Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
9 Reviews Found

Review #1, by TidalDragon 

23rd August 2015:
Well, I'm definitely interested to see what happens re: Laurel and her relapse. But this chapter was well and truly about Tristan and I think it's important to focus on that and the potential fracturing of the friend group.

I really felt for Tristan here. Though you essentially revealed it I think in the previous scene with Sprout, Tristan is, apparently, adopted, which could account for some issues. But more than that he's firmly in the throes of this depression. It's a very dark place and a very dark mindset he's in, despite he's pretending otherwise and it's certainly causing him to make bad choices - caving to Laurel, snogging Laurel. But I don't think he believes in himself or can muster up the emotion enough because of his depression to believe that anything could come of a relationship or deeper connection with Emily, who represents a real path forward as ultimately the most balanced (I think) of the quartet.

In this state, I think it's unsurprising he rebuffs Sprout and I don't know that she'll be able to help him going forward, but I do hope she continues to try or that someone breaks through. Though I don't know for sure, the end of the chapter seems to be strongly alluding to a suicide attempt on his part given what we know of: (1) the depth of his depression, (2) the fact it's worsening, (3) the exceptions Sprout mentioned, and (4) the self-harm he engages in at the end of the chapter.

You're tackling some HEAVY stuff here Roisin, but you do it so well and I'm on the edge of my seat waiting to see what comes next and the aftermath of it.

Author's Response: You know I really have to commend you for recognizing Tristan's depression in a nuanced way :) Like, I wrote it in a way where the /frustrating-ness/ was very central, because I think a lot of people (especially young people) sort of dismiss depression in their friends (though I do think the world is changing around that, but even just ten years ago I def saw people do that to people, and this story is the 90s). Like, they just think someone is being "moody" or "angsty." And Tristan is definitely flawed, but YES, these 'flaws' are, indeed, DEPRESSION.

And honestly, while writing this, even I didn't know what was coming or what was going to happen. Then I realized THAT WAS TOTALLY GONNA HAPPEN AND WAS ALWAYS GONNA HAPPEN. So again, props to you. In a way, I think writing about Tristan here sort of gave me a more nuanced understanding. Like, I came to really get it by writing about it. And the story really did just sort of take on a life of it's own, to the point that I almost didn't feel in control of what was going to happen, and like the characters were behaving of their own free will, or demanding that certain stories get told.

But then again, of course I went back and edited and smoothed all that out to make the story work once I wrote through the end and figured out what happened ;)


 Report Review

Review #2, by water_lily43175 

7th June 2015:
Okay so Tristan can see Thestrals. INTERESTING. Oh no, no no Laurel don't do it DON'T DO IT. :(

You know, it's a sad thought, but Tristan and Laurel really don't seem good for each other as friends at the moment. They both seem at that point where it's too easy for them to drag each other down. DON'T DO IT GUYS IT WON'T END WELL.

It's also quite sad, really, that Tristan has this mentality of "my friend has a problem but I can't do anything about it so I'll leave it to the other girls". He's doing it with Isobel, and to some extent with Laurel as well. I guess it's partly his personality ANYWAY, and his current mental state doesn't help things. But he's not the first to notice Isobel isn't eating, and if only he said something to Emily, I can't help but think that would spur her on to do something. And instead he just shrugs it off as someone else's responsibility.

But then, I guess that's what they've all been doing about Laurel. Sigh. Kids. Struggles. Teenage years are tough.

And yet having typed all that, Emily and Tristen manage to convince Laurel between them to take food to Isobel. So I guess they are both trying to help. Rambly review alert.

I like Tristan's musings on the Hogwarts Houses. I DO like them, on the whole, and I don't think Hogwarts would be the same without them, but more needs to be done to encourage people to integrate more and to stereotype less.

Oh poor angsty Tristan. I NEED TO KNOW MOAR.

-Ellie

Author's Response: Yeah, Laurel and Tristan are a bit different in the mind department, but they both have a tendency towards self-loathing. I think they have this idea that they can Just Be Themselves together, but they HATE themselves and so they end up just doing really self-destructive horrible things. Junkie Love. So it goes. (OH YEAH, and this was all foreshadowed back in the trippy-potion chapter! The 'junkie love' song Em and Tristan are listening to when the Slytherins show up is called "Drain You" [in itself apt] and the lyrics go like "chew your meat for you / pass it back and forth / in a passionate kiss / from my mouth to yours" which is very icky, and very much describes Laurel/Tristan... ANDANDAND, since I see you read "Interrupted" already, I can say that it's implied that Emily [while psychic] read Tristan's mind and found out he'd made out with Laurel after his birthday. But she's historically pretty sexually active so that didn't bother her much, since she could also tell it was more a "being really intoxicated" thing than a "they LIKE like each other" thing)

Ramble ramble.

UGH, their total inability to cope with Isobel is, unfortunately, pretty accurate to what I remember :( I knew people to suffer with anorexia nervosa, and a WEIRD amount of people sorta shrugged it off or just tried to ignore it. Or didn't even notice at all even when it's ABSURDLY obvious. Plus: the nineties. I think people are a bit more aware today about things like mental health issues, and more open to talking about them.

Yeah, I too love the Houses, but there are some valid points. Even Dumbledore thinks they Sort too young, and I kinda suspect that people might be too complicated to just divide up 4 ways and call it a day. But still, the Houses are fun!

YOUR REVIEWS ARE THE LIGHT OF MY LIFE!
xoxo
Roisin



 Report Review

Review #3, by Slide 

5th June 2015:
Huh, did we already know Tristan could see thestrals? Damn my memory. WELL NOW I KNOW. Yet more clues for my wall of crazy conspiracy.

And so do we see how fragile Tristan's moods are; on the one hand, the music catapults him upward, breaking him out of that cycle, but on the other, he's clearly much, much quicker to descend.

Then descend into the situation with Laurel. On the one hand, it doesn't seem ideal for the two of them to feed off each other; on the other, they both feel completely misunderstood and/or like they'd be letting down Isobel and Emily if they were honest.

And THEN they all feed off each other's damage and buttons. Which is very compelling from a reader perspective, but yet again makes me want to facepalm. I love these poor, damaged kids. Really, send the lot to Sprout. :D

Oh hey a Sprout scene.

I LOVE the comparison with the Death Eater gangs. Obviously these guys aren't about to become genocidal terrorists, but the simple reminder of such people living as teenagers and how they interacted with society is so nice.

Mmm worldbuilding. All beautifully logical and also with its implied consequences. I love it.

A great chapter for rounding out not just Tristan's descent, but offering all these clues on everyone else's.

Author's Response: That was the first Thestral reveal, no worries!

'Fragile' is an excellent word to describe Tristan's moods. And yeah, he's very quick to close in on himself and start digging himself into sadness holes that he can't get out of. It's weird, I'd originally planned on Tristan being this handsome, sexy, whatever character who was a lot more charming, but I think he turned into something more interesting. Then I went and decided on Craig Roberts for a faceclaim (whom I find ODDLY attractive, but is not traditionally good looking) and I think imagining him playing the role resulted in something more complex and less lame.

Laurel and Tristan are definitely different in the mind department, but are similar in that both suffer from self-loathing. They have this idea that they can just Be Themselves together, but since they hate themselves, they end up just indulging that together and making poor choices.

Yes! My mom used to say that sometimes people who are kind of pushing against boundaries or rebelling from the status quo can take it too far, and lose sight of what lines not to cross (think Michael Alig). So while the Hex Heads are NOT the Death Eaters (or Michael Alig), there is something of a similar MO going on.

Ah yes, the rural wizards! The canon note that some families home-school, combined with the American stereotype of "hicks" or "hillbillies," plus the existence of the Gaunts, plus the Village Witch archetype resulted in that inexorable headcanon!

Thank you sososo much for these reviews! I started reading Starfall, so expect a flurry from me soon :D





 Report Review

Review #4, by Gabriella Hunter 

11th October 2014:
Hello!

This is Gabbie from the forums with your review and it's good to be back! I was wondering what our gang would be up to after that last chapter and I'm really not disappointed at all. I'm feeling a little scared though, I think that they're all about to head towards a crossroads.

I'm not honestly not sure where either of them will end up though. We're back with Tristan's POV and while I was reading, I couldn't help but think that he has a very clear way of observing the others around him. There isn't a lot of sugar coating or lies, Tristan is very honest about how he feels and how the relationships with his friends has changed. I do wonder though if this lull he's going through is ever going to change, I'm concerned that his own issues are starting to swallow him up. The lack of interest in his classes and the monotonous day to day activities would drive anyone mad. I went through a similar phase and it took a very nasty emotional cleansing (In the form of a lot of crying to my mama) to get it all out.

Not sure if Tristan is ready to take that step though. What worried me was the moment that he had with Laurel and the guilt that followed after, not only did he Charm her but they also pushed their relationship into a different direction. I'm not sure if two people who are suffering can really create anything out of that but it was interesting to see that Tristan acknowledged their faults and took that leap.

Of course, now their friendship might be in danger. Isobel obviously knows what happens and while she didn't voice her thoughts, Tristan isn't blind to the fact that she disapproves. I do wonder when she'll talk about it though but I'm guessing that it won't be while the others are around. Also, I hope someone helps her with this rapid weight loss that she's going through, eating disorders are no joke.

^^^In regards to her eating disorder, I do like the description you gave of how much her body had changed. It really had me worried but was easy to envision, I kind of hoped that Tristan would tell someone but now I'm worried that it might be too late.

Now, the entire conversation with Pomona was a very good one! It gave me some more insights into Tristan's mind and his rant about the Sorting was very spot on. I could understand his views but it's apparent that there's much more about him that he's unwilling to say. The fact that he's had counseling before only proves that he's holding a lot in and knows how to play the game in a way where he'll win. Or at least, pretend to win for a moment.

That ending though! Ah, I think that you wrote it very well, actually. We got a bit more of a glimpse into Tristan's past and what might be troubling him but at the same time, a new problem emerges. It wasn't written in a glorified way or very graphic but the scene had enough power to really grip me. That's always the perfect balance.

So, anyway this was a great chapter and I'm waiting for the next! I've got about five other stories in my thread though but I'll announce when I'm empty again!

Much love,

Gabbie

Author's Response: Hello!

I'm so glad you said that about their approaching a crossroads, because this movement of the story is very much about building up the tension.

I think everyone goes through a phase like that at some point, to varying degrees. Crying to mamas is definitely the cure, and yeah, I don't think Tristan is quite there yet.

Tristan/Laurel is a lot of bad things, but dishonest it is not. Endangering friendship, however, is a very real concern.

With Isobel, I think it's much easier to pick up on her issues as a reader, because we get to flit between all of their heads, so we get every clue. For her friends, it takes them a lot longer to put something together that we've known for ages. And then even longer to figure out what to say or do. I'm really glad you liked the way I described her deterioration. Our culture tends to fetishize being underweight, but seeing someone you love wither away and stop looking like themself isn't beautiful.

I thought really critically about my faceclaim for Isobel, and came into some trouble: on the one hand, I really wanted pictures of someone who shared her ancestry, on the other, I wanted someone who shared her body type. It turned out to be impossible to do both, so I ended up going with an actress of arguably middle-eastern descent (but only *arguably*), who had the right figure. Kat Dennings, who is extra gorgeous and beautiful and zomg, also happens to have had a BMI of at least 27 when most of the photos were taken - which would technically indicate being overweight, even edging towards obese. This is, of course, why the BMI is a NONSENSE indicator, that doesn't account for individual variation (Dennings is extremely voloptuous). The place where I imagined Isobel being at right now with her weight is not actually any different from most actresses and models - but rapid weight loss is unhealthy, and people have different body types. Many just do not look good at 110 pounds, because that isn't a healthy weight for them.

Ramble ramble. ANYway,

I loved writing Tristan from Sprout's POV! And I love what you said about him 'playing the game.' That is SO the perspective he had.

As for the end, man that was difficult. I really, really didn't want to write about that - but I realized it was kind of unrealistic not to. This story was supposed to be this unflinching look at common teenage troubles, and that one is very unfortunately common. But yeah, I flinched. Not glamorizing is so important in writing, but also hard, because creative writing is by nature aesthetic. To write anything is, in some way, to glamorize it, so I ended up choosing very sort of matter-of-fact language, and not going into detail. I figured it's a heavy enough thing on its own, and I didn't need to give it any more weight by adding more detail.

I'm so glad you found it balanced, and I hope people think I handled it with tact.

ON THAT SUPER DOWNER NOTE, thank you so much for this review! I'm sure you can tell by my rambling that you raised a lot of interesting points.

xoxo
Roisin





 Report Review

Review #5, by AlexFan 

10th October 2014:
Oh no, DON’T DO IT LAUREL! AVOID THE TEMPTATION, DON’T DO IT! On the other hand, as much as it saddens me that Laurel succumbed to her want, it’s realistic and something that happens to plenty of people. Just because someone is out of rehabilitation doesn’t mean that they’re completely fixed, the want to fall back on the old habits is still going to be there, and for some, they want it so much that they’re willing to risk going back to their addiction in order to satisfy that want.

I always say that relationships in a group of friends is a bad idea because stuff like what went on between Tristan and Laurel happens. Everything gets awkward and people start taking sides and it’s no longer just friends anymore feelings get involved and things get messy. But I guess I can kind of see where the temptation is, when you feel broken and like no one else will care, you might be attracted to someone that feels similarly.

I kind of feel bad for Emily though, she’s so left out of the loop and she must be wondering what’s going on with her friends and why they’re all acting weirdly.

That bit when Pomona was talking about the family’s the fit stereotypes and therefore were seen as the poster people for magical families is so true, especially in fandoms. Every fandom has it’s good people and it’s bad people, and even though the good are predominant, it’s the unkind ones that everyone always looks at and uses as a guideline for every other fan in the fandom.

Tristan is entering into even more dangerous territory here. He needs to open up to someone about his problems, Emily seems like she’s more than willing to listen to any problems that her friends might have but it seems like no one wants to talk about their problems. All of Tristan’s friends are so concerned with helping the other that they completely forget to take care of themselves and to deal with their own issues.

Author's Response: GAH, I KNOW! This story was so hard to write at times, because these characters do so many things I don't like. So I'm really glad for what you said about it being realistic, and that she wouldn't just be super fixed after. That's why I wrote it, because if I was going to handle addiction, I didn't want to make it seem like someone could just go to rehab and then be 100% better.

Right?! Laurel and Tristan are super jeopardizing their friendship. I definitely didn't approve of their actions, but I'm glad you thought I made a good case for their reasoning nonetheless.

And yes! Emily is definitely the one who demands my sympathy in this situation :(

Dude, confirmation bias is SUCH A BIG PROBLEM. Way too often, people let a very small minority of some group reaffirm their perspective of the whole group. Confirmation bias is usually how people justify racism, or pretty much any other prejudice ever.

What you said about everyone being so concerned with other people's issues that they don't deal with their own is *super on point.* And actually, kind of got me to thinking. Throughout this whole section of the story, Laurel is very kind of selfish and self-absorbed. Then again, she's like the only person who's dealing with her own stuff. It kind of begs the question of which strategy is the most healthy. Like most questions in this story, that is very much up to the reader to interpret.

Thank you so much for leaving such a thoughtful and insightful review. This one especially meant a lot to me!

xoxo
-Roisin


 Report Review

Review #6, by crestwood 

10th September 2014:
It's like 7 in the morning and I haven't slept and I'm beginning to think this is the only time of day I'll ever read this story.

This line hit me so hard 'he was nearing the end of a long fought war with himself, and both sides were losing.' You've really made it painfully clear that Tristan is in an even worse place than usual. As a reader, I can almost feel the crash coming very, very soon. Laurel overall does seem better than before, other than her short-lived moment of weakness. In a way, it was a step in the right direction, as at least she wasn't self spelling again.

Isobel rebuilding Tristan's stereo is both a great gesture and an awesome way for me to get excited over your choices of music some more! Laurel's birthday was going okay at first - maybe the groups first normal time together since Laurel hexed out. But then she and Tristan had to go and ruin it. I had a feeling something similar happened at his party as well. These two have a thing for birthdays I guess. I do hope this doesn't shake up the group dynamic as Isobel fears. I wonder how Emily would react if she found out. I wasn't aware that Tristan knew about how she felt about him, but it makes sense that he would do nothing about it and continue to snog Laurel, who he knows has no real feelings for him. It aligns perfectly with his idea that he doesn't deserve someone who cares and how he'd just hurt her and on and on. That boy has some serious self esteem issues.

Sprout really tried her best with Tristan. She really did. I can't discredit her efforts at all. It's just that - Tristan is not Laurel. He has not yet reached a point at which he is emotionally vulnerable enough to allow her questions to get to him. He's very much still guarded and he knows just what she'll throw at him before she even gets a chance to. He's constantly a step ahead of anyone attempting to help him. He doesn't want the help. At least not now, and he wont accept it. Something big is going to have to happen before he's accepting any assistance from Sprout or anyone else. Like he says, he prefers to keep the bad beneath the surface because talking about it makes it real.

I love to read your ideas about both American and the rural UK Wizards that live on the fringes of society. I imagine that Americans would have a totally separate culture to British Wizards and the extremely poor in Wizarding society would certainly have a different way of going about things, not having much contact with other Wizards in their environment.

Once again, you've managed to find things about the Wizarding world that I've never thought of and force me to consider them for the first time. It's remarkable that you can still surprise me, 14 chapters in. I can't wait until I get to read the next chapter, these reviews practically leave themselves.

Author's Response: I am SO GLAD you liked that line! I was SO proud of that! (Weirdly, another thing that came out of studying for finals--except I was referring to procrastination). I think, though, that it's an apt way to conceptualize of that mindset.

Gah, I felt really, like, *guilty* writing all this stuff about Tristan. I really wanted to make him relatable on a lot of levels, and grew to really care for/identify with him. And man, torturing him like this was the WORST! But, I rarely *wanted* anything in this story to happen, more felt like it *had* to.

Speaking of which, Laurel/Tristan. You are BANG ON about the birthday party (that was the answer to the booze riddle!) And just YES. Your interpretation is so amazing and on point!

I definitely didn't want Sprout to seem *inept*, so I'm so glad that came off! "He's constantly a step ahead of anyone attempting to help him," was such a perfect way to explain that!

Being American, I couldn't help but be curious about Wizarding America! And in the real world, there is definitely a connection between drug addiction and poverty (usually the former leading to the former). And then, there was also the whole Gaunt family, who lived outside of society, and the little mention in Book 1 that some parents homeschooled. I sort of liked the idea of backwards wizard hicks, who double as the town witches (like how in old fantasy stories, there's the evil magic weirdo on the fringes). Anyway, spinning together headcanon, canon, RL themes, and fiction inspiring Potter canon was super fun! I prettty much decided to do Sprout POVs so I could include all of that!

I AM RUNNING OUT OF NEW AND EXCITING WAYS TO TELL YOU HOW MUCH I APPRECIATE YOUR REVIEWS!

XOXO
-Roisin



 Report Review

Review #7, by CambAngst 

4th August 2014:
Hi! I finally managed to get all of those awesome reviews answered, so now I'm back to pile some more upon this magnificent story of yours!

I'm a bit torn about how to feel about Laurel's relapse. At least she didn't take matters into her own hand. In a small, weird way, that's progress. For poor Tristan, however, the encounter was the last thing in the world that his frail mental state needed. He already carries so much guilt over... well, over everything, but Laurel's hex-out is certainly high on that list.

Isobel's gift to Tristan was a beautiful, touching moment. His reaction was brilliantly crafted, and her reaction to his reaction was pure Isobel. A short scene, but very well done.

“Be careful with that last one,” Fred warned.

“We reckon it could be poison,” agreed George.
-- Ugh. If only it was that simple. Oops, I utilized foreknowledge. I'll just say that you did a great job of making the introduction of the bottle memorable but not too memorable.

But it was easy to start kissing, and hard to stop. He knew he and Laurel were both spent every moment battling against all the little things, the little mistakes they could make, and that they were both finally exhausted enough to surrender. -- Awesome job of explaining the thought processes -- and failures thereof -- that led Tristan and Laurel to do what they did. It was fantastic, the way that you mixed all of the self-loathing and yearning and weakness and wariness and the ultimate surrender into a seamless path.

And... Laurel told Isobel. Yeah, hard to imagine that wouldn't have happened. Still, it's unfortunate. And poor, sweet, naive Emily just makes him feel that much worse by being her normal self. Nice touch, by the way. When you've screwed up royally, people behaving normally can feel even worse than dealing with anger.

Tristan's conversation with Professor Sprout didn't really go anything like Laurel's. He's such a tough nut to crack. He's one of those kids who is smart enough to keep himself one step ahead of whatever game the adults might be trying to engage him in. Evasion and deception become more important than stopping to think whether the other person might have a point. Tristan obviously knows all the tactics and all the answers. Like Professor Sprout realizes, he's been to counseling before. I loved the two small, tangential ideas in this section. First, the one about American witches and wizards and their different attitudes and approaches. Second, the concept of "backwater" witches and wizards in the UK who choose to live outside of the social norms. You made me imagine hillbillies living in the mountains of Appalachia here in the U.S., distilling moonshine and marrying their cousins. Hillbilly wizards: there's your Dobby award winning idea for the day! ;)

I'm wondering when somebody will have a very important conversation with Tristan. The one where -- and I'm sort of generalizing and also hoping a bit -- they smack him upside the head and suggest that maybe, just maybe, it should be up to Emily to decide whether he's too harmful and toxic for her. Until then, he'll just continue to bathe in self-loathing and deny himself any chance of happiness. Such a shame.

Excellent chapter! I didn't see a single typo or grammatical problem. Until next time!

Author's Response: I was very much ALSO torn about Laurel's relapse: on the one hand, it's terrible. On the other, it's realistic. It would irresponsible to suggest that recovery was easy. And, unfortunately, kids find themselves in these situations, and are ill-equipped to deal with them. Laurel is too immature to think of what she's doing to Tristan, he's too immature to know what to do.

As for the potion intro: I really tried to emulate Rowling's style of introduction here (which is inimitable)--so I'm very pleased you thought it successful!

And AHA, this story is, I think, a shipper's nightmare! My goal was for people to not be into what happens, but reluctantly understand why it did. Also: just, teenagers. Far too self-involved for grand romance.

And yeah, teenage girls who share a bedroom and class schedule and grew up like sisters TALK. And of course Tristan, who grew up so isolated, wouldn't have thought of that.

"He's such a tough nut to crack. He's one of those kids who is smart enough to keep himself one step ahead of whatever game the adults might be trying to engage him in. Evasion and deception become more important than stopping to think whether the other person might have a point. Tristan obviously knows all the tactics and all the answers. Like Professor Sprout realizes, he's been to counseling before." THANK YOU! Ah! Just--I'm so glad that all came off!

And yeah, I really enjoyed doing social analysis of the wizarding world--the "wizard hillbilly" idea had a lot to do with contextualizing the Gaunt family!

And, AH! I will avoid saying anything spoilery about that PRECISE conversation with Tristan. I smile, steeple my fingers, and choose to end the response here; lest I, in my enthusiasm, ruin it. (*butitshouldbesuperobviousandonceyouseeityoullrealizeyouknewthat/thoseweregonnahappenallalong!*)

I LOVE YOUR REVIEWS SO MUCH, thank you for taking the time to respond to all these elements! It's SO encouraging--this is my first HPFF, my first long-form fiction, my first writing that wasn't poetry, academic, or copy. It's incredible to see that the things I wanted to come across DID. And I KNOW that you're a great writer, so it means that much more.

You rule,
-Roisin











 Report Review

Review #8, by marauderfan 

12th July 2014:
Nooo Laurel! I had a feeling this would happen, this is not the right way to combat her depression. And Tristan, idiot, that's not the best thing to do right after she just got out of REHAB FOR SPELLS AGHH. Both of these characters, I really just want to shake some sense into them.

Ahhh his stereo is fixed AND works in the castle! Isobel is so wonderful to him. Music is a good outlet for Tristan, because it's the only thing that makes him have any emotion at all, and it's not destructive. I could see Tristan being in a band. Except that would probably turn out badly for him because of all the destructive behaviours that would inevitably occur when they go on tour. But I digress.

Aw, I like that Emily is trying to encourage Laurel in her hobby of bracelet making when Laurel doesn't find much else to be interesting. Why would the twins bring her a potentially poisonous thing from Snape's office? I worry what Laurel will try to do with it in her current state.

Nononono not Tristan and Laurel! I mean yeah, they're both kind of messed up people so they have that in common but NOOO. This is just going to destroy Emily, and the group dynamic, and ughh. Stupid hormones. Stupid Tristan. Stupid Laurel.

Ok, when even self-involved TRISTAN notices that Isobel isn't eating, then she should know she has a problem. OPEN YOUR EYES WOMAN. I think she's still denying it's even a problem, she genuinely thinks she's under control. What I wonder is, when she finally does realise she's got a problem, will she ask for help or just try to handle it on her own? :-/ I'm glad both Tristan and Emily are drawing attention to it though.

The comment Emily made about Laurel being oblivious to what's going on with her friends was so twistedly ironic as she herself has no idea what's been going on behind the scenes with Laurel and Tristan. Poor Emily.

I understand Tristan's frustration at Professor Sprout for trying to get him to talk about his feelings - maybe he just needs someone to be there to listen even when he doesn't talk. LIKE EMILY. Tristan going on at the end about how he's too messed up for Emily makes me sad, because he needs a little bit of Sunshine in his dark life.

Heh, sorry for all the shouting at your characters in this review. It's not directed at you, I promise. :P

House Cup Review 2014

Author's Response: Oh I'm glad for your response to that! I definitely didn't want anyone to be shipping them.

Haha, I think Tristan would be pretty awful in a band :p He would spend most of the time laboring over the 'influences,' and the result would be an absolute mess. He's definitely more of a fan of music than a creator of music.

Eeeh! Everyone's presents to her definitely said more about themselves than about Laurel. Isobel gives her beauty products, Tristan gives her music (which she would play on, what?), and only Emily gives her the things that Laurel herself wants and needs. Aand, the twins give her stolen things, just because.

Feel free to shout at them! I definitely wanted to mirror OotP--I shouted at Harry so much inside my own head :)


 Report Review

Review #9, by emmacweasley 

27th June 2014:
There was so much to catch up on! These chapters are going through the queue awfully fast. :) To start off, the character development in the past few chapters has been great, especially as we get closer to Tristan's secret being revealed. I like the glimpses we get to see - the talk with Snape, the whole name at the end of the letter. I feel like when we actually know what's going on I'm going to be completely surprised, because I can't even manage a guess right now.

I feel like everything's been going so badly for the group lately that, like, SOMETHING's got to give, you know? I know we just had Laurel's brush with death, but I feel like that was only the beginning, kind of like a warning. It was expected, you know? That her plot with self-charming would come to a head first. Now, I don't know what's coming next, but I'm excited about it.

Looking forward to the next!

Author's Response: Ah, so happy to see more feedback with you!

Yeah, the validators have been on actual FIRE recently, and I'm on a bit of a vacation, so I'm really delighted at how fast these chaps are going up (since I never meant the story to be serialized, I'm super glad that people can take a few chapters as a chunk, rather than waiting between each one).

As for Tristan, I'm really stoked to hear you're enjoying that mystery developing! I will say no more now, lest I give too much awayyy.

As for everything going bad for them: yes, yes and yes. And you're absolutely on the nose, everything does come to a head soon very soon. I try to break up the drama with moments of levity, so I'm interested to hear what to make of the tone going forward!

Thanks so much for the review!!!
xoxo
Roisin


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review