Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
11 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Unicorn_Charm 

31st August 2015:
Hey Emma! Here for our swap!! ♥

Every time I come back to this story, I just fall in love all over again. It's just so good, it's not even funny. You're amazing, my dear!

I really like how you don't exactly tell us that Olivia is depressed, because obviously she is. You show us by her telling us how she hasn't washed her hair or doesn't take any care in her appearance as of late. And that she's lost weight on top of everything. She's clearly stressed and definitely not coping well, which is made totally clear by her just giving up on herself.

I think it's sweet that Al is going to do this with her. He barely bats an eyelash and has a, "yeah, lets do it!" attitude. I love him. He really is such a wonderful person, but not too unbelievably wonderful that he seems too good to be true. He's just a nice guy who has faults like everyone else. Your characterization is brilliant. :)

My stomach dropped when she got in there and saw Scorpius. And then my heart completely shattered for him seeing him completely broken. I know he hasn't been the nicest person during this story, but he's really had a rough time of it since Cass disappeared. I kind of just want to hug him and let him know everything will be alright. :( Ugh, I knew that seeing Al there would make him really angry, which it totally did. I wish he'd see that Al really wasn't that bad and maybe make a new friend, but I don't see that happening. Poor Olivia. He really shouldn't push her away like this. He needs someone. I want to hug him and shake him all at the same time.

Al is just so sweet! Gah! They're both so freaking cute together!!

I LOVED the whole bit with the sketchbook! It was adorable and so personal and kind of intimate and I just love it! ♥ It's so nice to see that Al brought that out in here again in a way. Any kind of artistic release is a great way to deal with stress and depression. That should help her a lot if she ends up sticking with it. I hope she does!

Haha! Rose sounds a little bit like her mother, doesn't she? With Al saying why he doesn't want to ask her to help him pack. That made me chuckle. :D

The whole bit with Clara and Esther was funny. Of course they'd be wondering who she spent the night with. I would, too if my roommate was out all night when that was kind of out of character for her to do alone. And I LOVE that she put on a Gryffindor colored jumper! ♥ ♥ I want Al and Olivia together right now! They get along so well and they clearly both like one another, they just haven't admitted it yet. Olivia hasn't even admitted it to herself, but she does. She totally does. :p

This was a great chapter! I love the sweet little moments with Al and Liv! Ugh I just love this story!! Can't wait to continue on!

Thanks for the swap love! ♥ ♥

xoxo Meg

Author's Response: Hi Meg! Your reviews always make me smile so much. Thank you thank you thank you.

I'm so glad you like Al. I love writing him so much. It's such a relief to hear that he's believable and that people like him with Liv. I wanted him to be the one that reminded Liv of the sketchbook. It's a part of herself that she tied a lot to Cassie and Scor, but actually she should be able to access it whether or not she has them, and I wanted Al to be able to show her that.

Thank you for such a lovely review! I'm so happy you liked the chapter.

Emma xx


 Report Review

Review #2, by CambAngst 

30th August 2015:
Hi, Emma! Looks like I'm not going to make my goal of 100 reviews this month, but 50 is within reach! Pardon me for a moment while I keep count:

GryCReMo (Review #47)

It's been ages since I stopped by your story! I'm not really sure what happened there, but I do know that it didn't take long at all to get right back into the flow of it.

I think if I had to pick one word to describe Albus in this chapter, that word would be "easy". NO! Not "easy" like that, but just easy in the sense that he's fine with doing whatever Olivia wants to do so long as he gets to spend some time with her. In that sense, he's pretty much the opposite of Cassie, who's extremely high-maintenance and demanding. He also doesn't come with all of Scorpius's emotional baggage. I think it goes without saying that Olivia could use more "easy" people in her life at this point.

Ugh. Well, Scorpius didn't take that well at all. He and Olivia seem to be growing farther and farther apart. And the unfortunate thing for Scorpius is that he seems to be getting worse for the separation while Olivia is finally able to relax and unwind. It's not that she doesn't miss him or care for him, but it seems very nice that she doesn't need to deal with his moods and anxieties all the time.

Again, after Scorpius storms out, Al just makes things easier. He doesn't pry or try to get her to talk about what happened. He just asks how he can help and is happy to do something small to give her a moment to collect herself. Easy.

Wow! So this scene was sort of like Titanic in reverse, with Olivia drawing Al. "Draw me like one of your Slytherin boys!" ;)

And... they almost kiss. Maybe not that close, but there was definitely a moment there. For a couple of teenagers, you're pacing that aspect of the story well. Call me a pessimist, but I still think you're going to bring them together right before Cassie makes her return. And then things are going to go pear-shaped for a while.

Let's see, what else? I like the image of the red jumper that you threaded into this. It's the small things that show where the story is headed sometimes.

Great job! I've missed this.

Author's Response: Dan! I wrote a really long reply to this review and then my internet disappeared and the reply was no more :(

THANK YOU for all your lovely comments. Your reviews are always so so thoughtful and I really appreciate it.

I really like that you've described Al as easy. That's kind of what I was going for with him. I think teenagers are very attracted to drama and kind of angsty friendships and relationships, and I wanted to emphasise the value of simple kindness. Al's just a good person and that's why Olivia's starting to appreciate him.

I'm absolutely going to edit 'draw me like one of your slytherin boys' into this chapter when I come back to it.

Thanks for the lovely review! Emma x


 Report Review

Review #3, by AUBS 

28th July 2015:
Yes yes yes!:) I have been waiting so long for another chapter to come out for this story that this really just made my day!! It was an excellent chapter but I'm disappointed with the lack of action. Please update quickly and I'll make sure to continue reading it!!;)))

Author's Response: Hi! I'm so glad you're enjoying reading. I agree with you about the lack of action here. This chapter was originally meant to finish a bit later but it started getting too long so I decided to push the ending into the next chapter. So there's LOTS of drama to come, promise :)

Thanks for the lovely review! xx


 Report Review

Review #4, by GeekAttack 

23rd July 2015:
I've never read something quite like this- and I mean it in a good way. Very intriguing and beautiful characters. Love, love, love! Please update soon!

Author's Response: Hi! Thanks so much for the lovely comments. I'm really glad you're enjoying reading. Emma xx

 Report Review

Review #5, by merlins beard 

21st July 2015:
Hello there,

I really, really, really love this chapter! The sketchbook appears again! I know you told me it would be back, but it still makes me really happy that it's happened. It was so perfect too. I love that the first new drawing she did was of Albus, and I love the feeling she got when she did it. I feel kind of sorry for Scorpius, this is all reallyhard on him, but he should still tryto keep his temper in check a little. That death glare he throws at olivia feels unjustified.

Oh, I really hope Olivia gets to ride the train with Albus!! You made me really happy with this update! I can't wait for more.

~Anja

Author's Response: Hi Anja!

Thanks so much for such a kind review. I'm really glad you liked the chapter. I know a few people have been waiting for the sketchbook to make a reappearance, and I thought that drawing Albus represents quite a significant shift in Olivia's values. Really happy to hear you liked it.

Scorpius is struggling, but he's also being kind of mean so I think it's good to feel sorry for him but also annoyed with him.

Thanks for taking the time to review! I really appreciate it.

Emma xx


 Report Review

Review #6, by Lobelia Sackville-Baggins 

21st July 2015:
You're back, you're back, you're back, oh Hallelujah!!!
I only have time for a quick review, but OH MY GOD, I'm so happy! Everyone is just WONDERFUL! And Scorpius, oh, Scorpius...he's hurting so much. I wish he hadn't assumed that Liv though he'd done it. I mean, she did run from him, but I would have taken that as "this is so overwhelming, I need to be alone right now," rather than "my best friend killed his girlfriend/my other best friend." Oh, well. I'm not Scorpius, and I know his perception was a bit skewed at the moment.
Anyway, I AM SO HAPPY YOU'RE HERE! Looking forward to more!

Author's Response: Haha I am back! So sorry for such a long wait between updates. I love writing from this and hearing from all of you lovely readers but real life gets in the way a bit :)

SO glad you enjoyed the chapter. I wasn't sure about this one so it's a relief to hear people have liked it. You're spot on in all your comments about Scorpius and Olivia.

Thanks again! I'll try to update soon. Emma xx


 Report Review

Review #7, by Anon 

21st July 2015:
I LOVE the way Olivia is with Al. It brings out a different side of her completely; I feel like the state in which Scorpius is in and her apparent inferiority to Cassie restricts her from being the person she truly is or appreciating herself. I do crave for a reunion between Scorpius and Olivia, but I feel like the gradual build up that you are writing is so right. It is different to see a story in which Albus and Scorpius are not friends, but you write it so well. Hope you update soon, this story is incredible!

Author's Response: Hi! Thanks for such a lovely review - really happy to hear you're enjoying reading. Cassie's definitely held Olivia back from some aspects of herself, and the Gryffindors are kind of bringing that out of her.

Thanks so much! Emma xx


 Report Review

Review #8, by Irishseeker 

21st July 2015:
Scorpius continues to make me angry but break my heart at the same time. Can't wait for the next chapter!

Author's Response: Aw that's such an accurate description of Scorpius here :)

Thanks for the review! xx


 Report Review

Review #9, by Crescent Moon  

21st July 2015:
So many Al and Liv moments, so cute! But I feel so sorry for Scorpius, why can't the idiot just come to his senses?
I loved this chapter, your writing is amazing.

Author's Response: Haha they're definitely having more moments. I'm glad you still feel sorry for Scorpius. He's an idiot but he's also hurting.

Thanks for the review! Glad you're still enjoying reading xx


 Report Review

Review #10, by anonymous who likes ya story bro 

21st July 2015:
Oh poor Scorpius! He's acting rather stupidly, it's true, but this must be very tough on him :( I'm rather hoping that Olivia and Scor patch things up soon, maybe even bringing Scor into the Gryffindor group a little bit, I think that would be good for him to expand his social circle, and of course it would bring Ollie's friend groups together. And I'm very insanely curious as to what happened with C-a-s-s (said it contained a bad word)? I hope she's okay :( also Al Potter is just such an adorable little bumble! What a sweetheart! And I loved the part where Ollie drew him, his reaction was so sweet. Haha, and I love grumpy morning Albus!! Also, just curious, are we going to see more of Rose and Louis and Al too? I really like their friendship and I think it'd be great to see more of how Ollie fits into it, and her dynamic with the group. I really like how Louis danced on the table too, I thought that was a very interesting gesture :) so yes, that is all, I throughly enjoy your story, and I am eagerly awaiting an update!! Bye!!

Author's Response: Hi!

Thank you so much for such a lovely review! I'm so glad you're enjoying reading. There are some big Scorpius moments coming up soon (well, there are some big everybody moments coming up soon) and you'll get to see some more of him with everyone.

Thank you for liking Al! I'm loving writing such a nice character and it's always really nice to hear that people like reading him.

Rose and Louis and Al will show up more - I like writing their friendship too much to forget about it :)

Thanks again for the review! Next update hopefully won't take too long.

Emma xx


 Report Review

Review #11, by Roisin 

20th July 2015:
Yay update!

I love the bit about how Cassie would have been about Olivia's appearance. It's something I completely forgot about, but me and my best friend used to do this thing where we'd yell at each other to put on lipstick in a way that was almost mean, except we were both just being silly (like "I can't look at you until you put on makeup") and stuff. It's funny to think about because we're SO not that way anymore, but yeah. Teenagers. I think to a lot of people, Cassie might seem a bit extreme in the Mean Girl department, but it mostly just strikes me as really accurate. Me and my friend were both actually quite nice and kind to people and each other, but we def had a kind of beezie attitude when we were together.

Gosh Al is a sweetie. It's a real testament to their friendship that he's celebrating Cassie's birthday with Olivia. At the same time, though, I can't help but think what Scor or Cassie would think about it. Like, it's all very sweet and well-meaning from Al and Olivia's POV, but I can imagine the Scor or Cassie getting stroppy about it if they found out. Like, that she'd invited Al to do something secret and THEIRS.

A row of footprints from some other visitor?? I'm calling it right now: SOMETHING TO DO WITH CASSIE.

Oh, duh, it's Scorpius. Olivia should have really thought of that, actually. Like, if SHE feels compelled to go to the shack that night, obv Scorpius would too.

CALLED IT. Scorpius is gonna be STROPPY.

I really like the way you described sketching, and all the drawings in the book. It was very vivid, and I could really see what they looked like. And Olivia's thoughts while she sketched seemed very realistic as well, like "chaotic lines" and stuff, and the way the sketch becomes lighter and looser further away from the face and into the background. That's just, like, what sketches always look like!

I hope the next update is soon! I'd almost forgotten how much I like this story :)

xoxo
Roisin

Author's Response: Roisin! I've missed your wonderful reviews - maybe it should give me motivation to actually update sometimes.

Your comments about Cassie are always EXACTLY what I hope people think of her. She's not supposed to be very superficially the 'mean girl'. There are aspects of her that make her a wonderful person to have around and the kind of person people want to spend time with. But I still like drawing comparisons between her and Al as the 'nice guy'.

I think this chapter's hopefully interesting in that it didn't even occur to Olivia that Scorpius might be there, which shows how much her life has changed. She's starting to think about Al more than she thinks about her old friends which is a big transition for her.

Thanks for such a lovely review! Will try to update sooner next time.

Emma xx


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review