Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
16 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Anon 

19th September 2016:
I absolutely love this story and honestly can't wait to see what's coming next! Pleaaase pleaaase update soon ❤

Author's Response: Thank you so much. I'll update later today :). THanks for taking the time to leave a comment, it means a lot!

 Report Review

Review #2, by Lea 

11th September 2016:
Such a great chapter, again! However long you let us wait, you never disappoint! I'm so curious to see what's happening next. I like jealous james! Although I hope he's wrong on Lucas, Seth deserves a little break. I hope that we'll get to see Albus' reaction on all the rumours in the next chapter. I've been wondering how he feels on all the rumours. They seemed to be sort of friends before. Although I've always thought his sudden interest in Seth a little strange when he was actually secretly dating someone. I wonder wether he has something to hide as well!

Keep up the good work! This story is by far my favo fanfic! I hope you update soon :)

Author's Response: Oh I'm so sorry my answer comes this late!!! I haven't had time to check HPFF at all during the last week and I feel so bad for leaving your lovely review uncommented for so long! THank you so so much for your kind words, they mean a lot! I have started a new job at uni and it is more stressfull than I had thought :).

I agree that Seth deserves a break, but I think there are too many bad things happening right now to grant her a breather. Also, the mystery surrounding Albus will ber revealed eventually but you're right, his interest in Seth was a little strange.

I will definitely update today or tomorrow and I do hope you enjoy the next chapter. Sorry again for letting you wait for so long, I really did not mean to!


 Report Review

Review #3, by Kristina1990 

31st August 2016:
Heya!

Oh yes, it's definately going down, down, down.

One thing I don't miss about High School - the rumour mill. Really hated it and I can see why Seth is so beat down about it and prefers to spend her day locked away in her dormitory than mingle with others who think she is some kind of drug lord. On the other hand - it really could be worse in the long run. At least people are in awe of a great talent of hers. It's just envy that makes people talk anyway. Envy and stupidity.

No idea what Lukas is about, but for the moment he is acting as a nice distraction from all of the crap that Seth had to deal with. Of course, James might be onto something (he probably is) or he is just jealous that a random guy from his (reserve) Quidditch showed more courage than he did. I have no idea what's going on in his head right now, but coming out of nowhere and suddenly issuing an ultimatum isn't exactly the best way to cure all the drama.

Can't wait for the next chapter!

Author's Response: Ahhh, you got the Bruce Springsteen reference! I was listening to that song up and down while writing the chapter and I thought no one would really pay attention to the title, but you got it :) That makes me quite happy...

I know what you mean about school. Secondary school was the worst... I mean, I was never super popular or particularily interesting, so I got away most of the time, but I still had my share of ugly rumours travelling around school. I think you're right, Seth, at least, is awed and feared among her fellow students, but she's not the kind of person to enjoy this. And it might get her kicked out of school and accused of poisoning the Chosen One's son... so well... And I agree, envy is the root of rumours.

The thing with Lucas is that he might not be what James makes him out to be... or he is. Seth will find out eventually, but you're right, James could have definitely voiced his concerns differently... especially since he should know that Seth doesn't like to be told what she can and can't do :)

Thank you so much for reading and for leaving this review. I hope you know how much I appreciate your kind words and that you took the time. Reviews like yours make my day and they mean a lot to me... so thank you Kristina :)


 Report Review

Review #4, by Big Fan! 

31st August 2016:
Wow.

I told a friend of mine that I don't really enjoy reading Next Generation fanfiction. She laughed at me and sent me a link to your story.

Wow, not only is this insanely well written but the plot is amazing! I almost read it in one sitting but didn't simply because my pesky job got in the way! I have so many questions !

Is Albus gay? Ever since I read that scene regarding his detention I've wondered. What was that all about?

Did Sam poison Al? Or does he know who did??

Who is "after" Seth? Or did her cousin just make that up just to mess with her?

When will Seth and James get together?!?!! :)

This is awesome. I hope the next chapter comes out soon!

Author's Response: You wonderful person, you! You don't even know how happy you've made me with this review!!! I am literally blushing and giggling at the same time like a complete loon :). And I'm at my office at uni so I'm expected to look all serious and research-y.

Believe me, I do understand that many people do not like Next Generation fics. I, too, am very picky when it comes to this genre. Therefore, I am extremely honoured that it was my story (and your awesome friend) that changed your mind :)

On to your questions; I don't want to answer all of them just yet, simply to keep up the suspense, but you've got a couple of interesting theories going there ;). Albus is quite the mysterious man... and so is Sam, apparently. Both have something to hide, as has almost everyone in this story ;). The reader can only see the story from Seth's point of view, so she is the only reliable character at the moment.

Someone is kind of after Seth but it might be a little different to what it seems at the moment... and Vala, well, that's a whole other mystery ;).

James and Seth... those two are stubborn and so unlike each other that having anything other than a complicated relationshp is quite the challenge... it might take them a while to get to the point where they can admit their feelings... IF they get to that point :)

I'm sorry for being so vague. I really don't want to give away too much... there are still some surprises in store :).

THank you thank you thank you for this lovely review! I can't even say it enough; it means so much to me! Next chapter is half-finished and I hope you'll enjoy it :)


 Report Review

Review #5, by Shiv 

28th August 2016:
Well... I don't think i need to say how bloody good this story is getting... i mean i have never been more engrossed in a fic before.And i don't know why i have this feeling that seth will not be paired with james for the ball but with ALBUS!!!
Wouldn't that be totally crazy !!
And everyone will think that albus will not go with her because who wants to attend a dance with the girl who apparently poisoned him ( well...we know she didn't ..but thts what everyone thinks) but contrary to everyone's thinking he accepts to go with her and can you just imagine james reaction !!!
I dont know ...its just a theory
Also this lucas guy seems very shady ...even before james said all those things about him...i mean given seth's reputation at the moment, a guy will only ask her on a date if he either likes her very much and is an extremely good guy or if he has an ulterior motive ...and i guess we all know that there aren't a lot of good guys
Also sam's question in the previous chapter worries me. He has been a great friend to seth and i really don't want something to happen to that relatioship specially because of a misunderstanding.
So yeah thank u for this amazing fic ..hope u update soon !

Author's Response: So glad you like the plot developments. It took me a while to get there but certain things needed to be told first...haha. Honestly, it means so much to hear how much you like the story and can I just say that I am SO excited about your theories.

I think that yes, Seth and James going to the ball together does not only seem unlikely at the moment (considering their latest run-in) but also would be too deus ex machina to be plausible. It's quite interesting that you see Albus accompanying her... we haven't heard anything of or about Albus since the beginning of summer term and it is indeed deliberate. Albus's view on the entire situation and the rumours is not clear so I agree, it would be quite the scandal if he went to the ball with Seth :)

Lucas may not be the way James has portrayed him, but that doesn't mean that he might not be shady ;) Considering her reputation, I think you're right... dating Seth would be quite the social risk at the moment...

And yes, Sam was acting a little weird. I'm so happy that so many people picked up on it.. but I don't want to give away too much ;).

Thank you thank you thank you so much! For reading and for this wonderful review. I really appreciate that you took the time to write it and I hope you know that you've made my day :)


 Report Review

Review #6, by mx 

27th August 2016:
So good - love your story and characters. Please update soon!! x

Author's Response: Thank you so much for reading and commenting! I'm glad you like the story and I promise an update is in the near future :)

 Report Review

Review #7, by yaya 

26th August 2016:
Ahhh! I love/hate you so much. Hate because I'm such an impatient person and I can't even handle not knowing what's going to happen next. Love because obviously this is a wonderful piece of work and you can just tell that you have written everything with such care and precision. I truly hope you take such pride in what you're doing. The story is engaging and hilarious.

I love that Seth is going on a real date! And you've captured perfectly what it's like for an awkward, self-conscious teenager on her first date.

Katie is still a favorite obviously. She's the embodiment of what me and my best friends say to each other when we are down too much for too long-- "Love you but woman up!"

So I didn't review last chapter (sorry!) but Sam is making me suspicious. Like, his question about the potion going bad? I don't trust him right now... but I appreciate that he's being a good friend to Seth.

And James... where do you even start with this kid?? I almost feel bad for him. He's handling his crush so poorly because he's dealing with a girl that's sooo oblivious. But I must say, I love how you torture them haha

James/OC is now one of my favorite ships to read and it started with this story right here! So thank you :).

Author's Response: Oh I hope the love-part outweighs the hate part... haha. I know that I'm rather slow on updates. I really want the chapters to be exactly the way they are supposed to be and I rewrite them a lot before uploading so that's why there are month-long gaps between updates :). I am so glad that you still enjoy the story and the way it is written, it means a lot to me to hear this :)

I thought it was time for Seth to date :) And there is really no other way for her than to be awkward about it. I guess in some ways dating in general is just an immensely awkward situation, isn't it?

I agree, Katie is the best. She knows exactly what to say and how to say it :) It's awesome that you have the same thing going with your friends!

Sam IS definitely acting strange and you're right, it is not something to be dismissed easily. He really is a friend to Seth but something might be off... ;)

And James is ... well, James. He's both adorable and completely irritating... which makes the whole thing so much fun :)

I'm honoured that my story introduced you to the wonderful world of James/OC and I thank you for this lovely review. It just means so much to get such feedback and it really makes me want to go and write right away :)


 Report Review

Review #8, by Katie 

26th August 2016:
This is absolutely amazing. Please continue! Thank you!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for letting me know you like the story! The next chapter is already in progress :)

 Report Review

Review #9, by Mya 

25th August 2016:
wow i read this story in go! its amazing! plz do continue writing =)

Author's Response: I'm glad you enjoy the story! Thanks so much for letting me know!!! I'm already working on the next chapter so an update is in the near future ;)

 Report Review

Review #10, by Asteria 

25th August 2016:
Oh how I've missed this story and Seth and James, I'm so glad that you're back.
I have so much love for this chapter and the writing is just as excellent as always. What I also love about this fic is that it's not just focused on their relationship but it has other really good story lines along with it (the Al one I'm loving) which just makes it even more interesting.
James is a bit of an idiot at the best of times, a lovable idiot, but an idiot nonetheless but the love/hate James/OC fics are always my favourite. Plus I'm so glad you've dragged it out and they're not together yet but we've still had many great James/Seth scenes like the phone box and the one at the Potter's. If they get into a relationship too early on I find it gets a bit soppy and a little more boring because I miss all the angst.
I love James a lot, despite some of his slightly bad moves. Part of me thinks (and hopes if I'm honest) that he rejected her at his house not because he wanted to but because he knew she'd had no experience and he wanted it to be a lot more for her than some alcohol and regret fueled night after what her family said about the phone box incident. If that's the case I will love him even more than I already do.
And onto this Lucas guy, at first I thought he seemed pretty decent actually but now after what James said I'm not so sure. A small part of me hopes he does turn out to be nice because poor Seth deserves at least one good thing in her life. However, the rest of me hopes he does turn out to be a player because:
A) I do love me some angst.
B) James can swoop in and teach him a lesson.
C) James and Seth
Anyways, I love this fic and I hope the next update isn't too far away.

Author's Response: I'm glad I'm back too :). I'm really sorry I made everybody wait for so long but I was stuck somehow and it took a few lovely, encouraging, urging reviews to get over that haha.
Can I just say, that I'm so glad you enjoy the plots besides the romance? I never set out to write a solely romance-focused fic and it means a lot to hear that its appreciated.
James IS an idiot... I mean, I guess we all are at 16/17? At least a bit...haha. I'm also a really big fan of the love/hate thing and James II is my main man in the HP-verse but, like you said, it always bothers me when they get together too fast... instant love seems quite unrealistic between two characters that are so fundamentally different as, for instance, Seth and James and the love/hate thing always seems unrealistic if the issues are resolved too quickly into the story.
I like James too, despite his flaws. I guess he's just fighting with himself (concerning various issues which I don't want to give away yet :) ) But he definitely rejected Seth for a reason, or rather several reasons (may they be good or not so good) and not because he is not attracted to her (because he obviously is).
About Lucas, I'd say he's not a knight in shiny armour, but then again, who is? We all have flaws and I make sure that my characters have too... no one is strictly bad or good. But I agree, Seth deserves something nice to happen to her...the next chapter will show ;)
Thank you so so so much for this lovely, long and kind review. I can't say it enough; it just means the world to me to get such feedback!
You are a wonderful person.


 Report Review

Review #11, by windbirdsong 

25th August 2016:
Man. What is this.. why do i have so many butterflies in my stomach...I am so obsessed with this fic you have no idea..!!! Seth, James, Fred, Katie and Sam give me life!! I love your characters so much!! I feel like this could have become a bestseller novel if it was an original (not a fanfic) you should definetely pursue a writer's career, don't know if you already are pursuing.. you made this cliché story into an amazing novel and an ordinary character into a beloved one.. I just love this fic so much I cried when i saw you updated haha
Thank you, and see you in the next chapter!!
By the way, jealous james is my favorite james *--*

Author's Response: Haha, I'm sorry for disturbing your stomach but I'm glad you feel that way! That's so sweet of you to say! It means a lot to me that you like my characters and the story... I put a lot of effort into every chapter and it's so nice to get feedback like yours. I think my writing career dreams have been on ice for several years now :( It's definitely in the back of my head and I do write original fiction as well, but it's so hard to get it out there and to get people to read... However, I do love writing fanfiction as well and the fact that you honestly think it's that good makes me extremely happy :).

I promise I will update more again... it was just a very uncreative time full of uni stress and whatnot. But I'm on it... the next chapter won't be that long!

Thank you so so so much for your review! It's just the best thing in the world to log into HPFF and see that someone has left a review. You made my day... thank you!


 Report Review

Review #12, by Laura 

24th August 2016:
Hi :) It's been a while since I left my last review, but life got kind of crazy for me. That's why I understand you taking time to post a new chapter. It is a lot of work you are putting in the story.
It was great pleasure to read this.
I think James might be jealous. I just wonder if he is right about Lucas or not (jealousy clouding his judgement). I sort of hope the best for Seth since things are not going so well for her lately. At least she has good friends to support her.
There is one aspect of your story I find really interesting. It's about how Ginny is prejudiced towards Seth, just because of Seth's family. It's a nice twist to the books (mostly "pure-bloods" being prejudiced towards others).
I do hope my review makes at least some sense, as I am a bit tired :) But simply cannot resist to write something now.

Author's Response: SO glad you're back, Laura! I hope you're good and everything is back to less crazy again? Of course I completely understand... life has a tendency to sidetrack us...haha. But it's really nice to get another review from you!

I often feel bad for taking this long with updates (especially when I see other fics being updated much more frequently) but I really think a lot about my writing and mull over ideas, write them and then rewrite them just because they don't seem right or are poorly executed. I only want to upload the best I can do so it takes time... thank you for understanding, it means a lot.

James really seemed rather jealous, didn't he? I think he isn't quite aware of it himself... Freddie is, though ;). And yes, Ginny's prejudice is quite a reversal but I imagine she is rather fierce in her beliefs.

Well, thank you so much for the review and your kind words. Getting feedback really is my fuel to continue writing :). I hope you are well and to hear from you again! :)


 Report Review

Review #13, by Lobelia Saville-Baggins 

23rd August 2016:
OH HECK YESS MY BABIES ARE BACK!!
And
Oh holy cow.
Oh cripes.
Merlin.
There's only so much pressure a girl can take. And I think we're nearing that point. Going down, as it were.
Okay, but I'm imagining how sweet Seth would standing there in a coat and little hat, with a much of cocoa steaming in front of her face and little puffs of warm air coming from her mouth and turning visible in the cold...no wonder James couldn't speak for a minute.
I'm a bit worried about what Lucas will do, and I hope he won't be the catalyst for Seth's eventual breakdown. I also think that James could have handled that SO much better. Honestly, telling Seth she can't do something? Does he even KNOW her?! At all? There are better ways to tell someone that the boy they are seeing is bad news. He's jealous (obvs to anyone BUT Seth, of course -- DRAMA!) but still...oh James.
Oh no. I just had a terrible thought...we know that Ginny doesn't like Seth...what if she suspects that it really was Seth who poisoned Albus (I have a theory about that, actually...since the chapter with the head boy being strange). But what if she told her suspicions to James? James wouldn't believe it, of course, but there would be that little voice in his mind that says "but what if your mother is right?" I mean, he knows her better than that, but there is always a little part of you that says "what if," once the idea is planted in there, right? ARGHHH
Getting approached like that by people wanting illegal potions CANNOT be good for Seth right now. Just goes to show how disgustingly hypocritical people can get. Sure, let's crucify this poor girl based on a few rumors and not-even-circumstantial evidence (a hunch based on technical capabilities AT MOST, to say nothing of moral capabilities), but then let's turn this to our own benefit.
When it's time for my first date, whenever that will be (and I'm turning 20 next week, so Seth's got nothing to worry about) I'm sure I will be a crazy, awkward mess as well. I just hope I can pull it off as adorably as Seth does. And I hope I have good friends like Katie and Sam at my side.
Speaking of Sam, I'm worried about him and Hector. This CANNOT be good for his self-esteem. Hector, BE BRAVE. BE YOU. I wish I could give characters such a good shake sometimes. You do that for me, okay?
Much love to you and your boyfriend (how's he doing by the way? I hope he's all better). Now that grad school is over, what's next up?
See you next chapter (hopefully soon? *wink*)!

Author's Response: YOU'RE BACK! You haven't abandoned me despite the long wait! Thank you for that.

And yes, breaking point might me looming in the near future for Seth. She's strong but not made of stone...

And James... what can I say... he's an idiot. An idiot with a temper. And Seth is just the epitome of stubborn. Those two need a miracle ;) He could have told her about his suspicions in a calmer and less aggressive way and Seth would still have reacted the way she did. Maybe not in the same manner but generally she would have been quite angry.

And yes, Ginny definitely thinks Seth is guilty... we'll see more of that in the next chapter (or chapter 30, depends on how long it gets). And her suspicions definitely seem to get to at least on of her sons... (cue the mystery music).

I know what you mean - rumours are the worst. And people are so willing to indulge as long as it does not hurt themselves. My friend went to boarding school and she told me that it's even worse than in regular schools because you basically live with these people and there is not much else going on around to provide other diversions.

I was awkward on my real first date (which, incidentally, I had with 20 :) ) but it can't have been as bad as I thought it was, since that guy is still my boyfriend :D. He's doing great, btw... already mountainbiking again (which I think is not so great).

I agree that Hector needs to man up but his fears are also not unfounded... the next chapter will shed more light onto this, I promise :)

I miss uni but I got a job at my university as part of a research team, which I'm extremely excited about and I think I'll go for my PhD so lots of things are happening right now :D I hope you are doing well!?

Thank you so much again for that lovely review, you always make my day!


 Report Review

Review #14, by Sam 

23rd August 2016:
I loved this whole chapter! Seth has the best friends, I love all of their interactions.

As much as I love James watching out for her, if Lucas truly is a creep, I hope Seth saves herself from the situation. I'm disappointed that he most likely is going to turn out to be terrible, I wanted one nice thing for Seth. You have really brought all of these character's personalities to life and I can't wait to see where the rest of the story is headed. The Albus mystery is driving me mad, but in a good way.

Wonderful as always! Sorry for any spelling or grammatical errors, I'm at work and probably should get back to that. :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much! Seth really has great friends... that's at least one positive thing, right? And we don't know if Lucas is really bad... we only have James's word for it and his reliability is questionable ;)

Thank you so much for saying all of these nice things, it really means a lot to me - and that you took the time (especially while at work) to write it! It'S very much appreciated :) Have a great day!


 Report Review

Review #15, by Anna 

23rd August 2016:
Wow amazing!! But such a tease to leave us with so many unanswered questions... I hope the next chapter is coming soon! Good ole Freddie. He's positively adorable :). It was also really nice of James to warn Seth, even though he was incredible tactless! Those two just need to be locked in a room together until they sort out all their issues. It would be really awesome if they ended up going to the dance together ;). I really like how you add a lot of description to the scenes. It makes it feel like you're actually experiencing the story instead of just reading it. I'm looking forward to seeing how the story continues :)

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked it! I know the ending is a bit of a cliff-hanger but the chapter was getting too long and I was anxious to finally put it up.

I agree; Freddie is life, haha. He and James are the perfect pair... unfortunately James has a hard time controlling his temper and Seth is incredibly stubborn, so the scene couldn't have happened any other way ;)

Who know's what might happen at the dance... ;)

Thank you for the compliment, I'm happy you enjoy my writing style; I do think a lot about those descriptions :)

Thank you so so so much for the review. Honestly, it means the world to me to get feedback and I really appreciate that you took the time to write it!


 Report Review

Review #16, by Romance 

23rd August 2016:
Super excited for the next chapter, this is my favourite performance from James so far he's jealous he's protective I love it!! And when he calls her Woolley oh my those two are just everything
Wonderfully written!!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm glad you liked the chapter and James's little meltdown :). I promise I'm frantically working on chapter 29! Thanks for taking the time to leave me a review, it means so much to me to get such lovely feedback!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review