Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
35 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Glisten  

30th July 2017:
I was lured here by lots of shiny metals on your banner and the alliteration that occurs in your title. I've got to say that this first chapter introduces an interesting concept!

In the books Dumbledore was very strict about the consequences of using time turners and that it should only be used with extreme caution when necessary. I suppose that if he told them to go back in time and save a hippogriff though this isn't completely out of his character lol. I like how you added the details about the portrait pretending to sleep and winking by the way. It helped to make the mood of the chapter not totally grim and gloomy.

I suppose it makes sense he'd sent her back in time. She's obviously very different from everyone else her age and if Dumbledore truly believed she was able to fix things then he would've trusted her to be the one to go back and change it all. At first I was asking myself why he would have gone through all that trouble with having Snape kill him and whatnot but I realize now that Dumbledore may have wanted Hermione to see the terrible future so that way she could be motivated to go back and fix it.

After watching the movies it's sometimes easy to forget that Snape was much younger in the books. I was confused at first with the timing and then I realized that Snape isn't as old as Alan was in the movies.

Again, a very interesting concept. I'm defiately intruiged. I can't wait to keep reading!

 Report Review

Review #2, by victoria_anne 

10th August 2016:
Hello you gorgeous young lady!

I thought it was about time I left a review that wasn't from a Pokťmon (:P)
Also, I've seen you post various comments and aesthetics about this story, and my curiosity just grew and grew. Snape/Hermione? Eh? Wha? So here I am. CONVINCE ME.

Cheeky Dumbledore, of course he had sneaky plans.

Do you know that I think this might be one of the first time travel fics I've read? (Like, if I have, I don't remember) and I'm actually really excited, especially for Hermione. She gets the meet the gang! Harry's parents! SIRIUS! This is amazing! WHAT HAPPENS NEXT?!

I think your characterisation of Hermione is pretty perfect. She's just come out of a battle, is reflecting on the unfairness of it all, and she knows how dangerous it is firsthand to use a TimeTurner. I love how she thinks about the boys before she leaves, too.

You'll hear from me again soon!

♥ B

 Report Review

Review #3, by UnluckyStar57 

26th May 2016:
Hi Meg! Thanks for swapping with me!

I have to admit going into this story that I'm not the biggest fan of Severus Snape. He did a lot for the Order and played the turncoat role really well, but I could never convince myself to like the guy. But! I've heard really great things about this story, so I figured that I'd give it a try! It's never too late to learn to like something--or someone--after all!

In this short prologue-esque chapter, I like that you've introduced Hermione as the person who's going to save Snape. As the girl of the Trio, she doesn't get enough attention or credit for the stuff she does, and the fact that she's less biased than Ron or Harry makes her a perfect candidate for meeting baby!Snape. Also, she's done the Time Turner thing before, so that definitely helps her.

I do wonder, though, if she'll be able to look past everything that adult!Snape did to her as a student. I keep thinking about the time when Malfoy and Harry were shooting spells at each other in the corridor and Hermione got hit with the teeth-growing spell and Snape was like "I see no difference." Even for him, that was ice cold. I hope going forward that this kind of thing will come up and maybe get some resolution--I think that even though she's awesome and has the power to not be bias against someone, she'll still struggle with forgiving him for that stuff. But I'll have to find out!

For now, in Dumbledore's office in 1998, she's very sympathetic to Snape's sad life. That's very important, because she's got to want to go on the mission in the first place, even if she doesn't know yet that it's going to be a mission. It's so incredibly cool that you've set Snape up as the hinge on which all other events pivot--maybe his death affects all of the other deaths--so by saving him, the other people who died will end up alive at the end? I would love to see that, because all of the deaths still hurt all these years later.

Oh my, time travelling over twenty years into the past is bound to take a toll on someone! And Hermione claimed that she wasn't tired, but that's probably the adrenaline still working in her system. She needed to rest, but instead she gets to faint in Dumbledore's office, 1976. Maybe she'll have a minute to catch up on sleep now? I hope so!

I'm very interested in where this is all going to go! I shall see you at the next chapter!

~Mallory

 Report Review

Review #4, by EverDiggory 

26th May 2016:
This will most definitely lead to more reviews. I AM OBSESSED WITH HERMIONE/SEVERUS AND I KNOW I SHOULDN'T BE BUT I CAN'T HELP IT.

Okay I'm gonna calm down now. Sorry it just seems like no one else shares my interest in the pairing so I'm beyond excited.

Anyhow, I think your characterization of Hermione as depicted by her thought process was spot on. I really do believe you've nailed it so far. I wouldn't expect her to think nothing of it and just do as told; by expressing her thoughts it definitely depicted Hermione as the carefully thorough and slightly cautious young woman she is and I loved you didn't forget that. I'm totally guilty of throwing some parts of canon Hermione out the window, I do write dramione so its kind of necessary at times, but I love that even with such an wonderful/unusual pairing that you didn't just throw her canon personality out the window right off the bat.While drifting away from some parts of the canon Hermione is necessary and awesome sometimes, I think one of the most important aspects of venturing outside of canon is keeping some of the main parts of canon. I know that probably sounds so strange, but if you change the whole character completely you might as well not even use the character, so its just super nice to see you've kept some key pieces of what make Hermione, Hermione! I love it. Not to mention, the plot line is very very intriguing to me, and I've never seen it attempted before so I love this so much. This was an excellent opening chapter to what I'm sure is going to be an amazing read. I might not leave any more reviews tonight, but I promise I'll be back. Severus/Hermione is irresistible to me and this unique plot has me hooked. You've totally made my night just by creating this. I am way too excited! Thank you so much.

x Ever

 Report Review

Review #5, by Penelope Inkwell 

13th May 2016:
Hey Meg! I didn't forget about you! Sorry it took me a bit. Traveling took longer than I thought. But I'm here now and I've finally gotten a moment to leave you a review :)

Honestly, the hardest part of all this was choosing what to review! Your AP is full of so many stories that look so interesting! I wanted to check up on How to Fix Your Sibling to see if there were any new chapters since we did swaps on that, and I remembered really liking the chapter or two I'd read of This Final Adventure, so I thought I should have a look at that, and then I saw a Dramione, etc--I just kept getting distracted, like, "Oh, or I could read this!" But, in the end, it was Saving Severus Snape that drew me in. I've seen you mention it at some point on the forums, and I remember the title catching my attention. Then I saw your summary and was most intrigued. I'll be honest, I've never been a Snape fan, which is odd, since usually I love a good antihero. HOWEVER, I've also never read a lot of Snape fics and I was like, "Well, perhaps I should give Snape a bit of a chance, here. If anyone can give some more sympathetic insight into his character while still keeping him nuanced, it'll be Meg." And so, here I am.

This first chapter definitely grabs attention. It dives in fast and it's such a unique premise. I mean, Hermione traveling through time to save Snape and falling in love with him?? I've never heard of anything like it; it's so original!

I think the short, punchy opening chapter length was a good idea for this - it was short and sweet, but I already want more. I'm so curious!

At first I was kind of surprised that Hermione was immediately so sympathetic to Snape. But then, when I think about it, it does make a sort of sense. First off, we know all this was related to her by Harry, who clearly made peace with Snape's memory, since he ended up naming his son after him. Second, she's just scene a man she thought was guilty die in a horrific way, only to find out he was innocent of the charges she had mentally laid against him. And, thirdly, Hermione is the member of the trio most concerned with justice and forgiveness. She's generally level-headed and is highly empathetic. Often, so long as she understands why someone is treating her badly, she can forgive it - like how she forgave Kreacher because of his years of being brainwashed and abused, even though he was unkind to her at first. So I can see how understanding Snape's tragic past could allow her to forgive his bullying. And, of course, the fact that his death does seem unfair - he never really got to experience any kind of good life, despite his years of trying to atone for his mistakes - would grate on Hermione, who literally will go on to build a career around justice. I think you evoke those qualities in her soliloquy here, so that when I went through and thought about what she was saying, and all really did make a sort of sense.

Obviously, she had never spoken her suspicions out loud. Ron would have thought she was mental, and Harry would have been sure to never speak to her again,
--this was another detail that made so much sense. We know that Hermione often suspects far more than she tells. I especially like how you have her kind of go rogue here, because that's a side of Hermione we rarely see, but I think it's clearly there. Especially in DH, we see her willing to do things that are 'totally mad', so now, coming down from the craziness of battle and a little lost at what to do, I can see her making an impulsive, crazy decision, wanting to affect *something*, to save *someone*. Hermione may like books, but she also loves action.

Written on the front in purple ink,
--I loved this detail! There were several things you put in about Dumbledore--the winking, the fake-snoring--that were just perfect. And his super cryptic, enigmatic letter (including all his initials). Typical Dumbledore. I love all the little touches you put in, and they especially showed in his characterization.

What I'm most impressed with is that Hermione seems very Hermione. Despite the fact that these are actions I would never have thought of her taking, you make sense of them, and you keep her her while she's doing them. You really captured her logic, bravery, and occasional impetuousness :)


CC: Your writing is pretty darn clean in terms of spelling and grammar. The main thing I notice, I only notice because I do it myself all the dang time, which is unnecessary commas. I plucked out a few that I noticed:

It was a few hours since Ronald Weasley and Harry Potter left Dumbledore's office for the comfort of their four-poster beds, in the Gryffindor dorms.
--no need for a comma here

The only occupant which remained, was Dumbledore, who was apparently sleeping in his frame.
--here you don't need the first comma

Her eyes were out of focus, so she heard his voice, before she really saw him.
--here you don't need the second comma

The only other little piece of CC I could give is fairly nitpicky, but it would be to give Hermione a few more contractions. I think you've captured her voice nicely, but there were a few times with the "I am"s and the "should not"s where I thought an "I'm" or a "shouldn't" would suit her a little more. She can sound a bit formal at times, but I don't think of her as constantly stiff. However, she IS sort of talking her way through this, like it's a legal argument she's writing about what Snape deserves, so I definitely feel like a certain amount of formality is warranted. Like I said, I think you did really well with her voice. It's just if you want me to be very precise with my CC, that *might* make it even more Hermione-sounding.


Really lovely job! I'll try to come over here again soon. My reading list's a mile long, but I am so curious to see what you do with this. And I'd love to swap again any time! Thanks!

--Penny

 Report Review

Review #6, by Emi 

18th March 2016:
Disclaimer: you should prepare yourself for gushing. Also, a ridiculous amount of reading, because Iím completely incapable of being succinct in anything, and because I have decided that just because I missed out on finding this story for so long, that doesnít mean that you should be missing out on feedback. Prepare for an annoying amount of comments now. Iím sure youíll tired of me by the time I get to the twelfth chapter. xD

First off, let me just say that I absolutely adore this story, to a level which I cannot express in words. Honestly, love, I created an account specifically so I could follow and review this story; it truly is one of my favorite things Iíve ever written. Honestly. This is now my favorite pairing, Maraudersí Era Snape and Time-Travelling Hermione, and I may or may not have just spent the last forty-eight hours or so basically reading every similar pairing I could get my hands onÖ But after all of that, I have to say that this story is just on a whole different level than anything else Iíve read. I adore your control of the characters, your writing style, your patience with the plot, and the intricate little details you weave in that connect back to the canon story. You make everything about this plotline believable and actually in character, and where other stories seem to stain to make things just /work/, this story here has an unbelievable ease to it. It just fits. Everything about this idea that youíve fleshed out just seems to fit, seems in character and seems as if it truly could be an extension of Rowlingís own plot. Well, I suppose, at least thatís how it seems now, but I suspect things will seem to fall even more in place the more you write.

ANYWAYS, letís focus on this chapter itself, shall we? As I implied earlier, I loved your characterization of Hermione in this chapter, and I loved the way you started this plot off. Some of the other stories Iíve read in this sort of pairing have been weirdly awkward in their how-this-all-happened department. Here, I really believe Hermioneís emotions, and I really believe her motivation (and, well obviously, Dumbledoreís motivation). It flows. You manage to jump quickly into the heart of the story without an overly-long intro, but without making the thing feel rushed or unsupported. Thatís a exceptionally thin line to walk, and youíve done so perfectly.

Also, loved the line about Hermione wanting Severus to have a chance to live Ė not just to breathe, but truly live. Beautiful touch.

Although, Iím not going to lie, Iím still pretty darn confused about how exactly the time turner was triggered to begin with. I get Dumbledore knowing from the past that he needed to set up a way for Hermione to be transported, and I get Dumbledore obviously knowing about his own unavoidable demise and therefore knowing he wouldnít be able to provide the time turner in personÖ but Iím still lost on how Hermioneís words alone would trigger the time-turnerís reveal. I mean, how could Dumbledore know exactly what Hermione would think? That sheíd be in his office when she was thinking those exact thoughts? It seems almost too coincidental to plan on. Except, of course, I suppose she couldíve told Dumbledore in the past. Or I donít know, maybe Iím missing something or itíll be clarified later onÖ Thatís just the only thing thatís been confusing me.

 Report Review

Review #7, by Marshal 

6th December 2015:
I caught this on the forums weeks ago and knew I wanted to read this. Then I've heard nothing but rave reviews and knew all the more that I needed to read this but time would not afford me a chance to start reading your story till about now.

I'm glad I did finally get to get started! This story already has a lot of potential and I think you do a fantastic job with the voice of Hermione. So many stories I don't feel like I'm actually reading Hermione but you have her character dead on and I'm looking forward to journeying over to the next chapter.

Author's Response: Hi there! :)

I've been terrible at responding to reviews lately, but I just had to respond and say thank you! What an incredibly sweet surprise!

I'm so thrilled to hear that this story caught your interest and that you liked the first chapter! And wow, I didn't even know anyone really said much about this story, outside of the reviews, so that was a really nice surprise, too. :D

I'm so glad Hermione still feels like Hermione. She's probably my favorite, so it's important to me to keep her in character as best as I can.

I'm really happy to hear that you've liked this so far and I hope if you continue on that you enjoy the rest of the story, too!

Thank you again, so, so much for this incredibly lovely surprise review!! *hug*

xoxo Meg


 Report Review

Review #8, by Selma Black 

20th July 2015:
Interesting story and well-written! I'm looking forward to the next chapter.

Author's Response: Hi there!

Aww thank you so much! :) I'm thrilled to hear that you're enjoying it so far! Chapter 8 should be finished and posted fairly soon, so keep your eyes peeled for that. :D

Thank you for reading and for taking the time to review! I truly appreciate it and hope that you continue to enjoy the story!! ♥

xoxo Meg


 Report Review

Review #9, by Gabriella Hunter 

10th July 2015:
Hello!

This is Gabbie from the forums dropping by with our swapped review! I find it strange that I've seen you lingering around here and there but have never checked out many of your stories. What a shame! I'm here to make up for it though!

So, this was a pretty interesting read. I don't really get into time traveling stories much but I like the idea behind this one, it's clear that I wasn't the only one who thought Snape's death was more than just a tad unfair. I liked that you had this being Hermione who came to this conclusion, it shows that her mind wasn't completely worn down with battle and death. I also like that her relationship with Snape wasn't much of anything, leaving room for her to bond with him in the past more easily. I know that Snape was unpleasant but he never quite victimized Hermione the way he did the boys. I feel like that really may have warped how she might have thought of him, including of course the fact that he passed away so awfully.

I'm not sure what that sounds like and I hope it makes sense. Hahaha. Anyway, I wonder how Dumbledore somehow knew that Hermione would be conflicted about Snape? He was pretty amazing but he seemed to be ahead of everyone at least three or four steps. Was he regretting his decision to involve Snape the way he did? I always wondered about that but now Hermione is in the past with no clue how to move forward. I do hope that the past Dumbledore will know what to do and what about the boys? Hermione will be gone for a while, I'm sure (That letter hinted as much with all of Dumbledore's sly wit) so I'm curious to know what's happening on their end. :D

Anyway, this was really unique and I'll be stopping by for the next chapter!

Thanks for the read!

Much love,

Gabbie

 Report Review

Review #10, by Flower n Prongs 

19th April 2015:
I'm here for our review swap! I noticed that this story was actually on my reading list, so I figured that there was no better time than the present to start reading it.

Despite the fact that they are a little cliche, I can't help but have a soft spot for time travel stories because there is so much potential when you mix people we know and/or have heard of from various eras and trying to figure out how they would interact with each other.

Your characterization of Hermione is very good. I like how you had her recognize that Ron and Harry do not always see eye to eye with her and the fact that she can be more open minded then them. And, of course, having Dumbledore pulling the strings despite being dead fits so perfectly because he really did do that in canon. If he had a special time turner that could go back far enough, I can totally imagine him using it to try to change the way the wizarding war progressed in the mid/late 1970s.

The fact that you made sure to show the effects of going back and time in such a short period, both physical (vomiting and dizziness) and psychological (going back nearly 22 years to when your friend's parents were younger than you) is a nice touch.

I enjoyed this first chapter and am interested to see where you take it. Thanks for the review swap to prompt me to start it now. =)

 Report Review

Review #11, by HappyMollyWeasley 

10th April 2015:
This is HappyMollyWeasly with an attack post for Round 5 in Capture the Flag

I love stories that starts right after the battle. I feel like JKR kind of left us a little early, so I love filling the gaps.

I also like the idea of Hermione working on her own. She is in fact smarter than most of us... ;-)

OMG, imagine vomiting at Dumbledore's office, right in front of him! I would rather die, I suppose..

I do like this first chapter! You really got my attention here!

Molly

 Report Review

Review #12, by jessicalorewrites 

27th March 2015:
hi! I'm here for the gryffie review exchange

let me just preface this review by saying I am NOT your typical audience. I harbour a severe disliking of severus snape (though can appreciate the complexity of his character) and am not fond of adult/former minor ships (although with the time travel this is a little iffy). anyway, don't let that think this review is going to be horrible! I'm going to review in a completely object way about my overall enjoyment and what I thought of the writing ^.^

so first off I think you really managed to capture hermione's character here. she's very meticulous just like how you describe her and, honestly, I have the greatest admiration for anyone who can write a member of the trio as well as you've done here. in particular I liked her internal monologue when she wasn't sure whether it was worth going back in time or not - things like that just add to a story's realism.

the same goes for her reaction to finding out she's at hogwarts in 1976. a lot of the time in timetravel fics the characters don't actually seem THAT concerned they're about to meet people they've known as adults as children. I feel like her throwing up and general disposition in those moments was a really good response to write. I can't wait to read on and find out more about how she acts when faced with the marauders/snape.

my one cc is that I found it kind of weird how obsessed hermione was with snape's death in particular, even though charas like fred tonks lupin etc had all just died too. you did justify it well but I still found it a little odd. then again, this IS a snape/hermione fic.

overall this was a really good first chapter which I sense will nicely set up the rest of the novel! great job

- jess, xo

 Report Review

Review #13, by TreacleTart 

25th March 2015:
Hi Meg,

So I wasn't sure if we were swapping more than one chapter or not, but on the off chance that we are, here I am!

To start, I really liked your characterization of Hermione. She is always the overly analytical of the three, so it would make sense that she would still be up thinking while Ron and Harry were sleeping. The only thing that I found a touch odd was how she was so fixiated on Snape almost immediately. I find it a touch unrealistic that his death would bother her more than Fred, Lupin, or Tonks. That's not to say she wouldn't have compassion for him because I really believe she would.

The mysterious letter and time turner that Dumbledore left for her was intriguing. You built a nice bit of suspense with it. It would figure that Dumbledore would do something like this since he pretty much seems able to predict the future in the books.

The description of Hermione's time travel sickness at the end was pretty vivid. Unfortunately, as I was reading it I could really picture her vomiting all over the desk, which says a lot for your descriptive skills. :D

All in all, this was a solid first chapter. I'm interested in seeing where this goes. Thanks for swapping with me!

~Kaitlin

 Report Review

Review #14, by missatron 

18th January 2015:
Hi there! I'm here for the Gryffie Review Exchange :)

So, I've never actually read time travel before and AU pairings aren't usually my cup of tea, but you managed to really get me into the story. It's intriguing.

I don't think many people really, really like Snape after how he treated Harry in the HP books, but at the end, he proved himself worth it. I'm waiting for you to change my opinion of him. (I'm sure that you will). Time travel is a very interesting genre to opt for. It opens up many possibilities that were not there before. I wonder how Hermione will react to the Marauders, and James and Lily. If it had been Harry going back in time, I'm sure that he would have been completely over the moon.

I love your characterisation of Dumbledore. He barely batted an eyelid when a completely random young girl appeared in his office. Just like Dumbledore, that it. Hermione's characterisation was pretty good too. You portrayed her loyalty and not wanting to get on the wrong side of Harry and Ron very well. Even though the two aren't tough, they are the only real friends she has. You also did a good job expressing Hermione's grief. Well done.

So, as this is still the first chapter, we are only in the introduction stages. Introduction chapters don't tend to have as much detail and description as the rest of the story. I think the balance of description and speech was spot on.

This story seems promising!

I'm looking forward to the next chapter!

Missy

Author's Response: Hey Missy!

I'm sorry this has taken me so, so long to respond to!!

Aww I'm glad to hear that even though this isn't normally what you'd read, that you enjoyed it! :)

I know Snape was horrible, but I can't help it, I'm completely in love with him. I don't know what it is. Something about the broody, snarky, dark, mysterious man makes me all swoony haha. I love time-travel fics. They're so much fun to play with! Because it does open a whole world of things that you could do. I'm sure Harry would have been thrilled, but I don't think he would be able to do what Hermione has to. If you choose to read on, you'll see what I mean. ;)

Thank you so much! I'm really thrilled that you liked it! ♥

Again, I'm so sorry for how long it's taken me to respond! But thank you so much for the wonderful review! I truly appreciate the kind words. ♥

xoxo Meg


 Report Review

Review #15, by The Basilisk 

9th January 2015:
Sssalutations! Jussst ssslithering on by...

I've never had the opportunity to read a time travel fanfiction yet! I must say, I'm very glad that I stopped in, because this was quite enjoyable.

I do love Hermione's thoughts as she paces in he Headmaster's office, attempting to make heads or tails of the outcome of the war. She's an awfully clever girl, so it makes sense that all of these things (specifically the oddity surrounding Severus' death, when it was absolutely pointless -- unbeknownst to Voldemort -- because the wand was never truly Severus' to begin with). I love that you use her wit to begin your plot!

"The box appeared after I mentioned wanting to save Professor Snape. Is that - is that what I'm meant to do?" -- You've perfectly set up what the reader is meant to expect out of the story, Hermione will be going back in time to save my favorite Potions Master! Hooray!

Ah! This is so exciting! I love her encounter with the past-Dumbledore! I'm really loving this so far!

Thanksss for the fantassstic read!

Author's Response: Ahh! Thank you, thank you, thank you for just "ssslithering on by!!" I'm thrilled that you did!! Now please excuse me if I avoid eye contact as I answer your review. :p

Oh yay! Another time-travel newbie! It's my favorite story line, so I'm so happy that you've stopped by and checked this out! :D

She is extremely brilliant and this was definitely something I could easily see her doing. I'm glad to hear that you agree! :) And yes, his death was totally unnecessary. Even if he was the true owner of the wand, it didn't mean he had to die for Voldemort to take control of it. It's not bad enough that his whole life was tragic, but so was his death. Hermione totally saw that. Aww thank you! I really appreciate that!

Let's hope that she does. ;)

I'm super thrilled that you've liked it!!

I can't even tell you how much I've loved this surprise review! This was an incredibly sweet thing to do. Thank you!! If you do continue on, or find yourself slithering back again, I hope you continue to enjoy it!! ♥ ♥

xoxo Meg


 Report Review

Review #16, by ReeBee 

9th January 2015:
Hi there! here for our review swap!!

I don't usually read time travel or AU pairings, but i find myself pleasantly interested in this!!

Plot: okay, it seems really really interesting! Im honestly not a huge fan of Snape but I'm honestly just waiting to have my opinions changed ;) I do love the marauders though and I'm excited to see how Hermione reacts to them! Also, i wonder how hermione actually plans to save Snape! And how it will end (ignore the fact that I'm only on the first chapter XD )

Characterisation: its pretty spot on! I love how calm dumbledore when a random girl randomly appears in his office- i think that was amazingly portrayed! And Hermione herself, her characterization is spot on. I also love how she guesses that Ron and harry would be more than mad at her if she says that she suspected Snape might be on the good side. That most likely would have happened :P

Description: I love how you used the rug to make her guess that she was still in Dumbledore's office. that was actually so clever!! the only suggestion i have is to add in more description in the first part of the story? just little lines like 'she thought, as she ran her hands along the mantelpiece' or something. just a suggestion, i think its fabulous even without that :P I also loved the description of her thoughts, you justified every reason she felt the way she did that way!

Anyway, it was lovely swapping with you! I'd love to swap again in the future! :)

-Curie :)

Author's Response: Hiya Curie!! :)

I don't know what it is, but with Hermione, I just love reading/writing her with different characters. Especially the Marauders Era men. (When she's much older or in a time-travel scenario, of course)

Hahaha I always wonder how stories will end during the first chapter, too! So I totally relate there. :) Snape is complex. Most people either love him or hate him. Personally, I love Snape. I know that he was very horrible at times, but I just can't help but to love an anti-hero. I hope, if you do choose to continue on, that you end up like him. Or at least my version of him! ;)

Aww thank you!! Dumbledore is notoriously difficult, so It's always really lovely to hear he's been written well. And Hermione is my favorite, so it means a lot to hear that she still seems "Hermione." :D

For some reason I just imagine that Dumbledore wouldn't have changed his office much while he was headmaster. Which is why I used to rug as a clue as to where she ended up. I'm glad you liked that! No, I always love and appreciate any CC that I do get, and normally always go back and make an edit. So I'll re-read this chapter and try to add a bit more description into it! :D

Thank you so much for the swap and such a lovely review! I'm sorry it's taken me so long to respond to it! And I'd also love to do another swap sometime!! ♥

xoxo Meg



 Report Review

Review #17, by toomanycurls 

9th January 2015:
I've been meaning to read your stories for months. I don't have a reason why I haven't yet but now I am. :D :D :D

You do a great job showing how Hermione processes through grief and that she's coming to terms with the battle. I like that her mind is on Snape - I can imagine that learning the truth about him was a major shock. I love the idea of Dumbledore as the all-knowing yoda for the HP world and that he would of course know that Hermione woudl find Snape's death tragic and give her a way to prevent it.

It's incredibly brave of her to go into the past on her own. I do think Hermione woudl have been keen to change and prepare (even if it was just a little). Did Dumbledore charm the time turner to go back to a specific time? Hermione's activated by physically turning the pendant to go back a certain amount of time.

I love that Dumbledore is perfectly polite to her when she appears in his office. :D

Ah, this is a great start!! Please poke me to review more of this!!

-Rose

Author's Response: Hey Rose! No worries! I've been meaning to read "True Romance" for a while, too and only just got to it. So it's all good! :D

Aw thank you! I'm really happy to hear that all came across well. I figured with her being in his office, and that probably being the last thing Harry revealed to her and Ron, that she would have been thinking about him at that moment. And yes, I bet it was a huge surprise, although, I think a part of her would have figured that he wasn't truly bad. It just seems like something she would have figured out.

Hahaha! "all-knowing yoda," is the perfect way to describe Dumbledore! Yeah, he would have had to make sure that she was able to go back.

I kind of had her decided to use the Time-Turner as quickly as she did to show how exhausted - physically and mentally - she would have been at that point. Being awake for 28 hours, fighting that battle, not really eating or drinking anything would have clouded her judgment a bit. I don't really want to say much about how the Time-Turner appeared or was set for her, because it would be a bit spoilery. But I promise that will all be eventually answered.

Can't you just see it? haha A random girl appears in the middle of his office - covered in blood and much, wearing torn clothing - and he just stands up calmly. I found that pretty funny. I'm glad you liked that! :D

Thank you so much, Rose!! I'm really thrilled that you liked it and thank you so much for doing the swap!! ♥ ♥

xoxo Meg



 Report Review

Review #18, by mymischiefmanaged 

20th December 2014:
Hi Meg!

I'm here for our swap :) Sorry I've been super absent from HPFF recently, but I'm back properly and am so excited to get back to your wonderful stories!

Okay, I have to confess, I'm not really a big fan of time travel fics. I prefer to keep each era to itself, and am not that keen on seeing Harry's generation mingling with the marauders. That said, I love your writing so will give it a go! Reviewing as I read :)

I like Hermione's point of view. You've hit a similar style to JK's, but following a different character. I reckon that bodes well for the rest of the story. The shock after the war is very real, and I like that Hermione's taken some time to deal with it without the boys. It fits in very well with the Hermione we see in canon.

I like how Hermione contemplates the tragedy of Snape's death. She approaches it in an almost logical way, which is very in character. But I wonder if you could expand a little more on why exactly she's thinking about Snape? After so many people she really cared about have died it seems strange for her to become so fixated on why this specific death was unfair. I think that's something that could be explored with a bit more depth, as right now it feels maybe a little cold that Hermione's thinking about Snape rather than Fred, Remus, Tonks or any of the school friends she lost. It's just a little thing really, but if you were planning on making edits it might be something to consider.

I am beyond impressed by the tone you give Dumbledore's letter. It's totally believable as coming from the Dumbledore we see in the books, with it's intentional vagueness and instructions that aren't fully explained.

And then you write Dumbledore in the past SO SO WELL. I'm honestly so impressed, Meg. It's so hard to keep Dumbledore in character, and you've not only done that but have managed to do it without him having had the experiences we know yet. Ahhh it's so so good well done!

I like the way you've ended this, with Hermione finally giving into the shock and confusion of everything that happens. It makes a lot of sense that she'd be overwhelmed - it would be a little unbelievable if she was able to just get on with it after all that she's been through - and also gives you a clear place to cut off the opening. You've given just enough action to make it interesting while keeping it concise enough for a first chapter, and it seems like the natural place to close.

Overall, it's a really really good opening to what I'm sure is going to be a fantastic novel. As I said, I don't really like reading time travel stories very much, but if I set that aside I can say only good things about this. It's well written, your characterisation is brilliant (especially given that you're dealing with canon characters), and the pacing is just right. So proud of you Meg! It's brilliant.

Thanks for the swap!

Lots of love,

Emma xx

Author's Response: Hey Emma!! It's so nice to see you back again!! :D

That's totally alright. :) I know that time-travel fics aren't for everyone, especially ones that have Hermione with Snape, I know that's not a popular pairing, so I'm thrilled that you read and reviewed this despite all of that! Aww thank you! That is very sweet! ♥

I really want to make this story as close to canon as I could, for a time-travel fic, so I'm thrilled to hear that Hermione still feels like Hermione. I don't think she would have just been able to go back to the dorms and sleep like the boys may have been able to. Not with the way her mind seems to always be running wild.

I kind thought that she would have been thinking of Snape because she was in his office. I figured that at this point, she would have thought of Fred, Tonks, Remus and the others, and then just being in there would have brought Snape to the forefront of her mind. Perhaps you're right, and I should go back and make that a bit clearer, just so it doesn't seem like she did not give the others any thought at all.

I was really hoping to portray that well and I'm thrilled that it came across like the Dumbledore we see in canon! Thank you for that!

I honestly can't get over all the Dumbledore love I've received. I'm just blown away by it, honestly. Thank you so much for that! I know that he's notoriously difficult, so I'm so, so happy that I've seemed to do him justice. :D

That's exactly what I was thinking. I couldn't see her arriving there, finding out what time period she landed in and then running off like everything was just peachy. She had been through A LOT in such a short amount of time. I figured getting sick and passing out would be an appropriate reaction to what just happened to her. I'm really glad to hear you felt the same way!

Thank you so much, Emma! This review truly means a lot to me, being that this is not the type of story that you would typically read. Thanks for doing the swap with me!! ♥

xoxo Meg


 Report Review

Review #19, by crestwood 

15th December 2014:
Hi Meg! I've been meaning to stop by for months really. Life has been hectic and you have five chapters of this now.. oops. But, I am finally here and ready to start this story of yours :)

So, I don't think I've ever read Hermione/Snape. Actually, I am sure I haven't. I don't hate it, but it's far from my OTP. All that means is that if I like the story, it's based on the merits of your writing, rather than a preconceived bias! And I am sure I will like this story, because it's written by you!

I love that this happens directly after the war. It makes the story feel so immediate, as if it's picking up right where the end of the series left off. (besides the epilogue) There's something so unique about her going back to save Snape's life because I've seen a lot about someone going back and saving one of the Mauraders, but never one where it's seen as a priority that Snape lives. I think that small bit sets it apart from a lot of time travel stories because the objective is just totally different.

I could probably go on for hours about the pros and cons of Snape and that's what makes his character so interesting. I know this story is going to explore all of that, so I'll save it for the following chapters when he's actually in the story interacting with Hermione.

Of course Dumbledore would have some sort of voice activated secret Time Turner. Just like him, with his snitch and deluminator being the same way. If it was any other character, I'd think that was far fetched, but he'd totally plan that before his death and that's the brilliance of it.

The letter having all of his initials was hilarious to me for some reason. That man has such a long name.

Well, everyone knows you write Dumbledore excellently and here you are doing it again. You really do capture his essence from canon, which is difficult to do. I typically work around his character in my fics because I am too frightened to write him. If I ever work up the nerve, I know just who to go to for a coaching session.

It makes sense that as exhausted and probably traumatized she was, she reacted the way she did to the news of how far she'd traveled. That's quite a shock and I'm pretty sure we'd all pass out after all of that. You set up this story perfectly. I thought you gave just enough to kickstart things and no more or less. Such an interesting concept and great writing. Cannot wait to see where you go from here.

Author's Response: Hey Joseph! I'm so excited that you've stopped by!! :D

I know that Hermione/Snape isn't exactly for everyone, but I enjoy that pairing. The first fic I ever read was a Snamione, so I think that's why I'm kind of partial towards them. But I'm thrilled that you decided to give it a chance anyhow and I'm incredibly flatter that you have due to my writing more than the pairing. *blush* You're incredibly sweet! ♥

I wanted to try to make this as canon compliant as I could, so I thought starting it directly after the war would help make it so. Most of the time-travel stories I've ready, she goes back to save one of the Marauders, too. I thought this would be a little different and wanted to try it. I'm thrilled that you like the idea of it!

Oh, he's definitely not perfect, at all. He was horrible to a bunch of children, yet did some admirable things with his life. There are probably more cons than pros, but that is why I love Snape. He is just SO flawed which draws me to him. Part of that may be what starts to draw Hermion in too, later on. ;)

Yeah, anyone else and I think the whole thing would have seemed a little unbelievable as well. But with Dumbledore, it seems that mostly anything is possible. The crazy old man haha.

His name is really funny. I'm so happy you've found the humor in all of the initials being there! I chuckled while writing that part. :)

I'm honestly flabbergasted by the positive response I've been receiving regarding Dumbledore. I didn't even realize that many people thought that I wrote him well. Heck, I didn't think that I did, to be completely honest with you. I'm so completely flattered by that and just, gah! Thank you so, so much!!

There was no way that I could have sent her back and she would be all, "Oh. Ok. This is cool. Let's get this party started!" Not only was she severely sleep deprived, malnourished and emotionally drained, she just was thrown back twenty-two years into the past. She had to have fainted. I'm certainly putting her through a lot, aren't I? haha

Thank you so much for this review! It was a pleasant surprise and incredibly sweet. If you do continue on, I really hope you enjoy the following chapters! Hope to see you back again!! ♥

Love and hugs,
Meg


 Report Review

Review #20, by oldershouldknowbetter 

14th December 2014:
Hi there,

I'm doing this for a bit of a 'swapsie'. I've had a look at a couple of other people's work before who have asked for swaps before, but I must say most have either not been my thing or not been terribly interesting. Until now and this story.

Again I have to say, at first I didn't think that this was going to be any good - Snape and Hermione (any student really) is just a bit yicky as a match up and then I read the precis; hmm, intriguing. Time travel just may make it work. I'm usually only interested in things winch don't defy cannon, but thinking about it this may not and even if it does the concept has caught my interest.

Like Hermione, I thought that some of Snape's treatment was a bit unjust. He did all this stuff for so long, risked his life, not just that, devoted his life to preserve the life of someone who every day reminded him of one of his worst enemies. Especially that it was all for a love which was true but could never be returned. Oh yeah, Snape was awful and horrible all throughout the books and we were all meant to dislike him (if not hate him), but his revealed motivation should have led to something more than his ignoble death.

I like the voice you have constructed for Hermione, it is pretty spot on. Her reasoning and conversation with herself is completely within the bounds of her characterisation. The same goes for Dumbledore, his voice is notoriously had to grasp but you seem to have done it - though it is early days and I think in this chapter he is only responsible for three or four lines of dialogue, but what you have done makes me confident that you will continue the good work in subsequent chapters.

As to the time travel itself, JKR established that it was obviously possible to do so in her world, but she had strict bounds on what would happen with it. She took the 'realistic approach' to time travel - if someone has traveled back in time to affect the past then nothing done by that person changed the past. Any 'changes' that they made were just what became the past. I see from some of your comments in the other reviews that you are not going to deviate far from cannon.
Two things: One, that is good and fits in with how JKR set up her version of how time travel works; and Two, with Hermione back in the past falling for Snape - how on earth are you going to make that work!

So I will definitely read on. Something that I thought that I would not like, has really captured my interest. You have an engaging writing style and have managed to capture the thoughts and words and actions of the characters well.

Now on to chapter two.

Author's Response: Hi there! Sorry it's taken me so long to respond!

Wow thank you so much for that! I'm honesty really happy to hear that you found the premise of this interesting and decided to give it a chance. :D

The first fic I ever read was a Snape/Hermione fic, and I've just really enjoyed the pairing ever since. Only if they're both adults, or if it's a time-travel fic, like this one. I could never, ever bring myself to read one if she were still a student. I agree, that would be completely inappropriate and, not to mention, creepy. But this situation does make it work.

Snape definitely wasn't perfect and her certainly wasn't nice, but I don't think he should have gone out the way that he did. You're exactly right. He really didn't have a life at all, really. His whole life was devoted to "The Greater Good," if you will. His story, along with most of the adult characters, is very tragic. I think he deserved more, too.

I love Hermione. Absolutely love her. I saw a lot of myself in her, while growing with the series. She was an excellent role model and such a wonderful character. I'm always so happy when I hear that I've done her well. I'm actually quite astounded with the praise I've received for writing Dumbledore. I don't even know how to properly respond to it besides, thank you! :D

I'm trying to take the same approach as JK did. I don't want to say too much, because if you are to continue on, I don't want to spoil anything, but like you've seen, I am going to stay as canon compliant as possible. Only a few things have been changed. Like some of her housemates were added in just for the purpose of this story. But nothing major is going to change.

With the whole Hermione/Snape relationship, I know exactly how that will work, but again; spoilers. :D

Thank you so much for this wonderful review! It's always so lovely to hear that someone has enjoyed your story, even if it isn't something they would have typically read. I truly appreciate you taking the chance on this story and I'm thrilled that you've enjoyed it! I hope, if you do continue on, that you enjoy the rest of the story!! ♥

Thank you for doing the swap!!

xoxo Meg


 Report Review

Review #21, by BellaLestrange87 

13th December 2014:
Hello! I'm here for our review swap!

To be completely honest, this was the first time-travel fic I've read, and this was amazing so I think I've been missing out on something here.

I love your characterization of Hermione! She definitely seems like the kind of person that would sit up and think about something big, like the Battle of Hogwarts. Her reasoning for not telling Harry and Ron about what she's deciding to do is entirely like her. It's also very smart - imagine the confusion if Harry and James happened to meet face to face!

I've heard a lot of compliments about how well you write Dumbledore, and now I see why. I don't like writing him myself because he's so hard to get right, but you make it seem easy. HOW DO YOU DO THIS? TELL ME.

I like that Hermione's stopping to think her decision through before committing fully to it. Not only is that a very Hermione-like thing to do, she doesn't know where she's going (like she said), and she would have to trust Dumbledore, who admittedly had been very manipulative.

At the end, I like how Hermione is all dizzy from her use of the Time-Turner. I don't think that traveling back in time over 20 years is something that should be taken lightly, and I'm glad you didn't do that.

This was an amazing first chapter and I can't wait to see Hermione and her interactions with the Marauders and Snape!

~Olivia

Author's Response: Hi there!! Thanks for doing the swap! :D

Is it really? I have a bit of an addiction to time-travel fics. They're my guilty pleasure haha. I hope that you like it!

Aww thank you!! I really love Hermione. She's probably my overall favorite character, so it's always wonderful to hear that I've done her justice. Oh my goodness, it would be beyond awkward if Harry went back and ran into James! Could you imagine how he and Lily - because it would be this replica of James Potter with Lily Evans' eyes mysteriously arriving to Hogwarts - would react??

Gah! You are entirely too kind! I've been hearing that a lot lately, and I really don't even know how to respond. I just kind of try to hear his voice in my head when I'm writing him, and picture if it sounds like something he would say. If that makes any sense. :shrugs:

I couldn't picture Hermione just putting it on and activating it without thinking it through first. I mean, she was still a little reckless for her, by blindly accepting it, but she still had the sense to at least think it over a bit beforehand.

After everything that she had just been through and then being thrown twenty-two years into the past, I felt like she should have become ill or something. That was all a lot for her to go through physically and mentally. I'm really happy you felt the same way! :)

Thank you so much for the swap and this amazingly lovely review! I truly appreciate it, and if you continue on, I hope you enjoy the rest of the story!! ♥

xoxo Meg



 Report Review

Review #22, by Jean 

12th December 2014:
I can't wait for more! Well-written; I love time-turner fics!

Author's Response: Aww thank you so much! I'm thrilled that you're enjoying everything so far! I love time-turner fics as well. They're definitely my top favorites. :D

The newest chapter is in the queue right now and should be up very soon!

Thank you for stopping by and taking the time to leave a review! I truly appreciate it and hope you continue to enjoy the rest of the story!! ♥

xoxo Meg


 Report Review

Review #23, by Shinicha 

4th December 2014:
So, here I am, finally with your reviews!

I have to say I have never read any time-travel fanficiton, let alone one with Snape starring as a main character! I usually like stories that are Epilogue-compliant. But this one made me really curious. Mainly because the starting point was right after the battle of Hogwarts, following the original story right up until the last chapter, so to say.

I think you described how Hermione felt very realistically and also captured Dumbledores behaviourisms very accurately.

I can't wait to read on and find out how you'll handle all the complications that come with time-travelling! (SO complicated!!! I have a lot respect for you to do this!) After all, if Snape turns out completely different, who says he will even join Voldemort, or Voldemort will even find out about the Prophecy, or Snape will be willing to help Harry ... etc.

Btw, I never realised just how long they'd been awake when the battle ended Oo thank you for pointing this out! Wow.

There were a few small mistakes that you might want to correct:

"She had an idea about Harry" (I THINK it should be "had had")

"Why else would Dumbledore had trusted him so completely?" (have)

"as he stood up from his chair" (fullstop missing)

"which was certainly something she has never seen before." (had never seen)

Great job on the first chapter, I'm looking forward to reading & reviewing the others!

Author's Response: Hi there! Thanks so much for doing the swap! :)

I adore time-travel fics. They're definitely some of my favorite ones to read, and now write. I don't know what it is, but I love Hermione with Snape, Sirius or Remus. I'm not fond of ones where she ends up with James. I'm strictly a Jily shipper haha. I'm attempting to make this story as canon as possible, but there will end up being minor changes here and there.

I'm very attached to Hermione, so it's always really wonderful to hear that I've written her accurately. :D And Dumbledore is notoriously difficult to write. I truly appreciate that you felt he was done well!

I'm so excited to write it all out and post it. I hope people like where I take this whole time traveling aspect. That's true, he might not join Voldemort if he changes. But then again, that's *if* he changes. ;)

Oh I know! I knew it was a while, but when I actually counted out the hours, I was like, "Oh my goodness! How did they not all collapse?"

Oops! They must have all slipped by me. I went back and edited and fixed all the errors. Thanks so much for pointing those out! :D

Thank you again for doing the swap and leaving such a lovely review! I'm really happy that you've enjoyed it and I hope that you enjoy the rest of the story!! ♥

xoxo Meg


 Report Review

Review #24, by The_Crookshanks_Saga 

23rd November 2014:
ReViEw SwAp


Hi Meg! I really like this story's premise: though I've never shipped Hermione and Snape, I think the element of time travel kind of brings it together! You've written Dumbledore pretty well, too-- he's a superhard character to write :D

Every now and then, you seem to be jumping to a different tense, but whatevs, this is NaNo (I think). It's not irritating as much as just a bit confusing, especially since this is a time travel fic. Nothing a few minor edits won't fix ;)

This was a really good prologue chapter-- it didn't give much away, but still set up action in a quick but solid way-- I hate getting my plot set up, and you did it almost perfectly. If there's one problem, it's that it almost seems a bit too fast-- maybe a bit more detail to ease us into the fic and give a bit more exposition, especially since there was a lot of action? Like the first few paragraphs were done very well.

Anyways, you have a great start, and I can't wait to see where you go with this ! :D

-Meena

Author's Response: Hi Meena! :)

Aww I'm glad that you liked it, even thought Snamione isn't something you typically ship. I have to admit, I do have a bit of a weakness for the pairing myself. I especially like Hermione/Snape in the Marauders Era stories, so I thought I would take a stab at one. :D He really is a difficult character to write, so I'm really, really flattered that you feel I did a good job with him! Thank you! ♥

Nah, I wasn't brave enough to attempt NaNo this year, maybe next year though. I'll go back through and edit. I didn't even realize that I did that. Thanks for pointing it out! :)

Thank you! I tried to kind of give enough information, but not too, too much. I wanted to try to just set up what was going to happen, and then really get into all of the details in the following chapter. Maybe in trying to do that, I did end up leaving it a bit rushed? I'll read through it again and see if there's anything I can add to it.

Thanks so much!! :D I'm really happy to hear that you enjoyed it! If you continue on, I hope you enjoy the rest of the story! ♥

Thanks for doing the swap with me!!

xoxo Meg


 Report Review

Review #25, by GeekTilTheEnd 

19th November 2014:
Meg Meg Meg!! I thought you had left us :( ;) I am sorry I didn't see you had a new story up sooner! Real life just keeps getting more mental as do my kids and I haha .. anywhoo yay this one sounds great (as all your stories are) and cannot wait for more (cause your stories are great and so are you!!) I love the mischievous (portrait) Dumbledore , you always seem to manage to get him just right :) pleeeaase update soon :D me and my sanity have missed you ;) Emma xx

Author's Response: Emma!! :)

Ah! I'm absolutely thrilled that you've read this! And that you liked it!! There is no need to apologize, at all! It's only been up 3 days. It's brand new. Haha yeah, kids can get a bit crazy at times. I know what you mean about RL. That's why my updates haven't been as frequent as of late. But I swear, I'm not going anywhere. :D Aww you are far, far too kind! Thank you so much. I'm so happy to hear that you enjoy all of these so much!

Haha yeah, something tells me that Dumbledore was not really sleeping in his portrait. ;) He is a notoriously difficult character to write, so I truly appreciate you saying that. ♥

I'll definitely be updating soon! This and To Prevent will be having updates very soon! I've missed you too! Thank you again, so much, for stopping by and leaving a review! You're awesome! :D

xoxo Meg ♥


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review
<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>