Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
8 Reviews Found

Review #1, by cherry_pop94 

28th December 2015:
Oh Selena...

It seems that she's no one's priority unless she's in serious pain. Matt only moved mountains for her when she was kidnapped, her father is a turd, Miranda, well Miranda is Miranda.

I still love the relationship between Lillian and Selena. Lillian has a huge sense of duty to her world and to protect it. And I think Selena really, truly does respect that and not resent it at all. It seems so terrible that Lillian didn't rescue Selena right away, but in doing that Lillian saved the US. And I guess Selena understands that some things are more important.

Ahh, the Rourke family, the Rourke women, I love them so much.

Stefanie

Author's Response: That's pretty much how Selena feels - that unless it's an emergency, she's nobody's priority. The downside is that because Selena feels this, she hides her pain to pretend she doesn't NEED help. And Selena's such a good liar that people BELIEVE her. Which then makes her think she's being shunted to one side - on and on. It's a cycle and while others are responsible, so is she.

Lillian and Selena have, really, found a good balance. I think Selena mostly understands; anything else is the kind of resentment that's pretty normal in normal relationships. Nothing is 100% perfect. And you're entirely right - at this point, Lillian WAS actively fighting the Council using genuinely all of her resources. So it wasn't out of sneakery that she had to leave Selena and fight the Council. It was genuinely the best thing for the world.

Unfortunately, as you've seen, the Rourke women are really good at condemning themselves with their... Rourke-ness.


 Report Review

Review #2, by water_lily43175 

9th December 2015:
I don't get why Nat is so determined that Matt shouldn't do this research on the Chalice. He hasn't made any decisions, he's not about to destroy the thing, there's no reason for her to get quite so het up about it all. Unless she's just upset that he's taking over her job? HM.

The more we learn about Cassian Malfoy, the more I want to learn. Things do seem to be starting to fall into place now, if Raskoph and Cassian's mutual hatred is the reason why Raskoph used Scorpius as the vessel for Lethe. I NEED TO KNOW MORE.

And poor Bachelet.

Ugh, I absolutely love what you've done with poor old Selena's abandonment issues. It's so, so heartbreaking, but FINALLY she's snapping and saying all those things she's been holding back for so long. Incredible.

Author's Response: *whistles about the Nat stuff*

In fact, I should just whistle through all of this, YOU HAVE THE ANSWERS, YOU'VE READ IT.

Except this scene with Selena - I NEVER planned on her conversation with her father exploding like that I only put it in because I realised that, well, her father had to make SOME sort of appearance, and I could have had her mention it as an off-screen incident, but really. I put Kenneth and her in the same situation and her issues just EXPLODED, it was a glorious moment of Selena taking charge of me, the writer. She does that more than anyone, honestly.


 Report Review

Review #3, by Solana14 

5th May 2015:
In my last review I neglected to include the section with Selena because I was addressing the Scorpius thing. Now I'm feeling I want to comment on it for a strange reason.

At the moment I happen to be editing a book for a client and, wearing my consultancy hat, I'm addressing dialogue and characterization. Well, here's an example of both done par excellence! Somehow after this exchange with Matt, we KNOW Selena has passed an important growth spurt. There's nothing like genuine expression that shows the reader where a character is, and this is an example that could not have been done better. Here's this cool girl boiling inside. We knew she was boiling but now you're letting her tell us directly rather than just letting us guess. True dialogue comes from feeling and you, Slide, had to have been feeling deeply to write it so stunningly. This is easily one of the best verbal exchanges in the series. And imagine that I was reminded of it when I was doing my own work. It made me feel, it made me think, it made me know as much of Selena as I could any real person. Wow! As I said... par excellence!

Author's Response: Thank you! Honestly, the scene wrote itself - my planning went no further than, 'Selena speaks to her father,' because it was becoming ridiculous he'd not been on-screen when she'd been ABDUCTED. I had a good feel for her family history and how it had gone, but I hadn't hammered specifics.

And then the scene just HAPPENED. Kenneth tried displacing blame and Selena first had none of it and then exploded. So I suppose that's why it feels real; it was absolutely not crafted, it was done entirely by feel on a character who's forced us (including me) to read her subtext to understand her.

So I'm very glad it worked and very touched by your kind words, but I almost feel like Selena deserves the compliments. ;)


 Report Review

Review #4, by RelentlessFire 

5th May 2015:
This story is just too exciting!! I can't wait to know what will happen next!
Giulia

Author's Response: Glad you're enjoying it! Updates coming as the queue allows. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #5, by Solana14 

3rd May 2015:
If Cassian turns out to be who I think he'll be -- another "renegade" Malfoy Scorpius will certainly relate to -- this could make him one of the most important characters in the series. Perhaps one for whom redemption really means something. We don't know yet, but I've the feeling we will soon.

And of course, having read this series from the start of Ignite on, I've never gotten that Scorpius was anything other than a very flawed character, certainly nothing close to an angel. I guess we readers coming from real life know very well that the line between a little nastiness and cold-blooded murder tends to be a tad thicker.

Still, the theme of Oblivion being deservedness, redemption, or something similar... let's hope these things play out at the end so everyone has a chance at happiness. I guess when you become attached to characters like this... well that's the best mark of a good story, right?

Author's Response: Cassian has certain thematic roles we'll be taking a closer look at in time, indeed.

It wasn't my intention to imply a little nastiness leads to cold-blooded murder, but more that Scorpius has never been without an occasional cruel streak. This speaks more of his capacity to disconnect - to draw an 'us and them' mentality - which rather helps down the line. It has taken circumstances, rather unique circumstances, to drive him into a condition where he's done the things he's done. Some of these circumstances have come out - some haven't, but yeah, we will continue to explore who Scorpius now is, and why he is the way he is. Not all of the pieces are in place. My point was essentially that while anyone can be driven to all sorts of actions under the right circumstances, Scorpius has probably been one of the nastier of the teenaged protagonists all along.

Of course, being a teenager doesn't HELP for being manipulated and/or cracking under pressure.

The Stygian Trilogy is a pretty standard monomyth, and while the ending won't be easy, it shouldn't cast my readers into a pit of despair. The end of Starfall and a lot of Oblivion is the Ordeal of the Hero's Journey, the point everything is darkest. We shall see how it pans out!

Thanks for reviewing.


 Report Review

Review #6, by whykay 

1st May 2015:
Nice one. The depiction of Selena's rage and loneliness is absolutely stunning. And I really didn't think she would take Albus abandoning them so hard. Excellent work.

Cassian Malfoy is another Sirius, though undercover; or since he is older, is it the other way around?!

Author's Response: At this point, Selena kind of takes Albus abandoning them on principle, though Albus abandoning them also had a knock-on effect (without Al, Rose absolutely had to turn to Matt). Everyone abandons Selena, Selena is upset about being abandoned, ergo she is upset at Albus along with everyone else.

Cassian has some rather distinctive thematic purposes, certainly. ;-) We'll get into those in time. Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #7, by wicKeDwitch1316 

30th April 2015:
Oh. I've never related to a character more. My goodness, that was beautiful and perfect and wonderfully cathartic to read. I've been waiting for that for so long. Just perfect.

Author's Response: I swear, in all my planning, this scene just was, 'Selena talks to her father.' He'd been referred to, he'd obviously played a certain role, and I knew he needed to react to his daughter getting ABDUCTED. But with that extent of a mission brief, I went into that scene and they just EXPLODED at each other.

Selena has written herself in Oblivion - probably in the trilogy - more so than any other character. I knew Stuff was going to come out at some point, but I wasn't sure when and how, and all of a sudden there's a brand new rift between all my characters which had been boiling for an AGE.

I only plan so much. Sometimes, this bites me on the behind. Sometimes, this happens!


 Report Review

Review #8, by Manila_traveler 

30th April 2015:
Wow, Selena, that was a pretty brutal smackdown of Matt's white-knight tendencies.

It's good to see her finally venting those thoughts. Was she always that angry about how her friends tried to help her cope with her mourning period? And was she always this articulate about it? Maybe not Always with a capital A, but let's say at the beginning of Starfall?

It was a really great chapter, maybe not on the level of Ager Sangunis, or Selena's sheer determination to revive Matt, but it's a good callback to all those reasons why us readers love her. And oooh character development for Selena, I'm pretty curious now how you'll play out that plotline.

Good mix of Scorp/Rose and Matt/Selena scenes, you might as well get that exposition out of the way. Still not caring much about Cassian Malfoy though, cause I'm still not sure how I feel about Scorp and Rose at this point, let alone a 1940s expy of them.

Author's Response: I think Selena spent so long doing all of this that it became second nature to her. It was made worse by Methuselah's death, because she didn't know how to handle it and her trained instinct under lesser trauma was to repress. At the beginning of Starfall, I'm not sure how conscious of it she was. She had to be conscious enough to decide to set off to kill Thane, but that was partly opportunity; for months, she was just hiding.

I don't think she was angry at her friends until she understood the grief herself. So she couldn't have begun to see that Miranda and Abena just LET her wallow until after her breakdown at Badenheim, which was when she realised how messed up she was and how little she'd been dealing with it. It's hard to say at what point she started to resent her friends for letting her; possibly even after Starfall, returning to her old life where Miranda and Abena kind of did it AGAIN. It only wasn't as bad the second time around because Selena had a better grip on herself. I think then she might have looked at them, clear-eyed, and realised what had happened.

I'm not sure she was fully CONSCIOUS of all of this until it burst out of her, though.

This wasn't really a Planned plotline - 'Selena's father comes back and finally the issues about her abandonment get resolved.' Selena surprised me by saying, 'I'm always alone,' in an earlier chapter, and then this came more or less out of nowhere, but it provides a perfect springboard for characters to resolve things they have spent a long time ignoring.

We should see significant progress on Scorpius and Rose Reasonably Soon, so they'll enter a new phase of interactions. We'll see what good that does them!

Thanks for reviewing.


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review