Reading Reviews for Displaced
  
84 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Quazie89 A Haunting Lullaby

5th February 2010:
Wow, this is some story! All of your writing is pretty addictive but this is the story that made me sign up to become a member of this site. I can't wait to see what the next chapter holds!

 Report Review

Review #2, by Purple Rain A Haunting Lullaby

3rd January 2007:
I love this story, it's incredabullay witty, do write more, i will be adding this to my favourites because it is just that good. Keep up the amazing work.

Cheers

 Report Review

Review #3, by aij A Haunting Lullaby

11th October 2006:
I found this a while ago, but I thought I'd wait till it was aproprait to demand/beg/plead for another chapter. :{ Pleaaaaase?

Fawks showing up is an interesting twist. I somewhat wonder if he's there to take revenge the only way he has. By forcing intro-spection! >evil pheonix laugh here.<

No really, that can be very painful, especially in their current circumstance. Should be interesting.


Author's Response: Hi Aij. I'm sorry to say that updates have been few and far between lately. I took part in Nanowrimo, so that held a majority of my time, and I'm working on a few secret santa fics as well. I'm doing my best to get a new chapter out by the new year. Again, sorry for the delay, and thanks for reading.

 Report Review

Review #4, by charmed ravenclaw A Haunting Lullaby

24th September 2006:
Ooh, Fawkes! This is getting interesting...

Author's Response: Thanks. Look out for more.

 Report Review

Review #5, by LisaMacKay A Haunting Lullaby

8th August 2006:
eeeeeeeek! update! hurray! oh and a wonderful chapter it was too! awwwww poor baby *huggles draco* there we go, therapy session in the middle of nowhere. i like how you kept draco in character (i always say that, don't i?) when snape told him he was a half-blood. you know none of the "living in the muggle world for a few days strangely changed my whole view on life. i am proud to be the friend of a half blood"-thing. and i like the idea of snape looking happy on the photo... i think everyone is happy at SOME point in his life. and so was snape. oh oh oh, foreshadowing, lots of foreshadowing! i am excited! woohoo! ^^

Author's Response: Lisa! I'm glad you found my update (though I had little doubt in you)! Draco would like me to ask you to please stop hugging him (politeness my own) as he does not want to smell like a "raving muggle girl" when he returns home. I'm happy you like my chapter--I always think of you when I update! And there is lots of foreshadowing...but I can't tell what is going to happen. ;) Thanks again!

 Report Review

Review #6, by Kate_R_Potter A Haunting Lullaby

2nd August 2006:
Thank you sooo much for this chapter. It completely made my day, my week actually. My house flooded 3 days ago and I'm in a hotel until tomorrow until they find out what happened. Again thank you very much. Keep up the good work. :D

Author's Response: Kate, I'm sorry to hear about your house! I hope everything is looking up now. Anyway, thanks for reading, and it's good to hear that the chapter cheered you up. :)

 Report Review

Review #7, by steve34 A Haunting Lullaby

1st August 2006:
Great chapter! The previous ones were light-hearted, so I was beginning to forget that Snape and Malfoy were in hiding because of their actions in Book Six. This chapter brought it all back and made the scene very melancholy. I was just beginning to let the ol' anger rise for Draco when you went and made him miss his mummy, and that kinda threw a curveball at my righteous indignation. :-)

Author's Response: Thank you, Steve. Yes--maybe it was just my mood, but I decided to put Draco through the ringer and make him really miss his mummy. Lookout for more humor in the next chapter, though. I have many plans... *rubs palms together*

 Report Review

Review #8, by lonelyicequeen A Haunting Lullaby

1st August 2006:
your stories are beautiful i have a fascination with the english language(not that im not ameriacan) but i love the way your story touches the hollow part of your mind and fills it with amazing..........wow just wow you are a talented writer!

Author's Response: Thank you, lonelyicequeen. I'm glad you enjoy my stories--and I really appreciate that you let me know. It's so nice of you.

 Report Review

Review #9, by steve34 Seeing Things

3rd May 2006:
Did you spice it up a bit since I last read this chapter, or has it been so long since I read it that it seems different? I think the last time I read it, I said it didn't have your usual spark, but it seems to be there now. So either you pepped it up, or I'm just reading it differently this time. Either way, it's a brilliant chapter. I think my favorite part is when Draco says "Bloody hell" and Jeanette points out that he said he never says that and he just holds up a hand to shut her up. Excellent work!

Author's Response: Of course I did--I listen to your advice, Steve. So I added a few gestures, descriptive words, etc. I enjoy Draco and Jeanette together, but not in the romantic sort of way. Hehe. Thanks so much for dropping a review!

 Report Review

Review #10, by charmed ravenclaw Seeing Things

29th April 2006:
Draco vs the toaster! He heh! Interesting talk about psychics.

Author's Response: Yes, Draco doesn't have much luck with muggle machinery, I'm afraid. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #11, by aij Seeing Things

25th April 2006:
Glad to see you get out another chapter. Not that I'm one to complain, all things considered, but you've actually got people interested in what you're writing. :p More please!

Author's Response: I've been busy in RL, so updates are slow-coming. That being said, I'm just glad people are still checking for updates! Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #12, by LisaMacKay Seeing Things

13th April 2006:
oooooooooohhhh..... good chapter YAY AN UPDATE!!! woohooo! this is very intriguing indeed... so many cool and new and interesting and exciting things in one chapter. i would have kicked him out of my car in jeanette's situation... he's such a jerk! but so wonderfully in character! i have said so many times before, but every single chapter you manage to keep him very draco and everything that you write around it is simply perfect and awesome. i love this story. and now i am excited for another update. ^^

Author's Response: Wow Lisa! It didn't take you very long to find my update. ;) There are some interesting things in this chapter, aren't there? Things that give way to future plot-threads coming together, but I don't want to give away all of the details. I laughed when you said you would have kicked him out of the car--I would have too. But Jeanette is a patient person, and you'll learn more about her later... Your review is really flattering, and I thank you for it.

 Report Review

Review #13, by Kate_R_Potter A Dumas Discovery

3rd March 2006:
YAY loved this chapter! well worth the wait! :D Keep up the wonderful work!

Author's Response: Thank you, Kate. I'm glad you liked it.

 Report Review

Review #14, by LisaMacKay A Dumas Discovery

28th February 2006:
woohoo! update! draco and jeanie sitting in a tree... lol, okay that's a little childish... em... i really liked your description of the telephone and how snape made fun of him! and this word absolutely fascinates me: "cantankerous" i'll yet have to figure out what it means but i like it. ^^ and although this story has been getting along pretty far you still have kept the two of them wonderfully in character and i love that! good job!

Author's Response: Yes, I updated...finally! I'm glad you liked this chapter--I really enjoyed writing the telephone scene. Cantankerous is a great word--add it to your vocabulary. As always, I'm really grateful for your feedback; thanks so much for reading.

 Report Review

Review #15, by Wiccan A Dumas Discovery

25th February 2006:
That was too funny...Snape and the toaster. I'll bet that was the most fun he had had in years! Nice to see an update, but your story is so unique that it's easily remembered. Not that I wouldn't like faster ones... Great job as usual!

Author's Response: Thank you, Wiccan. Yes, I imagine that undoing Draco was a good way for Snape to release some of his frustrations. The next update won't take quite as long, I hope. Thanks again!

 Report Review

Review #16, by steve34 A Dumas Discovery

25th February 2006:
Even after reading this for the fourth or fifth time, it still cracks me up. I know this is listed as "general" but any prospective humor authors should read this story to know how humor stories should be written. It's awful the way some people try to cram in joke after joke with no break, until the story is just one big conglomeration of cheap attempts for laughs. [end of rant]

Not all the humor is blatant, like the Dumas reference or Draco's attempts at using Snape's telephone. Some of the biggest sources of amusement for me were very very subtle, like when Snape asks Draco if he's a natural talent, "Gritting his teeth, Draco answered levelly. “Yes.”" That was such a typical Draco line that it made me laugh. And later, when Draco says he just wanted to make sure he understood the Dumas book clearly, Snape responds "Clearly." Just one word, but it had me laughing yet again. There is so much to glean from Snape's one word response. A lesser author would have added more about Snape, explaining just exactly what he meant when he said "clearly", but you didn't and that made the moment feel like only Snape and I got the joke and were having fun at Draco's expense. I could almost like the slimy git for that. ;-)

Finally, Jeanette, the OC. I really like her. I like that she gives as good as she gets with Draco, that she has patience to put up with his foreignness, but not so much as to let him intimidate her or control the moment.

I am really going to enjoy re-reading all of this many times when it's done, though I'm going to really hate the day it is. This is a great story!

Author's Response: It's good to know I have a fan base for this story. ;) I've thought about listing it as humor too, but like you said, there are some terrible attempts at humor and I find myself avoiding that category altogether. I don't want to have laugh after laugh, but I enjoy the occaional one-liner or funny moment, so I include them in my stories (this one just seems to take them easier than the others).

You know, there were two Monte Cristo references that I was toying with. It was either going to be the one I used, or Draco reflecting on how the priest reminded him of Dumbledore. (I'm sure you know this, but Richard Harris played the priest in the CoMC movie.) I wanted it to be obvious, yet someone who might not know the story might miss the reference altogether. And thank you for liking "clearly". I LOVE Snape saying that, I can just picture his tone.

Glad you like Jeanette. I like her, too. Her role in this story will now expand; I just had to get there. She and Draco are good for each other, though he probably won't realize it yet (and probably never will).

Thanks for the spectac review, of course I can always count on you to leave something thoughtful.


 Report Review

Review #17, by Charmy_n_Chicka The Bumbling Apprentice

10th February 2006:
Charmy present. Snape with a haircut? Holy Crap! that is so weird and hard to imagine without billowing robes too.

Author's Response: Yes, it's an odd image, isn't it? I figure if he's on the lamb, Snape needs a change of appearance. Thanks for the read!

 Report Review

Review #18, by cat_303 The Bumbling Apprentice

8th December 2005:
I'm still waiting! I keep coming back hoping you've updated! Please help me by updating so i can procrastinate my calculus homework for a little but longer! lol, i still think its a great story!

Author's Response: Oh, cat, I have a note up on my author's page--the holidays are a busy time for me and updates are going to be very slow. I'll try to get out something before Christmas, however. Hold tight, and thanks for checking up on me!

 Report Review

Review #19, by LisaMacKay Prologue: A Dark Tomorrow

14th November 2005:
u see, yours was the first story i read on this site and it's still my absolute favorite! ^^

Author's Response: I'm very flattered and glad. Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #20, by SilverShadow04 The Bumbling Apprentice

13th November 2005:
I liked it! Especially the part when I pictured Snape walking into a tree! haha! Can't wait to see Draco learn how to use a telephone.

Author's Response: I'm glad, SilverShadow. I'm quite certain that Snape will not appreciate the rumors that Draco has been spreading about him. ;) Thanks for keeping up with my updates and reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #21, by cat_303 The Bumbling Apprentice

13th November 2005:
Awww, poor Draco, i really feel for him! Im so glad you updated, again awsome as usual! I liked the number part that was funny :) Update again soon!

Author's Response: Snape does like giving him a hard time, doesn't he? Not that Draco doesn't deserve every last bit! Thanks for reading, cat. I appreciate your feedback!

 Report Review

Review #22, by LisaMacKay The Bumbling Apprentice

12th November 2005:
YES! you updated! great chapter! wonderful! i love this story.... i had to look up what gobstones is, though... natural healing... that's gonna be weird. and i LOVE how Snape and Draco are just so completely in character! i'd make them be all nice to each other and stuff, but you're doing this way good! and jeanette has a thing for weird blonde guys, huh? ^^ lol, i'm really happy you found your way out of the slump and wrote another great chapter!!

Author's Response: I know, it took a little while. *sheepish grin* I'm so glad that you still like this story, and am happy that it interests you enough to look up what things like gobstones are! And of course, with Snape and Draco I could never make things easy, or nice. It's just not their nature. ...And you'll learn a little more about Jeanette as we go on. Thank you for the lovely review!

 Report Review

Review #23, by steve34 The Bumbling Apprentice

10th November 2005:
HAHA! "blithering fool"? I made two corrections, and they were extremely minor. I've made more mistakes in reviews than you did in that chapter.
I love this story. I wish I'd thought of "Wizard stuck in Muggle World" first and run with it.
As to this chapter, I loved the insight into Snape regarding his mother, and Draco regarding his mother. I like how Snape teases Draco in his own little way, and the pride Draco feels in even the snarkiest "compliments" from Snape. Jeanette is golden and I want to know more about her, so I look forward eagerly to her "date" with Draco. Brilliant stuff, this. Keep up the good work.

Author's Response: Seriously, you catch things that I might've missed otherwise, so you don't know how much I appreciate that. Of course, sometimes I can be freaky and read it over for mistakes a dozen times before sending it on to you. If you ever want to do a wizard in a muggle world story, go for it. I'm not the first one to think of it, and you could come up with some great scenarios too. Anyhow, thanks for the encouragement. Draco and Snape suit each other, but I'm really looking forward to tossing Jeanette into the mix. She'll stir things up a bit. I appreciate your review, Steve, especially after everything you've done already!

 Report Review

Review #24, by antlers The Herbal Lesson

28th October 2005:
huh. interesting idea. canada. i liked the people .. draco seems very willing to become muggle. youd think hed at least TRY, like, wandless magic or something of the sort .. well, it was good. very enjoyable.

Author's Response: Funny you should say that, antlers, as I thought I'd alluded to the fact that he is going to experiment with wandless magic in chapter four. I really tried to do my best in keeping him from showing any fondness for the muggle life. I'm curious how you thought he was willng to become one? I'll have to watch how I write because that's definitely not how I am seeing it on my head and I don't want readers to get that idea. Thanks for the thoughtful review, I appreciate it.

 Report Review

Review #25, by cat_303 The Herbal Lesson

21st October 2005:
Please update soon! I keep checking back here because i really love this story and i would love for you to continue it!!! Excellent job so far!

Author's Response: Thanks. I assure you, cat, that I have not forgotten this story. It's just a busy time for me right now. Hopefully the next chapter will be up by next week.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>