Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
24 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Unwritten Curse 

9th January 2016:
Gryffindor Review Battle thing

YOU'RE KILLING ME.

I really, really want to skip this review and keep reading because we're at such a pivotal part of the story, where we're learning more about Cass and now Al is holding Olivia as she falls apart and I NEED TO KEEP READING but this review has to be five lines. And you deserve a review for your brilliant writing. So here I go.

I think Olivia's reaction is SO SPOT ON. I was so convinced last chapter that Scorpius had nothing to do with Cass's kidnapping (I was also pretty convinced that Cass hadn't been kidnapped at all--I'm still not entirely sure what to believe) but now I'm questioning that, just as Olivia is. I loved when she ran to hug him and then stopped herself at the last minute. Then ran away. I'm sure she's confused right now and that reaction felt right.

I don't know what to believe anymore. You're so sneaky! (And by the way, by sneaky I mean incredibly talented at manipulating sections of your story so that your readers are kept guessing. Which is a talent that I am jealous of.)

Okay. Now I can read the next chapter. YAY.

--Gina

Author's Response: This is one of Olivia's weaker moments, but I'm glad you thought it was believable. She shouldn't have run away from Scor when he was so obviously vulnerable, but then she's dealing with a lot as well and in this moment couldn't manage to be around him.

SO she's around AL instead :)

Emma xx


 Report Review

Review #2, by merlins beard 

26th March 2015:
Now i slowly start believing that something might have happened to cassie. But it definitely wasn't scorpius. It could nevet be scorpius (I might have a soft spot for the malfoys)...
Its so sweet that albus takes care of ollie when she's falling apart like that, but i kind of worry about Scorpius right now. His girlfriend is missing, he is a suspect in her disappearance, and on top of it all his best friend just literally ran away from him. He must feel like ollie thinks he is guilty, which i'm sure she doesn't.

Author's Response: Albus is lovely, but I'm glad you're thinking about how all this affects Scorpius. He's struggling and Ollie's reaction to his questioning wasn't very supportive.

Thanks again for all these lovely reviews,

Emma xx


 Report Review

Review #3, by crestwood 

4th February 2015:
Hi Emma! I totally thought I'd reviewed this already, but apparently I've been my usual trash self and neglected to.

I think you really sold the kind of shock Ollie is in at the beginning of this chapter. The short, choppy sentences definitely give off that feeling of confusion and disbelief.

I can't believe the rest of the Quidditch team actually suspects Scorpius might have actually been involved in Cassie's disappearance. I don't for a second buy that. I agree with Ollie, none of them know much about him clearly, if they think speculating about all of this is justified in any way. Especially in front of her, that was pretty detached of them.

I just know that Scorpius is going to seem even more suspicious because of his fear of law enforcement. Of course, they'll take that as a sign of a guilty conscience.

I'm really frightened for Cass now that they've found her locket and her blood and everything. I kind of thought that something like this might happen, but it's still scary. I still kind of suspect that she staged her own disappearance though because that feels like something she'd do.

I'm surprised that she ran away, but I do understand. Being bombarded with all of that and having to process it and being expected to make things better...that must have been pretty overwhelming. Scor will not be happy.

This chapter is a lot less plot driven than most others, but I quite like the emotional aspect of it all. I think you've definitely given us some insight into exactly what Ollie was feeling directly after Scorpius being taken in.

Another amazing chapter, as is typical. Thank you for the swap!

Author's Response: HI Joey!

I'm so glad you liked this chapter. I've had very mixed feedback about Olivia running away from Scor, but you definitely picked up on everything that's going on. She's had to process a lot of distressing information at once and isn't mature enough to know how to feel about it.

And the other Slytherins just aren't really thinking properly. They shouldn't really be saying that stuff to her but to them it's just a curiosity thing.

Thank you so much for the lovely review and for the swap!

Emma xx


 Report Review

Review #4, by TidalDragon 

19th January 2015:
Hello again!

In contrast to the previous several chapters I've reviewed, this one just rubbed me as a bit off if I'm honest. The biggest thing I think was it feeling rushed. I know Olivia was sitting in the stands thinking/crying for some time, but because you condensed the time so much in terms of words it just felt like we had the high-impact carting-off cliffhanger last chapter and then Scorpius got returned very quickly. Perhaps if there'd been some reminiscence injected in there about moments in the friendship or her observations of the relationship it could've been lengthened and not felt so sudden? I don't know - it's your story and you may be holding that back for later - that's just how it struck me.

I was also surprised that Olivia just run. Obviously Scorpius is pretty upset and even if he's been quite rude to her frankly in recent times it seems if she was going to break down in front of anyone she'd want to break down WITH him rather than chancing it happening with someone else. It feeds the positive connection with Albus, but felt a little easy in that regard and further alienates Scorpius when (for now anyway) it doesn't seem like he deserves it this time.

No worries though! I look forward to seeing how things develop in the coming chapters!

Author's Response: Hmm, thanks for being honest about your thoughts. I actually quite like this chapter - it's one of the ones that came more easily when I wrote it - but maybe that means I was less critical of it. I'll maybe add some reminiscence type things though, I really like that idea.

Olivia's running isn't in any way supposed to be a justified action. She just can't cope with the situation and prefers to avoid her problems. Breaking down with him isn't an option for her because too much of what she's upset about is tied up with him and their shared experiences. It's a bad side of her but it's a side I wanted to show - I wasn't trying to suggest that Scorpius deserves this treatment at this point.

Thanks for the review!

Emma xx


 Report Review

Review #5, by marauderfan 

16th December 2014:
Ok, I am the worst, I feel bad that I haven't reviewed all the chapters up until now but I just kind of read all of the chapters in this binge-reading session and now THERE'S NO MORE. No but that's good because now I have to take a breath and leave you the reviews and compliments you deserve! I'm sorry I haven't done so until this point!

I really love Ollie, I think she's a fantastic character. I love her spunky attitude, and I also love how she has all these frustrating faults (like running away from Scorpius at exactly the worst time aaah) because they make her so human. I am really worried about Cassie - although she can be a difficult person I did like her (maybe just because I'm seeing her through her best friend's eyes, haha.) and how terrifying that must be to have your best friend missing! I feel so bad for Scorpius too as he really has no one.

Although at the moment this is working against her friendship with Scorpius (though hopefully not for long?) I love Olivia's interactions with the Gryffindors and how well she fits in with them and how much they accept her. She and Al are so cute together. But mostly I love that the romance plot hasn't even started yet, how they're just building up to being friends. It goes at a realistic pace and I appreciate that.

Your minor characters are really excellent as well! Joe and Oscar are the best. Who says Slytherins can't be cuddly? :D

So glad we happened to do that review swap the other day. I've favourited this story and eagerly awaiting the next chapter. :D

Author's Response: Haha I'm absolutely honoured that you took the time to read through all of this!! Of course it's okay to not have reviewed the chapters in between :)

I'm so glad you like Ollie. I really enjoy writing her, and I think although she has her flaws there is also (I hope) a lot to like about her. I think I'm understanding her a bit more with each chapter which makes writing her a lot of fun. And of course not having Cassie around is a big thing for her to deal with.

And thank you for pointing out that the romance plot is moving at a realistic pace! I worry a bit that it's taking too long, but really didn't want it to feel rushed. Also it's giving me lots of time to be indulgent and work on their characters a lot before throwing them together, which on a selfish level makes it very satisfying.

Joe and Oscar are I think my absolute favourites :)

Thank you so so much for all your wonderfully kind reviews! They've really brightened my day :)

Lots of love,

Emma xx


 Report Review

Review #6, by Veritaserum27 

15th December 2014:
Hey Emma!

Here for the third chapter of our review swap!

Oh! The Albus/Ollie feels right now are so - gah! I'm all over the place right now because I'm so, so sad for Scorpius.

He really needs someone right now and Ollie just... I don't know what happened, but the emotions were so high she couldn't deal with them. I really like how you said in an earlier chapter that Scorpius was always 100% honest and that was really important to him. I think he's gonna need Ollie to remind everyone of that. His Slytherin "friends" were quick to point out all of the checks against him - his temper, Cassie's ability to push buttons, the fact that he's a Malfoy. I feel like everyone is being a bit unfair and I'm just worried that there may be some irreparable damage done. I don't feel like Scorpius trusts people very easily and this is an excellent example of him getting Ollie right now. Perhaps her Gryffindor friends can teach her a few things about loyalty.

I think you've done an excellent job of showing Ollie's slow process of growing to accept others. She is obviously pretty comfortable with Al, Rose and is getting better with the other Gryffies. Maybe she's growing as a person as well!

What a cliffhanger! I can't wait to read what happens next!

♥ Beth

Author's Response: And again, THANK YOU THANK YOU! Everything you've said is just so lovely, and I really appreciate it.

Scor's having a tough time, and I wanted to make it clear that he's struggling even though Ollie's not really in the right frame of mind to help. He really needs her and she doesn't feel able to be there for him, which is definitely going to be a problem for them both.

Ollie's slowly developing as a character, and I'm really glad that's come across. I think (hope) that Al brings out a healthier side of her, and helps her become a happier person.

Thank you so much for the swap and for all your lovely comments! I've just finished with your reviews too and was super impressed by everything :)

Emma xx


 Report Review

Review #7, by Dawn 

8th December 2014:
I just read this all in one go and really enjoyed it!

I like your writing and that Dobby for Dialogue was well-deserved :)

Oh no is Cassie actually hurt? My theory throughout has been that she ran away because she is pregnant and doesn't want anyone to know and that she cannot come to terms with the feelings she has for Scorpius.

I love how nice you have made the Gryffindors and I really like the premise of this story; it is very refreshing and unique, a story about Pansy Parkinson and Katie Bell's brother's daughter seems like it would be really random but you really make it work.

Can't wait to read the next chapter!

Author's Response: Hello!

Thank you so much for the lovely review!

I'm so glad you're enjoying the story and finding it original.

The next chapter should be up soonish :)

Emma xx


 Report Review

Review #8, by tessalina22 

23rd November 2014:
Omygodshh i'm so addicted to this story!!! Seriously this is the best!

Author's Response: Yayy thank you! I'm working on the next chapter now so it should be up soon :) xx

 Report Review

Review #9, by ilovegeorgeweasly101 

19th November 2014:
There's no way scorpius could have hurt her and now he'll be super mad at Ollie for running!!! Ugh!!! Please update soon!! I love your story and can't wait for more!! Congrats on your dobby!

10/10

Clea

Author's Response: Thank you so much! The next chapter should be up soonish - I'm working on it at the moment.

So sorry for such a delayed response and for the long wait between chapters! I'm working on it :)

Lots of love,

Emma xx


 Report Review

Review #10, by Roisin 

10th November 2014:
Woah, I thought I reviewed this chapter!

Anyway, I really liked what you did with this. Olivia seems to be in a kind of confused shock, and I thought your wrote that really well throughout. Like, setting off individual sentences ("Scor had been taken away for questioning ... He's terrified of law enforcement"). It gave the impression of her trying to just kind of process all the individual facts. And by putting her into this kind of psychological space, it really helps us understand her (admittedly cruel) decision to run away from him. I also feel like you have an impressively strong command of Olivia's character. Throughout, we know she has a difficult time with emotional depth, and I appreciated how that struggle permeated this emotionally dense chapter.

Also, for stories featuring romance, I sometimes get frustrated when rather unhealthy relationships get romanticized. I like that she and Albus are generating a genuine friendship and intimacy, and that the romance doesn't NEED to be the source of conflict, since there's already enough of that going around from elsewhere.

Oh, and I really like your new story summary!

Hope you update soon, and congrats on SotM! I hope you don't think that since no one else was nominated, it's less of a win. It's just that you can't second SotM nominations, and so clearly everyone just agreed that it should go to you :)

xoxo
Roisin

Author's Response: Roisin!

I'm so sorry for taking so long to respond! Thank you for another extremely thoughtful and kind review :)

All your comments about Olivia really mean so much. She's finding it hard to deal with her feelings and figure out what she actually thinks about what's going on, and her response to Scorpius is kind of the culmination of this confusion. The chapter's definitely emotionally dense but I'm glad you thought it worked.

And I totally agree with you about the romance! I think too often, especially in this kind of young-adult-type genre, the relationships we're supposed to support are actually quite unhealthy and damaging to one or both people. I'm trying to make Olivia and Albus good for each other.

Thanks for a lovely review, and thanks for the SofM nom! It really means so much, especially from you.

I'm working on the next chapter now after a few crazily hectic months so it should be up soon!

Lots of love,

Emma xx


 Report Review

Review #11, by Spyci 

28th October 2014:
I SHIP IT SO HARD. Whilst being worried about Cass, of course. Please update before I have a mental breakdown!!1!1!

Author's Response: Yayy thank you for the review! I'm working on the next chapter now so hopefully it should be up soonish xx

 Report Review

Review #12, by macpp 

26th October 2014:
I started reading this last night just before I went to bed and couldn't stop!! I was up half the night and half asleep at college today (I know college on a Sunday wth). I know I should but I don't really like Cassie so I'm semi hoping she doesn't come back. Don't shoot me! I don't want something bad to happen to her though because it would totes delay the other characters relationship developments.
I love Albus.
Update soon plz

Author's Response: Thank you so much! Haha I've been there with stories on this site before...sleep suddenly doesn't seem too important.

And you're definitely not the only one to feel that way about Cass so don't worry :)

Thanks so much for such a lovely review. I'm sorry for being so delayed in my reply! I'm working on the next chapter now so hopefully should be able to update soon.

Lots of love,

Emma xx


 Report Review

Review #13, by Madamam 

26th October 2014:
I think Scor is going to be very mad that Ollie ran away from him and coincidently into Al's arms. I really like Ollie and Al but I can't help but think that Ollie might be a little but in love with Scor...

Author's Response: Oo, interesting...more on this next chapter. I don't want to give spoilers but it's always fantastic to hear people's theories.

Honestly thank you so much for the reviews. They mean even more given that you've said you don't usually review stories. Thank you for all your thoughtful comments.

Emma xx


 Report Review

Review #14, by RUMBLERORE 

23rd October 2014:
So I've been meaning to read this story for like a month now and I've had it open in a tab the entire time and I FINALLY got around to reading it and it is amazing! (idk if any of that made any sense) I'm so obsessed with Olivia and I really like Al too. The way that you write is incredible! Especially the parts where Olivia is drunk. You do such a good job at those parts. Honestly I love this story so much. I'm not sure how I feel about Louis at this point, but he has his upsides. Also, Joe makes me super uncomfortable but he's still adorbs. And idk if you were planning on developing more characters into the story or not, but I think it would be really nice if there was a bigger part with James in it. At least to see more of the interactions him and Al have. But idk. I just feel like I would like James' character. Even though Al is number one. Okay so this whole review is me rambling about nothing. I'm so sorry. I'm super excited to read more though!

Author's Response: Hi! Thank you so much for such a lovely review! I'm honestly so so happy to hear that you're enjoying reading.

And I'm glad you mentioned drunk Olivia...I feel I maybe enjoy writing drunk characters a bit too much.

There will definitely be a bit more James coming up, but Al's always going to be the main Potter brother in this one :)

Thank you so much for taking the time to review, I really really appreciate it!

Much love,

Emma xx


 Report Review

Review #15, by Dianainga 

18th October 2014:
More, more, more! I really love this story. I am a huge Al fan so I really like the sweet way you are portraying him...he really takes after his dad with the hero persona! I like Ollie and think there is something really suspicious about Cassie.still do not believe totally that she is a victim. Keep updating OFTEN!

Author's Response: Thanks for such a lovely review! I'm glad my Al works for you :)

And Cassie's definitely supposed to be suspicious :)

I'm really happy to hear you're enjoying reading. Will try to update soon xx


 Report Review

Review #16, by Zeeqad 

18th October 2014:
I kinda hate Ollie for running away from Scorpius when he clearly needed her. That's not something a best friend or even a good friend would do.

Great story by the way, read it all in one go and can't wait for more.

Author's Response: Aw, don't be too harsh on her. She's suffering too. But yeah, it wasn't a very supportive move and Scor won't be happy.

Thanks so much for such a lovely review! I really appreciate it and am really happy to hear you've been enjoying reading :)

Emma xx


 Report Review

Review #17, by Hedwig_Pie 

17th October 2014:
AWMIGOD ROLLERCOASTER OF EMOTIONS MUCH LOVED IT IT WAS EXCELLENT TRULY OH JUST SLJDKSCDFKVNDF

Author's Response: Hiya,

I just wanted to thank you for all the lovely reviews. It's really great to hear from people enjoying the story and I really appreciate your taking the time to review multiple chapters!

Thank youuu,

Emma xx


 Report Review

Review #18, by Sunshine&Daisies 

15th October 2014:
I love this story! Keep up the good work. I look forward to seeing how Cassie and Al's relationship evolves.

Author's Response: Thanks so much! I'm really glad to hear you're enjoying reading :)

Emma xx


 Report Review

Review #19, by Irishseeker 

15th October 2014:
Oh my god CAS-SIE. Locket. Blood. Scorp-this just keeps getting better and better oh my god. Poor Scorp though :'( but it is true about the boyfriend always being the first suspect but could Scorpius of done it? I would normally doubt it but I really don't know right now. I really like how you fit everything in and CONGRATULATIONS ON THE DOBBY. Your dialogue is fantastic and it is so well deserved and it's so great to see this story getting the awards and recognition in deserves.
Can't wait for the next chapter!
IrishSeeker x

Author's Response: Hi! Thank you so much for taking the time to review :)

I'm really glad you're enjoying this. This chapter's been one of my favourites to write and is a bit of a turning point in the plot so I'm really happy people are liking it :)

And thank you!! I'm super thrilled about the Dobby!

Emma xx


 Report Review

Review #20, by AdinaPuff 

15th October 2014:
Ema!

Another marvelous chapter, of course. Lots of Oz and Joe in this one. Yay! Joe's my favorite. I love his character so much. I'm glad Ollie defended Scorp to them though when they started dishing out reasons as to why Scorp would do something to Cass.

More hints on Cassie! I wonder who did that to her. Charms on the locket? OH MY GOSH WAS IT THE CREEP AL RESCUED OLLIE FROM ON NEW YEARS EVE (I think it was New Years). That would be a great, huge plot twist.

You've got the wheels in my head turning thinking about what could have happened!

More soon, please! :)

-Leigh

Author's Response: Leigh!

Yayy thank you so much. Joe's one of my favourites too :)

But yes, Scor will always come first for Ollie.

Hehe this review's made me really happy, thank you thank you.

Will try to update asap!

Emma xx


 Report Review

Review #21, by flauschdrache 

15th October 2014:
I don't know why I haven't reviewed this story before but I'll do so now. It's amazing! I was hooked after the very first chapter. I love how each and every of your characters has their own voice. I wish I could master that as well as you do! And I'm so curious about what happened to Cassie. I have absolutely no idea what could be going on so I guess I'll just have to wait and see.

Al is such a sweet charcter and since I feel that James II is usually the more prominent Next-Gen Potter child it's so refreshing to read something about Al.

Keep up the good work. I cannot wait for the next chapter!

Author's Response: Great to hear from you!

I'm so glad you're enjoying reading, and your comment about every character having their own voice has made me really smiley.

I usually read James II fics so I'm not quite sure why I ended up writing Al. I think he turned up because I knew I wanted to have Scorpius in there as a best friend. But I'm enjoying writing Al a lot.

Thanks so much for the lovely review! I really appreciate it.

Emma xxx


 Report Review

Review #22, by TumTum 

15th October 2014:
OK I have a new theory about Cassie. No actually I have 20 now, they keep on doing circles in my head. This business with the necklace doesn't look at all good and she could have been kidnapped or assaulted or even murdered (gasp) but I don't know. Or at least I'm less inclined to think so though I am very conscious that she's got that dangerous combination of being a vulnerable person without much protection and having an independent streak a mile wide. But it would be easy enough for Cassie to set up the necklace as a fake clue right? And she is clever and manipulative.

That would be particularly cruel though to her friends. There is something so personal about getting rid of something that so clearly represents her close relationship with Ollie and Scorpius and it feels pretty symbolic of her to leave it behind as a false clue - like a complete break with her past and Ollie and Scor. The thing is, I'm pretty sure that Cassie had secrets from the two of them but were they a big enough deal to force her to leave school (did she care about school? Not actually sure but I suspect not much) and her friends who she appeared to love very much? Because even if she did have secrets there's nothing there to suggest that she didn't love them as she appeared to. I don't know but that doesn't seem quite likely either. But that's partly because I can't imagine what would make her go to such lengths.

At the moment, I suspect that Cassie is in trouble but that there will be revelations about secrets that she has been keeping that will confuse things and change the way Ollie sees Cassie, making her doubt their friendship? Whatever the case you're a genius at setting up this mystery.

I do have another theory about a secret she was keeping even if it doesn't explain her disappearance: she had something going on with Amethyst Twine, the person who has been acting even more strange since they came back to school, since Cassie went missing? Were they having an affair? (my mind is like a torrid soap honestly) I would be surprised if Ollie were to judge Cassie unkindly for being with a girl but maybe Cassie felt the pressure to stay with Scor even if she didn't feel it in order to maintain her friendship with them? And at the same time I think she did care deeply for Scor. Pssh I don't know.

I still think James knows something about this and I hope the latest revelations urge him to do something. Perhaps Al will provide a link for James and Ollie to meet and put the pieces together?

I don't think it was Scorpius but I think it's interesting that even the Slytherins wonder and I reckon that part of the reason that Ollie ran from him is that she entertained the thought, even if it was just for a second. After all she's the only one who knows that he had told Cassie that he loved her and was rejected. It will look that way to Scorpius I suspect, either way, poor guy.

It's difficult to tell what Ollie thinks because she's been in denial up till now and at the moment she's just shocked and frightened and upset. I felt awful for her because Scor and Cassie are her family atm and I was so glad when she bumped into Al who was so good and caring. I love him a lot right now and I hope he sticks around because I think he will be able to ground her. Also I just love him and want to see more of his character and how he will react to this situation when he knows more. Will he be helpful to Ollie above being comforting? I do think (hope) that each time something like this happens, Ollie trusts him a bit more.

I loved this chapter and I wanted to hug Ollie but at the same time it's getting frustrating still not knowing much about Cassie especially when Ollie can't or won't process all this information and investigate it because she is too closely involved. I feel for her 100% but at the same time I want her to try because I think she is the person best placed to find out the truth. That's where I hope this story is going although whether I'm right or wrong I don't doubt that I'll enjoy it. Well done for getting the balance between emotion and mystery just right.

Congratulations on getting your Dobby, it's very well deserved ^_^

Margie xx

Author's Response: Margie!

Your reviews make me smile so much. Thank you thank you.

It's great to hear your thoughts on Cassie. I won't comment on them now because *spoilers* but it's super interesting to hear what you're thinking so thanks so much for all of that.

I will say that Amethyst Twine's role in this story is definitely going to get bigger.

You're right about Ollie being the only one who knows about Cassie's reaction to Scor saying he loved her, and that's a confusing level of responsibility for Ollie to have. She's struggling without her best friend and isn't dealing with things sensibly. Having Scor being suspected doesn't help.

I'm so glad you said Scor and Cassie are her family! That's the kind of friendship I've been trying to write :)

Al's just an all round good guy. He's decided he cares about Ollie and won't listen to her not wanting his help, which is for the best because things are pretty lonely for her right now. But more on that in the next few chapters :)

Thank you so much for such a kind review! I really appreciate the time and thought you put into giving feedback.

Much love,

Emma xx


 Report Review

Review #23, by CambAngst 

15th October 2014:
Hi, Emma! I was really excited to see a new chapter posted!

Wow. I thought the last chapter was going to be hard to top for shocking revelations, but you definitely did it here. If Cassie is doing this all for a laugh, I have to say that she's going to impressive lengths. Then again, I'm not so sure that's what's going on any more. I'm assembling clues in my head and the puzzle still doesn't have many pieces. The latest hint is that it seems like Cassie disappeared from King's Cross. So she nearly made it to the train. Hmmnn...

It's interesting to get a read on Scorpius's likely guilt or innocence from people who aren't as close to him as Olivia. His fellow Slytherins seem to find it at least plausible that he could have done something to Cassie. Perhaps not likely, but not outside the realm of possibility, either. I feel like their doubts had a lot to do with Olivia's reaction to Scorpius later on.

I really liked the way that you paced the conversation between Olivia and Scorpius. As he reveals each new piece of information, I could feel her reaction changing. She went from being unconditionally supportive to... I guess "confused" would be a safe way to say it without overstating anything. I didn't get the impression that she thinks Scorpius did it, but I think the lingering doubts combined with evidence that could be interpreted to mean that something bad happened to Cassie was too much for her. So she runs...

... into Albus's arms. I've been wondering how you were going to pull this off and you did it with a lot of finesse. It didn't feel too easy. There was a good measure of trauma involved. You played into Olivia's vulnerable state and Albus's hero complex. Bravo! I think all the hard word you've been doing to build up these two characters really paid off in this moment.

I didn't see a single typo in this chapter, so kudos for good editing. It all flowed nicely, a smooth, enjoyable read. Great job! I can't wait to see what's coming next.

Author's Response: Hi Dan :)

This has been one of my favourite chapters to write so far. It's a scene I've had in mind from the beginning so it was really satisfying to finally get it down on paper.

Scorpius doesn't seem suspicious to Olivia, but I hope it's clear that he could seem guilty to other people. It's confusing for Ollie because obviously he's still her best friend but then she's seen how other people aren't convinced by him. So yes, she doubts him.

And Albus...I really don't want to slip into the trap of having some guy who comes and fixes all the problems and sorts something out. Ollie's strong and she doesn't need somebody, but then it's good for her to have someone in her life who's actually kind and supportive. This chapter was definitely a bit of a vulnerable girl/hero complex guy moment though.

I'm so glad you enjoyed reading! Thanks so much for such a wonderfully kind review :)

Emma xx


 Report Review

Review #24, by hoodwink 

14th October 2014:
Wait, what just happened? I'm so conflicted in what to feel... I mean Scorp getting taken away for questioning and Ollie running away from him (AND THE BLOOD ON THE CHAIN, WHAT WHAT WHAT, NO.) but then there's that cute bit at the end where Al comforts her. Too many emotions! This is a great chapter, it felt too short though, compared to the other ones, but that's a minor detail haha. I really like where the story is going right now and that the mystery of Cassie is becoming more prominent (as in something actually happened to her?!). I can't wait to figure out what happens next! Keep up the great writing, I love it (:

Author's Response: Thank you so much for taking the time to review :)

This chapter's the shortest I've written by quite a bit, but I felt like there was enough going on and it was probably time to cut it off at the end.

I'm so glad you liked everything! And Al's definitely lovely. This is one of the moments I've had solidly in mind since I started thinking about writing 'Complicated'.

Thanks for all the (extremely kind) feedback! I'll try to update soon :)

Emma xx


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review