Reading Reviews for The Last Man Standing
  
13 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Toms Pal The Last Man Standing

5th April 2008:
Very well written. Great idea and approach. Well done!

Author's Response: Thank you. This was a response to a challenge and I was pleased with how it came out.

 Report Review

Review #2, by Carla Flower The Last Man Standing

5th August 2005:
Beautiful. Know it's not a new one, but I just came across it and read it and I think it was just fantastic.

Author's Response: Thank you for your kind words. I'm glad you liked it. I appreciate your taking the time to read and review.

 Report Review

Review #3, by Yiva Potter The Last Man Standing

31st July 2005:
That was sweet. Really sweet. I'm almost crying, maybe I'm too sentimental, but that was beautifully written. I could only hope that one day I can write that well. Wonderful.

Author's Response: I'm very flattered. Thank you so much for your kindness and for reading and reviewing. I'm so very glad you enjoyed it.

 Report Review

Review #4, by Squishy_Fred The Last Man Standing

16th July 2005:
Your fic reminded me so much of this song (which is awesome): When the storm has broken you'll be waiting When the big wave crashes you'll be swimming When the war is over you'll be waving the flag I know you'll be the last man standing with me (Last Man Standing - Lucie Silvas)

Author's Response: I've never heard that song, but it does sound like the lyrics express some of what I was trying to say. I thank you for taking the time to read and review.

 Report Review

Review #5, by Katielynn The Last Man Standing

22nd June 2005:
oh my god! I cried! My eyes welled up, and my throat began to close, from trying not to weep. Neville's speech was so powerful. I tried to read it aloud, but i couldn't. i just had to cry.

Author's Response: Thank you. I'm glad it touched you. Lupin is my favorite character and I adore Neville for many of the same reasons. Both carry heavy burdens but no one ever seems to really notice them. Thanks for reading and reviewing.

 Report Review

Review #6, by timeturner The Last Man Standing

5th May 2005:
Wonderful answer to the challenge. Neville's innocence signs through in the manner in which he recalls those who have died. That he never thought he was good enough is exactly how I see picture feeling about himself. You have captured him amazingly well. Excellent job and thanks for participating!

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked this. It was a nice way to get some exercise writing two of the gentlest characters in contemporary children's lit, Neville Longbottom and Remus Lupin. Thank you for reviewing.

 Report Review

Review #7, by Aisu Hoshino The Last Man Standing

24th April 2005:
I really liked this. It was well-written and very good. I liked the fact that the two main characters were Neville and Lupin, 'cause I like them a lot. Also, the line about Lupin's heart never failing was great for this. Nice work.

Author's Response: Thanks for your kind words. I'm glad you liked this. Lupin is my favorite. Thanks for reading and reviewing.

 Report Review

Review #8, by Cor_Leonis The Last Man Standing

21st April 2005:
Oh, thank goodness you've spared two of my favorite characters through your wretched war. Alpha, this was beautiful; Neville's speech was thoughtful and simplistic--very perfect. I especially loved the bit about Lupin's heart. Lovely job.

Author's Response: Thanks. As before, your opinions on one-shots are incredibly valued... well your opinions on everything are incredibly valued. You know me well enough by now to know I couldn't kill off my favorite boys. Thanks for reading and reviewing.

 Report Review

Review #9, by totsandtaters The Last Man Standing

21st April 2005:
Tremendous. I felt my heart wrench in two. Good job.

-Kimberly-

Author's Response: I'm pleased this touched you. It was very angsty. I'm not sure I know how to do anything but angsty. ;o)

 Report Review


Review #10, by bbnaz The Last Man Standing

21st April 2005:
very interesting imagery. all of them gone but snape and neville. that is really powerful.

Author's Response: That only the three, Lupin, Neville and Snape survive (of the core), that was tough to write. I hope Rowling is much kinder. Thanks for reading and reviewing.

 Report Review

Review #11, by Strawcherry The Last Man Standing

21st April 2005:
Alpha, I just don't know where to begin. This piece is filled with so many details I want to go on about. The parallells between Neville and Lupin you've drawn, so unusual, but now that you've shown them, it feels like they've been there all along. The little details you've given in the eulogies, telling us a lot about their lives. Snape's words! And I can't stop loving the way you portray Lupin. Many things Neville said about him, made me smile or nod my head in agreement. This was wonderful!

Author's Response: I'm so very happy you liked this. Remus is my dear boy and I couldn't help but not only let him survive, but have someone speak the truth about him. Thanks for reading and reviewing.

 Report Review

Review #12, by The Dark Lord Nedved The Last Man Standing

21st April 2005:
This was a great one shot story. I love the fact that Remus silenlty carries t eburden of loss throughout his life, yet still is the one people looked at for guidance. It's really touching.

Author's Response: Thank you. I'm glad you enjoyed it. Remus has long been my favorite character, and though I know most people draw the Neville/Peter parallel, I'm really hoping it doesn't work out that way. Thanks for reading and reviewing.

 Report Review

Review #13, by MadameSnape The Last Man Standing

21st April 2005:
Oh....my.....Gawd.... I relinquish my tiara-of-angst to you, this puts my best attempts at portraying the complexity of human emotion to shame. I love how you've made this your own and the dynamics you created between Neville & Lupin are positively incredible. I honestly cannot rave about this piece enough, and I've read it three times already.

Author's Response: Honey, you are too sweet. Thank you so much. I know it's not a parallel usually drawn, but it was suddenly just there. Thank you for being so very sweet.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login