Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
13 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Penelope Inkwell 

20th October 2014:
Well, that was a right mess.

Honestly, if I were Rose, I don't think I'd have got over Alfie sleeping with one of my closest friends/my cousin's super-recent ex-boyfriend quite so quickly. It's less to do with the sleeping-with-the-same-person thing than it is the whole emotional trauma thing. Like, I'd think that someone who did that didn't have a lot of respect for me, even if we weren't together. That said, I'm not piling blame on Alfie for everyone else's emotional issues. I just couldn't have hooked up with him immediately after - on some level, I don't get it. But then, Rose is a big girl and she can make her own decisions, and forgiveness is a virtue, and all that.


AWW! I loved the way they did the Howlers with each other's favorite works of literature. It was adorable, and totally dorky in a way that fit them perfectly. It was just perfect, over all. That was some well done resolution.

Louis. Ugh! He really is the worst. I can only hope that he doesn't know Lester's backstory, because that would just make him unbearably awful. Seriously. Ugh. Good on Rose, though, for staying sensible in a stressful situation and outwitting him!

CC:

I did have this one thought. Rose says of Holly and Lester, "Neither of them are particularly close to Albus." And I get that you mean particularly as in, they are not close to Albus above all others. But "particularly" in that context usually reads as "very" or "that". Like, neither of them are that close to Albus. And, of course, they are all quite close. So maybe I'd suggest saying something like, "None of them were as close to Albus as I was" just to clear things up.

--Penny

 Report Review

Review #2, by dracodarlingxx 

28th August 2014:
i already left a comment on this chapter so long ago o.O
but then i read the Iliad cos there were so many mentions of it in this story and it was on my list of 50 Book to Read before I Die, so i thought i might as well. and god, it was good :D
but i have the penguin's classic edition translated by robert fagles and the first line is : Rage - Goddess, sing the rage of Peleus' son Achilles, in contrast to the first line of the Iliad that scor's howler screams
but i guess the variation is just because it's a different translation right? sorry for asking, but i'm really just pretty curious :)

Author's Response: hiya! firstly, i'm super excited that this story prompted you to read the iliad - that's awesome! to answer your question, you're right - it's a different translation. the iliad has existed in written form for 2500 years and its been translated countless times by thousands of different scholars into dozens of languages. fagles's is a very well-known translation, one of the best-known contemporary english translations of the text (and rightly so) but he's just one of many, and part of his focus in translation isn't just replicating the text but making it poetic and epic in english as well. my translation skills (and scorpius's, because i imagine he did his own) aren't quite up to that level, and i just translate as directly as i can. thanks for your interest!

 Report Review

Review #3, by BookDinosaur 

22nd August 2014:
Oh my god Louis that boy doesn't deserve to be at Hogwarts, I'm telling you. He has no idea. Does he even have any clue what that could have done to Lester? Stupid, stupid, stupid. I am legit so angry right now. >:-|

UGH ALBUS. Where on earth did he get the idea in his head that he wasn't good enough for Scorpius? And that he was the least of his family? Where on earth did he get that, it can't be something completely unfounded and it's much much bigger than the thing about subjects so why why why is he thinking like that? :(

Wah, when Al and Scorp are together they're witty and when they're apart it's just they're both so unstable and they need each other, it's as simple as that. :( And Scorp why oh why would you choose Alfie as your rebound guy?

BUT YAY AL AND SCORP MADE UP!! You are master at manipulating emotions, you know that? :P Gah, Al and Scorp got together again over old Greek epic poems, that's so sweet you are fast making them my OTP Lisa which you can't do because Jily. I am so confused right now. :P

And Alfie and Rose made up as well, so that's fun. :D

This chapter is almost all sunshine and rainbows except for that bit at the end - way, I really really hope Lester will be okay!

 Report Review

Review #4, by patronus_charm 

10th July 2014:
Hi Lisa!

Woah, woah, woah, so much happened! First, Albus is an idiot why did he go and get that stupid idea in his head, something fishy is going on I tell you. Secondly, poor Rose because though they’re not dating it still must suck so much to have that happen to you and I am sending her so many hugs right now. Thirdly, woah, Scorpius, woah, why choose him as your rebound guy, why?

Ok, Scorpius is such a mess right now. I feel as if I’m watching some celebrity on their downward spiral right now with the drinking, sleeping around, not knowing what’s going on then there’s the rumours and way people are trying to get him into rehab in a way, it’s almost kinda funny to watch :P

Albus stares at Scorpius. Scorpius stares at Albus. ♥ ♥ ♥ Yo, they got back together after bonding over a Latin text, I mean, how cute is that, they’re meant to be like me and pizza :P

Dun, dun, dun must read on!

-Kiana

 Report Review

Review #5, by Veritaserum27 

8th July 2014:
Ok.

So. Relief. Sort of. I can breathe - and sleep much easier now. The universe is realigned and Albus and Scorpius are whole again. Albus is so much of a drama queen, it's scary. I can just imagine him in a soliloquy about how he doesn't love Scorpius anymore. He started carrying on and just couldn't stop himself... Ugh. A broken Scorpius is not something that Rose would have been able to contend with for much longer. He was headed right for self-destruction. They way they got back together was just so sweet and endearing and perfect. They are too cute together. Now on to Louis and his horrid, awful prank. Does he just not get it, or what? Again - totally not in the spirit of Fred Weasley! Poor, poor Lester. In the midst of all the other stuff going on in his world - he doesn't deserve this. In fact, compared to the rest of the crew, Lester has the most tumultuous life. Rose, Holly, Al and Scorpius have nothing to complain about. He is basically homeless, keeping it a secret from the staff and still dealing with his crippling panic attacks. If anyone has the right to break down, it's him. Oh, Lisa, what have you done? You make it all better and then it falls apart again!

House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #6, by Chazzie 

26th June 2014:
I missed four updates, and I have to say that all four chapters were brilliant. You write really well, and I'm always excited to read this!
Rose having her panic attack was extremely realistic. I love Holly, she is a fantastic character and really easy to relate to.
The fellowship could be really great, if Rose gets it. I'm really glad that she has the promise of a job at the end of it, and Holly too.
I love Lester too. In fact, I love all of them.
The prank Rose came up with for the teachers was brilliant. And then how they reversed it was even better.
Oh the Elephant :') that was funny.
I felt quite upset when they joked about Albus being not very clever, especially when he stormed out. Then Holly felt awful for saying it, although she didn't mean to. Then Lester revealed that he'd left home... That was hard hitting.
You had me seriously worried when Scorpius and Albus broke up, especially with the aftermath of destruction from Scorp. Albus hid in the Chamber of Secrets? I mean, wow. I loved them making up, it was so sweet.
Lester, oh poor Lester. I am sitting in shock as to how Louis would even sink that low. Thank goodness Rose has Hermione for a mum.
Well, it was awesome, can't wait to read more!
Chazzie

Author's Response: Thanks so much! Yes, these last four chapters have been pretty full on ones - the blows have really kept coming for all of them, and I feel a bit awful putting them through all this.

I feel especially awful for Lester - and I do think Hermione will have a role to play in the aftermath of this. Thank you, as always, for reading and reviewing - and I'll hopefully see you back for Chapter 19!


 Report Review

Review #7, by emmacweasley 

26th June 2014:
Hey! :) I've been seeing this mentioned around the forums and been meaning to get around to reading it because i loved the premise, and when you mentioned it in our conversation the other day I was reminded of it! And I'm so glad I was. I'm so in love with this story! I love the characters and the premise and how everything is working out and of COURSE i love scorpius and albus and rose is just my favorite although i'm not too fond of holly and I can't exactly figure out why. I think it's because she reminds me of my mother. ANYWAY - this is just excellent. It's great, entertaining, sophisticated writing and I can't wait to read more!!

Author's Response: Thank you so much, I'm really glad you're enjoying it! Rose is my absolute fave as well and I love writing her - and Albus and Scorpius of course. Holly is lovely and sweet and adorable but I don't relate to her quite on the same level as the other characters, so I sort of get where you're coming from there? But I'm super happy that you're enjoying it so far and I hope you continue to! Thanks for reading and the review!

 Report Review

Review #8, by DancingMooncalf 

21st June 2014:
Well. okay you made up for what you did last chapter fair and square. but now you leave me wondering what on earth will happen to Lester. He is going to be okay, right?
That was a very low thing of Louis to do. He really doesn't know his boundries.

Can I tell you again how much I like your writing. It's so personal and honest.
I love the characters so much. It's almost like they are actual people. I always have a hard time making my characters real and you make it look so easy. They have their flaws and talents... it's just amazing and I feel like you deserve to hear this as much as possible!
The story line is great too, you know. I laugh out loud at least once during each chapter and I did get a bit (okay a lot) worked up about the whole albus scorpius ordeal. They need each other, for crying out loud!!
Anyway thank you for another really nice chapter and I am so much looking forward to the next one, like it alomst fysically hurts to have to wait.
So hurry, please!
Maya

Author's Response: I'm glad you think so! And you're right to be worried about Lester - he's in a very difficult place at the moment and Louis' 'prank' has made it infinitely worse.

Thank you so much! I honestly don't know how much credit I can take for these characters because they write themselves, they really do, but I appreciate your comments. Every writer strives to create real characters and I'm really glad I seem to be pulling that off, so thank you!

If it's any consolation, I got pretty worked up over the Albus/Scorpius thing as well, because it all came out of nowhere - I wasn't planning the breakup, and then after it happened and I'd taken a moment to absorb it all I was planning for them to /stay/ broken up for a lot longer than they did, so it's been a bit of a rollercoaster for me as well. And I agree that they need each other - I'm always hesitant about depicting anything that could be seen as codependency because codependency isn't healthy, but I think in the case of Albus and Scorpius they really do balance and ground each other in an essential way.

Thank you so much for the review and the next chapter will be out soon - hooray for winter break!


 Report Review

Review #9, by grednforge217 

21st June 2014:
Obviously, I'm thrilled that Albus and Scorpius have gotten back together! I love Rose, she is just such an interesting perspective, and it's a marvelous take on her character. I also love, love, love the way that you're dealing with anxiety in this fic. I've forgotten to say it, but the way that you address it is so perfect, and so much like real life. I love how you're giving these characters a healthy support system, and modeling what that looks like for readers.
Sorry for the rant.
Everything else is perfect. Can't wait to read the next installment!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I really love this version of Rose as well - I've been worried that her friends (particularly Albus and Scorpius, who seem to be everyone's OTP to end all OTPs) overshadow her voice in this story, but I think she does come through very strongly and I get more and more fond of her the longer I write her.

Thank you, I really appreciate it - this is an important part of the story to me, and it's been really gratifying to see how people are responding to it. The support networks are almost wish fulfillment in a way for me personally - I've suffered from anxiety for years without anything like what Rose, Scorpius and Lester have, and to find a way of expressing the importance of that support even in a medium like fluffy fanfic is quite important to me. I'm glad you think it's realistic and that I'm addressing it well - I only have my own experiences to go on, and I would hate to not do something like this justice - so thank you so much for your comments!

Next chapter shouldn't be too far away at all - I look forward to hearing from you again!



 Report Review

Review #10, by miluv 

21st June 2014:
YAY AL AND SCORP ARE BACK TOGETHER THANK YOU GOD but
wait what does lester have against mle?? absolutely
wonderfull chapter as usual update asap!

Author's Response: I covered this in Chapter 14, albeit briefly - Lester had a very traumatic experience with Magical Law Enforcement when he was younger, which means seeing them acts as a trigger and makes him panic/relive that experience - I will try and make that clearer in the next chapter. Thanks so much for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #11, by ihate coming up with usernames 

21st June 2014:
I'm not going to lie, I took a breath before reading this. That was so cool. But does this mean that people were trying to hurt them?

Author's Response: I'm not actually too sure how malicious Louis' intent was for this one - he certainly wanted to cause distress and humiliation, but at this stage I don't really know what else he was thinking. Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #12, by DoctorUnderwood 

21st June 2014:
HUGE SIGH OF RELIEF. All is right in the world now. Thank god Albus and Scorpius are back together. I don't know what I would've done without them...

And I do believe that Louis has gone a step too far... We'll see what happens!

Author's Response: I KNOW these two are so important to me and I didn't actually intend for them to get back together so quickly - the whole scene sort of came out of nowhere. I should really be used to that sort of thing by now because all five of them have minds of their own, but it still takes me by surprise.

Louis really has gone too far. He's gone way too far. You'll see how far in the next chapter. Thanks for reading and reviewing, as always!


 Report Review

Review #13, by ravenclaw14 

21st June 2014:
YES!!!
THANK YOU :D
That's all I have to say.
Ok, not really. Nice cliffhanger at the end there, I see you're going for two in a row! Can't wait to see what happens next! :)

Author's Response: This was a bit of a cliffhanger, wasn't it? I didn't really intend it to be - it was more a matter of "this chapter is already 7,000 words and I need to wrap it up somewhere" but it is quite effective, I think. The next update won't be too far away - I'm back to my super-fast updating now I've finished exams, and I hope to see you back for chapter 19!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review