Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
28 Reviews Found

Review #1, by PLUM 

25th June 2017:
Right, so I'm re-reading FA just as a normal person does and I had to leave a review on this chapter because just WOW. I cannot get over how your write your characters so flawlessly fleshed out and REAL. And, as always, the humour just kills me. I dream about writing the way you do honestly.

I don't know how I managed not to drop a review for this chapter but I knew I had to. There are so many things here I want to talk about but I just can't! There isn't enough space!

But Aspen and Louis -- perfect. Al and Poppy -- makes my heart sing. Oscar -- my muse, my love, my life. And Jeffy ... okay, from the very beginning one of the things I've admired so so much about your writing and your ability to capture the zeitgeist of teenage conversations so honestly is how you translate them in Jeffy's relationship. Two hot-headed, opinionated, bordering on arrogant people who strongly believe in their values and yet manage to shove the things they disagree on aside because they make each other happy in some blistering way is just so incredibly real and god i just want to steal your words.

Honestly though, rereading this makes me wonder what DO James and Effy actually have in common with each other besides their traits? They have chemistry and are attracted to each other, obviously, but at this point I just can't see how they could fall in love (but I wonder if this is because I'm just so Team Mikey ...)

Okay, thought-rant done! I loved this chapter and, as always, the humour had me in tears.

Can't wait for the update! P xx

Author's Response: urgghhh you don't know how much it means to me to hear you're re-reading FA! like on one hand it fills me with total dread- i HATE the early chapters- but i can't believe you like it enough to return!

(and i am truly sorry about the year 11 writing of the early chapters!)

aspen & louis... spoiler alert, they're not quite over yet! and regarding james & effy- haha, their relationship at this point is SO problematic it almost hurts me to read it. like they're too alike and too united in their stubbornness to even give their relationship a half-hearted go and it's just so seventeen year old its almost funny. writing the new chapter and comparing their new dynamic to their old is definitely weird, so weird, they've changed SO much. but you put it better than me, tbh! talk about stealing words- i'd say the same thing about AOP any day (and i am SO excited to read the next chapter!)

definitely love that you're questioning their relationship, definitely love that you're team mikey- hun, you got a bIG storm COMING- and i can't wait to hear what you think of the next chapter!

you're the best. beyond words. all my love xx


 Report Review

Review #2, by Hasane 

23rd May 2017:
I literally binged seventeen chapters of FA.

This story is so good, like seriously, and it's so interesting to read even what would be the most boring of scenes. Your prose is so beautiful, and the fact that you started this at fifteen, and you wrote that well, makes me jealous.

James and Effy are such addicting characters, and I love reading about them. They would make a good couple, but I feel like they're that couple that's literally a train wreck, and people are oscillating between 'oh my god they should be together foreverrr' or 'OH MY GOD WILL THEY FINALLY BREAK UP ALREADY WE'VE SEEN THIS OLD SONG AND DANCE A MILLION TIMES.' I'm kind of leaning towards the last one. I really do think that James and Effy would be good for each other, but maybe after a few years. Their personalities clash way too much right now, and if they get back together, I can only see it ending like this chapter did in terms of the couple.

So, both James and Effy should wait a while, and work on themselves, and maybe in a few years time, they'd be better for each other. Right now, their relationship is exactly what you would find with two teenagers that are figuring out themselves, and it's not good.

But mostly, I'm just shipping Effy and James with themselves. They're just better as individuals.

Literally thanking every god there is right now that there are six more (very long!) chapters to read.

Author's Response: omg omg omg! i think that must be my favourite phrase in the fanfic sphere- binged- it genuinely means so so much, thank you! it's so exciting to imagine that this fic is somehow still attracting new readers, and i couldn't be more delighted. thank you, thank you, thank you.

haha yeah, james & effy have been called many things by readers and i think 'trainwreck' is one of the most accurate ones. they're teenage angsty af and yeah, i do definitely think they /could/ have a future at some point, but they're just too invested in themselves to invest in each other. i just suppose you'll have to see what happens in upcoming chapterrs!

thanks again so so much for this glorious, delightful, wonderful review- it genuinely means sooo much to me and i beamed from start to finish. thank you x10. all my love xox


 Report Review

Review #3, by Pottered 

15th January 2017:
"I'm crazy about you" omg my heart just broke
Jeffy till I die honestly I swear if she gets with mikey ill stop reading (jokes)
Why does Freddie not like effy? And why has he had a dark past
You characterise so well please can we get a flavour of Dom, Hugo or Lily I'd love to see what they were like in ur mind

Author's Response: hahahaa for you to stop reading fluorescent adolescent is motivation enough to make it a jeffy ending! but seriously. what can i say? watch this space ;)
and freddie is so enigmatic, i cannot wait to explore his character in future chapters- i don't think he's a bad guy, its not as black & white as effy sees it, but there is definitely something brewing there. woohoo inTRIGUE!

thanks again for reading, and even more for leaving such a lovely review! xx


 Report Review

Review #4, by Hannah 

28th August 2016:
Love this story omg. They need to get back together rn!!! Amazing plot and idea and writing. Love it

Author's Response: hannah! thank you so much- means the world, you're too kind! xx

 Report Review

Review #5, by nott theodore 

6th March 2016:
Oh my goodness, I honestly loved that last little detail about the t-shirt - it fits in with James's character so well and it made me laugh even though that part was quite sad.

I should have known that things weren't going to end well for Effy and James with everything that happened in the last chapter - it was almost too happy for them, to be honest. I wasn't sure that I was expecting it to unravel so quickly, but it honestly seems like a really difficult relationship for the two of them to keep going when there's so much miscommunication between them and they don't get to see each other very often. Even though they've opened up a bit about certain things, I still feel like neither of them - James especially - are ready to let someone else in entirely and that's not exactly going to work for them to have a proper relationship.

Having said that, I'm so glad that Effy is sticking to her guns here and she's not just rolling over and doing everything that James wants her to. It infuriates me so much when I read characters doing that because I can't agree with it at all and it's sad to think that some girls do that. Even so, it's really clear how much James means to her at the end.

I wonder if he has actually changed, to be honest - it's so easy to say that and obviously part of me wants him to have, but I think it's going to take a lot for her to be able to trust him properly. I'm looking forward to seeing where Louis and Aspen goes too!

Sian :)
For the HPFF Review-A-Thon

 Report Review

Review #6, by xoxo_jpotter 

29th January 2016:
Okay this chapter has been up for how long? Like a month or more? And I'm only just now reading it! Plus, you have another chapter! Either I'm getting way behind, or you are updating a lot faster!

I can't believe I put this off for so long. It was so good. As much as I love Effy and James, I'm really glad she's not putting up with his crap! I read so many stories where the girl stays with the guy because she in love. Like, no. If she wouldn't have put her foot down, nothing would've gotten done.

That being said, I hope this puts a new perspective in James's head because he was being completely unfair. If my boyfriend was doing half of the stuff he was, I would dump him so fast.

I just want them to work on themselves and accept each other for their flaws (because it's not just James.) Please tell me you're not going to break them up forever! I couldn't take it!

Off to the next one!

xoxo
-M

 Report Review

Review #7, by Acorn 

27th January 2016:
Omg so much exciting stuff was revealed
I'm so intrigued
Where will this aspen Louis relationship go?
What is Freddie's dark past?
WHAT IS GOING ON WITH JEFFY?
All these questions I can't wait to find out the answer to
I laughed out loud at the poppy toilet paper epiphany and can sadly say I totally relate too omg
"I'm crazy about you" from the Great James potter broke me just a little bit and I can't wait to see the pair reunite
Brilliant chapter so many emotions I loved it
Cannot wait to read more update soon!

Author's Response: you're so, so kind- i'm sooo, SO pleased you liked this chapter! i hope the next chapter doesn't disappoint, and answers some (probably not many, i'm very annoying) of your questions. all my luv xx

 Report Review

Review #8, by anonymousssss 

26th January 2016:
The end just completely broke me because I have never really thought of Effy to be someone who cried over a guy. It really just showed me a different side of her and it made me realize how much her relationship with James (even though it was of somewhat destructive) meant to her. Also I kind of hate James for flirting especially with Dahlia and not realizing that it kind of hurt Effy but at the same time I understand that he's still the same James and that he can't change too much just because he's dating Effy. Sorry this seems kind of long but I feel so attached to these characters and I want nothing else but for them to end up together. I love all the other characters too and I don't really know why but I think I'd like to see more of Freddie cause he's such a big part of why James is who he is. ABSOLUTELY CAN NOT WAIT FOR THE NEXT CHAPTER!

Author's Response: oh my goshhh. i'm so sorry about that, but i genuinely could not be happier that you reacted like that to effy! effy is so the product of two older brothers; she's like, determined to appear strong and above usual aspen-like emotions, but yes, she's such a secret emotional mess. and it's great, because not even effy herself realises this.

there's so much more freddie coming up!! i'm so glad you like him, i'm forever scared that i've made him too mean and people either don't like him / don't care about him. which is peak, because you know, george. n all of that.

anyway!! thank you so, so much for leaving such an amazing review!! i hope the next chapter doesn't disappoint ♥


 Report Review

Review #9, by hpttu 

26th January 2016:
my poor jeffy heart is broken but at the same time it seems like Mikey and Effy makes more sense. Ughhh. I dont even know anymore. Cant wait for the next chapter and the rest of the story. Also I was just wondering if you are going to do a sequel to FA? *fingers crossed that you do*

Author's Response: i REALLY want to do a fa sequel! or at least, a string of one-shots, or maybe a few chapters on hogwarts from james' persepective. honestly, idk. but yes !! this is a thing.

thanks so much for leaving a review! i hope the next chapter doesn't disappoint! ♥


 Report Review

Review #10, by Cedes 

24th January 2016:
"I love Effy and James but I think it had to be done"... DONT GET MY HOPES UP. IS MIKEY AND EFFY HAPPENING??? YESS! This chapter really opened my eyes to James treating her like shit, and before I used to think that Effy and James getting into arguments was just sexual tension, but honestly they fight so much and it's just.. I can't contain myself... Your whole "Mikey has always been in love with Effy" thing makes me love him more cause that means that even though they broke up in 4th year and he's been acting like a doting friend this whole time, instead of making her uncomfortable with his feelings, he's been waiting for her to see if she'd grow feeling for him too... Like what??? It's been 2 years?? Gosh this story is driving me crazy (in a like, a totally happy, cool, I'm-so-excited-for-this-to-be-happening, kind of way). Please don't make this a "but James and Effy are endgame" deal because I'll have to try to write an alternative ending and I have a very shit imagination and terrible grammar... I mean, I'm just kidding, but a girl can hope right?

Author's Response: AH i knew this chapter would bring out the inner mikey supporters! i really, genuinely did not set out to make this a love triangle two-boys-one-girl kind of story; i usually find them so boring; but i just couldn't help it, the more i wrote mikey the more i was like, as you said, yes!! doting friend, growing feelings plotline just seemed inevitable

and i would love to read your alternative ending! almost tempted to just leave it at this and see what you come up with hahahahaa- i would never endgame james and effy, i'm too emotionally invested in them! thanks for another insane review, you're the best !! ♥


 Report Review

Review #11, by Ninja in Training 

22nd January 2016:
i am actually so glad they broke up because i don't actually like james at all -she has been happy with him on like two occasions and he's being such a prize dickhead! and yeah she hasnt asked him to change but she deserves better than someone that flirts with everyone and doesnt make time for her so he should want to change and hould realise that of course he doesnt have to change, but he does have to change for her!

Author's Response: is it bad that i kind of love that you don't like james?? like, obviously this is a james/oc fic- i don't think it would attract people if it were oc/oc ahaha- but yes, i LOVE that you feel this way about him, you're so right, he's been a total - well, words i don't think i'm allowed to type haha but you get the picture - and basically, yeah. yes to everything you've said.

hopefully the next chapter doesn't disappoint!! thanks again for leaving such a great review ♥


 Report Review

Review #12, by daylight 

19th January 2016:
HELLO
ITS ME
I WAS WONDERING IF AFTER ALL THESE YEARS you'd like a review from me because I have been MIA because college is an insatiable monster.
So, this chapter was brilliant, and you've continued your wonderful trend of keeping close to reality, and shown what a real teenaged relationship is like! Really, I feel like James and Effy represent all those lovely, fiery young loves that burn bright and hot but fade because of age and maturity levels and wandering eyes and all the angst of being a teenager. They're so fickle, but I could see them returning to one another after they've spent time apart and realized that they are the OTP and are Jeffy 4 life.

Also the new banner is amazing? My fave so far. Sorry again that my review was eons late, your writing continues to have that amazing wow factor, update soon!

Nora xx

Author's Response: omg omg omg! nora! what a deilght!

(and i totally laughed out loud at your adele reference.)

thank you so, so much for your truly lovely words. your description of james and effy is EXACTLY what i was going for. yesss! like- YES! you know? thank you so, so much ahhhasdfghjkl; you're the best. and ikr? this new banner has me totally heart eyes emoji. if you get me.

♥ ♥ ♥


 Report Review

Review #13, by captainaaa 

19th January 2016:
I am so excited for the new chapter! I saw the snippet from your tumblr account and I got even more excied. I love JEFFY so much and the snippet gave me a little bit of hope for them. BUT at the same time MEFFY is starting to sound a bit more interesting too. UGHHH im so torn.

Author's Response: hey there! i'm so pleased you saw the tumblr snippet and i'm even happier it's gotten you excited!

thanks endlessly for reading and leaving such a lovely review! ♥


 Report Review

Review #14, by Teremere 

19th January 2016:
Omg:( I'm sad reading the end of jeffy but in my heart I know they will reunite! I would end my fan girl heart if she ended up with mikey I mean I can see why they are shipped together but they just do not have the chemistry the Magic the buzz the fire the fucking blaze that is ignited when sun light falls on James" hazel eyes will not be there with mikey
I'm sorry u simply cannot do this to me:(
I love love love the chapter and hope do find out more about Freddie's troubled past and the issues him and effy have
Can't wait till the next chapter
See you soon

Author's Response: hahahahaha i LOVE that description! totally do not worry- i think i'd cry if this was the end of james and effy, it so /so/ is not. and i'm so glad you're intrigued by freddie, nobody's really brought him up in a review before but his background is actually quite a big plot line for the future!!

thanks for leaving such a kind and generous review! hopefully the next chapter'll be up next week ♥ thanks again!!


 Report Review

Review #15, by Mrslongbottom 

17th January 2016:
No
I know this was inevitable but please don't make this a mikey effy fic
JEFFY is the core heart beating blood supplying source of the universe u cannot evict them:(
As usual effortlessly amusing and very very talented dialogue writing!
Can't wait for more!

Author's Response: ahhh thank you so, so much! you are so lovely, and i feel privileged that you like this- more importantly effy- so far!! and i can't make any promises on the mikey/effy front, but... we'll see ;)

thanks again for leaving such a generous review !! xx


 Report Review

Review #16, by Mrslongbottom 

17th January 2016:
No
I know this was inevitable but please don't make this a mikey effy fic
JEFFY is the core heart beating blood supplying source of the universe u cannot evict them:(
As usual effortlessly amusing and very very talented dialogue writing!
Can't wait for more!

Author's Response: thank you so, so much! and don't worry- this is not the end of james and effy, hahaha. thanks for reviewing!! ♥

 Report Review

Review #17, by AnaBanana 

6th January 2016:
I absolutely love Jeffy so much! They have so much chemistry, thanks to your writing, and I love reading your work so much! I honestly haven't read many fics that are as well written as yours and I can't thank you enough. Update soon and please let Jeffy get back together (or at least give us lots of Jeffy scenes?)!! Mikey and Effy just aren't the same. They don't have the same spark! Love them as friends, but Effy can't end up with him because I don't know that he'd make her happy in the long run. Effy needs some one to challenge her, and that person, at least right now, is definitely James.

Author's Response: i'm so glad you like jeffy! like, as happy as i am that there are readers who ship effy and mikey- ultimately this is a james/oc fic and i am just so pleased you like jeffy haha, despite james' difficulties. and they'll be plenty more jeffy scenes coming up ;)

and ahhh! you're making me blush! you're so lovely, thank you so much for leaving such a kind review!! xxx


 Report Review

Review #18, by pottered (too lazy to sign in :<) 

28th December 2015:
hi im finally out of reading slump, thank God for that aha. and oh no. oh /no/. they broke up welp but then i think it had to be done, yeah. well, basically, james is a pr*ck. like, a down right basta*d, i don't even have words to express how ??? i am at him. how could he do this to my girl effy. why. im PISSED. poor him, he really didn't go through any change, his loss because that attitude isn't going to get him anywhere hm. ok but MIKEY!!! mikey, he's so cute! i've always loved him so much alongside oscar (who i heavily agree with, like, yes??!!! who the hell signs off with just their name when you're in such a close relationship. 'james.' it really did seem like he was talking as if he was her dad lol). also the fact that james got prickly over the fact that effy was going to mikey's birthday instead of alfie's made me question everything because WHAT, JAMES. what even. for being so smart, he can surely be daft. it's her bestfriend's birthday, how and why would she miss out on that. i really don't understand james and then he goes and lies to effy, going to hogsmeade with someone who is /not/ effy. i get it that he can have female friends ofc but then lying to effy that he can't go to hogsmeade but then goes there and that also with his ex. uhh, very hypocritical and douche-like. im glad they broke up, it was a toxic relationship. i feel so bad for effy ): but yay so proud that she's being strong about all this. i love her. and :0 didn't really expect aspen and louis to be a thing but then in effy's description of them being beauties with scattered brains and good intentions, yeah i can see why they'd get along so well aha.
xx

Author's Response: hi! hi! hi! hi!

i LOVE your reaction to james' behaviour. like, totally agreed- but i just felt it was important to create a realistic character of an 18 year old boy rather than a romanticised, teenage love, notebook kind of love interest, you know? i try to write james to have a lot in common with not only his grandfather but other boys like him i know, so i'm glad it seems to be working ahaha!

anyway, i couldn't be happier than you like effy, and i love how you've loved mikey from the beginning. he is such a mensch, to quote my granddad.

thank you so much for another incredible review! means the world ♥


 Report Review

Review #19, by Lia 

27th December 2015:
Amazing story☺️👏

Author's Response: thanks so so much!! xx

 Report Review

Review #20, by megz 

17th December 2015:
I love this story can't wait for the next chapter.
Is it bad that i'm rooting for Mikey and Effy over James?haha

Author's Response: not bad at all! quite a few people are major mikey/effy shippers, and honestly, i can't say that i don't see why. thanks so much for leaving a review! ♥

 Report Review

Review #21, by Lala 

15th December 2015:
Amazing! Amazing! Amazing! I love them together but it just seems so right that they broke up. This is such a good chapter! I'm dying, dyinggg to see what happens next!

Author's Response: i'm SO GLAD you liked this chapter, and yes yes YES- your reaction is EXACTLY what i was going for. the last thing i'd want was for james and effy to do anything that didn't feel 'right', if that makes sense- they're both so impulsive and in the moment, you know?
thanks again for reviewing!! xx


 Report Review

Review #22, by DobbyLover 

14th December 2015:
WOW. Intense. I really am bummed about the Effy/James situation and I hope they resolve it in future chapters. However. The. Chapter. Was. Still. Amazing.

Author's Response: thank you so, so much! ♥ i'm totally blushing.

 Report Review

Review #23, by JT4HP 

13th December 2015:
I mean, yeah, okay...James is a prat.

And I'm glad Eff stood up for herself and ended it and not do the whole "break thing".

I can't wait to see the next chapter and the emotions and just ugh. I think it's going to be really good. I bet Effy will be bummed, I mean...she did lose her virginity to him, you know?! And James is such a lovable prat I hope he finds someway (if not this next chapter maybe a couple after) to be more lovable and less prat-like.

Author's Response: agreed! i would actually call james something FAR worse than a prat, but in his defence, he still has a lot more growing to do. and he (arguably) has a few reasons for his behaviour, which will all be revealed soon. thanks so so much for reviewing, you know how much it means to me! all my luv ♥

 Report Review

Review #24, by marimm 

13th December 2015:
I'm a bit sad that James and Effy broke up but the other part of me really wants Mikey and Effy to get together. I'm obviously conflicted. Great chapter! I'm excited for the next one!

Author's Response: ahahaha you're not the only one! i'm kind of glad you like mikey and effy together? like clearly this is meant to be a james/oc fic but. idk. we'll see. fa still has a good 15 chapters to go. thanks so much for reading and reviewing!! xxx

 Report Review

Review #25, by Emstagram 

13th December 2015:
NO MY POOR JEFFY HEART IS BREAKING! :'(
ugh this chapter is so good i can't even put it down in words. I seriously just love Effy so much. And poor Mikey. Im super excited for the future chapters and how this story will go. Im going to keep on checking here and tumblr for update my whole winter break lolz.

Author's Response: thank you so, SO much! i am honestly so pleased you like effy- like you've made my day, thank you! i'm super sorry i've left responding so late, but the next chapter'll be up as soon as possible. thanks again! all my luv xx

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review
<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>