Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
8 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Roisin 

5th October 2015:
BACK TO FINALLY REVIEW THIS.

So YAY Olivia's mom isn't dead! I mean, I don't like the woman at all, but it would hardly help Olivia to have her die. Especially after having had so fraught a relationship--if her mum had taken her own life, Olivia surely would have ended up feeling HELLA unnecessarily guilty :(

Also, can I just say real fast, I TOTALLY called that Clementine was Laura Brogan's mom! NAILED IT! What a perfectly complicated and terrible turn of events! Like, OH MAN. I really felt for Olivia through all of that. And while her dad is nice enough in a lot of ways, he's just always been so PASSIVE and not really involved and that's all gotta hurt.

I'm also curious, because I suspect you might do more with Laura Brogan. Like, you've hinted at some nuance before--that there may be more to her, and that maybe she's having a hard time. And then here, there were a few little clues that she might have some sort of eating disorder or something (which would itself be indicative of a larger anxiety issue). Very interesting things.

Also can I just repeat my theory that James knows something about Cassie? Because I'm SURE that James knows something about Cassie!

And I noticed you did sort of a subtle thing, where after Olivia got splinched, she referred to her cousin as "Jason" and not "the Moron." I mean, "Moron" has evolved into something more like a term of endearment recently, but I thought it was apt that she'd be too freaked out for such petty things in that moment. Nice.

YAYAYAY lovely lovely Albus! Nice going, James!

ON TO THE NEXT!

Author's Response: THANK YOU ROISIN YOUR REVIEWS ARE THE BEST. Sorry that it's taken me nearly two months to reply. I am pathetic. I always love reading your theories and comments. I'm glad you picked up on the moron thing. It still exists as a nickname but Olivia's changed a lot and I didn't think it would occur to her to use it in the middle of everything going on. Eeee so glad you're still enjoying it. xx

 Report Review

Review #2, by Shinicha 

1st September 2015:
OMG I just realised to my horror that I actually never left a review for this story! I'm so sorry, I don't even know how this happened.
And I honestly want to make it a long and good one, only I'm currently on my phone on an island :(
I'll therefore just comment on this chapter for now.

Okay, so the question just WHO this girlfriend of her fathers is has bothered me quite a while (when Daphne was about to spill it in Hogsmead and Olivia refused to know I was like whaaat nooo).. But I never would've guessed THIS. Not only the bad one of the MLEs but also Laura's mother?!?!

But Olivia wandering in Laura's room was a continuation from last chapter's surprise: that she'd actually be friends with Rose and was once apparently non-bitchy. This only heightens the suspense of what happened for her to turn on Albus.. And if and when this misunderstanding is cleared; will it be too late for her, or will Liv be the one who'll be ditched? :/ :/

We haven't heard anything about Cassie in a while! I still wonder if my suspicion of her being pregnant is correct..! (But why run away and not simply abort...? What about the violence she seemingly encountered..?)

I love how the katie-side of Liv's family is growing on her. The moron really is quite attentive; and I loved her 'reunion' with Al. I can't wait for the next chapter, I'm sitting on needles!!! :)

Author's Response: Hi! Thank you so so much for this review. Everything you've said is so kind and I'm really happy to hear how much you're enjoying this story. It's always lovely to hear that people have been reading and liking it.

Cassie's still going to be in the background for a little while. Olivia's struggling without her but right now her other problems have pushed it a bit further back in her mind. It's good to hear your theories on her disappearance :)

I'm so glad you like Katie and Jason! Jason's really making progress with Liv and I'm enjoying writing it a lot. And then Al's just super kind and lovely to write.

Next chapter's up now. Hope you like it!

Thanks so much for the lovely review. Emma xx


 Report Review

Review #3, by CambAngst 

30th August 2015:
Hi, Emma! I'm all caught up!

GryCReMo (Review #49)

So... that was a pretty big mistake Daphne made there at the end of the last chapter. I take back anything kind I might have said about her in previous reviews. (Did I say anything kind about her?) She is an idiot.

Wow, even Olivia's owl is being awful to her at the moment.

At first I was sort of like Olivia: relieved to see her dad come along. But true to form, her dad takes care of that situation quickly enough. It's hard to fathom how the man can be this emotionally tone-deaf. I'm composing a list in my head, the topic being, "Things Olivia's Dad Should Have Considered". It's long. A few highlights:

▷ Does Olivia perhaps want to go to the hospital to make sure her mother is alright?

▷ Is Olivia tired or hungry?

▷ Why on god's green earth would Olivia want to immediately cosy up to the woman who just contributed to her parents' break-up?

▷ Is it possible that Olivia knows this woman's daughter from school and might or might not get on with the girl well enough to be roomies?

▷ Should I maybe act my age and not my hat size for just once and try to act more like a father?

I could go on, but you get the point. It's really no surprise at all when Olivia snaps.

On a side note, I guess this explains the "tough time" that Laura Brogan was going through. I'm in one of those "feel bad but don't feel bad" kind of frames of mind. Is it bad that her home life was going to pot? Sure. Do you fix that by betraying people you were obviously close to? Yeah, not so much.

You did a pretty convincing job of writing Olivia's splinching. I'm pleased to see that there are better solutions in the magical world that dousing her with ditany and waiting it out.

Hey, James knew exactly what to do for once. People usually write him as such a jerk in Albus-centric stories. I appreciate the fact that you gave him this moment of being an awesome friend and big brother.

I'm really curious where you'll be taking the story next. Do you have an idea of how long you mean for it to be? Maybe this would be a better MTA question. Until next time!

Author's Response: I kind of enjoy writing a horrible Daphne, but the more I do it the more I want to write something Hogwarts era to explain her a bit. Maybe I'll get to that at some point.

Olivia's dad is pathetic and selfish and every point you've made is definitely something he should have considered. He kind of goes half way to doing his job as a father and then fails where it really matters. In some ways I'd like to develop him more but every time I try he stays a terrible human being.

You're totally right about Laura. It's not okay to be bad to other people because you have your own problems. It's okay to be sad and angry but not to be cruel, and she's been cruel.

My current plan for this story is 31 chapters in total but I've had a few times where I've split a chapter when I'm halfway through writing it so it'll potentially be a bit longer than that. I just put up 19 so I feel like I'm hopefully getting there (slowly but surely).

Thanks so so much for all your comments. I really appreciate the time you take to leave such careful, kind reviews.

Emma x


 Report Review

Review #4, by Lobelia Sackville-Baggins 

27th August 2015:
Ho-ly carp.
That is a LOT to take in. Also, DAPHNE GREENGRASS, HOW DARE YOU SCARE US LIKE THAT?!
And wow...Laura Brogan as a potential stepsister? I suspect that we'll be seeing another side of her soon, if those photos are anything to go by, but as of now, I can definitely see how upsetting that would be, given what I currently know of her.
I hate that her father is so oblivious. How can everything just be fine?! Argh!
A thought just occurred to me -- is Clementine the driving force behind Laura's issues? I don't know, she just seems very manipulative, and it might not be that big of a jump to emotional abuse. Then again, I could be totally wrong, here.
I'm so happy that Liv has somewhere to go, though. I saw Jason's face in mind's eye when he opened the door, and my heart melted a little at how scared he was. And bless Katie, we all love her. And GOOD BOY, JAMES. You know exactly what to do. And Al...oh, Al.
Love you, and see you next chapter!

Author's Response: Hiya, thanks for such a lovely review. I'm really happy you enjoyed this chapter. The scene at the end with Katie and Jason and James was one of the first ideas I had for this story so it's nice to have finally reached it.

There's more of Laura coming up, so hopefully she'll start to make more sense. But like everyone else she has her issues.

Jason's super lovely. I'm always so happy when people like him.

Thanks so much for all your lovely comments! I'll try to get another update out in the not too distant future...

Emma xx


 Report Review

Review #5, by AUBS 

27th August 2015:
Way to leave us with a cliffie! No matter, I'll just have to wait a super long time for the next chapter to come out;) anyway, I love the drama in this chapter and I also love the way Jason and James and even Katie realize that she has been going through a lot more than any of them ever thought. Please continue to write this amazing story or I'll be really upset!:( ;)

Author's Response: And again, thank you thank you for taking the time to review. I'm so happy to hear you're enjoying reading. Next chapter is hopefully coming soon :) Emma x

 Report Review

Review #6, by AUBS 

26th August 2015:
Yay! I'm so excited for the next chapter of Complicated! It's my favorite story on HPFF and I can't wait to see what direction you take it in! Please update faster and sooner if possible;)

Author's Response: Thanks so much for such a lovely review! I'm so glad you're enjoying reading. I'll try not to leave it too long until the next update :). Emma xx

 Report Review

Review #7, by TumTum 

25th August 2015:
I managed to miss that there was another chapter! Welp, Daphne is an idiot that's for sure. I am glad Pansy isn't dead though.

Poor Liv gosh. My heart melted when she said 'Daddy' because bless she really does love him. Although wow he's maybe not the most perceptive but I suppose he is wrapped up in his new and happier life with a pretty girlfriend with a daughter who probably doesn't make scathing comments about him a lot of the time. Oh gosh poor Liv.

I was taken by surprise with Clementine and then of course she is Laura Brogan's mum. That was definitely an interesting look into Laura's life - it seems like she and Liv have quite a bit in common! I kind of hope that they get to know each other better... eventually...

I was really happy that Liv went to Katie and Jason (she didn't think of him as the Moron once!) and that they were so caring and protective of her. It's just a shame that it was under such awful circumstances and that she feels like they don't want her? :(

When I have thought about this fic I have imagined a quidditch match in some holiday in the not distant future where Olivia plays with the slytherins, including Scorpius, minus the nasty beaters and Al, Jason, James plus various other Weasleys and Potters. Liv impresses Oliver with her skills and gets to have so much fun. So does Scorpius. There's so much cousinly banter everywhere and flirting while being competitive between Al and Liv, it's great.

I'm going to hold onto that now because man, things are so bad: her mum overdosed, her dad is complicated, Laura Brogan and Clementine are complicated, Scorpius is not her friend for now, she just got hurt /illegally/ apparating which means she could be in serious trouble? And there's still no Cassie. Bless her.

This has been a wild ride.

Margie xx

Author's Response: Hello again :)

I don't think I'd properly realised how bad I've made everything for Olivia until you listed it all here. Oops. She's having a pretty difficult time, but there are some happy moments coming up for her, I promise!

Oo, your Quidditch idea. I really like it. I'll be honest, it's not in my plan at the moment but I might try to shift some things around a little bit because it's a really lovely idea. Hmm. I'll let you know :)

Katie and Jason are fab, and Olivia's finally starting to realise that they really are her family and that it's okay to love them. I think going to their house voluntarily is quite a big step for her.

This was one of the first scenes I planned when I started thinking about this story, so I'm really glad you enjoyed it.

As always, thank you so so much for taking the time to leave such thoughtful reviews. I really appreciate it.

Lots of love, Emma x


 Report Review

Review #8, by Devashree 

23rd August 2015:
Well I haven't read a fan fic in a really long time and I tend to pick my next ones rather randomly. So I am really glad I picked this one. Please jut promise me you won't suddenly stop writing it. Because I am really interested in finding out what happens ahead and it would totally crush me if I won't be able to do that.
Firstly, I am really really worried about scorpius. He shouldn't be alone. Please. I know he didn't hurt Cass and that he is really get by Liv's reaction right now. But come one give him a break please. And I really like liv. And al and rose and loius. And James. And Jason. And I love Joe and Oz. Basically all your characters seem really good. Not clichéd. And not stereotypical. So that's really cool. Looking forward to the next chapter. Thank you.

Author's Response: So glad to hear you're enjoying reading. I won't make any promises because just in case, but I'm more than halfway through now and have a really detailed plan and at the moment I have no plans at all to abandon this story - I'm too attached to the characters :)

I'm working on the next chapter so will try to update asap. It's got quite a bit of Scorpius in it so hopefully you'll like it.

Thanks so much for taking the time to review!
Emma x


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review