Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
19 Reviews Found

Review #1, by xoxo_jpotter 

19th January 2017:
Omg I haven't read anything on here in a super long time, so what better to start with than Fluorescent Adolescent?

Firstly, I totally think how Jasmine is reacting is perfectly normal. She doesn't want to be a victim, so she plays it off. I've heard of plenty of people who do that, and knowing how you've characterized her, I think that's so how Jasmine would react.

For someone who is supposed to like Effy, Mikey was being absolutely ridiculous! I mean I get that he likes her, and he's jealous that even though she's broken up, she would still pick James over him. But seriously, he was totally rude, especially considering the break up and what happened with Jasmine was so fresh.

It's so funny that Effy complains about James's ego when her ego is almost as big. Speaking as someone with a huge ego, I can totally see why she's upset with James getting all the praise, even though that's not what she should be concerned with given the circumstances...

James and Effy's conversation was conflicting for me. My inner feminist was shouting, "You go girl! Screw the patriarchy!" I mean she totally took a stand and finally got to say everything she wanted to! However, James was probably being the least egotistical he's been the whole story. He told Effy about Dahlia because he obviously cares. And yes he's being super confusing and an egomaniac, and I honestly would have gone off on him too, but I feel like she should have picked a better time. I swear teenage boys can be absolute idiots!

Youre not over me, because Im not over you."

I swear James sounded like every misogynistic boy in my school with twice the ego!

And for some reason, I still want Effy and James to work out. Everytime I get mad at one of them, I just think back to when they were together, and it just doesn't get any better!

Anyway sorry for what I'm sure is a rambley (I don't think that's a word..), random review! It's late but I wanted to leave a review on at least one of your chapters!

Can't wait to see what happens next!

xoxo
-M

Author's Response: hey hey hey !!

god, thank you so much. a similar thing happened amongst my wider friendship crowd this summer & whilst i tried my hardest to give it a sensitive and fair portrayal- because there is /nothing/ light about sexual abuse- obviously when it happened i was an observer, not the victim, and i was inTENSELY desperate to strike some chord of authenticity on it! so thank you, thank you so much.

hahaha yeah! effy's is JUST as egocentric as james, but her arrogance and self-centred nature is more implicit- not just because it's told from her persepective, but because she isn't quit aware of it yet, whereas james is fully, totally aware, and just doesn't quite care. same faults, different mentalities!

oh my god SO agreed on the misogynistic boy @ school! james was originally based on my first f--k boy experience aged fifteen and whilst i haven't spoken to him since 2014 i should probably thank him at some point for setting such a superb example of unapologetic self-entitlement of the 21st century boy for me. where would james be without that guy, huh! or teenage boys in general? god, what a mess! no wonder women had to march! (joking) (half joking)

no puh-lease don't apologise for this review! it was lovely and made me smile again and again and again. thank you so, so much for leaving a review & even more for continuing to read FA. all my love !! xox


 Report Review

Review #2, by pottered 

28th September 2016:
welp i come back and your new update greets me so im Very happy to be back on hpff for a while yay!
effy was so bitter this entire chapter omg i mean, i understand where she's coming from since she did help a lot, but i don't think it should be a matter of who is getting the recognition of saving jasmine, it should be about the fact that she was saved from that creep. though effy is effy so haha. she does deserve some acknowledgement though!
i felt so bad about the stiff and /off/ atmosphere between mikey and effy. honestly i couldn't believe that mikey was coming at her for that, as i said before, what matters is someone helped jasmine so is he actually doing this ._. though i hope they get along soon :c
eep i was really glad when james came to effy to inform her but then she just lashed out and i felt really bad for him ahh he was being considerate but then he received that backlash. i understand effy has mixed feelings and it's a little too much for her with all that's going on but in that moment, he didn't really deserve that ): ohmygod when he told her he wasn't over her, i died and came back to life lol
a really good chapter !! i love your writing so much bc it tackles real life issues and it's so genuine bc most of us feel this way in school; at that age, going through phases, so i appreciate it so much, especially your characters bc they're so flawed and that's realistic ^^ looking forward to the next update!! i hope things look up for effy and co.

Author's Response: firstly -- so, so sorry for the delay in replying to this, definitely not a sign of ingratitude, you know how much reviews like yours mean to me, life has just been so crazy recently!

effy was definitely bitter this chapter, and you know how much i love exposing her bad faults and qualities. not only is she bitter at the break up with james but she's definitely annoyed it is james, out of everyone, that became hogwarts' hero hahaha. maybe one day she'll grow up. maybe. this chapter has just exposed quite a decent amount of everyone's- james, mikey, effy- bad side and i'm excited to get out of this post-drama negativity!

thanks so so so much, thanks infinitely for your kind words and continued support ♥ i'm so sorry about the delay in replying and sporadic nature of my updates !! next chapter hopefully up soon x


 Report Review

Review #3, by ameliaj 

22nd September 2016:
UPDATE SOON! I cant wait for the rest!

Author's Response: thank you so much !

 Report Review

Review #4, by dobbyisfree 

14th September 2016:
I'm so happy that you've updated. I seriously thought that you abandoned FA and got really sad about it. BUT now I'm so freakin happy!!! I can't wait for the next chapter!

Author's Response: thanks so so much !! fa is not abandoned, but yeah, updates (and replies) will be indefinitely more sporadic :( super sorry, as a fan of other works that've been through the same process i know how annoying it can be! but thanks so so much for the review and support despite it all xoxoxo

 Report Review

Review #5, by miluv 

7th September 2016:
Hi lovely chapter as usual!! Quick question, who is Christina Pankhurst and why does Effie like her so much? Can't wait for the next chapter, you're a star.
xox miluv

Author's Response: hey! thanks so, so much! & christabel pankhurst was an english suffragette, a leader of the movement- so that's why effy loves her so much! and nooo... you're the star! thanks again for such a lovely reviewww ♥

 Report Review

Review #6, by Roz 

6th September 2016:
This is honestly one of the best fics ever. i think the thing that makes me really fall in love with it, is how real it seems. The characters have all developed throughout the story, and it is always so interestIng to see how they have responded to different scenarios that you have written about. Their reactions, the choices they make and even the things that they think and say feel so accurately... Teenager... But in the best way possible.
I also really love how you have managed to make some characters, for example effy, make often brash or thoughtless desicions in certain situations, as it really adds to the whole idea that even though she is the protagonist, it doesn't always mean that she is able to consider the impact of some of her actions. I really get the theme of how the characters are not perfect, as they are still these young, bright things, which means that they are still learning about this new world of adulthood.
Furthermore, I like the idea of how maybe Effy, and some of her other friends,may be experiencing a slightly awkward time in their lives, where they are not quite adults, yet they have grown out of the innocence of childhood. They are making plenty of mistakes, yet they don't always want to admit their faults or be bothered to clean up the messes they make. For me, this makes your story seem such so much more realistic and therefore I sometimes even find myself empathising with the characters!
Keep up the amazing work, your story is something so refreshing and different, and I wish you all the best x

Author's Response: ahhh... this is the /nicest/ thing i've read in ages. thank you so, so much... where do i begin?!

i love, love, luurrvvve how you think the characters are not only accurate and realistic, and that you acknowledge the mistakes effy's made. i've been writing this fic for the past three years (whaaat!! that long already?!), since i was fifteen years old, so it's been pretty entwined with my teenage experience personally; fa's been almost a diary of sorts, an outlet for my own personal teenage dramatics, and i'm so glad that it's been reflected as i've wanted it to online!

"young bright things"- that is /exactly/ what i strove for. thanks so, so much. SO much !! you've kind of validated exactly what i've been striving for. i love it. i love how you can empathise with them! it genuinely means the world.

this review made my day, and i had a pretty good day. thanks so much for reviewing, thanks so much for reading and sticking with fa despite my awful updates. all my love xoxoxo


 Report Review

Review #7, by Lizard 

5th September 2016:
So, I had to reread a couple of chapter because I really couldn't understand why Effy was so hostile against James, and why she feels like it's a "victory" telling him off like that? In an extremely hurtful and mean way, I might add.
I get that she's hurt and fed up with her situation, but she was the one who ended it with James, so the fact that he came to speak with her and tell her before he thought she'd heard it through gossip that he'd go with Dahlia to the ball is actually a big plus from him. Effy is the one who has put herself in this position that's she's in right now, since I thought James was completely right to think that they should take a breather (or at least think about what kind of relationship they could and should be having) after she confessed to not trusting him (also Effy is a big hypocrite, of course she knew and liked that Mikey liked her, even her friends says it so James can't be that far off in his accusations). Speaking of Mikey, he's such a jerk in this chapter, and I'm fully on Effy's side in that argument and I hope she doesn't do what Al said and apologize, this is a time for her to stand her ground.

And Effy mentions that she'd be accused of being petty were she to protest too much about the articles being written, and while I agree that everyone should get the credit they deserve-- it's not James who writes the articles so she can't really fault him for that either. Especially since they haven't even talked since the hospital wing! How can she know what really happened and was said if she doesn't go straight to the source? Like, this is Rita Skeeter we're talking about. And again, Effy was the one to break up with James in the end, and she was the one who went a got him when she needed help with Jasmine so I understand why James wouldn't approach her because she's sending out mixed signals. The ball was in Effy's court to talk to James, but she's too stubborn and too fixated on his flaws to even think about that. Effy has had a pre-conceived opinion of James this entire story and right now, nothing he does will ever make her change that, which makes me just want to say to James to drop her and get on with his life.

Urgh, I don't know, I really like your writing but this chapter and Effy's actions just rubs me the wrong way. Both James and Effy are flawed characters, but right know it feels like whatever James does is just wrong wrong wrong and he's defined by his flaws so whenever he does something good like actually communicating to his ex-girlfriend that he's taking someone else to a party, Effy is justified and victorious in "taking him down", which is such an unfair take on the situation.
Right now I just want to shake Effy and tell her to take a look in the mirror and work out her goddamn issues before she's lost someone that obviously means a lot to her (if she hasn't already done that, if I was James I wouldn't be quick to forgive her for saying what she said in this chapter to me).
James is actually not the one who screwed up their relationship, sure he wasn't perfect but he was honest to her all the time, and I know that Effy felt insecure, but seriously, it wouldn't have matter what James did, wrong or right (he did mostly right), Effy's inability to trust him and too see through her prejudices of the James before they got involved is what really mucked things up.

I'm sorry for this long and messy review, but I just felt like James needed someone to advocate for him, everyone was gushing over Effy being a boss when she was just mean, and feeling proud about it! I hope she realizes this come next chapter, because James might come off as arrogant and cold, but I'm pretty sure he has feelings too.

But don't get me wrong, I honestly love this fic and your characters and your prose is fantastic! But, I'm planting myself in James' corner for the duration of this fic, I think he needs someone there. And I sincerely hope Gryffindor wins the quidditch cup in the end, I think James deserves it in his finale year and since I'm feeling spiteful against Effy (but mostly Mikey tbh) I don't want them to win it. :)

Author's Response: omg. omg. are you my new best friend? i kind of feel like you are? i /loved/ this review and i couldn't agree more?! and i'm super super excited by your observation and persepective and it's /exactly/ what i think too?

like- effy is a teenage girl. she's slightly spoilt, relatively attention seeking and incredibly stubborn, to the point of almost being narrow minded. in addition, her friends haven't quite had the sit down "we like what you're doing, we see where you're coming from, you do you, but... don't because you're kind of in the wrong" conversation. this is because 1. my friends were- are- much better at being illogical psychos with me than actually level headed and mature young adults (and i /do/ base a lot of the friendship dynamics in FA on my friendships irl, so you know, writing from experience and all that jazz) and 2. wouldn't make for a very vivid plot to be honest!

i think the thing with effy & james isn't only that james is moderately famous, or that they're both stubborn, or that they're in seperate years and houses. i think they're both at different stages in their life- effy is in year 12 i suppose, and can barely imagine life outside hogwarts. she's the youngest in her family, and she's always been very confident in who she is and where she stands. she's very much a teenage girl, you know? whereas james is on the cusp of adulthood, he's graduating in a month, and he's fully aware that his glory days of ladding about are behind him. and he's got quite a dark background that'll be revealed more and more throughout the second half of the story; but yeah. they're very similar people who've lived actually rather different lives, giving them a very different persepective of their relationship.

with james, his faults are more explicit; with effy, especially as she's in narrative, they're way more implicit. but definitely still there! but honestly, truly- thank you so, /so/ much for this review. it totally made my day, and sorry for rambling on so much about the nuances of the two characters. they've been forming more and more in my head since i first came up with FA three years ago, and i'm neck deep in character analysis. and SUPER excited to reveal more about the two in upcoming chapters. thanks so, so much for this review again- i hope the next chapter answers some of your questions!!! xoxo


 Report Review

Review #8, by Jane 

5th September 2016:
YOU ARE SO AMAZING PLS KEEP UPDATING XXX

Author's Response: ahhh omg thank you !!! you're amazing too !! go us X

 Report Review

Review #9, by Jess 

31st August 2016:
Love the story please update soon 💖

Author's Response: thanks so much jess !! xx

 Report Review

Review #10, by ShieldSnitch3 

25th August 2016:
oh my god. oh my god.

i literally just found this story a few days ago and i have been binge reading it like CRAZY and it's so good. like, your writing style and all the descriptions and details and the CHARACTERS. they're all so unique and amazing and i love them all to death and akdfjdajkdfs;j this is an awful review but i'm just enjoying this story so much and i need the next chapter pls.

i'm all aboard the jeffy train although i think their relationship has been a bit - ahem - messy so idk if it will work out or not but man, i love their chemistry. and james. but who doesn't have a soft spot for james sirius potter?

(despite his ego and generally bad behavior throughout the last few chapters.)

anyway, i am eagerly awaiting the next chappie and i just adore this story and thought you should know that.

(also, i want an oscar. he is fab.)

Author's Response: omgomgomg. asdfghjkl; omgomgomg !!

stfu !

no waaay. i am SUCH a fan of your writing! you're pretty much the queen of next gen flick lit! sorry to sound like damien from mean girls- but danny de vito i LOVE your work! and all that jazz is my jam, my go-to fanfic when i'm down or needing inspiration.

like that quidditch jacket scene by the lack when aria first arrives? helloo? you genius. i loved that. iconic. always think of it.

this genuinely means the world; couldn't be happier that you like fluorescent adolescent, especially when i look up to your writing as much as i do! i am BEAMING. if my friends knew i wrote harry potter fan fiction, i'd be phoning them right now... if my MUM knew i wrote hpff, i'd be on the phone to her right now. super super stoked.

you rule. does this mean we're friends? sorry for fan girling. i'll be cooler next time. xoxo


 Report Review

Review #11, by Kate 

24th August 2016:
I've just read your entire story through there and it's fabulous. I have fallen completely in love with Effy. She is such a brilliantly formed character. I also love Oscar can we please see more of him! I'm looking forward to see where this goes, one part of me really wants James and Effy together but the other feels that's their relationship has been too complicated and too messy. Maybe a case of the right person and just the wrong time for poor old James? Looking forward to more, X

Author's Response: ahhh oh my gosh! i cannot believe you've read through it all; the earlier scenes are such rubbish, i'm in awe that you battled your way through my 16 year old angst!

and wow. i /looove/ that you love effy. i always say this, but so much of myself goes into her; she isn't perfect, she's flawed, but i love that you think she's real and i really do put my heart and soul into her. and YES YES YES to oscar! so much of him coming up. watch this space!

+ you're so, so right about james and effy. they're intensely, insanely messy, and totally wrong place wrong time. but who knows huh!

thanks again for reviewing. the next chapter should be up within a week, and i hope it doesn't disappoint! xoxoxo


 Report Review

Review #12, by potterhead 

23rd August 2016:
I'm so disappointed in James:( from "you should stay wilder son" and that kiss to just ignorance. But he's definitely up to something because HE approached effy and just told her he's not over her so jeffy till the end really I can't wait to read the next chapter!!

Author's Response: i'm GLAD you're disappointed in james. he's just as flawed as effy is- perhaps more explicitly so- but he's a teenage boy! hell yeah he's confusing af! thanks so much for leaving a review, it's so appreciated ♥

 Report Review

Review #13, by Flowergirl 

23rd August 2016:
I love how real effy is like she's low key offended when albus says mikey doesn't like her. Because let's face it everyone loves knowing someone likes them. But I don't care as much of the fiery effy I love and the mikey lovers JEFFY till the end. When James admits he's not over her UM HELLO THATS LIKE THE BIGGEST THING FOR JAMES POTTER TO ADMIT. Im absolutely chuffed with this chapter and hope to see more determination from James to win her back and maybe even some jealousy when Heath comes into play!!!

Author's Response: yeah exactly !! like who ISNT disappointed to hear that someone actually turns out not fancying them - i put so much of myself in effy's characterisation & so im stoked you like her so much !!!

thanks so much for this review; the next chapter should be up within a week and i hope it doesn't disappoint !! all my love xoxoxo


 Report Review

Review #14, by Ameera  

21st August 2016:
It was so good ! As much as I love Jeffy and I can't wait for them to get back together, I think she killed it in the end !!! ( Girl Power )
I love your story, you're so funny and your writing skills are amazing !!! Can't wait for the next update ! ❤️

Author's Response: hahahaa thanks so much! yeah for sure, like jeffy is obv end goal (ah spoiler...) but girl power and female independence is still super important too!! so i was really excited to update w this chapter and this scene especially, because it /is/ effy's time, isn't it?

you're way too kind, you are so so lovely- thank you so much for leaving such a gorgeous review! means the world xx


 Report Review

Review #15, by PLUM 

21st August 2016:
Yay you're back! Another beautifully written chapter and I can't wait for the rest! I hope you find a way to write through your writers block ... I've missed this story so much lol. Love it!

PLUM (fka scattered) xx

Author's Response: ahhh !! what happened to your old account ?! i LOVED your james/oc story- jenelle was always such inspiration for effy's character! please tell me you haven't abandoned it, ill cry!

and ive missed this story too!! super super glad exams and year 13 in general is over. what an intense and yet amazing year?! so many ideas for upcoming FA plots ... thanks for leaving a review !! and thanks especially for staying tuned despite my massive leave xxx


 Report Review

Review #16, by JT4HP 

20th August 2016:
YAY!

YOU'RE BACK! I'm so happy!

I thought it was really really good. And I loved Effy in that last bit with James. She was so good. Like, yeah, I'm not over you but also get out of my face you hero potter.

Can't wait for the next one!

Author's Response: oh yesss i'm back!! and i'm super super sorry for my unannounced hiatus; year 13 just got the better of me!

i'm /so/ glad you liked it. i really wanted my comeback chapter to be a big one for effy and girl independence, that kinda thing. hopefully the next one'll be up within a week!

thanks again for reviewing ! xoxoxo


 Report Review

Review #17, by RavenHairedGirl 

19th August 2016:
as always i love effy being a bad b***h, i'm so torn by this whole james and mikey thing i actually don't know which way to go. i like the way you're dealing with jasmine's plotline, having known a girl who was sexually assaulted, jasmine's reaction and wish to be overly positive was quite accurate (at least from my experience).
james is such an pr***! as always much love for your writing- and a levels and uni? i hope your results went the way you wanted them to!

Author's Response: hey hey hey!
i'm so, so happy you're feeling this way about mikey vs james! i really didn't want to write a love triangle- i think they're /so/ cliche and stink of twilight angst- but effy & mikey are so inevitable when i write them. a bit of a risk but super glad it seems to have paid off aha !
and yesss- i'm glad! again, another bit of a risk w the jasmine story line but yeah, so happy it seems accurate from your experience. also- so sorry to hear about the girl, i hope she's ok?

anddd yes! results went so well, couldn't be happier, and lucky enough to get into my top choice uni! hoping likewise w you if you're year 13 too? all my love ! xx


 Report Review

Review #18, by angieart 

18th August 2016:
AH I'm so happy that you're back! I was kinda worried that you've abandoned FA. I kinda feel bad for Effy in this chapter cause I can see that she's still pretty hung up on James :( I JUST MY JEFFY BACK!!!

Author's Response: would never, ever abandon fa! it's honestly such a great outlet for me- both for channelling my love for the harry potter universe and also getting to creatively write, which i've learned i /love/. super super sorry about the hiatus though!

and aahhh... will jeffy come back? no spoilers, but the next chapter'll be up soon. thanks so much for leaving a review! xoxo


 Report Review

Review #19, by blackzero 

17th August 2016:
I am a bit confused because you have clearly hidden the plot line. I was hoping for an eventual reconciliation between James and Effy in this chapter,but they have lot of issues un resolved. Thanks for the update.Keep rocking and hoping for a quick update

Author's Response: ahhh, i'm so sorry if you think i've hidden the plot line! i've just tried to make it more real life like; in real life (from my experience) reconciliation can't happen within the easy boundaries of a chapter, you know?

but thanks so much for reviewing! hopefully the next chapter'll be up within a week :* xx


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review