Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
10 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Glisten  

30th July 2017:
Gosh! I really like how this story is turning out!

You're introducing these characters very nicely and your timing is great. You write in a way that keeps you intruiged and there's no "boring filler" sections. It's just all so well thought out and nicely written. I wanted to see what all the fuss was about when I clicked on this story and I totally understand now!

I like how you've made Hermione appreciative of what's going on around her. She appreciated Rosmerta's free drink and Flitsick's map and Lily's warmness... I just think it's a nice, subtle detail added to her character.

I'm glad that I didn't come across this story when it was first starting up because I honestly probably wouldn't be able to wait for the next chapters! Even now I'm having a hard time sitting still and writing a review when I know the Potions lesson is one click away!

I wonder if Sev is going to warm up to her now that he knows she has no involvement with Sirius Black. Maybe not just because he's a really private person. I guess I'll see in the next chapter, right?

The next chapter.

Ughhh I really have to go read it now I can't even think anymore. Bottom line is I love your story it's super addicting and you should know it's amazing even though I'm not able to write a really long review like I normally do. Stupendous job!

 Report Review

Review #2, by Emi 

19th March 2016:
Back again! Anyways, unsurprisingly, I’m a big fan of this chapter as well. I particularly enjoyed the Hermione’s rationale for choosing to take a rather full course load. As much as she clearly deserves a break at this point, given all that has happened with the war, it is just so Hermione to take courses anyway. And her desire to keep herself busy so as to not allow herself the time to put the future at risk… that’s very well thought out, and exceptionally fitting given the way you started the chapter. And also, obviously, I imagine Sev wouldn’t have been quite as interested in her had she appeared not intelligent enough to be in so many of the more difficult courses. Though, of course, Hermione doesn’t seem to really consider that point in her analysis. Guess she’s not quite as Slytherin as I gave her credit for earlier. xD

Nice spin on the usual bumping-into-each-other cliché! I loved both of their reactions, and I laughed pretty hard at the “We have to stop meeting this way” line. Adorably nutty, that. Oh! And I think this is the chapter where I first started realizing how much I enjoy your inclusion of Hermione’s thoughts. I’m usually only a fan of thoughts in first-person stories, but I find myself really and truly enjoying the way you weave them in. They’re funny, insightful, and extraordinarily in character. I feel like it’s easy for a story to get a bit bogged down with too many thoughts, but you’ve managed a perfect balance here.

I’m also a huge fan of Sev’s questions. I’ve told you this before, but I really, really love your characterization of him. He’s exactly as suspicious as I’d expect him to be, but it isn’t over the top or anything like that.

Also, loving Hermione’s temper here. That response to Sirius was pretty great, especially considering the fact that basically everyone overheard it. And the little exchange with Amelia about not being at Hogwarts to date was also perfectly played. Of course that would earn her points in a Ravenclaw’s eyes. And, obviously, I’m hoping that’ll prove for some great irony in the future… Yes? Please? :3

I’m also surprised to say that I find myself enjoying your James. I tend to hate him purely on principle no matter how he’s portrayed in a story, but I have to say I think he’s pretty great here. Still a git, but one I actually am starting to like.

And, of course, I’m going to go ahead and talk about how awesome your little details are again. Of COURSE Hermione would have an easy time with some of the spells and activities; she’s done them before. And of course she’d have to downplay that a bit to avoid drawing too much attention to herself. Aand now I’m realizing that I’m commenting about this in the wrong chapter, because this chapter was just Hermione finishing first and getting the satisfaction of being the first to do so (which was an awesome detail, by the way!). Oh well. You know what I’m talking about, even if I’m talking about it during the wrong chapter.

 Report Review

Review #3, by TreacleTart 

4th May 2015:
Hey Meg,

I'm here for our review swap! It seems that it's my turn to be a bit late on this one! Sorry about that.

Anyways, I have to say that you might be converting me on this whole time travel story thing, mainly because you haven't rushed it at all. I love that you're taking the time to painstakingly build this new world for Hermione. Each character seems fleshed out, but also in line with what we know of them from cannon. It's really quite lovely.

Hermione's interactions with Snape have been abysmal so far, but I have hope that she'll figure it out. She's a clever girl, so I'm sure soon enough she'll have some sort of strategy for him. It does seem that at least he is interested in why she's being nice to him. It's sad that that's such a rare occurrence that when someone is actually nice to him, he acts with such suspicion.

The interactions with the various Marauders must be incredibly tough. I can't imagine how she could befriend all of these people without wanting to change their futures. I mean we know that Amelia gets brutally murdered by Voldemort and here she's set to be Hermione's best friend. It's heartbreaking really.

Now onto a bit of constructive criticism. I noticed a few typos in this chapter.

She continued picking apart at her toast – either picking at her toast or picking apart her toast

Even though she should not had been amazed – should not have

It’s about time someone had,” – someone did
By the end of the class most of the students

have managed to conjure something; - had managed to conjure

All in all, another solid chapter! I'm looking forward to reading more soon!

~Kaitlin

 Report Review

Review #4, by wolfgirl17 

22nd March 2015:
Hey Meg!

Ellie here for our review swap! You know I can never resist a Snape story, so I'm back to review this one for you again.

Now, as you know I absolutely love your writing of this fic, and the entire concept of time-travelling Hermione for the purpose of saving Sev from his bitter end and his unhappy life.

I love the way you've portrayed everything in this chapter, and throughout the entire fic! You really must update soon as I'm going crazy waiting for more. I want to see some more interaction between Hermione and Sev, I'm also really interested in the other characters you've included like Marlene and the other girls. I'm excited to see where you're going to take this next!

Pretty please update soon before I go mad!

xx-Ellie

 Report Review

Review #5, by toomanycurls 

25th January 2015:
so much to comment on in this chapter. this might be out of order but so is my brain. :P

I wonder what a light load would have been for Hermione. The thought made me laugh a bit - it's probably for the best that she signed up for a lot of classes. I do think it would be a bit weird if Hermione knew her way around really well on her first day. At least Flitwick's map reminded her to be a bit lost.

Snape is so mean and suspicious (though the last part I get). I'm not surprised he jumped to the idea that Hermione might be in with Sirius on some prank - but it is sad that he's had enough experience to make him think any girl showing interst in him is just in it for a prank. :(

Then there's Sirius. I get why Hermione isn't giving him an inch with his advances but I feel like she's truly dislikes him (not just his idiotic teenage behavior). I wonder how wounded Sirius' ego really is. Once again, I love how good of a friend Amelia is. She makes me wish I had a friend like her. Ha, meeting James can't have been easy. I love that he was their to highlight Sirius' humiliation. :D That seems very fitting for them.

Edgar and Otto seem interesting as well. I'm starting to think it'll be very hard for Hermione not to make an impression on her classmates.

I was so happy to see you putting Remus and Lily together as friends. I've always done that as well. I feel like they'd have a lot in common once Lily got past who he was friends with. haha, Remus is such a good friend to try to upsell James to Lily. I also love that Lily extended her friendship to Hermione - that especially reminds me of Harry.

great chapter!!

-Rose

Author's Response: My brain, too. I can totally relate! :)

Hahaha a "light load," for her probably would have been everything she took, except Arithmancy. ;) Even without the map, I'm sure one of the Claws would have offered to show her around, so she probably still would have acted lost. But the map was a good reminder.

Yeah, that kind of broke my heart, too. Being that the whole thing with Lily JUST happened at the end of last term, he's even more bitter/mean/suspicious/distrusting than ever before. Hermione is meeting him at a very rough time in his life.

She kind of does dislike him, in a way. She's seeing what a total idiot he was when he was younger. But she doesn't hate him, she's just disappointed. But she's trying to be patient, because she knows he's not far from having his whole world turned upside down.

Seriously, Amelia is the best. I honestly want her to be my friend, too. I absolutely feel you there!

James was a shock for her, certainly. Haha I'm thrilled you liked that! What else are friends for, if not to embarrass you. ;)

I'm sure some people will remember her. Some people won't be alive by the time she originally got to Hogwarts. Some people may never put two and two together. Some people may recognize her immediately, or after a bit. Some people may forget her completely. I guess we'll see if/when she gets back to the future. ;)

Same here. It just seems like, out of the four Marauders, Remus would be the one with the most in common with Lily. Also my headcannon is that he really pushed for Lily to give James a chance, and is one of the main reasons she finally did, which is the reason for the upselling haha. With the way Lily is described in canon, I can't imagine her not offering to help a new student, regardless of which house (well... maybe not Slytherin) they were sorted into.

Thanks again, Rose for such a wonderful review! I'm really happy that you seem to be enjoying this so far!! ♥

xoxo Meg


 Report Review

Review #6, by Veritaserum27 

22nd December 2014:
Hey there Meg.

When did this happen?! You've got two new chapters up?? I have been super busy for the past two weeks, and I'll get to your next chapter within the next few day, but - go you writing girl!!

Yet again I'm amazed at your attention to detail. How much work have you put into planning out every aspect of it - because I feel like you haven't missed one tiny part of what would be going on at Hogwarts and what Hermione would be feeling at every turn.

I had to laugh at the very beginning because her first thought was what classes she'd be taking. How very Hermione. I also really liked that she finally showed her Gryffindor side when she stood up to Sirius. I think it would've been pretty hard for any girl to resist him - except a strong Gryffindor (hello, Lily and Hermione?) You've also handled the awkwardness with Hermione realizing that the people she'd always seen as mentors and adults from her world are now her peers. You do this so effortlessly, it really is commendable.

I know Hermione is questioning her friendship with Amelia, but I have a feeling she's going to be very grateful for a comrade. In fact, I really like all of the Ravenclaws.

And gah! Tug at my heart with the scene with Lily! I was drinking it all in, like Harry looking into the mirror of Erised. And then I realized that Hermione has had more interaction with Lily that Harry could even remember. I feel like Hermione saw that too, a little bit.

Great chapter!

♥ Beth

Author's Response: Hey Beth! :)

Haha well while I was waiting for chapter 5 to be validated, I wrote out chapter 6, so it was ready to be posted as soon as 5 was validated. It worked out quite nicely. :D Unfortunately, I'm nowhere near as ready with chapter 7.

Aww thank you so much! I'm really try to pace this, not exactly slowly, but more realistically. I didn't want to have her come back in time and then BAM! immediately fall for Snape or any of that. I want her to adjust first. I'm glad that seems to be working well, and not driving the reader away. :D

Haha! That was very Hermione-ish, wasn't it? I can imagine her still worrying about grades and classes even with something much bigger going on. If Sirius doesn't knock it off with her, I'm sure there will be more of that to come. ;) I mean, she does recognize the fact that he's good looking, but that's no enough to really do anything for her. Like you've said, she's a strong Gryffie (just like Lily!). Oh yay! I'm thrilled that is flowing well! :D

We definitely understand why she's questioning that friendship, but I think she's going to end up relying on Amelia in a way. She can't keep to herself the entire time. She'd go mad. I'm happy to hear that you're liking the rest of the Ravenclaws, too!

I'm sorry! Lily really was so kind, wasn't she? It is sad that she'll get to experience more of Lily than Harry could remember, but maybe Harry will have some nice stories (or at least interesting) about his parents from his best friend, when(if) she goes back to her time.

Thank you again, so, so much for such a lovely review!! :) I'm really thrilled that you're still enjoying this and I hope that you continue to enjoy it!! ♥

xoxo Meg


 Report Review

Review #7, by pointless_proclamations 

20th December 2014:
AHH! MY LAST REVIEW GOT CUT OFF:

Oh this poor, poor Hermione. She went all the way back in time to help that ungrateful git? Naw, I jokes. It is absolutely realistic the way she's both annoyed, intimidated, and a bit sorry for him all at the same time. This is a volatile mixture of emotions that you controlled wonderfully, as you do. ;) To the student population, she looks like the most perfect newbie, completely oblivious to the situation. So, SO many layers of genius.

Again with the bittersweet feelings!! Amelia. . . Do you WANT me to ball? Is that what this is about, Meg?! Huh?!

Not here to date, eh? We'll see how that works out. [reaches into story, pats Hermione's head] Whatever you say, dear.

Bahaha! Sirius! He is charming and annoying all at the same time. I love your portrayal of him. So, here I am laughing until I think about the series, upon which sniffles—completely unrelated to my cold—threaten. YOU FEELS-ABUSER, YOU! At this time, I, once again, question why we're HPFFBFFs. Then, I realise you're still too lovely to hate.

Now, GIlderoy and Rita (I realise I got so ahead of myself on that last review). PERFECT COUPLE! I WILL GO DOWN WITH THIS SHIP (and due the typical Slytherin characteristic of having high self-preservation, I first ensure that this ship does not, in fact, go down). I think you've had me discover my OTP, Meg. Thank you, thank you, thank you for that!! I didn't realise how much Gita or Rilderoy I needed until you showed me.

More introductions = more bittersweetness. I mean Sturgis?! Are you serious?! Why must you shove such loveable characters into your stories when you know that we know that they're going to go through a whole lot of terrible things?! Why? Because you are Meg, which means you're a genius, and this is exactly what war does (which is what JKR explored as well by killing off good characters). I understand, but I cannot deal, Meg. I cannot!

I am in awe at the Hermione-ness of this situation. She’s still worried about school. That’s adorable! And Filius is so sweet, as well. Her being flustered reflects her nervousness and unsureness perfectly. And you didn’t even have to say it!

‘We have to stop meeting this way.’ Well, it can’t be any worse then how they met in the future/past, can’t it? Hee hee. Oh, that’s so CUTE!

AGAIN WITH STURGIS!!! WHY?! WHY, MEG?! I cannot even say anything. AND LILY?!

‘Overwhelming. Heartbreaking. Confusing. Terrifying.’ What a perfect summary! If this is how the story starts, I cannot imagine how you will proceed. I am sinking in my own feels here.

Cannot believe I am still capable of sending you abundant love (I jokes, you're endlessly lovely),
Em

Oh, and what do you know, that’s my 100th review. ;)

Author's Response: EM!!!

You're reviews are becoming more and more difficult for me to respond to, because they are just *too* awesomely amazing. Like a certain hpffbff that I have... ;)

I'll just start out by saying, THANK YOU, THANK YOU, THANK YOU!! Thank you for the reviews, your help, your encouragement, your threats (when I need them haha), your love and everything!!! This story wouldn't even be here if it were not for you. So again, THANK YOU!!! ♥ *hugs*

Ok, now to answering the review. :)

Gah! You're too awesome! I'm really glad that she's coming off as "just an average student" to the general student populous, but much, much more than that to the reader. I'm thrilled that was pulled off! :) And I know, what a mean jerk he was, wasn't he? I bet he'll never soften towards her. ;)

Trust me, I'm depressing myself with Amelia. I'm falling more and more in love with her, so it's breaking my heart, too. :( I'm sorry!

Bahahaha! The poor thing. If she only knew what was in store for her... *whistles innocently*

*hides* I'm sorry! Even though he's meant to be unlikable here, I still can't help but to love Sirius. I don't mean to abuse anyone's feels! And like I've said, it must be my winning personality. That is why we're hpffbff's. :D And thank you! I'd be sad if you hated me, because you are lovely, too!!

HAHAHA! I know, right?! I'm actually debating on writing a companion piece to this just based on them. Maybe a one-shot. I'm kind of loving the idea of this ship, and - as a brave Gryffindor - will go down with it along side of you! (if it does go down) You're welcome!! I'm honestly surprised that it hasn't been done. Or has it? I don't know, but it needs to be written about more.

I know, I know. I'm becoming attached to all of these characters in a completely new and different way, so I totally understand. *sigh* The beauty of fanfiction... And you are way, way too kind to me! ♥

I honestly could not see her NOT still worrying about her course work. It just wouldn't feel like Hermione. I'm thrilled you agree! I love Flitwick. He just seems like such a kind professor. I had to make him do something like that for Hermione.

Hahaha I loved that part! It was one of those times where I read it over and actually laughed at it myself (like a total nerd).

*runs away yelling, "sorry," in the distance*

Em, I can't even with this review! This was just so amazing, awesomely, wonderfully sweet!! Thank you, thank you, thank you!!

Woo-hoo!! *throws confetti* Yay for number 100!! :D *balloons fall from the ceiling*

So, so much love, tons of hugs and a large cake to celebrate review 100!!

Your hpffbff,
Meg ♥ ♥




 Report Review

Review #8, by GeekTilTheEnd 

17th December 2014:
Ahh hello! I love this chapter, the beginning is just comes across as so natural and almost calm for Hermione...til she crashed into Snape again haha! She really isn't having much luck with him so far but it is certainly funny, and yeess she yelled at Sirius..in front of everyone.. that defiantly made my night!! I like how James went up to her to "congratulate" her on telling Sirius to bugger off, at least he isn't drooling over her and been somewhat polite if that's the right word? :). The bit with Lily made my heart ache a bit cause would always see them being friends and I've always thought Lily would be a decent girl/woman if not a little bad tempered what with the red hair! Looking forward to more Hermione/Snape action...lets hope she doesn't end up pushing him into a cauldron or something by accident hehe.
If you don't get chance to upload before Christmas, Happy Christmas hope you have a good one! And I would love to be able to talk (type) to you out of the comments but not sure how to or if its possible xD
Cya soon :D xxx

Author's Response: Hi Emma! :)

Yeah, she was doing alright, well almost alright, until Snape crashed into the back of her haha. No, she's definitely not having any luck what-so-ever. But it's so much fun to write! :p No wonder she bit Sirius' head off like that hahaha. I'm thrilled that made your night! :D

James was about as welcoming as James can be. "Somewhat polite" is an excellent way of describing it. I really liked that whole exchange between them, so I'm really happy you enjoyed that!

I know. I think Lily would have loved Hermione, if they had the chance to meet. Unfortunately, with them being in different houses, they may not become too close in this story. But they won't dislike each other or anything. I don't want to way much more or I'll drop some major spoilers. ;)

Well the next chapter is in the queue since the 15th. There will definitely be some Hermione/Snape interaction, but no pushing anyone into a cauldron hahaha.

Since it is in the queue now, it should be up before Christmas! That will most likely be the last update until after the holidays though. So if I don't hear from you, Merry Christmas to you too!! :D

Aww I would love to be talk (or, as you've said, type haha) to you more as well! You should join the forums. I've had the opportunity to meet a lot of people on the site through there, and they are all really lovely people. If you do, my name is the same on the forums as it is here. :D

Thank you again for the awesome review!! I hope you enjoy the next chapter, it should be up soon!! ♥

xoxo Meg


 Report Review

Review #9, by Lululuna 

16th December 2014:
Hi again! :) Here for your fourth prize review. Also, I completely failed to deliver on your prize for a chapter to be beta-read, so I'll contact you soon on the forums to find out if you'd like the same chapter beta'd or a different one. :)

Now, onto the chapter! As before, I really like how seriously Hermione takes her role here in the past and how strict she is in trying to follow the rules. It makes her the perfect person for this job because I feel like Harry or Ron would get carried away and break the rules and make all sorts of dangerous mistakes, whereas Hermione is more controlled and cautious, and that really shows well here through the situations she's been put in.

I'm a bit worried now that Snape will never warm up to her! :P He's pretty nasty, but who knows, maybe they'll be able to find some common ground through Potions.

Lily seems very sweet and very much in character with her portrayal in canon. I really liked their interaction and thought it really showed Lily as a character and what role she might play for Hermione. James on the other hand is quite annoying. :P I don't really like how he used the word "bird" to describe Hermione but it fit his sort of arrogant and careless attitude. Hopefully he smartens up a bit. I liked how although he reminds Hermione of Harry, the father and son are very different and that shows in the way James treats people in contrast to Harry.

Flitwick was so sweet here! What a nice man. I really like the care he shows for her in trying to make her feel at home.

Another great chapter! I really enjoyed reading the first few chapters of this story and will be keeping an eye out for updates! :)

Author's Response: Hey again!! ♥

Oh that's totally cool! No worries! :) If you happen to see this before you PM me, the same chapter would be awesome.

I agree completely. I don't think Harry would be able to not tell his parents, Sirius or Remus of what was to come and who knows what that would do to the future. Ron... Well I do love Ron, but I think we all know he wouldn't handle this well at all without Hermione or Harry. Hermione is just the most logical choice.

Bahaha! He is pretty nasty. Who knows if he'll warm up to her... I guess we'll see what happens. :p

Lily was very sweet and welcoming towards Hermione. I figured, from what we know about her, that she would be one of the first people to approach a new student. (If Hogwarts ever received them) She really won't be a huge part of the story, but she'll pop up here and there. Same for the Marauders. They're around a bit right now, but they're going to be more minor characters in the story. Yeah "bird" was kind of rude, but as much as he may look like his son, they are pretty different. I'm glad that seemed to be portrayed well.

Oh I know! Flitwick was just so great, wasn't he? :D

Thank you so much for all of these fantastic reviews! I'm so happy that you've enjoyed this all so far and, if you do read on, I hope you enjoy the rest of the story, too!! ♥

xoxo Meg


 Report Review

Review #10, by marauderfan 

16th December 2014:
Hermione piling on the questions in the beginning is, once again, so true to character. You have an amazing grasp on her personality!

I love your writing of young Rita, too, it's really entertaining.

Seeing all the professors twenty years younger would be kind of weird as well! I love that Hermione still wants to take like a bajillion classes because that's what she's used to. I feel like she's going to have to pretend she's a little bit behind the others at some point, especially after mastering the conjuring charm instantly, because really she's a fully trained witch with two more years of experience than the other students have, and someone is bound to notice eventually and draw attention to her.

So much for keeping her head down, that interaction with Snape (haha, one of these times she does need to meet him in a way that doesn't involve falling on the floor! :P ) and the following one with Sirius pretty much drew everyone's attention!

Her meetings with all these people from the past make me so nervous, haha! Ah, what happens when she is officially introduced to Remus? I wonder if he remembers her all those years later and is confused about the same person existing twice... I suppose I'm getting years ahead of myself here.

I really like Amelia! She seems like such a wonderful friend for Hermione. Although I can't help thinking that just by becoming such close friends with her, Hermione is changing some things. Ah, time travel XD

Great chapter!

Author's Response: Hey!! :D

Gah! Thank you so much!!

Haha there will absolutely be more of her to come. And I'm sure she'll become more Rita-ish as the story goes on. ;)

I can't imagine what it would be like, suddenly seeing all of these professors looking so young. Not only the professors, but the students too. It would make my head blow off, I think. I honestly couldn't imagine her not taking a bunch of classes. It just wouldn't seem like Hermione to me. It might be a little hard for her to pretend that, but you're right, she's going to have to try to reign it in a bit. ;)

Yeah, that's not exactly going according to her plans, is it? It seems like not matter what, she's bringing attention to herself in one way or another. Hahaha! Yes, I think the "meeting on the floor" will stop for now. ;)

All questions that I want to answer, but can't. :( I don't want to give any spoilers, but I promise, everything will be answered by the end of the story. :)

Aww I'm glad! I like Amelia a lot too! Yeah, time travel is a bit tricky. She may be changing some things, or maybe she already did? Who knows with time travel, right?

Thank you, thank you, thank you for another amazingly lovely review!! I truly do appreciate them! I hope you continue to enjoy the rest of the story!! ♥

xoxo Meg


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review