Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
15 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Wandless Magic 

29th May 2017:
This first chapter was absolutely amazing! I am already hooked and probably wont be going to bed now so thanks for that lol

This group of friends has to be one of my all time favorites! Mostly because of how different and real they are! When you mentioned how they never fight despite their differences I was like.okay sure Jan...but then briefly mentioned how that is actually not the case, foreshadowing a possibly bigger fight I became absolutely giddy with excitement lol

I don't know if you watch New Girl (if you haven't seen it you should! I highly recommend it) but their dynamic reminded me of the episode where Jess and Cece are like oh we never fight! We are more mature and loving than that! And then Schmidt says something like oh I saw that purse in Jess's closet (despite them agreeing not to buy it as there was only one left and that wouldn't be fair) which then caused a huge blow out between the two and everything that ever bugged them about the other comes to the surface...and I feel like that is what's going to happen here and honestly I can't wait for it because bottling everything up isn't healthy and plus i live for the drama haha.

Your writing is absolutely beautiful, i hope you continue with this story as well as Kiss my Lips (Which is also now on my reading list)

 Report Review

Review #2, by AbraxanUnicorn 

17th March 2017:
Hello :) I'm here to review this story as one of the nominees in HPFT's Nargles awards. Yay! I have read Dorm 2.6A before, but I won't complain in the slightest about reading it again for reviewing purposes!

This is a wonderful first chapter, which makes light work of introducing quite a number of characters and outlines the plot. Immediately, I can see why this has been nominated for its inclusivity; Dormitory 2.6A seems to have a very diverse cast.

I absolutely adore feisty bonkers Dahlia; I think she is my favourite character in this chapter. Interestingly, I think she is the only one out of the six girls whose physical appearance isn't touched on at all in this chapter?

There's a lovely balance struck between dialogue and description in this chapter, and the exposition is perfect!

It's all set to be an amazing story :)

Best of Nargles luck :)

Brax X

Author's Response: Brax, I am actually the worst when it comes to responding to reviews, oh my gosh. Sorry for being so late!

Ahhh, you're making me blush. Honestly, the response at HPFT to this fic is, like, my proudest achievement. I'm so glad you like this chapter, especially because I just chuck a bunch of OCs at everyone and expect you all to love them :P

I love all the girls, but I do have a special spot for Dahlia tbh - it's probably why she's starring in the spin-off haha. It's interesting that you picked on the fact that I didn't describe her appearance considering it wasn't even something that occurred to me. Funny how we all notice different things!

Thank you for the review! This response is a bit of a mess, but it did mean a lot :)

Plums xo


 Report Review

Review #3, by lovegood27 

5th March 2017:
Thought I should check this story out :)

And omg, I absolutely love this so far. I really enjoyed reading about the six girls' different personalities, and their friendship is very amusing, to say the least.

I think my favourite character so far has to be Dahlia. She's so loud and brash, but she just cracks me up. And the thing is that she may not be like a stereotypical Hufflepuff (which is a good thing, by the way!) but the way you've portrayed is still very convincing. I also like Alice, because, come on, she's so sweet and lovely! I loved all your characters, but these two are the ones who stood out to me :)

The storyline is also sounding VERY promising. We all have crushes sometimes, whether we like it or not, and you did a lovely depiction of Nova's feelings about Albus Potter. I love how Reagan is so supportive about the whole thing when she finds out.

Also, I just have to congratulate you for acknowledging the fact that they're in a school. There's the thing with Nova's crush, but you also fit in stuff about lessons, revision etc. Something which people tend to forget (myself included.)

Overall, great job so far! One thing that I'd like to see is a bit of the girls of 2.6B. I get the impression that the girls of 2.6A don't really like them, but I'd like to see them encounter each other in person. I probably just need to keep reading ;)

Author's Response: Hi!

Aww, I'm glad you enjoyed the first chapter! It makes me so happy to see people reading this, especially because it transformed from something on the side to my literal baby.

Haha, I'm glad you enjoy Dahlia. I've said before that the group are all based off aspects of my various friends' personalities, Dahlia being our tendency to swear the hell out of each other and be really critical of everything teenagery. That being said, one friend in particular is who she channels so I just love writing her.

Alice is just a sweetheart.

I haven't fancied anyone in years so writing about Nova's crush took me back. No one knew about my own one at the time, but I would've loved to have someone like Reagan on my side!

Honestly, I think it's easy to forget that they're in a school since we're focused so much on the plot and character development. I mean, they live in the castle for 9 months of the year so there's this whole other aspect to it that's easy to focus on. That being said, I was determined to bring in that little extra about their lessons and revision just because I feel it's so integral to being in the NEWT years (and therefore their daily lives).

Thank you for the review!

Plums xo


 Report Review

Review #4, by marauderfan 

16th January 2017:
Plums! I am here for this story, partially because of your wishlist and partially because this story has been recommended like everywhere. Honestly, I hear lots of good things about it. So here goes.

This is such a fun opening chapter, and I can really feel the personality of this group so strongly - it's clear they have years of inside jokes and their friendship is very secure (which makes Nova's comments at the end really interesting and honestly I think that was my favorite part of the chapter, as it adds a reflective twist to the otherwise more light hearted beginning and kind of makes me guess about the whole chapter which I just read, so I love that. I wonder how much of it Nova is kind of just making up in her mind, or whether cracks are starting to form in their friendship. At any rate, it makes me really eager to read more (which I will do tomorrow, but not tonight because it's late and I have to get up super early for work *sobs*)

Also I must admit haha, the way Dormitory 2.6a is so close it makes me wonder if 2.6b is just as close to each other, and talks about A the way A talks about B. Probably XD It's funny because yeah they're all hufflepuffs but the two different dorms really creates two different, isolated cultures.

Your writing style is a lot of fun, btw. I can see why this story is as popular as it is :)

Okay, so this opening chapter was sufficient to get me really excited about reading more, but I have to go to sleep. I'll be back tomorrow to fangirl about the next few chapters, I'm sure.

Author's Response: Hey!

Ahh, you've instantly made my day with the start of your review. Honestly, Dormitory 2.6A is unapologetically my proudest achievement so thank you for checking it out! :D

I'm really glad you enjoyed the first chapter! Yeah, my main aim was to introduce the reader to their group of friends and establish that strong connection of theirs - to show, as you said, that their friendship is really secure.

Yesss, you like the ending! I remember when I was writing that part, I was so hesitant on whether it flowed in well with the rest of it or if it was an awkward fit and end. It's a relief to see that it got your brain thinking.

Lol, I haven't given much thought to Dormitory 2B but they probably do talk about A like they talk about B XD

"Um, have you seen the way Nova acts like she doesn't know us? You'd think she wasn't our friend back in first year."

*Conveniently forget that they pushed her away*

Thank you for the wonderful review! I'm glad you stopped by.

Plums xo


 Report Review

Review #5, by IchigoPan 

25th October 2016:
Hello lo! I'm finally getting around to the promised reviews from the writing challenge you entered! Sorry it took so long Dx

I love all of your OCs. They all have something quirky to contribute to your story, from Dahlia being a total ray of sunshine with her sailor's mouth (I personally loved the "go hug a cactus" line. Actually, I loved all of her one-liners.), Alice's attempts at being reasonable (well, more reasonable than the rest of the group, at least) to Nova's sudden rediscovery of her feeling things for another human. Oh my God, is this what human evolving emotions feel like?!

But methinks trouble be brewing in the dark for the sextet of Ice Queens. Onward to the next chapter!

-ichigo

Author's Response: Hi!

Don't worry about taking your time. I am Notorious for doing the same, it's actually embarrassing.

I am so glad you enjoyed my OCs! I always love writing them because you can really make them your own since you basically created them. Lol Dahlia's one liners make me proud. I always have such a sense of accomplishment when she screams at someone. XD

Thank you for the review!

Plums xo


 Report Review

Review #6, by grednforge217 

31st March 2016:
I Could already tell from the description that I was going to like this, but reading it totally confirmed it for me. This is amazing - I am so excited that there is more in store! I'm already half in love with these characters. Well done!

Author's Response: Hey,

Aw, thank you so much! I'm glad you like it and your review really means a lot to me. This is such a lovely one to read :hug:

Plums xo


 Report Review

Review #7, by Claire Evergreen 

29th March 2016:
Hey, Plums! I'm here for the Diadem BvB Battle! I don't think I've ever

I'm just going to start out by saying that I love love love stories that take House stereotypes and smash them into the ground. Normally, I try to do it with Ravenclaws (what a shocker), but I love seeing Puffs that aren't all sunshine and rainbows and good vibes. As I get older, I realize more and more that Hufflepuff is actually the House with the most open interpretation of their traits and I think you've done a fantastic job with showing how varied they can all be while still be Hufflepuffs.

Alright, so I'm going to attempt to talk about each of the girls because I'm in love with all of your characters already and they remind me so much of all my old high school friends.

So Dahlia is absolutely hilarious. I love that we open with one of her outbursts and then you pull back and explain that it's actually a common occurrence in the Puff's day to day lives. She seems like the kind of friend that a Puff like Alice would benefit from and click with. I can't wait to see more of her in later chapters and see what mischief she gets into.

I didn't get as much of a sense of Nala as the others, but she's still a really good character. I love that she's described as sweet and dreamy, but also is labeled the Hufflepuff (not a 12+ word) at the same time. It says a lot about her that she's known for being sweet, but that's not all she is. And the little bit of self-deprecating comments and how that wasn't normal for her also makes me interested in where her storyline is going to take her.

Cass intrigues me so much. She obviously isn't afraid of flaunting her sexuality if the comments from her friends are anything to judge by, but I feel like there's going to be a lot with her later on in the story. I love the bit about the rest of her family being in Slytherin. At least from my experience, if people want an opposite to Slytherin, they use Gryffindor, but I think that Hufflepuff works so much better. I can't wait to see how that little look from the card game plays into the rest of the narrative.

Alice is so incredibly sweet. She's exactly what Hufflepuffs are 'supposed' to be, but that doesn't make her any less of a dynamic character. The fact that she can keep up with the other five who most definitely don't fit into stereotypes. I can't wait to see her journey throughout the story, especially since I feel like hers is going to be so different from the others. She seems like the glue that holds everyone together and who also have the most to lose if splits started appearing in the group.

Alright, so I love all of them, but Reagan is my favorite, probably because she reminds me the most of myself. She's the perfect complement to Nova and I can tell why she's closest to Reagan out of all the others. I see her as being the calm and steady one of the group, kinda like the one that is always there to bring them all back to earth. I feel like she's going to have a tough job as the story progresses having to balance all of the different personalities in the group. I love her already!

Nova aka "The Ice Queen"- alright, Imma have to say that's false. She may put out a tough, jerkish exterior, but she is honestly the sweetest and most adorable character you have in your line up, including Alice. I love that she has such a distinct personality that are such opposites. It's so true that the face we put on in public is not always the same one that we use in private or with our friends. She's the perfect one for a POV character, just because I love how she fits into Hufflepuff the best.

Okay, so I don't have much more room, but I love this set up. You drop us right into the action, which is my favorite way to start a story. It gives us a great idea of the normal lives of the characters while also hinting at "Why these characters now?" I love the little bit of something that pops up at the end that shows where the rest of the story is going.

Fantastic job, I'll definitely be back for more!

Claire

Author's Response: Hey!

So sorry it took me so long to answer this review - I've been saving the longer ones till the end and this was an amazingly long review :)

I feel you when it comes to stories that break house stereotypes. There's something so satisfying about creating characters that embody the house traits, but aren't what someone instantly thinks of when they think of that house. I tried it with Ravenclaws once too (the fic was horribly written, though I did adore the characters), but there's something so great about doing it with Hufflepuffs. They're usually the forgotten house, even though they're the least specific with their requirements, which is why I think people like Dahlia would fit in well.

I love writing Dahlia purely because she has literally no filter or shame. She's one of those characters that writes herself tbh so I can put her into just about any situation, usually resulting in a dozen swear words and loud declarations of something or the other. Plus, she always starts off chapters with a bang. I liked pairing her as best friends with Alice since they're almost polar opposites and it's interesting to see how they manage to not clash. In some ways, she really is the glue that holds them together - she's a lot more vocal about her love for them and knows how to sweet talk all of them into making up in the unlikely event of an argument.

Yeah, Nala's not as present as the other characters for reasons that will be revealed in CH6, but she actually plays a big part in the fic. Even though Alice is labelled as Hufflepuff's sweetheart, Nala is the sweeter one, but impossibly naive too which isn't the best combination with her insecurity.

You're right again with Cass! She's another big player in the fic and her development will reveal a more vulnerable side to her. She's another fun character to write since she really isn't afraid of flaunting her sexuality, as you said, which is sort of the complete opposite to her friends. It usually results in a lot of shocked gasps from Alice haha. Yeah, I can understand why people would oppose Slytherin with a Gryffindor, but I figured that there'd be no 'greater shame' to Slytherins then having a Puff since they're the 'dim' ones and Slytherins are cunning. Of course, Cass is a living example of how wrong that is.

Reagan's your favourite? That's actually so great to hear because I was so worried that she would get drowned out by more dominating characters like Dahlia. I wasn't sure whether people would see why Nova classes Reagan out of all of them as her best friend, but it's partly because she knows how far to push Nova whereas the others might not understand that they're pushing the boundaries. She just understands her and doesn't interfere with her - or any of them - unless needs be.

The Ice Queen is the biggest lie in the story and I love that it's her reputation simply because she has a killer natural expression. Nova just doesn't care about people she has no need to care about, but is so loyal and loving of the ones she does. Since she's an introvert, people tend to assume she's just not.

Thank you for the wonderful review! I'm so glad that you like the premise of the story and hope you stick around :)

Plums xo


 Report Review

Review #8, by oldershouldknowbetter 

25th March 2016:
Well, what a way to start hey?

I always look at the opening line of a story before I come down here to start the review, and I must say that I was smacked in the face by that opener.

I'm here because of the BvB Diadem edition. I don't know if I've ever reviewed one of your stories before, so let me now rectify that with this award nomination worthy tale.

Let's get back to that beginning shall we and find out exactly who it is that is doing all that shouting.

And then I get to that second line (if I keep this up, I'll run out of review before I run out of story).

Common knowledge declared that anyone 'unfortunate' enough to belong to the house of Hufflepuff had the short end of the stick. How gorgeous is that. If the first line was a slap in the face then this next line is pure welcome. It is so reminiscent of the opening line to Pride and Prejudice, without copying it slavishly. Beautiful stuff. OK, lets see if I can make it further into the story than just the first two sentences.

So we are promised six girls, but for now we must be content with meeting only three. They are all very different characters and the way that you have them being entirely honest with each other is a good conceit. It allows for interactions between the group that the readers will know will be true. You've already established a good few archetypes: the neat freak, the biatich (the review is PG don't you know) and the ... hmm, let me get back to you on what Dahlia is when her character develops more.

Then we travel to lunch and met the rest of the sextet. And there we find that all of the girls are not going to fall into such easy stereotypes after all. The other girls are all given cursory descriptions, but reasonably detailed for that -we shall have to make up our minds about them as they are given more dialogue and things to do. Ah, Dahlia is the Wastrel-with-a-good-heart. But the surprise is Nova, apparently she has only the RBF, underneath it all she is the closet romantic. And her fancy runs to ... Albus.

She is caught by him, cue the blushing and cue the merciless teasing by her friends. Like anyone caught in this situation, she does her utmost to deny or distract or derail her friends inquisitiveness on the matter. She thinks she gets away with it, but a dig in the ribs by her best friend disabuses her of that notion - blast, best friends always know.

We now excuse ourselves for a bit of exposition. Dialogue between the friends, as wonderfully entertaining as it is, can only get us so far. No we must know a bit more, just how did the Ice Queen of Hufflepuff fall for that, admittedly, ruggedly handsome Slytherin? Ah apparently it was fairly organic, the natural and unaffected charms of the boy have drawn her hither.

Nova's heart had apparently decided it was high time that she developed a new crush since it had been so long since the disaster of her last one. Lovely writing.

Being smart and finishing her test early, unexpectedly throws her in his path, but she is determined not to give her beloved, but far too nosy, friend the satisfaction of seeing her in any state of emotional compromise. She escapes to shower and wash away her unease.

The respite is only temporary as she knew it would be. But there is some delicious interactions between the friends - which you write so well - before the matter has to be addressed. When they are finally alone, Reagan asks her pointedly what's up.

Nova wondered what Reagan would do if she just got up and walked out. Probably let her do it and then swear at her later before somehow weaseling the information out of her. So really, she would only delay the inevitable. Buy herself a bit of time to - to do what, exactly? If Reagan was going to know, then Reagan was going to know. There was no use in trying to hide. Such a wonderful passage illustrating exactly the relationship that best friends have.

They rejoin their group, and more which is not so much to their liking. Again you give us some of this wildly entertaining interaction between the friend group. From your author's note, you tell us some of it is drawn from real life, and the authenticity of it shows in the beautiful way you write their dialogue.

But there are some disquieting things to be found amidst all the pleasantries - as pleasant as conversation mixed with profanities gets. Are things about to change? Is there more going on under the surface of the characters of the girls than one would first suspect? Probably, otherwise where would the drama be in the plot to come?

This is quite an entertaining beginning to a story. Your writing is wonderful too and is no surprise to this reader why it was nominated for a Quoth The Raven Diadem.

Andrew,
Oldershouldknowbetter.

Author's Response: Hey!

First of all: bloody hell, this is one big review. I don't know how you've managed to do it :P

Second of all: ahem. . . yeah, that first line was really something. I felt like Dormitory 2.6A needed to begin with a bang and what better way to being with a bang than Dahlia? Especially since the girls are meant to be examples of how Hufflepuffs don't technically always have to be airy-fairy and rays of sunshine. They all (hopefully) have strong personalities that should clash, but they're tied together with this inherent trust that comes from not beating around the bush, as well as complete loyalty.

"The wastrel with a good heart" - I love it! That has to be my favourite description of Dahlia, hands down.

Meanwhile, Nova really isn't what most people think of her which is one of my favourite things about writing her. Because she's not the most social person and she has the RBF, she's given this label of being someone who just doesn't care, but the label is so inaccurate it hurts. Now that she fancies someone, the contrast between the RBF and her personality is really coming to light.

"Admittedly ruggedly handsome Slytherin" - I genuinely love your commentary, it's just the best.

Yeah, I like writing the little interactions between the best friends, partly because I think it gives more insight into Reagan. Part of me worries whether she fades into the background next to characters so obviously strong and distinctive as, say, Dahlia, but she really is important to Nova's life. That's why little things like mentioning how she would inevitably find out or how she knows something's up when the others are simply teasing are actually more important to me than a reader might think.

But anyway...

I'm so glad that their interactions seem authentic! It's really easy to write because, as you mentioned, some of it is drawn from my own life, but it's still a new experience to weave them into this fic.

And yes, there are definitely things going on that Nova is unaware of, all of which will be revealed in time. ;)

Thank you so much for the absolutely wonderful review. I'm still in shock that it was nominated for the Diadem in the first place to be honest!

Plums xo


 Report Review

Review #9, by ANightingaleInAGoldenCage 

3rd March 2016:
Oh. My. God.

It's 6.30 (and I really should go to bed) but I stumbled upon this and I am laughing so, so hard it's insane. I feel sorry for my neighbours, really.

This story, and especially the first part, is hilarious and I cannot wait for what you have in the other chapters posted so far. I am loving this and I am going to follow updates for this because this is just one of the best stories I've read so far on here and I just love the humor and I'm rambling and I'm sorry but this is just so good and god. I don't know what else I can say about this, but dear god. I love it. So, so much.

I can just imagine Nova dragging/magiking her bed to the other dorm. It must have been hilarious to see, and I can imagine first-years being frightened of encountering them for the first time. It sounds so reasonable. Also the added details of the multiple showercubicles make it so much more interesting and I can see how they are different but still friends at the same time and. God. Plums. Keep on writing this.

Author's Response: Hey,

Oh my God, this review made my day :D I'm glad to be of service and have you annoy your neighbours at half six! And of course, I am also glad to have another reader. Writing about Nova and the girls is always so chill to do and their banter comes so easily to me.

Haha, I have a very vivid image in my mind of first years darting out of the way as a bed shoots across the corridor on the first night back and one of them just turning around and whispering "...I thought Gryffindors were the crazy ones?"

Also thank you so much! I mean, "this is just one of the best stories I've read so far on here"? You're such a sweetheart :D

Plums xo


 Report Review

Review #10, by Jen25 

17th January 2016:
Woah,Plums! This is awesome! I love how it shows that Puffs aren't all hugs,niceness,potatoes,and sweet things. I really like this Daliha character,and would love a little exploration deeper into who she is down on the inside.

Author's Response: Hey,

Thank you :) I'm glad you like the story! Yeah, I have to admit that I love writing Hufflepuffs that aren't 'all hugs,niceness,potatoes,and sweet things', though I have to admit I've never read about Potato 'Puffs XD

Dahlia's a common favourite, it seems. We do explore her character further, but she has a pretty solid grip on her life so she doesn't face a major problem in this story.

Plums xo


 Report Review

Review #11, by Ninja in Training 

16th January 2016:
This looks very cool so far :) really like all the characters and they do feel very recognisable in that their friendship and relationship is like a lot of female friendship groups - their dynamic is relatable :)

Author's Response: Oh hello again :)

Really happy that you decided to check this out! And that you liked the characters and their dynamic. I'm currently working on CH2 so please do stick around and share your thoughts. Your feedback is pretty useful :P

Plums xo


 Report Review

Review #12, by TearsIMustConceal 

4th January 2016:
Hey Plums, sorry it's taken me forever to get to your review! It's been hectic over christmas and new year but I finally have time so here I am!

So, I absolutely adored this! For an opening chapter, you did everything perfectly introducing us to the characters, of which you've made each one stand out individually to explaining their wonderful friendship dynamic! The flow of this story, the dialogue and character interactions and everything was amazing so well done! I sometimes find first chapters a little off flow but you've managed the flow perfectly!

Each character is wonderfully individual but I do love Nova and Dahlia, immediate favourites of mine! Poor Nova natural b* face is a problem I have yet i'm actually a softie so I really emphasise with her the most! But Dahlia makes me laugh, she's the girl I would love to be like I have the honesty down but that's about it! Your portrayal of all your characters, but especially these two, was simply amazing! You've done really well distinguishing them from each other, giving them a certain personality, certain role in their group!

I love their friendship so much! It's based on honesty of the most brutal kind and it really works and I think what makes it more amazing is that they're hufflepuffs and you don't expect it yet it does work these girls are my type of hufflepuff!

James Potter's man bun you had me at these words seriously fainting and drooling over him right now (I have a think for man buns, well specifically Kit Harington's but that's another story!) Can there be more James? Pretty please?

So, now that we've gotten how amazingly written your story is and how the whole concept is just brilliant, we'll move onto the ending. Now, you said you weren't sure about the ending... I actually really liked it the way you have Nova notice the slight difference in the dynamics, the girls acting a little more sensitive, but not in an obvious way, to small comments and actions they would usually shrug off I like the change in the dynamic and what could come of this! But I also like how Nova is in denial, that she believes she's reading into it - sometimes friends just don't want to notice the small changes that could affect them all - it's much easier to ignore the signs- so you've portrayed a truly realistic friendship here

So, I don't know if that was helpful but honestly, I really liked the ending!

Can't wait for the next chapter Plums!

-Vicki

Author's Response: Hey Vicki,

Oh, I'm so glad you liked it! I wrote the chapter on a whim in the space of a few days, something I rarely do, so I wasn't 100% I did everything properly. Phew, it's great to hear that there's a noticeable difference between the characters, particularly the ones that aren't Dahlia or Nova. Those two are probably my strongest characters so I worried a little about whether the rest of them had distinctive personalities. I'm glad to hear that they're holding up so far!

Oh, and it seems that my strongest characters are your favourites haha :P Believe me, I know exactly what you mean about Nova. I have a chronic b*tch face too, even though I like to think that I'm not what I appear to be. Meanwhile, Dahlia is a laugh to write and probably the easiest too.

Yeah, everyone thinks that Hufflepuffs are incredibly sweethearted and gentle - which, fair enough, some of them may well be - but I thought it was high time to break down some stereotypes and show that these girls can hold their own. ;)

JAMES' MAN BUN. I am 100% on board with this and it seems that most readers are! Definitely going to have to brainstorm a way to sneak him in somehow :D

Oh, I am so glad you're fine with the ending! It really was my biggest worry - I felt that the tone just didn't match up to the rest of the chapter, but your thoughts are really helpful. I did want to sneak in the small signs of a problem brewing without it seeming too abrupt so I'm happy you think it's worked out.

Thank you so much for the wonderful review. And eh, it doesn't matter if it's late. We all have to deal with real life sometimes :P

Plums xo


 Report Review

Review #13, by TheMoonLove 

27th December 2015:
This is brilliant. I am completely in love with the idea of characters who are smart and sharp and witty and biting and a**holes and whatever else you've made your characters who are part of the "throwaway house" which I think is just rude. Can't wait to see what your beautiful mind comes up with for the following chapter!

Author's Response: Hey,

Thank you for the review! I'm glad you enjoyed the chapter and the girls. I know that I enjoyed writing them :D

Plums xo


 Report Review

Review #14, by princesslily_36 

22nd December 2015:
Plums!

Of course I'm here to read your new fic :D

What can I say? I loved it. The flow, the language, the dialogues... it was all just so easy to read. You balanced the dynamics between them, and created individual identites for each character, bringing out everything in this one chapter so that at the end of it I was able to leave with the the feeling of each one being so... real... if you know what I mean!

I loved how you described Nova - the deadly looks and natural b**ch face - this line says it all, and then later when you call her the most soft-hearted in the group - brilliant portrayal! I could picture her in my head. Her crush on Albus almost seemed so natural, the way you slid into it gradually.

I'm loving Dahlia too, Lol! She's so crude and so honest! Really, Love the characterizations here.

That place where you describe how brutal honesty was key to their friendship, it applied so perfectly to me and my two besties, I found myself picturing the three of us in Alice, Nova and Dahlia.

James Potter's messy manbun and sexy stubble - Ah your words, your WORDS! I'm swooning for James Potter too.

Your A/N talks about taking this group through all the bu**s**t and i would LOVE to read more about it. Waiting for the next chapter!

Loads of Love
Ysh

Author's Response: Hey Ysh!

Always glad to have another reader and I love the fact that you liked it. You have no idea how much it means to me :)

I hope that they're realistic because I've borrowed aspects from people I know IRL! Though that isn't to say that the characters are carbon copies of them. They've only borrowed some attributes. It's great to know that each character has a distinctive personality as that was one of the things I was worried about since there's six girls, you know?

Ha, the difference between Nova's appearance/reputation and her actual personality is one of my favourite things about her! Everyone else sees this stoic Hufflepuff when really, she's about as normal as them. Dahlia is another favourite of mine. Honestly, I love all of them, but she's probably the easiest to write with all of her effing and jeffing :D

I based the 'brutal honesty' aspect to their friendship off my friendship with my closest friends. It's great to see that other people have that too! We should have, like, a cult haha.

Believe me, I know what you mean about James Potter's messy manbun and sexy stubble. If I was at Hogwarts, I would be on Team James ALL THE WAY. (No offence, Albus. You really are a sweetheart.)

Thanks for the review! Happy holidays :)

Love,

Plums xo


 Report Review

Review #15, by bigpotterfan 

22nd December 2015:
I just want to say how much I enjoyed reading this chapter. I love how you're turning Hufflepuff stereotypes upside down. It's not easy writing six characters in detail but I think you managed it. They're all different enough to not get them too confused, and are vivid characters that make you want to keep on reading. I look forward to reading more and watching their story unfold. Thank you!

Author's Response: Hey,

Thank you! I'm glad that you liked the chapter - I wrote it within a week or so and wasn't sure whether it was up to scratch so your words mean a lot :) And having six girls act as the main characters is certainly a challenge. It's lovely to know that I'm doing well so far! Yes, Hufflepuff is a house that is usually shunted to the side and regarded as the underdogs, but I wanted to show how they're not actually like that. IRL most of my friends are probably Puffs and none of them are the meek type so I would know! :P

Thank you for the review

xo


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review