Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
12 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Penelope Inkwell 

27th April 2016:
Pregnant. She's sooo pregnant.

I was worried that she knew it and was pulling away. I can't totally tell, though. She seemed sincere. But she's also a Healer trainee. But then, I suppose, that happens. She's very caught up in this baby she sees as being part of a distant future; maybe the idea of having a baby right now is just so far out of the range of possibilities that she legitimately hasn't noticed. Or she could be in denial.

CC:

Rose had just started her most difficult round of courses and all us Auror trainees were gearing up for our S.N.A.K.E.s. (Specialized Normal Auror Knowledge Exams) there are two exams, one is written and one is a practical exam in defense, offense and ministry procedures for different situations.
--I think "there are two exams", should probably be the start of a new sentence, here.

or if we can become an entry-level Auror and work as full-fledged partner.
--it seems like this might read smoother if it were "and work as a full-fledged partner", with that "a" added in.

I was really glad that she likes the color blue.
--tense switch. I think it should be, "I was really glad that she liked the color blue."


Okay, off to the next chapter! There are so many realizations that could be happening any time now! I'm so eager to see how it all falls out!

--Penny

 Report Review

Review #2, by kayleefrank 

3rd April 2016:
Rose is pregnant! I'm like 90% sure! I figured the prophecy was about her and scorpious from the moment I read it. He's the son of a death eater! Can't wait to find out if I'm right. Your story is amaze balls!

 Report Review

Review #3, by Slytherdor18 

4th January 2016:
You writing is seriously so good! I am engrossed in this story. I just started this morning and now it's 8pm. I like how you switch up the POVs and also do well with trying to follow canon with the original characters (not next gen ones)! The plot is super good, I do love my fluff, but having things with a real thought-out plot is so great. You are really creative and talented!!
Another thing I would add that I noticed in this particular chapter is that you wrote about Al mentioning the prophecy to Scorp, Dom, and Selenia when they were all talking about Rose. I usually don't point out small flaws, but because you had a whole segment on how Harry told Dom and Al to Obliviate their significant others about the propehcy, I wanted to mention it. Al was like "is the prophecy too much to handle" or something along those lines...Selenia was apart of that convo when she wasn't supposed to know about it anymore.
Just thought I'd mention it, not trying to be negative or nitpicky!
Overall...Keep writing, you have really got me in deep with this story! I've even shed a good amount tears at the beginning with the mixed emotions of Rose and Scorpious, I really can't handle angst that well haha.
Love it! I will definitely be reading more of anything you write! :)
-Morgan

Author's Response: Hi there Morgan,

Gah! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review! I love getting feedback and I'm so sorry for taking so long to reply to this.

I just read through the chapter again to check out the plot error you mentioned and OMG - YOU ARE ABSOLUTELY RIGHT!! Thank you for pointing that out - I'll definitely rework the wording to fix that mistake. I think (iirc), I added this chapter in after writing through most of the story - so in "my head," I'd already revealed the prophecy to Selenia.

Haha - sorry I made you shed tears, but I do love that you're really into the story!

Thanks again!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #4, by MrsJaydeMalfoy 

21st September 2015:
Poor Rose, I know this new death has got to be hard on her, but she seems to be handling it well, and I know that's partially because she's got such amazing family/friends and boyfriend! It's so great that Selenia pays so much attention to her - and, although I know the signs seem a little ominous, maybe she is just a little sick, and that's why she's so tired and seems a little out of it.

I was happy to see that she and Scorpius finally had some time together, and that they still seem to be doing so well. And I'm also really happy that Scorpius finally realizes that, even though there's the threat of a bad thing happening, they can't let that stop them from living.

I'm ready for their exams to be over, so that they can have some more time together! :D

Another amazing chapter, and I'm off to read the next!

Author's Response: Hello!

So one thing I worked REALLY hard on in this story is to show the s-l-o-w recovery for Rose's PTSD AND the slow growth of their relationship. I didn't want to portray them as the overly dramatic teenage couple - because they are a little older than that. I also want Rose to get better. Some times I worry if I've moved too fast with that or not.

And all these amazing reviews have really helped me to feel like it's progressing naturally - thanks so much!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #5, by Tonks1247 

13th August 2015:
Hiya Beth!

I made the decision to forgo sleeping and get at least one more review written. That and I really like this chapter and when I realized this was the next one to review, I couldnít help it and decided to go for it! Thisíll go in for BvB as well!

This chapter was another kind of slow down chapter. I mean, itís back to Scorpiusí POV and I love all the things he notices. Heís so different from Rose and I really like the difference in their perspectives and how they see each other and their relationships with others. Like, itís really lovely how these characters are so distinct but even when the POV switches, itís still obvious which character is which. Itís really good to see that extend through numerous chapters.

Back to the original thought. While Rose takes the death of Ruth hard, things kind of slowdown in chapter. Everyone is busy with school (how much of a slowdown that is? Well, Iím not on the edge of my seat, which is goodÖ) and just getting through the days. Having Selenia, Albus and Dom come to Scorpius and point out that Rose is acting different is good. It gives a fault to Scorpius, gives him doubts. And, I mean, heís good at coming up with them himself, but it makes him a much more real character to have all these doubts about missing things. That and the way that they all ask him to talk to her and Albus with his little hypocritical complaints...it was just a good chapter!

Also love the little thingsósome of which I actually caught the first time around and others that I didnít get until this last read through. RoseísÖ.actions, I guess, are a little more put together and first time around, I was catching on that something was a little sideways with her and something wasnít right. I was actually thinking it had something to do with Stannous and the curse. Not too far off from the lovely prophecy, but you knowÖ Also, Scorpius with his plotting. That was totally lost on me the first time around. I donít know how I missed it, but Iím definitely appreciating it the second time around.

Overall, this chapter was just as great as the others! I love coming through this story a second time and picking up on things that help with theories about future events. Gives me more questions (oh, the dreaded questions that always crop up while reading this storyÖ) and more theories as to what will happen, which is great! Iím loving it!

Until next time,
-Mikaela

Author's Response: Hey there Mikaela!

I don't know if I can accurately portray how happy I am that you've noticed a difference in the POV of Rose vs. Scorpius. I've worried about that from the start. I definitely *feel* different when I write for each of them, and I also really make an effort to do some sort of reveal in the first sentence or two as to who is the narrator at that time, but it really, really means a lot when a reader lets me know that they can definitely sense a different tone between the two. I feel it, but it's nice to know it's coming through in the writing. :)

About the slowdown - this chapter was definitely an add on to the original story, but I felt I needed a bridge to build up to what was about to happen. There had to be a reason, that Scorpius felt compelled to make his move =)

Gah! Thanks so much! I can't ever tell you how much it means that you let me know what you pick up on the second time through - that's a view that most authors don't get to see very often and I feel really, really blessed that you're letting me in on your thought process - for BOTH the first and second time around.

Thanks again!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #6, by crestwood 

12th June 2015:
I get why Rose blames herself for Ruth's death because it technically was because of her. But it wasn't her fault. There was nothing that she could really do about it and she couldn't have predicted it, so it's definitely not something she should beat herself up over. It's frightening to think that Stannous had gathered a group of followers. But the worst of humanity tends to do that.

I'm glad that Dom is concerned about Rose. It seems that she really did learn her lesson from Rose keeping the abduction from them. And of course, I know what's really going on--but it's still nice that she cares and notices.

Whenever you mention that you feel like you could have left a chapter off in an Author's Note, I'm so surprised because it seems so interesting to me and I couldn't imagine not including it!

Slytherin - House Cup 2015 Review

Author's Response: Hiya Joey!

Yeah, Rose really brings everything on herself - kinda like Harry did in the books. It's heartbreaking, but she doesn't want anyone to suffer on her behalf. She definitely needs to work on blaming the right person - Stannous.

I'm having fun writing Dom. She is pretty much the opposite of Rose, in terms of personality and it a good balance for her cousin.

Aw Joey, you give me the absolute kindest reviews! Thank you so much!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #7, by MalfoyMannor 

7th June 2015:
Rose is pregnant??? it would explain everything,

to the next chapter now :)

Author's Response: Hi there!

Hee hee - that would explain a *lot*, wouldn't it? Well, I guess you'll find out. Thanks for the review.

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #8, by merlins beard 

7th May 2015:
I hope you're not getting sick of me yet.

I'm glad they all noticed Rose's changes and sent Scorpius to talk to her about it... there was less talking involved than I expected, but I guess it's what they both needed.

Something came to mind in this chapter, but it can't be true... Can Rose maybe actually be pregnant already?
It all ads up. The "panic attacs" that are much less violent (morning sickness?), sleeping all the time, forgetting basic stuff...

I can't wait to find out

Love
~Anja

Author's Response: Of course I'm not getting sick of you - quite the contrary! I'm so over the moon with these reviews.

Hmmm... that is an interesting thought about Rose. And I also thought this chapter slowed the story down a bit - we had some pretty intense information/emotions right before this.

Thanks again!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #9, by Anie 

22nd December 2014:
The suspense!! I feel like we're building up to one hell of a plot point ;)

I hope you're well! I can't wait to read what you have next!

Author's Response: Hi Anie!

Thanks so much for coming back to leave another review! I am well (and I hope you are, too!)

The good news is that the next chapter is in the queue! Hopefully it will be posted before Christmas!

Take care!
♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #10, by MargaretLane 

22nd December 2014:
Oh gosh, I can well imagine Ruth's death would hit Rose hard. After all, this is the person she depends on for support during hard times, so it must be extra hard to have something happen to her. I mean it must feel like the loss of a support system.

And then there is the feeling that her connection with Rose might have been a contributory factor in her death.

Yikes, this guy is starting to sound like a new Voldemort.

LOVE the name of the Aurors' exams. And the whole system of training sounds believable and fits with the world.

Poor, poor Rose. I'm not at all surprised things are getting on top of her - the death of her therapist, the guilt associated with it, the loss of part of her support system, the exams and the prophecy all coming together would affect anybody. And she's still probably recovering from her previous experiences. Even though she's come a long way, it's still only relatively recently she's begun to recover, after two years of struggling. Even with so many additional stressors, it wouldn't be surprising if she had the odd setback.

I like the fact you've written this chapter from Scorpius's point of view, so like him, we only gradually realise what a hard time Rose is having. Not that I don't like seeing her reactions directly - I do, especially as you write them so well - but seeing it from a different perspective is interesting too and allows us put ourselves in the shoes of her family and friends, as they come to the realisation things are getting on top of her, but may not be sure of the details, just as we're not. It also keeps the suspense up, as we don't know if it's a combination of the above that is affecting her or one thing in particular.

I'm glad that what's bothering her now doesn't seem to be TOO serious, unless there's more you aren't revealing yet. She is still recovering and the exams and Ruth's death are bound to add to her stress. That sounds natural enough.

I think it's good you didn't skip over it. If there IS something deeper going on with Rose, a bit of foreshadowing is good and if there isn't, it's good to see that her recovery is ongoing. It makes it more realistic than if it were just forgotten about when the plot moved on. It's also good to see her reaction to Ruth's death, as that is bound to have a significant effect on her.

The indication of Stannous's plans are also intriguing and make me want to know what's going on.

All in all, this chapter is quite intriguing, between the questions about how well Rose's recovery is going and the questions about what Stannous is doing.

Author's Response: Hey there!

Sorry again for taking so long to respond to this. Yeah, Rose has a bit of guilt from Ruth's death - but it's in her nature to take on responsibility that isn't necessarily hers.

Yeah, Stannous is a bad dude. Is it bad that I'm giddy you think he sounds like the next Voldemort?

Rose *has* come a long way. She's actually doing much better than even she thinks. (I think you've read the next chapter by now to know that there's a bit more going on here).

Haha - yeah Scorpius isn't always the most observant boyfriend. I think that having the two different POVs has really worked for me. I really, REALLY tried to write the story completely from Rose POV, but it just didn't do justice to some of the things that I wanted to accomplish. Plus, the story is really about the two of them.

Thanks, I'm glad I didn't skip over it as well. Know how people have reacted to it, I might go in an polish it up, but I'm glad it's there.

Thanks again! I love getting your reviews.

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #11, by Jeannette 

22nd December 2014:
Alright, This chapter seemed to solidify in my mind the fact that I think Rose is pregnant with Scorpius' baby... Sleeping a lot, getting sick often, forgetfulness. Or could you just be throwing us all for loop? :) Either way. This story is definitely keeping me on my toes! I feel like something big is about to happen.. Yes? Again, your writing is just fantastic. Your use of imagery is just like painting a picture! Keep it up :) I'm so excited for the next chapter!

Author's Response: Hi there Jeannette,

Thank you so much for leaving another wonderful review!!

So glad I'm keeping your on your toes! The good news is that the next chapter is in the queue already! I really wanted to get it posted before the holidays!

Take care,
♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #12, by CambAngst 

22nd December 2014:
Hi, Beth! First review! Yeahhh, boye!

I had an urge to subtitle this chapter "Denial, Not Just a River in Egypt". I agree with your author's note that it was a little narrow in terms of scope and purpose, but I also felt like it was necessary. I have a guess as to where you're headed, and if I'm right then you needed to show us this in order to pave the way.

There's not too much to say about the first section. It made perfect sense that Rose would have struggled with Ruth's death and probably blamed herself to some extent. Scorpius and Al and the others were really forceful -- probably appropriately so -- in reminding her that it wasn't her fault. In spite of the fact that it's perfectly reasonable, I'm wondering if maybe the process of Rose withdrawing from them might have started in that moment.

In spite of the tragedy, real life doesn't stop. I like the way you maintain that element of realism. Your characters are busy people with demanding careers and lives. Personally, I've always thought that it's easiest to lose yourself in work when you don't feel like dealing with the stresses in the rest of your life. In a few short paragraphs, you managed to capture the oppressive mundaneness -- is that even a thing? -- that allows Rose to bury her feelings.

One thing I found a little odd about this chapter was the way that Al and Selenia were sort of dancing around Scorpius regarding Rose's emotional distance. Dom was more blunt, but that felt more like an exception. I could definitely see Scorpius making some of her excuses for her, at least at first. He's protective of her, after all. It just seemed strange to me that the other three would feel such reluctance to bring it up to him. At any rate, once they were over the hump I liked the rest of the conversation. Al, Selenia and Dom wind Scorpius up like a toy soldier and march him off to confront the problem head-on...

And he blows it. Well, not completely, but he certainly doesn't drive the conversation through to where Al, Dom and Selenia wanted it to go. For her part, Rose plays him like a finely tuned violin. You've brought her full-circle at this point, trading one avoidance mechanism -- Get up, wash, get dressed, class, rounds, study -- for another -- Get up, study, nap, study, distract boyfriend, sleep.

I'm kind of torn after this chapter. On the one hand, Scorpius is there for her and that's good. He's keeping her from sliding back into that dark, dark place where she started the story. On the other hand, because she has that safety net, she doesn't seem to be dealing with the underlying problem. Is her new coping mechanism healthier than the old one? Yeah, probably. But she still has a long way to go. I love your wonderfully imperfect characters. Their flaws help to define them and in the end the struggles make the triumphs so much sweeter. Great job!

Author's Response: Hi Dan,

Ugh! I'm sorry for taking so long to respond to this. Let's put it this way - I became a TA nearly a week ago, have had the next chapter ready to go - but I still haven't even uploaded it yet! Maybe tonight...

This chapter does lay a little bit of groundwork for the next round of the story, so I do feel kind of bad about a light chapter and then a series of fluff, but I really did try out several different avenues and I'm sticking with my original plan.

I agree with you about using work to keep your mind off serious stresses in your life. I definitely do that. :) It was an easy route for me to write that into the story.

I think you may be right about Albus and Selenia's reticence. It isn't very characteristic of Al to try to sugar-coat things, especially if he thinks someone he loves is in danger. I'm going to look at that bit.

So... I know you've read the next chapter to see that Rose's "mechanism" is probably symptomatic of another er... condition rather than finding another avoidance technique for dealing with the stress of her torture. In that respect, she's actually much further along than the group realizes. Perhaps I should've hammered that point home.

Ooo! Thanks for all the kind words - I really like the imperfect characters!

♥ Beth



 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review