Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
16 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Hazel Bludger 

18th October 2016:
I KNEW IT I KNEW IT I KNEW IT I KNEW IT

Author's Response: I basically toy with everyone in this chapter completely needlessly, except to sate my own cruelty.

 Report Review

Review #2, by cherry_pop94 

29th December 2015:
Oh thank god.

Oh my god. He's not dead. I held my breath this whole chapter. It's not been good for my health. Oh god. I sort of knew though. And this time, not from reading ahead. The way people were speaking just didn't sound like they were mourning. Lily was too casual, everyone was okay when I figured Albus would be the furthest thing from okay.

I can't wait to know how Scorpius Malfoy cheated death twice! What is this? The fourth or fifth time we thought he was dead? He's gone through the paperwork now twice...

Stefanie

Author's Response: The many deaths of Scorpius Malfoy is one of the reasons why the Five had to be proven not-dead before going to the Caribbean in Starfall. I didn't want the end to have the kind of wibbly, 'Wait, you're not dead, except Scorpius is actually dead, just he died at a different time to when we thought he did.' But yes, the boy's like a cat. Nine lives. He's an administrative nightmare. Somewhere, every time Scorpius enters a deadly scenario, a solicitor is crying.

This chapter is also definitely cheaply manipulative! Lily might have been so irreverent if only to try to cheer Albus up, but otherwise people would have been more sympathetic. The Wotters aren't THAT messed up!

Cheers! I'm not sorry for stressing people out.


 Report Review

Review #3, by water_lily43175 

11th December 2015:
You are BEYOND evil, starting this chapter with Eva. She's been my favourite character of Oblivion and yet I find myself wishing we were anywhere but with her right now! You evil woman you.

And, I have to say, you truly have created the most wonderful, complex, BEAUTIFUL character in Eva. The fact that she doesn't WANT to be pardoned, because she doesn't think she deserves it, is just ... ugh, I adore her so much, and I'd love for her to have a happy ending ... but I know you don't do gratuitous happy endings, and she's NOT the type of person to just stroll into the Burrow for roast dinner, and ... yeah.

Wedding scene was cute. Yay for Harry/Albus healthiness.

And SCORPIUS. What the hell has Rose done... and was it an accident? HMM. NEXT NEXT NEXT.

Author's Response: Eva was the best person to use to exposit how the world had changed in the 4-day time skip. But I know, this was a SUPER IMPORTANT MOMENT in Eva's plot arc and it barely gets commented on by most people.

Stroll into the Burrow for roast dinner, you say?

And yes, Harry and Al have sorted out their problems, and I dare say will be a lot closer for it.


 Report Review

Review #4, by yellowpetals 

19th October 2015:
OMG, OMG, I forgot!!! Congratulations on the Dobby!!! You so deserved it, and many others and I hope this brings even more people to the story now, because it deserves it and so do you. I feel so very fortunate to have read this from the very beginning and it has been and continues to be so AMAZING. I can't believe it has been more than 3 years already, it's crazy. I still remember that witty line in the summary before it got changed that hooked me up, about Scorpius and the world ending in fire, what was it exactly? Anyway, my sincerest and warmest congratulations again, I am so happy for you!

I also really loved how you decided to end this war with something Victoire-y as well. Her birth signalled the end of Voldemort's second coming, her wedding is at the end of this war. It's pretty well-thought.

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm so stoked to get the Dobby, it's like a capstone as the whole series winds down. And thank you so much for sticking with me the whole way; I cannot tell you how much I appreciate the readers who've been with me for the ride.

The current summary for Ignite was the original one; I did try an out-of-context-quote (about it raining fire if the world figured Scorpius was a good guy); it's from an exchange between Al and Scorp in Chapter 2. I liked it, but I figured a summary SHOULD give more actual facts. :-D Still, it worked, I guess! Maybe I should have kept it.

...yeees, ending this new war with Victoire was a TOTALLY INTENTIONAL THEMATIC CHOICE. Ahem. I'm so smart. Cough. Good eyes. Cough.

Thanks for reviewing! :-D


 Report Review

Review #5, by yellowpetals 

19th October 2015:
There are SO MANY QUESTIONS in my mind right now, as you had expected and, I am sure, are very pleased by. Lily is not the only one who uses her powers for evil. Although, with Scorpius being alive, I really can't complain too much. I just loved the title of the chapter. Now, onto the theories.

First, why is Scorpius at the wedding?? You made it pretty clear in the previous chapters that he was not invited. So is he here as Rose's plus one? Or is that the result of Teddy urging him to? I might be putting way too much thought in this...

I am really curious about what he is reading. Don't try denying that was a part of trying to keep it unclear and thus introducing the possibility of the person in question to be Matt (whom we all know is the only male alive to have ever been caught reading in this story, pretty much). But Scorpius must be reading something and I want to know what it is.

It really leaves one likely possibility for the person who died in the ritual, since there must have been something, otherwise why would Rose feel so guilty. It could have been that no one died and they were referring to the death expected, and messing with Death and the Otherworld, but it seems unlikely that Rose would feel THAT bad about wrongly making Scorpius believe he would die. So it must have been de Sable. Which is pretty cruel (obviously not as much as had it been Scorp, mind you, but yeah). I actually had a brief theory at one point that something could develop between him and Rose, what with all the talking they had been doing and everything. If Scorpius had indeed died that is, of course. De Sable was getting quite close to Rose, I think. He even told her he felt he had never really lived fully and wanted to change that... He might have been alive for centuries but it's not like he made the most of it, had his time, did everything he wanted to and is ready to go ala Nicolas Flamel. His (potential) death is a tragedy.

I am certain that what happened during the ritual was not out of Rose's control or knowledge. She knew Scorpius would not die and was apologising for SOMETHING. I am not sure what it is, but my main fear here is this: did she kill another person (or worse) so Scorpius could live. One could argue she already did by inadvertently killing those Thornweavers at Ultima Thule, but that was more spur-of-the moment and kill or be killed, so not comparable. We know she decided she had to do what she could live with - not letting Scorpius die at any cost. That conversation with her mum, where Hermione was most likely thinking there are some prices to be paid which don't warrant the award, I think Rose decided she truly is ready to do anything to save him. She made that very clear afterwards, and even voiced it several times. I don't want to be too pessimistic about this, but I feel like we definitely have more hardship in store, still, and I fear this happiness might soon turn sour. We shall see. I just wonder how much of what happened in the ritual Scorpius does know about, and was this request for a dance a show of forgiveness or obliviousness.

Please, don't unleash the angst on Al and Eva. I really can't bear them to not work out under the excuse of their relationship being the fruit of dire circumstances and war, and not real life. As if Albus would be able to bring a different girl to the Burrow, a normal one who never fought and knew nothing of the war, and be happy. Why doesn't he try to imagine that instead! There are some things that change a person, and I believe he can't be happy with somebody who doesn't understand what he went through. There might be a fair bit of angst in store for them for being "tainted" from the fighting, but that can't compare to living a half-live, pretending that didn't happen either. I can so see him choosing the other way, the easier one, where he finds somebody new and innocent, somebody that Molly would approve of, and starts afresh. And then 20 years down the line, he gets restless and wants a way out. Just my opinion. I feel very strongly about Al and Eva, as if you can't tell already :D, I can say that the happiness caused by Scorpius's assured survival was quite a bit overshadowed by the gloomy prospects hinted at for their romance.

I can't wait for the next chapter, and I am soo excited it is already in the queue. It is getting pretty depressing thinking about the end, but then I can't help myself wanting to read it all in one go. The life of a fanfiction reader is truly a difficult one, I can solemnly proclaim. In a bid to rectify this, please tell us more about this new project you are working on that we have been hearing about for awhile now. What is it about/ when is it set/ when do you think you will start updating???

Author's Response: Yeah, I'm a total tease this chapter. It's why I put the next one in the queue basically right away (though the queue is quite long right now); it's cruel and unusual for me to leave you guys hanging any longer!

Scorpius had a soft invite from Teddy a couple chapters ago - remember, Teddy said there might be space? Scorpius kind of fobbed him off because he expected to be DEAD come the wedding. Still, lots of couples invite people to the party after their wedding who weren't necessarily invited to the ceremony or reception (it's easier to get lots of people in a party than it is to find catering at reception or seats at a ceremony for them). So it'll be explained, but don't read TOO much into Scorp not showing up until now.

Yes, the reading thing was MOSTLY a tease. I'm cheap like that. But Scorpius is now alive when he expected to be dead; there's going to be questions. Mystical and legal!! Perhaps it's pressing research he needs, perhaps it's formality, perhaps it's just that he needs time.

All I can say about de Sable right now is that, yes, your assessment of him is correct. He was granted longer life by the Chalice, and yet did not properly 'live'; he spent DECADES in Outremar at Ager Sanguinis, and from there on his life was in service to the Chalice. Even in his prolongued sleep, that was entirely so he could be found in case the Templars had need of him again - need of the Chalice again. He probably got more living done the last 2 years than anyone else. Ironically.

Rose, of all the characters, possibly has the furthest to go in the remainder of the story. Choices have been made, but choices are STILL going to need to be made. It is not over yet, for them in general but perhaps especially for Rose.

You've hit the nail on the head with how Albus would have a hard time relating to someone who HASN'T been through war with him. That's absolutely a virtue of Eva's; she understands his suffering, his sacrifices, his lifestyle. As this chapter showed, Al is STILL having trouble reconnecting with his family - it's not urgent, and he'll get there, but you can't drop off the face of the Earth for two and a half years and expect to just slot back into place. Which adds perhaps another obstacle to the couple - Al may have a harder time reconnecting with the Wotters if he's also trying to 'integrate' his relationship. There's more I'd say, but I don't want to spoil it. Just trust me that I take their relationship and its nuances VERY seriously. I freaking adore writing the complexities of those two.

It's a hard life, wanting it all at once but not wanting it to end! I have been there. But as for what comes next - assuming I can sort out my writing routines (I've started a new course and I'm still figuring out when and where I find time to write, so no matter what I will be writing more slowly than the MAD CAP RATE of the last 3 years), coming very soon will be the next project. I'd like to be releasing the first few chapters in turn with the last few chapters of Oblivion. But it's currently entitled 'Not Fade Away' and will be a First War story, ideally spanning everything from the Marauders' 6th Year right up to the aftermath of the War (Longbottoms, other post-Voldemort incidents). While Marauders will of course be important, I'm considering Lily the protagonist and it's going to have a much wider cast than anything I've written before. I'm kind of feeling it's a Song of Ice and Fire meets Battlestar Galactica meets Buffy meets Harry Potter.

Loved this review, thanks. :-D


 Report Review

Review #6, by whykay 

19th October 2015:
I knew you would pull through!!! THANK YOU!!! This is lovely. I presume something happened to DeSable.

But yeah, somewhere I don't still get the tone of the conversations. But I do hope it's Rose feeling sad about DeSable and nothing to do with the mortality and immortality of Scorpius.

Or, does it work this way - Scorpius arranged his own death and accepted it and therefore destroying the Chalice made no sense. Or did DeSable help Scorpius to hang on to his soul. Counterbalance type.

This is a wonderful lovely sunny bright happy day! :) :)

You are the best. And I absolutely adore Scorpius. Oh, I wish I could hug him now!! :D

Author's Response: All will become clear. No matter what, though, Rose is responsible for the ritual - so she feels responsible for all the consequences. Even if the bad ones are getting her goat quite a bit right now.

Unfortunately for Scorpius, his choices wouldn't undo a tether to the Chalice. As Thane has said, Scorpius is 'supposed' to be dead; he died, like Sirius died, like so many have died. He's cheating just by being alive, and so that won't be easy.

I bet Scorpius is very huggable.

Thanks for reviewing. :-D


 Report Review

Review #7, by Solana14 

18th October 2015:
Ok, it had to have been De Sable Rose inadvertently done away with, then. Or, less likely, someone not present the Chalice took with it. Either way, Rose is at the same time relieved about Scorpius but mourning someone else her ritual took. And Scorp, not wanting to rub it in even symbolically, kept his distance from both of them and intending to stay away from the wedding as well. But then he surprises them by showing up anyway.

It had to be De Sable. Rose is feeling terrible... he was so kind to her...

And don't worry about making us "too happy" to read on just because Scorpius survived. I for one am frothing at the mouth waiting for the next chapter! I'd have been less enthusiastic if you'd killed him off.

But now I am dying (pardon the pun!) to know what happened! I don't want to wait months.

I want to see the ritual happen in flashback... I want to see what happens to those so-called parents of Scorp's... what happens when Gregory Goyle returns... Nat... Thane... everything!

Why do we have to wait so long?

Author's Response: Rose certainly feels responsible for all consequences of the ritual - but certainly the bad ones more, right now.

Scorpius wasn't invited to the ceremony, but days have gone by. Things may have changed. And he's alive when he should have been dead; that's going to need some time for him to wrap his head around! The boy was actively working to NOT think about a future, now he's been given it back.

Oh, I know I can't make you guys 'too happy,' I'm mean enough as it is. There's a little patch of sunshine in the story right now, though. While we won't revisit the ritual, we will, however, see all of those questions answered - and that may be stormy horizons.

Alas, I am posting chapters more or less as often as I can; if I can control it, I don't want to see a slower release rate than one a week. But the queue is a fickle beast. Sometimes I'll post up a chapter immediately (like I have now), but sometimes the queue will be only a day or two long, I'll wait before posting a chapter, and then the queue balloons - like happened this time, in fact.

We are all subject to the hard-working validators. I just enjoy it building up your apprehension, but I can't lie, there are times I just want you to see ALL THE HORROR. :-D I kid. Mostly.

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #8, by kaeliebear 

17th October 2015:
OMG! He's alive!

Omg. Who died!?!??!??!??! You always like to keep us hanging on don't you? I can't tell you how ecstatic i am that Scorpius is ok. But now it's kinda filled with apprehension over who the heck died. I started reading this chapter and freaked out because it's suddenly four days later and we still dont know what happened.

Author's Response: I do, I do like to keep you all hanging.

And you know the war's over! That's big! That's important! :-D

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #9, by greenphantomme 

17th October 2015:
This chapter was so painful to read. The whole time I couldn't concentrate on Eva/Al or anyone's conversations cause the whole time I was thinking 'whathappenedwhathappenedwhathappened.' So I'll definitely have to reread to figure out what actually happened here.
But still the questions rain down in my mind and I'm about to have a nervous breakdown. These cliffhangers. Killing me! The wait! Argh!

Author's Response: I should have anticipated that Eva's scene and the wedding would pass in a bit of a blur as people frantically tried to find out about Scorpius! That served a few purposes, partly to just explain 'yay, the war's over,' but also 'cos I like screwing with you all.

Questions and answers in future chapters (next one's already in the queue). Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #10, by Solana14 

17th October 2015:
Nnnn... no, I don't think Matt died. Albus would not have casually asked Rose if she and Selena were out "celebrating peace" if that had happened. Rose would have been horrified to hear that from Albus, and Selena would have been too devastated to go shopping that soon.

Now I'm also wondering who Albus meant when he asked Rose if she'd "spoken to him." Who??? I can see Scorpius thinking, certainly, but why reading? Of course I'm confused. I think we all are. I'm happy, of course, if this is the real Scorpius and he's alive and no longer in danger.

I guess the last think I'm guessing is that Scorp has survived, obviously, but Al and Rose don't know it until he shows up at the wedding just now.

Author's Response: Scorpius is melodramatic, but would he be so melodramatic as to make THAT his return from the dead yet-again? Actually he might be. But no. I'm prepared to say the 'him' mentioned is Scorpius, Albus is just being SUPER DANG AWKWARD (and also, for them, who else would a 'he' be?).

This is the real Scorpius. He is alive. He is not in danger.

And yeah, if Matt died, way more stuff would need explaining.

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #11, by Gi¨9 

17th October 2015:
PLEASE tell me Matt did not die instead of Scorpious! Right now I'm just so shocked I don't think I can say more.

Author's Response: Selena would not have gone shopping with Rose if she'd just lost ANOTHER boyfriend to a magic ritual. Guaranteed!

 Report Review

Review #12, by RelentlessFire 

17th October 2015:
Oh my god!! YES!!! I knew IT! You're the best. How many chapters left? I don't want it to ever endů :(
Giulia

Author's Response: There's over 10 chapters left (I don't have the file to hand and I forget if it's 56 chapters and an Epilogue or 57 and an Epilogue). So you've got a way to go yet, and I will keep on writing!

 Report Review

Review #13, by Diana Hanson 

17th October 2015:
Oh my gosh...I am SO happy! Cannot wait to hear what happened...and how? Amazing story and I do not want it to end. Very hard for fan fiction to make me cry...but this story did the trick!

Author's Response: The full secret will come out bit by bit, but over the next couple chapters the full story should be out!

And then comes the end. We've got a ways to go yet, at least. Few months' worth of chapters. Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #14, by EarthsTrueGreen 

17th October 2015:
Made my day. I have a theory on how this happened, but I don't care if I'm right or not because Scorpius is alive. I can't wait for what's next. I really don't want this series to end. Please do a fourth, or another next generation story. I just love the adventures you give them.

Author's Response: Alas, I won't do a fourth; these guys have earned their rest. I also don't think I COULD write another Next Gen story, or I couldn't use Albus, Rose, Scorpius - I just can't write different versions of them. I guess I could theoretically manage a very different Scorpius, but I never had much interest in the more Harry-like Albus, and a different Rose would feel different for difference's sake. But I will still be writing more. I already have irons in the fire!

And yep. He's alive. It's not a trick. Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #15, by Solana14 

17th October 2015:
OMG!

Wow, you sure have a way of shocking readers!

I read through wondering all along about those pronouns, just as the first chapter reviewer said. WHO are they talking about? Obviously there was a death. We know this; you admit it. But I thought, you're deliberately not mentioning who it is, not mentioning Scorpius by name -- as if at first, you want to give us the impression that Al and Rose are so grief-stricken but at the same time so determined to keep Al's "promise," as you put it, that we automatically think ... well, I guess we can conclude that Scorpius died as he was meant to.

Or was he meant to? Obviously someone did indeed die, but it was not Scorpius. Unless...

Polyjuice potion? You say at the end that it's not a dream, but could it be someone posing as Scorpius? Oh come on... at least admit to us if it's not.

Who else could have died in his place? Matt? I doubt, sincerely, that Selena would be in any mood to go shopping -- in a lighthearted mood -- if that were the case. Matt's not there because he has no connection to Teddy; neither does Selena. De Sable? Maybe. Still, I wonder if Al and Rose would be quite so grief-stricken (although trying to rise above it) if that were the case. Rose would feel bad, yes, but would Al be so affected. Why is he so dour if Scorpius survived?

Author's Response: I'll also spare you that: it's not someone masquerading as Scorpius. It is actually Scorpius. Not fake-Scorpius, not dream-Scorpius, not amnesiac-Scorpius, not alien-infiltrator-Scorpius. PROMISE.

It's true Selena wouldn't go shopping if Matt had died unless she was being REALLY CRAZY. But yes, those two also have no reason to be at the wedding. Rose had a Plus One originally and it was going to be Matt, but unsurprisingly she's not brought him.

Al is pretty dour for several reasons - he's still really awkward around his family, and he's absolutely desperate to be supportive of Rose and to not screw it up this time. Which also means he doesn't want to be too bouncy in front of a slightly traumatised Rose!

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #16, by thegreatcatsby 

17th October 2015:
WAIT OH MY GOD WHAT HAPPENED WHAT HAPPENED WHAT HAPPENED WHY IS SCORPIUS HERE WAS HE ALIVE THE WHOLE TIME WHY THE VAGUE PRONOUNS

Author's Response: The vague pronouns are entirely because I can sometimes be a pest. ;)

But the truth will come out soon. I promise it is actually him and that he is actually alive.


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review