Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
14 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Karen 

6th December 2017:
Good read and yes I read the whole thing and I appreciate the effort you put in. Thanks for sticking with it to the end.

 Report Review

Review #2, by Hidebehind 

29th May 2017:
So my favourite part of this story was that you made bunnies the bad guys - are you a Buffy fan perchance? :)

Your imagery is fantastic, you've captured the adolescent pangs of first love perfectly whilst keeping it very much grounded in the magical world (which a lot of fics seem to lose along the way!)

Anyway, congrats on a great piece - I didn't cheat and skip ahead, but then again I read the whole thing in about a day... keep writing!

Hidebehind x

Author's Response: Haha, I am a HUGE Buffy fan!

I see a lot of readers skip ahead to the "good parts", but really, I tried to make the plot of this thing relevant throughout (and really, if you're reading this story and think that rabbits or vampires or teen-ish stuff is 'boring', then you picked the wrong fic, is all I'm saying). It's nice to know you read it all. I appreciate that!

Thanks so much for your words. I'm still writing, but I like to wait until I have a grounded idea before posting. It might be a while. Thanks so much for your kind words. Readers like you make writers like me keep going. :)

Pix


 Report Review

Review #3, by Betsy Marshall (no pen name) 

16th May 2017:
Found your story thru the Dobby Awards list, really want to congratulate you on your sense of timing; dropping bits of info and hints about the unseen actions throughout, rather than big expository passages. The pacing was excellent, cliffhangers are expected in this episodic form, and the characters really seemed to be part of the HP world.

Author's Response: Wow, I'm so happy you gave my story a chance. I did work hard on the structure, even if it's just a little romp through HP world with rabbits and blood. :) Thanks so much for appreciating this tale. It means a lot to me to hear from readers like you.

Pix


 Report Review

Review #4, by October27 

30th April 2017:
All I can say is woah, and thanks for a thoroughly enjoyable well-written inventive read.

Author's Response: Thanks! I'm glad you liked it.

Pix


 Report Review

Review #5, by Marshal 

2nd April 2017:
The end of the line here I know I skipped a lot but the ending was great. I had a feeling there were vampires involved based on what I read in chapter 17 and the discussion between Albus and Wren about them.

Anyway I loved the sweet moment between Albus and Wren I was litterally going aww yay when they kissed. I loved the line about the difference between doing what she wanted in regards to Albus compare to Dillon - that was a beautiful line! It just really struck me that.

Anyway the sweetness of the two characters is perfect and so innocent, it is clear that the two are smitten with eachother and I can see the looks and smiles they give one another in my head - you conveyed the young love from best friends very very well.

Also I'm sad to hear about Madame Pince and that she is going to die - but at the same time I'm glad that while the main characters get their personal happily ever after not everyone gets it.

Also with you mentioning that Wren can now sense vampires, it makes me wonder if you are going to do anything new or additional with the character of Wren. There is a lot of potential there - but it isn't a must do you did a lovely job of giving the story a sense of completion where a reader is not left hanging.

I look forward to filling in some of the gaps and I'm also astounded that you packed soo much story in such a short span of time (Wren waking up just before Halloween)! One random note, Wren being bed ridden to being able to just jump up and go take pictures all in the same day is a little wow but then again magic so what do I know. Great story!

Author's Response: Aww, hey, but you got to see things come together, I hope. :)

"I had a feeling there were vampires involved..."

Hahahaha! *snort* Bwahahahaha!

That's what happens when you skip around. lol! Anyway. That line about comparing Wren's motivations being influenced by Albus, and the things she was involved in with Dillon, that was a big deal in the story. Wren had a lot to sort out there. I'm glad the scene worked for you. My goal was to make this an "innocent romance" story, so it makes me happy that you saw it that way.

Pince didn't get a great recovery, but after everything, someone had to bite the dust. She was old. And I couldn't do it to Augusta. Short straw for the librarian, I guess.

I don't know if I have another Wren story in me either. I knew that it wouldn't be right to ignore the long-term consequences of what had happened. It was a big enough deal that someone had to carry some scars away from the story. I figured a new ability might do the trick... and make her sort of a wizard superhero... sort of... maybe... it sounded cool in my head, anyway.

Pix


 Report Review

Review #6, by MalfoysAngel 

2nd April 2017:
I'm glad to see that everyone got a happy ending...well mostly everyone (Poor Madam Prince). I love it when a final chapter ties up all the loose ends with a pretty bow and this did that quite nicely.

I have to admit I skipped ahead to the last chapter to see what happens but I do that with books too so I have to make sure to go back and read what happened to get to this point. And what led up to the final showdown with the bunnies.

I'm glad to see that despite everything that happened (or that I'm assuming happened) Albus and Wren are still friends and developing into something more in a way that seems natural and not forced. If you haven't already, I wish you would write a sequel or at least a companion piece to see where they end up and how Wren's ability can benefit her in the future. If vampires were real, I would love the ability to detect them. That would be my superpower of choice, or to have the ability to be a human lie detector. I can't tell you enough how much I enjoyed reading this chapter and once real life slows down I will have to come back and take the time to start from chapter one instead of jumping around to random chapters. (I really have to break that habit)

 Report Review

Review #7, by LageddyAngie 

14th March 2017:
This was really great, I could read your work all day. Actually I have. Thanks for sharing!!!

Author's Response: Wow! Thank you so much for your kind words. I'm so happy you enjoyed reading my story!

Pix


 Report Review

Review #8, by Mel 

12th July 2016:
I have never written a review for any story here before, but after reading this one I felt I must. This story kept me fascinated from beginning to end. I actually felt like I was reading a book, that I would want to re-visit over and over. Thank you for writing, you definitely have a gift.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your words! I am so glad you enjoyed the story. Reviews like this mean the world to writers like me.

Pix


 Report Review

Review #9, by matthew 

4th November 2015:
A really great story

Author's Response: It means a lot to me that you stopped to leave a note. Thanks for reading!

Pix


 Report Review

Review #10, by gingerbutnotaweasley 

7th October 2015:
I think you've givien me a fear of rabbits.

Author's Response:
Uh oh. I hope you enjoyed the story anyway. :)

Thanks for reading the whole thing!

Pix


 Report Review

Review #11, by ScorpiusRose17 

12th September 2015:
Hi Pix!!

I am finally here with your review and I want to apologize that it took so long!

Anyways, I thought this was great! I loved how the entire story really wraps up well and that all my questions about what happened get answered. I will say that I am very sad to see the story end, but I want to thank you also for allowing me the chance to read and review for you. Also, for helping my son and I bond over this story!

I am so happy for Wren and Albus. I am glad that they aren't letting their relationship ruin what they have already built as friends. I laughed when Serena fell out of the tree... it is so like her to sneak up there to capture something that is supposed to be private, but I am glad that she did.

Rose was hilarious. I really enjoyed how her relationship with Scorpius developed over time. The two of them together were a delight to read and really worked to break in some humor into the more serious parts of the story. As well as Callie, James and Trudy.

Your descriptions were superb and I really enjoyed learning about the Vampires and enthrallments. I really hope to see more of Smeed in the future!!

Keep up the amazing writing!! I really look forward to the chance of reading more of your incredible work!!! :)

-Jenn

 Report Review

Review #12, by MuggleMaybe 

6th September 2015:
The end! Well done! I am so impressed by how you balanced all these different conflicts and plot lines and brought them to a strong end.

Wren and Albus are just SO CUTE together, I can hardly stand it. That's a lie. I'd love to read more about them!

Wren's ability to sense vampires could pave the way for an excellent sequel... you know, if you wanted to make me the happiest ever ;)

I'm really tired because I stayed up half the night reading this, so I will leave you with the words, YOU ARE FANTASTIC, and call it a day.

Author's Response:

Thank you so much for reading all the way through. I'm so glad you enjoyed it! And by gosh, go SLEEP!

Pix


 Report Review

Review #13, by CambAngst 

1st September 2015:
Hi, Pix! I've come to the end of another one of your stories and I'm feeling that little pang of emptiness that comes with each one. That feeling of knowing that there won't be another chapter to read. That Wren and Albus's story -- at least this arc of it -- ends here. It's wonderful to see everything come to its conclusion, but it's also a little sad.

And this story has come a long, long way. I have some very old drafts of things in my email that would probably make you cringe. I'm thinking maybe 2 batches of cookies and we could make those disappear forever, eh? ;)

Joking. Let's actually talk about this chapter. Nice job capturing the confusion and swirling imagery of Wren's semi-conscious healing process. Relentlessly gnawing at her unrest with tiny teeth. I think tiny teeth are going to haunt Wren for a very long time.

Oh, wow, she's still at Hogwarts. Somehow I was expecting either St. Mungo's or some secret Vampire Council recovery facility. At a minimum the Hospital Wing, although I suppose with Madam Pomfrey also being enthralled there might not have been anyone to look after the place.

Aww, Wren still feels bad about having to leave Trudy behind. She's such a good egg.

Ten days! Wow. Albus must be near his wits' end. Good old Berkshire. He's a good egg, too.

"Ha!" Trudy shot at her, relief evident on her face too. "It's about time!" -- Yep, even the Quidditch-head knew what was up before Wren and Albus.

It's nice to see Rose and Scorpius achieving some sort of functional relationship. At least not wanting to kill one another. He even managed to get her to come and watch the try-outs. Sounds like the start of a promising teenage wizarding relationship.

Yay! They're finally coming around. And she kissed him -- at least a little -- and he kissed her back. And neither one of them screwed it up. And Berkshire didn't come bumbling around the corner and wreck the whole moment! Pix, I think you're losing your touch. Before this final chapter, you would have done anything -- hippogryff stampede, lightning strike, somebody fainting -- anything to wreck this moment. You're getting soft! :p

Everything clicked together, almost audibly, just above the breeze - leaves rustled above them -- I see what you did there...

Wren rethought that last bit. An hour. In the dark. With Albus. -- She's starting to get the hang of this.

Wow. Serena is such a weirdo. An artsy, hipster, voyeuristic weirdo. I guess that probably makes her a good photographer, in that Andy Warhol sort of way.

Wren thought she heard a cackle escape from Serena’s lips, and fought the urge to slap her. -- I'm relating to this so hard.

Still, it seems that Serena has a sense of decency about her. I love the rapid shift in Wren's emotions, from shattered to ecstatic.

The rest of the chapter read in kind of a soft focus. Very dreamy, with all of the sharp edges filed down. It was really sweet of Wren to want to spend a little time with Madam Pince. Poor old thing didn't deserve to go out quite like this. In fact, couldn't you have switched fates between her and Sloan? At least that would have shut him up.

Ooh! So Wren did take more away from the vampire rabbit experience than a new boyfriend and a lot of terrible memories. I like Smeed's implied warning, as well. I'm sure this "vampire invasion" of Hogwarts caused a lot of fear, anger and resentment among the wizarding population. I can imagine the vampires feeling uncomfortable about the possibilities.

I thought it was a really nice touch that Gran wants to see Wren for a bit and then wants her to go off and live her own life. She's a smart lady.

Gah, so here we are at the end. This story has frustrated the daylights out of me at times. And that's perfect, because teenagers are frustrating. Not just to adults, but it's just generally a frustrating time in life. You've stayed so true to your premise and explored so many aspects of this awkward, confusing, uncertain time of life. I can't imagine the temptation to have these kids snap out of it and behave like quasi-sane mini-adults, but you didn't do that. I'm in awe of how tough it must have been -- chapter after chapter -- to think things through from Wren and Albus's point of view and make sure that they were acting their age. You did a really amazing job with this. Congratulations on finishing another classic story!

-Dan

 Report Review

Review #14, by oldershouldknowbetter 

1st September 2015:
A lot of my spare moments have been spent this past month reading this tale and re-reading this tale. So I am wondering just what you have done with the ending after you and your team of betas were done with it.

Well everything is over, they saved the day and all the rabbits and Dillon have been put to rest. There is just one thing left to be resolved, just one little thing and from that wondrous things may evolve - Wren and Albus have to start talking and being honest with each other.

Wren wakes up in the Hospital wing and the way you have presented her muzziness over what could have been hours or days or even weeks is well done.

I like the loquacious Trudy, it takes a while for Wren to realise how talkative the usually taciturn girl has been. We can forgive her, she was initially consumed by the guilt of having to leave her behind, but Trudy soon reassures her (and the readers too) that there is no recrimination on her part. This is a good thing, we now get a general feeling for how the rest of the students will regard Wren - not as someone who brought down the vampires upon them, but as one of the saviours.

It's only been ten days, Wren's magic is back, Albus has almost been camped out beside her - everything is good. Oh, and it's Quidditch try-outs, and that selfless Wren is back - she made a promise and she is going to keep it. Even though she has been bed ridden for days she snatches up her camera and marches off to the pitch.

But not without a promise that she must talk to Albus. Ha, right you are Trudy, it's about time.

When she gets there everyone is happy to see her. But not Albus who is cluelessly caught up in the Quidditch, Wren has to go and physically tug his arm to get his attention. And then ...

but it's still too crowded, so she drags him away. And then ...

but it's still too hard to say: feelings and memories intrude and make the words, the vital comunication that they both need almost impossible. She wants to whisper it, that may make it easier, she pulls him down to whisper it in his ear and then ...

she kisses him.

And we all sigh in relief as he kisses her back.

There is a lovely perfect little moment, which is to be continued in the solitary confines of the developing lab. And that's were we will leave them, the author and the readers will leave them to their burgeoning love.

But none of us count on Serena. She wrecks the moment slightly (more than slightly as far as Wren is concerned), but she does the honourable thing in the end by giving Wren the roll of film, and for once allowing Wren to be chronicled as she has so rarely. A couple of things about this bit, some might say it is irrelevant to the story, but it encapsulates two important things you've done in this story.

Firstly the character of Serena. She was set up to be a villain of this story, more correctly she has been a threshold guardian archetype. You could have made her two dimensional and a figure of just plain hatred. Wren doesn't like her, that's for sure, but we don't hate her. You made her such a balanced character, with flaws certainly, but redeeming points too. Having her hand the canister of film over to Wren is beautifully done and is the final cap upon her character.

One of the central themes of this work has been miscommunication. Central to that has been Wren's dislocation from life, from living her own life. As Albus comments in a chapter gone by, she has always been kind and selfless to the point of almost loosing herself (brought into stark relief by it almost literally happening due to the evil of Dillon). One of the things that has reinforced that disconnect, is the nature of her being the photographer. She is always the one behind the lens, never in front of it. She has recorded the major events in the lives of those around her in photos and has been conspicuous by her absence. Having Serena finally capture her, in what must be one of the most important moments of her life to date, is fantastic. It delineates the moment where she re-enters her own life.

The rest is just denoument and loveliness. Wren and Albus are still going strong. The romance between Rose and Scorpius is well judged - it was never going to run as smooth as the one between Wren and Albus. What she does for Madame Pince is simply perfect characterisation of the caring nature of Wren. We even come around to Augusta, after her being so heartless to Wren when she came out of her funk.

The only thing is, when we find out that she can detect vampires and that Smeed has said that may make her useful, but hopefully not to the wrong people - well all of that to me screams sequel. One set years into the future, full of action and adventure and vampires and daring do and, of course, a continuation of Albus and Wren.

For all real intents and purposes the end of the story occurred in the previous chapter, this one is just for closure. But it's closure that everyone needed, Albus and Wren and especially, but also for your poor readers, who sometimes wondered if the calamitous events of the tale would ever let them be together.

A great story and well worthy of a Dobby, I wish you luck.

Andrew,
Oldershouldknowbetter.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review