Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
16 Reviews Found

Review #1, by maraudeer 

19th November 2017:
I just found this story and I absolutely loved it! The characters are so relatable. I especially related to the main character. You covered sensitive issues really well. I also think the romance part was written beautifully. I throughly enjoyed reading this. Have a nice day!

 Report Review

Review #2, by morganthegreat 

14th August 2017:
ahhh this was such a great novella! i really enjoyed it, so much in fact that i whizzed through it without reviewing any other chapter. (apologizes)

anyway i love how you talked about serious common issues that arise during teenagers in a healthy way. i think it's super important to expose those to people who both know what it's like and don't know what it's like. shedding light to people that you are not alone in having something like an eating disorder or low self-esteem issues/self-harm issues. but also getting across that even if you don't personally have something like that, a friend or family member might.

i think especially that even though the story was in nova's perspective, her friends were the one to have issues with self and all that instead of nova herself. we got to see what it looks like from a friend's point of view and why it broke her heart to see them struggle with those things. it shows to people that their own struggles do cause our friends to worrie about us, even if we don't see it because we are dealing with the mental or physical health problems.

i really love that you added the bit of romance with Al to make it more fluffy and so high school. it's not everyday that when a boy asks a girl out she says no because she does like him and because it's for her friends. that shows a lot of maturity on nova's end.

i love your writing style by the way too! it's very eloquent and thought out. you have a great knack for writing! metaphors and all.

it gives me a lot of happiness to see that nova's group of friends are so so so different from each other, yet are juxtaposed very well. my circle of friends are more like that, it makes it a bit more realistic - everyone having their own personalities and all that.

the way you intermingle characters and their relations was really smart too! like cass being related to xanthe and scorpius, and nala going for xanthe and scorpius being al's friend, who has a thing for nova and knows alice as a family-friend. it kind of sums up boarding school/family relations well. if i'm making any sense at all.

the way that you descirbed all your characters, depsite having a banner and chapter images, gave your readers enough to imagine them themselves too. i admire that - the description of one's hair or skin or eyes or outfit; some authors forget those little details that paint the picture when i personally think it really helps (being visual-oriented with reading).

okay so now that i've analyzed your story more than a school essay and managed to fill up this box more than i initially intended...i should go before my phone battery dies - which is soon!

great story, keep up the good writing and don't ever sell yourself short! have a lovely day!
-morgan xoxo

 Report Review

Review #3, by SilverMoonFairy 

3rd July 2017:
Plums, this has to be one of my favorite stories that I've ever read. Probably up in the top three of recent memory. I don't normally binge read this much, but you have a way of pulling people in and this story was SO GOOD. And I just freaking LOVE the kiss scene. So much love. All the love. (All the freakin innuendos, too!) Boy, those Slytherins really DO know how to get what they want, huh?

I'm sorry this review isn't longer, but I'm tired and it's five til midnight, ahahaha.

So much LOVE. I can't WAIT for the Darzi child story! ^_^

-Liz

 Report Review

Review #4, by AislingCotter03 

29th March 2017:
if you write a sequel I will honestly marry you

Author's Response: *sobs* I accept

(But no, I actually just put up a spin off called When Dahlias Bloom. It's pretty different from Dormitory 2.6A, but I hope you'll like it!)

Plums xo


 Report Review

Review #5, by EmmyRose 

28th March 2017:
You could write 20 more chapters and I would devour every one of them. LOVED this story! Especially your portrayal of Al, I do wish we'd seen more interaction of Al with his family and have Nova interact with them more too. Any thoughts on a sequel? ;) I'd read it :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much!! I'm happy you liked the fic, it's more or less my baby. Just like Al is tbh.

Yeah, I mostly focused on the girls in this fic since it was what inspired me to write the fic, but I've written a couple of one shots/drabbles on tumblr that explore more of Novus and interacting with their respective families is something I plan to write in the future.

ALSO I have a spin-off/sequel up, but it's focused on someone else from the group entirely. If you're interested, check out When Dahlias Bloom :)

xo


 Report Review

Review #6, by lovegood27 

6th March 2017:
Congratulations on writing a fic I was so addicted to I stayed up until midnight to finish ;) I TOTALLY LOVED THIS, I WANT TO SEE MORE OF NOVA AND ALBUS SO BADLY!!!

So in case you haven't noticed, I really liked this story. Brilliant job :D

Author's Response: Hey,

Congratulations on YOU making me blush harder than Nova in the middle of a crowd. I'm so glad yoy liked it, this fic is my baby and I feel such insane pride with every read/review. Honestly, having someone stay up to finish my fic is like The Ultimate Goal. So basically: thank you.

Plums xo


 Report Review

Review #7, by greenbirds 

14th January 2017:
i read this all in one sitting it was so good and twenty four hours on the vibrance of your characters and the quality of your plots still ring in my mind.

gosh. what a /fantastic/ piece of writing. there's so much to say and it annoys me that i won't be able to remember it all, write it all down for this review, but i'll try my hardest!

firstly- i'm sure you've heard this again and again from reviewers, but your characterisation really is fantastic. i especially love nova (and her face claim... mary from reign? what a dream boat, what a girl crush. i went through an intense phase of reign until i found out the actor who plays prince louis is a family friend and it suddenly felt weird. but !! adelaide kane !! so so cool !!) - her weaknesses only serve to strengthen her character, and i was particularly touched by the josh finch-fletchely & the 2.6b mean girls anecdote of her first year; my friends and i joke that you can't /really/ call it year 7 until some 'friend' outs your crush and mortified you in front of everyone, or a similar catastrophic event, but even beneath our jokes those savage twelve year old heartbreaks are particularly scarring. no wonder it turned nova into such a reclusive 'ice queen'! and even then, i feel like i should congratulate you on side stepping that awfully overdone fanfic cliche of ice queen melted by potter boy plotline. because she's not an ice queen, not at all, just a teenage girl that learnt early on it's safer to put her guard up. and, oh my god- i remember being so enthralled, so thrilled by the way in which you described her blossoming crush on albums in the first chapter. you dissected and examined the anatomy of a teenage crush perfectly, and it was a pleasure to read and subsequently reminisce on my own teenage crushs. (and, you know, teenage crushes of mine to come.)

your sensitivity and care for discussing a whole spectrum of the teenage condition- from benign crushes and mean girls to eating disorders and racism- was done so well, so magnificently, so perfectly. whilst i identified with nova throughout the entire story- like, she was my /girl/, i really felt like i could emphasise with her plight- cass's spiral into eating disorders really struck a chord. your author's note mentioned it was personal to you too, and isn't that the beauty of writing? two strangers who could relate to the same awful, awful process, united through writing about it and subsequently reading about it. there are so many hogwarts fanfics on this site that just bulldozes straight through the reality of teenage life to some sort of far fetched fantasy world of partying and hook ups, and i'm so glad you crafted this piece of literature instead. you actually inspired me to go over my own fanfic and question the reality of it all

above all, i just adored your portrayal of sisterhood. i recently had to sort through my bookshelf, deciding what i wanted to keep and what could be given to the kids next door, when i came across my copy of the sisterhood of the travelling pants- and this really does remind me of it! it really conjured such a sense of girlhood and friendship, i felt oddly lonely finishing it. the dormitory scene in which the girls forcibly reunite case and nala especially resonated with me; for such a short fic you managed to bring such humanity into not one, not two, but six OCs and ive said it multiple times before but it is SUCH a delight to read!

other things i want to mention, all in one breath- alice's sweet relationship with her dad & that scene cleaning up the great hall, cass's relationship with scorp, the slight miss you gave to scorpius's relationship with rose, the fact you actually included lessons, rather than some zooey 101 utopia of non stop partying. the normalness of the girls, which made them even more remarkable and lovely and exciting than had they been mary sue types. the fact that nova leaned into albus. nova and albus! the references to the multiculturalism within the wizarding world- the asian culture dahlia brought, that nala was black, even that the acclaimed playwright nova loved had an arabic name.

love, love, love it. feel like i could go on for ages but i'd only bore you. thank you so so much for such a beautiful read!

Author's Response: Hey!

Thiis was such a huge review that I've had to cut my response down as it exceeded the limit lol.

It's so great to hear that you liked this! Considering how big Fluorescent Adolescence is - seriously, I hear about it everywhere - so to think that this little ol' fic caught your eye means a lot :P I'm glad you like Nova too! One of my biggest fears when I was putting this up was that she'd seem a little vanilla compared to Dahlia & too martyr-like but yano, everyone seems to like her well enough so whew, reassurance is great.

Was gonna say I never had an incident like the Josh Finch-Fletchley thing but I realised I totally did (my friend's brother found out I had a massive crush on him, twas v. embarrassing) so you're so right on the Year 7 thing. It's basically a rite of passage to have your crush outed in public, isn't it?

(Gosh, the memory still stings.)

Something on Nova's level is *definitely* a reason to withdraw yourself - teenagers have a nasty habit of holding onto such humiliating memories so is it any wonder she decided to stick to what was safe? Her whole Ice Queen persona was influenced by myself since I tend to put up walls around most people & am actually a lot nicer than I seem.

...Wow that sounds bigheaded. :P

Point is that in peace-time Britain true ice queens are few & far in between. Nova's 16, was once hurt by people she trusted and just doesn't want to put herself at risk again. Even though she likes Al, there's that part of her that refuses to put herself out there since it's so easy to get hurt & it seems simpler to stay out of the mess, you know?

Tbh, I loved writing about her crush on Al. Took me back to when I had one - three whole years ago, what has my heart become - & it's so innocent, isn't it? Like, she doesn't even expect anything of it. I think that's what's nice about a crush: being able to appreciate someone without doing anything about it.

But yes, this fic does have its heavier themes & I really did want to bring them to life, especially from the POV of Nova whose central storyline surrounds the fact that she's developing feelings for a boy - & then realises that there's a lot more happening to other people in her life.

When people think about teens, it's usually about the partying+romances & I was so frustrated that the other issues were forgotten or even existed in the first place. So I wrote this to show that this is what it's like: negative self-image etc. can exist among happy times. You can be surrounded by people you love & suffer. My friends+I went through so much &, like the D 2.6A girls, held onto each other throughout it. That's what I wanted to bring to the page, show that it's possible to fall & then get back up. So many have gone through something similar & I felt that there was a real gap in showing that in fanfics without going all doom+gloom

I mean, ones that focus on the light parts aren't *bad* or anything bc loads are great e.g. yours is addicting - but it's great to hear that I made you think. #Writer goals.

I love sisterhood. I'm all for romance but there's nothing like a strong friendship & I loved writing about 6. Tbh, it's why I wrote the fic. There's a reason it's Dormitory 2.6A, after all :P

You've mentioned so much I want to comment on but all I can do is laugh at "some zooey 101 utopia" XD

To put it quickly: I believe that Neville would be a great dad & his daughter would be the apple of his eye. Love Scorpius Malfoy bc he is unapologetically uncaring to 99% of the universe+fiercely protective of his own. Also, Scorose is the Way. Also, made it a point to include more culture in the fic bc England is so multicultural anyway so there's gotta be some in it.

Also, NOVA LEANING INTO AL WAS SOMETHING I PLANNED FROM THE BEGINNING bc she was so *shy* & always blushing so the fact that she's the one who went for for it made me secretly proud bc I was like my baby's growing up!

Plums xo


 Report Review

Review #8, by angelicdemon1209 

1st December 2016:
I loved this one so much! I read it in one go, and it's amazing.

I love the characters and I love how feminist and empowering this whole story is. I am lucky to have friends who are like this bunch. Loud, inappropriate, completely bonkers, totally diverse, but loving and kind and good, and we are all close but it has been sometime since we could hang out, all of us, together, so this felt beautiful.

Thank you!

Author's Response: Hey,

Aw, you're too kind! I'm really happy you liked the fic and its message - I really didn't bother on making it any subtle, was I? :P You're a lucky girl to have a group of friends like the Dormitory 2.6A lot! Don't let go of them - I know I won't be letting go of mine.

Thank you for reading and reviewing!

Plums xo


 Report Review

Review #9, by Jessie75775 

23rd November 2016:
I really REALLY liked this fic. Although the diversity of all your characters is a bit unlikely, you've crafted them with depth and substance. Unlike others... *cough* Bella Swan *cough*

ANYWays, I must admit that I am a total sucker for good Al/OC stories and Al and Nova had me giggling and clutching my Ipad as I rolled around on my carpet. Al is 𝘴𝘰 suave. He's got me and Nova blushing.

I enjoyed how you showed that there is in fact more to Hufflepuffs than simply being a pushover. You showed this with everyone in the brilliant sexlet. (DALHIA DARZI IS MY SPIRIT ANIMAL)

I 𝘓𝘜𝘙𝘝𝘌EEE the fact that while Nova does a natural b!tch face she does have a softer side. A refreshing change from the classic "sarcastic angsty girl with too many problems".

I have too say, you are certainly one of my favourite authors on this site!

This is the only fic I've seen that addresses issues like color, race, asexuality, and eating disorders all at once and so bluntly. It's really important that people understand just how damaging this sort of issue can be.

(That one-shot from Albus' POV?)
(AMAZING)

I just keep coming back for more!

Hope to see more works from you.

-Jessamine

Author's Response: Hello!

I know it's been basically 50,000 years since you left this review, but put down my late review to me being an awful person + exams + Life. I really am horrible.

But on the plus side, your review made me really happy! I love it when people love my characters and I'm glad you enjoyed reading about them. As I've said many-a-time, they were significantly inspired by merging/exaggerating different characteristics of my own friends and when I sat back to consider the houses of my actual friends, I realised that 95% of them were Hufflepuffs without a doubt. There's the odd Slytherin and Gryffindor, but most are Hufflepuffs and they're all so diverse which I loved showing in this fic, especially with Dahlia. No sweetness in that girl! Just sheer craziness.

We should all channel our frustrations using Dahlia. She really is everyone's spirit animal.

I take a not-so-secret pleasure in having Nova's "image" and natural face be the complete opposite to her true personality. Fun fact: she was actually supposed to be more stand-offish with Al at the beginning just because she's socially awkward but damn, that boy writes all their interactions himself. Before I knew it, he was churning out his lines and she was blushing like hell :P

Anyways...

OH MY GOSH. I'm honestly one of your favourite authors? YOU ARE SO SWEET. I officially love you. Bring it in for a hug, love.

I'm really happy you liked this fic (and Al's one shot :D ) and you took the time to review. You're honestly such a sweetheart.

Plums xo


 Report Review

Review #10, by Moony, Padfoot and Prongs. Brothers forever. 

13th November 2016:
Hi.
So, to be honest, this was my best chapter yet. I'm very busy right now, what with exams and all, but I just felt that I had to read the chapter. (Mum was telling me to 'put that damn phone away, you have exams!')

I really liked the part about Al's date with Nova. I was smiling like an idiot throughout the whole time I was reading it. It was just so cute and made me go 'Aw, that's so cute'. And the thing about the blushing,I loved that part.

I really can't imagine Dahlia Darzi getting married. Poor girl. She must really hate her Aunt.

The pranks that were played on Xanthe were hilarious! And Scorpius is such a good cousin.

I'm really sad this absolutely amazing fic has come to an end. But I hope you'll write something that goes with this fic. I adore your writing.

xoxo, Moony, Padfoot and Prongs. Brothers forever.

Author's Response: Hello :)

Ugh. Exams. You don't have to tell me twice. I feel like my life consists of nothing but revising for exams. I live a sad existence.

Aw, I'm so glad you liked the final chapter! I honestly loved writing Al's date with Nova because they're just two oblivious little cuties. Such lovebirds.

Dahlia Darzi married is such a contradiction, it makes my head hurt to even think of it.

And yep, she definitely hates her auntie. I don't think any of us blame her for it.

This fic meant so much to me so to conclude it actually took away part of my soul. I haven't yet planned/written a sequel to this BUT there is an outtake I have up. It's named Ice Queen and it's Al's perspective of Novus' first flying lesson ;)

Plums xo


 Report Review

Review #11, by beka_wotter 

5th November 2016:
YOU FINISHED AHHH!!! Firstly thanks for the mention; you're the best!! Now onto the story - I could cry I'm so happy with it and cry I'm so sad it's finished!
Nova and Al are absolute perfection, the date was ideal and I'm so glad she kissed him first #girlpower and one of the things that made me fall in love with this story to begin with is how she always manages to take his breath away and I'm so glad she noticed it for once because everytime it happens I feel like my breath is taken away as well haha :D
This is one of my absolute favourite stories on this site so thanks for writing such a fantastic one, you are SO GOOD at writing, your characters come to life so easily in my head, it's genuinely funny and I was invested from the first few paragraphs!
I hope you keep uploading other stuff and if you ever feel like returning to theses characters I would be overjoyed to read it! BEST. STORY. EVER.

Author's Response: I FINISHED IT OHMYDAYS

Also how could I not mention you? You've been here since Day One, sweetheart, or near enough to it if memory serves right. You deserve the mention!!

OMG BUT NOVA KISSING HIM FIRST, I have had that moment planned for like months. Once I mapped out this chapter, I just knew that Al would be too gentlemanly to kiss her first, so it would have to be Nova who was making the first move and I thought it was quite fitting considering she had been so nervous about everything else throughout the fic. A little growth for her character, you know?

When Al's breath is taken away, everyone's breath is taken away. It is a Law.

Honestly, you are the SWEETEST. I am beyond happy that you count this fic amongst your faves - seriously that is an honour I never thought I'd ever get? Sending you ten thousand hugs for now and forevermore

Plums xo


 Report Review

Review #12, by Ayyooo 

29th October 2016:
WHAT IS YOUR TUMBLR! PLZ

Author's Response: Haha, I'm not actually sure whether I can include direct links in review responses but my url is elixirsoflife :)

Thanks for reading (and enjoying, I hope :P)!

Plums xo


 Report Review

Review #13, by dumbledore 

26th October 2016:
Oh NOO! It has ended! I'll miss these girls so so much! You did an amazing job with this fic! I'm happy with the way it ended, and Al and Nova are so cute!
Thank you for this truly amazing story!

Author's Response: Twas the best of times indeed.

But seriously, I am so happy you enjoyed the fic and gave it a chance - I know that it's not everyone's cup of tea since it's v. OC heavy, you know?

I shall miss the girls too.

Thank you for sticking with me and for reviewing!

Plums xo

(ALSO I LOVE WRITING NOVA AND AL OMG)


 Report Review

Review #14, by harrystiles 

25th October 2016:
I stumbled across this story and I am so glad I did because I fell inexplicably in love with all of the characters (minus xanthe). These characters were all so relatable, and embodied such real and heart wrenching issues, their struggles were so painful yet encapturing. I can't thank you enough for writing this, I will hold in in a very special place in my heart.

I would love to follow you on tumblr! What is your URL? I hope you continue to share your amazing gift of writing with the world, you're an incredible wordsmith xx

Author's Response: Hello :)

Aw, I'm so glad that I managed to suck you in with this story! (And trust me, I don't think anyone can fall in love with Xanthe. Damn that Xanthe -.-) Your praise means so much to me. You're honestly too sweet *blushes*

My tumblr url is elixirsoflife. If you do follow me, please do drop a comment in my askbox so I know it's you!

Plums xo

< 3


 Report Review

Review #15, by PaulaTheProkaryote 

25th October 2016:
akfha;sdfhaslkdfjals;dkf

Oh, okay. Right. You want me to put my thoughts into coherent sentences. I'll do my best but no promises.

This story was phenomenal. The whole entire thing. If I remember right you requested the review for the first chapter and I was instantly sucked in by the girls of Dormitory 2.6A. Ignoring my love for the story as a whole and my not so silent weeping (I can't believe I'm actually crying because this story is over), this chapter was so well written. It could have never ended any other way.

Albus slowly wearing her down in this chapter. The chip chip chip of the crush dam. All of it. Her panic attacks getting dressed were so true to form. I was dying laughing at the burned top (how?) and the grandma clothes and the entire ordeal of getting dressed. My beloved and most precious girls bantering is just everything I've ever needed in my life.

The very rude mirror and the fact that she even showed up super early and not to mention hid out in the bathroom. I'd so do that. The revelation and the Albus and the breathtaken. My breath is also taken.

Their entire discussions and the thoughtfulness of the date and the way Al was trying to play it cool but was so nervous. I seriously have no words for how much in love with Novus I am. And you know what? I'm glad you added it into the story of the girls and made it such a significant part. It's a good contrast between Xanthe and Nala. Xanthe just walked into Nala's life and stole her from the girls. Al strolled in and borrowed her for brief moments. You can have a boyfriend and friends and if your boyfriend is the cause of you losing your friends it's probably toxic.

The kiss was everything. It was exactly the way it should have been and infinitely better than anything I could have ever imagined. It was just perfect.

Most importantly to me was that at the end of that majestic, beautiful, phenomenal date was the girls of Dormitory 2.6A. They were crashed in her living room waiting for all the details and to squeal and support her and that's really for me what the story is about. The girls. Being girls. Being the girls. I don't know if that makes sense, but roll with it.

Here at the final bits. Saying goodbye to my beloved babies. Trying to convince you to start a spin off. I have to say that the story gets a ten out of ten from me. If this was published as either fanfic or OF I'd buy a hard copy and write a note in it for my future children (you don't even know how many books I've done this to). The dynamics. OKAY I CAN'T FORM WORDS ANYMORE GOODBYE I LOVED IT.

Author's Response: Paula, my love, my eternal sunshine. Dr P. I know it's been a month since you left this review, but honestly the main reasons I've put off answering this are because a) it is the last one and b) tis was a glorious review indeed. I needed to prepare myself to answer this properly instead of just attempting to post a selfie of me grinning like an idiot in response.

Honestly, with my chronic commitment issues when it comes to fics, there is a real possibility that Dormitory 2.6A would not have even come close to completion without your reviews. They literally gave me life, man. I never thought that someone would actually see these girls on the same level that I do, but your reviews proved that wrong and it meant a lot. Like... I even adjusted the ending for you and Ineke because of how invested YOU got ME in Novus, bloody hell :P

Haha for her panic attacks, I literally translated my thoughts whenever any event is on (is it actually non-uni day today? am i supposed to be there at this time? WHAT IF THEY NOTICE THE FLICK TO MY HAIR) and amplified it for nova :D i mean, she's going on her first date with a guy she actually likes, a guy who happens to be al potter no less. she's bound to be going a lil cray. especially when alice tries to iron her top with magic for a 'quick fix' ;)

AL'S BREATH BEING TAKEN IS SOMETHING I REALLY LIKE OKAY OMG

He's just such a sweetheart, my lil Slytherin

Like,

He really wants to impress this girl - the girl who is known solely for how unimpressed she is with everything around her, this girl who he *knows* fancies him but also knows would've been completely fine just being friends, this girl who blushes at his advances but brushes them off - and he sort of wants to be the Cool Guy she initially thought he was, but at the same time he wants her to know that he's not unattainable? That, if anything, she's the unattainable one? I don't know, I just really like these two, way more than I thought I would actually!

Honestly, P, you have this thing of defining things I've done subconsciously and bringing them to my attention. Until you brought it up, I never consciously thought about the parallels you could draw between Novus and Xanthe/Nala (Nanthe?): both Hufflepuffs fell for two notorious Slytherins but only one of them became completely infatuated. There's a difference between infatuation and wanting to spend time with someone you fancy.

Omg I have been planning the Novus kiss for MONTHS now. Somewhere along the way, I just knew that it would be Nova who did it since she'd been so reserved the entire time and it'd just be so fitting and gahhh I'm so glad I did it.

"Being the girls" means perfect sense, my love, don't worry. Because at the end of the day, being the girls *is* what the story's about - there's a reason for the title of the fic, after all.

Spin-offs, spin-offs. I'm still going to have to leave it as a maybe - don't want to ruin the magic, you know? :/ But OMG PAULA, YOU ARE THE SWEETEST, I LOVE YOU.

Plums xo


 Report Review

Review #16, by AbraxanUnicorn 

24th October 2016:
I'm sad that there won't be any more Dorm 2.6A exploits to follow.
Thank you for creating this group of girls; I've loved reading this story :)

Author's Response: Hello,

Trust me, I am just as sad as you are. But thank YOU for reading this story and for taking the time to review. Seeing what my readers were thinking was what encouraged me to keep going to complete this.

Plums xo


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review