Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
21 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Amarilla Grey 

3rd July 2017:
This was amazing!!! I read it all in one go. I love how you managed to humanize the Slytherins, even those who are Death Eaters or want to be Death Eaters. I have rarely ever seen such a measured, balanced approach. I've also always wondered about Andromeda's decision to leave her family and whether never speaking to one's friends & family again is truly worth it--that's pretty much glossed over in the books but you did a beautiful job here of capturing that agony. Can't wait to read the sequel!

 Report Review

Review #2, by Bellatrixisfred 

31st March 2016:
I really enjoyed this story. But Ill be honest I would have prefered a canon compliant slightly more heartbreaking ending. According to canon Astoria marries Draco and I would like if this fic explored that, that rather than escaping with Terry their differences separate them but he ultimately changes her enough she grows to be a less prejudiced woman. Bittersweet but satisfying.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for reading and reviewing! :) Have you had a chance to check out the sequel yet? It's called "The Serpent Rises" and is on my page - it might make you feel more hopeful for a canon compliant ending, but no promises. Either way, the story is far from over with this novel. :) thanks again!

 Report Review

Review #3, by dreamgazer220 

1st October 2015:
Wow, what an amazing story! Your writing is so beautiful, and you did such a great job capturing the life of a Slytherin girl at Hogwarts. I loved Tor's character development throughout the story, and the way you weaved canon details into her memories (like the TriWizard Tournament) to make her more believable as a character. I also loved her love story with Terry, and how she starts still having a crush on Theo and then falling head-first into a relationship that's doomed from the start.

Before I catch myself with rambling about how much I loved this story, great job! I can definitely see why it won Most Addicting Story for the Dobby Awards last year, definitely well deserved. I can't wait to get onto reading the sequel!

Author's Response: Hi! I'm so pleased that you like the story, thank you for all your lovely lovely comments. I'm glad you like Tor and find her believable, writing her development throughout the story has been such a challenge but so exciting for me as a writer.

You are so kind! Thank you so much for this! :D


 Report Review

Review #4, by knightghost26068 

24th August 2015:
Really good story. I love Astoria, I love how she grow through this story and seeing hogwarts in Harry's 7th year (which he didn't go to LOL) through someone elses eyes. I love Tor and Terry's story and I love Pixi too Thanks for a great read.

Author's Response: Hello!! :D I'm so glad you're liking the story and Tor's journey!! Thanks so much for reading and reviewing, you're awesome!! :)

 Report Review

Review #5, by Niki 

22nd July 2015:
I couldn't put this down! Love it! It's written really well and kept me hooked through out can't wait to read the sequel!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! :D :)

 Report Review

Review #6, by Meredith 

19th July 2015:
So wonderful and cannot wait for the sequel! Your weaving of canon into the story was brilliant and I am very curious if you plan on staying with DH epilogue canon. Either way, can't wait.

Author's Response: Thank you so much, Meredith! :) I really appreciate you reading and reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #7, by LittleMissAutumn 

9th May 2015:
THIS STORY IS AMAZING AND SO ADDICTING! I NEGLECTED MY HOMEWORK SO I COULD READ THE ENTIRE THING...not my brightest idea, but totally worth it! TERRY BOOT IS A REAL HOOT! hehe I love that boy.
10/10!

Author's Response: Hey!!! :D I'm so excited that you liked the story, even though it's too bad about your homework! :P Thank you so much (and he is a hoot, haha LOVE the pun!). ♥

 Report Review

Review #8, by Ash 

8th May 2015:
I can't believe I reached The End! Seriously so happy when I found this story, it's the only really thought-out Pureblood Culture fanfic I've found so far. Your writing has developed greatly throughout this series and I'm jumping right in to book two! Thank you!

Author's Response: Hello!! :) Thanks so much, it's awesome to hear that you liked the story and the representation of the purebloods. I love writing Tor's story and getting amazing reviews like this just makes me so happy!!

 Report Review

Review #9, by Kristina1990 

13th January 2015:
Wow. I can see why this was elected the most addicting story of 2014. I was very glad that the book was finished by the time I started reading. It gave me the distinct advantage that I could rush through it without having to wait for updates. I guess those times will be over now. I'll have to wait like everyone else in the sequel.

It was a fascinating story to read. I loved the way with which you integrated known facts from the books with your own story. It felt like it could have really happened that way.

The Slytherins, always depicted as spiteful and mean characters, are a group just like the Gryffindors and the Hufflepuffs. Some stick up for each other, some betray and some cheat. They probably do all of this with less mercy and more brutality, but at the end of the day they are children influenced by their parents' beliefs and lifestyles. They stick to what they know and what they were taught during most of their lives.

And then, sometimes, they see a different side and they are confronted with new realities and questions. This was shown beautifully with Astoria, who has gone through a tremendous character change in this novel. She was never one of the worst, but still prejudicial enough (like any of us would have been). But she has come a long way and I can't wait to see what happens next.

Author's Response: Hello!! :)

Wow, thank you! You are so kind and hearing your thoughts is really encouraging and kind. I'm hoping to get the chapters of the sequel written and posted regularly, and it's going pretty well so far. :D

I'm so pleased you liked this story and how it integrated with canon. I had such a good time developing these portrayals of the Slytherins, and knowing that readers engaged with them is really helpful and lovely.

I love your comments about Astoria, that's just how I feel about her and I'm so glad you liked her developments throughout the story. Thank you so much for this wonderful review and your support on this story!! ♥


 Report Review

Review #10, by Hazel 

6th December 2014:
Wow. I can't tell you how much I've enjoyed this novel. I'll jump right to it: it is a beautifully written, thoughtful and well- developed. I especially love the premise that, despite our obvious adoration of the original characters, there are lives in that world beyond those of Harry and those around him. You skillfully wove Astoria's story, and the characters within it, into the facts and names that we recognise from the original series. I love that you added a bit of Hogwarts under Snape and the Carrows, something that we've only read about indirectly, as the trio were off searching for Horcruxes. Finally, writing this from the perspective of the daughter of a Death Eater was a brilliant choice as it allowed us to think of shifting ideologies and perspectives during war, how it feels to grow up believing something so entirely and gradually realising how wrong it is. Plus, you showed that not all Slytherins are dark wizards and witches, stubbornly superior to all others, rather that each individual within the houses is precisely that- an individual, with complex personalities and opinions.
The only thing that bugged me slightly every now and then were a few grammatical errors; that truly was the only aspect that reminded me that this is not a bona fide published novel, because in terms of articulation and writing, it certainly can be.

Author's Response: Hi Hazel! :)

Wow, thank you! This review is so lovely and really means so much to me. I'm so pleased you liked the story and the alternate cast of characters. I really enjoyed writing around the canon storyline and incorporating Astoria into Harry's world in a way that felt believable.

I really enjoyed writing about the shifting ideologies and Astoria's development. I'm so pleased you liked how the individuals within Slytherin were portrayed, and it means so much to hear you thought it was written effectively.

Ah, those pesky typos! :P I've been slowly going through each chapter and trying to weed them out, haha.

Thank you so much for this beautiful review, it really made my day!! ♥


 Report Review

Review #11, by elen 

1st December 2014:
This book has been so incredible and so intense. I finished the entire thing in one day. I've recently become a huge fan of Astoria, and I'm really lucky to have found this story, despite how Astoria is not included as a character in the search engine. I'm desperate for more, so please please let The Devil's Blood begin soon! (I checked your profile and it doesn't seem to be online yet.) I really desperately want to know what happens next, and I wish for Tor & Terry to survive and thrive and I have so many questions!!! What's happening with Ginny and everyone back at Hogwarts? Are Tor & Terry going to sneak back in after Harry breaks in? And how the hell does Tor end up with Draco after all of this? (I'm assuming you aren't changing the ending, but are you?) Please please please update soon so I can hopefully get some answers!!! (P.S. Congratulations on this epic finale.)

Author's Response: Hi elen! :)

Wow, thank you! I'm so honoured that you liked the story and Astoria. I'm a big fan of her too. :)

I'm putting the first chapter of the sequel into the queue as soon as my other story gets validated! :D So it should be up in the next week. I've also changed the title to "Fire in the Sky" but will label the story as Book II in the Astoria Trilogy as well.

I'm so excited that you have these questions and that you're excited to find out what happens! I promise that there will be many answers and lots of excitement. :) Thank you SO much for the beautiful review! ♥


 Report Review

Review #12, by Kiersten1218 

20th November 2014:
So I'm definitely one of those reviewers who reviews after I've read the whole story. I absolutely loved your story!!! I cannot wait for Book 2! I'm a huge Dramione fan but reading this made me fall in love with another genre! I can't wait to see what happens with Terry and Astoria and see how she ends up with Draco (if that's how you decide to end it!).I will be following faithfully from now on! Thank you so much for the fantastic read!

Author's Response: Hello!! :) Wow, thank you!! This review is just so lovely. I'm so excited that the story drew you in and that it helped you get interested in a different genre and pairing. That means so much to hear!

The first chapter of Book 2 should be up in the next week. :) Thanks so much for reviewing! :D


 Report Review

Review #13, by Chris P 

18th November 2014:
Hi, I don't normally do reviews but I felt like I should here because I have thoroughly enjoyed reading this and look forward immensely to the second and third books in your trilogy, I love the way you engaged with the original text, making Astoria the other student in the gruff indie sword heist and a few other occasions as well and bringing to life a relatively unknown character in terry boot, I love the engagement with the slithering storyline and feel you really got to the heart of the house and opened up a human side to them with friends and families and engaged with the demonisation of the house and how this may have played itself out in that final year and the year of the war, how shape acted out of loyalty to dumbledore and how Malloy changed

Basically I loved every word of this book and would encourage you to use another prologue like chapter in the other books,

Ps please don't kill off either of them, try and stay true to the original text and Terry fighting in the battle of Hogwarts, be gracious to Malfoy and Daphne, but kill dementia the evil cow :)

Thankyou again and happy writing

Author's Response: Hi Chris! :)

Wow, thank you! I'm so honoured to get this lovely review from you. I loved writing this novel and it means so much to me to know that people are actually reading it and enjoying it. I'm especially excited that you like when Astoria intersects with the original HP books as those are some of my favourite parts.

One of the things that I really wanted to explore when writing this was how Slytherins could be good too, and how so many of them are victims of their own upbringings and have the chance to change. There will definitely be a lot more development as well in the next two books.

That's a great idea and something I've been toying with. Knowing you liked having the prologue is really helpful about whether I should include one or not for the next book, which I've been slowly but surely working on.

I will try and stay as close to canon as possible! :) But there will definitely be lots of twists and turns in that journey, hehe.

Thank you so much for the great review, I'm so excited that you liked the story! :D


 Report Review

Review #14, by Jazminandie 

7th November 2014:
Hi!
I genuinely cannot wait for book 2, Harry Potter gave me a way to escape what was going on in reality and I've been missing that for a while, this story gave me a way to escape into that world again because it was simply amazing! I honestly could not stop reading it!
I can't thank you enough for giving me another top notch story to read!
I'm keeping my eyes peeled for any updates on Tor and Terry!

Jasmine x

Author's Response: Hi Jasmine! :)

Wow, thank you! I'm so glad this could bring back some of those Harry Potter emotions and escape from reality, that really is the best part about reading and writing for me. I'm so thrilled that you liked the story, and I'm slowly but surely working on the new book and hope to have the first chapter up by mid-December. :)

Thank you so much! ♥


 Report Review

Review #15, by coleridgeandco 

26th October 2014:
What can I say?
I just loved this story. Tor's character development, the splendid view you've given the readers of 'the other side of the medal', being Death Eaters with their family and friends... This is gold. The way Astoria went from bring the typical pureblood-mentality-filled Slytherin to a woman thinking for herself, to the point she can help Terry escape Malfoy Manor and abandoning her own family... Wow. Just wow. And I also loved all the scenes with Ginny; I really appreciated the fact that Tor's 'transformation' happened not only because of a boy, but also because of friendship and because she started actually seeing the bad in what her loved ones are doing. *bows*
The detention scene... perfect. Just perfect. I'm wordless (and impatient - how is the writing-10-chapters-before-uploading-the-sequel thing going?) admiring this lovely and truly addicting story - perfect Dobby.

Author's Response: Hello! :)

Wow, thank you! This review is just amazing, seriously, I appreciate you taking the time to leave it so much. I'm so pleased you like the different sideof the conflict and the way that Tor has changed. It's surprised me in a lot of ways while writing it and is so special to me, so it means a lot that you liked it.

I'm pleased that you like Tor's transition into the strong young woman she is now and how brave she is with sacrificing so much to follow her beliefs. I'm glad too that you liked how it wasn't because of Terry that she changed, but he and Ginny and other factors helped her to figure it out for herself. That makes her change more permanent and part of her identity, which it really needs to be considering what she's going to do.

Gah, thank you! ♥ I'm doing OF for NaNo this month, but I promise that once November is over Book II is going to be my top priority. :) Thanks again (I feel like I'm just a broken record here) for such a wonderful review, you've made me ever so happy! :) ♥


 Report Review

Review #16, by Frida 

18th October 2014:
This story is soo amazing, i couldn't stop reading. I long for the next part!! /Frida from Sweden

Author's Response: Hi Frida! :)

Aw, thank you so much! That's so sweet, and I'm so pleased you liked the story. Thanks so much for reading and reviewing! ♥


 Report Review

Review #17, by Teddy1993 

29th September 2014:
Perfect chapter to finish your first story. I'm so happy Tor got Terry out of Malfoy Manor and even more so that they are leaving together. This opens a lot of possibilities for the second story and I'm sure it will be just as amazing as your first one. Great job!

Author's Response: Hello!! Ahh, thank you!! I'm so glad you liked the last chapter and are excited for the new story - it's coming along slowly but surely and I'm having a lot of fun exploring all the new possibilities.

Thank you for being so amazing and supportive. Reading your thoughts on all the chapters has been really encouraging and motivating and lovely, and helped me so much with planning Book II as I got to revisit the old chapters. I really don't know how to thank you properly, but it means so much!! :) ♥


 Report Review

Review #18, by mrsdeanthomas421 

1st September 2014:
Thank you so much for such a brilliant, original story. I love Tor/Terry with all my heart and I cannot wait to see where their new journey together takes them! This is genuinely one of my favorite hpff stories of all time and you deserve so much recognition for your ability to craft such a well though out, intriging story. Keep up the good work!!

Author's Response: Hello! :)

No, thank you! Thank you for reading and enjoying the story and leaving me such a lovely review. It really means so much to know that people are enjoying the story and the characters. I'm so honoured by every word you've said here and it's so encouraging and lovely.

I've been working on the sequel and am so excited to start posting it! Thanks so much again, your review really means a lot! ♥


 Report Review

Review #19, by Drummergirlred 

26th August 2014:
I stumbled on this story maybe a month or so ago after a long break from reading fan fiction. I do think it's one of the most interesting concepts I've read for HP fan fiction. I've really enjoyed reading it and look forward to the second installment.
I love when a writer is able to take AU and incorporate the cannon aspects to where I begin to question if 'this is what really happened.' I suspect that Tor will end up with Draco as cannon dictates and though I love her with Terry I'm more excited to read how Draco and Tor come together. Of course maybe that isn't going to happen and I'll just stay happy with Tor/ Terry.
Really great job.

Author's Response: Hello! :)

Wow, thank you so much for this. I'm so honoured to hear that you read the whole story and liked it, it really means so much for me to hear that.

One of the fun things about writing in the Hogwarts era is tying in the canon events and making it seem like they could be happening behind the scenes. Draco will definitely have his role in Tor's story, though things might not play out in a predictable way - if that makes any sense. :P I'm glad you're both excited about Draco/Tor but happy with Terry/Tor - it really makes me glad to see people engaging with the characters and their relationships.

Thank you so much for the wonderful review, it really made my day. ♥


 Report Review

Review #20, by nott theodore 

25th August 2014:
JENNA! ♥ ♥ ♥

Ah, I can't believe that you've actually finished this story and even though I was really apprehensive of what was going to happen in this last chapter, I'm so happy for you! Congratulations - this really is a massive achievement! Such a long novel and such a brilliant one too. I think we should be saying thank you for sharing it with us! ♥

Okay, so when I saw that this chapter was up and you'd marked the story complete I was really, really nervous. After the way you ended the last chapter I've been having nightmares that you were going to break my heart by killing Terry off at the last minute or something and I couldn't keep my eyes off the page (screen) as I read this to find out what was happening. I care so much about these characters now and hopefully that helps you feel that you've done a fantastic job on this story!

I felt so sorry for Tor at the beginning of this chapter! I could really feel her desperation and how much she wanted to be able to save Terry but she's in such a dangerous position already here and she had to try and do that without arousing any suspicion about why she was trying to save this boy from Hogwarts that she supposedly doesn't recognise or know at all. It's so difficult for her, especially when I remember that she's only just turned sixteen and she has to face all of this!

Draco was so horrible and blunt with her at the beginning of the chapter, just completely refusing to help her at all. To be honest, I can understand why he wouldn't help and just tried to forget about what was happening. I do feel sorry for him in a way because he's in a difficult position as well, especially since he's marked out as a Death Eater and is so scared of what people could do to him if he does something wrong. I kind of wanted to shout at him because if he'd voluntarily helped Tor to help Terry escape then that would have been something that really helped to redeem him, but I can understand why he didn't.

Gah, Tor's parents are so horrible! I feel so angry with them when I think of how unfair they've been to put her in the situation she's in now, where she can't confide anything in them and feels like she's not able to love the boy she wants to because of what they expect. And they don't seem to care about her that much either, just being happy to get Tor out of their hair - surely their daughter should be more important than this awful war? Oops, going to try to stop ranting at fictional characters... :P

Tor is so brave, though! I was really proud of her and seeing the way that she's grown and developed in this story. A year or so ago, she'd never have dreamed of disobeying her parents in such a serious way or of putting her life on the line for someone else in something that's so serious and deadly. Her character development through this story is really brilliant and she's already grown up so much - I'm excited to see how she continues to grow and change in the next two novels! I really love the way that you write Tor in this story and she's completely become my head canon!

I really liked Tor's plan to get Terry out of Malfoy Manor! I think that's another aspect that helps to show how much she's matured, as a year ago I don't think she'd have been able to come up with a plan like that so quickly. It's great of her to prepare and try and get all of those things that Terry needs to go on the run with, and nobody actually seems to notice anything, so she does well there. But all the way through this chapter I was just on tenterhooks and really worried that somebody was going to find her and realise what she was doing!

I know that I shouldn't condone the use of the Imperius Curse but to be honest I'm really glad that it did work this time and she's been able to do what she has to do to get Terry out of Malfoy Manor. It shows how desperate she is though that she's prepared to curse Draco and risk him finding out what her relationship with Terry is. I really liked the way you wrote the effects of the Imperius Curse and the connection between Tor's mind and Draco's, and the way that she was able to control him. She's definitely got a lot of power for that sort of magic but at least she's using it for good here.

Argh, when Christian Haynes appeared in the gardens I got so worried! It was so clever of Tor to get Terry to disguise himself as Draco, just so they could get out of the house without people suspecting anything, but I'm really worried about what's going to happen. At least they were able to get out without being stopped, but I have a feeling that Draco could get into a lot of trouble if they realise that he kind of allowed them to escape.

But yay, they got away! I'm so happy that Terry's not dead that I'd be grinning no matter what happened, I think, but it's brilliant to see Tor taking that stand. I loved the moments between them when he was trying to protect her at first from Draco realising anything about them, and then all the kisses. Plus the fact that Terry only got captured by the Snatchers because he was trying to make sure that Tor was okay is just so sweet and adorable and he's lovely and amazing! ♥

So Tor and Terry are going on the run together! She's so brave to do something like that but I can see that they kind of have to - now that they know she's a blood traitor and on the run with Terry, it's going to be so dangerous for the two of them and I'm worried about how they'll survive but still kind of excited to read more about the two of them together and what's going to happen (although it won't be easy for their relationship either, because we saw how much of a strain being on the run put on the trio's friendship).

This was an amazing last chapter to a brilliant novel, Jenna! You've not only finished it really well but set up for the next novel - I'm already intrigued about The Devil's Road! Thank you! ♥

Sian :)

 Report Review

Review #21, by marauderfan 

25th August 2014:
Jenna! Eeeep it's the last chapter! I was essentially glued to the page the entire time, my heart pounding. The suspense! I was so terrified she wouldn't be able to get Terry out in time, or that someone would catch them, or really any number of bad things that could have happened.

Brilliant way to get Terry out! I was so relieved when it all worked out, and the scene when Terry and Tor were reunited was just the sweetest thing ever. Gah, and now they're on the run together and it's the end of the story! She's a blood traitor and he's an escaped fugitive! They're like magical outlaws and it's only October, so they have a long time to go until things are safe again and askdhfaj so many feels. I'm so glad there's a lot more to this story because then I don't have to say goodbye to these characters yet, they're like friends to me now! I will keep an eye out for The Devil's Road and if somehow I miss it, then send me a PM so I can smother it with love and raving reviews.

So ahhh, congrats on finishing your first novel! That's such an amazing accomplishment and I'm so proud of you! :D Your writing style is so fantastic and even though it was great at the beginning, your writing has improved astronomically throughout the course of the story, which is so lovely as it really complements how Tor grows up and matures in the story as well. You're incredibly talented and your characters and plot are written with such insight and care, I really admire that. Please keep writing forever.

Love,
Kristin

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review