Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
38 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Dee 

3rd January 2012:
Wow, I must say that this story so far is absolutely marvelous!!! Splendid grammar, writing and lovely characters who each have individual and developed personalities! I can't wait to keep reading on (even though it's 4am :O)

Author's Response: Wow, thank you! It's only the second chapter and you already like the story this much? I hope that you enjoy the rest too. Your kind words mean a lot. ^_^

 Report Review

Review #2, by Mintleaf 

20th April 2011:
Oh wow, you write the perfect Dumbledore! I'm both shocked and thrilled to read such a pleasant interpretation of him! And having a school rival of McGonagall's is wonderful! I imagine she'd be a bit like Hermione at school, and would thus need someone to compete with! :)

Tiberius and Emma's relationship is just adorable! I really love it :)

"Professor Grimm meant to keep your presence here a secret, so naturally, everyone knows about it." - Haha, this line seems familiar :)

Your story is so endearing and so intriguing! I'm enjoying it thoroughly so far! :D

Author's Response: Thank you very much! I'm very proud of my writing of Dumbledore, and it's fantastic that you like it! He's a very dynamic character, endlessly fascinating in his complexities, especially when you take his past into account. McGonagall has a lot to her as well, and I love to explore/create a history for her. :)

It's a lovely compliment that you're enjoying this story!


 Report Review

Review #3, by ForeverMarauder 

1st February 2011:
I loved this chapter, as it gave me a better idea of the relationship between Emma and Grimm, as well as Emma's unique personality. My one small grievance is that Andromeda was in Slytherin, not Ravenclaw, but I understand your changing it for the convenience of the story.

Author's Response: There's no evidence that Andromeda was in Slytherin, was there? I go by the Lexicon, and they still don't have anything posted in regards to Andromeda's house. I suppose that all Blacks would expected to be in Slytherin, though I still like the idea of her being different from an earlier point, before she married Ted.

I'm glad that you liked the relationship between Grimm and Emma - it was something I very much enjoyed writing and developing throughout the course of the story. :)

Thank you for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #4, by Skizzy 

12th June 2009:
I'm hoping she start Hogwarts soon. And she meets Severus. I'm looking forward to that.

Author's Response: Haha, I'm sure you are. :P Yes, I think in the next couple of chapters she makes her way to Hogwarts. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #5, by butterfliesneedwings 

19th May 2008:
I loved these two chapters! I'm glad this story is already finished because now I get to read it whenever i want! Great job!

Author's Response: Haha! That's a good thing about finally completing a story! Thanks very much for taking the time to review! =D

 Report Review

Review #6, by SilverEssence 

30th March 2008:
aww Grimm is nice in the way he understands that Emma cant be locked in her room day in day out.
and lucius and narcissa are mean..
hmm i'm betting that Emma has like some secret amazing power..

but you probbaly already know that, if it's true.

OOHH andi realy liked how andromeda is hre. i always feel like she isnt mentioned enough in other fanfics and in the books.
but she's here!

yay. :)

xx
leigh

Author's Response: Secret and amazing power? Not so sure about that, actually. :P It's great that you like the appearances of various characters. Thank you so much for taking the time to review! :)

 Report Review

Review #7, by Bella_Portia 

8th December 2007:
Ah, a long chapter. I liked seeing Andromeda, a rather neglected character, coming to the rescue. It did bother me a bit that Emma was so delightful and so precocious, reading so far above hear level, etc. etc. She had a lot of tough stuff to cope with -- a change of environment, what must be terrible loneliness. I'd kind of like to have seen it handled with just a tad more realism.

Author's Response: More realism, yes I agree that ought to be in there more. These early chapters make me shudder at their uncanon lack of realism, oy. But thank you for reviewing and sticking with this story. It means a lot. ^_^

 Report Review

Review #8, by Belle_Rose 

27th September 2007:
I like Grimm. I still want to learn more about Emma. Another fantastic chapter. Yikes, I have 10 minutes until my bus comes, I must bid you ado for now.

Author's Response: You'll learn about her as the story continues - I don't like revealing everything about a character all at once. ;-) Thanks very much for taking the time to read and review! =D

 Report Review

Review #9, by spaghettiemandolino 

25th August 2007:
Andromeda here is fantastic, a mix between Tonks and Sirius. I really like her.
Uh uh a new power! Still love the descriptions and thoughts
Ciao

Author's Response: Great, thank you so much! ^_^

 Report Review

Review #10, by ElissandrAnne 

16th August 2007:
I finally have some time to read more of this excellent story.

First off, I liked the little talk between Dumbledore and Grimm. Is Dumbledore right - he is most of the time...? And the one with Minerva was very enlightening too. They are giving Grimm a 'hard time'. lol. But not as much as Emma with her questions and interruptions. However, Grimm is more patient with her than with the adults, something one might not necessarily expect. He may grudgingly like her after all. All the interactions there were very good.

And you introduced some more canon characters - and not the most pleasant: Lucius Malfoy and Narcissa Black... Now I understand why this story is called The Fires Within - or maybe there's more than one reason? Fortunately, Emma met Andromeda too.

It's nice to see Hogwarts through the eyes of a child. But Emma has both the qualities of a child her age and of a child who would have had to grow up too quickly. She's both too mature and childish. I like her, and I like Grimm too - you have here very interesting original characters...

Author's Response: Thanks very much, Anne! Poor Grimm, haha, I put him in the worst situations, but these ones were important to his development, and the development of his parental relationship with Emilia. I like what you said about Emilia at the end, how she's both mature and childish - that fits in well with her character throughout the novel, though I didn't notice it myself, really. So thanks for mentioning that. =D

 Report Review

Review #11, by AndrinaBlack 

9th August 2007:
This is a bit off topic for this chapter, but I have to say that I happen to love a lot of the songs you have used the names of as chapter titles. Well that would be because I like Josh Groban, The Phantom of the Opera and Sarah Brightman from whom and where I know most of the ones I especially like. But they do make very good chapter titles.

I really like Emma too now that we get to know her better! That was fun with Minerva, probably as he had expected her reaction to be. It was incredibly cute when they decided that she would call him uncle! Andromeda was so nice! And all in all I was very glued to the story while reading this chapter!
-Annina

Author's Response: Thanks very much, Andrina. :) I'm really glad that you're enjoying this early chapters, since they're older and don't have the same style that I'm using now. That I have the characters right is important, and it's great to know that you like how they turned out. :)

 Report Review

Review #12, by Rebekka 

29th July 2007:
Oh, what a darling girl she is. ^_^ I'm enjoying this story immensely. No wonder people have voted Emma to be the best original character. Or is it Grimm after all... *laughs* Anyway, I love the interactions between the characters. And the meeting with Lucius and Narcissa was scary. And you know, you write beautifully from the point of view of a child. I remember thinking exactly like she does when I was her age. ^_^ It's like going back to childhood. I completely adored this: Grimm leaned back in his chair, hands behind his head. “Please, whatever you do, absolutely do not call me ‘sir’. Even my students do not stoop to that level. Anyway,” he added with a hint of a smile. “It makes me feel old.” And I knew she would call him Uncle. It just fitted so well. Oh, how I love the subtle hints and sweet, sweet descriptions you use.

Here are few wrongs to be righted (hih): On her way out, Andromeda gave a small wink at Emma, trying to comfort the younger girl, who was obvious quite worried. Should probably be "...obviously quite worried." “If there is one thing that you must know about Hogwarts, Emma, is that there are eyes everywhere, watching our every moves,” Should be "watching our every move". :D A acid-scarred hand rubbing his beard... Should be "An acid-scarred..."

Anyway, this is exactly what I needed to read. You give me so much to think about as a writer. You teach me with your words. I love them. Thank you for sharing your work, Susan. It's marvellous. *hugs*

Author's Response: I hope that it was Grimm, not Emma, though in this new chapter I'm writing, she's coming through much better than before. *shrugs* I faintly recall fixing those errors when I first got this review - hopefully it's a true memory, and not just my imagination again. :P

Thank you, as always, for your brilliant reviews. I really appreciate every one of them. ^_^


 Report Review

Review #13, by jkgiggle 

5th July 2007:
what did she mean about that? this is interesting... i like it.

Author's Response: Thank you for the review! I'm not quite sure what you mean with your question, though. =(

 Report Review

Review #14, by silver phoenix 

26th February 2007:
That Malfoy is dispicable. I'm curious about Emma's power though, it was interesting.

Author's Response: The power is really only childhood wandless magic that comes out in times of deep emotion, just like when Harry blew up his aunt. It just sounds more important than it is. *shrugs*

 Report Review

Review #15, by JamesandLily4ever 

28th October 2006:
I hope that no one will ever see her. :] She seems like a great character. Nicely made chapter too, dude!

~Meli
P/s: I will read on...

Author's Response: Thanks for the review! I'm glad that you're enjoying it so far. =)

 Report Review

Review #16, by frannybaby 

20th August 2006:
yay! good chapter!!! i can't wait to hear more about her life at hogwarts.

Author's Response: Thanks! I hope you enjoy the rest. =)

 Report Review

Review #17, by Misty_Rey 

28th July 2006:
Ooooh, The Fires Within, I get it now. I like Andromeda in this chapter, she is so intresting and understated. An intruigueing (did I spell that right?) chapter...

Author's Response: It was strange with Andromeda since we only know about her through Tonks. For some reason, she appeared to me as a Ravenclaw-ish type. =P I'm really glad you're enjoying the story. =D

 Report Review

Review #18, by Kimberly 

22nd July 2006:
Brilliant work.

Author's Response: Thanks very much. =D

 Report Review

Review #19, by goodbyetrain 

4th July 2006:
so basically.. i have been searching for three days [yes, three] for a decent story to read. and i am so happy to have found this one. in fact, i'm ecstatic. you've certainly got a knack for story telling, and i am appreciating it immensely.
wonderful job. [:

Author's Response: Aw, thanks so very much. It's quite a compliment to hear that. I'm really pleased that you're enjoying the story so far. =D

 Report Review

Review #20, by isabellapotter 

26th June 2006:
Very cute. I love the relationship between Emma and her "uncle." He reminds me of my grandfather, a little bit. I thought you did an excellent job of depicting Malfoy and Narcissa - their characters were spot-on. And it's an interesting touch, giving Narcissa a nicer sister. It's cool to show that their family isn't all bad. The fire thing was intriguing, as well. I may be wrong, but I have a feeling that's not just a normal exhibition of childhood magic. I can't wait to see what Emma's "brilliant idea" to avoid detection in the castle is. Yay! I'm off to the next chapter!

Author's Response: Awesome! It's been great reading all your reviews. I'm so glad that you're enjoying the story. Lucius and Narcissa are perfectly evil - though I wasn't sure I'd quite gotten them in canon, so thanks for reassuring me on that. =)

 Report Review

Review #21, by LostMaeblleshire 

25th June 2006:
This is really brilliant, Violet, I cannot believe that it's taken me this long to begin reading it. I've always enjoyed your writing, and it's interesting to hear this, thus far and for the most part, from the view of a child. I find that's it's often refreshing - away from the norm, you know? Anyway, I love how you incorporated Andromodea into this, as well as Lucius and Narcissa. I'm betting that it'll set some foundation for rivalry during Emma's school days. Excellent work! (But then again, you already knew that, didn't you? ^_^)

Author's Response: *blush* Aww, thanks so much! I'm really glad you're enjoying this so far. Lucius and Narcissa are such great characters to write, and Andromeda was interesting to work with since I could pretty much make her however I wanted. =)

 Report Review

Review #22, by SilverShadow04 

12th June 2006:
Oh I like it I like it alot I'll read the rest later since is 3:24am here and I have to go to bed. But I must say this stiory has caught my interest with just the first few chapters. Mystery, drama . . .I really enjoy it and I am sure I will enjoy the following chapters with every click ^_^. - Sandy

Author's Response: That's very good news, especially since I continue to think that the first few chapters are slow and that it takes too long to reach the main plot of the story. Thanks so much for the review! I'm really glad that you like the story and find it interesting. =)

 Report Review

Review #23, by anonymous_writer 

13th May 2006:
I am dearly loving this story, and to think, 10 more chapters to read before I'm caught up! Anyway, the plot in this chapter seemed very well planned and well written, so kudos to very excellent skills!

Author's Response: Thanks very much! I'm glad you're enjoying it.

 Report Review

Review #24, by delta 

29th April 2006:
Interesting chapter. Her doing something amazing is leaning towards Mary Sue, but her other aspects aren't perfect. I love the writing and Uncle. Great job.

Author's Response: Haha, I'm glad someone actually said that. I've purposely been leaning Emma towards Mary-Sueism since I started, yet no one's said anything. =D I'm not pulling your leg by saying that either - I seem to enjoy cliches a bit too much. =P Thanks for your review. I'm glad you like the story.

 Report Review

Review #25, by KawaiiAce2003 

15th April 2006:
TONKS!!! YYAAAAHHH!!!! Ewww... I hate Lucius, I wish she'd burn him down to a freaking crisp!! and then burned 'Cissy's' hair off!!

Author's Response: Haha, that would have worked nicely. ;-)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review
<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>