Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for Oblivion, Chapter 58: Epilogue
  
24 Reviews Found

Review #1, by zira 

7th March 2017:
I'm going for a short review since Regeneration exists. Actually I wondered about reviewing there but I had thoughts about Oblivion specifically.
Methuselah Jones Foundation! It's like all the main characters were present in some form!
I loved Judge Roux and I like the idea that he continued to support Eva and gave her the chance he mentioned. She's absolutely my favourite character.
Out of curiosity, did we ever find out why Thane didn't appear on the Map back in Ignite? I might have missed it, and I'm still curious. Also, how did Eva get her scar?
(I don't know if these were going to come up in Regeneration, but it can't hurt to ask! I'm not very patient.)

Author's Response: The short version of the story of Eva's scar is: it happened in a fight. To say more would be telling. Some day I'll maybe even get around to writing it! How Thane avoided the Map - oh woah, that's a huge oversight on my part. It was meant to come up, I realise only now! It was meant to be a thing which helped illustrate the wacky magics Thane & co were messing with, just it seems that never worked its way into the series. It'd be a bit weird to go back and explain that now. I guess I'll... see if I get a chance in Regeneration, it'd be possible considering the focus on Thane's old team. Huh. Big mistake by me.

The Methuselah Jones Foundation was meant to be an intentional nod to everything coming full circle. I don't know how much Methuselah would have cared about a cause of international aid (like, it's important, but he'd probably prefer an education or research cause named after him). But Scorpius is nothing if not guilty.

I'm glad you like Eva. Her story not really being done was one of the main causes for Regeneration's existence. Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #2, by Hazel Bludger 

18th October 2016:
Thank you for writing such wonderful stories that have made me weep, laugh, scream, and everything else. It's been a pleasure reading this trilogy!

Author's Response: I'm so glad you had fun! Reading your reviews was its own little trip. ;)

 Report Review

Review #3, by Luke 

7th October 2016:
Hi. I spent the last couple weeks... Or maybe three.. Reading this trilogy.

I never fell in love with characters of other stories the way I fell in love with the characters of Harry Potter. Nor have I fell in love with a story as much. Until I read this story.

It has been so long since I have enjoyed reading something as much as I have enjoyed reading this. And some of that is because the Harry Potter world holds such an important place in my heart, but a lot of it is because your writing is so wonderful. I am no writer; I can't pretend to understand how you did what you did or how much effort and time you put into it, but I know that it takes something, someone incredible to make a story like this happen.

I could go on and on, but mostly I just needed to say thank you. So thank you. I look forward to reading more of your work

Author's Response: I'm so glad people are still finding and enjoying this story. I loved working on the Stygian Trilogy and, though it's over, it will always have a hugely important place in my heart. Thank you for enjoying it, and thank you for taking the time to post your kind words.

 Report Review

Review #4, by Whimsical diva 

3rd August 2016:
Still owe you a review but after the drivel that was the new official play I gotta say this will be my unofficial canon. Sad JKR did such a dreadful job - the new play read like bad fan fiction.

Again I will review once I have the time. I got a ton to tell ya.

Author's Response: It did read like bad fanfic, didn't it? I didn't mind a lot of the characterisation (though Ron was still comedy relief and the extent of vitriol between Harry and Albus was most upsetting), but the plot was just utter dross. I don't know if it makes me want to work more on this short sequel to Stygian I'm musing on, or just abandon all Next Gen in fear it'll be too non-canon.

No rush on the review, I'm sure it'll be worth it. ;) Thanks for the assurance, though!


 Report Review

Review #5, by Whimsical Diva 

30th April 2016:
I owe you a long review - and it will be coming soon. Sorry life got really crazy the last few months.

Author's Response: Hey, no worries. Hope everything's okay, and see you when I see you!

 Report Review

Review #6, by Okisteri 

31st March 2016:
Thanks for a very entertaining story. Definitely lost a significant amount of perfectly good sleeping hours reading the trilogy, I'm kind of very picky about what I like to read so I didn't expect to be this addicted to the story when I started reading and I'm glad I started reading when you were done with the first two parts So I didn't have to wait feverishly for new chapters.

A good read like these stories has me immersed enough that I can forget about anxiety and all that bad sh.. poop for a long time and just read.

I liked reading the trilogy also for the reason that it was very well written as far as grammar and all that stuff so it felt more like an actual published work than some other fics I've tried reading.

Definitely will be staying tuned!

Author's Response: I'm not sorry my writing eats time, nor am I sorry for being unexpectedly addictive. I imagine most of these stories hold up better to be binged than read serially, especially Oblivion with its problematic pacing, but it's done now! But above all, very glad that my writing could distract from the stresses of the real world. I agree those anxieties are pesky, and if I can offer even a little escapism, then I'm doing my job right.

I do try to edit with a hatchet - it's not perfect, by any means - but I attempt to hold myself to a high standard, technically, in terms of my output. So I'm glad that's paid off.

More of my writing to be found on my author's page. ;) Thank you for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #7, by WitchingWorld 

13th March 2016:
I have followed this series the whole way through and just had the time to finish it off. Thank you so much for your writing, I have enjoyed every minute of this trilogy and I look forward to reading more of you work in the future. Thank you, thank you :)

Penny

Author's Response: So glad you enjoyed the story! Thank you very much for following me all the way and thank you very much for this review, it's hugely appreciated.

 Report Review

Review #8, by nhrdez 

2nd March 2016:
When I saw Ignite on the homepage and saved to read later, I never thought I would enjoy reading a Next Generation Era story as much as the Hogwarts Era. I loved all the twist and turns throughout this series. I couldn't stop reading and I have enjoyed the journey all the way to end! This is definitely one of my favorite stories/trilogy! I look forward to reading more of your work.

Author's Response: I'm glad that even people who aren't as big on Next Gen can enjoy the story! It's been a long road and a long time in the writing, but I'm still very happy with it all, so it's lovely to hear people are finding it and getting into it.

Thank you very much for your kind words!


 Report Review

Review #9, by scorprose 

5th February 2016:
I am still going to write a long long review for this epilogue. Just too hectic these days.
I kind of cheated time to finish the story. So will write a review in leisure relishing every word (Even if it takes few months as i am writing my Ph.D thesis). Anything less would not justify the gratitude i feel towards u. So bye till then take care and my best wishes for all ur ventures.

Author's Response: Haha, take your time! Thesis far more important than my little story. But I'm so pleased to learn how much you've had fun reading, and very grateful you feel the desire to give me more feedback. It is not necessary, but thank you so much for following the story with me.

Cheers!


 Report Review

Review #10, by water_lily43175 

3rd January 2016:
So I was reading Ignite to put off having to read The End, but then I got to Blaze of Glory and realised things were just getting DEPRESSING, and the epilogue couldn't be any worse than Methuselah DYING so I've finally come back to read.

RIDICULOUSLY happy about the Scorose wedding, there's a part of me that wishes that had been on-screen but then it would just have been a lot of people getting DRUNK so maybe not the type of scene that WOULD translate well to being written.

Although actually I think I'd still love reading that.

It makes me sad that Matt didn't attend the wedding. I mean, it makes sense, but it's still sad that he felt like he shouldn't go/didn't want to go, after all they've been through together as a group. Sniff sniff.

Ha, so much Scorbus banter. The true couple of Stygian.

Oh, and EVA. You have NO IDEA how happy this makes me, I couldn't bear the thought of Eva spending her life running away from the world and potentially never coming back EVER. And Albus having to get on with his life never knowing if she WOULD come back, or if he COULD move on. So this ... this is wonderful. I KNOW it's just a chat on a beach, I KNOW there is no guarantee anything would work out, but that's the beauty of it; we can decide for ourselves how it ends. I have to say, the thought of domestic Eva living in the house with the white picket fence and 2.4 children is just too hilarious, but I think they'd manage to make SOMETHING work, SOMEHOW.

And all of the Weasley Sunday lunches YES.

HOW IS IT THE END. I feel like I should write some really poetic review about the series, but I'm not sure I've ever been good at those reviews. So I will just ramble, and hopefully the ramble will have some sort of meaning and sentiment and Wise Words to it.

I remember when you said you were giving Next Gen a try, you HATED Next Gen (apart from Rails OBVIOUSLY) but wanted the high-octane crowdpleaser. Well if you ask me, you managed all that and MORE. Yes, the whole series was a sort of homage to and parody of all of the high-octane films, and in Ignite things did start off all light-hearted and in some ways silly ("Scorpius liked cake"), but it became so much MORE than that, and by Oblivion I think things became more morally testing in some ways than Anguis ever was.

And I have to say, absolutely YES to Eva being a Hufflepuff. (Isn't it odd how we have this compulsive need to sort even our OCs who never went to Hogwarts? Although having said that ... don't even ask me where Carlotta would be sorted. I think she could easily be a Gryffindor OR a Slytherin OR a Hufflepuff and I can't make that decision.) I've always loved Eva's arc, and how the person she pretended to be in Starfall was the exact person she became by Oblivion. And I think in some ways she was the most wonderful and beautiful of all of the characters.

There's probably more that I SHOULD say, but I can't say it right now. I'm just sorry I fell a year and a half behind, that was very bad of me. I've loved every minute of this trilogy, minus Methuselah DYING, and I just love how we've ended on cocktails in half-coconuts with little umbrellas. GOOD TRILOGY BRO.

Author's Response: I think this is why I have to start new projects so soon after ending old ones; the only way I don't get super depressed is by immediately filling the VOID IN MY LIFE left by these projects. If I were smart I might have held off on writing Not Fade Away until about this coming May, but whoever said I was smart? And, yes, this series gets super depressing pretty soon. Then again I remember a reviewer once calling Ignite all 'fluffy' and I was a bit, 'I killed a twelve year-old in it, FLUFFY, REALLY??'

Scorose wedding would have been an expensive, extravagant booze-palooza and the two of them being utterly sickening because you KNOW Scorpius would have spared no expense. I think he would have been more excited about Wedding Planning than she would. But yeah, parties are actually hard to write, I found that with the Teddy/Victoire wedding, but thankfully I'd just been to my brother's wedding when I wrote that so it was a bit easier to catch the atmosphere.

It is pretty sad that Matt didn't go. He kind of couldn't, and kind of didn't want to. Losing Matt is really the only Price that Rose had to pay, beyond self-loathing, though, so I did want to make it a harsh price. And it really DOES matter to her. But they do start to patch things up, and I think they will be able to bond with the gift of time easing all woes. Not to mention I think Matt would bury the hatchet for Selena's sake, if nothing else, and so long as Selena's ABROAD it's not too bad an obstacle, but if they ever return to Britain...

Scorbus, possibly the romance I should have written all along.

I briefly misread '2.4 children' as '24 children' and was a bit STEADY ON, NOW. I agree that domestic Eva would be hilarious. I think they'd travel for a while together, spend some time just THEM now they're confident in who they are as individuals, and make plans from there. Albus would never want to live away from his family, though, so any plans for the future require Eva to be put through hundreds more Weasley Sunday lunches. Thankfully I imagine she's a bit better with people after 5 years of adventures and also the Weasley clan is big. There'll be SOMEONE she can find an ally with, and Scorpius and Rose will always have her back.

Oblivion was kind of the red-headed stepchild of the piece; Ignite I knew going into it, Starfall I was always excited about TRAVEL, and Oblivion was for ages just 'Scorpius comes back, plotlines get tied up, the end' - and I'm barely exaggerating. But then it became, yes, the most morally complex thing I've ever written. Let's face it, not even Tanith killing Nick comes CLOSE to Rose killing de Sable.

For ages I resisted Sorting Eva in my head, but I did also at the time think she'd be another Slytherin. And she IS cunning and manipulative and very much a Guile Hero rather than a Brawn Hero, but once her own survival has stopped being #1 priority, as it was in Starfall, she really does value loyalty and fairness most of all - because PEOPLE have saved her, and so she's loyal to them, and she's been at the receiving end of unfairness too much, so she fights it. Which is just as well as otherwise there were no Hufflepuffs in the series (I am so rectifying the lack of Hufflepuffs with Jack in NFA).

And I'm claiming Carla for Slytherin, actually. Girl's self-sufficiency and drive totally make her belong. Wait, I can't claim for Slytherin, I'm a Gryffindor... it's my second home.

I can't believe I almost didn't write this epilogue; now it's there, it's too perfect. I stand by my judgement that it's an epilogue for the trilogy as a whole, rather than Oblivion as a specific story, but I think that's why I almost missed it.

STILL, do not be sorry for falling behind. I doubt the series would have taken the form it did, nor would Ignite have powered on as it did or developed as it did, without you and all of our EXTENSIVE, judgemental chats. :-D (ack running out of characters)

GOOD TRILOGY REVIEWING, BRO.


 Report Review

Review #11, by cherry_pop94 

1st January 2016:
So here I am! The very end of the line.

Wow. It has been such a wild adventure reading Ignite, Starfall, and Oblivion. I've lost many a good night's sleep over this trilogy, but it's been worth it all the way! I cannot believe how brilliant the Stygian Trilogy is!

Honestly, I know you're not writing any more in this universe, but I feel like I want to write more. Like I've got so many questions about Eva and Rose and Scorpius and Lilian and Selena and Matt and everyone! I want to write fanfic of your fanfic. Is there a Stygian Trilogy fandom I can join?? Because I would be all over that.

This epilogue is so sweet and wonderful. I'm honestly such a sucker for happy endings. I'm so so so pleased that it seems like Eva and Albus are going to get their happy ending! I adore them both so much. Their relationship dynamic through Starfall and Oblivion has been such a pleasure to read. They've both changed and grown so much! It's unbelievable.

I love how Albus started in Ignite. He didn't really catch my attention too much. He was there, he was a good guy, smart. There was the whole debacle with the torture bit, but he kind of moved past it and was all around an upstanding guy. But then in Starfall, I began to notice him outside of Scorpius's best friend context. He really did lead the team. They trusted him, they looked to him for guidance. That was his role in Ignite too, but I saw it so much more in Starfall.

And then Oblivion. Oh Scorpius's death. I will never be over it even though he came back. I cannot imagine the world of pain Albus went through in those two years. He blamed himself for his best friend's death. And to top it off, the woman he loved betrayed them, or so he thought. Albus's growth through Oblivion has been incredible to witness.

He was this moral pillar before, but I can see how that's collapsed a little. It broke my heart when he used Eva after Scorpius's revelation several chapters ago. And it hurt so much to see Eva so broken up about it. He is her moral pillar. She attached all her personal growth to him, attributed her goodness to him. I'm glad she had Selena to straighten that out. Eva became a good person because she always was, Albus just helped her along. She doesn't need him to be good. She just is.

But then, she killed Thane! I'm so pleased that Eva was the one to do it, not Scorpius. While their situations are similar, Eva deserved to have the chance to face him like that. I remember when we first met Eva in Starfall, she was so dedicated to Thane. She loved him. He picked her up as a child and molded her into this super soldier and made her so dependent on him. She always needed someone to latch herself onto. Thane, then Albus. I remember one bit where Eva turned to Albus for approval like she used to turn to Thane.

That was a great part. I'm actually really glad that Eva got away from Albus for a while after the events at the castle. I think she truly needed that time to reflect and become her own person. I think she's gotten the time she needs to depend on herself, not anyone else in an emotional capacity. Eva doesn't need Thane, she doesn't even need Albus. I like to think that she came back to him because she wants him, not because she needs him.

And Selena! No matter what, I will always love Selena. I'm so happy that Matt's following her around the world too. There were parts of this adventure where Selena definitely felt like her role in the team meant nothing. Like she really was just there to prop up Matt or Methuselah or the smart boy of the hour, whoever he may be. But she's vital. She's the heart and soul of the team. I'm so happy that Matt's her cheerleader now as she travels the world and takes people down with her quill. They're a marvelous couple. I really do love them.

I also really enjoy the other careers you've chosen for them. It fits them perfectly I think. I never totally loved the idea of Matt as a cursebreaker. I think he got into it because Rose did. But I'm sure he enjoys the research more than the field. So textbook writing as the world's leading authority on the chalice, is perfect. And I bet it gives him an ego boost and those are always welcome! And Scorpius and Albus running their charity! I love that. Those boys need something like that - helping people. I bet there's no duels in that line of work. I'm glad they've found that career. They deserve peace and cute kids. And then Rose! Designing security wards, eh? While I feel like the boys deserve their peace and quiet to sit around and talk quidditch and eat snacks and whatever else they like, I enjoy the idea of Rose still having that excitement. I like that she's still probably super handy in a duel or something like that. She's still involved in defense and the like. I feel like she needs that environment while the rest of them perhaps don't.

And Nat! I'm glad she's not actually with the Council of Thorns. I'm so happy that she really did just love Scorpius that much. Obviously what she did was terrible. She brought back Lethe so she could have the boy who meant so much to her back, but I can't help but love her still. She cared so much for Scorpius. He felt that maternal feeling with her more than anyone else, even his own mother. Her end is tragic, but I think there could be no other end for her. If she had lived, she'd have been tried for bringing Lethe back. I'm reminded of Harry's words to Albus about Snape. He can be made a hero in Harry's mind because he's dead. Nat can be a hero in Scorpius's mind because she's dead. I think alive, Snape and Nat, would not have the hero title thrust upon them. There's too much baggage there.

So. I'm coming to the end of my last review now. Oh god, I've loved going on this adventure with Rose, Scorpius, Albus, Matt, and Selena so much. They've grown on me, all of them, even Matt, so much. I love this world you've created.

Thank you.

Stefanie

Author's Response: I have been SO SLOW in replying to these, but I like to give my uber-reviewers a lot of time and attention where I can properly express my thanks for how much effort you put in.

I would totally endorse fanfic about my fanfic. Like, legit, everyone, go forth and do this (though I'm not sure my ego needs more stroking).

In the past I've not called myself a fan of happy endings, but that's a lie. I'm not a fan of EASY endings, but at the same time it's so important that characters have True endings. And also I put mine through the wringer enough that, frankly, they've earned their happy ending! So while Oblivion had to have a difficult ending, because it in itself was so difficult, and the characters couldn't just move on from their problems, I wanted to end the overall stories differently. Not just for Al and Eva, in the end. The epilogue became easier to write when I thought about it as an epilogue for the trilogy, rather than an epilogue for Oblivion itself, if that makes sense.

Al could have been more interesting in Ignite. I think I hamstrung him by trying to avoid cliche; I overlooked the beauty of the Albus Potter cliches and this kind of stripped him of internal conflict. So in the end his story had to become about the collapse of the untouchable good guy, so late Ignite and Starfall built him UP as the good guy to be destroyed in Oblivion (and then remade anew). His arc is summarised best by the Trial of Courage on Cat Island. He couldn't be truly brave, truly the hero, until he properly understood the price of risking and losing.

Eva was a good person twisted up by how she was made. It's all about strength and weakness and power and helplessness; that's all her story is about. Thane made her strong, but he also kept her afraid. Al also helped her be strong, but he tempered it with love, not fear, and the moment she started to see others as people, not possible threats, compassion became inevitable.

But you're so right, she needed to take those lessons and stand on her own two feet, and become her own person. Otherwise I'm not sure their relationship would be healthy in the long run. But they found each other at the end of the day, and are no longer so horribly co-dependent (that's always Al and Scorp's place!).

Selena was the runaway star of the dang show. For all she had no place in the group in terms of JOB, she MADE Starfall happen - and she was the emotional rock of the team. Even if she did it with harsh truths and kicking people around, she was the one who stopped the gang from descending into self-indulgent misery and getting nowhere. And now, yeah - now it's someone else's turn to be HER cheerleader, and Matt's no longer out to prove himself to the WHOLE WORLD, he's realised there are more important things, and right now that's her.

Matt did become the cursebreaker; it was ROSE who followed HIM. But he did it because there was still that need for glory. Being over that, he's much happier getting to think and explore and research rather than lose life and limb again.

Rose remains a bit of an action star. She probably doesn't have fights much, but I see her having a really high-flying, super-intense project-based job where she still deals with dangerous and important people. It's not so much risking life and limb, but it is keeping people safe. While Scorp and Al right now just work to HEAL.

I'm running out of space so all I'll say about your thoughts on Nat is: WORD.

Thank you so, so much for all of your reviews; I am so utterly grateful for them, the time you've taken, the kind words. I am always blown away by the response from readers, and this is no different. Thank you for joining me on this adventure!


 Report Review

Review #12, by kaeliebear 

30th December 2015:
I don't think there could be a better ending. You're the best!! And I'm so glad that Al and Eva get a chance. They both really deserve it. This trilogy will always be one of my all time favorites. Looking forward to more adventures with the mauraders!

Author's Response: They do deserve it! Poor kids, they've had a harsh lot in life. I had to write the epilogue to let us know everyone was okay, but most of all Al and Eva. I couldn't bring myself to leave their ending so miserable, so it had to be instead hopefully ambiguous.

Thank you so much for following, and especially for reviewing! I'm immensely grateful to you for your support.


 Report Review

Review #13, by Rusty 

28th December 2015:
Ahhh so firstly I have to apologise because I am one of those readers you probably HATE, who was engrossed with every word of this story but didn't review because they just had to read the next chapter!! But now that it's over I definitely owe you this review, as well as the hundreds of others I should have done.

Which leads me to my second point, this story was AMAZING! From what I can gather you have actual books published, which explains a lot, because this story is just so professional! I love the details you put in, and the amount of effort you went to with the history, and I love most of all that YOU love doing this.

The Stygian Trilogy has been my life for a little while, and now I am going back and reading the Anguis Series since I didn't realise that was supposed to be before Stygian until halfway through! After that I definitely intend on reading your Marauder's saga, they are my favourite era by far :)

Thank you once again for writing this series, and being such an amazing and diligent author! These are honestly good enough to be published and turned into movies.

I hope this review makes up for all the ones I DIDN'T write, just know I am following every word you write!

Thanks again!!

Author's Response: So long as you've been enjoying the story, that's the most important thing. But I'm very hapy you're dropping me a review now!

I have some self-publishing done, which doesn't really count, but I do try to take a certain professionalism even with my fanfic. I much prefer to put out as good a story and product as I possibly can! But yes, I'm also an enormous history nerd so I'm pretty pleased to put all of those details in where I can. ;-)

The Anguis series isn't really 'supposed' to be before Stygian. I wrote it before, and characters such as Nat and Matt's parents originated from there, but I really did write Stygian to be a stand-alone piece. I kind of dug myself a hole by making Matt a major character, when I realised I couldn't IGNORE his parents, which perhaps made the stories after Ignite a little bit less accessible to non-Anguis readers. Still, the intention was Anguis bits were more like Easter eggs than outright continuity!

I am so glad that you've enjoyed the story, anyway. Thank you very much for following me so far, and thank you so much for all of your kind words!

Cheers!


 Report Review

Review #14, by Solana14 

27th December 2015:
I was so speechless for a few days that I simply couldn't leave my final review just yet. But now I have a free day and I just wanted one more excuse to get into this story -- even if it's just to praise you, Slide, to the skies for the contribution you've made to a story that kept us riveted and thoroughly addicted for more than 2 years. I've been with you since about the middle of Ignite and, although I haven't always reviewed when I should have, I do hope you know what the Stygian Trilogy has meant to my life.

I began it at the end of the lowest period of my own life, having finished a couple of other stories -- including one that still hasn't been updated after over a year -- and I never in a million years thought I'd be so... affected.

I ended up falling in love with every one of the main characters and followed each arc with edge-of-the-seat eagerness that simply wouldn't abate until I felt the conclusions deep in my soul.

Scorpius as protagonist was brilliant in all the ways I wanted him to be. Even with his dark sides of which we certainly had enough examples, I want so very much now to give him... a big hug. I love his running the charity and naming it after Methuselah whom we all loved so much and love to see honored.

Selena is my second favorite after Scorp -- a very close second indeed. You brilliantly created her and she was at least as awesomely developed as any of JKR's characters. I say she could have fit in so well in the original HP books... but again maybe not. Her Hogwarts house is a very different place in this trilogy than in the books and we should never forget that, after all, it took 3 Slytherins along with 2 Gryffindors and a Ravenclaw to save the world this time around.

Rose was wonderfully fashioned by you into someone totally real and believable. I'm so thrilled that she and Scorp married and seem happy. I am seeing that they still have issues to work through... Is she really kind of avoiding seeing her husband these days? Or is it just her being Rose and addicted to her work? I felt the second more than the first. She loves Scorpius, always will, but is just busy being Rose.

Albus? I knew at the beginning of this epilogue that he didn't have it all together yet. How could he? He lost the person he fell in love with and was never sure he'd ever see her again. I'm so glad you ended up giving them a chance, and leaving it to our imagination how that coming together might work out. Having Scorpius send him off on an extended holiday (paid out of his own pocket, I'm sure) was an extra-brilliant move intended to force Al to give real thought of what he wanted to do next -- and placing Eva back in the picture as well. Does the judge in South Africa have some connection to Eva's legal situation or is he just someone for Al to communicate with about the charity? In the end I can't see Al continuing formally working for Scorpius anyway. I truly see him returning to Quidditch... using his formidable leadership skills in something innocent that he loves and can dig his teeth into...

It all worked out... so perfectly. SO perfectly in my eyes. How am I going to get along during my late-night free time without this trilogy? I'm just going to have to get into Lily and James. Your writing is just too singularly brilliant to ignore no matter the characters. A big, big thank you from a lifetime fan.

Author's Response: I've been similarly delaying replying to a bunch of epilogue reviews! The sooner I do this, the sooner I'll be letting go of Oblivion. Not sure I'm ready to do this!

But I am so pleased to hear what the Stygian Trilogy means to you. Good stories, I think, should go with you through your life, if only for a time, so I'm thrilled to know mine's done that. It's why I couldn't really resist giving the story this more-fluffy send-off than the messy finale of Oblivion proper.

None of this story would have happened without Scorpius; he pranced into my head, fully-formed as a character, and aside from the desire to write an Epic Adventure, he was the main reason Ignite even got written. That and I had to indulge my soft spot for Slytherins, with both him and Selena; the runaway star of this bloody story. ;-)

Rose has really got over most of her issues by now. She's not avoiding seeing Scorpius; I imagine her work is very project-based, so she might throw herself into it for a few months where they don't see a lot of each other, but then she's free for a stretch and devotes her time entirely to him, family and friends.

Judge Roux pushed for Eva's original pardon; as the magical world gets back to a state where they might work together globally (which I imagine broke down horribly after they discovered the truth about the IMC), he is in more of a place to push for Eva getting the clean slate she deserves. At least within a few countries. She can't be wanted in THAT many states. Probably. I'd like to think Al and Eva spent a few months travelling together (all expenses paid by Scorp, of course) before figuring out a life together, most likely back in Britain. Al, after all this, wouldn't walk away from family and friends forever. I'd love to think he eventually becomes a Quidditch coach, then manager, while Eva remains perpetually confused by the sport.

Marauders era's been weird to get into, but I'd love it if people gave it a chance! Either way it's been wonderful to have you as a reader for this long a time; it's been so thoroughly appreciated I can't put it easily into words.

Thank you for this and all past reviews!


 Report Review

Review #15, by RelentlessFire 

24th December 2015:
I don't know how to thank you enough for every great idea you turned into words, for very character you let live through you, and through us. I will never forget how reading this trilogy made me feel, so much has changed for me too, since I've started reading Ignite till now. With you till the very end. So, goodbye for now, I'll gladly read anything you'll write, for I know it'll be great.
Sincerely, Giulia.

Author's Response: You're very welcome! I'm just glad that you've enjoyed the story, and that it's meant so much for you. Good stories should go with us through our lives, I like to think, and if the Stygian Trilogy has done that even a little with you, I'm thrilled.

But my end is not here. I still scribble away, of course. ;-)

Thanks for reviewing all the way!


 Report Review

Review #16, by fizzingwizzbies 

23rd December 2015:
This whole series has been so brilliant, emotional, and inspiring. I now wish I had reviewed it more throughout because you are so, so talented at what you create! Thank you so much for creating such a captivating and intricate storyline! These characters will stick with me for a long time. Good luck with your next story too!

Author's Response: I'm so glad you enjoyed the story, that the characters will stick with you. I know it'll all stick with me.

Thank you so much for reading and reviewing.


 Report Review

Review #17, by Pumpkin 

22nd December 2015:
What is there to say besides 'Thank you'? I've been with you since Ignite, and what a ride! And more than that, it's been something I really looked forward to through some rough times for me. In fanfiction it's so common to find seeds of greatness, sometimes even greatness sprouts, but it's rare to find a work that's as fully realized and satisfying as the Stygian Trilogy.

Engaging with the moral ambiguity of Oblivion has been a real treat, too. Usually when a story talks moral ambiguity it's through one Eva type character with a dark past who is now on the side of light. It was unexpected to see almost all the characters go from mostly innocent, naive teenagers in Ignite to some dark individuals who have committed some real acts of evil. And then to watch them claw their way back out of the darkness again! Well done. Bravo. The growth of the characters and your gradually expanding world reminded me of growing up alongside the Harry Potter characters.

Thematically I think the ending may have been stronger if not everyone was together (or about to get back together) and happy at a fancy beach party. But I'm a sucker for fluff after a difficult journey, so I'll thank you for the fluffy epilogue too. And like Selena and Scorpius pointed out, they are still young...

You're a great author, and I'll be following your next work and plan to check out your original fiction as well. I never had much interest in Lily Evans and James Potter, but I'm looking forward to you converting me.

Thanks again, and see you over in NFA!

Author's Response: And thank you! I'm so happy to hear how much following the trilogy has meant to people. It's meant a lot to me, too, and these are always journeys best enjoyed together.

I hadn't really intended on Oblivion to be as morally ambiguous as it turned out to be. Eva became deeper than expected (I've always had a firm Concept for her, but one I never quite understood the consequences of until I was writing them). Scorpius working with Thane when he was discovered honestly originated from the 'it would be cool' plot idea generator, I just knew I had to treat such a situation seriously. And Rose's dark deeds came because I knew the price for Scorpius' survival had to be HIGH. It all flowed very naturally and I'm happy with how I handled it, but I certainly didn't plan Oblivion to be half as Difficult a piece as it turned out to be. Like I say, the trilogy was meant to be rather more Hollywood epic than HBO drama.

I did dilly-dally a lot with the epilogue, and its existence. Simply, there's a reason the epilogue is book-ended with references to Ignite. Oblivion, messy and complicated and hard as it was, feels like it had the right ending with Chapter 57. The absence of Eva and Albus' uncertain future, Scorose confronting what they both did and still making plans, Selena struggling with her mother and Matt helping her in an entirely NOT knight-in-shining-armour manner - it all worked. Right up until I wrote Eva's letter, I wasn't going to write an epilogue.

I don't entirely joke when I say I wrote it for Al and Eva, because they were the motivating factor. Partly it's that in my head, I always felt she WOULD come back some day, and even if her redemption is hard, the idea she can NEVER have happiness is brutal. It's also unspoken, but I rather feel like she'll never stop working, even if she and Al make it. She just might be able to make the world a better place without sacrificing everything of her own.

But the POINT I am meandering towards is that the epilogue is, really, not Oblivion's epilogue. It's book-ended by the Ignite quotes (God I'm meandering) because it's the TRILOGY'S epilogue. Oblivion ends, like Chapter 57 says, 'many times, for many different people in many different ways.' The characters we met in Ignite and Starfall end in a party.

Anyway, I hope I can sucker some more people into Marauders! It's odd how much I've been swept into it after originally not having much interest myself. But even if not, thank you SO much for following and enjoying the Stygian Trilogy, and thank you so much for this review.


 Report Review

Review #18, by whykay 

20th December 2015:
This is so much like those endings in Christopher Nolan's movies.. Like in 'The Dark Knight Rises' - did Alfred imagine Bruce Wayne in the cafe? or even in 'Inception' - did that stop turning? - are the kids real?

Is it Eva? Is it not her? :P :P :P

Epilogue is a bit Sappy. :) :) and Happy.
The only thing I can't imagine is Albus working for Scorpius. I would have really liked Albus working with James on training, like he initially considered. Somehow I feel that would have fit in better with Albus.

This setting only fuels Scolbus rumours. :P Much to Rose's amusement I guess. Her line of work seems exciting. :)

Is Scorpius joking around so much about him being dead for two years healthy? It seems to me he brings it up to make the other person awkward because that fact seems to serve no purpose. Somehow I feel Scorpius feels shallow, or I could also say uncomplicated and happy - I think Scorpius' character was always defined by an underlying anxiety, tension, agitation, mostly caused due to abandonment issues. This Scorpius is markedly different and obnoxious and lovable and goofy.

Selena and Matt aren't working too much for me. But it is okay, I can't see the chemistry, but I can see the compatibility.

I rather treat this as a Nolan epilogue. Because otherwise I'd want to know more. And this is OVER, as you said. So.

I wish you all the success, happiness and contentment!! :) I really wish you get down and write more stories. Maybe a collection of non HPFF short stories or so, after your third book in your original work... :) :)

Ta! See you in Marauders'. :D

Author's Response: I had not anticipated getting a Nolan comparison! I can live with that. :) But word of God says it IS Eva. And yup, Epilogue is sappy. I give in, at the end, to being a sap, and I'm STILL not even sorry!

I'd like to think Al can go into Quidditch and something FUN and fulfilling in the future (Christ, they're only 24 in this epilogue). But honestly I needed him to still be kind of unfulfilled, trying to fill a hole in himself, doing good and helping other people and not quite complete. So it's kind of cheap but I had a condensed space in which to tell the story! Maybe he and Eva sort things out and he does, in fact, go into Quidditch training (and she had to learn to love Quidditch but if she can't that's probably the one thing which will scupper them more than a history of serial murder).

I have always taken Scorpius' jokes about his death as a coping mechanism, and honestly because It Happened. He doesn't want to tip-toe around it and he doesn't want other people to tip-toe around it. So, being Scorpius, he makes light of it. I honestly think that after all this time, they're past being awkward. But you're right, if he brought it up with someone who WASN'T a loved one, it would probably be to put them on the back foot. You're also right in assessing him as being pretty obnoxious and goofy now; it was an intentional full circle, of him acting much the same as he did in the Ignite opening chapter, but it's no longer a desperate over-compensating. He takes the talents he once used to disguise himself and now uses them to help others, even if it's just by throwing a good party.

Rose's job was hard; it doesn't really MATTER, thematically, what she's doing with her life so long as it's something halfway normal. But after things like the Rabbit's Foot incursion I loved the idea she took all of their expertise of breaking things and turned them to something less subversive!

I honestly didn't care about Matt in the epilogue. His story is very much done; how he exists 5 years on only matters in the context of Selena (wow, this epilogue was really Ignite's, wasn't it, considering the irrelevance of Matt except as a Selena prop and Eva not really appearing on-screen). He's happy, his head's deflating - and he's there to support Selena.

tbh you can ASK more, for all I say it's over it doesn't mean I don't have IDEAS of how the future will roll out. I can imagine how their lives will go, I just don't have much idea of any more STORIES.

Pah, don't ask me to write original fiction short stories. I suck at short stories even if I have the momentum of fanfic; I suck even MORE at short stories without! ;-)

Thank you so much for this review, and for all the past reviews; your long-term support has been hugely appreciated. And I look forward to keeping it through Marauders hijinks. ;-)

Cheers!


 Report Review

Review #19, by electronegative 

20th December 2015:
I love everything about this. I didn't review the final chapter because I was just so sad Albus and Eva couldn't get their happy ending, but I knew that's how it'd have to happen.

I love how Scorpius is doing charity. It's perfect for him. I love how it's helping him rebuild his relationship with his mother, I love how Albus is working for him - it's perfect for him, too.

I knew Eva would show up in the epilogue! I knew they couldn't get their happy ending after Lillian was exposed, but I also knew it'd be far too cruel for her to truly disappear for good. I wish WE could've seen her too, but it's perfect regardless.

What an amazing story. It's weird, but this fanfic has made me question my own principles and ideology again and again, possibly more deeply than any other story, including published fiction. Matt's history lessons actually taught me a lot about history as well, because I'd often google what he was talking about to find out more. You put your characters through such difficult and complex situations, showing how grey the world really is without being trite. My sense of empathy has really been refined by almost every single character throughout the series, because EVERYONE has suffered.

I can't wait to follow the Lily saga - I'm sure it's going to be just as epic.

Author's Response: I went round and round and round in Eva's ending, all through Oblivion. I genuinely didn't know how it was going to end until I was much, much closer. Admittedly, a point against them working out without a time-skip was that it'd be a bit damned twee if all three couples waltzed into the sunset together. I considered her being presumed dead in the climax only for Al to get the letter, I considered her getting locked up only to end up in some sort of Suicide Squad-esque group headed by Lillian but that was too damned morbid. I did consider her getting pardoned and her ending being a 'Oh God, how do I live a normal life and do I even deserve it?' question. But none of it worked. It was too soon for her. So I had to write the epilogue. Honestly, if Oblivion were a movie, there probably wouldn't have been an epilogue focusing on all six characters; there would have just been a shot more like the very end of Shawshank Redemption, or the kind of whirlwind, wordless end sequence of Inception, all about Al and Eva.

But once it had to be a CHAPTER, it became something else, and far more about the Big Four. Yes, they can be happy. Yes, they still carry their scars.

I am so thrilled at how challenging you've found the trilogy. Oblivion really astonished ME with how difficult it turned, morally. As a piece of technical work it has been flawed but it might be the finest thing I've written in terms of themes. And I'm SUPER GLAD my history nerding has encouraged you to Google! Though this is why I always included in my Authors' Notes things I made up!!

'The Lily Saga' - it super is becoming that, and I look forward to taking y'all with me on another adventure. Which is probably going to be even BLOODY HARDER seeing as EVERYONE DIES but that's a problem for future Slide.

Thank you so much, I've really enjoyed all your reviews and thoughts and insight. Cheers!


 Report Review

Review #20, by Kaye Litam 

20th December 2015:
There is nothing else I can say but thank you. Thank you for sharing this beautiful world with us, for all the laughter and the worry and the confusion and the moral ambiguity and the heart-wrenching tears. Its been a long journey. I wasn't with you at the very beginning, but I joined you halfway through Ignite, and now here we are, how many days, weeks, months, years after, and so many things have happened. Scorpius, Rose, Albus, Matt and Selena have changed so much, and so have you and I. No one is the same, and I think we're all better for it. It's been wonderful, this adventure, growing up, all of it. I'll miss it dearly, but as you've said, they've gotten their happy ending. With that, I am content. Now on to find a new adventure to sink soul-deep into, whenever the worries of the weary world we live in get a little bit too rough.

Once again, thank you. Job well done. Best of luck to all your future endeavors.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for these kind words; it's amazing to hear how much people have drawn enjoyment from this occasionally messy and difficult story. But there's been laughter, too, which is perhaps more important, and it's been a long road but, I hope, a fulfilling one.

Which is why I couldn't really end it on anything too messy, too ambiguous. While a lack of closure is a kind of thematic closure in its own way, and worked for Oblivion, it didn't work for the whole trilogy. It lets the curtain fall rather more neatly.

And there will be many other adventures to come, with me and with others!

Thank you so much for reviewing.


 Report Review

Review #21, by Margravine 

20th December 2015:
Oh I'm so glad you did do a flash forward, I think we needed it to say goodbye.
My heart has always been in the Anguis verse but I enjoyed this and I remain so appreciative of the quality and frequency of your updates.
I look forward so much to reading your marauder era.
Is it creepy that, after all these years, it feels like we're old acquaintances? Nonetheless, I'm sorry to hear it was a hard year for you, and I'm glad you kept writing through it!

Author's Response: Not at all creepy, this is one of the reasons I can't quite let go of fanfiction. Even if I don't have the close relationships with readers and fellow writers outside of the review mechanics that some do, it's not because I don't love you all. It's just because I'm terrible and useless. That's all. But I do love you all, and those like you who've been with me since Anguisverse I would build a swanky clubhouse for.

Okay I think I've been answering too many reviews at once because I'm going to the crazy place.

The epilogue only originated for Al and Eva, but once I committed to its existence I knew it had to be for everyone, really, and also for US (weird how I can say 'us' about readers and writer, but we need closure on those guys too). Oblivion could end with messy ambiguity and difficulty, but the Trilogy needed something nicer.

Anyhoo, thanks a bunch for sticking with me. It really means more than I can express.


 Report Review

Review #22, by fanofgredforge 

20th December 2015:
So I did not get the picket fence. But I will make do with the walk on the beach :)

Thank you so much for writing this. I love how much these stories meant to you even after all this time. That it did not just turn into a chore. Even when you are working on other original works. It showed. So thank you.

Kind of sad that there won't be further adventures for Eva but just as excited about the new marauder era story you are working on. Sometimes you follow stories based on characters/era and sometimes you do because of the author. For me its the latter for your stories. I would like you to know that I will be coming back to your page for as long you continue to write in the potterverse.

Author's Response: That conversation would just be so damned awkward, wouldn't it? Just writing it in my head, it's kind of the worst. They'd need such a long time to try to find some sort of equilibrium and rapport. Or, who knows, maybe he gave her a drink and kissed her and they decided to be happy right here and now and to worry about the big questions later. That would be more fitting to the moment, don't you think? ;)

And they'll make it. Screw ambiguity; that's my Word of God, right there. They won't ever have a conventional life together, but they'll make it.

Oddly I've never grown tired of long-term projects. I've been ready for them to end, but that's because they've reached their appropriate thematic ending. But for me a project has either fizzled out before it got anywhere, or it's properly concluded. Which makes me lucky, I guess, so I'm glad I've been able to keep on pouring affection into the work, and I'm glad it's shown in the quality, or at least in everyone's enjoyment!

Thank you for all your support, and it's great to know I'll keep you as a follower, I have been so hugely grateful for your kind words over the years.

Cheers!


 Report Review

Review #23, by Burli 

20th December 2015:
Thank you for your stories!

I only recently discovered your stories, mostly because you updated so regularly. So I thought, why the heck Not and started reading ignite. And I was instantly hooked. The way you write your characters was and still is marvellous. You make them flawed, but still I felt for them all. It took me five days of intense reading, till I had reached one of the later chapters. But by jove, it was so worth it.
So thank you for letting us be part of these adventures, of giving me something to look forward to. Thank you for your excellent writing, that always made me want to read more. Just know that your stories made and make a difference in people and my lives. For that I am thankful
Take care!
M.

Author's Response: You are very welcome! I'm so glad to hear people have hopped on board the story even at this later stage, and I'm so glad to hear how much you've enjoyed it.

I feel so tremendously lucky, and I am hugely grateful to you and all my readers. Thank you for taking the time to tell me this.

Cheers!


 Report Review

Review #24, by thegreatcatsby 

20th December 2015:
Why must I be allergic to feelings? I'm crying.

Thank you so much for everything.

Author's Response: I'd totally be lying if I said I hadn't cried or been close to crying at various points in Oblivion's ending. Not so much in the actual update, but at other points. Going for a walk when I'd finished writing, random moments which just hit me on the run-up to its publication. I had a weird as hell moment updating Not Fade Away yesterday and realising, this is it, I will never update a Stygian chapter again.

Anyway I'm also a big mess and you are so absolutely welcome.


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review