Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
24 Reviews Found

Review #1, by morganthegreat 

3rd August 2017:
ahhh great chapter!!! i read it a while ago, but realized that i didn't really make any review about it. I finally remade an account, since i lost my user/password, and wrote a review on the last chapter as "slytherdor18" due to this.
but here i am! anyway, i think you wrapped up your story quite nicely, but i seriously can't believe it's actually over now. it's kind of surreal. it's fics like these that i love - keep you coming back for more due to thinking about it way long after you've read it.
i at first didn't like Appy at all, cause, well, she's the crazy psycho mean girl that everyone's supposed to hate. but now after being done, i realize who she is underneath and why she is that way. everyone in high school wants to stand out from the others, be unique or "quirky" for attention. she really was a character that you did well in creating!
so obviously clemence did some growing up, but who do you think changed the most throughout your story? they all had some really good character development in my opinion! your writing is so eloquent and i really enjoy all your minor characters!
this story of yours has actually pushed me to actually fulfill my back-of-the-head-ideas and write something. so i am! it's crazy, since i had wanted to do this for a while (like no joke - years), and after reading both capers ensue and etc. etc. i decided, why not? what's the worst that could go wrong? so yeah, thanks for doing that for me!
i follow you religiously all over the internet (that sounds WAY more creepy than i intended it to, sorry), like on tumblr and twitter. i want to know more about this story you're writing, vile vile violet, right? what's it about? can you give a brief synopsis? i'm super interested in it! is it a stand-alone story of yours or a fanfic? who are the characters involved? how long exactly is it? if it's a stand-alone, are you going to like print it?? i wanna know! i wasn't keeping up on anything in the last like year, other than this fic, because i hadn't bothered, but now i'm super interested! please tell!
okay, well i hope to read more of anything else you end up writing in the future! keep up the great and beautiful work, and good luck with your programming stuff!
i dunno really how to end a long review like this haha...
-morgan
p.s. thanks for being an inspiration to me in this small, creative outlet i have!

Author's Response: welcome back!! And CONGRATS on posting a story, it means so much to know that I could inspire in some way c: I hope you fall in love with all your characters, even the Appys - who I cheered on all along :'D

I do think Clemence changed the most, despite her assertion that nothing ever changes. There's a vulnerability to her narration that didn't exist before, like she's humbled and shaken by what she's felt, even after the storm's passed. Appy's up there too, but I'm also not entirely sure what's going on in her head.

Aaah you're following Vile Vile Violet! It's an original story that I hope to publish, but also a loose AU of etc. You'd definitely recognize a lot of the same characters, but the situations and settings are totally different. I'm trying not to divulge TOO much because I'd like to be able to surprise etc readers. It's gone through a few iterations but the current idea has been pretty solid. It's a fairy tale-ish fantasy story starring a witch and a prince (any guesses at how that maps to etc's characters? hehe). It'll either be one or two books, depending on how the conclusion goes. I can't wait to be the most awful author at plot twists and teasers :'D It is a LOT to write though - it's much more from scratch than a rewrite. Nag away whenever you want to know more, I probably can't say much, but I don't mind at all!

Thank you so much for stopping by again! And good luck with your writing - it's a wiiild ride!


 Report Review

Review #2, by The Daily Prophet 

20th January 2017:
Alright so I found this story a while back (I mean long enough that I had to wait for updates), and just recently rediscovered it on this site, and am absolutely ecstatic that I did.
Firstly, thank you so much for giving this fandom an incredibly well-written, well done, none-cliched Albus/OC story. It's actually an amazing thing to me when I find a story like this one that acknowledges the almost-failings of other stories like it, and completely warps those around, but without seeming like that's the sole purpose.
Secondly, Clemence! I loved her as a character, and the way she was portrayed, as well as how her relationships with other people seemed real. Thank you so much for that.
And lastly, the ending killed me (but in a good way). I can definitively say that although I hate some fan fiction tropes with a burning passion, I'm very invested in some, and as a result of that, I both loved and hated the ending. It definitely wasn't what would be expected from a story like this, but it is probably what would be expected in reality, and I thought (once I got over the feels) that ending the story there was a really, really good decision.
Sorry for the long review, and once again, thank you!

Author's Response: Ah!! Always glad to see a former reader - especially as etc's changed so much over the years. I had a lot of fun with this fic and it's crazy how an actual story came out of all of it (it started as purely parody and banter). Clemence became such a personal character and I love when people love her and all her frustrating ways. I'm hopeful for her - it was so important to me to end on a hopeful note, not necessarily because anyone deserved it or for the sake of a happy ending, but because despite what Clemence claimed, people do change, and in the epilogue, everyone is just beginning to do that.

Thank you so much for the review!


 Report Review

Review #3, by a nice day to get away 

1st December 2016:
Alright. So, I sped through this, even though I probably shouldn't have. I'll probably go back and reread it; to at least try to savor this time.

So, anyways, Clemence. She is, in all sense of the word, a cynic. This is a similarity between the both of us. The difference? She flaunts it; wears it out like a heart on her sleeve; she thinks it makes her better than all of the others, all of the others that are optimistic. And she thinks it makes her right. She is, in a way, correct. This is a not a really healthy mindset to have; it gives her too much pride and maybe a slight bit of ego. Just because she’s right, it doesn’t necessarily justify her actions. Because, yes, she is right, but the view optimists have are also right. She looks at one side of the story, and she still hasn’t looked at the other side yet. I believe that yeah, sometimes friends do come and go, but there is always a chance to get that spark, that relationship, back. Optimists and pessimists have opposing views. They are both right, but if the other was wrong, the world we live in wouldn’t really be the world we live in. It would either be much too perfect or much too dreary and both would be too boring to live in.

Clemence also has a tendency, in her worst moments, to think that she’s the only person in the world, the only person like her and understands her. Well, now if that were actually true, she wouldn’t have such close friends because they do, to a degree, understand her.

I just love the way she handles Janey. But Janey does say something that caught my attention: “You wouldn't have given up Witchy Business on your own,” which is true. But why did Clemence let go of it so easily? Did something change in her? Was it a sign of her growth throughout the story? Was the newsroom symbolic of her letting go a bit of her old self (because let’s face it; she’d never give up her cynicism)? The Witchy Business is basically what got her into this whole situation with Albus. Am I thinking into this too much?

About Albus and Clemence: They clashed. Opposites really don’t attract, if one can say that they are opposites. They were never meant to be, and high school relationships don’t really work out most of the time (there are a rare few cases). They used each other. Clemence said it outright, and Albus’ intentions were implied. I do wonder if they’d ever become friends though. That would be the strangest friendship ever. Maybe it wouldn’t even be a friendship.

That’s all I really have to say about this. I have a question though: In your VVV, the protagonist is Chinese (or Korean? I’m sorry, I don’t really have a good memory). Why didn’t you make the protagonist in this story Chinese? Or was making her diverse a thought that came after you had written etc. etc.? Also, I’m really interested in how you’re going to handle V-Day D-Day in your VVV, as the love potion was an important element in the events that conspired in that chapter. Aphrodisiacs maybe? They are really sketchy however and you don’t even know if it’s going to work because they stimulate sexual desire, not love…

Author's Response: I love what you've got to say! I think your thoughts are really on point. Clemence's mindset has both a sharp edge and a golden lining; like anyone - though she'd deny it - she can find too much comfort in her routine and close her mind to anything else, even the change in herself she's witnessing. Took about 10 words to open her up!

I thought a lot about how the newsroom would go, and the answer was always that Clemence would never light the match herself, she would never pass the keys on while Witchy Business still protected her and gave her power. She doesn't care for symbolism or fresh starts - in the end, she likes safety nets and slow transitions, if any. But if Witchy Business was wrenched from her in some way, would she fight for it? And I think, with the increasing foreignness of the newsroom and that life, the answer is no.

My headcanon is Albus and Clemence end up as the two heads for their seventh year, so they don't have a choice! 8D

When I started etc, it was mostly a riff on next gen stories of that era featuring an awkward quirky OC paired with Logan Lerman; it wasn't supposed to end up a legitimate story, so I didn't think too deeply about my cast. But I always want more Chinese protagonists like me - Bea in my other story fulfills some of that, too - because I'm sure other Chinese girls like me wish they could see that too. I've always lived in majority minority areas, so a diverse cast is really more true to what I know.

There's a bit of magic in VVV! So watch out for that :)

Thank you for reading! ♥


 Report Review

Review #4, by rainy_days 

15th October 2016:
Also, I feel you should know that this was the story that had me start writing a novel. It was so well written and executed that it pushed me to start writing. I can't even being to reach your level of prowess if I don't even start writing something.

Author's Response: Ahh! Please please please write and reach and surpass my prowess! etc was a five-year project and I learned SO much from it, and I think the growth over the chapters really shows (Neither Clemence nor I knew from the first chapter that this is where the story would end up!). Throw your heart in something and have something fervent to say, and good luck!

 Report Review

Review #5, by rainy_days 

15th October 2016:
So I just finished this story. And oh my god, what a wild ride! The characters are all so amazing! Not necessarily in their moralities or actions but rather in how their characters were built. It was an enjoyable read; I couldn't stop (even if I was averse to Clemence). It's also a good read for someone who likes analyzing and breaking literature down to their cores (which I am).

On Albus: um Okay wow Albus in this story is everything that I thought I didn't want but once I read this something I learned I need? If that makes sense lol. Like he's a dark character that switches from being chivalrous to "whoa wow um who are you? I didn't think you had it in you to do that." I think he changes into what people want, like a femme fatale of sorts. He's eeevil but he does enough "good" things for us to be able to sympathize with him. This makes him such interesting character; I kind of want to know his point of view in this story just to simply get to know him more and more--right down to his core.

On Clemence: She's a rather interesting character you could say? I don't like her (and truthfully I don't think you're supposed to). But I think this is what happens when you get to know someone in real life. If you actually knew what they thought and the intentions behind what they do, you'd dislike them more and more. So it's better not to know sometimes I guess. Clemence speaks so badly of herself. It's not a matter of low self-esteem, it's just how she views herself. And I think she likes this, she likes her views on things, she likes that she's not a part of "the norm." To me, she's not very relatable; I don't have the same views as her nor do I do the things for the reasons she does. Never explicitly said, I think she doesn't have much faith in the world and so she believes the world doesn't deserve a good Clemence, so she does what she wants.

On Dominique: I liked her a lot! When Henry "confessed" to her she didn't say yes because she felt an obligation because of Henry's friendship with her. She didn't say yes at all because she likes where she is and doesn't need Henry to make it better. I can totally respect that. I think Dom makes up more of what Clemence is more often praised and attributed to in the reviews. I agree both Dom and Clemence are strong people, but for the different reasons. Dom wasn't much involved in this story and I kind of wish she was.

On Appy: She's really positive and my god, she absolutely has to show it. She often is the person people don't like because of her annoying demeanor. Beneath her exterior, she's really ambitious and she's working towards it. I think this is shown through her being able have a ready publisher for her book and the fact that she is the president of a really well established and popular club.

I think that's all I have to say for this, other than the fact that there are some really tumblr worthy quotes in here. My favorite is the "we have two hearts" one.

Author's Response: Hi!! Ahh, love that you love breaking down a story, I like to write with that in mind (Literature classes are a major influence for my writing and there's rarely a motif I don't like), and a lot of what you say is spot on with things I've voiced myself, close to word for word even!

Case in point: Albus IS SO A FEMME FATALE. He's totally a chameleon that becomes whatever you want him to be, and I wonder what that says about his own aimlessness and tendency to place responsibilities on others.

Another case in point: Dom is more like the idea of Clemence than Clemence yesss. She's intentionally characterized that way, and there's an underlying envy that Clemence has and never addresses. I think the biggest difference in their situations is Dom always gets away with her exploits and Clemence doesn't. She's actually a pretty static character, which I like, because people expect her to change and she just doesn't.

Clemence is always the last person I'd defend and it never matters to me whether or not people like her, though it touches me deeply whenever people relate to her, because I wrote her for them, for those who rarely saw a heroine who saw the world like themselves. I remember struggling to describe to my friend exactly! about how Clemence doesn't have low self-esteem but it would be easy to mistake her observations as such - it's more that she has poor esteem for literally everything. And she's very smug about it. I think she and Albus exemplify, in different ways, how being correct about something doesn't justify their actions.

Appy really is so successful! Annoying, maybe even dangerously ignorant at times, but earnest and clever in ways foreign to Clemence. And nuts, but so is everyone else in this story ;)

Bahaha, I love when I find a tumblr worthy quote (I very often turn them into tumblr worthy graphics - including one for that hearts quote!). Thank you so much for reading and for your insight! c:


 Report Review

Review #6, by Una Owens 

6th October 2016:
This was a wonderful wonderful story that I've been following for so long. I was so glad to check back and see that it was finished. I was wondering if there were any stories you'd recommend to someone who liked yours and want to read more like it?

Author's Response: I'd heartily recommend GubraithianFire's 'Devilish Delights, Wicked Ends' for morally ambiguous characters who go nuts; it's slow burn and absolutely incredible as it builds up. So many 'did she really go there???' moments. For lighter fare, Celestie's 'Bathing in Roses' is a half-rom-com parody that's romantic but tongue-in-cheek. There's not a lot I'd recommend for fic like etc, but there's a bunch of movies like 10 Things I Hate About You, Heathers, Bring it On, any variation of Emma, Chicago; tv has Daria - I'm sure there's more, but I'm blanking.

Thank you so much for reading! So glad you came back and that you liked the ending c:


 Report Review

Review #7, by liquidlu 

16th September 2016:
This story left me with mixed feelings, mostly because I relate to a lot of how Clemence is- just a little less self-serving and more of the "I can't care, what is wrong with me?! I can't feel, so just don't come near me" thing. That said, those mixed feelings are a sign of a really good story. It was hilarious at times, and heartbreaking at others. It also really puts a perspective on how other people feel about Clemence vs. how she sees herself- they're quite different views and it's a pretty accurate reflection for a lot of us in that how we see ourselves is often skewed. She does care and she always has, otherwise she wouldn't have had friends like Dom, affection for Scorpius, and all the other relationships in her life that she kind of took for granted.

I'm glad she's finally trying and taking those little steps that are SO hard to do in the midst of the hopelessness and conviction that there is something seriously wrong with her. She'll have a lot more of those moments of pushing people away and (I guess you could call them) relapses, but the difference is she'll try, and she'll recognise the patterns in her behaviour. I also think Clemence and Pickett are PERFECT and made me happy! Albus and her just never really worked- they were just a challenge to each other.

I'm hopeful for Clemence- she doesn't know it, but she's a better person than she thinks. First and foremost because she actually cares about whether she's a good person, and secondly she's more just confused about what she feels and it takes her a long time to figure it out because she's constantly trying to rationalise them in a way that fits with her idea of herself- which doesn't work if her idea of herself isn't accurate. In time, with the help of people like Pickett who seems to know her better than she does, I think Clemence will understand herself better rather than hate herself for her reactions to things. And even if she slips back and drives people away, she realises now that they are in fact important to her and will reach back out to them.
Also, I'm strangely happy for Appy (rhyme!), it's time her life stopped revolving around boys. She is still batsh*t crazy, though.

Finally, I can't leave without saying THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR FINISHING THIS AMAZING STORY!

Author's Response: It means the world to me when people can relate to Clemence. I think a lot of that insecurity/misconception about one's own feelings comes down to how rare lack of emotion is explored in female characters. Not ones that are "broken" or coy, but just *are* that way. I didn't have anyone I could point to when I started writing this.

It's obvious to us that Clemence does care, but I remember what it was like to just not relate to how other people parsed their feelings; I didn't understand why people cared so much about some things, why they were unreasonable about others. I cared, but it was like my feelings were in a foreign language that other people didn't understand, and I didn't know how to earnestly empathize when "normal" feelings escaped me.

TRYING to care is really all the difference in the world, and I love that you point that out so many times. It's exactly what gives me hope. Clemence cares about caring, about being a good person. I think what she needed was to believe it's worth something. People like Scorpius and her followers and even Appy all saw this innately in her already. For her love interests, I think the big difference is Albus knows she cares but he believes she needs to change to be that better person, while Pickett accepts her for who she already is. Clemence is really quite sensitive to people leaving her (Dom!), she's just typically confident that that sort of thing doesn't happen to her. But when it does. Welp.

Appy would not be Appy without an unhealthy passion.

♥ thank YOU for such a lovely review!!


 Report Review

Review #8, by aimless abby 

11th August 2016:
WELL that was an adventure. when i clicked on this fic in idle curiosity and boredom i had no idea how twisty, turny, and often, quite turbulent, the story would be. i applaud you. this is unlike any other story i've read. it's slightly orwellian in its sly commentary of society, with a strong heathers-esque flavor throughout.
i thoroughly enjoyed Clemence's inner monologue. she is a masterpiece of a character. you took the trope -- ice queen melting for a man -- and subverted it, flipped it, took it in a new direction. i loved it, and i loved the growth that she underwent. i loved the risks she took, what she threw away, her struggles with outward forces and with herself. in some ways she remained the same, yet in others, she became radically different.
i loved the juxtaposition of dom and rose. their war was a masterpiece of performance art. the poor girls are only 16/17 years old, and creating flawless public personas like pros. imagine how carefully they would present themselves to real life society -- their social media accounts! they would rival the kardashians and jenners in maintaining an envious and adulation-inspiring public image. that said, i would sooner become obsessed with rose or dom as social media queens than i will ever become enamoured of the kardashians/jenners.
i will NEVER forgive you for driving me to ship al and clem. i knew i knew i KNEW it would never ever work out but you somehow made me root for them and love them and their twisted seduction. god i was a MESS when i realized once and for all it would not work out for them. their romance? -- i guess is the only word -- was ever so convoluted and i started to hope that they would make it. i should have known.
never in a million years would i have thought the ending would be as it is. if you had told me it was a kiss, i would have thought clem and al (because i couldn't let myself DREAM of pickett and scorpius!) if you had told me it was a kiss between pickett and clem i would have thrown something because HOO BOY that was something i really didn't see coming. like clemence, i suppose i was too distracted by al coming in with the rolled up sleeves and endless steam.
it was quite a ride and i don't entirely feel satisfied by it. i doubt i could ever top your finale, but it feels incomplete still. i suppose that's a good thing in some ways. though i might rather have a ridiculously saccharine ending (ie: the Epilogue of HP7. i retched on the sweetness, even tho i was 11 and weeping buckets) than this unresolved sort of feeling. i suppose that's just me. god knows i wouldn't be able to survive another novel with Clemence as the snarky, bitter narrator. i loved her in all her b!tchy teenage glory, but i doubt i could love an adult clem quite as much.
delicious job overall. top notch stuff. i'm off to stalk the rest of your stories. ta!
ps: i WOULD read another novel with Janey as the protagonist. i never saw that twist at the end coming. i love that it was the one thing that made clemence treat her like an equal, yet the one thing that destroyed clem's high opinion of her
pps: i really do hope al all the best after the events of this story. he remains my favorite of the weasley-potter kids. i don't think i could pick a favorite character out of this story if i tried. i love them all. except maybe Appy, but i do love to hate her.

Author's Response: ahh it's so great to hear from people who stumble onto this fic with NO idea what they're in for. I wrote it for multiple audiences so I intentionally wanted it to have readable as both trashy teen comedy and this actually-going-in-the-other-direction satire, but the real story that it became - Clemence's emotional ramp-up - actually wasn't planned. But I can't see it any other way now. She starts the story as devil-may-care as one can be with a narration to match--it's literally all fun and games--and by the end she is roughened and somber, the same cynic in many ways but irrevocably different in how she wears it.

Dom and Rose are 100% aesthetic; oh the SLOGANS they'd have. The digital age is made for them tbh, if only wizards caught up.

I'm glad now my new readers get to read straight through the story at once and are actually catching all the details I put in??? (most people had to read it over the course of YEARS, bless them). And it's nice to know it's actually p clear that Albus and Clemence aren't meant to be together when it's all read together (though still agonizing muahaha). Maybe it's also the changing times and the reduced expectation of romance; stories are SO much more varied and different now compared to five years ago when I started writing this - I could barely name a single popular anti-heroine when I started writing this! And YA was still entirely trendy trope focused. I'm really glad for how the genre's grown and for the Gone Girl effect.

If I had the time, I would've loved to explore Pickett and Scorpius' friendship; I like to think Scorpius confirmed Pickett's pansexuality to him. I did think about a romance but I think they're romantically attracted to different kinds of people (both are attracted to trouble lmao). I think the general consensus is Scorpius 100% deserves better than Albus so we're all cheering for him.

HOO BOY INDEED, yeah I can't believe I ended it with a KISS first of all, secondly THAT ONE. My heart was RACING the day I posted this.

I have such a specific brand of resolution. I actually adore ADORE happy endings and fluff, believe it or not lol, but when I'm actually putting words on the page, I lean toward hopeful possibility and it often comes out bittersweet. To me, Clemence has taken small steps to opening up, and it's the smallness of those steps combined with the utter difficulty in taking them that makes her all the realer to me, unlike a lot of brash-but-softening characters that misunderstand how core such cynicism is to one's identity. I have all the world's happiness in my head for her, but I wanted to end the story appropriate for those small steps. Clemence doesn't know what's coming next; she's raw and afraid with a fistful of defiant hope; the questions she asks about love and justice and everything else never really get answered... but those kinds of questions don't have answers. Love stories don't happen one way, and fairness is in the eye of the beholder.

I'd hope Adult!Clemence is settled in her skin though. I actually imagine her as a private eye 8)

Also LOVE your description of Janey and Clemence's relationship. That is 100% what I wanted to show. I love the quiet, reliable ingenue who is secretly capable of setting (mostly figurative) fires. Would make A+ protagonist.

Rather ironically, Albus shows his first real bit of growth in the epilogue, only made possibly by his first real bit of loss. I think he'll be quite fine, though he really ought to lay off the firewhiskey.

All my stories are SO different from each other lol but I hope you find more you like! Thank you SO much for your detailed review. I have some extra stuff over at tumblr if you want to check it out (graphics; extended epilogue kiss lmao, if that's your thing; plans for the original story). ♥ ♥ ♥!


 Report Review

Review #9, by SilverMoonFairy 

9th August 2016:
My friend has this problem where all her stories end up like this- ridiculously funny to deadly serious. She can't figure out why she can't keep them funny all the way through.

I'm okay with this ending. It's messy and that's who Clemence is. It's fitting, even if I did shed tears and sacrifice sleep to get here.

I am WindingArrow on the forums if you didn't know. If you ever write this as OF and publish, please let me know. I really want to read that story.

Forever invested in Witchy Business
-Liz

Author's Response: Thank you so much for reading and reviewing and getting all the way to the end ♥ I'm so glad that after all the stress and emotional overloading you liked the story and resolution; when I was responding to your early reviews, I was just waiting to see how you'd react once you got to the more serious waters. I saw your responses to the book club on the forums too, thank you for participating in that!! I'll be tracking my progress on OF on my tumblr; it'll be a while, and another bout of hard work, but I'm really happy people are looking forward to it.

Thank you again!


 Report Review

Review #10, by Kaylee 

9th August 2016:
I'm a new reader, and I've read this entire fic in two days. I had to put my phone down at 4 am and reconsider my life choices. I often indulge in the quite cliche and often repetitive James/OC and Albus/OC fics, I was a frequent reader about three years ago and I have found myself coming back.

I have enjoyed some of these fics a lot, cliche as they may be. However, I often find myself enjoying a story less and less as it goes on. When I say you Author's note early on about this fic being different, I'm not sure what I expected. It wasn't this.

I've read hundreds of Harry Potter fanfics, but when I think about the period three years ago, I can only remember once story that stuck with me. I think this might be the second.

Maybe this is because I have been reading this non stop for two days, but I was floored when Albus and Clemence didn't end up together. But then, after reading the epilogue, it just clicked. It didn't really make sense for them to end up together. Maybe it could have worked, but it also made sense that it didn't.

If you had told me maybe five chapters back that they wouldn't end up together, I don't this I could have handled it. But now, I really see it. And I just want to thank you as an author for writing this piece of fiction that really challenged me as a reader.

This has been a pretty nonsensical rambling, but yeah. I just want to say thank you. I feel kinda weird, like this story actually had an impact on me. Is there any way for me to find your original works? This could be a really great novel. Though I've just discovered you, I appreciate the time and craft you've put into this story.

Author's Response: Ahhh! Thank you so much! Nothing against cliches by themselves - I have my own guilty pleasures - but I wished there was more depth to certain kinds of relationships and characters (especially characters like Clemence and love/hate relationships) for when I wanted something *not* cliche. When I went looking, I came up with almost nothing. People have told me how much this fic has meant to them and it brings such a smile to my face because that means these readers wanted same story I wanted to read. And I love when I'm able to write a story that people don't expect to like, and they end up loving it.

I was on the fence about Albus and Clemence, but honestly in my gut, I always wanted her to walk away; I just didn't fully know why, not until she put her distrust into words. Could she be genuinely vulnerable around him? Did she think he would step in the line of fire for her? No. She's seen this time and time again, and it's always been no. With all the time in the world, that might change, but what would push Albus to change? Only losing her. Turned out rather poetic.

I'm oddhour on tumblr! You can find the link on my profile. I haven't posted any original works online, but I am working on an original version of etc :) Thank you so much again! Knowing my story made an impact is one of the best compliments!


 Report Review

Review #11, by Reader 

1st August 2016:
Im gonna be honest...I feel like clemence didn't really deserve a happy ending. She never really changed or atoned for her mistakes. A lot of this fic read as blatant wish fulfillment dressed up in pretty words.

Author's Response: Fair enough, I suppose we'll disagree here. I do think Clemence matured, and a big question about the fic is really whether anyone truly changes or atones. I don't think she needs to explicitly do so to arrive to this resolution.

 Report Review

Review #12, by baletgir 

24th July 2016:
I'm so sad this is over, but I am really glad you've stick with it and finished this! It is so sad how many people have disappeared from HPFF and abandoned fics (I'm just as guilty of this), so it's great to see someone who is still dedicated.

I always come back to HPFF when real life is less than stellar, and it's great to be able to come back to Harry Potter characters because they are like old friends.

This fic was wonderful, and I reread the entire thing before finishing it and I loved it just as much the second time around. There were so many great aspects that I can't even pick a favorite twist, but it was really real. I'm so glad that she didn't end up with Albus, too easy. And Janey burning down the newsroom? I never would have guessed that, I was shocked, but it was brilliant!

I hope you keep writing, I look forward to reading other fics by you in the future!

Author's Response: Thank you!! I'd feel waaay guilty leaving stories unfinished, if I got this far. I did very nearly give up at the end, but I'm so glad I didn't. The response I've gotten for the last few chapters have been so rewarding *u*

I love that a lot of the twists were really just Clemence's expectations going awry; she's mostly burned by herself or by risky situations she knowingly enters - her wonderful running theme. Albus, too, defies her expectations constantly, from his initial impression to his last one.

♥ thank you so much! ^__^


 Report Review

Review #13, by dawn_rising 

29th May 2016:
10/10 what an AMAZING story! I wasn't sure it would ever get finished, but it did and I'm so glad I stuck around for the end.

Author's Response: Thank you! It was a trial, but I finally did manage to finish it :'D

 Report Review

Review #14, by a 

28th May 2016:
alknhbvftcxszxecrvtbynuimo,komjinhou gfytcdxec7rf68tg7yh

Author's Response: I will take this as a good thing.

 Report Review

Review #15, by pinkpanther16 

15th May 2016:
Wow, I can't believe this story is finally over. It HAS been a wild ride. With all of the stuff that Clemence and the other characters have been through, I'm surprised they all made it out alive. Congratulations for pulling though and finishing the story, as well as writing this intriguing, original, well written masterpiece. I'm so glad I was able to follow you through your journey. :)

Author's Response: A little knocked down, but alive :') Thank you so much for reading!

 Report Review

Review #16, by Bluewolf80 

14th May 2016:
This isn't the type of HP fanfic that I usually read, but I enjoyed it all the same. It was crazy and whimsical. Some out of the characters were totally outrageous (hem, hem Appy and gang) yet it made the experience more fun and amusing.
I'm very big on technical details so the issues of having a paper in school that is left in the loos, mobs of girls, crazy clubs, drinking w/out getting caught, elections for Head Boy/Girl and using the Goblet of Fire. I realize this is a less serious story but most of those things wouldn't have been possible at Hogwarts. Some others... maybe, if rules changed a great deal in the 20 years since The Trio were there. It's still a strict private boarding school; not a public high school. I can see where the standards would have to be relaxed for your plotline to work though.
Overall good job!

Author's Response: Thanks! It's in no way supposed to be a "realistic" take on school; it's a satirical take - closer to the kind of silly setup you'd find in a teen comedy movie or similar. I'm not concerned with the story following canon Hogwarts (it would be far different story otherwise!) as long as the setting is internally consistent.

 Report Review

Review #17, by randomniname 

11th May 2016:
This epilogue was so perfect. Everything is settled, everyone is calm, it's like observing the now clean and empty room you are moving out of, a sense of completion and of loss, a farewell but also the joyful expectation of new thrilling things.

It is late, I am tired, I am deeply moved by this ending and my eyes are a bit watery for some reason. I'll leave a more rational review tomorrow, but for now just one thing: thank you Gina. etc. is the first story where I feel such attachment towards all characters, but also the author, the artwork, the language and everything (and I've been a bookworm since I can hold a book).
I'll go to sleep with a cosy warm feeling in my chest tonight.
Kisses from Germany!

Author's Response: I screeched about an ambiguous ending for so long that I'm shocked myself at how settled everything is. But the one thing I was certain about was that everything would be both different and the same and life would going on, and so it does.

Ahh! I can't wait to hear more from you. I'm so glad you feel that way. It means so much coming from a fellow bookworm ♥


 Report Review

Review #18, by Celeste 

11th May 2016:
GINA MY LOVE.

CONGRATULATIONS, YOU'VE DONE IT AND I AM SO PROUD OF YOU.

I know I've jumped on and off and on and off this story during these past five years, but nonetheless, it has always been an amazing story. I think I told you in the beginning when you were writing it that it was hard for me to read -- because I was SO jealous that I hadn't written it and couldn't write like this. This story, beyond being steamy and shippy, is so clever and fun and witty. All the witticisms, the snappy retorts, the awesome descriptions, have basically made etc a joy to read (despite turning me a horrendous shade of green).

Ok. Clemence. I have been there with Clemence since the day you picked her name and I went "What kind of name is that??" I remember the days of Priscilla/Clemence (they even ended up with the same face claim in the end!! Lily Collins! They are soul sisters) and our convos on snarky women. And Clemence is snarky, and complicated, and convoluted, but this story has been about more than just her growth--it has been about her discovery of herself, of who she is when she peels back her own expectations and facades. And watching her grow has been amazing. One of my fave aspects of this story is watching her grow more self-aware and more honest, even if it was painful. I also love how respectful your story as been of her...and of teenagers as a whole, actually. Their feelings, their theatrics, their romances, it's all valid and real.

Albus. Ok, you know how I feel about the Albus of it all. I mean, Albus is necessary. I like him. I even kind of shipped Clebus in this chapter if only because it was really hard to see him so torn up about it. But I mean Albus is steamy and all, but I am here for the Clemence of the situation and always have been.

I was SO happy with the ending!! You know I have unabashedly pushed for the Clickett and it was so the right move for this story.

This story has been such a fun and well-written ride. A story of self, selfishness, self-truths and self-discoveries. Your writing is and has been a joy to read.

I hope you keep writing and keep amazing us.

Love,
Celeste

Author's Response: IT'S DONE, I'VE DONE IT, AHHH. Five YEARS.

Teehee I'm glad you could read it through your horrendous green jealousy, even though you know, I have plenty of green for you, so obviously we ought to all become Slytherins. You, Julia, Gubby, and others have all shaped my sense of humor, so I owe those witticisms partly to all of you. Otherwise, I'd just be making puns and newspaper headlines all day.

(I did not realize Clemence would be such a controversial name! The pronunciation! The gender! And here I just thought it was a form of clemency!)

I always say that, as ridiculous as the situations in etc. are, is it really more ridiculous than real life? Is it not just a microcosm of the world and its media circuses, flashy headlines, and watered-down politics? The world never stops being teenage drama, really, it's just dressed up in different ways, so I could never think teens are ridiculous; the WORLD is ridiculous. And making sense of yourself in that world is an ongoing struggle. Clemence never really "answers" any of her own questions, because they're the sort of questions that don't have ones, but she finds a certain peace with them, and I'm glad for that.

I can't believe how many of you who were here when I started writing this ship Clickett. It's like everyone was in on the memo except me!! I mean, I shipped it vaguely but I never thought it would be a thing (I got caught in the Albus of it all) but THEN SUDDENLY I'M WRITING IT.

and I'm glad you like it and everything else, and you are so sweet ♥U♥ thank you SO MUCH!


 Report Review

Review #19, by AlexFan 

10th May 2016:
I was a little heartbroken when I found out that Albus and Clemence weren't going to get together (I've read the the same James/Lily fic for the past two weeks, I was that shocked. Is this how Snily shippers feel?) That being said, I've come to accept it, and this epilogue kind of helped me accept that fact. I don't know why but this epilogue just made it really obvious that ALbus and Clemence weren't made to last. But I would hope that somewhere in the future the two of them would at least learn how to be proper friends with each other.

I liked that the story ended on a cheery note, it's been such a wild ride that it's kind of nice to see all of the characters moving on in one way or another and slowly figuring out who they are. When I think about it, Pickett and Clemence understood each other that Albus and Clemence didn't.

And most importantly, I'm so happy that there was actually an end to the story, there were a lot of times that I worried this story would never be finished, and would just sit as a work in progress and it's haunted me for years. It kept me up at night sometimes because oh my god what if she never finishes the story, I need to know how it ends! So yay! I'm so glad this story managed to see its own end and good luck on all of your original stories!

Author's Response: I think the love story of etc. still firmly belongs to Albus and Clemence. It's just not a love story that has a clean, happy resolution. They clashed, loved for the briefest of moments (or are still in love, for certain parties), and parted. There was something great there, even if it wasn't healthy or lasting; a love, even if it wasn't an epic.

I'm personally happy it ended on a cheery note! because I knew the general situation it would end with but I had no idea as to the tone—it definitely wasn't supposed to end in a kiss! It was sort of thrilling to end it that way, so uncharacteristically unambiguous of me :p

Apologies for any lost sleep, bahaha, I know the feeling. I felt so bad while updating the last few chapters because it literally took years! Thank you for sticking with it, and all your lovely comments!


 Report Review

Review #20, by mcdash 

10th May 2016:
I love it. I love love love it. I wasn't too shocked about Clem and Pickett because I've grown to love them together (or do I just love Pickett/anyone?). But Janey? Never who I thought would be the person to do it. I thought that maybe Dom had set the room ablaze since she was pretty much out the door by the end of the story anyways, but I love that it was Janey. She's my favorite.
This was such an amazing story, no matter how many years it took to get here. Some of my favorite characters ever are in etc. (literally just Scorpius) and I think it's been a real treat to read it, so, really, thank you, Gina.

Author's Response: Pickett/Anyone sounds about right :D Dom is many things but strangely not malicious; mostly vain xD Janey--I always thought Clemence underestimated her; coddled her, in an way. I love the weird way they leave each other at the end, where it feels like Clemence finally sees her as a rival but loses respect for her as a person. And Scorpius appreciates your appreciation!

♥ ♥ ♥!


 Report Review

Review #21, by C 

10th May 2016:
I can't believe etc is finally over! (Or that "Pickett I ship it" is endgame, although I'm much more pleased by the latter fact than the former). This story's been a part of my life for years now, one of the two fanfics I still follow, and it's been a privilege to see it through to the end. Thank you so much for writing this wonderful wonderful story, for sharing it with all of us; if your original work is ever published, I look forward to reading it!

Author's Response: ME NEITHER. Thank you so much for following this fic through the years and while it's changed. I still keep track of authors and comics and blogs that have been dormant for years, so I know the feeling of waiting an eternity for a resolution, and I'm so glad it's been worth it for you. Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #22, by naughtforreal 

10th May 2016:
SUNFLOWERS!!!

It's done! I can't believe it. I have this warm feeling in my chest and I sort of feel like crying and smiling and Gina, I am so proud of you!

I am so proud of Clemence, too. Honestly, this chapter is oozing with quotable quotes--nope, the whole etc etc is oozing with quotable quotes nothing new

but I adored this:

I became who I needed to be to survive, and today, I will take the rubble inside of me, forge a new self, and do it again.

But I'll remember.


(just because I am a sucker for rising above the ashes monologues)

and I haven't really told you this but I'm really glad to stumble upon etc etc. It started out as this 'Get the Boy' stuff and it tumbled, rolled and it didn't splat. Instead, it rolled into this amazing girl-powered bowling ball throwing off stereotyped bowling pins along the way.

(I tried on the metaphor but you can ignore it)

My heart clapped for Clappy and poor, traumatized Albus. Janey the Usurper, well. I kinda refused to see that coming. I knew it had to be one of the Witchy Business staff and I'm sorry I thought it was Dom (I thought she was tired of the drama) but well played, Janey, well played.

Anyway, SUNFLOWERS!!!

Transfigured as booze.

WHICH IS EVEN BETTER than the sunflowers themselves. (Honestly, Henry. Where can one buy you?)

I am not complaining with the kiss ending. That is all you need to know. #Clicket4Eva XD

GINA. It's over. Well done, my friend. You've been amazing. You deserve a bouquet of flower-transfigured-booze too. Or cake. Cake is better, I think. AHHH whatever it is you're about to do next, I'll be creeping upon you once in a while. Or twice. ♥♥♥

Author's Response: SUNFLOWERS!!! Are they not the HAPPIEST flowers and thus PERFECT for Clemence? She has never been so simultaneously touched and horrified.

I had all of those same feelings when I finished, as well as frantically messaging literally everyone I possibly could and trying to find an outlet for them.

The newsroom burning is funny to me because that was ALWAYS in the plan - one of the very few things to make it through from the beginning. And the phoenix rising from the ashes metaphor fit SO PERFECTLY (and makes a great newspaper name) and I loved writing that Heathers-esque imagery of Clemence walking down the hallway covered in smoke and ash, tired yet defiant.

:3 I also very much appreciate your metaphor. I will frame it. Mainly because it did very much start as a straight parody and became this hulking ball of female-led politics.

Omg perpetually shocked at people thinking it was Dom! She's so chill. She never really DOES anything, things just kind of get handed to her, so I never imagined her capable of doing something so dramatic. But Janey, well, Janey's 100% a do-er and does those things 100%.

BUT YES. SUNFLOWERS. BOTH transfigured as booze and actual sunflowers!! I couldn't wait for you to read the ending :'D I paused and thought at one point, "oh my god Dianne's face when she reads this"

♥ ahhh thank you for all your squees, I still can't believe it's over AHHH


 Report Review

Review #23, by happyanon 

10th May 2016:
Its not quite the ending I thought but its definitely Clemence Fitzgerald. Thank for sharing this story for us to see. You've given Potterheads another world to enjoy magic. Thank you! This will truly be a most memorable fanfic for me. I have come to love your characters and your metaphors. And choice of words. And I will forever adore this story. I hope only good things for you. A bright future for you in writing!! Much love, as always!

Author's Response: It's been quite the adventure, both me dragging Clemence around and Clemence dragging me along; and the metaphors! I didn't think I had that many in me.

Thank you! c:


 Report Review

Review #24, by GubraithianFire 

9th May 2016:
You did it, oh my god oh my god OH MY GOD. OH MY GOD. I’ve been freaking out ALL DAY because oh my god, oh my god, I have no other words. Congratulations. I’m so proud of you. Thank you for this story – for all the stories you’ve already written and the ones you’ve yet to write – but thank you especially for writing etc etc. HP fanfic, let alone the Albus/OC-with-a-twist genre (can we call it a genre, or did you make it one?) would not be what it is without etc etc. I would not be what I am without it (and, um, without you, probably).

One of these days – probably this time in exactly a week – I’m going to go back and reread this from the beginning, mostly because I remember almost nothing of anything before chapter 20, but partly, also, because I love the narrative evolution that’s happening here so much, and I want to see it actually evolve over one sitting instead of over several years. Or rather, the narrative evolution that has already happened. Because this is done. Life goes on, and I fully expect this will too, in its myriad forms, but, you know. I'm trying to gather my thoughts and realizing that I don't have the mental capacity to say very much of anything. I remember when Capers was being finished, I knew essentially what I wanted to say, but for this, idk, it's a harder thing to reckon with, or maybe it's because by now you know exactly what I'm trying to say, and you'd say it so much better than me (and more quickly, and with less parentheticals), and I've probably said it all already at some point or other before, but anyway:

It's been such a pleasure to watch Clemence grow, and you with her, or vice versa. It's been such a pleasure to watch this story get increasingly complex, increasingly vibrant, increasingly dark and unsettling and romantic and definitely not romantic. I'm constantly in awe of how you've navigated all these threads, all these characters, and Albus especially (that closure scene is marvelous), the specific kind of minotaur-in-the-maze our poor Clemence fears she is. (Does this make Pickett Ariadne? I know this is not the myth, but I like the idea that Pickett is trying to lead Clemence out of the maze she and Albus/Theseus made). You imbue so much independent life into all these characters - their psychologies, their dialogues, their very selves - and I know a lot of that is you, and I don't know how you manage to do it, but that you do it, and that you execute it so flawlessly... Gina, you're s u c h a good writer. In case you ever, ever doubt it, or forget it, let me remind you, you are. No one else could have written this story, though many have tried. (Me included, twice; not including Confectionary, which I affectionately think of as having started it all). You are, in every sense of the word, an original. I don't know if Capers solidified your authorial voice more than this, but etc etc is a truly unforgettable work. Except for... all the things... I did forget... ahem.

There's one thing I actually have never forgotten, though. You can guess what that is:

22nd February 2011:

Clemence is such a '30s gumshoe that it's incredible. I love her. And her editing quill and her crew and Pickett, who I already imagine as this brooding sex god in the making. Clemence/Pickett. Clickitt. I don't even know, partner in crime.


And this:

Author's Response: BROODING HENRY. You and your ill-fated ships. I hadn't even considered it, but Clickett is so catchy. Especially compared to Clebus, which sounds like a bad hick name.

I called it from the very beginning, over five years ago, but even I didn't think it would end with a kiss.

♥ here's to climbing out of the morbid curiosity rabbit hole at last

Author's Response: I can breathe finally oh my god. I'm still rereading it like I can't believe it, it's done (it's CANON), it's DONE. God, all of you sing such high praises, I can't; I am melting; I am plummeting my head into my blankets flailing; I am making incoherent noises at 2am.

Even though most of etc's story has changed because my whims themselves changed and not due to some overall plan, it's weirdly appropriate to see Clemence's narration morph from overconfident, devil-may-care gossip reporter to war-hardened leader - to survive, as she would say, when really she doesn't need to do any of this at all. She does it because she cares - so much! - and the remarkable thing is how she's suppressed it for so long.

In the beginning she is Clemence and at the end she is Clemence, yet the difference is so stark, just in the way she talks and carries herself. She's exhausted. She repeats that over and over. Caring in the slightest exhausts her and I understand why the Clemence in the beginning had to exist and how she could have easily continued to exist if no tempting enough of an obstacle came in her way. But it did, and she can't go back, and now we have this wounded-but-very-much-alive, *hopeful* Clemence of the epilogue.

I'm dying a little bit at the Ariadne comparisons, but now I'm picturing it and I can't unsee Greek Myth AU; brb making more incoherent noises.

But mostly dying a lot over everything you're saying ♥♥♥ you are saying things I don't know how to respond to. Clemence's story (in its various forms, fic, OF, etc) is/will be probably the most personal story I'll ever write and I'm embarrassed to say how much I learned about myself while writing it; or maybe I just dug out those thoughts I could never put into words and forced them into words; those questions no one else was asking, Clemence asks. etc answers so few of the questions it raises partly because I don't have the answers and I'm LOOKING for the answers as I write, but I also know they're not meant to be universally answered.

THANK YOU SO MUCH ♥ thank you 2011 gubby for predicting Clickett first and giving the ship its name and for climbing into the morbid curiosity rabbit hole with me; thank you 2016 gubby for being equally flabbergasted that I ended this WITH A KISS of ALL THINGS.

just thank you ♥ ♥ ♥


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review