Reading Reviews for Graduation
  
36 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Ravenclawchik6 Graduation

27th March 2007:
i still cry whenever u read this story t hey play it at the graduation dance and i can garuntee i will cry this story is soo wolnderfuly cheesy i love it!
Gina

 Report Review

Review #2, by lostprohecy010 Graduation

23rd November 2006:
Great Job! Your story really showed how great of friends the Marauders were. And how you gave each of them lines to sing that kind-of fit them! Genius!

 Report Review

Review #3, by TheFalk Graduation

21st August 2006:
aw. that brought tears to my eyes!!

Author's Response: Thanks for reading!

 Report Review

Review #4, by RemusBlack Graduation

21st July 2006:
And crying again. Your writing is brilliant.

Author's Response: And yet again do you make me blush. Thanks, dear!

 Report Review

Review #5, by BabyD4lyfe88 Graduation

17th July 2006:
awwww *tear drop* i just graduated high school and I'm leavin ppl i grew up wit so... this story hit home. luv it

Author's Response: I'm glad that this was able to relate to how you felt. It brings the feeling to life when it's easy to connect to. Thanks for reading and reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #6, by Bubbles_456 Graduation

3rd July 2006:
Wow, that almost put me in tears, excellent story! ~ashley

Author's Response: Aw, thank you! I'm glad you liked it; thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #7, by ronxdraco Graduation

24th June 2006:
OOOOOOO I HAT PETER!!!!!! I like the story.........Sirius,,,,,it almost made me cry..........I'm going to read a new one now! Bye! E-mail me!

Author's Response: Erm, okay? *le blink* I'm glad you liked it though. :) Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #8, by roadrunnerchic Graduation

4th June 2006:
Most definately awesome. Wonderful, song makes me cry everytime.

Author's Response: Thanks, I'm glad you enjoyed it. ^^

 Report Review

Review #9, by Starfire Potter24 Graduation

10th May 2006:
THAT WAS AWESOME!!!! I LOVE THAT SONG AND I LOVED THIS FIC!!!!!! I AM NEAR TEARS!!!! THAT WAS TOTALLY AWESOME!!!!!

Author's Response: Aw, I'm glad you like it. I'm just glad the song touches a lot of people. :)

 Report Review

Review #10, by LilyMaria Graduation

3rd May 2006:
OMG! that was awesome!

Author's Response: *blushes* Thanks! :)

 Report Review

Review #11, by meg Graduation

2nd May 2006:
made me cry.........

Author's Response: Aw, I'm sorry. Hope you loved it though. :)

 Report Review

Review #12, by Ravenclawchik6 Graduation

30th April 2006:
u made me cry thanks now when they play this at my 8th grade graduation dance im gonna cry (not that i wasnt already going to) but this was definetly a reality check thank you.

Author's Response: Aw, I'm glad that it's brought a bit of the reality of the situation to you. I hope you liked it, though. Thanks for taking the time to read it!

 Report Review

Review #13, by Wicked Vixen Graduation

28th April 2006:
Okay, that almost made me cry. The fic was INCREDIBLE!! I hope you write more like these.

Author's Response: Aw, I'm glad that you enjoyed it!

 Report Review

Review #14, by unknown_force Graduation

27th April 2006:
I liked how the song was integrated into this songfic, so instead of having it in italisized throughout the story. You described the feelings of graduation very well. There was the feeling of adventure and opportunnity, showed by Sirius. There's the whole thinking about life after graduation, showed by Remus. James kind of shows wanting to leave but wanting to stay at the same time. Lily and Peter show the feeling of not wanting to leave the place they're familiar with.

Author's Response: Yay! Another review! ^^ I'm glad that you were able to pick out what each of the gang stood for, even if I hadn't realized that I was putting it into the work. I should really start paying more attention to it, shouldn't I? Glad you liked the way I added the song - bit different, no? Thanks again!

 Report Review

Review #15, by Lyn Midnight Graduation

23rd April 2006:
Wow, that was longer! First of all, good introduction of the mood. I really like it when authors write it in the very first sentence. I tend to do that myself! And, you did it again, this mute connection between friends. Did I mention that it is so adorable and… true? The most powerful parts were when Sirius said ‘Always will be’ in the very beginning and when Lily dissolved in tears, as well as when James continued the song. You made it sound really emotional, which makes me think that your own friends inspired you, am I correct? Or did you just like the wonderful song /the chorus is great… sigh, I sigh a lot when reading your works/.

Anyway, I like the transition from their silence to the impending night. Good way to fill the possible gap.
“Night continued to approach, swifter than it normally would.” Now honestly /not that I wasn’t before/, I never liked those fics /and movies/ where the main characters just sing instead of speak, because it is not really a song fic. And now, I have a confession to make. You made me cry! How you managed is beyond me! I don’t just cry reading stuff! And gradually, the moving moment becomes a little too fluffy. Hm, I guess you overdid it, huh? Maybe it’s because of the constant repetition of the chorus. Which reminds me, whose is this song? It is so cool!

Also, you included the silence again, and I really liked that sentence: ‘for a long moment, the four held each other close as one. No words or movements necessary;’ However, you should be careful with typos. You did quite a lot of them throughout the chapter, so you might consider a beta reader just to fix them for you. Here are the words you have misspelled /try editing your stories after you have written them/: ‘and’ in like ten places, ‘collapsing’, ‘paid’, and ‘stared’. Not to worry, nothing too big, irritating or distracting.

And finally, the end is truly well thought of. Predictable, but great nonetheless. Overall, I am glad I read this, because it reminded me of my friends, and that the dreaded good-bye will never come if our bonds are strong :)




Author's Response: Haha, there's no problem with sighing. I do that a lot too, so it's all good. As for inspiration, yeah, my classmates were a big part of it. Funny, as when I left the high school for Freshman year a few weeks back, it was like rebirth of this, so I remember where it was all coming from.


The song is Vitamin C's. :) As for over doing it, I may have, and if I ever go through this and redo it, then I'll make sure to cut out a bit of the sappiness in the end and redo it. I'm really not sure if I'm fond of the way this one turned out to begin with, so yeah.


Yeah, as you can tell, it's been beta'd and fixed up, thank the gods. It was getting irritating, so I finally took care of that. :)


I'm glad that you enjoyed it. Thanks for another amazing review! ^^


 Report Review

Review #16, by SilverQuill92 Graduation

12th March 2006:
*sobs* I literally have tears in my eyes I actually had to get up and get a tissue. This was like a disney movie!!! Weird, but humor me, k? It was so beautifully written and I love how the Marauders and Lily added in the lines. You'd be a god poet my friend :P And I love that you didn't leave out Peter, that last line of his really touched me xX...Steph...Xx

Author's Response: A Disney movie? You cry when you watch Disney movies? Oh dear Valhalla, help you. :P And a God Poet? Have you been drinking or something? Lol, Hoofle loff, mate. :)

 Report Review

Review #17, by Sapphire Graduation

13th February 2006:
That was beautiful El! I loved it! I think that the part with Peter was nice, but he should have been included more. At that time he was still thier friend right?

Author's Response: Hiya, Fire! I know I should've had more Pete, but you know, I wanted something odd, like me, so I had to do that. I think that it turned out all right, really. Thanks for reviewing!! Hoofle love!

 Report Review

Review #18, by bball33 Graduation

18th January 2006:
aw, this was sad. my best friend gave me a cd with just that song on it when she moved to Cali. Thus, this song has very meaningful memories. Oh, god, I'm gonna cry. Sorry, but honestly, great job!!!!!

There were a couple grammatical mistakes, but nothing too serious. I don't know if it was just me, but it seemed sort of OOC for all the marauders to cry during the song. The might get choked up, but I don't think they'd cry. Other than that, the only other thing was they definitely wouldn't exclude Peter from something like that. Otherwise, great story, and my eyes are misting up. (half 'cause of my friend Lana, half cause of the story, so great job!!!!)

-sarah

Author's Response: That's how it is with me. It reminds me of my best friend who moved to Florida, and that's sort of another thing that helped me write this.



Mm, I'm sure that it's a bit OOC, but I couldn't well take that out, or it would take a bit of the feeling from it. And what with Peter - that was sort of a symbolism thing. I know I usually leave Peter out, but that wasn't part of this. I wanted to display the seperation, and I may not have done that for all the readers, but I did that for myself. Thanks for reading!! :)


 Report Review

Review #19, by mrsronweasley Graduation

11th January 2006:
Another very emotional puiece. I think the detail was good in this one. There was this one part, "A tear slipped from Lily’s eye, Dan though she tried to hide it..." I didn't really understand what you were trying to say in that sentence. I saw many typos(mostly on the word 'and') but other than that it was excellently written. Superb job!

Author's Response: Ah, I have someone going through to beta this for me, as I have no time to get to it myself.

I'm glad that you liked it, nonetheless.


 Report Review

Review #20, by crystal allan Graduation

11th January 2006:
This piece was just a whirlwind of emotions. The beginning there was full of gloom, and I love that you constituted that with the descriptions of their surroundings and the general atmosphere of the compartment. You created a very realistic scene there, and I really like the way you had it set up with the inclusion of Lily. A lot of people tend to make her tag along when it comes to the Marauders, but you’ve included her in that circle of friends and that’s exactly how I imagine it would have been.

The song scene brought a smile to my face. It wasn’t genuinely happy or anything, but there was an air of wistfulness there that I thought was appropriate. The lyrics to the song were full of nostalgia, but again, had you not backed that up with emotive description it would have seemed out of place. You made that all work together fluently. I can envision that scene in my mind – from Lily’s persistence to the boy’s sense of borderline embarrassment. It was a sweet piece.

Now, the bit after that when they all embrace in a hug was heartrending, mostly because I feel that for the most part the reason they’re all clinging to one another has more to do to holding on to the past, youth perhaps, than the actual breaking apart of their friendship. Clearly they would have seen one another again, but stepping into adulthood would take it away to some extent.

I loved the ending line, I really did. There was so much lingering darkness there. It was one of those bits that just send a shiver up my spine. Wonderful, dear.

The only mistakes I noticed was the frequent typos with the word ‘and’ – jumbled letters and such. I hate pointing out typos in reviews because I think it clutters up the review box, I also don’t think it’s really the point of a review, but when I have time later on tonight I’ll go through this, note all those little points and send it to you in a PM. They don’t obstruct reading, but the story is good and it would certainly look more polished without those little things here and there ;-)

Author's Response: I wrote this when I graduated eighth grade, and half of the people that I knew were leaving, so I think that was where it all came from. The fact that even though some of them weren't quite my best of friends didn't disclude anyone, so I think that is how I was able to include Lily so. Also, the fact that I envision her taking Peter's place, in an essence, is part of the reason.

I like the thought of them all actually singing something that would otherwise completely embaress them. It sort of makes me smile, the thought of the infamous James Potter and Sirius Black brought to tears because of a song.

Hm, I never saw it that way. I guess it is representative of the past, isn't it?

The ending sort of shows, to me at least, that Peter was starting to drift and head to the Dark Lord's aid. That, and I couldn't just leave him out of the whole thing.

Oh, I would love it if you would beta this for me! I've been meaning to do that for quite some time now, but I've had so many other things to do that I never quite found time for it. I'll be sure to credit you for it!

Thanks!


 Report Review

Review #21, by moony127 Graduation

8th January 2006:
and i'm not a soldier *bangs head on desk*

Author's Response: You are a soldier, and you failed yesterday and you are hopeless! Now say your lines, NOW.

 Report Review

Review #22, by moony127 Graduation

8th January 2006:
*sniff* *sniff* *sniff* *dabs eyes with tissues* beautiful *sniff* *sniff* everytime i hear that song i think of u, evans, and me graduating *sniff* *sniff*

Author's Response: Stop your sobbing, you're a Moony for goodness sake! Toughen up, soldier!!

 Report Review

Review #23, by Lily Evans Graduation

7th January 2006:
Graduating, one word that seems so far away to me right now. Good job! And I felt horrible for Peter at that end when he sang this, "Peter Pettigrew sat alone, adn sung into the deepening dusk around him, “We will still be friends forever....” Oh! You may want to look through this a tiny bit, I saw a few typos with the word and nothing too big though! This was still a very cute story and I felt soo bad for poor Peter but then felt digusted with myself afterwards, lol. Good job.

Author's Response: Haha, don't feel disgusted, a lot of people sympathize for him. I decided that later on I'm going to fine tune it and check up on the spelling and grammer errors in it, as it's bugging me now, too. Thanks, and glad you enjoyed again!

 Report Review

Review #24, by StepUpTimneh Graduation

7th January 2006:
Chock full of emotions, that was! I know I say that a lot...but it's true!

At first I didn't get the whole song idea...but it just fits now, for some reason. It just seems to fit! And at the end with Peter Pettigrew...that was great. How he was left out like that, but still there.

Unlike your other fics, there were some typos here and there. In the last sentence, you wrote "adn" instead of "and", and you did that somewhere else in the fic too. Also, when you wrote "ignorant", you accidentally put two "r"s.

Congrats on a job well done!

Author's Response: Ah, it was my first fic, and I was doing it on Word Pad rather then Microsoft, so I didn't have spell check. That explains that one, but since I have a laptop now, I'm going to go through and spiff it up some. I don't care much for Peter, but I wanted him in here somewhere, and the thought of this starting to show the four's bonding and his drifting worked well for it, so that's how that one worked. Glad you enjoyed!

 Report Review

Review #25, by Urvi Graduation

2nd January 2006:
I meant to write that this is one of the few songfics that I enjoyed. I love one-shots and write them myself, lol. My brain must have been shut off at the time. Happy New Year and thank you for responding to my reviews :)

Author's Response: You're very welcome. I'm glad that you enjoyed this song-fic. Thanks very much for reviewing, and Happy New Years' to you as well!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>