but never from her perspective, I guess because her character is so... vague in canon.

The other Marauders make this story worth it (for me). :D They're so silly and ridiculous, pretty normal for teenaged boys, I suppose, haha. For Sirius, I stuck with canon for safety, trying to maintain what JKR had revealed about younger Sirius in the Pensieve. I'm glad you liked that characterization of him. :)

Thank you very much for this review! It's not all over the place for me, just really nice to read. ^_^


 Report Review

Review #6, by xduffyxgreengrassx Signal Fire

26th October 2008:
That was beautiful.
Absolutely beautiful !

Author's Response: Thank you! :)

 Report Review

Review #7, by dianap00 Signal Fire

24th October 2008:
Trust Sirius to make a joke out of everything. Truly priceless, I say. I like how you have portrayed the marauders.
Cheers.

Author's Response: Thanks! Sirius is a laugh to write. ;)

 Report Review

Review #8, by Isnut Signal Fire

2nd October 2008:
That was really good!!! Can you do Harry/Ginny storys with a rating of 12+ pleasse cause you would be good at them!

Author's Response: If I could actually bother myself to start liking Harry (and write a story that didn't demonize/kill him off in the end), I might be able to do so.

But... Harry is my least favourite character in the series, so I'm very sorry to say that I can't follow your advise, as happy as I am to receive it. :P


 Report Review

Review #9, by darkpixie13 Signal Fire

22nd March 2008:
i love it!! fantastic story!

Author's Response: Thank you! =D

 Report Review

Review #10, by emerald_nellie Signal Fire

27th January 2008:
I really liked the ending, like the last paragraph. It finished things off nicely. For the second half of this story, I think you could have slowed down a bit. Things happened very fast and it might have been nice to just sit back and take things slow for a moment, take time to get your head around what was happening and where the story was going. Does that make sense? Some just seemed a bit rushed is what I mean.
Hope you get what I'm saying.
Nellie

Author's Response: Oh yes, this story. *grimmaces* It's old and cliched and too fast, just like you said. I totally understand what you're saying because Lily goes from crying to kissing and it's very unrealistic. It's definitely rushed, but like it's still good that you liked the very ending - bit of poeticness coming through there. ;) Thank you very much for taking the time to review. :)

 Report Review

Review #11, by maraudersmap Signal Fire

25th November 2007:
Wow... This was amazing. Your writing is so beautiful, and I loved: 'Watching Lily Evans cry tore at the muscle in my chest which beat only for her.' That was so... beautiful! I have no better word for it. Perhaps a bit clished, but such a wonderful and brilliant written clishe that it doesn't matter. Plus, I don't think anything you write will ever turn out to be too clished, because you are such an amazing writer. I truly admire you. This made me cry and smile at the same time, because even though Lily lost her parents, muggles are dying and the darkness is nearing, love will always be there, no matter what.

Author's Response: Aww, thanks so much! ^_^ This is a horribly cliched story, but I guess it is still a bit touching, haha. You're much too sweet, and I don't know what else to say except to thank you again for this review. =D

 Report Review

Review #12, by mila1995 Signal Fire

22nd August 2007:
ur such a great writer

Author's Response: Thanks!

 Report Review

Review #13, by HrXd Signal Fire

21st August 2007:
ummm wow violet this was purely magic I loved the description and the ending never change this one bit.

Author's Response: Wow, thanks very much. :) I'm glad you liked it.

 Report Review

Review #14, by egad_paisley Signal Fire

12th June 2007:
I've always wondered why Lily's -- or James', for that matter -- parents were never mentioned in the books. This allows for some imagination, and it really was a simple, and well written, short episode. It wasn't too mushy, nor did Lily and James come out of character. So, brilliant job! I knew your writing had to be as good as your graphics (: Paisley.

Author's Response: Thanks very much, Paisley! ^_^ I'm glad to hear that it turned out alright - this is probably one of my most cliched stories, and more fluffy than I prefer, but it's great to know that you enjoyed it. ^_^

 Report Review

Review #15, by silver phoenix Signal Fire

17th February 2007:
"Cute" hardly seems to do justice, but it's all I could think as I read this. It was full of sorrow, yet at the end, there's a glimmer of hope.

Author's Response: Thanks very much, silver phoenix. I'm glad that you enjoyed the story. =)

 Report Review

Review #16, by thegoldensnitch Signal Fire

13th January 2007:
hi
i loved this story!!!
it was so sweet!!
thanks
golden
x x x x x
10/10

Author's Response: Thank you. =)

 Report Review

Review #17, by omgaaRAWR Signal Fire

24th December 2006:
aww.
that story was so good
real cute
i loved it.

Author's Response: Thanks! I'm glad you liked it. ^_^

 Report Review

Review #18, by Such a Drama Queen Signal Fire

18th November 2006:
That was really good! Shame it was a one-shot. I wanted it to go on. lol But anyway, good job!

Author's Response: Thanks very much! =)

 Report Review

Review #19, by LooneyChick Signal Fire

11th November 2006:
You made me cry... you made me cry! Ugh, that was so good. I love your writing style, it is just perfect. Please write more Lily and James' fics becase this was just amazing. I am going to look for more.

Author's Response: Thank you very much. Sorry for making you cry, but that was rather the point of this story. =P Perhaps I'll write more J/L stories when the inspiration hits me. ;-)

 Report Review

Review #20, by Natalia_ Signal Fire

16th September 2006:
That was possibly the best one-shot I've ever read. -tosses over virtual trophey- Great job.

Author's Response: Aww, thanks so much! I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed it. =)

 Report Review

Review #21, by Aly Delacour Signal Fire

1st September 2006:
It's very sweet and well written, but I found it a little strange that a young girl who has just been informed her parents have just both been murdered would be in any state to be kissing someone or starting up a relationship. I understand the idea of James comforting her and that leading to a kiss, etc, but it seemed slightly flippant.

Author's Response: It's just supposed to be a cute story highlightling the ship - I probably wasn't thinking much about the psychological side of things. =P Thanks for your feedback.

 Report Review

Review #22, by annalupin Signal Fire

24th July 2006:
Awww! So Sweet!

Author's Response: Thanks very much! ^_^

 Report Review

Review #23, by Lyn Midnight Signal Fire

4th June 2006:
I‚Äôll gladly leave a review to this! Oh, it‚Äôs so romantic. *Warning! Fluffy material, huge amounts of gushing and girlie giggle, mingled with some muffled sobs ahead! * Omg, that was fantastic! Oh, James is so nice, and Sirius so funny :P and Remus so sensible, I can just suffocate them in a group hug! Sorry, maybe it‚Äôs time to skip to the serious part now. No pun intended, of course. (Do you think the pun or the ‚Äėno pun intended‚Äô part is more cliched?!)

Now, if my memory serves, this was a challenge, right? Right, you did it great! Everybody was in canon. The ending line is brilliant (I say that all the time about your fics, must be a pattern, GASP, this must be your signature, am I right?). Oh, just a question. Why do you stick to one statement in all of your fics? In Following the Footsteps and here you say that Remus likes Lily. This is great, but do you do it on purpose? Because I, for example, experiment and change stuff in every fic I write. Yeah, that’s intriguing… Certainly it is, Watson!

So, here’s MY ending line! Let your heart write on your behalf! (Eek, that turned out great!)

Author's Response: Yes, this was for a challenge, and in the final voting (because that's the sort of challenge it was), somehow it got an honourable mention. With all it's cute fluffiness (which is not at all like me), I honestly wonder how it did. It's definitely WAFF material, though I did try to add some humour, particularily with Sirius, who is a downright goof, but a cute one. ^_^

One-line endings are, I suppose, another signature of mine. They often seem to appear in my writing - sometimes for impact and for humour at others. And yes, I am a bit of a Remus/Lily shipper and I do rather see it as a canon ship (timeturner strikes me down at saying that, but it's true) or at least a sort of unrequitted love thing. =P It's not really on purpose, it just comes out because it's in my head. Does that make any sense? Most of the patterns in my stories would be better studied by a psychologist - the patterns just appear. I'm glad the characters were canon, though. With the majority of my stories, I try to stick to canon as much as possible, even though sometimes it's hard to keep up to date with any changes. =)

Thanks very very much for the great review, Lyn. I really appreciate all the reviews you've given to me and it's great that you've enjoyed the stories as well. =)


 Report Review

Review #24, by argetlam shadeslayer Signal Fire

12th March 2006:
Wow, that was SO beautifully written. A lot of people would write a fic about Lily and James and it would usually have some usual, everyday scene, but this - you chose the correct setting, the right mood - and it made it perfect. You captured the emotions of the characters and transferred them to paper - well, to a computer screen, actually - and I applaud you. On a lighter note, this story was flipping awesome, to put it bluntly.

Author's Response: *blush* Thanks very much for your very kind words. I really don't know what to say, your review has left me quite speechless. It's wonderful that you liked the story so much. =)

 Report Review

Review #25, by Misty Rey (Not signed in) Signal Fire

4th March 2006:
Beautiful..... I usually dont read LE/JP stories but i read this fic coz you wrote it *blushes* Great, Great GREAT story. By the way, Thank you for making me that wonderful banner, i'm totally grateful for it. Also, I wondered if you could make me a chapter banner if it isnt too much trouble. The details are in the Dark Arts Forum, under 'Something Random'. I hope you can do it!

Author's Response: Awww, thanks so much, Misty. I'm glad you liked the story. =)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>