Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
46 Reviews Found

Review #1, by GeorgieElizabeth 

12th January 2011:
What a beautifully emotional chapter, and all the more poignant as we know what the future holds for the Longbottom's (and Neville of course). The descriptive technique was outstanding from the beginning, the first chapter being particularly powerful. Despite the breaking of the text, the techniqie worked and didn't stop the flow at all. I found myself wanting to know what was going to happen in both sides of the text. The 'happy' (for want of a better word) lighter side of the story balanced beautifully with the dark, horror-filled side.

Frank and Alice Longbottom are tragic characters and you truly did them justice. A really beautiful chapter.

Georgie X

 Report Review

Review #2, by Jennifer16 

9th July 2010:
Aw...this was a very sweet & sad chapter!! It is very well written! It made me cry on those sad parts!! I never really thought about Neville's parents, this chapter made me realize that they were very much in love like Harry's parents. It's so sad that they had to suffer. I wish J.K. Rowling would have written about them more in her books. But since she didn't, I would LOVE to read a story about Frank/Alice from you! (^_^)

 Report Review

Review #3, by Jane_Volturi 

30th July 2009:
That was such a sad chapter.
I was beautifully written though, very well done.
10/10

 Report Review

Review #4, by Amaranthine 

16th May 2009:
Frank and Alice's love for one another was so sweet.

It's so depressing to imagine how much love Neville would have been showered with if only Alice's dream could have come true.

This was a very effective way of telling the Longbottoms' story. :)

 Report Review

Review #5, by velvet 

3rd October 2007:
Absolutely beautiful. I loved it very much. Great writing, you really got to the emotions under the surface. A wonderful perspective that undertaken brilliantly!

 Report Review

Review #6, by N/A 

2nd October 2007:
This made the death of the Longbottom's that much more depressing. Which, in another way, made it that much more amazing to read.
-Shannon

 Report Review

Review #7, by Miss_Abigail_Black 

4th August 2007:
Wow! I got loads of goosebumps when I was reading this! It's amazing but it's so sad when you know what happens to them in the end... I don't usually like reading sad stories but this one was happy too in a way... wow I just really loved it XD

 Report Review

Review #8, by BatSEnecal 

7th July 2007:
That was sad at the end, knowing what was to come. Eventhough Neville never became the Chosen One, he still lost much that is dear to a child. Eventhough he had his grandmother, that's not the same as growing up with your parents to guide you. This look into Alice and Frank was neat, because you really captured them. I even feel I see these characteristics in Neville. 10/10

 Report Review

Review #9, by jealous_of_Lily345 

12th April 2006:
Looks good! Can't wait till I get a chance to read more Chapters! I liked how you put in the thing about longbottoms being useless at magic until they come of age lol. Well g2g. Lud it. definitely going on my faves list!!


Author's Response: On your favs? I'm so pleased to hear that and thank you for taking the time to review this piece.

 Report Review

Review #10, by oliveria 

11th February 2006:
so good!! can't wait to read the next chapter!!

Author's Response: Thank you oliveria! I'm just glad to know you enjoyed it!

 Report Review

Review #11, by Arinonna 

9th February 2006:
Hey this is really good. Hope to read more from you soon.

Author's Response: Pleased that you enjoyed this and if you enjoy more of my work even better! Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #12, by rAiNdRoPs_NeVeR_eNd 

5th February 2006:
Nice. I liked it. It was well written, although it seemed there were a few mistakes. But oh well. Good job nonetheless.

Author's Response: A few mistakes? If you could point them out it would be very helpful. Thank you anyway for reviewing.

 Report Review

Review #13, by Tynumber5 

8th December 2005:
I really like how you describe Voldemort.

Author's Response: I think he's fun to describe! So evil and menacing, he's a gift of a character. Thank you for reviewing.

 Report Review

Review #14, by Sailapluto 

4th December 2005:
At first it was kind of confusing. I didn't exactly get what was going on, then it said it was all a dream and i caught on. I actually thought that this would be about how the Longbottoms would be tortured, but I'm happy the way you told it here. Very well written. Good job!

Author's Response: Not quite a dream, more a flashback. The only part that was a dream was the final part and that was Alice dreaming of a happy future. Sad it didn't turn out that way though, eh? Thank you for your comments and taking the time to review.

 Report Review

Review #15, by iloveron14 

10th November 2005:
that was marvelous..so sad yet so good..

Author's Response: It is a very sad thing to think about, but I loved writing them. Thank you for reviewing.

 Report Review

Review #16, by aharrypotterobcession 

30th September 2005:
k im definitley gonna start reading some of your work cuz it rox. u did such a great job when you had so little to work with. snaps for BJAuth! <3

Author's Response: Sometimes it's easier to write the minor characters, I think. I rock? Wow. Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #17, by 62442almystery 

14th July 2005:
I feel so sad now. Neville would have had such kind and loving parents.

Author's Response: I'm so sorry I made you sad, but I wanted him to have nice parents, even if things just didn't work out for him. His parents loved him and he was wanted. That's what I wanted to show. Thank you for taking the time to review.

 Report Review

Review #18, by DUMBELDAVE 

17th May 2005:
Cool chapter on the Longbottoms ! i really havent read much about them so it was nice to read. too bad everything wont be good for them for long . . . DD

Author's Response: Thanks Dave. Yeah, that's the heart breaking thing about writing them - that you already know the future isn't bright for them. Thank you for the review!

 Report Review

Review #19, by dreamdweller 

27th April 2005:
That was really touching! Its so great to be able to picture alice and frank longbottom before voldemort made them crazy. Great story, great writing!

Author's Response: I'm glad you enjoyed reading them as I imagine them to be and thank you for the kind review.

 Report Review

Review #20, by Strawcherry 

13th April 2005:
Oh BJ this was so wonderful. Frank and Alice are such a tragic couple, and knowing what's going to happen to them makes my heart ache. "Mind you, if he is a Longbottom male then he’ll be useless at magic until he comes of age. It’s always the way with us blokes in my family." You always were good at foreshadowing, weren't you? Another few great examples of that in this chapter, this being the most beautiful. And like the other reviewers I have to say I just love your writing style. You've done a great job!

Author's Response: Aww, thank you Strawcherry! I had a lot of fun writing this, even though it's a painful piece in a way. I love the dynamics of the couple and the fact I imagine them to love Neville completely. I hope they still do in their way. Thank you so much!

 Report Review

Review #21, by Football_girl 

13th April 2005:
Awww.... Sweet chapter! Very sad because I know what's going to happen to the Longbottoms! :( But very well written!!!! :)

Author's Response: Exactly! That's what makes it so sad, isn't it? I want to squash Bellatrix when I read the Longbottoms. I dislike her more than Voldemort. Thank you for a wonderful review.

 Report Review

Review #22, by alexa 

12th April 2005:
great job ending the chapter with the name of the one who destroyed their dreams... i love ure writting stlye BJAuth (doesn't everybody?:) )

Author's Response: *blushes* Everyone has been very kind and I'm pleased this piece has been well recieved because it's one of my favourites. And thank you for reviewing too!

 Report Review

Review #23, by icy_cool_hermione 

9th April 2005:
Oh my, BJ, that was wonderful! Very moving, and great that you could incorporate all the romance, angst and action in at the same time, Good use of flashbacks too, and very smart to have Dorcas in there! 'Mind you, if he is a Longbottom male then he’ll be useless at magic until he comes of age. It’s always the way with us blokes in my family. ' So I see Neville just needs time! Brilliant line there...and once again, great job on such characters that we hardly know about, and yet this was fantastic!

Author's Response: Thank you Icy! Your opinion always means a lot because you're a talented writer yourself. I'm pleased I got the mix of angst and romance right in this because I really wanted to do them justice.

 Report Review

Review #24, by Sister Snape 

5th April 2005:
it is a rare thing to see such a longbottom story, let alone such a well written one. this is amazing. i'm speechless.

Author's Response: So am I for such a kind and stunning review. Thank you so much!

 Report Review

Review #25, by Meganelf 

5th April 2005:
Thats sad...all that happened to the longbottoms...I'm so sad that all that stuff happened to them...*tear*

Author's Response: Me too Meganelf! That's why I chose them, because I really wanted their story to be told. Thankyou for reviewing!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review
<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>