Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
8 Reviews Found

Review #1, by onestop_hpfan18 

21st August 2016:
This chapter was a long time coming and I thought you redeemed Edie quite well, as well as showing how she redeemed Oliver in her eyes and that was enough before she set the parchment on fire and vanished the ashes, leaving no trace that there had ever been another story. I'm also glad that she quit WW because she's a better writer than that. Hopefully she can find a real journalist job that hold their writers to a higher moral standard than WW. Like OU, perhaps? Still a few more chapters for things to fall into her favor in that respect.

Author's Response: Edie is very big into setting parchment on fire, isn't she? What a drama queen. This was another chapter I was excited to get to. Blakeslee, Ward and Witch Weekly in general were painted the villain in a lot of ways, so I was excited to have Blakeslee bring the issue of Wrong/Right to Edie's attention. It was important to show that there *isn't* a single wrong and right answer. If Edie hadn't happened to fall for Oliver, she would have just been doing her job. The only variable was that her feelings got in the way.



 Report Review

Review #2, by nott theodore 

16th July 2015:
Ah, this was such a great chapter! ♥ I really enjoyed reading it and I'm so glad that things are out in the open now and we've had (most of? all?) the big reveals in this story, because I feel like the characters can really move forward from here.

The Christmas scene was sweet (although kind of weird to be reading it in the middle of July in bright sunshine and 35+C) and it was sweet that both of their gifts to each other were so thoughtful!

YES EDIE. I was so happy with her in this chapter that a big part of me actually wanted to shout that at the screen, since she is finally growing up and maturing and thinking about her decisions in a different way. I just felt so proud of her and even after some of the really mean and bad things she's done in this story, it feels like she is finally growing up and learning her lessons. There was so much revealed in this chapter that I think she's going to have a lot of things to think about in the future, especially reevaluating her relationships with certain people!

I don't think that Edie would ever have been able to avoid this choice, between Oliver and the job, from the point that she saw past him and realised he was a person as well and not just a Quidditch star who was arrogant and rude and had a lot of money. All the same, I was worried about what she was going to do. Like I said in my last review, I don't think that she should necessarily be leaving Witch Weekly for Oliver, but in the end he wasn't the reason. The reason was because she didn't want to be the sort of person who betrayed the trust of someone she was close to, and she could have found a job better suited to her.

I did understand Blakeslee's points, in a way, though. It was kind of malicious of her to call Edie in just to make her tell her what she already knew, and to have the satisfaction of making her resign, but I do see where she's coming from in the fact that men wouldn't be treated so harshly for writing the same sorts of articles that Edie has been doing. I won't go off on a rant about that, but I will say that I loved your chapter title for this and it fit perfectly!

And wow, that reveal. Now I'm even gladder that Edie didn't write the article about Oliver and spill everything, and I totally understand where he's coming from in wanting to protect Ada from everything he can and wanting to tell her himself when he's ready to. That's a massive thing to have hidden from people and even if he didn't donate to the children's ward, he was trying to make sure he made up for what he'd done and took care of his sister, which is also really important. It's sweet that she means so much to him and though it's sad he's had to learn about all this the hard way, I am proud of him for it. And the fact that he's willing to share it all with Edie really says a lot.

The ending had me worried for a moment, I'm not going to lie :P I was worried that Edie had changed her mind but it seemed to fit so well, because her writing that article was cathartic and she'd really affirmed her decision with it. I'm excited to see where they're going to go from here!

Sian :)

Author's Response: *Stretches*

*Cracks knuckles*

Alright, moving on to your next perfect wonderful review, and hoping that my response does it justice.

Oh god, I am honestly such a slow writer (IT HAS OFFICIALLY TAKEN ME THREE YEARS TO FINISH THIS STORY AND IT IS STILL NOT DONE) that when I had originally planned out/written this chapter, it was during Christmastime. So creating the plot was very easy, but by the time I got around to writing it, yes it was very difficult! I was so sick of holiday nonsense by then, haha!

Yes, yes, exactly. The Big Moment when Edie reveals that she is going to quit, and not write the final article, isn't the moment when she realizes she's in love with Oliver. In fact, she specifically says something like "We aren't running off to the altar by any means. I wouldn't even consider him my boyfriend." That was always something that I thought was SO WEIRD about these kinds of stories and movies--I'm sorry that I keep referencing 27 Dresses but it's the one I keep thinking of. Characters who go from hating each other, to falling in "love," but the whole time they've spent approximately 2 days together, and then one of them QUITS THEIR CAREER FOR THIS BASICALLY-STRANGER PERSON LIKE ARE YOU SERIOUS. I always thought that was hard to believe, not to mention CRAZY. Like, why would you do that??? How long did you go to school to land this job? And you're throwing it away for someone whose middle name you don't even know?? Do you KNOW how bad the economy is??!!?

Sorry.

Anyway, the point was not Edie giving up her job because she realized that she loved Oliver. The point was that she realized journalism--at least the type of journalism careers available to her--weren't helping her become a better person. The next few chapters go into that deeper, and I won't say too much here, but it's certainly not about choosing love over a job. It's about realizing your job is creating a toxic environment.

Ugh, I wish I had ages and ages and ages to just add on to this story. (Originally I thought this would be a rambling 40-chapter behemoth--that's why the plot is so up-and-down, roller coaster like.) I would LOVE to explore Oliver and Ada, especially super awkward Hogwarts-era Oliver having to deal with a tiny baby sister and then when he first came onto the Quidditch scene. Can you imagine? Being around all of that SPORTS DRINK SPEED SWEAT QUIDDITCH MANLY DUDES AND WOMEN TEAMMATES WHO ARE PROBABLY HARASSED IN MANY WAYS LET'S GO DRINK BEER AFTER PRACTICE and then going home to, like, playing dolls with his sister?

Ugh.

Maybe there's a one-shot there somewhere. I just can't leave it alone.



 Report Review

Review #3, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap 

21st March 2015:
Iím finally back! YAY! *cheer*

Musicians never wake up early! Itís part of his artistic process

Man, I should have stuck with playing the guitar.

meanwhile he didnít think twice before selling me out to the Wizardazzi

YOUíRE WELCOME! :D

There never was a choice. There was always only one answer, and it was handed to me from the beginning. Itís only taken me this long to realize it.

Edie, for the love of Merlin. Thank goodness. Iím glad youíve somewhat come to your senses. I cannot trust youíve come to them 100% because you are you but still.

ďCruel!Ē she laughs. ďIf you were a man doing this, would you be cruel? Or would you just be a hardened reporter, doing whatever it takes to get the job done? You were biased, yes, but never cruel.Ē

Thereís some truth to that. Though I disagree and think she was rather cruel in the beginning. But in order to be a reporter you have to create distance between you and your subject. This is why a lot of reporters get so much flak because they start to become friends with some of them, go out to drinks, dinner, and then theyíre asked: hey, donít write that. And then they donít and the whole institution of journalism is hurt because it comes out ten years later that so and so was bought or told the half-truth instead of the full truth.

I used to have a drinking problem. Right after my parents died. I took it horribly, and I didnít act like an adult, and I really let Ada down.

Well, I didnít see that coming but is Ďused toí mean it was only because of his parents or he really shouldnít be drinking and his bender and attitude when he first met Edie was because of the alcohol and perhaps Oliver is an alcoholic.

I feel like we are nearing the end and that saddens me but I have to say this chapter was fantastic. Iíve been waiting for Edie to grow up and come to some realizations for the past few chapters but I think it finally hit her and she has.

May I ask what are you going to work on next once this story is over?

Author's Response: Weee, you're back!! Yes, thank you for Wizardazzi! You clever thing, you. :)

As for the "Choice" Edie had, I suppose there always was one, if you look at it from one angle. I had a hard time explaining it in the chapter (didn't want to spoon feed y'all too much!) so hopefully this helps... She was always able to choose Oliver or her career. Obviously, choosing Oliver meant forsaking her career because she wouldn't write mean things about him; choosing her career meant letting go of Oliver, etc. etc. etc. But! She had always thought that there would be that job. A few times she worries and wonders if she will be kept as an employee after the articles are published, but never enough to inquire about it. (Again she's sweeping things under the rug here and ignoring her problems, which I'm not at all defending--but I'm totally guilty of it!) So yeah, her realization that "there was always only one answer" doesn't mean that he answer is "I have to choose Oliver; I have to be the bigger person; I have to not write the articles." The answer was that there was logistically never a future for her at WW. I didn't want this story to be about the MC being forced to choose between love and a career, because I don't see how the two are even on the same level (and I think I've harped on that enough on other review responses!!)

WHEW.

Anyway I hope that was explained well enough in the story, but in case it wasn't... there's an unnecessarily lengthy explanation for you. (And you probably already knew all of that but oh well!)

I love how knowledgeable you are about journalism, because all of your points--like journalists becoming friends with subjects and being asked to not write certain things--are all interesting. They makes me wonder how this story could have changed, vastly or insignificantly, with little tweaks like that. For example, if Edie and Oliver had hit it off initially, instead of her getting ahead of herself, and him asking her not to publish about Ada "as a friend" vs. not telling her about Ada because he didn't trust Edie.

Interesting!

Ohh sorry for any confusion there--Oliver is not an alcoholic. At least not by my definition. I hadn't considered the thought that somebody who "used to" have a drinking problem, but still drinks, therefore STILL has a drinking problem. But I didn't intend for him to be an alcoholic at all. Maybe that all has to do with perspective, though? I'm sure some readers would consider Edie's drinking to be questionable, especially towards the beginning of the fic, but I just see it as part of being a twenty-something who genuinely enjoys the taste of beer (and also a good time.) I dunno. Anyway, when I first mapped out the fic I played with the idea of Oliver being a recovering alcoholic. It just didn't sit well with me, though, because of the strains that could put on his relationship(?) with Edie. It opened a lot of doors and opportunities for angst that I didn't want to pursue.

Oh my god I just really blabbed SO much. Thank you so much for all of your reviews, and if you made it this far into my response I'm very impressed ♥

As for writing projects, I'm finally dabbling in original fiction. (I wrote KC&CO after like 5 years' absence from HPFF because I wanted to write a novel but didn't think people would read it.) So as much as I love this story, and I'm gonna be so sad when it's over, in a way it's been one big writing exercise.

Thanks!


 Report Review

Review #4, by heartjily4ever 

14th March 2015:
I love this chapter so much lovely, I feel very proud of Edie and her character development. The resignation was done very well - I approve wholeheartedly of the reasons for it - especially in light of adorable Oliver's new reveals. Blakeslee is a huge prat who clearly does not care enough about other people - but you do wickedly selfish career driven women very well.

I am with Edie and her family on the hillwalking hating. My family love doing Chrimbo walks for fresh air which is total rubbish because I could very easily just open a window. And you have to put on so many layers and then just take them off again later - I could complain forever but I won't because your fabulous writing is very distracting.

The Oliver scenes were done so well!! His admition is perfect and he is opening up on purpose which is so great.I love his character more and more as each chapter arrives, with the little bits of him all coming together into this knotted little lump of cutely vulnerable but ruggedly protective and perfect for Edie in every way-ness.

I really like the idea of writing the article and burning it - I hope it doesn't come back to bite her one the bum, although I don't know how it could. I think it will cleanse her writing palate and really just help her as a journalist - speaking of which I hope she finds another job soon. As always I would cherish some more Ginger in any chapter, and I can't wait for the next

Author's Response: Hey dere!

I'm glad that Edie is finally getting on everyone's (maybe?) good sides. Or at least she's showing her potential for being an actual adult. Blakeslee is selfish, yes, but to me it's just in her nature. The things that we would see as selfish (namely not caring who she screws over in the name of getting a good story) she doesn't see as so. You and I would see human decency and compassion for coworkers/interview subjects as most important; she most values being a thorough reporter, upholding Witch Weekly's standards, and providing readers with interesting material.

Haha, so glad that a few of you seem to be on Edie's side with the Christmas walk. I'm more on Hypatia's wavelength, honestly, though perhaps in a less creepy way than standing over one's bed while they sleep.

"Knotted little clump of cutely vulnerable but ruggedly protective." Ummm I need to remember this to put it on my tumblr or something. That is one of the greatest descriptions of Oliver that I've read yet! Thank you! :D

Yes, writing and burning the last article was indeed a cathartic moment. She just had to get it out of her system. She also know that it would never be read, so that she could write the way she wanted to without any repercussions. Therapy, in a way!

Ginger so good. Best. Best pup. It's really hard writing from Edie's perspective, because she's bad with animals and is just like "Eh, okay, I guess you're cute... Come along, then." Whereas I would never leave Ginger alone and poke her squished-in face. I have a little headcanon about Ginger that may come as a fun surprise, but I'm not sure if I can fit in in the story! If not here, it'll be in the blog, trust.

Thank you so much! The next chapter has been validated ♥


 Report Review

Review #5, by fran 

14th March 2015:
Omigoodness my parents are all for stupid little walks on Christmas day, especially if we have visitors and it's so annoying - it's as if they don't know its a holiday for sitting eating too much food and watching TV. You shouldn't do any form of exercise at all. I firmly agree with Edie - the only way through is the power of hot chocolate.
I'm totally proud of this new Edie with her job and the way she handled Olivers revelations - which I also love that he is opening up and such. It was a very mature move by Edie which i completely approve of especially in light of new Oliver secrets. Blakeslee is a jerk obviously - career gone to her head maybe? I'm a huge supporter of career driven women going for what they want, but less so at the expense of others privacy. But I guess thats journalism for you.
I hope things take a turn for the better for Edie job wise soon, seeing as her love life is on the up. Hoping for more Ada in the story as well :D. Great piece of writing again - I've found it funny the whole way through so you've done a fabby job. Can't wait to read more lovey.

Author's Response: Aww, I wish my parents wanted to do a Christmas Day walk! They're of the "sitting around, staring at space, nobody really talking, eating a lot, awkward silences" type. I'd honestly love to have a Christmas with lots of chatter and hiking and such. And yes--lots of hot chocolate!

I'm so surprised by everyone's reactions to Blakeslee! Well, I suppose she's not exactly the kindest of people, but she's always been better than Mr. Ward. At least in my mind. She's definitely not a warm and fuzzy person, and we've really only seen her when she's angry or disappointed in Edie, for various reasons. But I have a love-hate (mostly love?) relationship with her.

Adaaa! This cast is huge, and unfortunately not everyone gets enough screen time. She's so fun to write, because she's in the midst of her petulant "Ughhh, whatever" pre-teen phase that I recall oh so well. I like when she and Oliver kind of gang up on Edie, as in both smirk at her with raised eyebrows and such. But she's also very sweet in her own way.

Glad it's still funny! I've been worried about keeping the voice lighthearted while Edie goes through some turbulence. Glad it's holding up.

Thanks so much for taking the time to review ♥


 Report Review

Review #6, by marauderfan 

13th March 2015:
This was such a good chapter! (They all are, honestly) I thought you handled her resignation really well, and I liked the way it was more complicated than just choosing between a boyfriend and a career - life is more complex than that and you illustrated that in here. I think she made the right decision though - the job was turning her into someone she didn't like, who wrote cruel things about people, and she wouldnt have been happy there in the long run. And with that ending, as Oliver says it is a new beginning (though I can really relate to Edie on how much she is dreading searching for jobs again. Ugh it's the worst haha.)

And wow, Oliver's story! I really didn't expect any of that. It' does explain a lot though, and ties some loose ends together. I love how the way Oliver is portrayed in this story has changed so much, and it has a lot to do with how much Edie had changed over time - she has come a long way from when she just saw him as the privileged, pompous jerk.

Lovely writing! I can't believe the story is winding to a close - I'm simultaneously really looking forward to it and also not wanting it to end because I just love reading it. :)

Author's Response: Heya!

It was really important to me that Edie doubts her decision quit the magazine. Even moreso that she truly didn't *have* a choice, and that the way things stacked against her, she couldn't choose a career. It's always bothered me in stories and films when somebody completely gives up on something (usually a job) for the romantic interest in the story--who, in many cases, they just met. In real life, making that rash of a decision based on somebody you just met or barely have spent time with, doesn't work out. At least not always. So that's why Edie has the moment where she thinks "Oliver and I aren't getting married, by any means, and he's not necessarily my boyfriend--has this all been worth it?"

There were, of course, other reasons for quitting. As you pointed out, it was turning her into somebody she didn't like... which is a big reason, and maybe the "right" reason to quit.

It's all very complicated! hehe.

Yes, hopefully she and Oliver have both grown tremendously! Although to be fair, Edie actually had the majority of the growing up to do--Oliver just needed to be explained a little better.

I completely agree! Every time I write a new chapter--which has been happening REALLY fast these days--I feel so sad! Partially I'm very proud, because I've never actually finished a novel before on HPFF. But I also don't want to stop writing about these characters I've come to love so much!

Thanks for sticking around ♥


 Report Review

Review #7, by chicken addiction 

11th March 2015:
LOVE IT. LOVE THEM. YAY.

Author's Response: THANK YOU. YOUR USERNAME IS REALLY FUNNY :) I have the next two chapters already written (???! Me? Ahead of the game? What?) So they'll be up shortly. ♥

 Report Review

Review #8, by PurpleShoes2 

11th March 2015:
I'm glad theres finally an update, I check almost daily I really enjoy your writing.

Author's Response: Aww, thanks so much! The next two chapters are all written, so if you keep up the habit, there will be an update waiting for you soon ;)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review