Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
12 Reviews Found

Review #1, by onestop_hpfan18 

21st August 2016:
The tension between them in this chapter is unbearable... yet when she pulls that photo from the tabloid out of his pocket, well I actually felt a twinge of hope for them. But then it got real at the end of this chapter and I'm not sure how it'll all end. Whether they'll get back together or say goodbye. But I don't want them to say goodbye. So many mixed feelings and what-if scenarios dancing in my mind.

Author's Response: I haven't read this chapter in so long, reading your review made me glance over it again. The tabloid photo! Yes! Especially after Edie has gone on thinking that Oliver didn't even care about his press. Then suddenly it's there in his pocket. In my mind he tore it out ages ago and forgot about it. Maybe I should add in some dialogue about how it's an old cloak and he hasn't been staring at it every night. The photo wasn't supposed to be her realizing that he's still carrying a torch, so much as spurring the conversation that leads to their final breakup.

But that's for another day.



 Report Review

Review #2, by nott theodore 

10th May 2016:
Hello! Ah, it's been far too long since I've left a review (on any story) but I'm letting myself take a little break from revision to get back to this story. I'm excited and a bit sad to know that it's finished now, but congratulations!

Ah, I'm really hoping for something a bit happier from the next chapter, because there were so many things in this one which were just a bit heartbreaking for me to read! I was so excited for Edie to finally get to see Oliver again, especially now other parts of her life are going much better than they were before, because honestly I felt like she probably needed to be in a better place herself before she could try and sort out the mess that happened with Oliver. Even so, I didn't think it was going to work out quite as well as Edie seemed to be hoping, and I'm kind of sad that I seem to have been right (at least this far).

The meeting at the start was sufficiently awkward to fit everything we know about the two of them. I felt so sorry for Edie, though, when she went to give Oliver a hug and was hoping for more and he just stood there all awkwardly. I could tell even then that he still cared about her enough not to want her to be completely embarrassed, but he was so cold (comparatively) and it was so awkward to see the two of them so far from what they used to be to each other.

I loved getting to see Neville and Aurelia as teachers at Hogwarts, too, and the way that you described Hogwarts was so cool - it kind of felt like we were returning there with Edie, since it's been a while since I read the books. I loved the way that she felt surrounded in magic again because the whole place is designed specifically for it. It really made me feel like I was going back there with her.

The idea of the staff having a party at the end of the year is a great one - I don't blame them for it either, since teaching is such a hard job. I feel like they definitely deserved to let off steam, and it made me laugh how excited Neville was to get drunk at school. It would definitely feel a bit strange to drink where you'd never been allowed to.

Hannah ♥ It was great to see her, and I love the way you portrayed her here, she's so sweet and lovely. Her and Neville make such a good couple!

Ah, the photo! I was so sure that something different was going to come from Edie discovering that Oliver still kept the photo of them in his robes when I read that part, but I'm not sure any more - still hoping, though! I definitely think that Edie and Oliver needed to talk properly about the situation and everything that had happened, and I'm glad she's had a chance to apologise, but I'm really hoping for a different ending. I'm reading on to find out :)

Sian :)

Author's Response: Hey! I am so sorry, this is THE LONGEST IT HAS EVER TAKEN ME to respond to a review in my history of HPFF. To be honest I was really unhappy with the writing of these last two chapters and was a bit embarrassed to go back and read it, and respond to reviews, but now I'm feeling more proactive and ready to edit.

This chapter was a bit sad, wasn't it? I was thinking a lot about Real Life Relationships versus the way we portray them in fic. In my experience, if somebody caused a person as much drama and stress as Edie did to Oliver, they would have just moved on. And as much as I wanted them to be full of ~PINING and ANGST~ for each other, I just had to write about that. Generally, if someone is bad for you, you would not be happy with them.

omg the hug!! Honestly I know somebody who that happened to--I remember hearing the story about it like, ten years ago, and not knowing the person and it being a friend of a friend, and I still don't know if I ever actually met the ill-fated-hugger. But it stuck with me because it sounds so awkward and hilarious and I just had to write about it! So whoever you are out there in the world, thank you for hugging someone the wrong way.

Yes, all of their interactions are Oliver trying to be distant and still being a little angry with her, and then letting his guard down/forgetting, and showing that he still does care about her. This chapter was hard to write that way!

NEVILLE

He was seriously not at all relevant to the chapter but I wanted to include him. Isn't he (at least in terms of the actor) the biggest VISUAL EVIDENCE of WOW TIME HAS GONE BY SINCE WE "LEFT HOGWARTS" AND THE BOOKS ENDED LIKE HOW DID THIS PERSON GET SO HOT

He just embodies change and time for me in a funny way. :)

Aurelia Sinistra is totally based on a customer I have at work who is just, like, HOW are you that pretty? And she's unsmiling and wears these leather motorcycle jackets and has long black hair and is so quiet but I *think* kind of likes my awkward customer service presence and anyway. She really inspired the character for Aurelia--but I also thought it would be important to discuss whether or not Oliver had moved on to other relationships. I imagine that he and Aurelia had some sort of fling, but because they were both professors (and other reasons) it never went anywhere.

Thank you so much for reviewing and again I am SO SORRY it took so long to respond!

♥ ♥


 Report Review

Review #3, by Andromeda 

13th April 2016:
OH MY GOD YOU FINALLY UPDATED I LOVE IT PLEASE POST THE NEXT PART AS SOON AS YOU CAN! I'M SO EXCITED I'M SHAKING!

Author's Response: Yes, I did! The final chapter is in the queue :) Thanks for reading!

 Report Review

Review #4, by Bella 

5th April 2016:
Aa I have waited for ever! This is one of the best fanfics I have read. I have to reread it because I have forgotten alot. My heart breaks, this is too much like real life, feels like my break up when he says he doesn't feel anything for her. I hate cliches but this is so sad :( I don't know, suprise me, and post the next chapter now!! Love you :*

Author's Response: Aww, thank you! I know it's taken forever--I really had no idea it had been almost a year until I casually glanced at my "last published" on chapter 31 and was like O_O

So thank you for sticking with this story! The fact that people put up with my procrastination is actually amazing. And I'm sorry to hear about your breakup! Sending hugs your way. Last time I went through that, I read a lot of fic and ate a lot of candy...

The next chapter is written, and I'm just scared to post it because I don't know if it's ready or not! Editing editing editing is my new mantra, since most of this fic was just word-vomited onto the site.

Thank you! ♥


 Report Review

Review #5, by Emily 

24th March 2016:
More please! Seriously, you are an amazing writer- I check back every few weeks to peek for an update and it made my night when I saw this chapter! Thanks for updating! :)

Author's Response: Awww, thank you! I really appreciate that people are still checking back on this story to see if it's still alive... It does have a pulse, albeit faint ;) Working away to edit the last chapter to perfection! As usual a thousand plunnies are jumping at me and I'm fighting to keep from putting all of them in and adding ANOTHER chapter.



 Report Review

Review #6, by B 

16th March 2016:
SO excited to see read update!!! Loved Oliver, Edie and your writing, as always. Seriously cannot wait for the next chapter.

Author's Response: Thank you!! I really thought I'd have the next chapter up by now... Y'see I don't actually own a computer and have to use the bf's when he doesn't need it, which is only when he isn't working, which is when I'd rather be playing Uno and drinking beer with him than writing and DO YOU SEE MY PREDICAMENT. Anyway, long story short, I have the laptop now and am working away! :D

 Report Review

Review #7, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap 

6th March 2016:
ďFor the HPFF Review-A-ThonĒ

Youíre back! Yay! And I just came back too. Right in time for your update.

In the end I am straddling his leg, vice gripping him like a koala to a tree. To save my dignity he offers a one-armed half-hug with about as much vigor as a dead fish.

Well you canít say the girl doesnít deserve it. That would be my reaction too. He agreed to meet her but Oliver doesnít have to make it easy for her. He also doesnít owe her anything.

Slap my face and call me Voldemort, Neville Longbottom got hot.

Well, itís not like we all havenít said it before.

Oh boy. Between awkward exchanges, invites and them finally talking I donít know what to think or feel. I guess Iíve always wanted them to end up together in the end but sometimes that doesnít work out. I understand how Oliver feels. She completely betrayed him and his life was turned upside down. Yes, she made a mistake and he realized that later on but the effects were still too great. Plus, if he brings her back into his life how will his sister feel? Thatís a lot to think about and consider.

I feel like Edie has been redeemed a little bit with this chapter. The only thing I didnít like was her little lie about a boyfriend. Obviously he saw right through her but just for once for me anyway I wanted her to be outright and tell the truth. I just wanted her to apologize. Iím glad she did in the end. I think they could work it out but I see the final chapter as them being at least friends for awhile unless you surprise me and do a time jump or something else entirely.

Author's Response: Hello again! Glad to have you back :)

Yes, exactly! The most important thing they need to think about--especially Oliver, after his rough start to legal guardianship--is what Ada has to say about it.

Glad Edie is redeemed! I struggled a lot with how to convey that she was truly, genuinely sorry, and that she realizes how terrible she's been, without her being forceful about his forgiveness. Any emotion Oliver feels towards her, good or bad, has to be his own. So hopefully that came across okay!

And I actually agree about the fake boyfriend thing. I was struggling so much with this interaction, which is unusual. Edie and Oliver flirting or talking about Quidditch or cute-bickering? Psshh, easy. This was really tough and I thought that if she told a stupid lie, small enough to not matter, and to add a bit of humor to the situation, it would flow better. But I think I need to re-work this section because it's not imperative enough to the story and, you're right, it does paint her in a bad light again.

Time jump?

We will see.

♥ Thank you!


 Report Review

Review #8, by LittleMissAutumn 

5th March 2016:
YOU UPDATED!!! ...now update again...please?! I want them to be happy together

Author's Response: Heya! Interesting to hear that some people still want it to work out between them :) That's all I'm saying... Well, that and thank you for reviewing! ♥

 Report Review

Review #9, by G 

3rd March 2016:
Mmmfghfghfgh!!! Nearly a year of waiting, and you leave us with this horribly sad end to a chapter!? You are a cruel, cruel author! But its okay I forgive you, cause it was a damn good chapter, although Edie makes me cringe with her awkwardness, and oliver is just so moody is annoying (although i understands why) pls pls update soon

Author's Response: Hahaha! I'm sorry, I had to! It was just WAY TOO LONG to put into one chapter, and I am selfish, and didn't want details being skipped over because SO MUCH HEAVY TALKING happens.

Don't worry, it won't be another year this time :)



 Report Review

Review #10, by marauderfan 

2nd March 2016:
Hi! So glad to see this chapter appear :)

Slap my face and call me Voldemort -- I laughed so hard at this. XD

Ok, but onto the rest of it - I think you did a wonderful job with this chapter - it's so full of conflicting emotions and that aspect of it really shines. This chapter shows how much Edie has grown up, as here she apologises even though it's hard, and she really puts forth an unselfish effort to smooth things over. Yet at the same time she's so distinctly Edie, with her trunk falling open, and her last line of dialogue in the chapter haha, classic Edie. One thing I liked was how you showed Oliver's reaction to this, and I don't think you'd had this in the original draft yet, but the way you balanced his annoyance with Edie and his efforts to keep a professional, unattached manner, with the way her odd quirks still make him laugh despite himself - this was really well done and they both seem as if they're in this weird limbo of "now what?" Life is complicated and there are good and bad sides to everything, and that was really demonstrated in this chapter.

Last but not least, I love Neville and Hannah and their cameo in this story. :D Great chapter! Can't wait for the next one (which I still can't believe is the last one omg.)

Author's Response: Hello you! Thank you again for helping with this chapter. I've (finally) gone and reviewed your wonderful Myrtle one-shot... Sorry for the lateness! :)

lololol I struggled with the "slap my face" line because, realistically, would people be saying the name Voldemort? I dunno, probably, after it's been ten years and Edie has no filter anyway.

MAN I really was worried about the conflicting emotions. I didn't want it to seem that Oliver was just saying "but I can't!" for no real reason. But how would he possibly explain to Ada that he is dating the woman that outed him, and ruined their relationship? And you were really helpful with how I could make Edie apologize sincerely, but without pressure to make Oliver forgive her. So thank you for that!

As for Oliver's efforts to stay unattached and the fact that he still finds her quirks funny, I was basically channeling two unfortunate times in particular that I spent with an ex, after we'd broken up. There is still chemistry, obviously, because you made a decision to be with that person, but it's so different now that it feels like you can't really go back. You're kind of caught in this limbo between enjoying each other's company and suddenly remembering "oh, right, you did that terrible thing to me, I can't laugh at your jokes."

Yeess! Hannah was a last-minute addition to the story, and really doesn't serve much of a purpose, but I just wanted her in there because I'm obsessed with minor characters. Huehuehue.

The next chapter just needs some fine-tuning and then it'll be up! (Really, this time.)

Thank you! ♥


 Report Review

Review #11, by HebrideanBlack 

2nd March 2016:
I remember reading this story quite recently (I just got back to HPFF after years of being away) and this story was among the few that REALLY reeled me back in. It was fresh and funny and had Donald Glover as Dean and it was amazing. Seeing how it got updated made me ecstatic. The tension between Edie and Oliver can be cut with a knife. I CAN'T WAIT.

Might go back and reread and leave more reviews just for you!

10/10, obviously.

Author's Response: Heya! I'm glad to hear that this story reeled you back in to HPFF-land. I myself was brought back just by writing it--it'd been five years (I think?) since I'd been on the site and one day I just got an inkling and, well, here we are (three years later oh man.)

Donald Glover is SO Dean, at least in this fic. Alfie Enoch is adorable, and probably more canon in personality too, but I like my mopey!Dean, and Donald is just enough hilarious and angsty to fill the role perfectly!

Oh gosh oh gosh, if you left the reviews I would just love it. Thanks so much for coming back! ♥


 Report Review

Review #12, by madness 

1st March 2016:


Author's Response: Hehe, thanks for reading ;)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review