Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
16 Reviews Found

Review #1, by ANightingaleInAGoldenCage 

26th April 2017:
here for CTF!

What a chapter... I absolutely loved the openingscene between James and Albus and especially the leading up to finding out who's POV we were reading and who he was looking for. Albus all sullen still about Malfoy's death and what he was doing in between was exceptionally well done, and I can only imagine how hard the family is hurting because Albus left. Especially because Harry and Ginny both lived in a war I can only guess how hard this is on them, not knowing what is going on, especially because it could mean anything and I do think it'd hit them hard. No wonder Ginny cries herself to sleep most of the nights.

Rose's part was a lot more actionpacked by that contrast. Sure she was still mourning, but at least she was trying to move on and the entire dig thing was great to read. It makes it al very interesting too and leads for a good setup of the story. Esepcially with the gang and danger and the fact that they are still rookies is very well done too. It gave a nice touch.

Only think I can mention is that I feel like its a bit sad the albus/james part seemed to be so much shorter than the Rose one, but I can also see why that was done exactly. Very well done! Can't wait to read more!

Author's Response: This opening is probably made more mysterious by that James Potter has not been a major character thus far in the series (and never is, but he's an important figure to Albus' development). The Potter family, in this story, are a little messed up.

Rose has been *pretending* to move on; trying to move on would ultimately look very different. And yeah, they're still rookies; despite all they've been through they have their whole careers ahead of them.

It would have been nice to have the two scenes more balanced but Rose got a fight AND an aftermath conversation which felt important to get into the first chapter.

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #2, by manno_malfoy 

26th April 2017:
Hey there! I'm here for the CTF.

First of all, I have to mention that stunning opening scene and the on point descriptions that set the mood. I was entrnced by it! I especially liked this sentence:
'Golden light spilt from the windows like there wasnít enough space for it inside.'

It's so simple but such an accurate and vivid way to describe it, and I loved it!

I haven't read the previous stories in this series but I felt that you've mentioned enough things or at least the crucial things that happened in them here, so I feel like I have a decent idea of what went down.

Therefore, it was interesting to see how both Albus and Rose were dealing with the world after grieving and after what they've been through (given that I'm guessing they were both involved in the same thing?), and the stark difference in the way each was doing it. Although I wouldn't say that Albus is really past grieving. I really enjoyed reading the exchange between him and James, melancholic as it seemed to be since it came after that haunting description, setting the scene.

It was quite thrilling to have action in THE FIRST CHAPTER OF A STORY. That rarely ever happens. Rose's first scene was so intense, I loved it. And I really admire that she's taken whatever hardship she has been through and is using it to fuel her passion for this job. But I enjoyed the clues in there about how deeply it had all impacted her anyway, and how overly-protective and cautious that made her.

Also, finally kissing the guy who likes her! In the first chapter!!! I wonder what that leaves for the rest of the story. I bet it's a lot of fun drama!

This was thoroughly enjoyable and I probably (definitely) I'm going to tackle this series some time soon!

Author's Response: I have been so confused by the CTF. Suddenly, reviews on the third part of a trilogy show up! I'm not normally one for descriptions (I know this won the Dobby, I'm still confused) so I'm really glad you liked the prose. Considering this opening is set several years after the second in the trilogy, it probably makes some sense because even for established readers I've had to bring them up to speed, introduce them to the changes in the time jump. But you're right, absolutely nobody in this is past grieving over the tragedies they've been put through.

Kicking off with action! I wanted a contrast to the sad slowness of the James and Albus scene. Albus ran, Rose hid herself in all manner of things, including her work. But 'passion' isn't strictly a word to be connected to poor Rose these days. Even in kissing the guy! Theirs is a messy and complex relationship.

If you tackle the series I'd be very happy. Thanks for reviewing! :)


 Report Review

Review #3, by hey! 

17th January 2017:
Completely unrelated but does the banner have a pic of Liam Hemsworth?

Author's Response: Yeah, he'd be my fancasting for Al.

 Report Review

Review #4, by water_lily43175 

11th November 2015:
One thing I am INSANELY envious about with your writing is your narrative. I'm well aware that I can write a decent dialogue but my narrative and description skills are considerably lacking. The intro to this chapter is just SPECTACULAR. I want it.

And I got very excited at the presence of James. Which I suspected you predicted, ha. His maturity is definitely showing through, notably the fact he went to find Albus without telling anyone else, so at least he IS giving Albus a choice. And yet at the same time, as much as he HAS matured, he's still not experienced anywhere near what Al has been through. He does also come across as rather blase about the council.

"I lost my brother. You'd understand that." GUH, all the gut-wrenching feels. It seems that while Albus pretty much replaced James with Scorpius - for whatever reason - James never had any sort of brotherly substitute, it's as though he held Albus in a higher stead than Albus did him. AND THAT MAKES ME SAD. Nobody's allowed to make James and Albus distant apart from me. :P

Mattrose makes me upset. Not because of Mattrose in itself, but because there is absolutely no way this is a healthy relationship. They've both been in a pretty vulnerable place for the past two years, and Rose was going to end up falling into Matt's arms if he stuck round long enough, because she's looking for comfort or safety. And Matt was never going to say no to her cos the poor guy's still crazy about her. And the worst bit is, I don't think Rose has moved on from Scorpius' death any more than Albus has. Maybe if it was ten years down the line it would be the right thing for them, but now it's just unhealthy.

(Not, I hasten to add, that I dislike that you've done this. I like that you've done it, because it IS realistic and it'll be interesting to see them deal with it. It's just not good for them as people.)

So Raskoph's clearly still up to... something. Who knows what.

OBLIVION YAY.

Author's Response: Yay you're at Oblivion!

I'm so glad you like the opening. Not to do false modesty but I do think of myself as a bit workmanlike with my prose. So knowing that I can do atmospheric and descriptive when I want to is nice! Yay, thank you!

I did think you'd enjoy James. He gets some better scenes in Oblivion than he did in Starfall, or at least ones KINDER to him. And then some less kind. Poor James, he mostly gets carted out to present the critical viewpoint even though he has every reason to be leery of Albus' life choices. And yeah, he doesn't really understand them, though his reasons for being so dismissive of the Council may make more sense in future chapters.

Most of the background on James/Albus has been laid out in the series already. Albus was a serious minded kid while James was anything but, and James had plenty of funny cousins (and Lily) to bond with, which is why Albus was originally closer to Rose. Then Scorpius. I don't think it's that James necessarily cared more about Albus than vice versa, so much as James never got his major relationships tested by ENORMOUS TRAUMA. So far as he's concerned, hey, Al's his brother! So far as Albus is concerned, his damage overrides all that.

Matt/Rose are pretty super messed up, as this chapter already really demonstrates. I won't go into the dynamics too much yet (because I could LIKE WOAH Oblivion has the most complex relationship nuances and dynamics) but you're pretty much bang on here already. Considering Rose is still waking up with nightmares of Scorpius' death, 2.5 years on, and it's implied this is pretty dang normal, she's super NOT over him.

Raskoph's out there. Dah dah DUM.

YAY OBLIVION REVIEWS thank you.


 Report Review

Review #5, by EM 

21st October 2015:
Getting Rose and Matt together after killing off Scorpius? Of course you did that... Ugh, I'm done.

Author's Response: This seems a shame, as if you're the same EM who's been reviewing before - well, there's more to the story than just the first chapter. I'm sorry I've not earned your trust to give Oblivion a shot!

 Report Review

Review #6, by EarthsTrueGreen 

8th January 2015:
Although I wasn't happy with the way Starfall played out, I'm interested to see how this plays out. Although I'm not going to lie if Scorpius doesn't show up somewhere in this story I don't think I'll be able to continue reading it. Once you have a favorite character die with no chance of return your heart just isn't in it for the rest. But I'm sticking with it for now because, like many others, I think your going to do a Scorpius back from the dead plot and I really hope you do. Not just because it would bring him back but because you would write it flawlessly. Anyways I Liked the time gap, I think it was needed. Matt's as annoying as ever (Im just too big of a Rose/Scor fan to hive him a chance). Although I do have mixed feelings about their scene at the end. Part of me was happy to see Rose atleast attempt to have a life and move on, and although I'm not a fan of Matt I don't think he is exactly a rebound. Maybe it started that way but not anymore. I think there is some genuine feelings there. So its going to be interesting to see where you take this. Update soon.

Author's Response: Obviously I couldn't offer spoilers. I don't know if you'll get what you want, but there are twists and turns for this story yet.

Rose has tried to move on. She's having a tough time. Certainly she's got feelings for Matt, but it's also certainly not happily ever after. We'll see how the relationship pans out, there's a lot of ground to cover and if they're ever going to get to a truly healthy, good place, there's work to be done. From them both.

Updates coming all the time, about weekly, as much as the queue lets me do so regularly! Cheers!


 Report Review

Review #7, by Mia 

8th January 2015:
I love the way you've written the first scene re-introducing Albus- I didn't expect him to be away for so long but then again I can see that being an extremely viable reality. Scorpius, was like a brother to Albus and the fact that the Council of Thorns was essentially responsible, it is not likely that Albus wouldn't feel a sense of retribution. The invitation to Teddy's wedding also sets up nicely for the coming chapters- will Albus come back to his family- perhaps for a little while?

Throughout Starfall, I found myself extremely sympathetic to Matt. He indisputably had the biggest role in searching for the chalice and still lesser recognition for all his bravery, hard work and achievements. His isolation and rejection from Rose also touched me and to see them together brings about mixed feelings.

While it's nice to finally see Matt getting the girl he's loved for so many years, I fear that Rose only chose to date Matt as a way to cope with the grief of Scorpius' death. Her nightmares of his death pretty much confirmed this and I'm sure Matt realizes it too, that he wasn't the first choice rather something close to a rebound. It will be interesting to see how their relationship develops, for better? for worse? The foundation for which they came together isn't all that healthy...

But on the other hand, I loved that you allowed Matt to continue doing what he loves. Also, I am actually very fond of Matt's sword, yes its inanimate but I remember some of the other characters telling Matt (after he'd newly found it) that the sword would be useless compared to his wand when in actuality it pretty much saved their lives multiple times.

Please do update soon, I started reading this series at the end of last week (nonstop) and will carry on doing so until I see the end!

Btw, I don't have an account on this site so if you see any review signed off with the name 'Mia' then you can presume it's from me!

Author's Response: Albus was condemned to be gone for as long as the gap in stories. I don't think I've admitted to this elsewhere, but it's no secret: One main reason the gap is this long is because I needed Rose, Selena, and Matt to be done with Hogwarts and out in the world with jobs and lives. So they had to have two more years of schooling, which meant the time-lapse had to be that long, which meant Albus had to be gone for over two years. If I'd written them as seventeen at the start of Ignite, it would probably have been more like an eighteen-month time gap between stories.

So the length is a little bit of a concession to other limitations.

On the other hand, I don't know what WOULD bring Albus back sooner once he decided to go. I guess James could have caught up with him sooner, but - I digress! Albus was definitely going to go, definitely going to stay gone. He's not out seeking vengeance; he's out hiding, but there's still his streak of morality which means he's helping people in the time.

I'm glad you like Matt and are sympathetic. He's probably my least popular character, 'cos he's the spanner in the works on ScoRose, but I have a significant soft spot for him. You're right that he did get overlooked in what he did for everyone, and now he's in another sticky situation. Rose is not really moving on yet, and I'd agree that 'rebound' isn't quite the word, but there's still a lot of ground for their relationship to cover before it's anywhere stable or healthy.

The sword is useful! Albus was very dismissive, but there's a reason it was used by the Templars back in the day. Admittedly, Matt's had to dedicate quite a lot of time to learning how to use it effectively, and had the 'advantage' that it was particularly useful against the Inferi (which is an unusual situation).

Updates are coming about once a week, queue allowing (so sometimes a little more than 7 days, sometimes a little less). Thanks for the reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #8, by Sisyphus 

7th January 2015:
I found it! Wonderful start. I can't wait to see how they all come together again.

Author's Response: Ha, glad you enjoyed it. Thanks for reviewing.

 Report Review

Review #9, by Endless_Forms 

6th January 2015:
You're back! I can't wait to see where this fic goes! I really liked the beginning of the chapter. The descriptions were entrancing and errie and I loved them. The wolves! The relationship between Rose and Matt was as rocky and loving as I could have hoped for. They both have scars from their journey and it's good that they didn't miraculously recover over the two years. I'm glad that they moved on, unlike Al. I'm looking forward to seeing Selena again, to see how she's coping now. Anyway, welcome back! This fic is already showing itself to be as addictive and emotionally-manipulative as the others! I'm excited!

Author's Response: Glad you enjoyed the opening. Rose and Matt have their scars, but they've learnt how to live together. Certainly there have been no miraculous recoveries. How much they've moved on, how much they're just coping, how healthy or unhealthy this all is - we'll see!

Thanks for reviewing and coming back!


 Report Review

Review #10, by whykay 

5th January 2015:
I didn't want this chapter to end. I wish you could put up the entire book.

James was awesome - Albus and Rose have been running. I don't think - the way you've portrayed her - that she has moved on, over Scorpius. She has moved with the grief. Matt's helped her, but of course it's not enough and him being there also means Scorpius comes, with all the nightmares.

I felt the grief hanging heavy in the air, in the narrative. Beautiful.

:)

Author's Response: I wish I could have written the whole book! Not that writing it isn't being tremendous amounts of fun.

You're right, Rose has been running in her own way. She's learnt how to live with the grief, but she hasn't put it to rest. It's just a part of her now. So we'll see what that does to the relationship with Matt!

Thanks for reviewing.


 Report Review

Review #11, by Potterholic85 

4th January 2015:
Ugh. When Scorpius comes back she's going to be SO conflicted. *still in denial*

Author's Response: That would indeed throw a spanner in the works! Thanks for reviewing.

 Report Review

Review #12, by CauldronCloak27 

4th January 2015:
I'M SO EXCITED FOR THIS! I can't wait for Selena to return, and I'm hoping against hope that Scorpius will miraculously be resurrected. It's great that you explored the relationship between the Potter brothers - it gives loads of insight into how people have moved on during the three-year interlude. x

Author's Response: I always wanted to do more with the wider families, especially with James. This scene was a long time coming (ever since I knew Albus would run after Scorpius' death, I knew James would be the one to come after him), and their interactions in Starfall specifically written with this in mind. But yes, it's also exposition galore!

Thanks for reviewing.


 Report Review

Review #13, by mymischiefmanaged 

3rd January 2015:
This is amazing. I'm so excited to see this story up and this chapter definitely didn't disappoint!

Okay, first off, James and Al. I really, really liked the way you did this. We didn't see much of James in the first two parts of the trilogy and I don't know if you plan to include him more now, but it's nice to see that he's developed from what we did see. He's acting out of love, and he treats Albus with respect but makes it clear he's not okay with the way he's acted. The invitation from Teddy made a lovely excuse and I really liked the idea of James and Teddy figuring out a way for Albus to come back that wouldn't feel too difficult for him. It's sad that Scorpius's death is still affecting him so much, but having seen the strength of their friendship it isn't surprising. Scorpius shaped Albus's life, and now we're seeing what happens to him without that support. I'm surprised that he'd willingly go without speaking to Rose for so long, but I suppose seeing her would hurt a lot. Anyway, that whole scene is beautifully written and is a perfect opening to the final part of the trilogy.

And then Rose and Matt. I like that they've ended up working together. They work well as a pair and it shows some really interesting character development for Matt. We can see how the events of 'Starfall' changed him into somebody who needs that element of adventure and danger in his life, and wants firsthand experience rather than just knowledge from books. It's very believable and I'm glad they're out there together rather than isolating themselves like Albus is.

And then their relationship...I think this is probably right. It makes sense that they'd end up together in Scorpius's absence, and they're very real and believable as a couple, but I do feel a bit sad for them both. Matt knows he's there as a second choice, and that's not really fair on him, and Rose is using him to try to deal with her own problems. It's not a healthy foundation for a relationship and I think this will probably start to show later on.

Wonderful wonderful first chapter. I'm still hopeful for a Scorpius-coming-back-from-the-dead plot, but if that doesn't happen you've still set up what looks like a fantastic plot. I just hope we see some Selena soon!

Looking forward to your next update,

Emma x

Author's Response: Stygian!James had always existed in my head but rarely got a chance to shine. I do want to see more of the families and peripheral characters in Oblivion, but I don't know if the story will let me. But his cameo in Starfall was absolutely setup for him to appear now; I knew all along I'd be introducing Albus in Oblivion with this scene, and that it had to be James who was coming to fetch him.

Albus hasn't been avoiding Rose specifically, but he's been out of contact with everyone in his old life, and that just wound up including her. And she, as we'll see, was in no state to try to find him, for a very long time.

Glad you've spotted that about Matt; he absolutely needs to be in the thick of things now. I think he always had that capacity and curiosity, but the hunt for the Chalice solidified it. As for the relationship - it was kind of inevitable, though we'll see a lot more of how it works and how it doesn't. This is certainly not a case of all being well.

Selena won't be around for a couple chapters (I think she appears in 3? Maybe 4), but she will be Important to the story, don't you worry.

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #14, by missdagane 

3rd January 2015:
I'm so exited to read the third part. I'm a little surprised that Rose are with Matt but it is logical. I'm just curious to see how this will go... and what are the council doing in Egypt...

Author's Response: There are reasons for Rose and Matt, and we will spend some time untangling the knots of the last two years. The Council in Egypt? Well, as proven with things like the dragon-golem, sometimes they just like their magic shinies. We'll see if there's more to it.

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #15, by WHimsical Diva 

3rd January 2015:
Ok, now that I've read it, I'm not sure what to feel about Matt/Rose. It's weird - I rooted for them pretty much all throughout Starfall, and when they are finally together, I find it... not quite so gratifying. It feels like Rose is with him as some sort of gratitude to him for being there for her for two years, as opposed to being with him because he was her first choice. And I feel bad for Matt - when Scorpius is back, things are going to go all pear-shaped again. Seriously though, I expected to see him with Selena, not Rose. It's like, after those final chapters of Starfall, we're back to square one again when it comes to Scorpius/Rose/Matt/Selena.

As for Albus ... well, it's too early to judge, but I do have high hopes for him. That's all I'll say.

One nice thing about this chapter was that - despite the characters appear to have changed, they still retain some of their original quirks. Yep, Albus is being unreasonable, but he was never really perfect to begin with. :P

Anyway, great chapter, and keep the updates coming. Since this is meant to be the grand finale, I'm really, really excited to see how everything's going to end. Any idea how long this is going to be?

Author's Response: Matt/Rose - well, I'll withhold comment because we're obviously going to see a lot more on how the relationship works and... how it doesn't. Certainly there is Baggage in this romance, and we have not advanced the timeline into an era of joy, prosperity, and recovery. Certainly there are a few steps backwards, but new steps have also been taken.

Albus always could be stubborn on the things that mattered. Now he's being stubborn on his own grief and 'right' to run away. So there's a virtue becoming uncomfortable for James to handle.

Updates should come at a similar rate to how they did for Starfall, hopefully a little quicker, but we'll see. I'm right now at a hump at Chapter 12ish but I'll untangle the knot. I have no idea how long Oblivion is going to be, but I'd bet it'll wind up somewhere between Ignite and Starfall in length. If it surpasses Starfall, I'll be freaking astonished.

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #16, by Whimsical Diva 

2nd January 2015:
First!!

Ok, Now I'll go read the chapter (which I haven't done as yet), but am just THRILLED to see this!

Author's Response: You first-sniper, you.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review