Reading Reviews for My Name is Invisible
  
22 Reviews Found

Review #1, by MagicalInk Yesterday

17th January 2012:
Wonderfully depressing. If you don't think of that term existing, then you haven't read this story properly. I loved your writing style, it's really clean. The Creevey's characterization was great, how the younger is popular is quite interesting. I'm glad I found this story even years later it was posted, Colin needing to be invisible is perfectly understandable, I think that might be why he doesn't survive in the actual book. He wouldn't be capable of with all those images photographed even in his head. I can't imagine Harry leaving Hogwarts for help, but that is just an insignificant detail in the story. I truly loved it, thank you.

 Report Review

Review #2, by SiriuslyCrack Yesterday

19th June 2007:
Beautiful. Really beautiful. And to think I was scared by merely reading the battle tidbits in the first chapter. This chapter almost made me cry. You wrote the scene real nicely and I wouldn't be human if I didn't compliment you on that. It would have been hard for Colin to snap such horrid pictures when he could have just apparated away and curled up into his bed. Poor Colin. I feel so sorry for him in this fic. You have portrayed him very nicely. Really, all I can say is brilliant work!! 10/10

 Report Review

Review #3, by SiriuslyCrack Photographs

19th June 2007:
Wow, what an enticing chapter, Entropy. The title and the summary tempted me to read further and I am glad I did. You have written this chapter beautifully, and the beginning was nicely written as well. I am pleasantly surprised that someone wrote about Colin Creevey. He is such a minor character, it's a joy to read about him.

The last paragraph shook me. The fics which feature the final battle always have that effect on me because I hate to think what would happen on that fateful day (or maybe it'd be night). So, although you didn't actually describe the whole battle, the tidbits that you did show us were really touching. Great job. I am off to read the next chapter :)

 Report Review

Review #4, by holly bergman Yesterday

1st December 2006:
That was...I'm...

Okay. I can't think of what to say... All I can say is 10/10 and Favourites.

 Report Review

Review #5, by Skieda Yesterday

29th April 2006:
This is so sad!!! It makes me want to cry and also hit Dennis for being so obtuse and selfish. Excellent writing,
Skieda


 Report Review

Review #6, by Lonely In Her Ivory Tower Yesterday

1st March 2006:
I really enjoyed this. I think the writing was brilliant and emotive, and you took thee elements from Colin Creevy from canon, and added your own bit to craft him into a believable character. Wonderful work.

 Report Review

Review #7, by flames_of_fawkes Yesterday

17th August 2005:
This was great - quite short but just long enough. Not many fanfics have been written about Colin, so it was a great idea! You're really good at writing and I like your style - well done!

 Report Review

Review #8, by timeturner Yesterday

16th August 2005:
You made an interesting and creative character choice here. Sometimes that’s difficult to pull off, but you’ve done exceptionally well. Your descriptions were great and I particularly loved the images of his wall…it was very visual and allowed me to put myself right there with him. I would have liked a bit more explanation as to why Colin didn’t go into the wizarding world (chapter one). The paragraph about the newspaper clippings was stunning. Clear, concise, matter of fact a re-telling of exactly what happened without taking away from Colin’s story. I had a bit of trouble with Harry running off to get help…that seems out of character for him. You have a few duplicate terms (“unnatural positions” “cold stone/cold metal”) that you may want to watch and try and come up with varied descriptions for the same action/position. It was a bit odd to add Samantha for no apparent reasons and it seemed unlike Ron to be going teaching anyone. The paragraph that starts “The boy didn’t pay attention…” was wonderful. It was by far my favorite part of the entire story. Excellent work!

 Report Review

Review #9, by crystal allan Yesterday

31st July 2005:
This was sad, beautiful, and just all together a magnificent story. I love your writing stlye and the unique way you portray Colin - it was refreshing and breathtaking.

 Report Review

Review #10, by MargaretLane Yesterday

27th July 2005:
Good story. I can understand why he would want to forget, particularly as he looked up to Harry so much. I liike the way you focus on the effects of war. I would imagine that scenes like that would remain in your mind forever. And by making it such a short story, you avoided an excess of angst, which can get a little heavy. Really good story.

 Report Review

Review #11, by MargaretLane Photographs

27th July 2005:
Good first chapter. Interesting. I wonder if there is a reason why Colin has returned to the Muggle world or whether it is simply that, as he said, photograph repair shops are in greater demand in the Muggle world. I think Colin and Denis were good characters to choose to write about. They are such minor characters in the books that you have a lot of leeway to write them as you like; particularly as they are now grown up and could have changed. I did find that a little confusing. I assumed they were still at school, until I read about "Dennis and his wife".

Author's Response: For Colin, photography is how he deals with everything. I think especially in the second chapter you see how he deals with everything through photography. He didn't really want to be separated from it, and also in the muggle world there are much less reminders of what happened, a way of total detachment and losing himself in his work. That is my reasoning, and why I think Colin would choose to live in the muggle world.

 Report Review

Review #12, by minniemcmouse Yesterday

27th July 2005:
Some disturbing imagery but nothing less than I would have expected from an unknown Death Eater attack against an entire school of students. I like the idea of Colin being invisible: seeing everything and taking pictures so that people could see the events in the future but not being a part of it himself. It seems that he was detached even from the school itself and yet he lived with barely a scratch on him. One little thing was that you said none of the D.A. knew the whereabouts of McGoangall's office when I'm sure Harry has been there on more than one occasion. In the OotP he went to her office for the careers interview I think so surely he could have gone to get her. Anyway, it was truly excellent, a gory but possible idea of the last battle. Thank you for the amazing read! :o)

Author's Response: Thank you for pointing out that Harry probably knows where McGonagll's office is, that slipped past my attention. I'll have to figure out some way to rework that. Thank you for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #13, by minniemcmouse Photographs

27th July 2005:
I'm so jealous... you write so amazingly and your description is excellent. I love the way in which he looks at the photo album and the descriptions of it before he goes to get dinner. It's an excellent way of showing how life goes on as normal even after the massacre. All from the eyes of Colin as well! His jealousy of his brother and his general acceptance of him showing who he really is and the way that you make the reader feel pity for him in the very first sentence. And onto my favourites you go!

 Report Review

Review #14, by Urvi Yesterday

25th July 2005:
"how did it come to this"< that reminds me of Theoden in Lord of the Rings, lol. Great story. Really. Keep on writing!

 Report Review

Review #15, by Urvi Photographs

25th July 2005:
Well, this is a different story. I've never read a Colin and Dennis fic. I like the sibling rivalry you have going on here. next chapter...

 Report Review

Review #16, by Alene Yesterday

25th July 2005:
This was good. No one ever writes about Colin, it made for a nice change.

Author's Response: Come to think of it, I've never read another story about the Creevy brothers. I think I'll have to go challenge people right now!

 Report Review

Review #17, by Panacea Yesterday

15th July 2005:
Ohhh that is sooo sad! You killed everyone! Love the original perspective from Colin- great move!!! Love it! Well don! Don't put your quill down! Charisse xoxox

 Report Review

Review #18, by the nutty imp Yesterday

14th July 2005:
A fitting ending and it does reflect Colin so well. The guy behind the camera the one people rarely noticed. Great story! ^_^

 Report Review

Review #19, by the nutty imp Photographs

14th July 2005:
I haven't read a story with Colin Creevy as the main character before. Much more something as dramatic as this.

I love how you developed his character in this.

Author's Response: I had a great time developing Colin's and Dennis's characters in here. We have little information on Colin and hardly any on Dennis, it's like trying to piece together and puzzle and imagine what the missing pieces look like.

 Report Review

Review #20, by Peri At The Gate Photographs

12th July 2005:
A good picture of Colin -- a documenter, not really completely involved even though the situation is so dire. And, wow, is it ever dire! A holocaust parallel, so horrible. Well-written and riveting.

Author's Response: Riveting? Ooh, Entropy feels special. =D I felt drawn to Colin for some reason. One day I got the idea to write a story about him (I actually have another half-written, but nowhere near as good), and it just stuck until I finally came up with one.

 Report Review

Review #21, by Malarkey Photographs

23rd June 2005:
This is a very well written story. You can feel yourself what Colin is going through, and although you don't know all of the details, it effects you emotionally. You show the life of a boy who has gone through a terrible ordeal and is overshadowed by a younger brother, but still has a deep passion that gives people hope.

Author's Response: One thing I wanted to show when I wrote this, that it isn't always the elder who overshadows the younger, I'm glad you caught that. Thank you for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #22, by misspinky Photographs

13th June 2005:
Well, well! This defiantly shows the different side to Colin. I love it! Seems what he would be like... very realistic. Good job!

Author's Response: Thanks, I try. It was kind of difficult to write this, because you rarely hear anything about little Colin Creevy in the books. Dennis was a little easier, since you have almost no information to go off of, so I got to make things up. It was fun. Thanks for the review!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login