Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
10 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Emi 

20th March 2016:
It was so good to see the characters opening up a bit more in this chapter. Not that we haven’t been seeing Hermione’s thoughts and whatnot sprinkled throughout other chapters, but just seeing her wrestle with the gravity of everything in this chapter… I don’t know… felt different? This is another of those moments where I think you turn what would otherwise be a great story into a truly marvelous one. Hermione has already felt like a fleshed out, three dimensional character, but this moment, with her struggling with missing her friends and being in the past to begin with… it makes her even more real. And it’s such a small part of this chapter — you only devote a couple of paragraphs — but it somehow really sticks with me. Not just because of Sev.

Though, I’ve gotta admit, I loved his awkward little standoffish character here. He really is an awkward little guy with major communication issues, isn’t he? Love it. But seriously, just like with Hermione, this is a point where Snape looks all the more real and three-dimensional, too.

Oh! And don’t even get me started on James and Sirius and the invisibility cloak! Because now I’m going to gush again about your incredible use of details. I’d basically forgotten about the cloak, to be honest. Or not forgotten, because obviously I knew James had it at one point or another, but I hadn’t ever really thought through how, exactly, the boys would have been using it in the past. But of course they’d be sneaking around causing mayhem, and of course they’d use the opportunity to prank Snape. Love how Hermione handled the situation, clearly needing to preserve the future secret. I might have laughed out loud at Sirius’ impatience the first time I read this. Also might’ve gotten some concerned stares from my fellow law students in the library.

The element of the slight stammer and Black’s mockery was beautiful. But oh, how quickly an amusing scene turns deadly! I completely, completely understood the progression of things here, and Snape’s reactions were as always wonderfully in character, but I definitely had not been expecting Hermione to get as hurt as she did. And how terribly sweet of Sev to stop and heal her. Makes for an interesting parallel, I think, to when he later is so clearly angry with Harry for using one of his curses on Malfoy without any forethought. Different curse, obviously, but I can’t help but wonder if this was one of the moments that stuck with Snape, something he might have recalled when he saw Harry just as carelessly (though more intentionally/accurately in terms of his target) casting dangerous curses. And you see what I did there? I already started figuring how this played in to his character in the actual books, without even realizing that this obviously was written by you, and not Rowling. I feel like that makes my point well enough, but I’ll say it again anyways: you really have this work so beautifully woven in with the canon that I seriously am starting to struggle with keeping them separate in my head. This is going to be my new head canon for the entire serious, I think.

I'll admit, though, there is one little thing about this chapter that struck me as odd (or, well, you know, off, I suppose): It's weird to me that McGonagall orders Black and Potter with her and orders Snape to take Granger to the infirmary, but then after that, pauses and continues to tack on an additional comment and issues the punishment. It's a short enough phrase that I understand how it could be tacked on afterward, but given the injury to Hermione and given the way she'd ordered the others to move immediately, it just struck me as odd that she'd then pause and talk more, even if only a couple of sentences. It also struck me as odd that Snape didn't immediately gather Hermione and start moving her toward the infirmary, but instead presumably stood there waiting for more commentary to be added. I don't know, maybe I'm visualizing this all wrong, maybe I'm imagining Hermione more hurt than she is, or maybe I'm just nitpicking. Ignore me.

 Report Review

Review #2, by marauderfan 

22nd September 2015:
Eek! So, somehow I had missed this chapter when you updated so I'm really glad that I came back to this story today! Also it means that I don't have to wait long for the next chapter as I read this one hehe.

And omg wow that was so intense! So much happened in this chapter - not only in Hermione's head, where a lot of things happen in most chapters, but outside of her head too. I just love the way you write Hermione, though - you really take into consideration just how much she thinks things through and it feels so genuine and real for her character. I've said it before and i'll say it again, I'm sure, but you write Hermione SO WELL.

The conflict between the two factions of James and Sirius versus Snape really came to a head in this one and it was intense!! I was shocked when Hermione got in the middle of it - and not entirely surprised that she got hurt. I hope that incident makes James, Sirius and Snape think about how their behavior impacts others... though really just one of them will probably consider that at all :-/ Argh!

It was interesting to see Snape in such a different light than he has been in previous chapters - I mean, he actually asked Hermione if she was okay! yeah he was awkward about it, but this is like, leaps and bounds forwards for Snape, haha. And then he goes back to being a jerk, but he sort of almost redeemed himself in the end by being able to heal her (which totally makes sense, because certainly the person who invented Sectumsemptra probably would have invented something to counteract harmful spells as well as a precaution. That was almost a really sweet scene there at the end. As in, the healing was really sweet, only rendered less sweet by the fact that he likely caused that injury in the first place.

If you don't mind, I thought I'd point this out (just because sometimes typos are hard to catch after staring at words for so long!) There was one line that struck me as kind of awkwardly worded: “Why do you care?” she bit back with. -- maybe eliminate the "with" as it is kind of clunky to end sentences with prepositions.

Anyway! I loved this chapter! Congrats on over 5000 reads :D I'll definitely be back soon to read the latest chapter as well!! You are awesome and talented.



 Report Review

Review #3, by Chan the Marauder Fan 

17th September 2015:
OMG PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE WRITE MORE I'M BEGGING!!! This is the second time I'm reading this fanfic over and I'm just like waiting in anticipation for the next chapter. Please tell me you're gonna update soon! And the other one you've written based on this story too from Snape's perspective, The Exhange Student! Please please please update!
I'm an avid reader and I love reading fanfics but usually I'm very particular in the ones that I choose, and especially if I start re-reading it, then that's how I know I'm becoming hooked on a fanfic. I have to say that I'm very impressed with your style of writing, as a lot of fanfics have nice concepts but it's evident that the author had difficulty putting their thoughts into words, but everything in this story has been pretty clear and I'm grateful for that. I love your portrayal of Snape, by the way, I feel like it's very accurate. I've seen too many fics where they make him like overly emotional and they don't show the process of the main character having to break through his cold shell to get to who he really is inside. And the marauders! Perfection ohh my gosh, I love the interactions they have (I have to say that I love your portrayal of Sirius and James and their relationship, they're so silly! I love Sirius' antics, he's so troublesome! And also Remus, I like that you're showing that he truly did have happiness while he was with his friends, even if he wasn't the most outgoing person, and that he has a sense of humor! My goodness, some people make him so sad even when he was still a student at Hogwarts! And that you're showing that James is already in the process of trying to change for Lily). Are we gonna hear about any of the other Slytherins anytime soon? Like Regulus or Mulciber and Avery? And what about Pettigrew? I kinda wanna see what Hermione thinks of him when he's not around the others, cause I know he's a coward when he's not with them.
Anyway, like I said I really love this story so far and it's like KILLING ME INSIDE that it's only 8 chapters long so far omg! But thank you soo much for beginning this fic, this is one of the best Snamione Marauder era fics I've read so far, and trust me, I've been on the hunt for some good ones (if you have any suggestions for others please let me know!)Sorry for such a long review lolzz, but pleaaaseee update soon! And again thank you for this awesome fic! ^_^

Author's Response: Hey there Chan!

I have been absolutely TERRIBLE with answering my reviews lately, but I just had to respond to you and let you know how flattered, surprised, thankful and appreciative I am of the reviews you've left me recently. *hugs*

I'm not quite sure if you're a member of the forums leaving surprised reviews or a new reader, but either way I just have to thank you so, so, so much!!

I'm absolutely thrilled that you're enjoying this, and TES so much. These two stories are my babies. I'm really proud of them and to know that another person is so excited and enthusiastic towards it truly means the world to me. ♥

Yeah, I couldn't see Snape immediately gravitating towards her. Like you've seen by now, he does find her attractive, but that doesn't mean that he's going to fall in love at first sight. ;) I'm glad that you're liking my portrayal of him!

And I'm sure that Remus was happy in school. It was probably the happiest time of his life. I mean, he had his friends who loved and accepted him and they were even with him during his transformations. They made the worst part of his life better and even fun. I hate when I see emo Remus. For him to have been friends with James and Sirius, I'm sure he was funny, snarky and exceptionally clever. But I also feel that he was probably the kindest of them all. Not to mention the one who had his head on the straightest.

Between this story and TES, you will absolutely see more of the students you've mentioned. But since this is through Hermione's POV (and Sev's in the other story) the focus will be more on the Ravenclaws and the Slytherins. James, Sirius and Peter will pop up, but they're not going to be hugely major characters, as they might had been if Hermione were a Gryffie. :) The only reason Remus will be more prevalent is because of the whole Amelia/Remus aspect of the story. That and I feel like Hermione would naturally gravitate towards him.

Please don't ever apologize for a long review! I love them and I love your interest and excitement in regards to this story! This review really gave me the final push I needed to get myself together and finish chapter 9. :D

Really and truly thank you so, so, so, so much!! I hope you continue to enjoy the story and like where it goes. You're honestly so lovely and thank you for taking the time to leave such thoughtful and kind reviews!!

Much love,
Meg ♥


 Report Review

Review #4, by tmcar1 

14th September 2015:
oh my gosh please write more!

Author's Response: I'm so glad you're enjoying it!! I will definitely be writing lots, lots more of this story! It's my baby. :)

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!! ♥

xoxo Meg


 Report Review

Review #5, by TreacleTart 

10th August 2015:
Hi Meg!

I'm here for our review swap finally and I'm so sorry that I'm so horribly late. Anyway, I'm here now and ready to see where Hermione's adventure has taken her this time.

Poor Hermione really seems to be having a rough go of things lately, but I imagine that traveling so far back in time and the uncertainty of whether she'll be able to return home or not could really take it's toll. I could see why she would be upset.

It was interesting to see Snape stopping to check on her. That seems so out of character for him, but I guess all of the times that she's tried to be nice to him are starting to break him down a little bit. It's nice to actually see him try and do something just slightly human.

The whole situation with James and Sirius was so sketchy. I wondered why Hermione was silly enough to get in the middle of that. With curses flying in every which way it seems pretty foolish. When she got that chunk of skin taken out of her arm, I bet she realized it was pretty foolish too.

The scene with Snape taking her to the hospital was pretty intriguing. I'm really curious about what the spell was and how Snape had learned it. I hope that's something you'll elaborate on in the next chapter.

Oh and just a heads up. I noticed two tiny little typos.

Severus Snape might had been the most –might have

Hermione blinked a rapidly – blinked rapidly

Good work here! Looking forward to more!

~Kaitlin

 Report Review

Review #6, by Emu 

10th August 2015:
Thank you, for writing this chapter. Absolutely love it. Can't wait for the next one. Still my favourite stories :) 😋😋😋😋😋😋

Author's Response: Aww you are seriously too sweet! ♥ Thank you so much, I'm super thrilled that you're enjoying it!! :D

Thanks for reading and taking the time to leave such lovely reviews! I truly appreciate it!! *hug*

xoxo Meg


 Report Review

Review #7, by LittleMissAutumn 

30th July 2015:
You updated!! :D Yay! I thought this chapter was interesting and I liked the Severus/Hermione action.

Author's Response: Oh yay! I'm glad that you liked the Severus/Hermione action! There should be a lot more of that from here on out. :D Whether it's all good or not is another story... ;)

Thanks so much for reading and for taking the time to review!! ♥

xoxo Meg


 Report Review

Review #8, by Felpata Lupin 

29th July 2015:
Hello, Meg, my dear!
Here for our swap!
I apologize in advance if this review isn't going to come out too well, I had a terrible day at work and now I'm exausted and a bit depressed (I can pretty much sympathize with Hermione in this chapter...)

Poor sweety, it's totally understandable that she would break down at some point. Being alone dealing with something so huge would crush anyone. It's so sweet that her thoughts went to Harry and Ron. If only she had a friend to confide in...

Severus was interesting to read. As always, you capture your characters with such perfection! I wish he realized that showing emotions and accepting help is alright, though...

James and Sirius! :) I can't help it, I adore them! Even when they are unsufferable bullies... Well, James seemed quite composed here, actually (but only because he's trying to impress Lily... Oh, Prongs... *shakes head*)

Poor Hermione, getting hurt so badly as she tries to help... Was it Sectumsempra? Sev cured her, though. And I think something clicked there. There is a bond forming...

Thanks so much for the swap, love!
Sending you the biggest of hugs!
Chiara

 Report Review

Review #9, by toomanycurls 

28th July 2015:
Meg!!!

Yay for some progress in this chapter. If you didn't have some soon I was going to stage a protest :P I really felt for Hermione at her being overwhelmed by the magnitude of her mission and questioning why she'd do it. She really brings up a good point about how they did win but I feel like stopping the second war from ever happening would be such a good thing to have happen. She really is alone there too - I mean, she can't tell Amelia what she's going through or trying to do. *hugs poor Hermione*

I really love Snape here - showing concern for her but also not wanting to admit that he felt concern at the same time. I'm going to want to strangle him at some point, aren't I? Hermione's attitude with him is great - while it'd be fun for them to just fall in love but I do like the angst of two people trying to come together.

Sirius and James cracked me up (at least at first) with their sneaking around under the cloak. I kind of felt like they were a bit tweedle dee and tweedle dum there but it was hilarious. I do wonder how often Snape thought he heard James and Sirius in the past and shrugged it off as his imagination being overactive.

Whyyy is snape so... well, okay, he was just jinxed and that can't put him in a good place but whyyy?!?! does he have to react like him. :( :( Good fighters or not - it's so upsetting that he hit her with sectumsempre (though it seems to not have been intended for her). I was so glad McG got there. I'm also glad Snape used his healing spell thing on her to help out.

their month of detentions should be interesting *waggles eyebrows*

-Rose

 Report Review

Review #10, by MrHappyDreaming 

28th July 2015:
Yeeey I'm glad the new chapter is out :D
it was really fun and I'm waiting for the next one :)

Author's Response: Gah thank you so much!! I'm super happy that you've enjoyed it! ♥

I'm hoping to have the next one completed and posted within the next few weeks. :D

Thanks bunches for reading and taking the time to review!! I hope you continue to enjoy the rest of the story!!

xoxo Meg


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review