Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
8 Reviews Found

Review #1, by marauderfan 

31st January 2017:
Dear Jayde,

You are amazing. I'm still taking about 4 million years to respond to your email, but I thought I'd stop by with a little review to remind you that you are a talented writer.

This was so cute! I love the way you write Ginny as a Mum, and how despite her frustration she's so patient as she tries to convince James to let her heal his knee! And James seemed so realistic too. I was terrified of pain at that age too and I remember never wanting any of my scrapes cleaned up and bandaged because I thought they'd hurt :P so yeah, you write a really wonderful and believable 5 year old James and I can see this scene so clearly in my mind.

And Harry at the end! Hahaha, he absolutely does have a Saving-People-Thing, and noticeably has since he was 15 and Hermione pointed it out. The fact that he panicked for a second and ran upstairs when he heard a scream only to find it was James overreacting to a healing spell, that is so precious XD I loved this! What a cute little moment. And btw, I can't believe this is your first time writing next gen, it reads so naturally, like you've been writing these characters forever. Wonderful work ♡

Author's Response: Aw, Kristin!! ♥ Thank you SO much for doing this!! It really means a lot! And no worries about the email, take your time!

Thank you! *blushes* I'm so flattered that you like how I write Ginny as a Mum - I personally think she'd be an amazing one, judging by who her Mum is. :P GAH! I'm happy you think James was believable also! You're drowning me in compliments and it's making me want to squee!! ♥

Hahha, yes, Harry really does have a "Savior" thing, it was actually mentioned once in the series by Hermione as you mentioned, so I just kind of had to play on that here. I honestly think you might be the FIRST person who's remembered that bit from the series! Eeeek! Stahhpp with the compliments, you're making my ego swell. XD I'm just a flailing pile on the floor right now, this review has just made me smile so much and has seriously made my day - this is the first time I've checked my account in a while, and I really think I was meant to find this today, if that makes any sense. I'm honestly near tears because I'm so happy and flattered. THANK YOU!! I'm so happy you enjoyed it!


 Report Review

Review #2, by Felpata Lupin 

17th September 2016:
Hey, Jayde!
So, after those lovely reviews you left me the other day, the least I could do was returning the favour (especially since you have so many wonderful-looking stories here and I've read so little of your work...)

Ah, this was so adorable! I guess you know by now how much I adore children stories, and this was just wonderful to read! I could picture the scene just perfectly, it was so believable and just so cute!

I loved James' reaction as Ginny tried to heal his knee, and Ginny's frustration at her son's stubborness. It was all so lovely!

And Harry running up the stairs like that! Ahahah! But that's just him, he worries for his family and wants to keep them all safe! I bet he is a wonderful dad, if slightly overprotective. ;)

And I also loved James's confusion at Harry's behaviour and Ginny's explaination of it. It's just so lovely!

Really, this was so adorable! I don't think there's much more that I can say! Thank you so much for the lovely read! Hopefully I'll be back soon for more!

Love you,
Chiara.

Author's Response: C.H.I.A.R.A!! ♥

You are just the best, loveliest, and sweetest! I miss you so much, thank you SO much for stopping by to read and review this! I'm glad you enjoyed your reviews! All of your stories are so wonderful! ♥

*Squees* I'm flattered that you think this was adorable, believable and cute! You're making me blush!

Haha, I had a lot of fun writing James' reaction, so I'm glad you enjoyed it!

Yes, Harry running upstairs like that IS just Harry, and that's really where the idea for this short story series came from - I can imagine Harry being a WONDERFUL father, although slightly overprotective, as you said. Your comments make me think I portrayed that well, and that makes me SO happy! :D

Yeah, I had to include an explanation of 'The Savior Thing' there at the end to tie in to the title and the other chapters, I'm glad you think it was lovely!

Gah! If you keep saying this is adorable I'm just going to start flailing! Thank you SO much for reading and for this squee-worthy review! Love you too! ♥


 Report Review

Review #3, by Penelope Inkwell 

9th May 2016:
Hey there!

I just thought I'd jot over here for a second. Someone mentioned this series in a blog post--ichigopan, I think, over on the forums--and I've been trying to R&R some stuff by authors that I haven't read a lot of, so I figured I'd give it a go. This was a cute one-shot--short and sweet. As someone who has been a nanny, I can really relate to Ginny in this moment. What especially cracked me up was when it didn't hurt James at all, but he started howling just out of startled instinct. That is SO REAL. It was nice to see Harry, Ginny, and the kids in this low pressure, day to day kind of way, but still see how Harry's experience/PTSD creeps out. I can't imagine how it must have been, truly panicking whenever you heard your child injure themselves. I mean, we all *panic* when kids hurt themselves, but like, believing that it might be an attack? Poor Harry. How exhausting. But still, the way it's brushed off and everything goes back to normal was a difference, too, that feels realistic. I haven't read much like that, but I liked it, because I think that's what the healing process is like. We still have those moments, but over time we learn to calm down faster, to accept that things are all right, and to not let it get to us so much, I think.

Oh, and the bit about James running and hiding when he's scared, while Harry runs toward the danger, confusing him? That was adorable, and such a great way to put it.

Overall, this is just a really adorable one-shot. Short, but really enjoyable and well-done! I didn't even notice any CC, and I always try to give it. But here I've got nothing. Great work!

--Penny

Author's Response: *Gasps* Penny!

Hi there! What a wonderful surprise! Thank you SO much for taking the time to stop by and read this, and for leaving this amazing review!! ♥

I honestly had NO idea this was mentioned in a blog post, and I just went and checked and, sure enough, it is. I'm going to have to make sure I go thank the blog's author right away!

Oh wow - I didn't know you used to be a Nanny! But, knowing that and then reading that you could relate to Ginny in this just makes me want to SQUEE! I'm so glad you found it easy to relate to! And I'm happy I could crack you up with James' instinct howling! I'm sure you've seen your fair share of that! :P (If I'm honest, I'm guilty of doing it myself, even as an adult. XD)

I'm thrilled to hear that you enjoyed seeing the family in a day-to-day setting while still seeing Harry's 'Savior Thing' moments. I think he DEFINITELY would have had to deal with things like this after all he's gone through - I think he'd be absolutely terrified of losing the only real family he's ever had, and I agree that constantly being worried like that would be exhausting for him. You're right, we all panic when kids hurt themselves, but not the way Harry does. And I think the fact that he still chose to be an Auror after spending literally his entire life fighting pretty much the darkest wizard ever, tells us that he's still not ready to let go of that 'protector' role, if that makes any sense.

Yeah, I think Ginny and everyone else would understand WHY Harry's like that and wouldn't give him too much grief about it, they'd just try to laugh it off and let it go. I mean, let's face it, he really HAS been through a lot and has lost SO much - who wouldn't be like that in his shoes? I'm glad that you liked it and thought it was an accurate portrayal of the healing process! You're right; when you're afraid of something it takes a while, but eventually you DO learn how to calm down more quickly, react less extremely, etc.

And awww! I'm flattered that you think it's adorable! *Blushes*

*Squees* Thank you SO much! I'm so happy you enjoyed it! And now I'm seriously flattered that you don't have any CC! *blushes and squees more*

THANK YOU FOR THIS AMAZING, SURPRISE REVIEW! ♥



 Report Review

Review #4, by Frankie05 

12th August 2015:
This is so cute! I loved it. I am all about this fluff right now and this is perfection. You so tangibly captured the innocence of childhood. I can picture a five year terrified of the pain he thinks will be coming. This makes me want children, it's so magnificent. I love the innocent of not using magic but Ginny so gently talks him down from his fear and the magic that is positive :)
In comes Harry!! Hey Harry- you definitely run towards danger when it comes to those you love. His kindness is so evident here and I love it. I miss Harry- I think he is forgotten about in a world that was set up because of him!
I love what you said here, "But when I'm afraid, I run and hide." James said clearly not understanding why being afraid made Harry runs towards the source of the noise." This sentence was a gold mine and is such a perfect description of Harry. Of course there is respect in Ginny's voice when she tells her son of his heroics. This was so good. :)

Frankie

Author's Response: Frankie! Thank you SO much for stopping by and leaving this amazing review!

Awww, thank you so much for your kind words, I'm so flattered! I'm happy that you think I captured the childhood innocence well! And YAY for making you want children! :D

Haha, yes! Harry always has, and always will, run towards danger. Awww! Yes, I completely agree that he can be forgotten about sometimes, and it's sad!

Awww, I'm so happy you liked that sentence so much, and that you think it's a perfect description of Harry!

Thank you SO MUCH for this amazing review!!


 Report Review

Review #5, by Unicorn_Charm 

12th August 2015:
Hiya! I'm here with your promised review! :)

Oh my goodness this was one of the cutest things I've ever read! I so needed something like this! :)

Poor Ginny. I don't have any kids, but I babysat a lot growing up, and I totally understood her frustration at trying to help James. When a kid has something stuck in their head like that, it's nearly impossible to change their minds. You showed that really well. I laughed picturing his little face when he was irritated with Ginny, thinking she just didn't understand that it would hurt more.

She's such a good Mother! I loved how patient she was and loving and how she finally got him to let her fix his little knee. I laughed again when he screamed from the shock of it. The poor little thing.

Of course Harry would fly upstairs ready to save the day. That's totally in his nature, isn't it? haha

That last line was absolutely fantastic! It was so funny, because I could imagine Ginny being proud and exasperated at the same time with Harry's "Savior Thing." XD

I really, really enjoyed reading this! It was cute, funny and heartwarming and well written. I'm going to have to check or Albus' chapter, too! Thanks so much for sharing!! ♥

xoxo Meg

Author's Response: Hello there Meg!! Thank you SO much for stopping by to read and review this!!

Awww! I'm so flattered that you think this was cute!!

Yeah, I don't have any kids either - I was very much channeling experiences with my younger sister. :P I'm so glad that you think I portrayed it well!

And yes, I think Ginny is a fantastic mom! I mean, she's seen her own Mom do these things SO many times, I can't imagine her NOT following in her footsteps!

And yes, It definitely IS in Harry's nature to fly upstairs to save the day (even if the day doesn't need saving). :P

Thank you SO much for your kind words! I'm so flattered! And thank you for this amazing review!


 Report Review

Review #6, by Ron 4 Hermione 

20th July 2015:
Hufflepuff, House Cup 2015!

Haha, wow, this was great. I loved your characterisation of James, covering their knee and not understanding why Harry had ran towards him all seemed typical of something that a child would do!

This was both adorable and funny, I think you've got a nice mix going on there and managed to find a really good balance. I especially love the part with Harry, this is definitely something that I can see him doing because you know he's going to be really protective over his kids. I also love the part were you wrote Ginny "fought to keep a huge smile from spreading across her face". Aha, I could really imagine that happening.

Overall I think you've wrote a really great fic, with great characterisation, especially since it's so short because sometimes it can be hard to get into the story quickly but I think you managed that really well. Great job! :)

Author's Response: Shazaa!! Hello! Thank you So much for stopping by and leaving this amazing review!

Awww, thank you so much for your kind words! I'm thrilled that you liked James' characterization and found it to be very realistically child-like! :D

I was definitely going for funny and adorable here, in fact this was my first attempt at anything similar to humor, so I'm happy that you found it to be funny!! Yes, I agree Harry would be overprotective of his kids, which was pretty much the entire inspiration for this little collection of stories! And haha, yes, I'm pretty sure Ginny would be laughing a LOT at Harry! :P

Thank you SO much for your compliments! I'm so flattered!!


 Report Review

Review #7, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap 

19th July 2015:
Here for the House Cup 2015 - Gryffindor!

WELL HELLO THERE, MISS MISSY. IT HAS BEEN QUITE SOME TIME.

In 800 words you had me smiling. This was so cute. I have a niece, she's three, and she's very dramatic about everything and also very clumsy. She gets hurt all the time and if she has a band aid on she'll point to her scrape or whatever she did to herself (the other day she shaved off her eyebrow) and will go, "NO.HURTS!" When really it doesn't.

Sometimes it does but still.

So I could relate to this story tremendously. You definitely stayed in character for his age and I appreciated that a lot because there's many people that can't write kids. They have to come off very organic in order to be believable. Plus, I think we've all been there, we hurt ourselves and our parents are going to rub alcohol or put a band-aid and we start howling even if it doesn't really hurt.

I love how warm Ginny was in this. I could see her as that kind of attentive Mom and then when Harry ran in that was 100% believable to me. In my head he would be a little overbearing with his children and a little twitchy and jumpy because of everything that happened to him. I was a little embarrassed for him though but come on, at least he's a good dad!

Great story!

Author's Response: DEEDS!! I wanted to Squee when I saw this review! It has been entirely too long!! ♥ Thank you SO MUCH For stopping by to read and review this!

Awww, yay! I'm glad I had you smiling! :) Yes, children really are overdramatic, I was really trying my best to channel my little sister when she was small. :P I'm glad you found that to be realistic and in-character!

Awww, thank you SO much for the amazing compliments!! ♥ I'm so happy that this didn't seem organic!

Yes, I think Ginny would be a very attentive Mom too - especially considering how much she's seen HER Mom do just that! And yes, I really think Harry would be a little jumpy, too, but still an excellent father!

Again, thank you SO MUCH for this amazing review!


 Report Review

Review #8, by The Summer Snake 

31st May 2015:
Greetings from The Summer Snake! I have recently slithered out of hibernation and discovered this amazing place with such amazing stories, so I want to read and review as many as I can before I go back into hibernation!

This was a very cute little piece that I enjoyed. Your characterisation of Ginny is very good and little James is amusing. I like how you've shown the Muggle equivalent of band-aid/cleaning the wound here with James being afraid and crying even though it didn't hurt. It is a realistic portrayal of a kid.

Harry's sudden entry made sense too. He is bound to be jumpy after everything that has happened. The way Ginny described it as a saviour thing was very cute. It made me smile - you know if I could smile, being a reptile and all.

Over all, this was a great piece. Good descriptions, nice plot and cute dialogue. I am glad to have slithered by!

*showers confetti and flowers* Have a nice summer!

Now I'll be off to explore more of this wonderful sun! See ya!

With love,
The Summer Snake

Author's Response: Hi there little Summer Snake! Thank you for slithering on by my Author's page to leave me this amazing review! ♥

Thank you so much for your comments about the characterization and realistic portrayal of the child! I'm so flattered! :D

Yes, I definitely think Harry would be jumpy after everything that happened, and I'm happy I put an almost-smile on your face!

Thank you SO much for your amazing compliments and the confetti and flowers, and again for this amazing review! THANK YOU!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review