Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
8 Reviews Found

Review #1, by marauderfan 

2nd August 2017:
When I first reviewed this I think it was a one-shot so I'm stoked to see there is a second chapter!


Oh my goodness though, you did it again! Another cliff hanger! :P Seriously though, I read through this so fast because it is really that gripping. I couldn't look away.


This was another great chapter, and unlike the first chapter where it was really uncertain whether everything was in Hermione's head or it was real, in this chapter there's clearly something, and it's real. I'm really curious about the italic sections, as well, particularly the second one. Flashback? A dream?


I'm glad Hermione seems to be trying to face her fears here, but I feel so bad every time she makes progress and then sees this thing again. Based on the fact that it talks at the end and calls her a mudblood, I wonder if it's some residual thing left over from the scar Bellatrix gave her, like a continuing curse. That's some dark magic.


You also have some really wonderful imagery in here - I loved the chilling visual of the dark clouds 'kidnapping the sun' - that's such a perfect descriptor and fits in with the tone of the story so well.


Great chapter - and I'm anxiously awaiting chapter 3!

 Report Review

Review #2, by Secret Slytherin Snowflake 

27th December 2015:
Ho Ho Ho!!! Another little gift for Avi... Enjoy

Till now, the two stories that I had read of yours were romantic stories. People tend to make images in their head after first impressions and when I read the title of this story I was intrigued.

Well this was amazing. A story on Hermione suffering PTSD. Just what the doctor ordered. Personally, I am all for exploring how the war would have affected the characters and I really like to read the perspectives of other people about it. Loved this.

The fear of being followed as they were running from Voldermort, the fear of darkness that she could feel descend upon her in the Manor as well as the fear of the monster that Lestrange was bound to affect her psyche in more ways than one. Nice job capturing Hermione's mental state here.

Your interpretation of the adult Ron is great as well. Loving, doting and yet ready to take the difficult decisions.

Loved this story as well Avi. Bravo.

Till we meet again. Ho! Ho! Ho!

 Report Review

Review #3, by bittersweetflames 

28th June 2015:
Okay, so, as scared as I was of Chapter 1 and the end of it, how could I not come back and read Chapter 2? (and demand, at the end of it, that you should continue this story as soon as possible?) Ahem, anyway, moving on. The same feeling of fear and paranoia still pervades this chapter but in this one, it is more intense, heavier and knocks out the breath. I was starting to feel quite as scared as Hermione and could only be thankful that it's still light outside. (See, there's a tiny little forest outside so, yeah, scary at night. hehe). I was also incredibly intrigued by the bits that sound different. Ones where there is bright, white light. It's obvious that it is at a different time and possibly a different place and I am very curious to know what it is all about. SO ANYWAY. I SCREAMED AGAIN. You really have a way of ending your chapter in such a way that it's very cliffhangery AND it's super scary.. I cannot wait for chapter 3 and am very saddened by the fact that it will take a bit of time to reach our screens. Well, off to hide back under the bed now. :)

Carla
House Cup 2015 - Ravenclaw

 Report Review

Review #4, by kenpo 

28th June 2015:
House Cup 2015 - Ravenclaw

This is so fantastic. Summer is now, gimme the last chapter!!! I love how this is a Hermione so different than the one we know from the books, but she's still so... Hermione. She's still so recognizable, and I can still connect with her. Her reaction to her own illness, believing that she can fix herself (and giving herself a deadline) just fits so well into what we know about her...

Your descriptions are terrifying - there were times that I wasn't even sure what was real and what wasn't, and that's not always something easy to achieve. You gave me insight into what Hermione's feeling, and what her fears are like, and how her irrational fears can work with her very rational mind.

I'm glad that Ron is at least a little bit of comfort to her... Seeing that she's lost even more weight made me sad. Ron's devotion to her was really nice, though. This story is just a jumbled basket of feels.

Very nice!

-Georgia

 Report Review

Review #5, by The Summer Snake 

17th May 2015:
Greetings from The Summer Snake! I have recently slithered out of hibernation and discovered this amazing place with such amazing stories, so I want to read and review as many as I can before I go back into hibernation!

WOW. JUST WOW. I HAVE NO WORDS. NOW THIS IS EXTREMELY RARE BUT YOU'VE GIVEN ME - A COLD BLOODED REPTILIAN CREATURE - CHILLS. WOW.

This was really, really amazing. You've written this very well. Your descriptions and narrative is very impressive. The paranoia and darkness and fear surrounds the story wonderfully and really pulled me into it.

The whole idea of this phobia affecting Hermione, the uncertainty of whether the "monster" is real or not, the little italic bits in the middle - glimpse into the future perhaps - are all very interesting. They gave me a lot to think about and I am now really excited to know what happens next, to find out all the answers.

Your characterisation of Hermione and Ron is very good and I could connect with them. The scenes flow wonderfully and the air of mystery and fear that your narrative has is just perfect. You've got the scenarios down very well. I am just loving the story, amazing job writing this!

Now, I'm a summer snake and I am supposed to slither across this land of stories then go back to my hole but if you update soon, I might be able to catch you one more time before going back into my hole. In other words, I'd really like to get all the answers so you might see me coming back - maybe in another form ;) Update soon!

Don't know what else to say except great work! *showers confetti and flowers* Now, I'm off to explore more of this wonderful sun! See ya!

With love,
The Summer Snake

 Report Review

Review #6, by Chazzie 

11th April 2015:
Avi

How am I supposed to review this when you write that at the end? You're too nice to me. *hugs* You're a fabulous friend to me too.

So, story. First of all a warning to anyone who is reading the reviews before you read Avi's brilliant story - it it is dark outside and you are alone, under no circumstances read this until daybreak. It is utterly terrifying. Avi, your word choice and descriptions were amazing. I found it so difficult to sleep the night that I first read Tetraphobia. No kidding.

Second of all, I can't wait to read the next chapter. There are so many questions left unanswered here, and I am very intruiged to find out what's going on.

You managed to write Hermione and Ron so canon, an impressive feat considering the darkness of the story. Seriously, you go so deep. If I had to describe this so far in a single word, it would be 'chilling'. I could not stop reading, and there were so many time I realied that I was holding my breath.

I loved the little italicised sections. They make me wonder though, is Hermione dreaming? Is she at St Mungos? Is this infact taking place just after the battle and she has been knocked out? So many questions Avi!

I am so excited to read more.

Lottie x

 Report Review

Review #7, by Freddie 

6th April 2015:
Finish the story. Don't Leave us hanging.

Author's Response: I will finish this story when I get the time for it.
Thank you for your review.


 Report Review

Review #8, by Peter Cottontail 

29th March 2015:
Hi there! I was just on my way to deliver Easter baskets to some kids down the way, but this story caught my eye and I just had to stop by to look.

I just want to give Hermione the biggest basket of chocolate I can find - she seems like she needs it. I just feel so bad for her, especially because she doesn't feel like she can tell anyone about what she's seeing. But just between us, I've had to go through that forest more than a few times on my usual route and I have definitely felt like there was something not quite right there, even if I can't see what Hermione is seeing.

Ron deserves all the Easter baskets in the world for trying to help her the best that he can. You can tell that he truly does care about her and it hurts him that he can't do more to help her, you do an absolutely wonderful job portraying all of that (I'll make sure to put in a good word for you and get you some extra jellybeans this Easter). All of the raw emotions to throw into this is just fantastic!

Oh, darn it, I think I've spent more time here than I meant to. These Easter baskets aren't going to deliver themselves! Great job, keep up the good work!

-Peter Cottontail

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review