Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
16 Reviews Found

Review #1, by nott theodore 

26th April 2017:
CTF Jailbreak Review

Hi Beth! I've been meaning to get back to this story for a long time now, because I've heard so many fantastic things about it - I'm sorry my reading and reviews are going to be all out of order, but that's the nature of CTF :P

I really enjoyed reading this chapter from Scorpius's point of view. I'll admit, my first thought (coming into this in the middle of the story) at the start of the chapter wasn't "Auror Assignment", but I really liked the way that Scorpius was so panicked about Rose not being there, and it was obvious that it wasn't just because of the assignment that he has to do - it's because he cares about Rose so much. It practically sings from his every thought.

I love Albus and Scorpius as friends, and the way that Albus knows exactly what Scorpius is worrying about, even when he's not there. It's unusual, but I like seeing James and Scorpius on good terms here, too - I feel like in a lot of stories they don't seem to get on, because James holds more closely to the past.

The scene when Rose and Scorpius admitted that they loved each other was so cute! There was something kind of simple and understated about it - like they were both just saying out loud something they already knew, and I think the fact that it wasn't dramatic was really refreshing.

Scorpius's turmoil when he found out about Malfoy Manor was fantastic - so few authors actually address some of the issues that these two would have as a couple with their family histories, so that was great. Even if, you know, it wasn't actually Draco that attacked Hermione. The final scene, with Ron so protective over his daughter, was really believable, though I'm glad that he did admit it was Bellatrix, not Draco, who'd been responsible.

Sian :)

 Report Review

Review #2, by krazyboutharryginny 

26th April 2017:
Here for CTF.

I'm really impressed with this chapter. So much happened but I'm not feeling overwhelmed or confused. I think it all transitioned smoothly and it was clear how the situation was unfolding. You managed such a big range of emotions too.

Random little note: my middle name is actually Rose, and I went by that for a little while in high school. The only nickname I ever got called was Rosie. Ro never even occurred to me but I think it's brilliant! Such a cute nickname. Maybe I'll steal it. Haha.

I thought the scene at the beginning was very realistic, where Scorpius was very nervous about where Rose had gone and was totally spiralling, to the point where he was thinking about how he was going to end up homeless. As someone with anxiety... relatable. Hahaha.

It was so clear how much Scorpius adored Rose. I thought you did a fantastic job bringing across the love that he had for her and how it really coloured the entire way he looked at her. I was so nervous when she said she had to talk to him privately and turns out I had reason to be. I thought she was going to break up with him but what did happen was worse. Again, you did so well with his emotions - the sheer horror he felt at finding out something so disgusting about his own family was palpable and I thought it was really realistic that he wanted to get away from her, feeling that he didn't deserve to be near her.

I thought the end scene with Ron was fantastic. So much realistic emotion from both of them, and it was so interesting how those emotions played off of each other, and how it was a confrontation but they came to some sort of understanding. And Scorpius got answers from Ron about his family, so that was good. Hopefully that can ease his mind a little.

Really excited to read more!

-Kayla

 Report Review

Review #3, by Penelope Inkwell 

14th October 2015:
Hey Beth! Here for our review swap and so excited to be back! Here's review 1/3.

"Don’t worry, you didn’t screw up.". Haha. Friend telepathy is the best. I love how Albus is portrayed here as a true, good friend who really knows Scorpius and Rose. Their relationships don't seem surface. The friendships are believable.

The curse had passed directly over my heart, but for some reason, didn’t affect the vital organ.
--Could that have to do with the healing love spell thing from the Greengrass side of the family? Like a protection spell thing?

I love that you made Scorpius a good cook! My first (unposted) fanfic had Scorpius as one of the main characters, and it was part of my headcanon that he was a surprisingly good cook, so seeing that detail just makes me happy.

Something about Samara definitely seems off to me. I wonder if she's working for Rose's kidnappers, maybe? Or being blackmailed by them somehow--like if pressure were being put on her? Or maybe she's just had a traumatic experience, herself, and is having difficulty. Maybe she knows something. I just feel like something is going on there, something bad.

“I can’t help it,” I said not looking away from her, “She does it to me every time.”
--Ugh, now you can communicate? With James?! These two! *smacks forehead*. But it's so, so sweet. I like how Scorpius has facets. Like, there's the side of him that is super angsty and gets really angry and annihilates clearings of trees, and there's the side of him that is so sweet and thoughtful and puts others first. I love how there's a side of him that can see exactly where things are going and knows just what to say to break the tension, and another side that has no idea how to communicate with someone he knows very well and loves most. He's got a well-rounded personality.

Regulus’s room was clearly decorated by some sick, twisted, dark witch who seemed to want to evoke every depressing thought within a young wizard.
--Scorpius is so insightful! You'd have almost thought he'd met Walburga personally

This was such an interesting insight into Scorpius' home life and what a post-war Draco might have been like. I am a bit sad for the Malfoys when Scorpius asks how his father could have let Hermione's torture happen. Because we know that, at least at that moment, there was so little Draco could have done. I'm not saying he couldn't have tried, but at the end of the day? He was in so far over his head. Draco was responsible for several awful things, but I hate to see that weight on Scorpius' shoulders, and to see him wonder if it was his dad.

Oh my gosh I am SO SAD! Another TERRIBLE miscommunication! I understand that Scorpius was just so horrified and overwhelmed that communication skills were out the door--he was in zombie mode. But the fact that all he does, from Rose's perspective, is tell her she's a liar, vomit, and walk away as she cries without saying a word? Poor Rose. Poor Scorpius. Poor everyone!

Why would it matter? We could never be together. Not now. Now that I know what my family was, what they did.
--Scorpius Hyperion Malfoy, you snap out of your angst mode right now! Don't you DARE even try to throw away a beautiful relationship based on something that happened before you were even born! Snap out of it! BOYS!

I really love how you ended up having Ron being the voice of wisdom, telling Scorpius to let Rose decide what she can forgive. It gives Ron a lot more depth than just someone who blows up senselessly. I also like how you connect his anger to Hermione's torture, rather than to a generic anti-Malfoy prejudice. And how he calms down significantly once he knows that Scorpius really does love her and is truly disturbed by his family's past, once he sees that Scorpius is different.

I'm just so happy that you gave them this scene together, to kind of hash things out. Not in depth, but in this way where it feels like a very man-to-man conversation. They're both so emotional, but guarded. There aren't a lot of words, but there's an unspoken understanding. And at the end, things are a little bit better.

Okay Scorpius. Now you can even communicate with Ronald Weasley. I know--I know that you and Rose can up your communication game. I have faith.


CC:

In his panic at not finding Rose, Scorpius never actually worries for Rose. He talks a lot about how he's totally losing his job, but nothing about fear that his girlfriend is missing. This seems odd, given that Scorpius clearly loves Rose and is very concerned about her well-being, and given that there was just an attack last night staged by a group involved in her kidnapping. So it might be more in character for him to worry about Rose herself first, and then his job.

When Ron Weasley is pissed off, it usually means trouble for me.
--Here the tense changed from past to present, which seemed a little inconsistent? It might be better to say "meant"

“I love you, Scorpius” she said simply,
--There should be a comma after Scorpius.

in all the times I spent at the Potter’s over the years.
--Potter's = Potters'

to your Grandfather’s house
--in this case, I think "grandfather's" should be lower-case


As always, you've done a lovely job with this chapter. Detail, characterization--excellent. There's a setback for Rose and Scorpius, but I'm glad to see them address this, as it had to come up sometime and now they have the opportunity to address it and move forward. And I'm glad that they didn't just magically become a couple and all their communication issues were solved. They finally admitted their love for each other, but they also had a big miscommunication right after. It's obviously something they'll still have to work on, but I think that's good.

Still loving this story! Congratulations on your DOBBY! And should get to the other 2 reviews today!

--Penny

Author's Response: Hi there Penny!

I'm finally sitting down to respond to all your wonderful reviews. I wanted to have time to properly fix all they typos and look at your cc. I've added a few sentences at the beginning that I hope will show Scorpius's worry for Rose a bit more and I patched up all those grammatical errors - thanks so much for finding them!

But this review! Eeep! I feel like you really *get* my Scorpius character. He's got quite a lot going on in his pretty little head and sometimes the emotions bubble over. However, his feelings for Rose don't ever waiver, even if the two of them are not the best at communication.

You're a very insightful reader, and I love how you've picked up on little details. There is definitely something to the fact that Scorpius didn't sustain too major an injury by the violenti curse. It isn't exactly what you think, but you're right to question it.

And again, you're spot on with the scene with Ron and Scorpius. Ron doesn't necessarily blame him because he's a Malfoy - it's very much tied into the fact that Hermione was tortured at Malfoy manor during the war. I might've mentioned this before, but I actually went and wrote the story of her dealing with and recovering from PTSD from that. It's currently a WIP, but I have it all planned out.

And thanks for the congrats! I'm so, so, SO excited about the Dobby award!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #4, by MrsJaydeMalfoy 

21st September 2015:
Aw, yay!! I'm so happy that things are somewhat okay between them now! I just hope that Scorpius will stop being ridiculous and NOT distance himself from Rose!

I also really love that everyone has this awesome place to go blow off steam when they're upset.

Another great chapter, and I'm off to the next!

Author's Response: Hello,

Yeah, the Forest of Dean has been a welcome relief for many of the stresses of the gang. Scorpius always feel a like a little bit of a loner, so Rose has to tread lightly in that regard - and she does (mostly).

But - haha! I feel like you know the characters SO well :)

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #5, by Tonks1247 

11th July 2015:
HEYA! I’ve returned for a couple more chapters! I’m trying to get through all the currently posted chapters before a new one comes out, but I’m not quite sure if I’ll manage (Though I’ve done a lot better than expected so far…)

So. Again, I love Scorpius’ POV. I’ll try to make it the last time I mention that fact but he is just…his mind is so interesting and I love how he reacts to things. It’s not always what I expect, until I look back on it afterwards. It’s nice, to have his character still be able to surprise me…makes me love him a little bit more.

You gave a lot, without a lot in this chapter. Scorp and Rose saying I love you to each other was really, really sweet. I sort of wish Rose would have had better timing with telling Scorpius about her mum and stuff. Especially because I don’t feel she had enough information to tell him yet, as it seems like he has always struggled with being a Malfoy, especially with Ron making it a big deal, and for her to say it occurred at Malfoy Manner but not name names? It sucks, but at the same time, I can see where Rose is coming from to tell him…

As for running into Ron? Haha, kinda to be expected! It took a while (like, honestly as I was writing this) for me to realize where the Ron section from the last chapter fit in. I’m going to blame it on the fact that I need to sleep, but I was honestly slow on that fact…But. I do like how that sort of brought Ron and Scorpius together, so at least they have an understanding of each other. Also brought on my favourite line:

“Nice place, isn’t this? Harry told me about it. Apparently, Albus brought him here a few months ago, to blow off steam…”

I giggled quite a bit at that….

ALSO: I don’t know why (though I have this sneaking suspicion) that something is up with Samara…I’m definitely not ready to share the idea yet, as I’d like to see a little bit more of her before I let myself go for the idea, but this doesn’t help my case: “I could see why James was attracted to her, but I always felt a little bit like she wasn’t his type – I just couldn’t put my finger on it.”

With that, I think that’s all I have to say on this chapter…it was quite fantastic and I’m looking forward to the next! :D
-Mikaela

Author's Response: Hi Mikaela,

Gah - your words are so kind - especially regarding my characterization of Scorpius. I know I've said it before, but it's definitely something that I worry about - I want him to be relatable and damaged, but not wimpy. Thanks so much.

Rose didn't want the news of her Mum to weigh on her. I think she realizes that she kept so much from Scorpius (and everyone else) for so long that it just brought her to a dark place. She's now found him and their love is growing that she didn't want anything to get in the way of their future.

I'm glad you can see where Ron's POV fit in - I really didn't want him to be the bad guy here - because he's not. It was just too difficult to portray that when I was writing first person POV with both Rose and Scorp - neither of them can really get a good view of what Ron is going through.

Haha - yeah - the 'venting place' comes full circle. Scorpius brings Albus who brings Harry who brings Ron :D

Samara... oh. Well, since you're not ready to share the idea - then maybe I won't comment?

As always, thank you so much!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #6, by crestwood 

12th June 2015:
I'm laughing really hard at the idea of wizards bewitching Muggles to think that they saw aliens. That's just such a funny idea.

I've always wondered about Samara. She just doesn't seem all that open with the group as far as I can remember.

I wasn't expecting to see Regulus' name in this story. It's not an important part but my heart still jumped a little when I saw it. I'm ridiculously obsessed with a fictional character who barely even showed up in the books.

It's really sad seeing Scorpius find out about what his family did. He obviously had an idea of how bad they were, but not the scope of things. I was expecting he and Al to visit their venting forest! I really love the way you describe these scenes. The emotion is papable when you write about this place.

The understanding between Ron and Scorpius was nice to see here. You always make the interactions in this story so believable. I have no clue how you managed to plan such an intricate storyline. And the fact that it's your first story just makes it all the more impressive!

Slytherin - House Cup 2015 Review

Author's Response: Hi Joey!

Hee hee - the alien thing just came to me. I thought it would be a good explanation for why people think they see aliens :D

Hmmm... Samara. She's a *little* bit older than this group - and she's American, so she doesn't quite fit in as well.

Aw, Regulus is awesome. His room is dark and brooding - like I imagine he was.

Al is with Selenia for right now, but Scorp needed to hear what Ron had to say. Those two have a ways to go before they completely understand each other but for right now, they can find common ground in their feelings for Rose.

Thank you so much Joey - I love all these reviews!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #7, by merlins beard 

6th May 2015:
Hi again.

I would have totally freaked out if I was Scorpius. Waking up the morning after a huge attack to find your girlfriend gone?
She REALLY should have left a note somewhere!!

Oh wow, Rose is really developing. She knows she needs to talk to Scorpius about this and I'm really happy that she does.

He really does take it as well as could be expected. I totally get that he just has to get out of there. Blowing off steem seems to be really important for wizards. I guess it would be hard to control all that magical energy if you were really angry.

I'm glad Ron knows everything. That last bit with him and Scorpius - I really thought it was a Death Eater coming up behind Scorp. Then, for a moment I thought he had hexed Ron before realizing who it was.
I'm so happy Ron tries to accept Scorpius now, and not even for Scorpius' sake. I think Ron owes it to Rose.

I'm off to the next chapter (after I grab some more cookies from the kitchen)

Love
~Anja

Author's Response: Haha!

You are at least the third reviewer to suggest a note and I can't think of why that thought never occurred to me. :)

Good point about controlling magical energy. It's gotta be an issue where strong emotions are concerned.

Ron and Scorpius have a long way to go. And while Ron isn't going to be singing for joy at this - at least he can recognize that his daughter is happy.

Thanks again!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #8, by RupertsPheonix 

27th March 2015:
So glad that Rose finally opened up to Scorpius and they moved forward in their relationship!

Whoa, that action scene in the pub was itntense. Loved the moment afterwards with Ginny, Rose, and Hermione!

I love Sassy!Rose. There's that sarcasm again - "James and Fred aren't aurors." LOL. So glad that Scorpius recognizes this quality and appreciates it, too.

Oh, no, Ron's outbursts... Yikes. When Harry said "administrative action" I literally felt my eyes grow wide. But, oh, be still my heart, when you went into a third person point of view about Ron. His thoughts about post-Bellatrix's torture and how he cared for Hermione...And how that mirrors how Scorpius took care of Rose after the break in at the flat... Oh, Lawd, the feels.

The moment between Ron and Scorp in the forest. Yes. Perfect.

Onto another few chapters,
Kate/rp

Author's Response: Hi again, Kate!

I'm so excited you've noticed the little points where Rose's real character is coming through. When she's healing others, she isn't focusing on her own issues, and is more herself. Haha - yeah, Scorp's in deep at this point.

Thanks so much for your comments about Harry and Ron. I've gotten a mixed reaction regarding my version of Harry, and I've taken a bit into consideration, but I do think he would've grown up a bit while Ron... is always going to be a bit clueless and passionate. I actually tried to leave Ron's POV out of the story, because it broke my pattern of Rose/Scorp first person POV. However, I'm glad I left it in. We needed to see Ron's perspective and redeem his character a bit. I didn't want Ron to only be seen through Rose's eyes - she's biased, having been raised by him. :)

Heehee - I love the forest scene too. Those two guys have a LOT in common - they just have to get past the fact that they don't like each other :)

Thanks again - I don't know if I mentioned it earlier, but these reviews were such a marvelous surprise and I can't tell you how much they mean to me!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #9, by Ranger 

3rd December 2014:
Someone should tell him that Draco did nearly kill several people including Ron.

Author's Response: Hello,

Yeah - Scorpius doesn't know that. His parents didn't discuss the war with him and Draco pretty much turned into a recluse after the war. Then Draco and Astoria were killed, so Scorpius never got the real story. He only just found out about Hermione's torture.

~Beth


 Report Review

Review #10, by luciusobsessed 

21st August 2014:
Yay I love this Ron/Scorp bonding time, it makes me so happy. I think Ron just had to cool off and realize that Scorp is nothing like his father. And now I'm in the mood for soup and bread haha :))

Author's Response: Haha - great review! Soup and bread sound fantastic.

Ron isn't going to completely forgive Scorpius just yet - but this was a good first step for the two of them. I think Ron knows in his head that Scorpius is different than Draco, but old grudges die hard and he can't easily forget what Hermione went through.

Thanks again ♥

Beth


 Report Review

Review #11, by LightLeviosa5443 

20th August 2014:
AH THIS CHAPTER WAS SO GOOD.

I loved how Scorpius freaked out and then cooked. Like to get over it and calm himself down he distracted himself by cooking. I need to meet someone who does that. I demand to be fed. I will stress you out so you cook so I can be fed. Okay, right, your story, not my insane need to eat all the time.

I love James. He like, doesn't get it, but he does. He's the comedic relief. He really is. And it's so perfect and it works and what he said to Scorpius makes me laugh. I like seeing the contrast between James and Albus. Like it's perfect. It makes sense. It works. It's necessary. I don't know what I'm saying anymore.

My favorite part of this whole chapter was Ron being there at the end. I think it was really wonderful to see that moment of clarity between the men and having them have that moment. I really just really enjoyed it. This chapter was wonderful. Perfect.

xoxo Sarah ♥

Author's Response: Hey again,

I think we needed a bit of comedy after the slew of emotionally intense chapters, huh? Even if it was only for a few moments. James *is* the comic relief. The typical Quidditch jock, he doesn't take himself too seriously - or anyone else for that matter. Albus, on the other hand, takes himself entirely too seriously...

I love your phrasing - it's perfect! Scorp and Ron did have a bit of a moment, didn't they. I don't think this one bit of clarity is going to fix everything, but I think *both* of the men are on their way to understanding - and accepting each other. Even if they come from completely different backgrounds, the women they love have so much in common with each other, they are going to have to start admitting their own similarities.

Thanks again, sweetie!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #12, by kenpo 

5th August 2014:
Hello! BvB battle!!

Okay. I totally loved this chapter.

At the beginning, I'd hate to be Scorpius. He's so worried about doing anything wrong, and then they go and leave?! Come on, they could've left a note! That's just bad manners! Tsk tsk!

Okay, I loved Ron in this chapter. I think everything that you've done with him makes perfect sense!

I love the way that this is next-gen, but it ties so closely with what happened in DH. You're showing how the effects of what happened are going to keep happening. That doesn't make sense, but I hope you know what I mean. I'm not having a very good day for being coherent.

I loved the insight into Scorpius' view of his family. His father is cold and distant and wants him to be more like his mother. That was an awesome statement, by the way. You showed that Draco cared about his son, and loved his wife, and felt shame and everything.

Then Scorpius learned how to cook the muggle way! And he knows about how insane Bellatrix was!

I'm really glad that Scorpius knows that his father didn't personally torture Hermione. That doesn't make things a whole lot better, but it's got to be a small little ray of comfort.

Scorpius is such a good character :(. I really feel bad for him, and Rose! She's heartbroken and confused and so is he and this is one of those bumps you were talking about, wasn't it ;)

Great chapter!!!

-Georgia

Author's Response: Hey Georgia

So glad you approve of Ron. He is a *really* great dad - but he just doesn't know how to control his emotions when it comes to his daughter.

Haha - you're the second person to suggest a note and I honestly didn't even think about it! I'm just as rude as Al and Rose!

I LOVE that you *get* what I'm saying with these characters. I've tried really hard to tie in themes and similar situations from the books. Thank you!

Draco was pretty cold to his son and wife. He got worse as the years went on and Scorpius, being an angry teenager took it as a lack of love, when it was really a deflection. Draco wanted Scorpius to find his own way.

I really liked that character trait of Scorpius, because I like to cook and when I'm cooking for my family, it's a way of showing them how much I care for them. It is also a way that Scorpius can feel close to his Mum, although she has passed.

It was really important for Scorpius to know Hermione wasn't tortured by Draco. I don't know if he could've move past that. He is still going to struggle with the way his family treated Rose's (MUCH more to come on that front...), but for now he is content to know that Ron is alright with it - he just needs to see where Rose is at (next chap).

Yeah, this is one of those bumps. There will be more, but I'm SO glad you feel so good about the characters!

Thanks again - for all of your awesome reviews!

Beth


 Report Review

Review #13, by MargaretLane 

5th August 2014:
*laughs at the description of the homeless wizards*

Yikes, I didn't realise Ron didn't know about their relationship. What a way to find out!

Actually, talking about abandoning your kids, I've a spin-off from The Rise of the A.W.L. where well, let's put it this way, the rejection is a good deal more extreme than Ron's.

And I absolutely LOVE the way Scorpius sees Rose as being beautiful in EVERY way, not just in her physical appearance, because after all, physical beauty doesn't always last. People age, get scarred, all kinds of things. The way Scorpius describes Rose indicates he truly loves her for who she is and not just as a good-looking girl. It's a pity Ron can't see how he feels about her.

And hmm, that's interesting, that he feels Samara and James aren't really suited, but can't quite articulate why.

I like the fact that Lucius was jailed after the war in this. Most versions have him reprieved and the books do seem to hint that way, but in a way, it makes more sense for him to go to Azkaban, as he didn't even finish his previous sentence.

And I think it makes sense that Draco wouldn't have told his son much, if anything about the war. After all, how do you say, "as a kid, I was a pureblood supremacist who joined the Death Eaters and agreed to kill my Headmaster, then was forced into continuing to support them even after I began to realise I was in WAY too deep, as they threatened your grandparents and then one of the most evil wizards in history set up his headquarters in our home. And by the way, your grandfather caused a child to be bewitched into committing crimes just to discredit that child's father." Yeah, not an easy thing to explain.

I think what Harry, Ron and Hermione would have told their children is more open to interpretation, but again it is credible they'd have said nothing. An Irish celebrity whose father fought in World War I said he never spoke of it. And it certainly makes life easier. I managed to tie myself up in knots figuring out what Rose and Albus knew and what they didn't and I KNOW I am going to contradict myself over the details somewhere.

Aw, that's kind of sad, that Draco tells his son he's more like his mother than like him. In the context, it sounds like he is pleased his son isn't like him, because he is ashamed of himself.

I really like the way you portray the effects of the war on various characters - Hermione's trauma, Draco's shame. It makes sense that such horrific events would have lingering effects.

Oh, when he talks about spending time at the Potters', the apostrophe should be after the "s" as there is more than one Potter.

Oh poor Scorpius. This is bound to be a shock to him, but he shouldn't blame himself. It happened before he was born.

I'm glad he found out it wasn't his father.

Author's Response: Hello,

I'm glad you liked my description :).

It seems we have many story-plots in common! I can't wait to read all of yours!

So glad you noticed about Scorp seeing her beauty in more than just the physical sense - he really loves everything about her.

You seem to notice *all* the little tidbits I put into the story. James is a Quidditch playboy and Samara is an American witch who is an international liason to the ministry of magic. She is very professional - and a little older than James. I think it just strikes Scorpius as a little off from the girls he normally dates. Besides, he doesn't usually date them for very long...

I've a few relatives who fought in wars (Vietnam and WWII) and none of them would ever talk about it. Plus, when you have your own children, there is a hope that their life will be better - and without war. I really think it is plausible that *both* sides cling to that hope for their children and want them to live a life without war being a part of it. I also think there is a natural tendency to protect your child from unpleasantness. Discussing the most horrible things that have happened to you might be a bit tough.

Exactly right with Draco! My version is that he was very depressed and never recovered from his family's downfall. He wanted Scorpius to be more like Astoria - and wasn't upset that he was sorted into Ravenclaw.

Scorpius has his own demons. He is still trying to sort out who he is - and still overcoming his parents deaths.

Thank you, thank you, thank you!


 Report Review

Review #14, by Reader L 

2nd August 2014:
Can I please say that your story is more than addictive, it is everything is a story has to be , it is mysterious, it has deep emotions and actions flowing, and it has light comedy in it, let's not forget the fact that you matched everything perfectly. Bravo I love your story and I hope you will update soon .

Author's Response: Hello!

I'm so sorry for not responding to this sooner, but your review completely MADE MY DAY! I seriously have a huge smile plastered across my face right now. The next chapter is in the queue - so it should be coming along soon.

Thank you so much for your kind words!

Beth


 Report Review

Review #15, by Paddlewaddle 

31st July 2014:
I have so many thoughts about this I just can't pin point. I like where this is going and the development of the characters. I really really like how this chapter developed into something that was earth shattering for Scorpius to find out what had happened and the guilt he felt for being with Rose after what his family did. The best part though, was Rose's reassurance that she did love him despite knowing everything and that just reaffirms their unconditional emotional support for each other. I can't wait for the next chapter!

Author's Response: Hi Paddlewaddle,

Thank you for this lovely review! I am worried that this chapter (and the next) were a little overly dramatic, but it is a drama, so I guess it's okay - haha! Scorpius is having a really tough time with this, but he has to realize that he doesn't have control over his family's actions. I don't think he's going to get that message for quite some time. It's hard to remove yourself from family members when the entire wizarding world judges you based on your last name.

Thanks again - for all your reviews!

Beth


 Report Review

Review #16, by CambAngst 

30th July 2014:
Hi, Beth!

This review will be a bit shorter than my usual because I'm writing it on my phone. Challenging. But don't think for a moment that I enjoyed the chapter any less!

I could see Rose and Al not wanting to wake Scorpius up after the horrible day he had before, but come on, people! Leave a note or something! I can't imagine the gut-wrenching anxiety that caused. I liked that he retreated into cooking as a coping mechanism. You drew out such amazing contrasts between different aspects of Scorpius's family in this chapter. The mother who taught him to cook like a muggle. The father who was cold and withdrawn because he wanted to protect his son from the shame and horrors of his past. The grandparents who died in disgrace for their crimes. And lastly the insane aunt who nearly destroyed his beloved's mother. No wonder he went kind of bonkers. It's a lot to get your head around.

I felt really badly for Rose. I know that's not how she wanted that conversation to go, but I admire her courage in having the conversation in the first place. She couldn't have realized how it would affect Scorpius, and I really hope that she doesn't end up taking his reaction too badly. I could definitely see how she might.

I feel like you redeemed Ron completely in this chapter. It came through loud and clear that he wants -- demands, really -- what's best for Rose. It's not a personal thing between him and Scorpius. His willingness to honestly confront what happened at Malfoy Manor was also pretty big of him. I was also impressed with Scorpius, the way he opened up about his feelings for Rose. I just hope that he can actually get those words out to her sometime soon. Ron's parting wisdom was sage. Scorpius should definitely listen to him.

Awesome chapter! Now I'm on the edge of my seat to see how Rose and Scorpius mend this.

Author's Response: Wow!

You typed this all on your phone with zero typos? I wouldn't even attempt that - bravo!

Hah - I actually didn't even think of leaving a note, but you AND another reviewer mentioned it. What bad etiquette on Rose and Al's part!

Scorpius's cooking with his Mum was a way for me to keep her close to him, even after death. It comes up several times in the story and reflects my own view that cooking a good meal is a way to show love for your family and friends (can you tell I'm from a large, Italian family? - haha).

Rose wasn't sure how that conversation would go at all. She was ready to accept any reaction he had, but she didn't expect him to walk out. She knows that Scorpius has issues with his family - and that he has taken some hits in the past because they were on the dark side during the war.

You hit it just right with Scorpius. The demons that haunt him from his family's past are far from over. He feels a responsibility to pay for them, although they weren't his doing. Probably why he's become an Auror.

Thanks for the note about Ron. He sees the similarities between how Scorpius cares for Rose and how he's cared for Hermione. I don't think he's going to *completely* let Scorpius off the hook for being a Malfoy just yet, but this was a big step.

Thanks again!

Beth


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review