Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
14 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Shannon 

22nd January 2008:
Minus the fact that Fawkes was referred to as both female and male, I think this was brilliant. Even Dumbledore has faults and doubts. I love it.

 Report Review

Review #2, by Arinonna 

9th February 2006:
Hey this is good. Hope to read more soon

 Report Review

Review #3, by pumpkinprincess 

20th November 2005:
Very good, but I confess there is one fault. It is unclear from your writing whether Fawkes is a male or female phoenix. Surely you noticed that? BUt otherwise it was good, as I have said.

 Report Review

Review #4, by aharrypotterobcession 

3rd October 2005:
DUMBLEDORES RUN OUT OF TIME! very good, dumbledore is pretty much defined by 'thinking' thats like all he did. and i see now why, very touching and good chapter <3

 Report Review

Review #5, by Connaisance_moi 

16th June 2005:
Dumbledore sounds so old... so human and vunerable in this, yet at the same time time authorative and wise. Well done, captured the essence of dumbledore perfectly

 Report Review

Review #6, by Strawcherry 

27th April 2005:
Raven, this was awesome. You've done Dumbledore great justice, especially when he recognizes his own mistakes, and admits them. I always feel that it takes someone very brave to do that. The chess imagery was beautiful, and very poignantly done. In a way, both Dumbledore and Voldemort are playing chess indeed. Loved the flashbacks; they are a must in this piece, about a man who's been around this long. Wonderful!

 Report Review

Review #7, by Rachel 

16th April 2005:
This is beautifully written, but in a way it makes me sad to see Dumbledore weak.... Tom and Dumbledore are both extremely complex characters, and you did a really good job or fitting them together, and making everything believable. Keep up the good work.

 Report Review

Review #8, by Krystinar3 

7th April 2005:
This was really good, I liked the way you had Dumbledore's old memories, and had him talk to Fawkes, as if he was human. You did a very good job on this!

 Report Review

Review #9, by Violet Gryfindor 

4th April 2005:
This was wonderful! I really liked the way you had Dumbledore talking to Fawkes with the memories intersperced throughout. You've got the Headmaster's character down beautifully. The ending was rather sad, it was interesting to see Dumbledore's weakness. You've done a great job with this, bravo!

 Report Review

Review #10, by BJAuth 

2nd April 2005:
Yes! He and Voldemort are playing chess! I like the flashbacks in this, and Dumbledore's secrecy and inner weariness. The end passage with Fudge is good. Great writing.

 Report Review

Review #11, by Cor_Leonis 

2nd April 2005:
Dumbledore has the weight of the world on his shoulders, and as you showed so well here, he's looked to by everyone for the answers. I really liked how he looks back at his prior conversations with Tom and sees the beginning of Lord Voldemort. It's sad that he's misunderstood, but I can say that I've found him irritating in the way he's tried to protect Harry so long. You have him realizing that weakness, and showing that he will learn from it. Great job.

 Report Review

Review #12, by timeturner 

2nd April 2005:
I'm not a fan of fics that jump time but this was an excellent way to handle such a major character that infuses all aspects of the HP series. Great work. Thanks for participating!

 Report Review

Review #13, by MadameSnape 

2nd April 2005:
The chess imagery is brilliant! And, given that Albus has faced Riddle many, many times, I love how you did a series of recollections and tied in so many other characters, and Fawkes was a lovely touch, too. (Loved Fawkes' "commentary"!)

 Report Review

Review #14, by Noblevyne 

2nd April 2005:
This has long been one of my favourite pieces from this amazing selection of stories. You do the characters of Dumbeldore and Riddle great justice, showing them both to be human, the complexity of their relationship has always fascinated me and you've written it so very well. The language is beautiful, just classic and elegant, well fitted to a Dumbledore piece. He's such a hard character to coin and you've done it perfectly: mysterious, whimsical, intelligent solemn and scheming, all of those elements are expressed. I also love the format, going through the ages you get a real sense of who he is and how important he was in each of them.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review