Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
45 Reviews Found

Review #1, by loopylunalovegood 

29th April 2012:
I have read only two chapters of this and I am already hooked.Your writing technique is flawless and vocabulary large, The plot-line is nothing but interesting filling me with anticipation and keeping me on the edge of my seat this is truly remarkable in every way. Don't stop writing you could be huge maybe even as big as queen rowling herself.

Author's Response: Thank you very much! It's great to hear that you're already enjoying the story and want to continue - I hope that the rest of the story lives up to your expectations. Wow! I'd love to be as famous a writer as JKR one day - I've got my fingers crossed for it! :D

 Report Review

Review #2, by x3CherryWatermelonx3 

9th January 2012:
Another wonderful chapter! Can't wait to get to the next one! :)

Author's Response: Thanks again! I hope that you enjoy the rest of the story! :D

 Report Review

Review #3, by Mintleaf 

17th April 2011:
There is one particular line I simply adore in this, "Fulvia entered the room like a ship coming into port" - it's such a wonderful description!

This is shaping into such a lovely, charming story! You've set it up so well, and I find myself wanting to keep reading till I find out what happened to her Father! Whether/when he comes back to find her!

Great work :)

Author's Response: Wow, thank you very much! It's great to hear that the story is shaping up well so far. I rather enjoyed writing Fulvia and her sister (too much, actually, they're so wonderfully hateful). Mort will return eventually, so keep looking for him. ;)

 Report Review

Review #4, by ForeverMarauder 

1st February 2011:
I wasn't sure about this story when I began the first chapter, but I was surprised at how quickly you drew me in with your characters and plot. After only two chapters, I'm already concerned about will happen to Emma, Grimm, and Mort. The way you write, it is clear that you care about your characters and spent a good deal of time creating them, and to me, solid, characters that one can relate to are the foundation of any great story. That's all for now... I'm going to get back to reading!

Author's Response: That's wonderful news to hear! I do think a lot about characters, certainly more so than I do about plot (which tends to get me into trouble), and creating characters that are realistic and sympathetic is very important to me, both as a writer and as a reader coming to a story with such characters. Thank you very much! :)

 Report Review

Review #5, by Skizzy 

12th June 2009:
Once again you amaze me. You have such a beautiful talent.

Author's Response: Wow, thank you! It's very kind of you to say so. :D

 Report Review

Review #6, by SilverEssence 

27th March 2008:
at first i though Grimm was kinda mean. but he's a preatty okay guy from reading on. unless he somehow changes dramatically in the rest of the story... i dont really know yet. :P

good job!
xx
leigh

Author's Response: He might not change, but the perspective of him might, haha. Can't have everyone be nice. :P Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #7, by DannPotter14 

28th December 2007:
There are very few OC stories that I like, but this one is especially interesting. I can't wait to finish it.

Author's Response: Aww, thank you very much! It's wonderful that you're enjoying it. :)

 Report Review

Review #8, by Bella_Portia 

8th December 2007:
I also enjoyed this chapter very much. I particularly liked the crazy Goldwyn sisters. Also, I think you do a wonderful job of naming your characters. (Love the solicitor named Cicero -- how appropriate!)

Author's Response: Haha, they were hilarious to write, those two old witches. Very batty, indeed. ;-) Thanks for reading and reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #9, by quailsrock23 

16th November 2007:
this story has already pulled me in! it's so unique and interesting, i love it. i really want to know what happens next.

Author's Response: Thanks! ^_^

 Report Review

Review #10, by Belle_Rose 

27th September 2007:
Wow, I'd hate to have Emma's aunts, they seem almost as evil as Petunia. *shudders*

I don't quite understand Grimm's character and I can't help but wonder if he will turn out to be good or bad. I have a gut feeling that he's "good." I hope he can figure out the tracking spell, he seems so smart, or maybe Dumbledore. I don't care so long as Mort doesn't find her, of course, I think he will because almost all authors are slightly sadistic. ;)

I can't wait to read about how Emma is like.

Author's Response: Sadistic? Me? =O But of course! It's interesting that you're not sure about Grimm just yet - it adds another layer of mystery, I guess, and he does sound rather curmudgeon-like, haha. Thanks very much for reviewing! ^_^

 Report Review

Review #11, by spaghettiemandolino 

25th August 2007:
It's incredible how you can easily introduce a new character and make him seem so real, i think you've got a real talent in writing.
The descriptions were great, the pictured perfectly the scene and Grimm thoughts, generally i skip them or read them quickly, but I really appreciated them here, they were accurated and well written.
Emma seems a very clever girl, I like her.
See you in the next one
Ciao

Author's Response: Thank you! It really means a lot to hear you say that - I love Grimm very much, so having him fit in well to canon is excellent. ^_^

 Report Review

Review #12, by AndrinaBlack 

9th August 2007:
Grimm seems like a really nice character! I started to like Lyra too so I'm sorry she died :(
It seems like you are going for Roman names this time if I'm not wrong. Nero, Tiberius, Diana, Fulvia, Cloeia and Lyra all seem roman (not sure about the three last though). I like your name things a lot!
But, well I meant to say too that this too was a great chapter!

Author's Response: Yes, they're all Roman names because I'm an utter nerd for that time period. =D Thanks so much for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #13, by Padfootsluv 

4th August 2007:
I think it's awesome you've been nominated for the Dobby's. This story is great so far!

Author's Response: Thanks very much! ^_^ It was quite an honour to be nominated!

 Report Review

Review #14, by Rebekka 

29th July 2007:
I completely and utterly love this story. I'm just so in love with your characters. Emma is such a strange little girl and I bet she's going to be a Ravenclaw. ^_^ And Grimm, oh he reminds me of Snape and yet again, he's entirely different. You gave him such a nasty inner world... and still, he fell for the girl. Just wonderful. ^_^ I adored all the descriptions here. This was one of those: Her haughty and snobbish outlook on life had sickened Grimm the moment he first met her while she was still a young girl. I just loved the way you showed how icky Fulvia was (and what a name; it's disgusting on its own, marvelous). And the mistreatment of poor Emilia... broke my heart.

Now, I found these. I'm sure you want to fix them. :D Here they are:

It has come to our attention that your direction cousin, Lyra Goldwyn I think you mean something like "direct cousin". I'm not sure, but this sounds very strange to me. :) Her husband had died long before in the war against Grindlewald, but her three children, all daughters, were the only things that kept Lyra from remarriage. It should be "Grindelwald" and I think the last part should be "remarrying". It seems as though Lyra made extra provisions in her will that did not show up until recently,” he said, his voice harder than her had meant it to be. Should be "his voice harder than he had..." obviously trying to think of a way to get it down without harming either herself to anything else. I don't actually know what you mean with this sentence. I was thinking along the line of: "without harming either herself or anyone else" but I'm not sure. :) Emilia pursed her lips and tapped her foot, as though she were making an important decision. Sounds better with "she was". :)

Anyway, this is quickly becoming my favorite story... and it's all about OCs at the moment. How can you do that to me? I think you're an enchanting writer. You make me believe everything that you write. That's just so very wonderful. And now to the next one (I should be writing, but you caught my attention, you evil woman you!). ^_^

Author's Response: Good bet, Johanna, and great review! =D It's wonderful to know that you like my characters - it really means a lot since they feel like a part of me, sometimes. Fulvia was the name of a terrible Roman noblewoman, so it was perfect for Emma's "evil" aunt. I love taking names from Roman history or from other stories I've read - it's rather lazy though, I know. :P

I've fixed all the mistakes you've pointed out, thank you. Guess I really should read over these things, but it's terrible since I've edited these first chapters a few times, yet keep missing these mistakes! *sigh*

Anyways, thank you so much for reviewing, and for enjoying the story, Johanna! It means so much to read your comments. ^_^


 Report Review

Review #15, by Bibbs 

13th July 2007:
LOL somebody is a little behind on review responses, eh? You don't have to respond to mine if you don't want to. =D

Anyway, I really love Tiberius! I loved him from the second I read that he was happy that there were no students in the school. Haha, he sounds like a grumpy sort that has a heart of gold. I loved the "for once he would be able to get work done with no interruptions" and then as soon as its said, the owl taps on the window. It made me grin.

Well, surprisingly, I found myself actually a little disappointed that Lyra had died. But I really enjoyed the whole part about the family history. So like purebloods, and its always so interesting how they end up ruining their own bloodline in the end because they refuse to branch out a little. Lyra's determination to change things, mixed with the fact that she cared about Emma, really makes me like her.

So, even more than that, I enjoyed it when Tiberius went to pick Emma up. The whole thing was somewhat humorous and at the same time it was somewhat sad. I dislived Fulvia right away, as you probably meant to happen, with her horrible perfume and clashing house. Cloeia was hilarious, which probably makes me look cruel haha. God! I'm sorry!! I dont know what is wrong with me that I'm so mean! I just had to smile that the poor woman was upset that she would be left alone with Fulvia!

Now Emma seems somewhat odd. She seems obviously intelligent, and definitely a little mistreated. Just the way she didn't really talk to Grimm at all until she learned what he was there for struck me as odd. I suppose usually when I see stories similar to this, where there is a mistreated person that is rescued, they aren't so... thoughtful. Though she did immediately become more excited when she learned she'd be leaving! Tiberius cracked me up throughout the entire visit with his thoughts and actions.

I especially liked when he thought about the look on McGonagall's face.

I really enjoyed the descriptions in this chapter, particularly in the beginning when you were describing the classroom. It sort of gave an impression of what Tiberius is like before you ever even started to say anything about him. Anyway it created perfect imagery in my mind. :)

LOL I still think Tiberius is great. I love grumpy people.

10/10 :)





Author's Response: Tiberius is like the perfect OC - not Gary Stu, but not too off-beat either. He's himself, and stubbornly so. =P I'm hoping that he's the "original character" who got me nominated for that Dobby. He certainly deserves it (while Emma, who can be a bit of a weird one, isn't so great). Even I'm cruel to her, which shows how well the story will go for her in the end. ;-)

Anyways, I'm really elated that you like Grimm. I love him to bits, which is why I even wrote a one-shot about him. He's hilarious and sarcastic - perhaps a bit of House ended up in him, who knows? It's also great that you like the descriptions - I try to make them interesting so that they make the world come alive. JKR does it really well, which is why I only say that I "try" at it, haha. Thank you very much for the review, and it certainly deserved a much better response than this silly one. =P


 Report Review

Review #16, by ElissandrAnne 

6th July 2007:
The first time I read about Grimm was in Ghost of You. And it was obvious you knew your character very well - yes, I do think there is a difference between a well thought of original character who is as much a part of a well thought of story as this story is a part him/her and an OC simply "born" from an OC form.

Grimm is intriguing, and Emma is too. I did like the way you portrayed them. And your descriptions. Good job!

Author's Response: Oooh! I'm so glad that you like Grimm! He's definitely my favourite OC of my little collection, and maybe that's why he turned out so well-formed - I put effort into making him real. Thank you very much for the review, Anne! ^_^

 Report Review

Review #17, by jkgiggle 

5th July 2007:
well, lets see how this goes, the lady wouldn't will Emma to that man unless he would take good care of her, right?

Author's Response: Right, of course. ^_^ Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #18, by SabinaBoo 

26th April 2007:
(I love that song, She wil be loved.) :) Good chapter. I really love your words! And of course the way in which you put them together! Cheers!

Author's Response: Thanks very much! =D

 Report Review

Review #19, by silver phoenix 

26th February 2007:
Wow. Simply amazing. I love your writing style. I'm glad Emma's away from her awful aunts now.

Author's Response: Thanks very much! Her aunts are quite terrible, I agree. =D

 Report Review

Review #20, by musicgirlhp14 

1st December 2006:
Wonderful chpater, like I expected. You have a great writing style. Very descripitive. I look forward to reading the next chapter.
~Alex

Author's Response: Thank you very much! =D

 Report Review

Review #21, by frannybaby 

20th August 2006:
i love your character descriptions. you're a really great writer

Author's Response: Aww, thanks. *blushes*

 Report Review

Review #22, by Misty_Rey 

28th July 2006:
The character descriptions were extremely well-done! I like how Emilia is described as a plain looking child. Another great chapter!

Author's Response: Thanks so much! I like making descriptions so that readers can get a picture in their heads as to how people in the story look. ^_^

 Report Review

Review #23, by Kimberly 

22nd July 2006:
Good chapter

Author's Response: Thanks! =)

 Report Review

Review #24, by groundless17 

20th July 2006:
I like how you described her as a "girl-child".

Your attention to detail makes it seem like a movie. Very good. :]

Author's Response: That's great to hear. Thanks! =D

 Report Review

Review #25, by goodbyetrain 

3rd July 2006:
you are very talented with description. amazing job.

Author's Response: Thanks very much! =)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review
<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>