Reading Reviews for Remus In Colour
  
87 Reviews Found

Review #1, by patronus_charm Remus In Colour

11th July 2014:
Hi!

Wow this was so amazing! I really loved how introspective Remus was as it fitted his character so well, but you took this introspectiveness beyond what I expected and now Iím thinking of Remus having depths to him which I never really imagined he could have. I think the use of italics really extenuated that and really showed the reader how deep his thoughts were that he had dual voices in his head.

I really liked how you chosen colour and the analysis of it and its meaning to be the focus of the story as it really is everywhere and in everything so itís almost rather odd we never think of it as much as Remus did here. I really liked how you started off with using it on basic objects and then related to the Marauders as that flowed so well in his head and seemed to create even more power.

Anyhow, I thought this was really good! ♥

-Kiana
House Cup 2014 Review!

 Report Review

Review #2, by thatsassymaster Remus In Colour

13th September 2012:
Well I've never read anything quite like this before!

I really love the style of your writing and the originality of this story, good job!

Author's Response: thank you! that's awesome to hear =)

 Report Review

Review #3, by sorcia Remus In Colour

1st October 2010:
Wow this is truly an amazing piece. I love the way Remus almost seems to be trying to reason out everything that's happened and make it easier to deal with. His thoughts seem chaotic but so organised at the same time. I can't even find words to describe what I think about it all.

For me personally I feel this has given Remus a depth that you don't often find. It's just a truly amazing story.

Congratulations and more importantly thank you.

Author's Response: Thank you for this lovely review! I'm happy that you enjoyed it so much and that it got you thinking. Many thanks!

 Report Review

Review #4, by Cassidy Chase Remus In Colour

19th April 2010:
omg... this is deep. I'm super impressed by this story... there's a depth that you dont often see in fanfiction. Amazing!!!

Author's Response: Thank you very much! Glad you liked it.

 Report Review

Review #5, by lovedraco4ever Remus In Colour

15th June 2009:
Wow. I loved this piece. It was so interesting to read, and I've never seen anything like it before, with the colors and all. Remus is always fun to read, and his thought process in this was childish, but at the same time, mature. I say childish (very loosely) because of the whole line-- "Peter is my kitchen!" I don't know why, but that struck me as something a kid would say all of a sudden. This really made me curious about your thought process, because you said that it was basically your thoughts given to Remus. Very well written and entertaining to follow all of the different comparisons of the characters to the colors. :D Excellent! I'm off to read more of your stuff. ^_^

Author's Response: Haha, well, about the childish thing - I was 15/16 when I wrote it, so I guess that sort of came through in Remus. And also, when I first started writing it, it was just a drabble, I didn't plot it out, so I had actually envisioned a much younger Remus, probably right after Lily and James died. The whole colour thing just sort of twisted it around into what it is now. It's funny how that worked out. =) Thanks for this great review, hope you enjoy some of my other stories.

 Report Review

Review #6, by Padfoot36 Remus In Colour

5th May 2008:
Beautifully written.

I love how it mixes in so many elements that if down wrong would just be confusing but instead he captured it just right and it was a wonderful read. When is the time period of this? Just being curious. ^-^

Author's Response: Thank you very much. The time period isn't really entirely set. In my head, it was right after Sirius died, because if it were any later, I would have included some details about Remus' romance with Tonks. So, it could be later if you really wanted it to, but I think it's best right after Sirius' death.

 Report Review

Review #7, by hogwartskeeprsGSRH Remus In Colour

13th February 2008:
LORD! HOW CAN U WRITE LYK THIS? ITSGOIN STRAIGHT TO MY FAVES! AWESOME. KEEP IT UP!

Author's Response: Haha, thanks for the enthusiasm. That's fantastic.

 Report Review

Review #8, by brilliant Remus In Colour

13th January 2008:
Wow. This was just outright amazing. I loved how each person who had a color who fit them almost exactly. I loved, 'Peter is my kitchen!'. This story was so perfect. Just perfect.

Author's Response: Thank you very much. =D That line is certainly a popular one.

 Report Review

Review #9, by beating_faster Remus In Colour

9th December 2007:
brilliant. really brilliant how you put this together. i've found myself associating colors with people at times, but never as deep and detailed as this. this looks like something you'd find in a book, very clear and purposeful and raw and creative. foof.

Author's Response: Thank you very much! =)

 Report Review

Review #10, by angels4eva Remus In Colour

10th June 2007:
Wow, that's an absolutely fabolous piece of writing! I'm in awe of your skills, having also read Hazy Eyes, though I reviewed under another name before I registered. Don't ever stop writing.

Author's Response: Awww, thank you so much! I don't plan on stopping. ;)

 Report Review

Review #11, by taylorj828 Remus In Colour

11th May 2007:
Wow dear. *breathes a heavy, comtemplative breath* Where do I even begin? I don't know if I can. Where did you get such an idea for this? I think someone might have asked that on your author's Q&A page so I'll go check it out. (o:

This is brilliant, truly. I absolutely love this. I love Lupin, first of all. There's just this fondness in my heart for him, like a favourite, cherished, endearing Uncle that you respect and revere and want to sit at his feet and learn everything he has to share, but yet he's reachable, closer than say, Dumbledore. I love Lupin, and this piece seems to fit so exactly to who he is, and what he might be thinking.

It is slightly comical that there's so much thought about colour, but I think Lupin himself thought he was slightly absurd, lol. It's beautiful though. I love the personification of the colors, and how he starts off with opposites, and shades, and then wonders if the other colours are affected and how they feel about it. It actually seems like quite the philosophical piece (and that really gets my number!)

I agree that Sirius is red, that just seemed perfect. Lupin as grey, also, though I might pick up some soft blue tones in him sometime. (o: As for James and yellow, I'm not sure. James is an enigma to me, and I don't know what to make of him. Same goes with Lily, for me. Of course you know I don't read much about these people, though. Anywho... I loved his thought process, and how he goes back and forth on the colours, who they are and what they mean.

He killed Sirius, wow. It's all so deep dear - it's too much for me to work out in one reading and in a review right after! This is the kind of piece that has to sit and simmer and boil and permeate.

The ending - the soap washing off and making everything white. Wow, so profound dear. Honestly, I think the piece shows us a lot about *you*, more than it shoes us about Lupin, just maybe. (o: It makes me really curious about you and your thoughts... Anyway, I can't say enough how sublime this piece is! It never fails that I love your work! I hope this review isn't subpar, but there are simply so many things to consider after reading this, I can't even word all my thoughts! If I can, some day, I'll PM you, hehe. Beautiful darling.

Author's Response: You're reading Marauders! I'm very shocked. But so very happy at the same time! =D

I feel the same way about Lupin, for sure. You've described him perfectly, and I'm glad you feel like this was true to his character. But Lupin being grey... Well, he thinks he's grey, that's why it's written the way it it, but he's very much a blue, in my eyes. As for James, he isn't entirely yellow, but for the simplicity of this piece I left it that way. He's more orange, in my opinion. I didn't want to spend forever describing it, though, because it's not about James, right? Plus, it worked out for the soap bit.

You're probably right about this piece showing more about me than Lupin. After all, these are more or less all my thoughts except told by Remus. Feel free to PM anytime, I love talking to you! =D And thank you for the lovely, very much NOT subpar review! I can't tell you how happy I am that it got you thinking. *Big hugs*


 Report Review

Review #12, by fallenstarr Remus In Colour

28th February 2007:
That was so in depth. I liked the abstract way of thinking you used in this. Not to mention the style you used to write it was unique. It was told half in first person cuz we saw his thoughts and half in third person which was everything besides his thoughts. I really liked the way you did this.

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked the switching POVs - for some reason I couldn't seem to stick to one. =) Thanks for the review, I'm happy you enjoyed it.

 Report Review

Review #13, by be_happy Remus In Colour

16th February 2007:
This is a beautiful story. Wonderful language. I think you got all the character's colors right except for Remus. I would have always imagined him as the brown. the one that controls the other colors. the one which is made up of all primary. I can see why he is gray, but to me gray is to difinitive, it lacks "color" for better use of a word, it almost lacks life.
Anyways i still really liked this story, it made me think about the under layers of personality each character had. I esp. liked peter, and the puns.
nice work. And a question. What color are you?

Author's Response: Thank you very much! I know where you're coming from with Remus, and I understand your reasoning completely. The thing is that Remus views himself much differently than others do. He's much harder on himself, and sometimes overlooks some of his best qualities because they're second nature. This was a topic I was going to write about if I ever wrote a sequel, just to clarify and better categorize him. Sadly, I don't seem to have any inspiration for such, and so I'm not sure a sequel will ever come around. As for what colour I am, I'm a fairly light shade of mauve, in my personal opinion, but it's always harder to colour yourself than others, because with others you judge on the most prominent qualities, but within yourself it's harder to pick out such qualities because half of the time you don't even notice the little things you do, you know what I mean? But anyway... Thanks again, I really enjoyed this review. =)

 Report Review

Review #14, by Andy_C Remus In Colour

19th November 2006:
This...umm...story?...essay?...okay, this piece is a true gem. It is so poignant, unbelievably intelligent, thoughtful and touching. Your style of writing is extremely sophisticated. Absolutely LOVED it!
Andy

Author's Response: =D Eee, thank you very much. I don't know what else to say. =)

 Report Review

Review #15, by hp&gw Remus In Colour

25th August 2006:
that very interesting and thoughtful....i enjoted reading your ideas about the colors-- i have often thought about how colors portray moods and play a big part in our lives.....



much luv

Author's Response: Thanks, glad you liked it! And I agree with you abuot colours playnig a big part in our lives. They're everywhere, after all. =)

 Report Review

Review #16, by xwolfsbanexwerewolfx Remus In Colour

1st July 2006:
WOW. That's amazing. Wow. How did you think of this?

Author's Response: It started off with a new development in colour relation, I believe (it's been a while since I wrote this piece =P), and from there I continued to think and apply these thoughts to Remus. From there, the story more or less wrote itself. I'm not sure how I thought of it, haha! Thanks very much for the review. =)

 Report Review

Review #17, by bee_lily Remus In Colour

2nd June 2006:
i dont think i really understood the connections (which is entirely my fault, cuz u wrote it very nicely, and im jsut too thick to understand) but you used some very good adjectives. i liked your word choice.

Author's Response: Aww, you're not thick, dear. =) People have different ways of looking at everything and so it can be difficult to interpret someone else's perspective. I'm glad you seemed to like it nonetheless.

 Report Review

Review #18, by Bittersweet Ending Remus In Colour

1st May 2006:
That was an amazing read. I loved the analogy of colors to the marauders and Remus's reactions at the end.

Author's Response: =D Thanks so much! I'm glad to hear that.

 Report Review

Review #19, by Concused_Duck Remus In Colour

27th March 2006:
i liked it! it was different and a goods way to bring out Remus's intellegence. very good story!

Author's Response: Aww, thanks so much. I appreciate your review.

 Report Review

Review #20, by Water Spirit Remus In Colour

27th March 2006:
Very intense and very good I knwe colors had meaning but you take it to another level

Author's Response: Thank you very much - I'm glad you got something out of it. =D

 Report Review

Review #21, by Xor_relyt Remus In Colour

22nd March 2006:
Well, I am extremely bored, so I am re-reviewing all of your stories! Hahahaha, this is the best story on this website. Can I ask you how you thought of this? It's just so different, but I love it!

Author's Response: Oh, come now... "best" is a big word and this fic is far from it. Thank you very much for saying that, though. =) I got the idea just from my own thoughts. I was just thinking about colours and then I started to apply these thoughts to Remus. Why Remus, I don't know. Originally it was just him, but then it spread out and this happened. The fic pretty much wrote itself.

 Report Review

Review #22, by blu_canine Remus In Colour

19th March 2006:
I couldn't find any more R/Hr fics so I decided to look at other fics by my favourite authors, I'm glad I checked out this one first!

Again you have used your own unique, very effective method, bringing out the dilemma and confusion going on in character's minds. I could not help but notice how my brain had this sense of puzzlement that wasn't there before I read the story. That is another characteristic that I love in good stories. I think you also portrayed the strong friendship between Remus, Sirius and James, a great feat considering they were not solidly in the fic, only in the thoughts.

Also in my excitement of the features I mentioned above, I nearly forgot how well you personified colours and objects in this fic.
Fantastico yet again, no faults!
Chels.

Author's Response: Aw, Chels! Thank you. I'm really glad you read this piece because it's pretty much my favourite. I don't know really what else to say, I'm just so happy that you liked it. Thanks so much, dear!

 Report Review

Review #23, by Bardlover Remus In Colour

16th March 2006:
Very good story. I love when writers try to plunge into the psychological trappings of a character we all know and love.

Author's Response: I love that as well. Thanks for the review! =)

 Report Review

Review #24, by Cedrics_gurl Remus In Colour

5th March 2006:
Wow! That is one of the best stories on this website that I have ever read!

Author's Response: Wow, yourself! Thank you very much. =D

 Report Review

Review #25, by lilyandjames2000 Remus In Colour

15th February 2006:
The story itself is very well written. I was able to follow along easily. Not one of my favorite stories. I liked how you gave each charactor there own color. You matched each charactor perfectly. I am also glad Remus understood at the end he really wasn't to blame for sirius's death. That james and sirius would always be there for him even though they had died.

Author's Response: Thanks, I hope you liked it even though it wasn't one of your favourites.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>