Reading Reviews for I Am
  
19 Reviews Found

Review #1, by ForeverLoved I Am

8th June 2008:
Wow, this was a really good and ambitious story. I like how you took the hard to understand motives behind Voldy, and made it seem real! Bravo, and major props.

I can't remember the exact place, but one area in the middle-ish sounded kinda choppy. I'm not sure if that's how you wanted it to sound or not... just saying!

Overall, it was AMAZING!

 Report Review

Review #2, by GoddessHope I Am

25th April 2006:
Mary, loff, I cannot explain how much I adore your skills: fanfiction, banners, etc. Goshies, I just got thrills and chills from this little piece. I do get what you're saying about Voldemort and as simple as the words are, I still am dazzled by the explanations. Eh.. I'll figure them out sooner or later. Lovely work loff.

Author's Response: I'm so glad you liked it! This is my favorite thing I've written. Thanks so much for taking the time to read it ^_^

 Report Review

Review #3, by Evelyn I Am

4th January 2006:
I envy your skill with grammar. Grr...

Author's Response: Aww, thank you so much! My High School English Teacher could probably still find stuff to pick apart though; she was brutal. I'm glad I learned something, though. :)

 Report Review

Review #4, by punkhatz I Am

7th December 2005:
Yay umbluemusic! i'm from thedarkarts forum (pnkhtz). I didn't realise you wrote amazing stories as well as making great banners! Your story rocks.

Author's Response: Thank you so much. ^_^

 Report Review

Review #5, by JoeMerl I Am

27th November 2005:
Wow! This is a really good story! Congrats on it, UMBlue---really clever, excellent psychology involved.

Author's Response: Thank you so much!

 Report Review

Review #6, by nomikkin I Am

18th November 2005:
Umby, my love! well, you cease to amaze me! great job! you painted a wonderful picture of Lord Voldemort as he should have been seen. he's conceited and enraged with angst. lovely. going in my favs! much love! ;) ~nomikkin

Author's Response: Thanks so much Nomi! ^_^ Lord Voldemort...I hate him so much, but he intrigues me like no other. ^_^

 Report Review

Review #7, by Programmer I Am

17th November 2005:
This is such a great story! I loved it! It sounds just like J.K. would write it if she did. Awesome! I'm adding this one to my favorites!

Author's Response: That is such a huge compliment; thank you so much. ^_^

 Report Review

Review #8, by mafalda I Am

14th November 2005:
well, Umby, I must say that I half expected you to be a brill writer too - next to be an excellent graphic maker. and I thought right. although I thought that the sentences were rather short, I think this style fits to the story and it shows the twisted mind of Voldemort. I liked how you explained everything pretty well so that one can really understand what he was thinking ... and it's nice to have it all in once piece, his motivations, the consequences, his future plans ... nice, very nice indeed. *adds to favs* hmmm soon to check out your other stories *yay* so keep up the good work, girl. (thanks again for my amazing banner *hugs*) ^^ Lexi

Author's Response: Aw, thanks so much. ^_^ I'm really not that great of a writer, but its nice to know that you liked it. I don't usually use such short sentences, but when I wrote this I sort of wrote in a stream of consciousness type style - as the thoughts went through my mind, I typed them out. And I sort of felt that was the way that his mind would be working; jumping around from subject to subject, and as the tension heightened with what he was about to do, the sentences would get shorter, more direct, and more to the point. You're welcome for the banner; I love making them. ^_^

 Report Review

Review #9, by emeralds in ebony I Am

9th November 2005:
Wow. Very, very moving... I like it. ^_^ Great job, Umby!

Author's Response: Thanks Ani. ^_^ Post yours now.

 Report Review

Review #10, by siobhanc123 I Am

25th October 2005:
One word: Genius I never see good lord voldemort ff around so it was a nice change.

Author's Response: Wow, thats really nice. I never really see any good characterizations of Voldemort, so I tried my best to do him justice. Thanks so much. ^_^

 Report Review

Review #11, by Sam M I Am

25th September 2005:
I loved it!! You're good at emotions and details! Wow, this is really good, and I'm not for biting my tongue; I take writing seriously. *adds to favs* Brilliant! ~ Sam M

Author's Response: Thank you so much! It makes me feel good to know you enjoyed it. ^_^

 Report Review

Review #12, by Catherine I Am

5th September 2005:
I really enjoyed this, especially as when Voldemort explains exactly what happens when it concerns his minions. How he really does feel about them. Very good work.

Author's Response: Thank you so much. I'm glad you enjoyed it.

 Report Review

Review #13, by Hell Hath No Fury I Am

12th August 2005:
I thought that it was very... I suppose insightful is a good word to use here... I liked it, very well written... the bit where he blames Dumbledore I loved

Author's Response: Thank you so much. I was in a weird place that day when I wrote it, but I liked the product. Thanks for the review. ^_^

 Report Review

Review #14, by Entropy I Am

12th August 2005:
Extremely good. Absolutely astounding. That's my way of saying I really liked that. ; ) You did a spectacular job of getting in Voldemort's head, and putting exactly what his thoughts are. I also like the timeframe that you placed this in, really good job. Definately going on my favorites.

Author's Response: Wow, thank you so much. ^_^ I'm really happy you enjoyed it.

 Report Review

Review #15, by Ksher I Am

8th August 2005:
*standing ovation* You have Voldemort dead on. That was perfecy. Well writen. Phonominal, chilling even. Simply: amazing. I love this completely! *idolizes*
Livelong and prosper!
Maynard

Author's Response: Thanks! I'm glad that you liked it.

 Report Review

Review #16, by LaDorki I Am

9th May 2005:
Very interesting. I understand how you changed Voldemort's mother's death, but I have to admit when I read that part I was kind of displeased. However, other than that, I enjoyed reading it very much. Voldemort is a hard character to write, and I think your attempt was very good. I think it's great that you tried to give us a reason for all of Voldemort's evildoings. One suggestion might have been to write a little about his name change - probably somewhere around where he was talking about his mother and father. I think you could do it very nicely. =D Anyway, to wrap it up, I enjoyed it muchly.

Author's Response: I'm glad that you enjoyed it. I'm currently working on rewriting a bunch of my stuff, so I'll keep in mind what you said about incorporating his name change. I think that would be a good idea too.

 Report Review

Review #17, by Q A I Am

1st May 2005:
"... on inside the Dark Lord's head" - An apostrophe should be added. Proofreading might help with the incorrect/absent punctuation throughout the fic. There isn't a lot, but I think that Voldemort would think correctly. "Because it killed my mother. My father’s disappearance after he found out broke her heart. It hardened mine." - This is slightly confusing, doesn't flow very well. Although you shed a different light on Voldemort's character, it doesn't seem to mesh completely with what we already know of him. His mind, to me at least, seems far more twisted, not as fluent and conversational as this piece. When you explain his hatred for Dumbledore, it is with a child's blame and willful ignorance of the truth--you spare the reader from the crooned lies and gentle laughter of a madman and instead bring order to Voldemort's thoughts. The voice is very choppy, almost too short and to the point to resemble his. However, I loved the insightful paragraph ends, where the thoughts crash together. I think that you could have done better with a few things here (I know that you just wrote it in one night, but going back and editing over would help with most of the mistakes). For instance, you seem to recap what we already know without bringing any further details into play. Also, when exactly is this taking place? In the beginning I thought that it was a night alone before the Potters were killed, but at the end it seemed to be after his defeat. Anyways, besides my criticism, it was excellent! Voldemort is a hard character, and my view of him is somewhat skewed and not the best. Sorry if this was too brutal, it seemed like a wonderful one-shot, and I hope that this makes it the best it can become!

Author's Response: The story is taking place on his way to the Potters. The short and choppy voice was used to portray what was going on inside his mind. You said that the sentence doesn't flow well, yet the piece was fluent. I will proofread this piece again, but your review seems to contradict itself, and it is critical of the things that I purposefully did, so I'm taking it with a grain of salt. Thank you very much for your review.

 Report Review

Review #18, by squaredancer I Am

29th April 2005:
Wow, that was a really strong piece... I loved this line - "lets promising children like me rise or fall based on a few choices…I hate him." And there was one other... "But the love that is in their hearts doesn’t allow for the cruelty necessary to bring me down." I thought those were really powerful sentences :D I love how you protrayed Voldemort as someone who had loved and lost, and that was the main reason he became what he is. It really was brilliant, and I don't want to hear you say otherwise! <_<

Author's Response: Thank you...I was trying out that writing exercise that was suggested in the forum, and I was just typing and typing and saying what I thought Voldemort would be thinking.

Thanks so much square...I guess I won't say it sucks. :P


 Report Review

Review #19, by trixytonks I Am

28th April 2005:
that rocked! it was brilliant! loved it - one or two things - I'm pretty sure Volders doesn't know the part about 'kill or be killed,' only that Harry could be his downfall. and Volders mum died when he was born - she only lived long enough to name him. but it adds more to the story that you had her live a while, makes his grief that bit more powerful. oh he is so evil! brilliantly written! as evil as he is he still seems almost human - almost. good work!

Author's Response: Thanks! The 'kill or be killed' thing...I forgot while I was writing that that he didn't know it; I didn't mean to imply it but *shrug* it just kind of happened. I knew the part about Voldemort's mother, but I wanted to try and explain his evilness, and to give the reader something to identify with. Thanks for the review!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login