Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
21 Reviews Found

Review #1, by marauderfan 

17th January 2017:
I must admit when I first saw the summary of this chapter I was so curious in what context this phrase was going to occur. It did not disappoint XD

Ah, Rose and Scorpius had one misunderstanding after another in this chapter and as frustrating as it is to know that the characters are both wrong about each other, that sort of thing is always so fun to read, haha. Scorpius' internal panic about coming across as a pervert was pretty funny.

Also I love Dom, and how she is the same around Rose as she was before - it probably really helps Rose feel normal. Poor Harry though, I can see how he would really be acting differently and how he would feel like he let her down. With the reputation he has for saving the whole wizarding world, it would really hurt him that he wasn't able to do anything for one of his own family.

I'm so glad Scorpius and Rose finally talked and that they actually know where each other stands. I'm curious about Scorpius' healing spell - that's so interesting that it's hereditary and I really want to know how it works and what situations it works in.

Great chapter!

 Report Review

Review #2, by TearsIMustConceal 

6th January 2016:
Hey Beth, here for the BvB review battle!

Oh my, I have missed this story so, so much! The minute I started reading I just wanted to carry on but I can't because I have work but my god, this was amazing as per usual and you are just amazing and yeah, onto the review! (I have so many chapters to read, this makes me happy!)

Let me say, first off, "Skurmis hi yow narken?" favourite line of all time. I literally snorted at this, which was very unattractive but also very necessary because it's hilarious and it really does kind of sum up the pair of them – they're so awkward around each other, most of the time they can't get words out unless they're talking about something serious so this line just embodies them so, so well!

THEY FINALLY GOT TOGETHER!! This makes me extremely happy! Although their awkwardness and shy looks and everything was adorable, I am super happy finally talked about it! I was screaming at Rose in my head that she was so obviously wrong and that Scorpius still wanted her, she was just acting a little crazy! I also loved how you made Scorpius feel like he was a pervert every time he spoke to her – that made me laugh too – the pair of them are a match made in heaven because neither of them are the best with words when it comes to each other! But yay for it finally happening!

Awww, Scorpius healing Rose was so cute! “However, it only works in certain… situations” - I'm intrigued, does this mean it only works if you love the other person? Or something entirely different? This little detail really stuck out to me and I want to know what it means – Scorpius seemed really coy about it so i'm thinking it's to do with loving a person, maybe?

I also loved Rose believing that, when Scorpius touched her scars and she froze, that it wasn't her fault – I feel like that's such a significant point here, that she's finally becoming stronger and realising she wasn't to blame for anything that happened to her!

Anyway, this chapter was amazing and I can't wait to read the next! I've missed this story so much!!

-Vicki

Author's Response: Vicki!

Wow. This review was so sweet and kind and detailed and just... THANK YOU!

I really, REALLY enjoyed writing this chapter. I get SUPER frustrated with the awkward stories about two lovers who are obviously meant for each other and how they go back and forth with the misunderstandings and I DIDN'T want to do that here - but then this chapter happened. ;) I guess I can justify it by the fact that it didn't drag on...

Haha - I really like that line too.

Yes! Hold on to your thoughts on the "certain situations" where Scorpius's magic can work. That will come back. And it was really fun to have Scorpius think he was a pervert and Rose think he wasn't interested in her - I still chuckle at that.

Thank you again - SO much. You have no idea what your reviews mean to me.

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #3, by MrsJaydeMalfoy 

21st September 2015:
AWWW! ♥ THIS IS MY FAVORITE CHAPTER! This is just SO perfect - they said 'forever' and he healed some of her scars and they're finally talking and kissing again - YAY!

I was so frustrated with Rose at the beginning for thinking that Scorpius was distancing himself because he didn't want her, but at the same time I know it can't be easy on her having those scars. But I'm SO happy that they've worked things out!

I'm very interested in this family magic - I think that's an interesting idea, and very original!

This chapter was PERFECT and I can't wait to read more!

Author's Response: Hi there!

Eeep! I had SO much fun writing this chapter and I'm just so excited that you felt the same way about it. I couldn't let them just instantly work everything out - but I definitely wanted them to be *finally* together by the end of the chapter, but I also had a blast getting them to that point.

Again - thanks for all these awesome reviews!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #4, by Penelope Inkwell 

15th September 2015:
Colleen Creevey
--I loved that Dennis had a daughter named after his brother. That was a great touch.

Ohmygosh, that scene! With the towel! It was hilarious! I'm so glad that you can inject some humor into all this.

YES! THEY FINALLY TALKED!

Haha! "Certain situations" indeed. I'm guessing you have to be in love with the person, judging by what the spell means, backwards. I love when people come up with new magic, and I think a Pureblood family passing down their own special healing spell makes a lot of sense. I loved that!


CC:

we would give the secret to Dom’s boyfriend, Jax and James’s girlfriend, Samara.
--might be good to put a comma after "Jax", because at first I read it as though the list was comprised of: (1) Dom's boyfriend, and (2) Jax and James' mutual girlfriend, Samara.

All the same, I’ve never felt this helpless since my parents deaths. Most of the time, I don’t know what to say to Rose. She was having regular panic attacks, but we didn’t talk about them, either. I helped out where I could, but things were still awkward.
--there are several times in this fic where you switch from past tense to present, which is always a bit tricky, but so far it's been working. This spot, however, read a little strangely to me. I felt like it might flow smoother if the whole thing was in past tense. i.e. "All the same, I'd never felt this helpless--not since my parents' deaths. Most of the time, I didn't know what to say to Rose." Also, parents' is missing an apostrophe.

I was completely dumbfounded. She thought I didn’t want her? How do I answer this and not sound like some sort of animal? “Rose…” I pressed forward.
--I thought this moment might benefit from a slightly longer pause. Like, if there was just a little bit longer of a moment as Scorpius takes in this information that changes everything. I think it would make his declaration to Rose pack even more of a punch. The whole thing is already great! I just think it might give that section some extra sparkle.


This is such a great fic. So, I finally stopped to check what Dobby it is, specifically, that this fic is nominated for. Most Addicting Story. I think I laughed out loud. I think the fact that I haven't been able to stop proves that nomination pretty well-merited. ;) I can see why it is in that category. Congratulations, yet again! This is phenomenal.

--Penny

Author's Response: Hi there Penny!

I didn't forget about these reviews, I just wanted to keep them as "unanswered" until I was able to edit the changes you suggested. And they're all fixed!

I *totally* know what you mean about my tense-switching. Initially I didn't realize I was doing it, but another reviewer pointed it out to me and I spent some time editing and fixing to make everything past tense. I know I didn't catch them all, and I think when I'm done with the entire novel, I'll go back through and clean everything up.

I'm so, SO glad you like the story - and this chapter was definitely one of my favorites to write. I had a great time going back and forth with the misunderstandings.

As far as the "certain situations" goes, that will be revealed later on - you're very, very close...

Thanks again!
♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #5, by Tonks1247 

3rd July 2015:
Hey Beth!

Had to laugh. Definitely can tell I’m mixing some chapter reviews here, as I’ve already talked about Harry being secret keeper and trying to keep it from Ron during my last review…but you know, I have to leave reviews for all these chapters because they are just too great not to and you deserve them! So much work goes into writing a novel and I just…I have to appreciate everyone who gives them a go and keeps them updating which leads to more reviews!

(Okay, need to get on topic. Should probably go to bed now that I’ve been off work for 3 hours, but not feeling it…bear with the random xD)

I love the little side mission Al, Dom and Scorpius have, working alongside the work they already do for Auror training. Also love the mentees getting in on it too. They add an interesting dynamic that I quite enjoy. Especially with how well they work with who they are paired with. I think it makes Al, Dom, and Scorpius character’s more understandable, in a way, because it gives them someone to interact with that isn’t quite as close in relations and just overall…I kinda like them.

These two also tick me off just a little bit. Dancing around each other…in a way, it’s expected with Rose/Scorpius, but it doesn’t change the fact that they should just /talk/ to each other so everyone is on the same page. It obviously turns out better for them both if they do xD (In which case, I thank Dom for calling Rose out on it because seriously…she’s a bit slow and Scorp isn’t much better)

I’m also fascinated by the healing spell Scorpius uses. I love the lead up to it and how Scorpius recognizes the limits and just talks Rose through her panic. And then he brings up trying something, and this spell…it’s fascinating. It adds such a dimension to the Malfoy family, with it being a spell that’s passed on…(I’m not quite sure if dimension is the word I want but ancient stuff like that getting passed on adds something to the Malfoy name, you know?) Also, the fact that he uses it more so to make Rose feel better than to make her look better…it just made me smile with how sweet he is!

(Did I also mention that the way I imagine Scorpius talking to Rose and calling her Ro kinda gets to me and makes me smile like an idiot? Like, it’s so freaking adorable and it’s really just great!)

The other thing I wanted to add, from my first read through: Ruth unsettles me. She seems to make things personal, with use of just her first name, and with Rose telling her things as her therapist…I don’t like it. I don’t know why, but I definitely don’t…

AND. My favourite parts of my reviews. My favourite line (though any of Scorpius’ commentary here makes me giggle):

“You smell good,” I commented when I could detect the scent of lavender wafting off her locks. Did that sound weird? I don’t want her to think I’m some sort of a creep.”

Haha, great job with this chapter! I’m thinking at least one more before I go to sleep…

-Mikaela

Author's Response: Mikaela,

So sorry that I've taken forever to respond to all your amazing reviews (I know I've apologized before, but I really want to make sure I respond properly, considering how much you put into each review - and this one is so amazing - yikes!)

I really didn't want them to dance around each other for a super long time - those kind of stories are frustrating for me to read, so I chose to wrap it up within one chapter, but I'll admit, I had a LOT of fun writing this part. I kinda kept the title of the novel in the back of my head while I was writing this.

I don't know if I've mentioned it to you, but I actually HATE the fact that I chose such a cliche to use as my title, but I feel like I can't change it now. Either way, I've come to terms with it because it keeps coming back as a theme in the story about this couple. (I'm sorry for being off topic, here - hee hee.) Okay, back to your response...


Yes! I really like the nickname 'Ro' too! It's hard to shorten Rose and I already figured that Albus and Ron would call her 'Rosie,' so it seemed like Scorpius would choose a slightly different variation of her name as a term of endearment.

One of the reasons I'm kicking myself at not responding sooner to you is regarding Ruth Vanadi, the therapist. I really didn't intend for her character to be unsettling at all, but I've never written a therapist before and I might've missed the mark on this one. I really wanted someone to act like a strong support for Rose - someone who could affirm her strengths and give her some sound advice that *wasn't* related to her. It wouldn't mean as much for Hermione to tell Rose that she is a brave soul, because she's her mother (does that make sense?) (and Hermione and Rose do end up having their own revelations together in a little while). Anyway, I'm sorry if Ruth comes off as suspicious or anything but sincere - and I guess I can't fault you - this *is* a mystery and just about ANYONE could be on the bad side - ;)

Thanks again, Mikaela!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #6, by TreacleTart 

27th May 2015:
Hi Beth!

So the words before my eyes are starting to blur because I've been staring at this computer screen for so long, but this story is so good and I want to know what happens! Please tell me that Scorpius and Rose get their happy ever after. I feel so invested in them already and I just want them to have good things happen.

After all the back and forth with Scorpius trying not to push Rose and Rose thinking Scorpius was disgusted with her, I'm so happy that they've finally talked it out. They sure seemed to jump into getting hot and heavy pretty fast, but I get it. They're in love with each other and there's been a ton of emotions and desire building up.

I thought it was really sad how affected by her scaring Rose is. Scorpius is right. Those scars aren't disgusting. They prove how brave and tough she is. She shouldn't feel the need to recoil or be shamed by them. I was so happy when Scorpius did that bit of magic and took some of the color and heat out of the scars. I think it really made Rose feel better.

And I'm so glad that Selenia made Rose go to a therapist. With everything she's been through she most definitely needs someone to talk things through with...someone who is objective and not personally invested in the situation.

I'm happy that things are starting to normalize a bit, but I'm scared that you're going to take that away in an upcoming chapter. You've already lulled me into a false sense of security once and then crushed my heart. I'm not sure if I can do it again.

Good work!

~Kaitlin

Author's Response: Kaitlin,

Your reviews are so amazing - and I get excited for every single one of them. I really look forward to finding out what you think of each chapter or part of the story.

I did have a bit of fun writing the two bungling up their "open" discussion. And the scene did end with a bit of passion, but I thought they both deserved it a bit by this point :D

Yeah, Rose is definitely hurting over the scars - emotionally. It's going to take a while for her to come to terms with them. And I'm really glad you agree about the therapist. I originally added her in to make a statement about seeking help when you need it, but you'll see how that turns out for Rose (mwah hahaha).

Haha - it certainly wasn't my intent to have such a roller coaster of a story -- I'm serious. I really didn't want it to go up and down and then have the lull and then some crazy thing happens, but it kind of took on a life of its own at some point...

Thanks again!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #7, by merlins beard 

6th May 2015:
I love this amazing chapter so much! Thank God they worked it out. Being too afraid to talk is never a good idea. I hope they stick to their promise to never do that again.

Rose seeing a therapist will really help her, healing will be even faster now that she doesn't have to worry about the Scorpius situation.

I love that Dom doesn't treat Rose differently, she needed someone to set her head straigt.

The spell Scorpius used - he says it only works in certain "situations" - does this have anything to do with him being in love with Rose?

What language is the spell? I tried google but it didn't come up with a useful translation. What does it mean?

I have totally neglected my work all afternoon in favour of this story. I guess it will probably keep me up half the night as well.

I can't wait for more

~Anja

Author's Response: Hiya Anja!

Haha - I thought it was high time Rose and Scorp stopped being so ridiculous. They belong together. And Dom was fantastic to write.

Yes - Scorpius has some special magic that involves *love* ♥

As for the language of the spell, I lifted an idea of J.K's. Ever hear of the Mirror of Erised? (hint, hint) By the way, I'm totally squeeing over the fact that you googled something of mine!

Oh no! Don't neglect your responsibilities!

Thanks again!

♥ Beth





 Report Review

Review #8, by oldershouldknowbetter 

5th May 2015:
How stupid have I been, how foolish do I now feel?

I should have known, should have trusted you to know the exigencies of your own story. Far from running the scene I loved, it is in all its essentials still the same. The thing is, the amazing thing is, you have made it even better.

The presence of the physical scaring of the crucio flagrante has allowed you to do something with Scorpius’ character that simply wasn’t possible at all (the way the story used to be). We know that the mental scars were always going to have to be healed by a combination of Rose’s inner fortitude and by her relationship with her helpmate, Scorpius. But now he is going to be able to help with the physical scaring in ways which the reader knows will have more ramifications beyond the healing alone.

Wondrous stuff, I can now keep reading on.

OK now, back to the review of chapter 5 and finish it off, then come back.
.
.
.
Back now? Let’s continue.

Them all moving into Grimmauld place is a great idea.

Ron, overprotective dear old Ron.

The way you play around with the POV’s in this chapter is masterfully done. The move-in is needed to be seen through Scorpius’ eyes. The reader should not be subjected to Ron’s hissy fit through the immediacy of his daughter’s eyes; it would become too distracting/serious than is needed.

From Scorpius’ point of view, we see that he is biding his time. He will wait till the heat-death of the universe if he has to; until rose says she’s ready, he won’t say or do a thing.

He doesn’t like the panic attacks at all, don’t get me wrong, but you can see he almost welcomes them in some way because he gets to be her helpmate. It’s what couples do – in sickness and in health. He doesn’t have the ‘health’ part, but that’s OK with him, Rose needs him ‘in sickess’ and at least he gets to comfort her and love her in that way.

This chapter is exactly what a good romance should be; tugging upon your poor readers heartstrings. This acceptance of his fate is the first such tug.

I love the little subtle characterisations that you throw in: the caring concern of a favourite uncle and his taking it to heart that he has somehow let Rose down; Albus slowly emerging from his self-imposed ‘under the shadow of his father’ - all done with concise storytelling that makes it no less powerful for its brevity.

The way Rose comes and heals the trainees is delightful; no more than a trainee herself, we get the strong impression that she does it mainly out of the goodness of her heart and on her own time too – the fact that she gets to see her favourite person is an added bonus. She is … no, that’s wrong, she isn’t yet, but she should be, a strong capable young woman. This healing routine is some of that shining through, happening as it does when she ‘forgets’ her past for a moment.

The switch over of POV’s is perfectly timed and is not merely a tugging on our heart strings, but a massive wrenching from both directions. If the harbingers of the Apocalypse are War, Death, Famine and Pestilence; then at least one of the Handmaidens of Romance must be Miscommunication (the other three being Conflict, Bad timing and Hope).

Miscommunication.
We see it from Scorpius POV first and then we see it from Rose’s. Scorpius thinks that she’d think him and animal and be disgusted by him making any advances whilst she is in this state. When we switch POV’s, Rose thinks he’s repulsed by her and that he simply not attracted to her any more because of her ordeal.

Tug tug – tug tug … enough on the heartstrings, just talk already!

The passage about the home life is a good ‘homely’ touch.

Rose sums up her courage (what little of it she things she has) tonight is the night to finally confront Scorpius. Wow, and she thinks she’s not brave.

The dance they do around each other - the towels; and the showers; not being able to form words correctly; then both fleeing from each other – has us feeling and smiling and hoping.

Dom’s presence is well done, another fine point of secondary character development. Her treating Rose normally is a good way to build up her character as well as acting as metaphorical glass of water to Rose’s face. Rose is in such a precarious emotional state that even mortifying embarrassment is welcome – Oh, the feels, tugging at our hearts.

You even switch back to Scorpius’ POV at the perfect time. They pick up their ‘dance’ again, but it finally comes to an end. Their coming together is so well done; Scorpius bracing for the ‘almost slap’ is so beautifully constructed.

And then all the kissing … *blissful sigh*

After that is your new addition, Scorpius’ ability to begin to physically heal Rose.

Oh, just so good.

You even switch POV’s again. The way you do that in the chapter is never jarring, always at a logical point and allows you to tell the reader everything that we need to know, but no more. If we saw the healing from Scorpius’ view, or Rose jumping into his arms from hers, or etc. throughout this chapter it would not have worked. You needed to, at every stage, tell the story from the character with the least emotional involvement – that this changes so often throughout the chapter indicates how much all of this is affecting both of them.

The healing scene is beautiful and tender after all the heart wrenching of earlier on, and...
… our lovers are finally together.

As any fan of romance can tell you; in a good romance the author should strive to keep the lovers apart for the majority of the work. Yet here it is, chapter eleven with (as of this review) another twenty one to come – and they are together. Your readers know however that only some of the internal conflicts that have kept them apart have been resolved. More, in the form of Rose’s mental scaring from her torture, have yet to be put to rest. As well, with the attacks that occurred at the party, your readers know that the external conflicts are about to ramp up.

Author's Response: Hi again, Andrew!

Wow. You simply notice *everything*! I had originally written Ron's outburst from Rose's POV and it just didn't work. The switch to Scorpius was edited much later on - but I agree that it is smoother this way. And this is (so far) the only chapter where I did the really quick switch of POV's, but I think it had to be done - especially when BOTH Rose and Scorpius are in a place of confusion and misunderstanding.

Yeah - those two, despite (or maybe *because of*) their powerful connection on another level, are quite simply TERRIBLE at just TALKING IT OUT! Haha!

I'm so happy when you notice that Rose really IS brave - she just doesn't see it, silly girl.

Okay - so about the idea of keeping the couple as far from each other until the end. I find that really frustrating in a story - although I know it makes for a really, really good plot line. But I was intentionally getting them together early in the story because, I really wanted this to be about the two of them working together to solve a bigger problem. Even so, their relationship is not going to be pie-in-the-sky perfect from here on out (and I'm pretty sure you could've guessed at that, so I'm not really giving anything away). All the same, there are bigger things going on that these two lovebirds will have to deal with.

Thanks again! I know I keep saying it, but I love your feedback and your reviews!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #9, by RupertsPheonix 

27th March 2015:
Chapter 6 & 7: I love how Scorpius handled the duel between father and son, and I really enjoyed seeing the interaction between the dark-headed Potters and Scorpius. Oh, and Rose is cute - I also loved reading a bit about her relationship with Harry.

Chapter 8-10: Oh, wow! That action scene moved quickly, and it was intense! Poor Scorpius and Al, not knowing how to deal. I'm really hoping that Scorpius finds a way to show or tell Rose that this doesn't scare him off, so to speak. Poor Uncle Harry - what a good bloke, but what a hard thing to hear about, especially after the fact. You do a good job of writing Harry's character while highlighting his intense need to save people and be in control and at the same time, fiercly loving his family and friends.

Chapter 11: Yikes - what an intense moment with Scorpius in his towel. Every love story needs a good shirtless boy moment. ;) I loved that Rose literally couldn't form words - hahah!
Evo lym fo srac seh tesre ver = reverse the scars of my love. Right? Cool trick. :)

Onto another chapter! :)
--Kate/rp

Author's Response: Hi there Kate!

Wow. I know it's taken me far too long to reply to these, but I wanted you to know that your reviews were so, so appreciated. The Scopr and Al moment was REALLY intense and I'm glad it came across that they really *didn't* know how to deal with Rose's situation. Harry is put in a tough spot here, as he would never want to betray Ron, but Rose really needed him, here.

Haha - yeah, Scorp in a towel and Rose speaking gibberish.

Also - you are the second person to notice (or at least comment) on my blatant plagiarism of JK from PS (hee hee)

Thanks again!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #10, by crestwood 

9th March 2015:
Hi Beth! I've taken a ridiculous amount of time to get to this. My weekend was much crazier than I expected. (not that this week is any better :P)

I'm so excited that everyone's moving into Grimmauld Place! The chapters that take place there are some of my favorites. I think I'm almost caught up to the point when I began beta reading for you, but I can't remember which exact chapter that is. I don't get to really take in chapters that I beta though, so it'll be great to finally read them for pleasure when I get there.

I'm a really big fan of the Fidelius Charm. I've considered writing an action novel just so that I could have an excuse to make use of it. It's just such an awesome plot device and cabin fever and capers and everything associated with it are just so much fun.

It's kind of funny how Ron totally misses the gravity of the situation and is upset that Rose will be living with Scorpius haha. I feel kind of bad that he's out of the loop here.

I forget that Scorpius is related to the Blacks so often. And the fact that Teddy and Scorpius are distantly related completely escapes my mind all the time. And it's so weird how Teddy is considered a Next-Gen character even though he's technically a part of Harry's generation. These family trees are SO weird.

It's really sweet that Scorpius doesn't try to spin this sleeping in Rose's room thing in that way just yet. The fact that he sleeps on the floor in her room to support her and be there for her is amazing.

I can understand how helpless Scorpius must feel about not being able to prevent or fix Rose's panic attacks. I've never been in his situation, but I've been in Rose's and I know that it wears on your support system as well. It's almost inevitable that at least once you're going to feel horrible for putting everyone through so much and get upset about how much pity everyone is showing you and then have yet another panic attack about that. Panic attacks about having panic attacks are particularly bad because explaining them just sounds so silly.

I'm so glad that Albus and Harry have worked out a better way of communicating than they had before. That ended up rather explosive...literally.

I can imagine that with Harry's hero complex, (for lack of a better phrase) he wouldn't be taking kindly to the thought that all of this happened to Rose without his knowledge. I think you've really nailed him as an adult, by the way. He seems to have progressed in exactly the way I'd imagine him to based on the books. It's funny that people write adult Harry in such wildly different ways, even though we all read the same books told through his perspective and theoretically should agree on his personality more than anyone.

Colleen Creevey makes me weep a little because Colin is one of my favorites. (now i'm thinking about it and have planned out a Colin Creevey story that fits in with my Kaleidoscope Love spin-off. i can't stop having ideas)

Scorpius saying weird stuff whenever Rose is around is so perfect this could not get any better i promise you.

It makes me sad how they both have the complete wrong idea here. It's so awesome how you make use of both of their POVs in this chapter. It wouldn't have the same impact with only one because this gives us the full story of how misled they both are. Miscommunications like this cause nothing but problems, but talking about your feelings is hard. It kind of reminds me of my Rose and Scorpius from WUR, but less...hatred filled.

I am so glad that Rose's therapist is nice and that she finds her helpful. I've had some bad experiences with some but I am excited about the fact that she's having such a good one.

Rose's gibberish is SO GREAT. This is so awkward and I love it.

I want to send Rose a letter just to tell her that, I too, like and notice soft hands.

Dom is one of my favorite characters. Dominique as a wise cracking Auror is basically everything that I could ever ask for.

I'm so relieved that they finally realized that they should just be together. You wrote this so skillfully. The initial realization and the moment when Rose pulled away, their conversations about it all; everything is just perfect.

I'm really into the idea of a Greengrass specific magic. I've seen people give the Malfoy's magical secrets of their own, but I've never seen the other side of his family get much attention.

I'm so satisfied with this chapter. It was practically everything I wanted it to be and more. Such excellent work, as always. Thank you for the swap, I hope I can get to the rest soon :)

Author's Response: Joey! All of these reviews are so amazing I just can't get over them right now.

I love writing clueless Ron. He does get a chance to redeem himself later on in the story, but for now, he's "Mr. Overprotective Caveman Dad."

Harry! YES! I've gotten a lot of different reactions of my portrayal of him, but I'm glad you agree. I feel like he would not ever get over his *need* to save all the innocents (especially his family), but he would no longer be the hot-headed, hormone-driven teenager we see in the books. After defeating Voldemort, most of the other things he comes across in life are small potatoes... until Stannous (cue evil music).

Colleen Creevey is named after her Uncle Colin. It was Dennis's way of honoring his brother.

I did have a blast writing the gibberish from Rose and the phrasings that can be easily misconstrued from Scorpius - haha!

Hold on to the idea of the Greengrass magic - it may be coming back later on...

Eep! So glad this chapter delivered for you! I did work pretty hard on it and I was a little nervous about the slow build to them finally getting together, so I'm really happy that you liked it! :)

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #11, by mymischiefmanaged 

26th January 2015:
Hi Beth! Back again for our long term swap :)

I really like the opening to this chapter. You settle us in to this new Grimmauld Place era really effectively and manage to get across a lot of information without sounding too explainy. I'm so glad Harry's their secret keeper, and I love the idea of Ron throwing a fit about his daughter moving in with Scorpius Malfoy.

Ruth seems like a really intriguing character. I'm not quite sure what to make of her right now. I really like her a lot as a support figure for Rose, and I think it's really good that you're showing the benefits of professional help in Rose's circumstances (stories too often suggest that you should be able to heal just through friendship and love etc, and it's good to show that there's no shame in seeking outside help as well), but then I can kind of imagine you using Ruth as part of the wider plot - my guess is that she'll either die or exploit the fact she understands Rose's weaknesses. Either way, or even if I'm completely wrong, I like what you've done with her so far.

Dominique, as usual, is wonderful. You've done a really good job of distinguishing your three girls (Dominique, Rose and Selenia) without wasting too many words explicitly explaining how they're different.

And then I'm SO GLAD that Rose just opened up to Scorpius about her insecurities in their relationship. It's quite brave for her to just come out and ask him about his feelings towards her and I think the fact she was even willing to bring it up as a conversation topic shows how much she trusts him. She's really depending on him but it's good that she's able to take an active role in their relationship.

And of course Scorpius's response was always going to be this. He just loves her so much and you get that across really clearly. He's really putting in the effort to learn how to make her feel safe and his actions in this chapter demonstrate just how much he cares. I really like the contrast between their interactions here and earlier in the story when Rose was the one to look out for him.

I'm not quite sure how I feel about Scorpius getting rid of Rose's scars. I can see that he's doing it out of love, and that it makes Rose happy, but I wonder whether it would have helped Rose more to reach acceptance of the marks and to come to terms with what happened to her. It feels a bit like covering up the problem rather than solving it, and I really really wanted Scorpius to help her deal with the scars herself rather than to superficially fix them. I'm just not sure about it as a coping mechanism. I would have liked to see him here helping her mentally rather than physically. But it's just a small thing really. In general I really love the way you've written the two of them here.

And the final two lines are just perfect. It feels quite quick but then when we think about how long they've known and cared about each other for it was inevitable that their relationship would reach this point, especially considering everything they've been through together.

Lovely lovely chapter Beth! I'll be back soon for the next one :)

Emma xx

Author's Response: Hi there Emma!

Thanks for the review!

Yes! You've picked up on exactly the point I was trying to make with Ruth. I really wanted to send a message that trying to work through serious issues on your own isn't always the best idea. And... perhaps I did find a way to use the Ruth character in future chapters...

Haha - it took a lot for Rose to bring it up to Scorpius - and his reaction was... um.. less than refined.

Scorpius was even tentative about getting rid of Rose's scars. I think his motivation came from wanting her to see past them and knowing he had a special power to fix it. This power also comes up later on in the story. They aren't gone - but just diminished so that she doesn't need to fixate on them as much, but you bring up a good point.

Thanks again for this awesome review - I love getting your input because you always find the things that are important and different.

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #12, by BitterSweetFlames 

15th November 2014:
Hiya Beth! Carla (SkitsandBits from the forums) here for our review swap. Sorry it took so long... If I am honest (and I am), I got caught up in reading and kept clicking >> that I forgot to review. I promise I'll review more when NaNo isn't eating my time but I thought this was a good place to leave a review.

So.. "Skurmis hi yow narken?" -- That was my most favorite line. Because it sort of sums up the way the two feel about each other. Tongue-tied, tense, walking on egg shells. I love this story because you manage to perfectly characterize Scorpius and Rose (and just everybody!) that they feel closer to me; like they're my friends, my family and I know them and they know me too. (I sound creepy, don't mind me)

I also especially love this chapter because they're together finally! Poor doves, they deserve one another and I'm so glad they can finally get some peace and love and, well, you know.. -raised eyebrows-. lol

This story fascinates me because the plot is so interesting. A new dark wizard, really? That's horrifying. I mean, what happened to him? How is he going to end?

Also, what Rose went through was terrifying. The way you wrote her reactions to it was spot on. Her keeping it to herself, I think, is the perfect reaction because most victims tend to go inward rather than outward. Her mantra at the start, Get up, get dressed, rounds, study (I might be getting it wrong since I'm typing from memory) but it's the sort of thing anyone in a bad situation has done. Drag their feet in doing something and pray the day would just end. You made me totally empathize for the first line and that's the power of your words.

Anyway, I will continue reading (when I get the time!) and will definitely leave you more reviews soon.

--Carla

Author's Response: CARLA!

OMG! Your reviews are so completely and utterly amazing! I just didn't know how to respond to this - sorry I took so long! I'm just squeeing and jumping around that you like my story. Thanks ♥

I had so much fun writing the jibberish lines for Rose - haha.

That is NOT creepy at all - it is so heartwarming to hear that you feel so close to my characters. Whee!

I agree - they really DO deserve one another! I think it's more than that - they NEED one another.

Haha - yeah, it was high time for some *raised eyebrows*

Stannous is pretty dark and his is pure evil. I hope the plot keeps you guessing!

Thanks for the compliment about Rose's dealing with her trauma. That was really important to me. I didn't want it to seem fake or contrived at all.

I'm still just grinning all over the place form this review. I think we should do more swaps!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #13, by UnluckyStar57 

9th November 2014:
Ahah! You've responded to all my reviews, so here's another one. :D

This is also for the November BvB Review Battle, and because I'm procrastinating on homework (as usual). So here we go!

Whoohoo! Okay, so I was glad to read about Albus and Harry's conversation, especially since Albus is taking some more responsibility for his actions and Harry isn't being quite as hard on him. Great development there!

The five of them living at Grimmauld Place is pretty interesting. It's super stupid of Ron to resist Scorpius and Rose living together, because Scorpius is good for Rose and vice versa, but what can you do about silly parents? It is very honorable of Scorpius to sleep in the same room as Rose without trying to wrangle the situation to his advantage--even though the tension between them is ever-increasing and oh-so-wonderful. Even though you didn't give a whole lot of background on their developing relationship in previous chapters, this chapter totally made up for it--you were right! I really loved this one. :)

Having two different PoVs in one chapter was pretty cool, too. This way, I got to see both Rose and Scorpius in their most volatile moments. And man, were there EVER some misconceptions! They better make good on that promise to "never not talk," because all that ridiculous "He doesn't love me anymore" stuff is just NOT OKAY! D:

Ooooh, I see what you did there! I see it! I'm fond of reading things backwards, after all. So that was quite a clever spell, and I'm glad that Scorpius would do something like that for Rose. :)

Another great chapter! Sorry the review isn't quite up-to-snuff, but I should seriously stop procrastinating... (Haha, that probably won't happen.)

~UnluckyStar57

Author's Response: Hi, hi, hi!

I didn't want so much time to go by to respond to this - like before :( - so here I am!

Al and Harry are working through it. I think it is *really* hard to be Harry's son and an auror - even if he doesn't call you out or have a different set of expectations. They'll get there, they just have to keep working on it.

Ron can *not* get past his prejudices of the Malfoys. A lot of it stems from the fact that Hermione was brutally tortured with Draco as a witness. The aftermath that ensued from that was too much for Ron to bear.

Actually, there are six living at Grimmauld Place - sorry if that was confusing: James, Scorpius, Albus, Rose, Dom and Selenia. But I think it's going to be fun - I know *I* would love to live with that lot!

At this point, Scorpius is still unsure of how to deal with Rose. He wants to be there for her, and he is doing that the only way he knows how - by standing idly by and waiting for her to let him know she is ready to resume their relationship. Unfortunately, Rose sees that as him not being interested anymore - and then we have a giant misunderstanding that snowballs.

So happy you liked this chapter!! :)

At first, I really didn't want to do the two POV thing. I felt like I was breaking from my one POV per chapter, but it really worked here, especially since we needed to see how they were *both* misinterpreting the other's actions!

The "never not talking again" thing is a great concept - unfortunately, it's not something they are going to get past right away - you'll see ;)

OMG! I'm running around the room and sqeeing and yay, yay, YAY! You are the first person to notice what I did with the spell! Woot! GOLD STAR FOR MALLORY!!! Seriously, this chapter first posted nearly six months ago and has eight reviews and you are the first! The fact that the spell worked at all reveals a lot about the connection between Rose and Scorpius. ♥

What are you saying? This review is awesome! Thanks so much! I really look forward to each one that you leave, because I want to know what you think about the story!

Thanks again,

♥ Beth



 Report Review

Review #14, by LightLeviosa5443 

20th August 2014:
Hi hon! Here for the BvB!!

I love that they've all agreed so easily. And James trying to let his whole quidditch team is a riot. He's wild. It worries me a little that so many people know , though. I mean, it's a relatively small number, but a little slip of veritaserum or a scare and they might give up the secret and then uh oh spaghettios. Though I get the remote feeling that it's going to be uh-oh spaghettios anyway!

WILL THEY JUST OPEN THEIR EYES AND GET IN THE SAME BED. LIKE PLEASE?

Love protective Albus. Always have, always will. Like that's my favorite thing. Ever. AWE POOR HARRY. I WANT TO HUG HIM. I WANT TO HUG EVERYONE. Oh boy. One of these mentees is bad, huh? YES. BE HUMAN. BE. HUMAN. omg butterflies. i can't. LOL. OH ROSE CAN'T YOU SEE HE IS TOTALLY HEAD OVER HEALS (punpunpun) FOR YOU?!

LOL OH MY GOD I'M LAUGHING SO HARD. I CAN'T EVEN. Yes. Dom! You tell her girl!! omg this babble. literally crying laughing.

Oh, poor Scorpius!! Oh those cute poor little souls. They can't even get it on without having issues. Awe that was a cute interesting little twist!! So adorable. AHH FOREVER YAY.

BETH THIS CHAPTER WAS AMAZEBALLS.

xoxo Sarah ♥

Author's Response: Hey there!

Haha - this review makes me laugh so hard every time I read it - which is a *lot*. I had so much fun writing this one. Rose and Scorp are just sooo on the same page, but at the same time, they're not! And it was so fun to get them to the end point *finally*!

Yeah, a lot of people are in on the secret - but I'll have to check - I don't think they can give it away even if they are under veritaserum. For some reason, I thought you physically couldn't speak the words if you weren't the secret keeper...

I know - I sort of left them hanging there at the end, but I sort of have this philosophy that for the two of them to be really, truly together forever, they have to have everything out in the open before they can move on.

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #15, by luciusobsessed 

15th July 2014:
It's about time they talked! I swear miscommunication is always the problem and I'm so happy they finally talked about it instead of dragging it on. They are perfect, I swear. It's terrible that Rose has to suffer so much mentally, and I feel like even though she's getting better, something is going to happen again suddenly. I'm glad she has everyone supporting her though, especially Scorpius. Great job on this chapter, it was amazing once again!!!

Author's Response: I had a lot of fun writing this chapter. I'm so glad you liked it. I really wanted this story to be more about Rose's journey as a person and not about an on again/off again ScoRose story. So, for the most part, I got them together fairly early on in the story. Not to say there won't be bumps along the road :), but the story is more about what is going on with Stannous and all of that.

Thank you again - ♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #16, by kenpo 

11th July 2014:
Hello! I'm trying to review as much as can in the little ten minute breaks that I have here and there... so I'm back!

The line about how Rose was worried about Harry having a target on his back, but it not being a big deal because he was used to it made me laugh.

Awww Colleen Creevey aw aw oh my god aw.

I love how you gave Rose one friend, Dom, who didn't treat her differently. That's something that would be hard for Rose, because being treated like a victim would make her feel like a victim. So yay that Dom is treating her like Rose.

Rose was being stupid, and so was Scorpius, because people tend to be stupid, but they finally got some of their feelings out in the open and now they can live happily ever after? Eh, you probably won't let that happen, will you?

I'm really interested in Scorpius' mysterious healing powers, because I really doubt that you'd just throw that in for the heck of it. What is it, exactly? I'm curious.

And... I don't have time for the next chapter because I have to go to work! But I'll be back!

-Georgia

-House Cup 2014 Review-

Author's Response: "I love how you gave Rose one friend, Dom, who didn't treat her differently. That's something that would be hard for Rose, because being treated like a victim would make her feel like a victim."

Yes, yes, yes!! Thank you for noticing this! Rose needed a "slap in the face" from Dom to kick her into gear with Scorp.

I don't think I can just let them live happily ever after only about a quarter of the way through the story, BUT I can tell you that I am not a fan of the whole on-again-off-again relationship dynamic in so many stories. There will be a few bumps in the road, but I prefer that the two of them work together to solve their outside problems.

The healing powers are interesting, aren't they? Heh heh. All I'm gonna say.

Thanks again, Georgia. All these reviews really did make my day!


 Report Review

Review #17, by lindslo2012 

3rd July 2014:
Hey! Here for your requested review!!! :)
This was such a good chapter and it was really intense as well!
The two of them are so perfect for each other and I hate that Rose is going through thinking that Scorpius doesn't give a crap about her. I hate that for them but judging by the end of the chapter they are finally going to realize they are amazing for each other! :)
I feel really bad tacks I hate for Rose with her panic attacks- I hate she had to go through that and her dad doesn't even have any idea what happened to her. I am glad that she has all of those people there for her though and I hope they continue to be there for her. I feel like I am reading a real life story, you do so good with description! And it keeps me hooked into the story and makes me excited to read more, so that's just what I am going to do! Please re-request! I can't believe it's somewhat nearing the end:(
Until next time,
-Lindsey

Author's Response: Hi Lindsey!

Sorry this is so late. I've been tied up with the House Cup - but I'm working through all of my unanswered reviews right now. I just love getting your reviews. You seem to pick up on all the important parts of the story and you also find things that I didn't even notice I put in there! Thanks so much!

Just so you area aware - it is most definitely NOT nearing the end of this story. I've recently done most of the outline and it is going to be around 40 chapters or so - don't worry! Lots of dramatics abound with this one.

Thanks again, Lindsey - I am definitely going to re-request!

Beth


 Report Review

Review #18, by MargaretLane 

14th June 2014:
Might as well get up to date on this story.

Actually, it's occurred to me that something I have planned for later in my series has some similarities with this - just the whole idea of somebody being abducted and being traumatised as a result. Not Rose in my series though and the circumstances behind the abduction and all are different. And of course, I may never get to it anyway.

"Parents' deaths" should have an apostrophe after "parents".

And *laughs* It's interesting to see Albus so protective of Rose since in my story, it's the other way around. You'll see that if you read the rest of The Rise of the A.W.L.

Aw, poor Harry. I now see the significance of your having developed such a close relationship between Rose and Harry.

I really like the way you show Scorpius's awkwardness, wanting to be with Rose and to show how much he loves her but not wanting to rush her into anything she's not ready for or to put any kind of pressure on her. It shows how he respects her and genuinely cares about her and is also really realistic, in that it is hard to know how to respond to somebody dealing with everything she is.

And oh, Rose is taking his sensitivity and reluctance to push her as a sign he's no longer interested. Sad, but again realistic and understandable.

I do think professional help is a good idea in Rose's idea, as it's clear she's struggling to cope with what happened to her. Understandably. Considering how horrible it was and how people were permanently mentally incapacitated by less, she's doing really well to be functioning at all, but she still seems like she could really use some extra support.

Aw, that's so sad when she asked him why he didn't want her any more that for a moment, I thought it was going to bring tears to my eyes. You really portray their emotions well. I think I said that before.

I also love your use of the word "tainted" in regards to how she feels about herself.

I like Scorpius pointing out that her scars show how strong she is. And she can't see that. Poor Rose.

Author's Response: All these reviews are so WONDERFUL! Thanks again! I tried to come up with a way to make this chapter shorter, but it just seemed to take a while. I didn't want Rose and Scorpius to go back and forth chapter after chapter.

One of the themes in this chapter is that Rose really IS strong - although she doesn't see it way - and probably won't for a while. I really wanted Rose to get professional help. I thought it was important to send a message that not everything can be solved by your boyfriend.

Thank you again! I love reading your opinions on the story!



 Report Review

Review #19, by CambAngst 

8th June 2014:
Hi, Beth!

A couple of things to start off. First, I always read other author's responses to my reviews. I love the back-and-forth. Second, I'm really pleased that you're on summer break now, because I'm all out of chapters!

I really liked all of the little dynamics that you worked into the first section talking about the living arrangements and the Fidelius Charm. You managed to say a lot about how different characters (James, Ron, Hermione, Harry) were dealing with the situation without slowing down the story of belaboring the point. Ron sounds like a bit of a schmuck, but hey, Ron can be that way at times.

Nice bit of setup on the three mentees. I thought you used character archetypes effectively in that case to give us an idea of who they are without spending excessive time on minor characters.

Ugh. This isn't a criticism, just a personal preference. It drives me completely crazy when two characters do this dance where they can't get over their insecurities or misconceptions and therefore it takes ages and ages for them to get together even though they're mad for one another. After I got past the sort of opening section of this chapter, I really thought you were about to take us on a multi-chapter (mis)adventure where Scorpius and Rose would continue to agonize over the proverbial daisy petals. (He loves me, she loves me not, she loves me, he loves me not, etc.) Instead, you pretty much wrapped it up in one chapter. I applaud you for this in the strongest possible terms!

Holy crap, Scorpius is such a dunderhead at times! “You smell good,” I commented when I could detect the scent of lavender wafting off her locks. Did that sound weird? I don’t want her to think I’m some sort of a creep. For god's sake, man, that's pretty much the opposite of creepy! Somebody get these two some cocktails to break the ice!

I like Rose's therapist. She seems to really know what she's doing. In this intense game of progress and regression that Rose is playing, it's nice for her to have some good allies.

“Skurmis hi yow narken?” -- I think this is my favorite dialog I've read in an HP fan fic story this year so far. ;)

I love the constant way that Dominique pushes Rose toward doing what Rose really wants to do but can't quite admit to herself. At the same time, I have to nit-pick you a bit for her dialog being a bit stiff. To wit, "It is all coming clearer now.” and "Rose, it is blatant that you are hot for Scorpius!" In both cases, I think "it's" would have sounded more natural.

“Hie down yum wammy mummer?” -- This chapter just keeps on giving!

So part of me is kind of disappointed that their "big moment" didn't quite make it all the way to second base and part of me thinks that the pause was actually healthy for their relationship.

Now this healing talent of Scorpius's was interesting. So it comes from his mother's side and he's saying it isn't dark magic. It sounds like a very good thing. And because I read a lot of mystery stories and I'm kind of suspicious to begin with, it makes me wonder. I'm still trying to tie everything back to our boy Stannous who might or might not be a Lestrange.

All in all, a very enjoyable chapter! I love the fact that they've overcome this bump in their path and they're once again communicating with one another. I love that Rose is still getting a little better every day and that Scorpius is a big part of that for her. I don't know what other hiccups you have in the works, but it's nice to feel like they'll confront them together. Til next time!

Author's Response: Hi!

Sorry you are at the last posted chapter! I will do my best to keep it updated.

I'm glad that you liked the pace of the first part. I had a lot of details to fit in there and I'm glad it didn't play out as tedious. Ron is... a protective father who can't really see his little Rosie as a grown woman. She knows this and it can get tiring at times, but she loves him just the same and wants to protect him from her secret because she knows how much it will hurt him.

I agree about the super annoying dance between two people who can't get out of their own way. I wrote this story with the intention of writing a novel where Rose and Scorpius are together in a solid relationship and they have to rely on each other to get through other hardships. Unfortunately, the story kind of took its own path and this was my compromise. There is no way I could write a fic where they are together one chapter, then broken up the next, then together...

That being said, I can't promise that there won't be a few bumps a long the way!

I was particularly proud of Rose's yammerings around Scorpius. They were really fun to come up with.

I will fix those two lines. Dialogue is still a weak point for me.

As far as the "big moment" goes, there are two reasons for it being rather tame. First off, I am fairly unsure when it comes to writing love scenes. I feel like mine all come across as contrived. Secondly, in the first version of this (I actually had about 13 chapters posted and I took down all but three of them to change some major plot points), I had a much more intense reconciliation that got rejected, so I'm erring on the side of caution.

Not everything ties back to Stannous, but he is a pretty evil dude, so I can see where you are coming from.

So, of COURSE there are a few hiccups in the works, and Rose is far from better. Next chapter is in the queue!


 Report Review

Review #20, by Dianainga 

30th May 2014:
This is such a great story...love the development of the relationship between Rose and Scorp. Well done!

Author's Response: Just popped on to see two reviews from you! Thank you so much!!! I love it when someone drops me a quick note to let me know what they think. Sometimes it's hard to know how a story is being received. Thanks for the kind words!

 Report Review

Review #21, by paddlewaddle 

28th May 2014:
My feels! Finally! So excited for this scene really and I realised you added a new one with the heeling spell! I just have so many scorose feels ^_^" I did find the beginning of Scorpius' healing scene unusual - it felt a bit unrealistic that scorpius didn't address her insecurities by reassuring her directly before the acutal healing. I think you were going for more empowerment type scene where Scorpius helps Roses overcomes her fear by telling her not to let Stannous take 'this' from her but it felt like it was missing something else as well, but I understand in the scheme of things, Scorpius has always been a man of few words when it comes to Rose, so in that sense I think he felt it was logical to make her feel better by making her scars look better, rather than reassuring her with words that she probably would deny in her current state of emotions. So it fits well in that sense, but personally, I'm not sure. The scene itself is great though cause Rose for the first time is willingly allowing someone to help her without long periods of hesitancy. So its emotional progress for her which I am so proud of!

You are still doing a fantastic job and I love this story! I LOOK FORWARD TO THE NEXT TWO CHAPTER WHEN (IF I RECALL CORENTLY) ALL THE ACTION STARTS AND WE FINALLY GET ANSWERS!!

Author's Response: Hi paddlewaddle.

I look forward to your reviews every time I post a new chapter!

YOU ARE SO RIGHT! I missed an opportunity for Scorpius to tell Rose that the scars aren't what matters to him! I fixed it and it is currently in the queue to get re-validated. If you get a chance to read the update, I would love to know what you think!

I will do my best to get the next chapters up, but I am also working on another story at the moment - and there is that "real life" factor that comes into play from time to time...

Anyway - thank you so much for the review! ♥

~Beth


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review