Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
11 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Wonder Wall 

22nd March 2016:
Okay no Ron and Hermione aren't happy Scorpius is the father. They wouldn't be happy that anyone is the father because both its childish and irresponsible for Rose to be pregnant before she's married and particularly given the circumstances.

Secondly he is a Malfoy. His family has been wrapped in the Dark Arts for generations and their house and half their belongings might be dangerous to Rose and her baby. I know a lot of authors try to make light of all of the crimes Draco committed and like to pretend he didn't have any choices even though he clear had multiple ones and one of the whole points of the book is that its our choices that make us who we are.

Its true they might like him as an individual but neither Ron or Hermione would be happy the father of their child has ties to the evil that is the Malfoy family.

 Report Review

Review #2, by MrsJaydeMalfoy 

21st September 2015:
Okay I'm trying to be understanding of Scorpius' feelings right now but UGH. He is ruining this beautiful moment and he needs to get a grip!! I hope he sorts all this out, and very soon!

I think knowing that Scorpius is the father really IS a relief - I mean, comparing it to the alternative! Come on now, Scorpius! Get over yourself! *Shakes head*

Anyway, this was another amazing chapter, and I'm off to the next! Well done!

Author's Response: Hey there!

I guess it *couldn't* be perfect forever. You're right - Scorpius does need to get over himself. At the same time, Rose is finally standing up for something that she thinks is right.

Gah - thanks so much!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #3, by Tonks1247 

14th August 2015:
Hiya! Back for another chapter! Putting it in for BvB as well.

Why does Scorp need to be so overdramatic? I mean, I totally can see where he’s coming from. I get that this prophecy and making him the father and the ‘evil’ side of things is bad, and I know why it hurts him. He doesn’t want to be a bad influence and he wants for Rose and the baby to be good and to be okay, but he’s making me sad. His life has been so difficult, with losing his parents and being labelled as a Malfoy, and for this prophecy to hit him so hard….it’s just not cool! Feel so bad for him!

As for Rose? Well. She’s had time to adjust to the prophecy. It didn’t really say anything about her she didn’t know or rejected for most of her life. She took time to accept it and now she’s gotta do the same for Scorp and I know it’s killing her. It’s like the fact that they both loved each other for so long but wouldn’t make a single move to do something about it or tell each other. It’s such a slow process and I’m sure Scorp is going to do exactly what he shouldn’t do and continue to avoid her until something dramatic happens and he realizes that maybe it’s not as big of a deal as he thinks it is….

Also in this chapter, I love how James comes home just for Rose’s announcement. I love how excited she got for him. I also may have laughed a lot at Fred’s congratulations to Rose and Scorpius about the baby. More than I should have, yet besides.

I also love how Hermione was able to plan such a big party so fast and have food and everything else prepared in a matter of hours. It really doesn’t surprise me much, but it was funny how Rose pointed that out so obviously as well.

Another lovely chapter!
-Mikaela

Author's Response: Hiya Mikaela,

Poor Scorpius. He just can't seem to catch a break. But he loves Rose and the baby so much that he's willing to give them up so they can have a better life without him. He really feels like he's got a dark cloud hanging over him - can you blame him?

Yeah, Rose needs to give Scorpius a little time and she'll figure that out. But unfortunately, she also feels that she needs to protect her baby and do what's best for the new little one. And she's right - what is best for the baby is to have a father who loves it.

James really is one of the clan - even though he doesn't work for the Ministry and he's a bit of a goofball, he is completely loyal to all of them.

Haha! Hermione had a bit of help on this one. She didn't do the cooking (that was Ginny and Molly). She mostly just offered up her house!

Thanks again!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #4, by crestwood 

12th June 2015:
I'm having the same reaction as Rose. Although I do understand Scorpius' reaction. Being told that you are the evil half of the prophecy wouldn't be all that great. But then again, at least Stannous isn't fated to have a child with Rose. So, there is serious upside to all of this. I think he's just confused--and rightfully so.

You've done such a good job at making everyone's reactions a little different and making their motivations clear and understandable regardless of how they took the news. You always do such an amazing job with characterization. And also, I had no idea you'd been shouting me out so much! Thank you, wow!

Slytherin - House Cup 2015 Review

Author's Response: Hiya Joey,

I was actually a bit worried that people wouldn't totally get Scorpius's reaction, so I'm breathing a bit of a sigh of relief here that you find his motivations believable. He's actually fairly sensitive - and has always felt like a bit of an outsider because he was orphaned so young.

And of COURSE I'm SHOUTING YOU OUT! YOU'RE BRILLIANT AND AN AMAZING BETA!

Thanks again!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #5, by merlins beard 

7th May 2015:
Oh my, this does hit him hard. I understand his reaction and I'm glad Albus explains it to Rose, but I completely agree with her. He doesn't even know what being evil is like.

Maybe it would help him if Harry told him how Narcissa saved him and how Draco couldn't kill Dumbledore. It might upset him even more at first, but I think he needs to know that his dad wasn't actually the bad guy all the time.

I'm so sorry that Rose doesn't get to enjoy this moment with him. In a perfect world, they would be together, never letting go of each other, always smiling with Scorpius' hand resting on Rose's stomach.

I'm glad that everyone is happy for them. This is a happy occation.

HOW AND WHY DOES NO ONE REALIZE THE DANGER TO THE BABY? If it is such a powerful wizard and I were Stannous, I'd try to get to the child to take it with me and raise it to be the next Dark Lord.

I hope Harry doesn't cease to protect Rose, she really still needs to be watched, even more than before. She would agree to anything if it would be for the baby. it has to be kept safe.

~Anja

Author's Response: Anja!

Gah - I don't know how to thank you for these reviews. I'm so touched and it's just amazing to me that people like my story enough to leave a review on every chapter. I know I've said it before, but THANK YOU!!

I'm relieved that Scorpius's anxiety makes sense to you. Most people have said that they couldn't understand what was up with him until Albus explained it. But he really feels like his family blood is going to "damage" the baby in some way - and since he felt like he almost had "it all," well, he's just devastated.

And we *all* know he isn't evil - not one bit, but convincing him is another story.

Haha - yes, I think they're likely to realize the danger that the baby is in relatively soon (*insert evil grin here*), but for right now, everyone is adjusting to the news of the pregnancy (and engagement).

thanks again - you're the best!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #6, by Nina 

2nd April 2015:
This may be much to ask, but I will prefer if you update more frequently,\(^o^)/★

Author's Response: Haha - I'll try! The next chapter should be up soon. Thanks for leaving a review!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #7, by Anie 

28th March 2015:
I got worried that you had abandoned this story.
I was so relieve to see that you updated! And what an update it was.
Poor Scorpius. Poor Rose!
I understand his anguish. He could justify raising a child that was evil because of the father being evil. But when he found out it was actually himself that fathered the child...oh boy (or girl...hehe)! Keep up the great work! I hope everything is OK and that the break wasn't because of anything bad.

Author's Response: Hi there!

Oh my goodness - apologies are in order - I've waited far too long to reply to you! No worries though - I've every intention of finishing this story! It's outlined to the end, but I've got the next ten chapters typed up and ready for editing :). The reason for the lag was that my life sorta got really busy. I also felt like I was rushing to post chapters at the expense of proper editing.

Thank you so much for your concern - I hope all is well with you!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #8, by RupertsPheonix 

28th March 2015:
Baby Malfoy - how sweet. :) I enjoyed Scorpius' reaction and over-enthusiastic questions at the first appiontment at St. Mungo's!

YES! I knew that Scorpius could be the father in the prophecy! I feel like a Seer myself!

Poor Scorpius... He's taking this really hard. He's not evil though, just his family tree. Hopefully Rose and Al and the gang can help him understand that.

Cliffhanger at the end there. Whoa. Eagerly awaiting the next chapter!

--Kate/rp

Author's Response: Hi again Kate!

Great job with the predictions! Scorpius didn't see it coming, but the rest of us did! It might take Scorpius a bit to sort it all out - he's really taking this hard.

You shouldn't have to wait long for the next chapter - it's with the beta now!

Thank you so, so much!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #9, by Magarie298 

26th March 2015:
This was my favorite chapter by far! Scorpius' reaction to finding out he is the father in the prophecy was not at all what I was expecting. I thought he would be more happy. Through the chapter I was with Rose in feeling like poor Scorp was being a jerk! But Albus really set it straight. I thought that the information coming from Al was great also. Al has a really close relationship with both of the characters and having it come from anyone else would have made it feel less sincere.

My favorite quote from the chapter was '“You’re angry?” His voice was full of surprise. “You don’t ever get angry.”'. I think this really shows how far Rose has come from her anxiety riddled self. Before this she had always felt like she owed everyone something for protecting her, or helping her, or even just being there for her through her attacks. Here she seems to really be putting her own feelings before everyone else's and it's awesome!

As always you writing is captivating! I can't wait for the next chapter. (I mean this literally, I'm on edge.)

(ps. just realized I did this from my author account by accident)

Jeannette

Author's Response: Hi there!

Gosh - I'm so sorry that I took so long to reply to this - but I was so happy to see you were back for the next chapter!

I'm really glad Scorpius's reasoning came across. He really is a lost soul. You're not the first one to notice Al's relationship with both parties. He plays his role really well - for being someone who is so emotionally charged himself.

Yes! I love that quote as well! I think his embodies the progress Rose has made along her journey to recovery. She isn't the same girl she was in the first chapter.

Next chapter should be up really soon!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #10, by CambAngst 

24th March 2015:
Beth! What are you doing, leaving unresolved relationship drama dangling at the end of a chapter? And it isn't even a cliff hanger.

Actually, I have to say, bravo! I think -- maybe I'm just not remembering something -- that this is the first time you've let problems between Rose and Scorpius spill over from one chapter to the next. In a story that you're telling serially, that adds some depth and a more realistic feel to things. Problems don't wrap up neatly in 5,000 words in life.

It took me a long time to get my head around why Scorpius was acting the way he was in this chapter. Longer than normal, I'd say. Al didn't just have to spell it out for Rose's benefit. ;) Once it was laid out, though, it clicked with me. Maybe it's just because it's been a while since I read the actual prophecy. Maybe it's also partly because I read Emma's new chapter of Complicated right before I read this and I'm getting two different versions of "moody Scorpius" a little mixed up in my head. Either way, I spent a lot of the chapter in the same mental place as Rose. "What is this guy's problem???"

Scorpius cleared his throat, but still sounded a little hoarse when he spoke. It brought tears to my eyes and I was glad he couldn’t see my face. "A-and what about the 'lost soul?'" -- You know, with the benefit of hindsight and knowing the answer, this one passage actually says a lot of about what's going on with both of them. Scorpius has a somewhat different read on the prophecy and he's very worried about it. Rose is also hiding her feelings from him a bit. As I think back over this chapter, there were several places where Rose sort of avoids dealing with Scorpius's feelings. She seems to feel like she's giving him room, which isn't bad in and of itself, but I wonder whether she let it go on a little too long.

Nobody throws a party like the Weasleys. If your plan was to have the party introduce a lot of extra time for Rose and Scorpius to put off their moment of reckoning, it worked well.

I'm curious as to why Harry wanted to issue a press release about the prophecy. In the books, prophecies were always made to seem like closely guarded secrets. I assumed that's why the prophecies in the Ministry were protected so that only the people mentioned could obtain them. Was there a risk of the prophecy getting out somehow? Maybe Stannous?

Then there's Stannous. I have a weird feeling he's going to surface at some point during this party. Or perhaps when Rose leaves the party to find out where Scorpius went. Or maybe he actually kidnapped Scorpius from the party! As you can see, my imagination is running away with me. It happens. ;)

Wow. Al just doesn't handle change well. Or surprises. Or just about anything out of the ordinary. I was pleased that Dom was there to apply percussive negative reinforcement to the back of his head.

Going flying with James was about the lamest cop-out I've ever seen. Trust me, I've seen some lame ones. I was very annoyed with Scorpius after reading that. Strongly disapproved.

"I can't tell you how much stress this takes off of me – and Dad – and your Mum and Dad – you get the picture." His voice was kinder now. Was he close to tears?

"But," he began, steadier, "Scorpius is a different story. He didn't see this coming and he's devastated."


Just like that, you slip a "redeeming Al moment" in on us. He's such an emotional guy. And sensitive. If being an Auror doesn't work out, he'd make a great soul singer.

I have a weird feeling that something big is coming up in the next chapter. I hope it's something big. I'm eager.

Great job!

Author's Response: Hi Dan!

So sorry I've taken so long to respond to this awesome review!

Haha - I think you're right. I did make a conscious decision NOT to do the "on again/off again" thing with my Rose/Scorpius. While those stories are exciting, they can also be frustrating to read. BUT, I sort of feel like I fell into that trap a little bit by default. I couldn't help it, sometimes the characters just do it to themselves.

I'm actually relieved to hear you say that you didn't quite get Scorpius's perspective at first, because I really thought I was being overly obvious about it. I'm still not confident that my mystery/drama will play out to everyone's expectations, but know that I'm doing my very best! :)

Yet again, you've touched on a key point - and I've updated to reflect that Harry decides NOT to publicize the prophecy. Ironically, that part was added in at the very last minute before I posted the chapter. The original story line did NOT have the prophecy being made public. My reason for adding that part in was because of the back story with Harry/Hermione/Ron from the days following the war. If you recall, I'd given Hermione her own bout of PTSD (possible, nay probable - accompanying short story coming VERY soon). That story has every would-be seer making prophecies all over the place about the Trio and Hermione finds it all too much. And I've just rambled a bit to make the point that I briefly thought Harry would try to circumvent the press by releasing the prophecy himself. However - I'm back to my original thoughts where it's kept under wraps.

Al can be a bit fiery at times. He must get it from his mother. Or father. Haha - and I LOVE writing Dom :)

A weird feeling something big is coming up? Why ever would you say that, Dan? Hmm...

Well, I guess you'll just have to see! Chapter is with the beta right now...

Thanks again - SO MUCH!

♥ Beth




 Report Review

Review #11, by MargaretLane 

23rd March 2015:
LOVE the way Rose cannot bring herself to believe it true, as she's been so worried about the other possibility that it seems she didn't even consider that it might NOT be accurate. I think that's pretty understandable.

This line sounds a little awkward: " I think the absolute look of disbelief on mine and Scorpius’s faces had shaken her." I'd be inclined to write something like, "then stopped, possibly shaken by the looks of disbelief on my face and Scorpius's." This is REALLY nitpicky though. But "mine and Scorpius's faces" doesn't sound quite right, as you wouldn't say "mine face."

Oh gosh, I didn't even think about that. I was wondering and wondering what it was that didn't seem quite right to Hermione, but I couldn't pin-point anything. You write prophecies well, having something that gives so much information, but that isn't obvious until the relevance is pointed out.

This should be all one sentence, not two: "Even though we now know that he isn’t the father from the prophecy. He is probably still going to think he is.”

And yes, I don't think Stannous is going to give up this easily.

Uh oh, it's just occurred to me to wonder what he'll plan next. Yeah, I can see two possibilities. He MIGHT realise his mistake, but I don't think he's going to take it that easily. I could see him trying to end this pregnancy, so her first child would be with him. He might not yet realise the details that specify Scorpius and might think the prophecy could refer to either of them, as the one in the books could refer to Harry or Neville and that he could get rid of this threat.

After Hermione suggests they announce the engagement and pregnancy tonight, the part where she lifts her head should be a new sentence, with a capital "s". Same with "She seemed less confident."

Hmm, I wonder if part of Scorpius's problem here is because it's a reminder of the part his grandfather played in the Death Eaters. Probably not a nice thing of which to be reminded.

The part about Ron grumbling about Ravenclaw decorations amused me. In some ways, he has NEVER grown up.

I really love the way you are continuing to show the possible disruption to Rose's career, and Scorpius's and the confusion that is causing her. A lot of stories seem to just have a baby solve everything, but no matter how wanted a child is, and how much support the parents have (like in this case), it's bound to cause adjustments.

Oh gosh, I wonder how Hugo'll feel, missing out on his sister's engagement party. It can't be helped, but he's bound to feel a little left out.

And due October 31st - a celebration in the wizarding world and the anniversary of Harry's parents' deaths. What a perfect date! It'd be great if the child was born that day.

I think if the memories are now doing no more than making her shudder, it's a good indication of how much she has recovered. Considering what she's been through, that's quite a mild reaction.

Yeah, Scorpius is going to have to grow up, now he's about to be a father. I can understand why this is stressful for him, but there will be stressful moments as the child grows up too and he can't just withdraw during them, as his child will need him.

Coming from a neutral country, the reference to Switzerland amused me.

Scorpius is starting to remind me of Remus here - reacting irrationally to the thought that he might be a father, because he is worried that he will somehow be bad for the child.

Poor Rose. It seems like she goes from one difficulty to another. Just as she began to recover from the effects of her trauma that had basically lost her two years of her life, Stannous reappears and her life is placed in danger, and then just as she is resuming her life after being on 24 hour protection and her relationship seems to be going well, all this stuff is stirred up, placing stress between her and Scorpius. She can't seem to catch a break.

Author's Response: Hi there!

Thanks for all of the great tips - I've updated the story to reflect your advice :)

I'm so, so happy that you like the realistic touches that I put into the story - especially regarding the pregnancy and the prospect of new motherhood. I have a much more planned along these lines, as I've got a bit of experience in this area (of being conflicted between your career and personal life :) )

So, I think the MOST I'm excited about is that you agree about Rose's recovery. She IS in a very different place than from the beginning of the story. Her journey isn't over yet, and her strength will definitely be tested in the future, but her recovery is something that I wanted to convey, but handle with care at the same time. Gah - thanks so much!

Yeah, Scorp was sort of blindsided by fatherhood on this one - even if the rest of us saw it coming a mile away. He's still a lost soul in a big way, and Rose realizing that is hopefully going to help him along his way.

Haha - I've sorta laid the drama a bit thick with these chapters. I could say that it's gonna let up.. but that would be a lie ;)

Thanks again for all of your reviews!

♥ Beth


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review