Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
74 Reviews Found

Review #1, by qdydhy 

2nd May 2013:
Hi, Violet Gryfindor. This is the only way I can find to contact you.

I'm a huge fan of Snape and I like The Fires Within very much. This is definitely the best SnapeOC fanfic I've ever read.

So I will be really thrilled if I can have your permission to translate it into Chinese.

I am looking forward to hearing from you soon. Have a nice day! :)

Author's Response: Hi there! :) Yes, if you're willing to translate it, you certainly may. I'd love to have a link to it afterwards!

Thank you for the compliments! I'm very pleased to hear that you enjoyed the story so much. :D


 Report Review

Review #2, by Potter head517 

9th January 2013:
Excellent prologue, does not explain too much of the book itself and leaves you with amazing suspense hanging above you.

Author's Response: Thank you very much!

 Report Review

Review #3, by Cirque Du Freak 

4th July 2012:
Okay so this has been on 699 reviews for a while now and I do't understand why anyone would pass up on taking the next hundred. So I'm here to do it :P

I've actually been meaning to read this for a while now and now that I've finally gotten past the prologue I am most definitely intrigued!
Obviously this was written a long time ago but I'm still picking up on the slight tinge of the same poetic sense that is slow clear in your fics recently. Its not quite the same but you're focusing so clearly on the characters here its almost strange to read! But not in a bad way, more in a fascinating way at how far you've come!

To the story itself I adore the dark/horror genre so it was a surprise and shock that you had Mortimer come in and so easily kill his wife - someone he loved very much - and disfigure his child. Its very chilling the way some people's minds work and I think you've shown that pretty well.

You've given us all the names and yet I still feel so lost to who these people really are and I can't wait to figure that out when I get to move on to future chapters.

At this point all I can really say is well done for having such enticing pieces of writing when they've been written and put to rest so long ago!

Hanzi xxx

Author's Response: You definitely need to get a prize for this! I wasn't sure when it would happen, and I'm still boggling over the fact that this story even has that many reviews in the first place, so seeing it at the big 700 is awe-inspiring (not to mention worth a big squee). Thank you so much for being the one to push this story into the next century of reviews! :D

This is one of those mysterious prologues that gives all yet reveals nothing. There's a lot of foreshadowing in this story, but also a lot of red herrings, so good luck with following the plot. ;)

It's interesting, though, how you note the change in the writing style. This story will definitely show the progression of my style over those first three years I was on HPFF, and I'm curious whether it's clearly divided between the concrete style of the prologue and the more abstract final chapters, or whether it occurs with slow development. I often think about how making the chapter images for this story made me better at graphics, but how much of the same can also be said for the writing? This story was very much a work of practice, trying different things to see what worked and what didn't. I'm thankful to this story for what it's allowed me to do since. :)

Thank you again for reading and reviewing! I really appreciate it!


 Report Review

Review #4, by hp fan:) 

10th March 2012:
Loving it so far, I can't wait to find out what happens in the rest of the story:D I notice there are lots of stories about Grimm, is there a particular order they're supposed to be read in? Thanks - 10/10 rating!

Author's Response: Thank you very much! I'm glad that you've liked the beginning of this story and I hope that you equally enjoy the rest. :D

The stories might be easiest to read in order of publication, should you choose to read them. The one-shots mostly provide backstory on Grimm and McGonagall's relationship, so they're not necessary for understanding this novel - they're just extra fun. :)


 Report Review

Review #5, by x3CherryWatermelonx3 

8th January 2012:
Love this chapter! Cannot wait until I can read the next one!

Author's Response: Thank you very much! :D

 Report Review

Review #6, by Mintleaf 

16th April 2011:
Hmm so I see what you meant by the writing being a little slow, but I hardly think it's much of a deterrent at all as the plot is so fascinating :) I was ever so frightened for little baby Emma when Mortimer cast that spell on her (well before we knew what the curse was). I do however think it's unbelievable OOC for Moody to have justified Mort's killing in any way. Especially seeing as he was clearly a fan of purebloodedness, Moody probably would have been suspicious of him already. When you first described Lyra I thought she was going to be a young McGonagall, haha!

Anyway, this was an interesting prologue! :)

Author's Response: Thank you for the kind words! It's always a shocker when people come in to read and review this story, but it's great to hear that you've enjoyed the first chapter and felt for the characters.

My writing of Moody here is suspect, and I can only blame the age of this story and its author for that. I figured out how to write him better in my later stories. ;)

If you do continue, I hope you enjoy what you find. :)


 Report Review

Review #7, by Stefenie 

28th October 2010:
It was not as bad as the AN made it sound...albeit the "white hand" was a bit cheesy but the idea was good

Author's Response: Haha, thank you! It's good to know that it's not as bad as I keep telling myself it is. XD It's got it cheesy parts, that's for sure. Glad you liked the idea, though!

 Report Review

Review #8, by grangerdanger 

30th March 2010:
Ve-ery interesting. You have a great writing style. Many amazing stories are destroyed because of an author's failure to put out the ideas properly.

Thanks for posting this! Now I will read on.

Author's Response: Thank you! This is an older story of mine, so it's a wonderful compliment to hear that the writing style is still good. :D I hope that you are able to enjoy the rest of the story.

 Report Review

Review #9, by ShadowChanger 

10th January 2010:
OooOOOohh. It gave me chills just reading this! Excellent penmanship (or typemanship?) and I look forward to the remaining chapters!

Author's Response: Thank you very much! I hope you're able to enjoy the rest. :)

 Report Review

Review #10, by citrus7 

2nd January 2010:
This chapter was simply amazing. I have read many stories where the first chapter is confusing and difficult to understand. (Usually because the author does not know how to start off) However, your first chapter was intriguing and kept me glued to the screen the entire time. I love OC characters and am really looking forward to your story :)

Yours faithfully,
Citrus

Author's Response: Wow, thank you! The prologue of this story is one of the (few) parts I'm proud of - it really starts of the story off with a bang, and I'm glad that it sounds confident and was intriguing to read. :D

 Report Review

Review #11, by criscatlover 

16th June 2009:
Forgive me for reviewing twice (I had already done it on the last chapter) but I forgot to say something that must be said: the chapter images are simply amazing!! ;)

Author's Response: Haha, thank you very much! They were a challenge to make, but after finishing them, I definitely knew how to make chapter images the right way. ;)

 Report Review

Review #12, by Skizzy 

12th June 2009:
Violet, it is always a pleasure to read your storys. That was great, well done.

Author's Response: *blushes* Thank you very much! :) I hope you enjoy the rest (even though this isn't my best story :P).

 Report Review

Review #13, by long_live_luna_bellatrix 

24th April 2009:
I liked this. It was an extremely intriguing start to a story, and Mort alone seems really interesting- can't wait to see what the rest of the characters are like! Only suggestion: Gringotts has 2 t's in it, not one. Nice work!

Author's Response: This is an old story, revised so many times, yet I STILL manage to have a typo left over. Figures. *sighs* Thanks for pointing it out to me. :)

Maybe I should have written more about Mort - he is a bit of an intriguing character (more so than the actual lead OC of this story). Oh well. Thanks for taking the time to read and review - I hope that, if you continue reading the story, you enjoy it! :)


 Report Review

Review #14, by siriusgirl1 

14th January 2009:
I really like the characterization you have here. it's true, jealousy does drive people to do things terribly out of character. i also liked the way you introduced the family and its problems. the one bit about this chapter that bugged me was how some of the dialogue was stilted at the beginning. 9/10

Author's Response: I'm not surprised about the dialogue - it's something I've been working on since having written this to make it run more smoothly. You'll probably see in later chapters that it improves (I hope). :) It's a challenge to emulate human speech in writing, that's for sure.

Thanks very much for reading and reviewing this! It's not my most favourite of stories, but notable for being one of the first major things I wrote. Hopefully you enjoy the rest! :)


 Report Review

Review #15, by butterfliesneedwings 

19th May 2008:
This story was recommended to me by a friend of mine, Erratic Amethyst, I thought this chapter was excellent and I can't wait to read more. One question I have though is, What does audacity mean? I've heard that word so many times in the last month and have even found a story with that title but I have no idea what it means.10/10

Author's Response: Thank you very much! It's wonderful that this story was recommended to you, and it's great that you're not disappointed with it. =D

Audacity means to take risks, I think. It's a hard word to describe. :/ But yeah, that's about the right definition.

Thanks very much for the review!


 Report Review

Review #16, by SilverEssence 

27th March 2008:
woah...
extremely good first chapter.
lol at first i thought he was going to give her a locket or something along those lines. but i liked what you made happen better:D

xx
leigh

Author's Response: A locket would have been more realistic. *takes note of idea* Thank you very much! It's great that you've enjoyed the beginning of this story. ^_^

 Report Review

Review #17, by Evelyn Grey 

31st December 2007:
josh groabn is amazing. (lol sorry just read the footnote and thats my 2nd fav song by him) and this is really good. Really Really good! I'm excited to see what happens next. :)

Author's Response: lol, thank you! That song fit perfectly with the idea for this chapter, so I couldn't resist using it. :) Hope you enjoy the rest of the story!

 Report Review

Review #18, by Bella_Portia 

8th December 2007:
Wow. I thought this was an exciting and very imaginative beginning. I liked the complex elements of the father, Nero, that you put into this chapter. I also liked your introduction of the the grandmother and Moody. The niveus manus spell was unique and clever.

Author's Response: Oh wow, thank you very much! The beginning chapter is definitely one of the best of the early chapters, and it's wonderful that you enjoyed it. :)

 Report Review

Review #19, by quailsrock23 

16th November 2007:
amazing. seriously amazing. this gives really good background information to the reader and sets them up for Chapter 1. great job! :)

Author's Response: Thank you very much for taking the time to review. I'm glad you enjoyed this. =D

 Report Review

Review #20, by OmiXitsXJaime 

16th October 2007:
Wow, this story seems extermly interesting! I should read on now! 10
~jAiMe

Author's Response: Thank you! =D

 Report Review

Review #21, by Belle_Rose 

27th September 2007:
I understand why Mort did what he did, but at the same time I can't help but want to murder him. It's one thing that he kill his wife and her lover, but doing that to Emma? In my opinion that's inexcusable. Emma never did anything to him, yet he abandoned her and put a tracking spell on her (if only he had just abandoned her). And now he's off to become the first Death Eater. I loved this prologue, you can really see why Mort did what he did. Also I like the fact Diana loved the man, she didn't just cheat on Mort because she was bored or something. I wish we knew how Diana fell in love with the muggle man.

Author's Response: Really, you're supposed to dislike Mort - he acted rashly, and will have to deal with it severely later on. It's good to hear that the prologue worked in gaining sympathy for some characters and creating mystery. Thanks for reviewing! =D

 Report Review

Review #22, by Omixitsxjaime 

23rd September 2007:
That was amazing, I cannot believe he decided to become a death eater. And he left poor Emma. Thats sooo sad. I'm really liking this story though, and you have my word that I'll read and review every chapter, but first I must get to work...=]

10

jAiMe

Author's Response: Thank you very much! I hope you enjoy the rest of the story too. ^_^

 Report Review

Review #23, by Clowee_tee 

8th September 2007:
Wow, what a beginning! I love it, its so clever!

Author's Response: Thank you! ^_^

 Report Review

Review #24, by spaghettiemandolino 

25th August 2007:
Wow, great prologue!
Now I'm really curious! By the way, do you study Italian? I love when I find some words in my language... :D
I'll go reading the next one..
Ciao

Author's Response: No, I've studied Latin, but not Italian. Thank you for the review!

 Report Review

Review #25, by AndrinaBlack 

9th August 2007:
Finally I started to read this, and I'm very happy I did! It was a very catching beginning of a story. What to feel for whom was a bit confusing though. Diana didn't seem like a really nice character and I thought Mort would be nicer but he did not turn out like that in the end. Haha, they could have the same nickname with Voldemort! I'm sure that's intentional though. This makes for a very interesting story!

Author's Response: Haha, so it shows that you can't always go with appearances, eh? =P Thanks for reviewing, Andrina. I hope you enjoy the rest of the story and it's awesome that you've decided to read it. ^_^

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review
<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>